Sheraton Carlsbad Resort & Spa

  • 5480 Grand Pacific Drive
  • Carlsbad,
  • California
  • 92008
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 342 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by All Aroung Great Resort The hospitality throughout the resort was outstanding! I would definitely come back to this resort for personal and business. I doesn’t get better than this. June 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Car parking terrible, bathroom counter top dirty Nice hotel with friendly staff but two things were disappointing. 1) Valet parking parks their cars in front of hotel building I stayed in. Consequently I had to park far away since the underground parking that is not large enough for the building was full and the near by outside parking was reserved for valet. Adding insult to injury, self parking is $12. Seems unjustified when there's all kinds of open land. 2) The bathroom counter top was dirty, not even wiped. I could see drinking glass mark circles, toothpaste drips, etc. The two star rating is because that's what represents "Needs Improvement" and I think these things can be improved. Seems harsh when the hotel is actually very nice. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by OMG Wonderful Night I am the "gramma" that took the grandson to Legoland and the hotel room took away all the cares of the day spent with small children in a small children world. Not to mention that my grandson (6) hit the bed and fell sound asleep. This wonderful room was so nice that I am planning on duplicating the atmosphere in my bedroom at home and this is actually possible as I found all the bedding online. And the food out of this world. June 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by NOT the usual SPG or Sheraton standard They charge for EVERY little thing, have no regard for the meaning of customer service, things were broken in the fitness center, the bed was NOT the usual Sheraton/SPG quality, our sink was clogged and it took several hours to fix (maintenance man had my hair brush on the floor, guess he dropped it off the counter, but, to not pick it up, really?) Usually get 2 water bottle, this place only gives 1. I know that doesn't seem like a BIG deal, but, it is just another example of how they don't keep with other Sheraton standards. I won't be going back. January 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dissappointment I am sure that I am not the first Starwood Owner to have a really bad taste in my mouth when I am charged a Resort Fee and then a PARKING FEE. This charge is over the top. Very unhappy with these additional charges. Paid extra for a ocean view and then stuck on the first floor!! November 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Clock not Right Checked in late after a day of business. Had a very hard time finding parking and had a long walk to find an entrance to hotel building. My room was quite chilly but warmed up once i cranked the heat. The next morning i awoke early 6:15 so took my time only to turn my phone on and realize that it was in fact an hour later because my in room clock had not been changed to DST!!! Fortunately I wasn't late for my first meeting but it could have been a disaster. March 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed As a person who travels a handful, staying at Starwood Properties as much as possible, I have perhaps a higher standard. I had a challenge with the hotel not fulfilling my reservation, the solution was not much better. After requesting a change, I was given an attitude that I did not expect nor accept. Hence, the low review. Too many other choices exist, especially in the area... December 21, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by First Stay at the Sheraton Carlsbad - some issues Let me mention I have stayed at the Hilton Carlsbad Resort twice already, and the Hilton is located in a little better beach access spot, and has better food. Another good factor: most, but NOT all, of the Hotel service was great. 1) Jennifer Joiner the Front desk manager is NOT friendly, and is NOT customer service oriented, not just to me, but to at least two other separate guests that I saw with my own eyes. 2) Hotel charges $20 for a "buffet" but it was emphasized you get juice OR coffee, not both. Second, buffet only had FIVE CHOICES OF FOOD, for which all meat products were pork, pork based, or wrapped in pork casing, and Hotel offered NO subs. 3) Hotel BUFFET ran out of food items well before the end time of 11am. I communicated all the above to Front Desk Staff during my stay. Let's see if they care or will fix. December 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Underwhelming Overall a hotel trying to be a resort but really need to work on the staff friendliness, responsiveness and ability to make the guest feel welcome. Lots of nitpicky charges that I don't see at other SPG properties. Staff told us they don't really participate in the SPG Platinum program because they are a "resort" so all the typical amenities afforded to a Platinum guest are only done as a courtesty and not to expect anything other than a 500 point amenity. They lived up to that commitment. Will definitely not be visiting this "resort" again. July 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not so Happy Experience We did not get our money's worth. Bad beds and coffee. Had to talk to 3 people b4 we can address an issue and took about an hour to get it resolved. Food at the grill was awesome though. August 7, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disapointed101 First time here...where shall I begin check in staff was very friendly but it was all downhill from then on. Tv kept losing signal woke up middle if night only to find the heater was not working. Bathroom fan not working. Shower drain clogged. Told the check out clerk about the heater Bathroom fan and drain and was told that maintenence will be informed. I've had better experiences at a two star hotel. One has to wonder how this property earned a four star rating. Will never return! November 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Housekeeping was bad. Front Desk staff was superb. Housekeeping was so poor - we came back to a room that was half cleaned (the beds were made and dirty towels were removed). The house keeper left a worn latext glove on our nightstand and our glasses were not washed! In the bathroom there was a clean towel on the rack but dirty with a grey streak! When I shared my experience the front desk staff waived our parking fees which was kind but we would have preferfered a clean room. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Prior to Arrival Waited on suite upgrade to come thru and it was denied. I phoned to 'pay' as I reserved a room on points (and to check on whether suites were available) and there were. Understanding is the number of rooms for suite upgrades are "system generated" but that didn't change the fact that 12 hours prior to check in when I phoned I was denied the upgrade but suites were available. Frustrating. Upon check in an upgrade was provided. November 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasant Surprise Well-kept grounds, smell of new carpet led me to believe that the hotel was newer than its 5 years. Room had pleasant view of green manicured lawns. Large pool, attractive pool furniture. Fitness center more than adequate. Chilled towels were a nice touch. Starbucks counter a nice surprise. Food a little pricey. All the staff very friendly. June 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Find a different hotel I was unable to sleep because a group of rowdy guests who work for Genentech were tearing the hotel up all night. The hotel refused to stop them because the hotel manager is good friends with the people at Genentech. There is another hotel very close called the Grand Pacific Pallisades, which is a great place to stay. December 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Kids Loved It Spent Two nights with my family (Two boys 2 and 3) for a mini get away. The hotel was amazing, the staff were so nice to my boys, the food was delicious (the kids loved the bread) and the private entry to the Legoland park was cool. I will be back soon- the kids are spoiled. Thanks- Sheraton! May 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a pleasant experience SPG Platinum recognition was none existent. The room was dirty and the staff unknowledgeable and rude. Management responded to the complaints but basically ignored the root of the problem...i.e...The hotel doesn't like to follow the SPG brand amenities. July 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by rude and unprofessional As a Starwood Platinum for over a decade, I frankly expect better. The staff was rude and made me feel like an "idiot" for paying $700+ per night for the Presidential suite during my stay. I would not recommend this hotel, and it is not what I expect from the Starwood brand. April 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by New Years Eve The check in process was below standard. We arrived at 3:45 for a 4:00 check in. We were told our room wasn't ready yet and it would be around 20 minutes. It ended up being two hours later and that was after us having to check back repeatedly. Very young, poorly trained staff! January 4, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid this property I wonder if I stayed at the same property that others have reviwed. This Hotel has a horrible HVAC system. I had to get maintenance to have the heat turned on, then about 2:00 am the room was about 85 F. The noise level in this Hotel is excessive, to the east is an Airport, to the west you can hear trains sounding their horns, there is no in between. Corridors are noisy. It took three room changes to get a better room, one that was half way quite. The stay was so bad I had to call SPG Guest Services to assit me. I am in the process of sending a E mail to White Plain regarding the stay. I my opinion this is not a Resort property, The Hotel is managed by another concern, so it is not an owned Starwood Property, and I think that is where the problems lie. December 5, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Attitude adjustment This resort has a lot going for it-- literally next door to LEGOLAND, modern layout, good location overall, good breakfast buffet. Staff needs work to match. Slow delivery of baby crib, front desk clerk initially didn't offer platinum breakfast amenity because "we are a resort" which is not true, since I have been platinum for 15 years. Experience would be considerably better if service by staff improved. December 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Proximity to Legoland Fabulous,clean provides all the amenities needed with children. Shuttle service if needed to Legoland. Makes Legoland even more enjoyable June 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This is a Family (Kids oriented) hotel I planned our stay at the hotel simply as a weekend getaway. We both work long hours and needed a couple of days to unwind. We do not have any children, we just wanted some quiet time by the pool and some good meals. Unfortunately, this was not the place for this. Legoland is across the street from the hotel, so you can imagine the number of excited children running around the hotel, the lobby, the pool, the halls, and in just about every room surrounding our room. This would not have been such a big deal, if the hotel was full. I don't know why they put us, a childless couple, in a room at the farthest end of the hotel, the farthest from the pool and restaurant, and surrounded us with children. I used my SPG points for the room and I felt like I was being punished for it. When we arrived at the building we were staying in, there was at least half a bag of trash scattered in front of the door. That trash remained there friday, saturday, and was finally gone sunday evening. When we first got to our room, it was clean, but there was a dirty glass and napkins on the floor 2 inches from our door. This glass and napkins was there from friday afternoon until late saturday afternoon. In addition, 2 of the 3 ice machines in our building did not work. Most, if not all of my issues with the hotel are management related. The facility is nice, the employees are nice, but not well guided. Lastly, the pool and bar are not very impressive, at best. A better description would be just plan boring. I would not stay here again, I expected more from Sheraton. August 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel messed up reservation request We requested adjoining rooms over the phone when making a reservation directly through the hotel since we have small children that need supervision. The reservation desk omitted this from our reservation even though they said they would accommodate it so we did not have adjoining rooms at check-in. The hotel did nothing to accommodate or remedy the situation even though it was their fault. We had a less than enjoyable vacation since our family had to be split up. October 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Hotel with Great Staff My 25 year old daughter and I went on a mother daughter weekend. From the time we arrived until the time we left, we had a great time. The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are decorated very nice and big. Anytime we needed something or asked a question, we felt important. I will be back with my husband and my 22 year old daughter. I would love to take a family vacation with both daughters to this Hotel. Getting everyones work schedules coordinated to take a family vacation is a challenge. We Will Be Back! April 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not a good value My girlfriend and I stayed here while visiting my mother. The hotel is very nice and all the staff were super friendly. A lot of families stay here for Lego Land and we were rudely awakened early in the am by a screaming baby in the next room. Although the hotel has ample parking, they charge $12 a night for self parking and $16 for valet. The self parking is extremely limited so you are basically forced to valet. There is also a mandatory resort fee of $12 a day which we did not know about until checkout. The hotel does provide breakfast vouchers but they are limited to the eggs your way meal so there are no free options if you are vegan or have other dietary restrictions. They do have a breakfast buffet which I think would be a better choice for the voucher. Overall, I would not choose to stay here again. January 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs improvement I was a guest at the Sheraton, in Carlsbad and was there for a business meeting. While the staff was very accommodating, the room left a bit to be desired. I was unable to get the thermostat in the room to control the temperature, which was a particular problem, as it was quite cold for this time of year. Additionally, the TV and the remote were in working when I arrived. The bathroom did not have sufficient lighting for me to get ready in the morning, nor did it have the usual amenities in the room like a make-up light. All in all, Starwood properties are my preferred hotels, but I am not likely to stay in this one again. It truly could use some updating. December 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too much noise The hotel is beautiful & has reasonably priced food in the restaurant. We stayed in room 2106 which was a wheelchair accesible room & one shower made the whole floor wet. We could hear the family above us, walking, running, jumping, & moving furniture. When we complained, the 4th time they said they would send security. My husband waited for 1 hr and had to flag security who told us he didn't know anything about our call. June 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is amazing...Hostess at 20/20 not so much! Our experience at the hotel was lovely. The only complaint I would have was our breakfast in the restaurant. We went for breakfast they told us to set ourselves. Once we were settled into a booth, the hostess demanded we move because that booth was saved. There was no sign. Nor did anyone come and occupy the booth during our time in the restaurant. Our waiter was wonderful but I found the hostess to be rude and disrespectful. July 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for R and R Just a few miles off the 5, with a panoramic ocean view. The rooms were large, very clean and well appointed. Fridge in room. Small area in lobby to buy food and personal items. Many healthful items on the menu in the restaurant and great service. Staff was friendly. We asked for a late checkout, which they were hesitant to do at first ( I have noticed some of the 'resorts' are like this), but they did give it to us because of my Platinum level. Also, we did not receive a newpaper (which is listed in the resort fees) and the lady who answered the phone basically told me to 'come and get it'. After letting her know " I am in my pj's and that is one of the things I really like', she sent someone up with the paper. Small complaint but hotels need to realize attitude is everything! The location here is great for so many destinations. Really enjoyed the peace and quiet. Great gym. February 12, 2013
  • 2015-03-28T17:47:40.788-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_342, tr_342
  • loc_en_US, sid_1719, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>