Sheraton Carlsbad Resort & Spa

  • 5480 Grand Pacific Drive
  • Carlsbad,
  • California
  • 92008
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 340 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5-star experience for 3-star price Our family was blown away by a recent 1-night stay at this hotel. The staff greeted us by name, the facilities were sparkling new, and the restaurant was the best I've ever had at a Starwood property. We in fact left Legoland during lunch to go BACK to the hotel to have another meal. The kids menu in particular was a welcome relief from the usual nuggets+fries you get everywhere else. Highly recommended and we will be visiting again (this time for more than just one night!). November 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overnight Trip My wife and I have platinum status and own several SVO properties. We travel for pleasure only and bring along our now 21 month old daughter. We decided on Monday to take a quick trip to Legoland for Brick or Treat on Friday to enjoy some family time after a stressful week (my wife is a teacher and just had parent teacher conferences). Now let’s fast forward to the day of our arrival. I had called down the morning of our arrival to verify that our room would be ready around 4pm and to confirm Legolands hours. I was told no problem on the room and Legoland closes at 8pm. We departed our home at 3:00 and arrived at 4:30 we were greeted at the door by a valet who told me “take your time’, which was a strange greeting but a greeting. During check in I asked the clerk to confirm that Legoland was open until 8 as I was told earlier and he verified with the other clerk and told me I was correct. I then asked about their Club Lounge and its hours. I was then informed that the club lounge has been permanently closed. I asked why and was told that the Club Lounge was getting too many complaints about it being small and having a poor selection so they decided to close it rather than make the changes and have to listen to the complaints. I was shocked to hear that! Why wouldn’t you listen to your customers and make changes to make their stays/experience better? I then asked about the parking charge was going to be waived as I am a Legoland Annual pass holder and was told that was no longer a perk to Legoland pass holders. Now frustrated I have to spend extra money on parking, afternoon snacks/beverages and breakfast (we didn’t pack breakfast for our family as the offerings of the Club Lounges are sufficient) I get my key and go back to the car to park and head to our room. We drive to the underground parking beneath our room/building and park. I look around for a cart to help bring my bags up, but there is nothing of the sort. To get to the elevators we have to pass the laundry room, mechanical room and walk down a long hall way to the elevator. We get into the elevator and got to floor two. Getting out on floor two we can smell what can only be described as bad body odor and then find our room and enter. I then have to make 2 more trips down to get the rest of our bags while my wife attends to our daughter and unpacks. Our room (1201) is nice and clean. We were upgraded to a suite due to our status. It is now a little after 5 and we are anxious to head down to Legoland to let our daughter play and get something to eat. We then pack up the stroller and start the ½ mile walk to the private entrance. Upon arrival to the gate we are informed that the park closed at 5:00. What?!? How can this be? I was told by 3 different people that it is open until 8pm. Disappointed we walk another ½ mile back to the hotel and go back to our room and try to decide where to go for dinner. We settled on a short drive to the outlets. We get back and call it a night around 9pm to get a good night sleep. We all woke up around 9 am on Saturday morning after a poor night of sleep (our suite was next to the elevators and it was relatively noisy) and we were planning on having breakfast at Twenty / 20 and then maybe a quick swim before my daughters daily nap which is normally around 11:30 daily. I called downstairs and requested a 4 pm checkout as it is a perk of being a Platinum member (based on occupancy) and was told that was not possible. I asked why and asked if we could compromise and have until 1pm so my daughter could get her nap in. Again I was shot down and informed that they are at 100% occupancy for the evening and because of the special event. I was then informed that the MS Bikeathon was having an event there from 10am – 6pm. I then asked to speak with a manager and talked to him about my above experience and that my daughter takes her daily nap from 11:30ish to 1:00 and that if we have to check out at 11 am it would ruin our day at Legoland as she would not be able to take a nap. The Manager/ Head of Security said it sounds like there was poor communication on the part of the hotel and that he would make an exception and allow us to stay until noon. I again asked if we could at least have until 1pm as it would still allow them a 3 hour timeframe before their 4pm check-in and was told that is not possible. I said ok and we ended our conversation. Frustrated and disappointed we packed up our belongings and decided to check out and when down and went to have breakfast at Twenty / 20. The highlight of our trip was the nice young lady who waited on us. Aside from that the food being mediocre at best (someone needs to teach the chef to poach an egg for eggs benedict) the service was good and she was very nice and helpful and brought our daughters food out right away. After breakfast we got into our car and drove over to Legoland and parked in their lot for our visit. As anticipated our daughter was not able to fall asleep and was overly tired and as a result we ended up leaving Legoland and driving home at 1:30. The net net is that we left very disappointed in our stay and will decided we would not be going back to the Sheraton Carlsbad ever again (mind you this was our 5th stay with each being worse than the last). It is very apparent they are not interested in their guests experience or voices and only care about their bottom line. Lastly, if you are going to have a large function like the MS Bikeathon at your property you should let your guests know in advance through reservations or via e-mail that Special Conditions Apply to that day so they can make the determination of whether or not they want to stay there. Had I known it was there and I would have to be woken up by people setting up banquet tables beneath my rooms and I would have to leave early I would have not booked a room for Friday. I would have saved my $200 and drove down in the morning while my daughter napped in the back and been able to enjoy a whole day at Legoland with my family rather than a couple of hours. October 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by All Aroung Great Resort The hospitality throughout the resort was outstanding! I would definitely come back to this resort for personal and business. I doesn’t get better than this. June 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by OMG Wonderful Night I am the "gramma" that took the grandson to Legoland and the hotel room took away all the cares of the day spent with small children in a small children world. Not to mention that my grandson (6) hit the bed and fell sound asleep. This wonderful room was so nice that I am planning on duplicating the atmosphere in my bedroom at home and this is actually possible as I found all the bedding online. And the food out of this world. June 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dissappointment I am sure that I am not the first Starwood Owner to have a really bad taste in my mouth when I am charged a Resort Fee and then a PARKING FEE. This charge is over the top. Very unhappy with these additional charges. Paid extra for a ocean view and then stuck on the first floor!! November 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Car parking terrible, bathroom counter top dirty Nice hotel with friendly staff but two things were disappointing. 1) Valet parking parks their cars in front of hotel building I stayed in. Consequently I had to park far away since the underground parking that is not large enough for the building was full and the near by outside parking was reserved for valet. Adding insult to injury, self parking is $12. Seems unjustified when there's all kinds of open land. 2) The bathroom counter top was dirty, not even wiped. I could see drinking glass mark circles, toothpaste drips, etc. The two star rating is because that's what represents "Needs Improvement" and I think these things can be improved. Seems harsh when the hotel is actually very nice. March 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Clock not Right Checked in late after a day of business. Had a very hard time finding parking and had a long walk to find an entrance to hotel building. My room was quite chilly but warmed up once i cranked the heat. The next morning i awoke early 6:15 so took my time only to turn my phone on and realize that it was in fact an hour later because my in room clock had not been changed to DST!!! Fortunately I wasn't late for my first meeting but it could have been a disaster. March 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Underwhelming Overall a hotel trying to be a resort but really need to work on the staff friendliness, responsiveness and ability to make the guest feel welcome. Lots of nitpicky charges that I don't see at other SPG properties. Staff told us they don't really participate in the SPG Platinum program because they are a "resort" so all the typical amenities afforded to a Platinum guest are only done as a courtesty and not to expect anything other than a 500 point amenity. They lived up to that commitment. Will definitely not be visiting this "resort" again. July 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by NOT the usual SPG or Sheraton standard They charge for EVERY little thing, have no regard for the meaning of customer service, things were broken in the fitness center, the bed was NOT the usual Sheraton/SPG quality, our sink was clogged and it took several hours to fix (maintenance man had my hair brush on the floor, guess he dropped it off the counter, but, to not pick it up, really?) Usually get 2 water bottle, this place only gives 1. I know that doesn't seem like a BIG deal, but, it is just another example of how they don't keep with other Sheraton standards. I won't be going back. January 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed As a person who travels a handful, staying at Starwood Properties as much as possible, I have perhaps a higher standard. I had a challenge with the hotel not fulfilling my reservation, the solution was not much better. After requesting a change, I was given an attitude that I did not expect nor accept. Hence, the low review. Too many other choices exist, especially in the area... December 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Kids Loved It Spent Two nights with my family (Two boys 2 and 3) for a mini get away. The hotel was amazing, the staff were so nice to my boys, the food was delicious (the kids loved the bread) and the private entry to the Legoland park was cool. I will be back soon- the kids are spoiled. Thanks- Sheraton! May 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid this property I wonder if I stayed at the same property that others have reviwed. This Hotel has a horrible HVAC system. I had to get maintenance to have the heat turned on, then about 2:00 am the room was about 85 F. The noise level in this Hotel is excessive, to the east is an Airport, to the west you can hear trains sounding their horns, there is no in between. Corridors are noisy. It took three room changes to get a better room, one that was half way quite. The stay was so bad I had to call SPG Guest Services to assit me. I am in the process of sending a E mail to White Plain regarding the stay. I my opinion this is not a Resort property, The Hotel is managed by another concern, so it is not an owned Starwood Property, and I think that is where the problems lie. December 5, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not so Happy Experience We did not get our money's worth. Bad beds and coffee. Had to talk to 3 people b4 we can address an issue and took about an hour to get it resolved. Food at the grill was awesome though. August 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Proximity to Legoland Fabulous,clean provides all the amenities needed with children. Shuttle service if needed to Legoland. Makes Legoland even more enjoyable June 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Housekeeping was bad. Front Desk staff was superb. Housekeeping was so poor - we came back to a room that was half cleaned (the beds were made and dirty towels were removed). The house keeper left a worn latext glove on our nightstand and our glasses were not washed! In the bathroom there was a clean towel on the rack but dirty with a grey streak! When I shared my experience the front desk staff waived our parking fees which was kind but we would have preferfered a clean room. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Hotel with Great Staff My 25 year old daughter and I went on a mother daughter weekend. From the time we arrived until the time we left, we had a great time. The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are decorated very nice and big. Anytime we needed something or asked a question, we felt important. I will be back with my husband and my 22 year old daughter. I would love to take a family vacation with both daughters to this Hotel. Getting everyones work schedules coordinated to take a family vacation is a challenge. We Will Be Back! April 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disapointed101 First time here...where shall I begin check in staff was very friendly but it was all downhill from then on. Tv kept losing signal woke up middle if night only to find the heater was not working. Bathroom fan not working. Shower drain clogged. Told the check out clerk about the heater Bathroom fan and drain and was told that maintenence will be informed. I've had better experiences at a two star hotel. One has to wonder how this property earned a four star rating. Will never return! November 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not a good value My girlfriend and I stayed here while visiting my mother. The hotel is very nice and all the staff were super friendly. A lot of families stay here for Lego Land and we were rudely awakened early in the am by a screaming baby in the next room. Although the hotel has ample parking, they charge $12 a night for self parking and $16 for valet. The self parking is extremely limited so you are basically forced to valet. There is also a mandatory resort fee of $12 a day which we did not know about until checkout. The hotel does provide breakfast vouchers but they are limited to the eggs your way meal so there are no free options if you are vegan or have other dietary restrictions. They do have a breakfast buffet which I think would be a better choice for the voucher. Overall, I would not choose to stay here again. January 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Prior to Arrival Waited on suite upgrade to come thru and it was denied. I phoned to 'pay' as I reserved a room on points (and to check on whether suites were available) and there were. Understanding is the number of rooms for suite upgrades are "system generated" but that didn't change the fact that 12 hours prior to check in when I phoned I was denied the upgrade but suites were available. Frustrating. Upon check in an upgrade was provided. November 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasant Surprise Well-kept grounds, smell of new carpet led me to believe that the hotel was newer than its 5 years. Room had pleasant view of green manicured lawns. Large pool, attractive pool furniture. Fitness center more than adequate. Chilled towels were a nice touch. Starbucks counter a nice surprise. Food a little pricey. All the staff very friendly. June 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for R and R Just a few miles off the 5, with a panoramic ocean view. The rooms were large, very clean and well appointed. Fridge in room. Small area in lobby to buy food and personal items. Many healthful items on the menu in the restaurant and great service. Staff was friendly. We asked for a late checkout, which they were hesitant to do at first ( I have noticed some of the 'resorts' are like this), but they did give it to us because of my Platinum level. Also, we did not receive a newpaper (which is listed in the resort fees) and the lady who answered the phone basically told me to 'come and get it'. After letting her know " I am in my pj's and that is one of the things I really like', she sent someone up with the paper. Small complaint but hotels need to realize attitude is everything! The location here is great for so many destinations. Really enjoyed the peace and quiet. Great gym. February 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Summer Visit First impression; a nice lobby. The staff were helpful , the hotel is conveniently located to the town of Carlsbad. Rooms are spacious and well appointed with nice furnishings. My only complaint was at 8:40am the lawn mower was going, that was annoying and a truck deliver also noisy around that time on a different day. But I would definitely stay there again. July 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff and service Consistently high quality of service and attention to detail. Whether front desk, room service, or restaurant personnel, I've always found them to be friendly and accommodative. They make the extra little efforts that leave a lasting impression. Also, Club Room access well stocked. Beds are very comfy too. Overall a big step up from other Sheratons. January 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Don't turn on the TV with kids around Everything was good except that the televisions are programmed to take you to the adult programming channel each time you turn on the TV. This was very troubling considering the fact that we had small children with us. I know they make tons of money on adult programming, but the advertisement and shows should not be accessible to children. July 25, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Find a different hotel I was unable to sleep because a group of rowdy guests who work for Genentech were tearing the hotel up all night. The hotel refused to stop them because the hotel manager is good friends with the people at Genentech. There is another hotel very close called the Grand Pacific Pallisades, which is a great place to stay. December 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by rude and unprofessional As a Starwood Platinum for over a decade, I frankly expect better. The staff was rude and made me feel like an "idiot" for paying $700+ per night for the Presidential suite during my stay. I would not recommend this hotel, and it is not what I expect from the Starwood brand. April 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sept 2012 For being a Sheraton resort Hotel - this was one of my worst stays. * The bed was extremely uncomfortable. We put the heavy quilt under the sheet to add some comfort. * Cold Pool. * For the extra $ to get an ocean view, I only saw palm trees branches. * No turndown service provided. September 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by New Years Eve The check in process was below standard. We arrived at 3:45 for a 4:00 check in. We were told our room wasn't ready yet and it would be around 20 minutes. It ended up being two hours later and that was after us having to check back repeatedly. Very young, poorly trained staff! January 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by a GREAT ROOM I was more than surprised by not only the quality of the rooms, but the size. The pool and jacuzzi were wonderful. All the available services were great, we did not ry them all. But look through them was a treat. We are planning to stay here again. Hopefully soon. June 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not good for business meetings The place was full of screaming children, but that is because of it being next to Legoland. Don't hold a business meeting here! Housekeeping knocked on my door to roust me from bed late at night with a pile of towels that I did not ask for, then the hotel tried to bill me for a $7 bottle of water that I did not use. I couldn't contact the hotel manager until after 9am... they don't have a night manager? The self-parking is severely limited, or you have to park far away... and there is no covered walk from the self parking to the hotel lobby, or from the hotel rooms to the lobby, making it very uncomfortable in bad weather. Internet service in the meeting rooms was throttled back to dial-up speeds, so when we cancelled our meeting room for the 2nd day so that we could use nearby office space with decent internet speed, they also inadvertantly cancelled our breakfast meeting, making our whole team late that day because the hotel had to scramble to arrange breakfast for us. Our team bailed and went to the restaurant instead. March 19, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>