Sheraton Carlsbad Resort & Spa

  • 5480 Grand Pacific Drive
  • Carlsbad,
  • California
  • 92008
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 327 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff very helpful It took a few phone calls, but the staff was able to locate a box I had shipped to the hotel for a conference. The address label did not have my name on it, but the front desk manager located it with the tracking number. I appreciated the help. Also the valet parkers were helpful--they suggested a great breakfast place in Encinitas called Cafe 101. A dive, but great food! August 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cool pool in Cabazon This resort has a very nice pool with lots of seating and lounging. The dive-in pool movie was fun for the kids September 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overnight Trip My wife and I have platinum status and own several SVO properties. We travel for pleasure only and bring along our now 21 month old daughter. We decided on Monday to take a quick trip to Legoland for Brick or Treat on Friday to enjoy some family time after a stressful week (my wife is a teacher and just had parent teacher conferences). Now let’s fast forward to the day of our arrival. I had called down the morning of our arrival to verify that our room would be ready around 4pm and to confirm Legolands hours. I was told no problem on the room and Legoland closes at 8pm. We departed our home at 3:00 and arrived at 4:30 we were greeted at the door by a valet who told me “take your time’, which was a strange greeting but a greeting. During check in I asked the clerk to confirm that Legoland was open until 8 as I was told earlier and he verified with the other clerk and told me I was correct. I then asked about their Club Lounge and its hours. I was then informed that the club lounge has been permanently closed. I asked why and was told that the Club Lounge was getting too many complaints about it being small and having a poor selection so they decided to close it rather than make the changes and have to listen to the complaints. I was shocked to hear that! Why wouldn’t you listen to your customers and make changes to make their stays/experience better? I then asked about the parking charge was going to be waived as I am a Legoland Annual pass holder and was told that was no longer a perk to Legoland pass holders. Now frustrated I have to spend extra money on parking, afternoon snacks/beverages and breakfast (we didn’t pack breakfast for our family as the offerings of the Club Lounges are sufficient) I get my key and go back to the car to park and head to our room. We drive to the underground parking beneath our room/building and park. I look around for a cart to help bring my bags up, but there is nothing of the sort. To get to the elevators we have to pass the laundry room, mechanical room and walk down a long hall way to the elevator. We get into the elevator and got to floor two. Getting out on floor two we can smell what can only be described as bad body odor and then find our room and enter. I then have to make 2 more trips down to get the rest of our bags while my wife attends to our daughter and unpacks. Our room (1201) is nice and clean. We were upgraded to a suite due to our status. It is now a little after 5 and we are anxious to head down to Legoland to let our daughter play and get something to eat. We then pack up the stroller and start the ½ mile walk to the private entrance. Upon arrival to the gate we are informed that the park closed at 5:00. What?!? How can this be? I was told by 3 different people that it is open until 8pm. Disappointed we walk another ½ mile back to the hotel and go back to our room and try to decide where to go for dinner. We settled on a short drive to the outlets. We get back and call it a night around 9pm to get a good night sleep. We all woke up around 9 am on Saturday morning after a poor night of sleep (our suite was next to the elevators and it was relatively noisy) and we were planning on having breakfast at Twenty / 20 and then maybe a quick swim before my daughters daily nap which is normally around 11:30 daily. I called downstairs and requested a 4 pm checkout as it is a perk of being a Platinum member (based on occupancy) and was told that was not possible. I asked why and asked if we could compromise and have until 1pm so my daughter could get her nap in. Again I was shot down and informed that they are at 100% occupancy for the evening and because of the special event. I was then informed that the MS Bikeathon was having an event there from 10am – 6pm. I then asked to speak with a manager and talked to him about my above experience and that my daughter takes her daily nap from 11:30ish to 1:00 and that if we have to check out at 11 am it would ruin our day at Legoland as she would not be able to take a nap. The Manager/ Head of Security said it sounds like there was poor communication on the part of the hotel and that he would make an exception and allow us to stay until noon. I again asked if we could at least have until 1pm as it would still allow them a 3 hour timeframe before their 4pm check-in and was told that is not possible. I said ok and we ended our conversation. Frustrated and disappointed we packed up our belongings and decided to check out and when down and went to have breakfast at Twenty / 20. The highlight of our trip was the nice young lady who waited on us. Aside from that the food being mediocre at best (someone needs to teach the chef to poach an egg for eggs benedict) the service was good and she was very nice and helpful and brought our daughters food out right away. After breakfast we got into our car and drove over to Legoland and parked in their lot for our visit. As anticipated our daughter was not able to fall asleep and was overly tired and as a result we ended up leaving Legoland and driving home at 1:30. The net net is that we left very disappointed in our stay and will decided we would not be going back to the Sheraton Carlsbad ever again (mind you this was our 5th stay with each being worse than the last). It is very apparent they are not interested in their guests experience or voices and only care about their bottom line. Lastly, if you are going to have a large function like the MS Bikeathon at your property you should let your guests know in advance through reservations or via e-mail that Special Conditions Apply to that day so they can make the determination of whether or not they want to stay there. Had I known it was there and I would have to be woken up by people setting up banquet tables beneath my rooms and I would have to leave early I would have not booked a room for Friday. I would have saved my $200 and drove down in the morning while my daughter napped in the back and been able to enjoy a whole day at Legoland with my family rather than a couple of hours. October 25, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not quite as good as I had hoped This hotel was not as family friendly as I had hoped for. It's "close" proximity to LEGOLAND involved quite a long walk for our three young children. The "shuttle" driver/ valet, Aaron, was rude and would not pick us up at the pick up area because we had not called; though we were guests of the hotel. The check in guy Matt, also needed a refresher course in customer service. Overall, the hotel was beautiful, but due to the unfriendliness of the staff, the price was not worth the negativity we received. August 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice, but felt nickled and dimed First, let me say the hotel was beautiful and rooms were great. Staff - very nice. But, I did feel like we were nickled ad dimed. On top of the room, there's a resort tax and parking, so the price isn't what you think it will be, August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All Aroung Great Resort The hospitality throughout the resort was outstanding! I would definitely come back to this resort for personal and business. I doesn’t get better than this. June 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Staff and Romantic Getaway Where do I begin? It is a beautiful property! We were very pleasantly surprised! We didn't expect such a beautiful hotel with all the amenities. The pool was fabulous, the 20/20 restaurant was reasonably priced, and the mini-dessert was to die for! Concierge was so helpful, recommended us many good places to eat and visit. Pho Ever Restaurant hit the spot after a 6 hour non-stop flight from FL :) The rooms were actually very quiet once the balcony doors were closed. The fitness center was clean. And best of all, we really enjoyed walking around the beautiful resort. All the staff was always saying hello. This was our 1st trip alone without our 3 year old. This hotel was perfect - It was very a very romantic place! We want to come back again, WITH our daughter so we can take her to LegoLand. We didn't realize it was right here! August 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by All about LegoLand Amazing location with a private entrance to Legoland (which was a great benefit). Little noisy with all the kids and the decor is quite personality-less, very businessy/office-like design when it's really meant to be a resort. My only complaint is the $14 required resort fee. I despise these resort fees that are required and you get "access to the pool and fitness center" which are free at most other sheraton properties. (and I didn't use) This should be included. August 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location but poor service Front desk staff were rude. Did not recognize SPG level. Restaurant service was exceptionally slow which is a very big deal with young children. August 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not for business travelers This is a nice family resort. Not so great for business travelers. I successfully applied a Suite Night Award to my reservation, and was upgraded to an Executive Suite. A few days prior to arrival, I received an email asking me for my estimated time of arrival, and whether I had any special requests. It’s a nice touch that’s not seen in US hotels. I emailed back with my arrival time, and requested a quiet room as I was there on business. I got a suite overlooking the pool filled with screaming kids. Great execution there! The Executive Suite is in the corner, and the bathroom is not attached to the bedroom, which is weird. Rooms weren’t conducive for business travelers. There wasn’t a laptop safe, I had to move my desk a few inches to reach electrical outlets, and the building is wood framed so you can hear thuds from people walking above you. Lots of hallway noise enters your room as well. The property is well maintained though, and the staff are exceedingly friendly and helpful. They remembered my name throughout my visit. The gym is large, with a good selection of equipment. Platinums get the $14 resort fee waived. Nobody at the front desk (I asked three people) knew what the Platinum Breakfast amenity was. Just that you get something for free, and I’d have to inquire at the restaurant to see what it includes. The answer was the full hot breakfast buffet or anything I’d like off the menu. I was given a “late” check-out of 12:30pm due to being in a Suite. In the end, this is a nice resort geared towards families. If you’re looking to get work done, look elsewhere. August 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Underwhelming Overall a hotel trying to be a resort but really need to work on the staff friendliness, responsiveness and ability to make the guest feel welcome. Lots of nitpicky charges that I don't see at other SPG properties. Staff told us they don't really participate in the SPG Platinum program because they are a "resort" so all the typical amenities afforded to a Platinum guest are only done as a courtesty and not to expect anything other than a 500 point amenity. They lived up to that commitment. Will definitely not be visiting this "resort" again. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by OMG Wonderful Night I am the "gramma" that took the grandson to Legoland and the hotel room took away all the cares of the day spent with small children in a small children world. Not to mention that my grandson (6) hit the bed and fell sound asleep. This wonderful room was so nice that I am planning on duplicating the atmosphere in my bedroom at home and this is actually possible as I found all the bedding online. And the food out of this world. June 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Car parking terrible, bathroom counter top dirty Nice hotel with friendly staff but two things were disappointing. 1) Valet parking parks their cars in front of hotel building I stayed in. Consequently I had to park far away since the underground parking that is not large enough for the building was full and the near by outside parking was reserved for valet. Adding insult to injury, self parking is $12. Seems unjustified when there's all kinds of open land. 2) The bathroom counter top was dirty, not even wiped. I could see drinking glass mark circles, toothpaste drips, etc. The two star rating is because that's what represents "Needs Improvement" and I think these things can be improved. Seems harsh when the hotel is actually very nice. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Favorite Place to Stay in the Carlsbad Area. Nothing compares to the overall experience at the Sheraton Carlsbad. The rooms are comfortable and aesthetically pleasing, the food terrific, and the location prime, however is the careful attention of all of the employees and staff that makes my time extra special. I stay at this location two to three times a year. Everyone is incredibly helpful and accommodating with my personal and business needs. Thanks to all and I look forward to the Westin coming in for those of us who prefer private adult swimming pools. Thank you Sheraton! August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dissappointment I am sure that I am not the first Starwood Owner to have a really bad taste in my mouth when I am charged a Resort Fee and then a PARKING FEE. This charge is over the top. Very unhappy with these additional charges. Paid extra for a ocean view and then stuck on the first floor!! November 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location is advantage When we walk in the hallway, all the housekeeping girls never said "hello" or "hi". When we called for requesting clean the room, no one answered my phone calls. When we checked in, front desk girl indicated wrong direction to us. August 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Clock not Right Checked in late after a day of business. Had a very hard time finding parking and had a long walk to find an entrance to hotel building. My room was quite chilly but warmed up once i cranked the heat. The next morning i awoke early 6:15 so took my time only to turn my phone on and realize that it was in fact an hour later because my in room clock had not been changed to DST!!! Fortunately I wasn't late for my first meeting but it could have been a disaster. March 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK Not a big fan of this hotel. There is not much noise reductions between rooms I heard the family next to me for 3 hours till they went to sleep. This is family hotel there are a lot of children if you are with children this is for you. Again having said that nice location clean property. And I would like to give a shout out to the staff a the door the young men at valet where very helpful and polite. August 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by NOT the usual SPG or Sheraton standard They charge for EVERY little thing, have no regard for the meaning of customer service, things were broken in the fitness center, the bed was NOT the usual Sheraton/SPG quality, our sink was clogged and it took several hours to fix (maintenance man had my hair brush on the floor, guess he dropped it off the counter, but, to not pick it up, really?) Usually get 2 water bottle, this place only gives 1. I know that doesn't seem like a BIG deal, but, it is just another example of how they don't keep with other Sheraton standards. I won't be going back. January 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Less than expected The hotel was fine in general but our a/c in the room was out for both of the nights we stayed. The security guard brought a fan to us the second night but to find out there was not an engineer on site that could assist was very disappointing to say the least. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Fun We enjoyed our stay very much. The entrance to Legoland was very helpful. The pool was great, I liked the mini cabana louge chairs for shade and without an extra charge. The lobby smells amazing. The restaurant was very good my son enjoyed the kids buffet. The food at poolside was also very good. August 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a pleasant experience SPG Platinum recognition was none existent. The room was dirty and the staff unknowledgeable and rude. Management responded to the complaints but basically ignored the root of the problem...i.e...The hotel doesn't like to follow the SPG brand amenities. July 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasant Surprise Well-kept grounds, smell of new carpet led me to believe that the hotel was newer than its 5 years. Room had pleasant view of green manicured lawns. Large pool, attractive pool furniture. Fitness center more than adequate. Chilled towels were a nice touch. Starbucks counter a nice surprise. Food a little pricey. All the staff very friendly. June 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Property! This was our first time staying at this property .... loved it! PERFECT for families headed to Legoland. Great pool with a few extra, fun pool-side activities, suite was super (rec'd a beautiful floral welcome amenity - nice touch!). Room service was quick & food was fresh. The Valet/Bell staff was awesome, particularly "Jeff" . . . very impressed with him. All around loved our stay! July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff was amazing We had a slight delay in check in and Laura at front desk was very helpful getting room ready. Shelly really went up and above for our son's birthday surprise..I wanted a cake and balloon in room to surprise him and she provided gift and really nice birthday card to greet us when we came back from dinner because it was not in room when we checked in. The entire staff were very personable and caring about the few mistakes and immediately made up for them. Eric at valet was also helpful in helping guide us to fun activities when we had extra day to spend at wonderful resort. August 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relaxing Environment A great facility with private entrance to LegoLand. Only 55 mins from Disneyland. The Exec Suite was worth it. A quick drive to the beach. Great local food. A quick 30 min drive from the San Diego Airport. Wish it had laundry facilities--that was the only problem. August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Kids Loved It Spent Two nights with my family (Two boys 2 and 3) for a mini get away. The hotel was amazing, the staff were so nice to my boys, the food was delicious (the kids loved the bread) and the private entry to the Legoland park was cool. I will be back soon- the kids are spoiled. Thanks- Sheraton! May 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid this property I wonder if I stayed at the same property that others have reviwed. This Hotel has a horrible HVAC system. I had to get maintenance to have the heat turned on, then about 2:00 am the room was about 85 F. The noise level in this Hotel is excessive, to the east is an Airport, to the west you can hear trains sounding their horns, there is no in between. Corridors are noisy. It took three room changes to get a better room, one that was half way quite. The stay was so bad I had to call SPG Guest Services to assit me. I am in the process of sending a E mail to White Plain regarding the stay. I my opinion this is not a Resort property, The Hotel is managed by another concern, so it is not an owned Starwood Property, and I think that is where the problems lie. December 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Proximity to Legoland Fabulous,clean provides all the amenities needed with children. Shuttle service if needed to Legoland. Makes Legoland even more enjoyable June 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is a wonderful place for a romantic getaway! My husband and I stayed for one night and had a wonderful and relaxing time. The hotel staff were friendly and professional. Kudos to the concierge! She gave us several options for dinner then made reservations for us. The restaurant was perfect! I would highly recommend your hotel to anyone who wants a quiet relaxing atmosphere. Also the facility was very elegant! August 7, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>