Sheraton Carlsbad Resort & Spa

  • 5480 Grand Pacific Drive
  • Carlsbad,
  • California
  • 92008
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 322 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK Not a big fan of this hotel. There is not much noise reductions between rooms I heard the family next to me for 3 hours till they went to sleep. This is family hotel there are a lot of children if you are with children this is for you. Again having said that nice location clean property. And I would like to give a shout out to the staff a the door the young men at valet where very helpful and polite. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Fun We enjoyed our stay very much. The entrance to Legoland was very helpful. The pool was great, I liked the mini cabana louge chairs for shade and without an extra charge. The lobby smells amazing. The restaurant was very good my son enjoyed the kids buffet. The food at poolside was also very good. August 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by You Pay for the View The room was nice and clean, however the noise from the rooms around us was constant even though the hotel seemed to be half empty every room around us was occupied. Add to this the $12 per day parking and the $12 per day resort fee which lets you use a computer and a pool/hot tub. This was my second trip to San Diego this year and I will be going again early next year but to another hotel. November 12, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location is advantage When we walk in the hallway, all the housekeeping girls never said "hello" or "hi". When we called for requesting clean the room, no one answered my phone calls. When we checked in, front desk girl indicated wrong direction to us. August 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice facility, but you're nickel and dimed This review may sound negative, but it is not meant to be completely negative. Beautiful grounds and very nice facilities. Just very disappointed by a hotel with such a high standing reputation (Sheraton) that they nail you for any little thing. Bottles of water in your room are $3.50 each. Parking (which is not monitored or tracked by a ticket system or anything) was $12 per night! I could have lied and said I didn't park there and they would have never known. Instead I said, yes I parked here...oh that'll be $12/night sir. This place is meant as a money-maker for conferences and meetings where companies pick up the tab for parking and anything extra. For the single traveler or family, I do not recommend this hotel. You will get frustrated by the extra fees for everything. Lastly, nobody thanked me for being a starwood member on check-in or check-out. And nobody asked how my stay was on check-out. On my last morning, a spider fell out of my shower towel and I wanted to mention it to the front desk at check out but the clerk never asked me about my stay. So instead of being given the chance to resolve it at the front desk, I feel obligated to write it here in this review. January 13, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by TO: Chris Draper (GENERAL MANAGER) TO: Chris Draper (GENERAL MANAGER) Chris - just wanted to share some feedback with you. I'm a Platinum member and have been staying at your hotel on and off for the past three months. I also plan on staying there for the next 7-9 months. On Sunday I came to the hotel with my pregnant wife and attempted to check in at 2pm. I was told that there was not a single room available until 4pm when check in happens. I was asked to wait until a room becomes available at which time I would get a call. I waited until 3pm and after hearing nothing, I went back to the front desk frustrated as I was seeing others check in with no issues. In fact, as I was standing in line a number of folks checked in with the exact same type of room as mine. When it was my turn with the agent, I was told that they are still looking for a room and after sounding out they said they found one. I asked to speak to the front desk Manager and Rachel. When she finally checked me in and provided me with my keys, she asked me if I have ever been there before which frankly, irritated me that much more because I just explained to her that I have been staying at the hotel for two months, making me realize she wasn't listening to anything I said. I'm sharing this with you because folks like me are dedicated Starwood members. I go out of my way to stay at Starwood and although i don't expect any favorable treatment i do expect to be treated fairly. My stay last week was very disappointing. Thanks. Dori Konig December 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Accounting and Price The hotel is over rated with its price of rooms, and especially food/drink. The hotel double charged my credit card of $1251 each totaling $2502 in a pending status essentially locking its use up for anything and the charged my card $698 in actual charges. Now we have over $3200 in charges until the $2500 drops off from pending. And the room was prepaid separately in advance of course for the entire stay. When I called accounting they were completely had screw you attitude.. I would like a call from the manager simply explaining and telling me what your going to do to simply fix these problems from happening to others in the future.. June 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Underwhelming Overall a hotel trying to be a resort but really need to work on the staff friendliness, responsiveness and ability to make the guest feel welcome. Lots of nitpicky charges that I don't see at other SPG properties. Staff told us they don't really participate in the SPG Platinum program because they are a "resort" so all the typical amenities afforded to a Platinum guest are only done as a courtesty and not to expect anything other than a 500 point amenity. They lived up to that commitment. Will definitely not be visiting this "resort" again. July 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relaxing Environment A great facility with private entrance to LegoLand. Only 55 mins from Disneyland. The Exec Suite was worth it. A quick drive to the beach. Great local food. A quick 30 min drive from the San Diego Airport. Wish it had laundry facilities--that was the only problem. August 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overnight Trip My wife and I have platinum status and own several SVO properties. We travel for pleasure only and bring along our now 21 month old daughter. We decided on Monday to take a quick trip to Legoland for Brick or Treat on Friday to enjoy some family time after a stressful week (my wife is a teacher and just had parent teacher conferences). Now let’s fast forward to the day of our arrival. I had called down the morning of our arrival to verify that our room would be ready around 4pm and to confirm Legolands hours. I was told no problem on the room and Legoland closes at 8pm. We departed our home at 3:00 and arrived at 4:30 we were greeted at the door by a valet who told me “take your time’, which was a strange greeting but a greeting. During check in I asked the clerk to confirm that Legoland was open until 8 as I was told earlier and he verified with the other clerk and told me I was correct. I then asked about their Club Lounge and its hours. I was then informed that the club lounge has been permanently closed. I asked why and was told that the Club Lounge was getting too many complaints about it being small and having a poor selection so they decided to close it rather than make the changes and have to listen to the complaints. I was shocked to hear that! Why wouldn’t you listen to your customers and make changes to make their stays/experience better? I then asked about the parking charge was going to be waived as I am a Legoland Annual pass holder and was told that was no longer a perk to Legoland pass holders. Now frustrated I have to spend extra money on parking, afternoon snacks/beverages and breakfast (we didn’t pack breakfast for our family as the offerings of the Club Lounges are sufficient) I get my key and go back to the car to park and head to our room. We drive to the underground parking beneath our room/building and park. I look around for a cart to help bring my bags up, but there is nothing of the sort. To get to the elevators we have to pass the laundry room, mechanical room and walk down a long hall way to the elevator. We get into the elevator and got to floor two. Getting out on floor two we can smell what can only be described as bad body odor and then find our room and enter. I then have to make 2 more trips down to get the rest of our bags while my wife attends to our daughter and unpacks. Our room (1201) is nice and clean. We were upgraded to a suite due to our status. It is now a little after 5 and we are anxious to head down to Legoland to let our daughter play and get something to eat. We then pack up the stroller and start the ½ mile walk to the private entrance. Upon arrival to the gate we are informed that the park closed at 5:00. What?!? How can this be? I was told by 3 different people that it is open until 8pm. Disappointed we walk another ½ mile back to the hotel and go back to our room and try to decide where to go for dinner. We settled on a short drive to the outlets. We get back and call it a night around 9pm to get a good night sleep. We all woke up around 9 am on Saturday morning after a poor night of sleep (our suite was next to the elevators and it was relatively noisy) and we were planning on having breakfast at Twenty / 20 and then maybe a quick swim before my daughters daily nap which is normally around 11:30 daily. I called downstairs and requested a 4 pm checkout as it is a perk of being a Platinum member (based on occupancy) and was told that was not possible. I asked why and asked if we could compromise and have until 1pm so my daughter could get her nap in. Again I was shot down and informed that they are at 100% occupancy for the evening and because of the special event. I was then informed that the MS Bikeathon was having an event there from 10am – 6pm. I then asked to speak with a manager and talked to him about my above experience and that my daughter takes her daily nap from 11:30ish to 1:00 and that if we have to check out at 11 am it would ruin our day at Legoland as she would not be able to take a nap. The Manager/ Head of Security said it sounds like there was poor communication on the part of the hotel and that he would make an exception and allow us to stay until noon. I again asked if we could at least have until 1pm as it would still allow them a 3 hour timeframe before their 4pm check-in and was told that is not possible. I said ok and we ended our conversation. Frustrated and disappointed we packed up our belongings and decided to check out and when down and went to have breakfast at Twenty / 20. The highlight of our trip was the nice young lady who waited on us. Aside from that the food being mediocre at best (someone needs to teach the chef to poach an egg for eggs benedict) the service was good and she was very nice and helpful and brought our daughters food out right away. After breakfast we got into our car and drove over to Legoland and parked in their lot for our visit. As anticipated our daughter was not able to fall asleep and was overly tired and as a result we ended up leaving Legoland and driving home at 1:30. The net net is that we left very disappointed in our stay and will decided we would not be going back to the Sheraton Carlsbad ever again (mind you this was our 5th stay with each being worse than the last). It is very apparent they are not interested in their guests experience or voices and only care about their bottom line. Lastly, if you are going to have a large function like the MS Bikeathon at your property you should let your guests know in advance through reservations or via e-mail that Special Conditions Apply to that day so they can make the determination of whether or not they want to stay there. Had I known it was there and I would have to be woken up by people setting up banquet tables beneath my rooms and I would have to leave early I would have not booked a room for Friday. I would have saved my $200 and drove down in the morning while my daughter napped in the back and been able to enjoy a whole day at Legoland with my family rather than a couple of hours. October 25, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Less than expected The hotel was fine in general but our a/c in the room was out for both of the nights we stayed. The security guard brought a fan to us the second night but to find out there was not an engineer on site that could assist was very disappointing to say the least. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All Aroung Great Resort The hospitality throughout the resort was outstanding! I would definitely come back to this resort for personal and business. I doesn’t get better than this. June 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff was amazing We had a slight delay in check in and Laura at front desk was very helpful getting room ready. Shelly really went up and above for our son's birthday surprise..I wanted a cake and balloon in room to surprise him and she provided gift and really nice birthday card to greet us when we came back from dinner because it was not in room when we checked in. The entire staff were very personable and caring about the few mistakes and immediately made up for them. Eric at valet was also helpful in helping guide us to fun activities when we had extra day to spend at wonderful resort. August 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a pleasant experience SPG Platinum recognition was none existent. The room was dirty and the staff unknowledgeable and rude. Management responded to the complaints but basically ignored the root of the problem...i.e...The hotel doesn't like to follow the SPG brand amenities. July 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by OMG Wonderful Night I am the "gramma" that took the grandson to Legoland and the hotel room took away all the cares of the day spent with small children in a small children world. Not to mention that my grandson (6) hit the bed and fell sound asleep. This wonderful room was so nice that I am planning on duplicating the atmosphere in my bedroom at home and this is actually possible as I found all the bedding online. And the food out of this world. June 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Car parking terrible, bathroom counter top dirty Nice hotel with friendly staff but two things were disappointing. 1) Valet parking parks their cars in front of hotel building I stayed in. Consequently I had to park far away since the underground parking that is not large enough for the building was full and the near by outside parking was reserved for valet. Adding insult to injury, self parking is $12. Seems unjustified when there's all kinds of open land. 2) The bathroom counter top was dirty, not even wiped. I could see drinking glass mark circles, toothpaste drips, etc. The two star rating is because that's what represents "Needs Improvement" and I think these things can be improved. Seems harsh when the hotel is actually very nice. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is a wonderful place for a romantic getaway! My husband and I stayed for one night and had a wonderful and relaxing time. The hotel staff were friendly and professional. Kudos to the concierge! She gave us several options for dinner then made reservations for us. The restaurant was perfect! I would highly recommend your hotel to anyone who wants a quiet relaxing atmosphere. Also the facility was very elegant! August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Property! This was our first time staying at this property .... loved it! PERFECT for families headed to Legoland. Great pool with a few extra, fun pool-side activities, suite was super (rec'd a beautiful floral welcome amenity - nice touch!). Room service was quick & food was fresh. The Valet/Bell staff was awesome, particularly "Jeff" . . . very impressed with him. All around loved our stay! July 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dissappointment I am sure that I am not the first Starwood Owner to have a really bad taste in my mouth when I am charged a Resort Fee and then a PARKING FEE. This charge is over the top. Very unhappy with these additional charges. Paid extra for a ocean view and then stuck on the first floor!! November 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Clock not Right Checked in late after a day of business. Had a very hard time finding parking and had a long walk to find an entrance to hotel building. My room was quite chilly but warmed up once i cranked the heat. The next morning i awoke early 6:15 so took my time only to turn my phone on and realize that it was in fact an hour later because my in room clock had not been changed to DST!!! Fortunately I wasn't late for my first meeting but it could have been a disaster. March 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasant Surprise Well-kept grounds, smell of new carpet led me to believe that the hotel was newer than its 5 years. Room had pleasant view of green manicured lawns. Large pool, attractive pool furniture. Fitness center more than adequate. Chilled towels were a nice touch. Starbucks counter a nice surprise. Food a little pricey. All the staff very friendly. June 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We enjoyed very much My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton Carlsbad for our 33rd wedding anniversary. It was very nice, the first night we were given a ride down into town on the beach for dinner and picked up, the staff is very friendly and the service great. The second night we stayed in the hotel bar and had dinner. August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by NOT the usual SPG or Sheraton standard They charge for EVERY little thing, have no regard for the meaning of customer service, things were broken in the fitness center, the bed was NOT the usual Sheraton/SPG quality, our sink was clogged and it took several hours to fix (maintenance man had my hair brush on the floor, guess he dropped it off the counter, but, to not pick it up, really?) Usually get 2 water bottle, this place only gives 1. I know that doesn't seem like a BIG deal, but, it is just another example of how they don't keep with other Sheraton standards. I won't be going back. January 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Legoland and Sheraton Carlsbad! We stayed here because of the private entrance to LEGOLAND. However, we never expected such a beautiful hotel with all the amenities, including a beautiful pool, fabulous restaurant, comfortable rooms, as well as the private entrance to LEGOLAND. Would definitely stay here again, even if we weren't going to the park! August 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice, family hotel Beautiful property with some nice amenities (pool, spa, fitness room). Only down side was that there was a lot of foot traffic heard outside my door as well as upstairs, but expected being that the hotel is located next to Legoland. There was a rotten odor (like eggs) coming from my bathroom, not sure what that was about. Co-workers said they didn't have the same experience in their rooms. All-in-all, a nice hotel. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by We were please with facilities and staff This was our 3rd stay at this hotel and the consistency remains. It well lives up to our SPG expectations in terms of service, facilities and features. With the exception of a few minor room maintenance issues, we were very pleased with our return stay and would highly recommend this property. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Kids Loved It Spent Two nights with my family (Two boys 2 and 3) for a mini get away. The hotel was amazing, the staff were so nice to my boys, the food was delicious (the kids loved the bread) and the private entry to the Legoland park was cool. I will be back soon- the kids are spoiled. Thanks- Sheraton! May 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overbooked June 28th, 2014 Dear Sheraton Carlsbad management, I am a Starwood Preferred Guest Member and have been a loyal customer of your hotel chain and have always appreciated the excellent customer service your chain offers. Yet a recent unpleasant experience with your hotel has shaken my belief in your ability to provide top notch customer care all the time. I had a reservation for June 26, for a one night accommodation at your hotel. I had chose your hotel specifically because of it's private entrance into LEGOLAND. I was traveling with my spouse and my two young children. After a long drive and late night we were excited to finally arrive and get some sleep. We arrived at 11pm to your hotel and upon check in we were told that there was no room available for us, and that the hotel has been overbooked. The night manager had explained to us that the mix up had happened because we had booked through a third party. Your hotel had made complimentary accommodations for us at neighboring hotel and we would receive a full refund for the room booked with you. I explained to the hotel night night manager that this was unacceptable and that clearly the neighboring hotel is not comparable to the Sheraton , also that this neighboring hotel did not have a private entrance to LEGOLAND. She apologized again and claimed that this was all she was capable of doing. Having no choice we left and drove to the niegboring hotel , only to find out that the room they were holding for us had a king bed , and I clearly needed accommodations for 4. Unfortunately the this hotel had no other rooms that could accommodate 4 guests at the time. The night clerk now had to make calls to all the surrounding hotels in the area to find a room that could accommodate us. We finally received a room at another hotel, when we arrived at teethe third hotel it was obvious that, although the staff was very nice, the hotel was not nearly as nice as yours. I cannot begin to tell you how very disappointed this whole experience has been. Do to all of the chaos we did not get into the room until 12:30 at night which was completely catastrophic for my two children that were completely exhausted and upset. I am writing to encourage you to improve your customer service as I don't want this experience to ruin my positive impressions about your hotel. If this is the kind of service that loyal customers receive, I can only imagine how worse is can get in the case of others, I just hope that these problems will be solved, because clearly according to your night manager this happens frequently. Sincerely , Jen July 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid this property I wonder if I stayed at the same property that others have reviwed. This Hotel has a horrible HVAC system. I had to get maintenance to have the heat turned on, then about 2:00 am the room was about 85 F. The noise level in this Hotel is excessive, to the east is an Airport, to the west you can hear trains sounding their horns, there is no in between. Corridors are noisy. It took three room changes to get a better room, one that was half way quite. The stay was so bad I had to call SPG Guest Services to assit me. I am in the process of sending a E mail to White Plain regarding the stay. I my opinion this is not a Resort property, The Hotel is managed by another concern, so it is not an owned Starwood Property, and I think that is where the problems lie. December 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Proximity to Legoland Fabulous,clean provides all the amenities needed with children. Shuttle service if needed to Legoland. Makes Legoland even more enjoyable June 15, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>