Sheraton Carlsbad Resort & Spa

  • 5480 Grand Pacific Drive
  • Carlsbad,
  • California
  • 92008
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 336 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Air Conditioning System is Weird I was at the Sheraton for an event and only had about 20 minutes to change and get ready in my room. It was a very hot day and my room was very warm when went inside. I attempted to put the A/C on and found out by reading the manual in the room that it takes 15-20 minutes to kick in! So the room was very hot the whole time I was getting ready, which was a pain. Once I got back to the room later that night, it was a pleasant temperature b/c the A/C had been on. Some of these "green" measures are just plain silly and more of a nuisance than they were worth. Also the hallways of the hotel were very warm, which wasn't pleasant, and smelled like curry. The hotel is beautiful overall and well maintained. I would recommend changing the air conditioning system though. We ordered room service for breakfast the next morning and while everything was delicious, the portions were TINY. I got huevos rancheros and I think there were two tablespoons of black beans on the plate. If the hotel is going to charge room service prices, at least make the portions decent. Also, the hotel front desk staff wasn't very friendly and didn't seem anxious to get my room for me even though it was a VIP room. October 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by the hotel is very comfortable A wonderful hotel to stay in. Very comfortable & everyone was very pleasant & efficient January 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff Very friendly staff. Front desk, housekeeping, restaurants were all outstanding! August 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is great It's close to almost everything that's an attraction to San Diego! August 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Resort Amazing service, staff and location! April 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by beautiful hotel and view Would love to come back again February 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Back to Back Weekend Trips This is the second time we have stayed here (back to back saturday nights). This time the requested suite night award was confirmed (to a corner suite). We were actually upgraded to the one-bedroom suite (Marbrisa suite) on the third floor facing the canyon upon check in, SWEET. It was very nice of Sheraton Carlsbad to do that when it was not necessary to do so. The hotel grounds are very pleasant, and this time, the hallways were very quiet (since we got back late from dinner at downtown Carlsbad). This time we did not dine at Twenty20 for dinner (did not have that great of an experience the weekend before). We took advantage of the complimentary SPG platinum guest breakfast again. However, service at Twenty20 needs much improvement. We waited for about 10 minutes before being seated (there were plenty of open tables; just not enough servers I guess). Then after we were seated, we waited another 10 minutes for the waitress to show up (while another group sat down after us in the adjacent table got served right away (from a different waitress). Not sure why our waitress only has one table in the main dining room, and all of her other tables were at the patio outside? She forgot to bring our coffee creamer and told us she would be right back with it. Our creamer did not come until she brought over our breakfast order, which was another 10 minutes. Why does it take her 10 minutes to do something everytime? Sheraton Carlsbad management, please rely and address our concerns regarding the “lack” of service at Twenty20. April 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for Legoland Visit Did a one nighter here the night before Easter Sunday. Tried to applied for SNA upgrade, but no suites were available. Got assigned to the Deluxe coastal view room on the third floor in building 1. $12 resort fee is waived for Platinum guest. Parked in the limited space underground parking. I thought continental breakfast was a standard platinum benefit, but not here. I can choose to either have the 500 SPG points or the continental breakfast as my Platinum welcome gift. With the continental breakfast, you can choose anything on the menu and they will provide a $15 credit per person for up to two. We choose the standard "platinum" breakfast which includes coffee, juice, pastry, cereal, yogurt, and fruit bowl. We didn't eat much, just wanted to have some coffee and fruit, so this was actually perfect. Did not get a bill since the waitress said everything was taken care of. We left a cash tip. It was a very nice touch to have the easter egg hunt for hotel guests (and those who opted to have Sunday brunch there). It was very nicely organized. They split out the resort children guests into two groups, those 7 and under were at the lawn at 9:30AM, and those 8 and over had a more challenging hunt at a different place at 9:45AM. Then those attending Sunday brunch had their egg hunt at 1PM. They also had the Easter Bunny available for pictures starting at 8:30AM. The walkway to the private entrance to Legoland is pretty easy. Walk down the hill no more than 10 minutes (it is a very quick walk down hill). The entrance will "dump" you by Castle Hill inside Legoland. Overall, the property is nice, however, not too many suites available for upgrade. April 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Below Average! Over rated, Not what I expect from a Sheraton! I was very unhappy with my stay in the Carlsbad CA Sheraton. Upon arrival, we were checked in to our room, but informed we would need to self park, which is usually ok, parking is terrible and additional parking is not convenient. The romance package I booked for my wifes 30th birthday was not at all what I thought. The room was very plain and dull, no excitement whatsoever. The "fruit plate" was two red apples on a plate, now thats romantic! The 2 complimentary bottles of water was very confusing, as one was a Figi water, and the other was a reclaimed NEstle brand that had a broken seal. I ask for new water that I never got. I called about the fruit and the gentlemen told me it was whatever the F&B dept had at the time. The bottoms of my feet turned black from the carpet in my room, the tv took about ten power cycles for it to power up. The 20% off spa services were never used as they refused to give her any treatments since she is two months pregnant. When checking out I stated my concerns to the desk. 3 hours later i recieved a phone call offering me a $20 discount to resolve the issues. Well guess what... I still feel like an idiot for trying to surprise my wife for her 30th bday and take her somewhere nice because it all back fired against me. There was nothing romantic about this get away. The only romantic part of the trip is when we finally got back home and got to enjoy each other at last. Terrible experience, staff did not seem to care, over advertised! will never recommend a Sheraton or stay at one again! November 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is kid friendly We were a party of four with dinner reservation for 7:00 PM. While my adult granddaughter and I were freshening up after a day out with the kids. The kids were busy playing in the room. As a joke my great granddaughter put her brothers shoe in the room safe. We didn't know how to get the safe open and he couldn't go out to dinner without his shoe. A quick call to maintenance and the repairman was there within minutes. He discovered the safe was missing a screw and may have locked by itself. He retrieved the shoe, re-locked the safe for a repair call for after we check out. We made our reservation for dinner and all turned out great. October 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Would visit again! I was impressed with the level of personal service and courtesy of all the staff especially Kady and Denise! The hotel was comfortable, clean, and we enjoyed our stay. We were upgraded to a ocean view room which we appreciated, however, one minor complaint was the balcony also overlooked Legoland and the recording at Legoland never shut off and we could still hear it at midnight and had to shut our sliding glass door. It was actually kind of comical but became annoying after 2 nights. Lots of construction also early in the morning out the parking lot, but with the door closed you couldn't hear it. Would return again with grandkids. July 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location Location! Recently stayed here with my family for Spring Break and the main purpose was because of our trip to Legoland. Front Desk: Rooms were not ready even though we arrived at 5:00PM. "We'll call you when they are ready..." Rooms: What one would expect for a Sheraton hotel. These were newly renovated and clean. Dining: the staff during breakfast at the TWENTY/20 were very attentive and courteous. There is a breakfast buffet which I would rate as delicious but sparse in variety (as compared to other comparable buffets) Fitness Center: Modern equipment and spacious. Pool: Although the website says it is heated, it did not feel like it was. The cold pool made for a one time short swim for our family. Access to Legoland: Love the special access to the park but please beware that this special door opens at 10:00AM. Legoland turnstiles open at 9:00AM but rides don't start until 10:00AM. Parking: This needs to be addressed as the resort charges a $12 daily rate but there are insufficient spots. On a couple of occasions, we had to park quite a distance from our room. I even saw others just park their vehicles in the Valet Lot. Starwood Lounge: Not at this location Late Check out Request: This hotel ("because this is a resort hotel....." as I was told) does not honor a 4PM check-out request. After much discussion, they obliged to a 2PM check-out time. Based on this, one would think that my room should have been ready when I arrived at 5:00PM on the day of arrival. Ocean View: Our room was an Ocean View which had a higher rate but all we saw was a huge palm tree. Disappointing. Overall: I've stayed at other Sheraton Resorts where they charge a resort fee and this location proves that all are not made / managed equally. A good stay but felt that it could have been much better. It will continue to attract customers solely on its proximity to Legoland but I hope it doesn't just rely on this. April 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to the Sheraton Standard for Service I am a Platinum customer and stay exclusively within the Starwood family of hotels for my business travel. Once or twice a year I take my family on vacation, and have found the Carlsbad Shearaton severely lacking in customer care. They smiled and said sorry, quite often, as they said "no" to my requests for a ride in the hotel shuttle; an early checkin (even though this was arranged months in advance); a late checkout - the woman was actually very rude when I asked and they were not willing to accommodate even an additional hour. The room was quite worn (holes in the carpet), they have removed the club room so no free goodies, There was a family staying above us (I asked for a top floor room when I made the reservation so they had plenty of time to map us to one but they were all given to the large group in town - this has happened on all three stays) so we were unable to fall asleep until late/early morning due to all the racket and the front desk was unwilling to do anything about it. Room service was good, but the menu is very limited. The pool is quite nice for young children (otherwise pretty small and shallow), and overall the front desk staff are not empowered to do anyting to make it nicer, but rather cite "I'm sorry, there's nothing I can do." The one exception is the phenomenal bell staff - they bent over backwards to make our stay nice. The rest of the staff was generally condescending and not helpful. Unfortunately I write this review based on 3 different stays - not on one outlier. The first time we stayed I thought it was an anonomoly. The second time we stayed I was quite disappointed and mentioned this to the front desk staff. I would not have returned based on the two prior stays, however, my granddaughters really wanted to go to Legoland again and so due solely to proximity we returned. Unfortunately this stay was worse than the others. I will say that they really cater to groups so if you come here as part of a large group you will not be disappointed. If, however, you are trying to enjoy the property and it's amenities from a platinum perspective relative to other properties I would suggest you stay elsewhere. July 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not quite as good as I had hoped This hotel was not as family friendly as I had hoped for. It's "close" proximity to LEGOLAND involved quite a long walk for our three young children. The "shuttle" driver/ valet, Aaron, was rude and would not pick us up at the pick up area because we had not called; though we were guests of the hotel. The check in guy Matt, also needed a refresher course in customer service. Overall, the hotel was beautiful, but due to the unfriendliness of the staff, the price was not worth the negativity we received. August 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff was amazing We had a slight delay in check in and Laura at front desk was very helpful getting room ready. Shelly really went up and above for our son's birthday surprise..I wanted a cake and balloon in room to surprise him and she provided gift and really nice birthday card to greet us when we came back from dinner because it was not in room when we checked in. The entire staff were very personable and caring about the few mistakes and immediately made up for them. Eric at valet was also helpful in helping guide us to fun activities when we had extra day to spend at wonderful resort. August 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs improvement I was a guest at the Sheraton, in Carlsbad and was there for a business meeting. While the staff was very accommodating, the room left a bit to be desired. I was unable to get the thermostat in the room to control the temperature, which was a particular problem, as it was quite cold for this time of year. Additionally, the TV and the remote were in working when I arrived. The bathroom did not have sufficient lighting for me to get ready in the morning, nor did it have the usual amenities in the room like a make-up light. All in all, Starwood properties are my preferred hotels, but I am not likely to stay in this one again. It truly could use some updating. December 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Favorite Place to Stay in the Carlsbad Area. Nothing compares to the overall experience at the Sheraton Carlsbad. The rooms are comfortable and aesthetically pleasing, the food terrific, and the location prime, however is the careful attention of all of the employees and staff that makes my time extra special. I stay at this location two to three times a year. Everyone is incredibly helpful and accommodating with my personal and business needs. Thanks to all and I look forward to the Westin coming in for those of us who prefer private adult swimming pools. Thank you Sheraton! August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding staff This was my second stay at this resort and it confirmed my impression from my first stay. The facility is in great condition and the staff is OUTSTANDING. Friendly faces all around and very quick to help. I have to give special acknowledgment to Beca, the front desk manager who helped with an extraordinary request. Valet guys are very friendly and the free shuttle is an unbelievably convenient feature. When I had to ask for housekeeping, room service or maintenance, they all arrived very quickly. The pool is great - pretty large and can accommodate a lot of people and kids. Good towels (signing for it now is not a pain, prob a good idea to keep costs down) and they provided kids swimming diapers! Very nice touch. It has all the features of a large resort but it doesn't feel big. Easy to get in and out and access all the common area amenities. Underground self parking is great. Access to Legoland is so convenient. September 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful Venue - HORRIBLE service One would think for such a beautiful resort at a high price, the service would be exceptional. my room DID NOT receive maid service - i had to call at 10:00 p.m to inform them my room had been untouched since i checked in the previous morning. i was given false information about transportation service and was talked down to by the head concierge. other staff members kept directing me to someone else - nobody of which had an answer for me. at the restaurant, we had to send out food back 3 times because it kept coming out wrong, and had a discourteous host. all in all, i was quite upset that this place did not live up to it's standards and i was thoroughly let down. September 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by All about LegoLand Amazing location with a private entrance to Legoland (which was a great benefit). Little noisy with all the kids and the decor is quite personality-less, very businessy/office-like design when it's really meant to be a resort. My only complaint is the $14 required resort fee. I despise these resort fees that are required and you get "access to the pool and fitness center" which are free at most other sheraton properties. (and I didn't use) This should be included. August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply the best As a 10+ year Platinum member with over 400 nights on the road, I have sampled quite a few Starwood properties around the world. In all my travels, this is simply the best Sheraton I have ever visited when it comes to the overall family experience. Service is first rate, location (easy walk to private LegoLand entrance) is incredibly convenient, rooms are clean and comfortable, the fitness center is well stocked with the latest gear and the property is safe, attractive and inviting. Just returned from my first visit and we will be making this an annual tradition. HIGHLY recommended for families with young children. October 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good overall stay but... really very happy with the room and the activities around the pool. our only complaint was an unusual one. our daughter brought a very special stuff animal with her on the trip to san diego. when we got back to the room one night it was gone. we were told it was probably taken along with the towels and/or sheets to laundry. not much of anything was done to help find it. not a valuable toy, but one with sentimental value. she's still upset about it. we're not angry. it was a mistake. but didn't seem like anyone tried real hard to help out. would've been nice if they had. the kind of things you see in tv commercials. August 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice, friedly, can be more kids focused Nice people and rooms. The pool is cool and kids liked it. Clean and friendly. Yet not as kids friendly at times. Key need for upgrade is an old-school kids menu at restaurant of fat and fried foods with not a single vegetable or fruit. Really not a single healthy choice. Situated next to Legoland and when touting locally grown food, they can do better. Why not add a small salmon and a fresh, non-breaded chicken choice with local mixed vegetables or fruit as a side option? In their small Cafe, why not add fozen yogurt for kids for a night-time snack. Would eat on property much more if healthier kid food options. December 16, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay! Just stayed here and thought the place was excellent. We explored the area and if we got tired or felt lazy, just hung out at the pool. Our package included breakfast - which was excellent. Samantha was our server and she couldn't have been more pleasant. Happy hour was nice too. Dinner, at 20/20, while good, was a little too fancy for my tastes. The only issues we had was the self parking. The lot spaces were so close together, we couldn't open our car doors all the way. And of course the fees. Self-parking fees, resort fees...it gets a little much. Overall though, I'd recommend this place (esp. over the Sheraton San Diego Marina which was about 3 stars below this place). February 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice, but felt nickled and dimed First, let me say the hotel was beautiful and rooms were great. Staff - very nice. But, I did feel like we were nickled ad dimed. On top of the room, there's a resort tax and parking, so the price isn't what you think it will be, August 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cool pool in Cabazon This resort has a very nice pool with lots of seating and lounging. The dive-in pool movie was fun for the kids September 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Water View is actually not Everything was wonderful except the fact that my reservation was for a room with a water view and balcony. The first room we got was on the first floor with patio not a balcony and no water view. Not good since my kids, age 4 & 6 could climb over the ledge on the patio and run around lawn. I called the front desk and they moved us to the 2nd floor and if we looked really closely we could see a sliver of water between the palm trees. I was told the room is actually a coastal view, still I didn't see much of the coast. I was refunded parking but still feel I paid for a water view and didn't get it. March 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing In such an expensive and nice resort, I couldn't believe there were no makeup mirrors or microwaves. The balcony was so small, as if it was a perch for birds to sit and defecate on. The lighting in room was terrible, oh and where was the mirror to see if you were appropriate, oh when you first walk in, the darkest part of the room. We reserved a king size, two months in advance and didn't get one. Had to settle for 2 queens, we like sleeping together and not squished up. Bedding and food was great. Warning signs to not touch the water was gross and creepy. Now I know why everything is so green. July 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Year's Eve was fabulous! We as a family want to express how fabulous the New Year's Eve Party for families was! We would recommend it to anyone. We had folks from Hawaii, California and New York with families and we all had a ball. Thank you for your first class service and a very fun night. Of course speaking from Grandparents, we loved the 50's music and the DJ was wonderful. Thanks again, Jack and Karolyn January 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel needs updating. Booked a high end room for 4 nights. Opted for one night green service and never saw housekeeping again. We had to go to front desk and ask for service staff to clean our room. The bed was ancient and the springs squeaked and collapsed every time you sat on the bed. Pillows so flat we folded into quarters to sleep on them. Towels thread bare. Requests for a luggage rack in our room ignored and staff never showed up. So many screaming kids in adult only jacuzzi it ran us out of the pool area. We are moving on today in search of better accommodations elsewhere. June 23, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12 next>>