The St. Regis Princeville Resort

  • 5520 Ka Haku Road, Princeville,
  • P.O. Box 223069
  • Kauai,
  • Hawaii
  • 96722
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 462 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent location and views Date of Stay: June 2014 Length of Stay: 3 nights Arrival Day: Wednesday POSITIVES: View from room- We were in an Ocean View Jr. Suite (which is what we reserved). Breakfast buffet- An excellent buffet was available each day at Makana Terrace including a cook-to-order omelette station. Full disclosure: Our room rate included daily breakfast buffet for two and daily valet parking. Cleanliness of room- The room and bath were spotless. We requested that the room be cleaned during a specific period each day before we departed for the day. The room was always ready when we returned. Water temperature & pressure- Self-explanatory. In-room safe- Self-explanatory. Availability of pool and beach chairs – As late as 11:00 am each morning, there were still dozens of beach and pool chairs available contrary to what I’ve read in other reviews. Staff attitudes and assistance – Each person we met greeted us warmly and assisted as requested. NEGATIVES: Mailani dinner show- While the food was excellent, the show seemed somewhat out of synch at times. Our stay coincided with the first week of the show, so perhaps they worked out the issues. Also, the traffic pattern at the buffet for this show needs major improvement. The main food offerings were directly in front of the entrance/exit to the terrace location of the show which caused a major bottleneck. Overall, this was a very good stay and I will definitely return to the St. Regis Princeville again. September 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stunning setting This property has stunning views across Hannalei Bay The gardens surrounding the hotel are excellent. Staff were welcoming and helpful. I recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday. August 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by 20th Anniversary Bliss A perfect spot to celebrate 20 years of weded bliss at the place it all started. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolute paradise The St. Regis Princeville was the perfect place to start our honeymoon. The staff were so welcoming, gracious, and friendly and made us feel like it was a home away from home. We had breathtaking views of Hanalei Bay from our room and had just a short drive to amazing restaurants and attractions. August 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by graet snorkeling site, beautiful location beautiful location and view, great services and clean August 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Honeymoon Location My wife and I came here on our honeymoon and it was the perfect way to finish our vacation. The staff was amazingly accommodating and everything about the hotel was comfortable and great. The location is what makes this place though. The views from the beach and the rooms are enough to prevent you from doing anything else. It was a chore to pry ourselves away from the beautiful scenery and comfort of the hotel to go visit Hanalei and the other surrounding areas. We absolutely loved it and we will be coming back. August 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Property This hotel is absolutely fabulous...it is one of the most beautiful places on the planet! From the time you drive up until the moment you leave, you are pampered to the max. I'd like to mention some of the wonderful members of the staff that made my stay so special: Timothy (valet), Erica (check in...great and personable experience), Flyn (Makana Terrece...awesome dining and service), and Phylo (bellman) upon departure. My special thanks go to Shane Komaine and his over the top pool and beach staff...they are definitely the heart and soul of the entire property....I had such great service from Rachael and although I didn't have any interaction with her, I was amazed watching Candice work...you couldn't ask for better wait help. My favorite employee at the hotel was Kaipo at the beach...he is an amazing young man who went to great lengths to make sure my every desire was catered to and greeted me like an old friend each time I saw him. Jeris also went that extra mile...thanks so much to the both of you! The view from this property is amazing from the time you enter the lobby until you reach the lower pool and beach levels...it's so beautiful, you don't want to miss a minute...it's too gorgeous to even take a short siesta from your lounger overlooking Hanalei Bay!!! The on property Kauai Grill is a must...out of this world!!! August 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall avg experience at world-class price Facilities were beautiful, room was great and the housekeeping was excellent. The Kauai Grill was delicious and a highlight of the stay. The main issue with the hotel was the service - there were a few exceptions, but generally it felt like the staff either didnt know what was going on or didnt care. Particular issues: 1) On the two days we were poolside, we never had an attendant come and ask us for a food or drink order. On the first day, we even told an attendant who was delivering a food order that we wanted to place an order. She told us she would be right with us but did not return. On both days we just ended up going to the bar/lunch place and ordering from there directly. In total we were at the pool ~5-6 hours and were never asked for anything. 2) On oour first night at the hotel I called the front desk to ask what places were open for dinner at the hotel. I was told incorrect information (that nearly everything was closed) when there were still two locations open. 3) The elevator broke down on the first day - there was no one there to redirect people and we had to go searching for helpo. Eventually we found someone to take us to the service elevator. 4) When I rented a kayak from the beach house the attendant had no idea how to fill out the forms or what to do. I dont blame the guy (it was his 2nd day), but he shouldnt be attending the station himself 5) we were on our honeymoon (and this was brought up at check-in and to our SPG contact) but did not get any perks or mention of this. Other hotels gave us a bottle of champagne and review websites mentioned that the st regis did the same for others... Bottomline was the service was totally unacceptable given our expectations for this level of a hotel. (obviously the above are very "first-world" type of problems, but when shelling out for an expensive hotel, I think its reasonable to expect better service.) Also, everything at the hotel was very expensive and there was a constant need to tip people. Felt the like the money was constantly being sucked out of my pockets. August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 25th Wedding Anniversary The service, beautiful room, and dinner at the Kauai Grill far exceeded our expectations. I let the hotel know in advance that my wife and I were celebrating our 25th anniversary, and every staff member we encountered congratulated us and added something extra special to our experience. It was a stay my wife says she will never forget! July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best location and service I have stayed at this property three times and have had consistently excellent experiences. From the time you arrive and are greeted by the valet (Matt escorted me to reception and waited with me), until you check out and receive directions, bottles of water, etc., you feel that you are in caring, professional hands. The location and its views are the best on the island. I've stayed in both the junior suite and the ocean view room (after booking the mountain category) and have loved the views, decor and amenities. The view from the bathroom in the junior suite is worth the price of the upgrade. Unless you want to hear noise from people at the pool, I would advise against staying in the first building. Also, the views from the buildings further back are better. The food and drinks are pricey, but the St. Regis now offers a small gourmet grocery, so it's possible to supplement those pricey meals with deli meats, cheeses, crackers and other reasonably priced items from the grocery. Noah, who serves guests at the pool, is one of the friendliest servers and has a gift for remembering repeat guests, as do the personable pool bartenders, Django and Donovan. My only complaint is that the gym doesn't have a view. If you are into snorkeling or surfing, it's best to time your trip accordingly. The north shore has high surf from Nov-Apr (good for surfing but not snorkeling) and is relatively flat from May-Oct). The south shore has reverse conditions. May 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Small corrections needed 1. Not having a shuttle to get to the Makai Golf Course seems silly. The course is connected to the hotel, right? I was shocked that I needed to hire a taxi to travel the 1 mile (I wanted to leave the car with my wife to use with the kids). Having to get a taxi for that distance is embarrassing 2. In that same vein. You might consider having an urn of coffee out for guests heading out the door. I understand the coffee shop wants its customers, but $4.17 for a small coffee seemed cheap. Not looking for anything fancy but I can’t remember the last time I was at any hotel where they did not have a small pot out for a guest to grab a small cup. 3. Lastly – I wished the concierge had suggested the Kauai golf package to me when booking me tee times at Prince and Makai. I ended up playing Poipu Bay as well and could have saved a considerable amount of money had she mentioned the package. Unfortunately, by the time I realized that all of the courses cooperate on a golf deal it was too late. Seems like an oversight on her part not to at least mention the possibility of a deal for three rounds when she was already booking me two before we even arrived on island. August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Resort for an Anniversary! My wife and I live on Kauai and I work at another high end resort on Kauai. We went to the St. Regis to celebrate our anniversary and we are so happy we did. From the arrival to our departure, everything was perfect. The staff showed that they cared and took pride in what they did from the saber champagne nightly event to the dinning at Kauai Grill or relaxing poolside or the pampering we had at the spa. We spent three nights and four days that we will not forget. Congratulations on a job very well done! July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Babymoon This was our second time staying at this wonderful hotel. My husband and I great stay. We really appreciated all of the special attention we receied from staff. In particular, the butler staff was fantastic (we loved Aynsley!). In genral the staff did a great job of making us feel special while we celebrated our babymoon. The only slight (and I mean slight) complaints are the the cleaning service in our room was inconsistent and I wish there was broader menu selection at the St Regis Bar as well Kauai grill. Other than that, we had great golf, spa, dinning and overall stay experince. August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great People!!! We Came for 4 nights and stayed for 8! The staff at St. Regis is beyond Comparison. Everyone at the St. Regis treated us like family. This has quickly become our first choice to Stay when visiting Hawaii. July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't wait to come back We had to leave a little early because we were worried about the hurricanes, but man, what a great trip. The staff make this place outstanding. They really try hard. The highlight of the entire trip to Hawaii was scheduling a private romantic dinner beachside, which was worth every penny and was the best meal we've ever had. Do yourself a favor and book it. I could find areas that the hotel could improve, the rooms feel a bit dated, the televisions aren't that easy to use (but who cares), the pool food is way overpriced and mediocre, and the service on the terrace during sunset wasn't as good but mainly because it collects a crowd but it is so beautiful it doesn't matter (but I would stick to the sushi on the terrace). All that being said, the stay was freaking wonderful. Just awesome. We will go back for sure and keep my fingers crossed for no hurricanes this time). August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Property, Wonderful Experience This was the first time I have stayed at a St. Regis property and what better time than in Kauai for my Honeymoon. The property was stunning and perfectly situated on Hanalei Bay. Stunning views and very close to some beautiful hiking trails. You are at the northern most tip, so expect to drive 1-1.5hrs to more activities like sailing. Prior to my stay I received a congratulations email from one of the Butler staff asking me questions to prep for my husband and I's arrival. To say the least the red carpet was rolled out prior to our stay and that made us feel fantastic and confident that we would have an excellent stay. That customer service was extended the entire time from check-in to check-out. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and delivered on premium customer service. We had one minor issue with trying to book some excursions with the hotel through the concierge, but as soon as I sent an email expressing my concern, 4 additional staff members reached out on how to help. The room was incredible. We stayed in an ocean front suite that could easily be the size of a one bedroom apartment in San Francisco. The room was kept tidy & neat and the butler staff was impeccable. I would have loved to have the option for more firm pillows and you could tell the mattress was a bit worn in as there were some lumps. Overall, the room fit us comfortably and had an amazing view. The dining was exceptional with different options to choose from. Being an SPG member only made it better since you received a percent off the tab. The dining & Bar staff were excellent and very attentive. The Pool serving staff was not quite as stellar and often forgot your order or brought you the wrong thing. Overall the stay was fantastic and the level of customer service was excellent. Thank you to the staff & this property for one of the most memorable experiences. We will definitely return! August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location Location Location!!! Beautiful private beach and snorkeling Ocean view rooms are the best Sunsets on the beach, need I say more staff was very attentive and friendly Grounds and pools were exceptional Waterfalls and mountain views Sums it all up :) July 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Definitely a 5 star hotel. Service was impeccable!!! It took us 15 years to return to Kauai. Staying at St. Regis Hotel made our vacation an experience to remember. The Cafe was so convenient if a guest did not feel like having a full breakfast. The room coffee was excellent -- just like the Italian coffee I have at home. The staff service was impeccable. Our room was upgraded to Ocean View and we were delighted to see a rainbow and a double rainbow right in front of our room, you could almost touch it! It was a beautiful experience. I wouldn't mind returning to Kauai and staying at St. Regis Hotel again. July 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great honeymoon experience We had a wonderful stay at the St. Regis. We got a great suite upgrade for our one night stay and loved the champagne sabering ceremony at sunset. We came back from the pool to a cleaned room and chilled bottle of champagne to toast our honeymoon. Wonderful trip! August 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very rude and unaccomodating I cannot actually judge Room Comfort, Cleanliness, and Facilities as we never ended up staying at this hotel. I am writing this review based on my experience as a Platinum member making reservations for his honeymoon. We booked the St. Regis on cash $$ months in advance, applied Suite Night upgrade awards, AND let the hotel know well in advance that this was our honeymoon. Several suites were available for booking about a week prior to our stay and there was no suggestion from the hotel contact (Mrs. Makana Bacon) that the upgrades wouldn't pass. I then reached out to the hotel a few days prior to our stay to inquire about the upgrade but was told that "Starwood handles that" - which in my experience isn't all that true. The day before our arrival, our suite upgrade request was denied. I asked to cancel the stay (wanting to stay at the Westin sister property instead) but was told by Mrs. Bacon: "I will not be canceling your reservation without penalty should you decide to stay elsewhere, however I would be happy to guarantee a complimentary upgrade to our starting Ocean View room category without a balcony for your stay." Since there is no second honeymoon, I regrettably lost my cool a bit and - all of the sudden - it became possible to cancel without penalty. That is decisively not how a St. Regis property should treat SPG Platinum members. I've stayed at St. Regis properties in Atlanta and Park City, UT. The service was excellent at both properties. Mrs. Bacon did not live up to this standard at all - she was very rude and unprofessional. Very, very disappointing. August 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service from the entire staff Excellent service the and attention to detail at all levels. We ended our "babymoon" with two nights at this property and every St Regis staff member made an extra effort to see that my wife was comfortable and taken care of. Warm and welcoming environment from start to finish. Thank you! August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Resort We enjoyed a fabulous stay celebrating our 25th Anniversary at the St Regis. This was our third stay at this resort over the past 16 years. The St Regis improvements to the property are stunning. We are Starwood Platinum members. The resort was decorated lovely for the holidays. Very elegant holiday lights and trees throughout the lobby. Service was much improved from our last stay in Nov of 2009 right after their reopening as a St Regis. They always referred to us by name and everyone was very pleasant on this visit. We did not encounter a single problem during our stay. We were upgraded to an oceanfront view and received a bottle of champagne in our room for our anniversary. Our suite was spacious and we enjoyed being able to spread out. The suite furnishings are all very nice and simple. It was so relaxing to sip wine and watch the sunset from our room. The pool area is simply gorgeous and its views of the Napali Coast are heavenly. Certainly one the most beautiful pool spots we have ever enjoyed. We experienced excellent service at the pool with Noah and Shannen. We had a fabulous fresh fish sandwich each day. Shannen also provided excellent service at dinner at the Nali Kai Nights which serves Tapas at the pool area. Wonderful spot for a relaxing sunset dinner and drinks. Food was excellent. The hummus was fantastic! We enjoyed the Makana Terrace Cafe for breakfast each day which has fabulous views as well. Food was excellent here as well. The made to order pancakes were to die for as you could choose among 10 or so toppings from fruits to nuts. The Holiday Seafood feast on Christmas Day was beautiful with a great selection of tasty seafoods. The desserts were outstanding. I enjoyed the spa which is very posh. The spa relaxation area is wonderful with a water feature and tea and cookies. My spa technician did a great job, excellent spa all around. My husband enjoyed the beautiful Makai course. It was recently refurbished and in wonderful shape. Very scenic with several ocean view holes. We received a wonderful gift in our room on Christmas Eve which included a jazz cd, bottle of wine, professional wine opener and local scene note cards. What a lovely surprise! We had a fantastic, restful and relaxing Anniversary celebration at the St Regis. Wonderful memories. We will certainly return. January 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful setting only tarnished by front desk personnel Allow me to preface the review with the fact that I made the reservations nearly two months beforehand. I stay in spg properties often, the full slate from basic to luxury, and my platinum status is always recognized. Not here, on the most significant trip of my life, my honeymoon. The only thing that I was given for over 115 nights of patronage this year alone was a discounted breakfast buffet and the slower of two internet connections. My SPG ambassador called ahead on multiple occasions, with two months forewarning, and the only thing I got was a partial oceans view. The setting is ideal, the facilities pristine, and the food delicious. Exorbitant cost is to be expected in Hawaii, but $30 for parking is ridiculous. Stay here for the wonderful views, but do not expect them to behave as if they are an SPG property. If you call them on this point, you can expect a snotty response from a curt front desk attendant. November 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best hotel customer service What definitely sets the St. Regis Princeville apart is the service. From the moment you make your reservation, the concierge contacts you directly to ensure that your stay is perfect. It was our first time on the island, and guest services was able to help coordinate a perfect itinerary for the entire stay, including paddleboard lessons at Hanalei Bay, dinner reservations at the Kauai grill, and hiking and snorkeling recommendations on the island. We upgraded to the junior suite which came with butler service, and we were extremely pleased with the experience. Overall, the entire hotel staff was very professional, courteous, and friendly. I would not hesitate to book another stay here in the future. February 28, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dont try to valet with a locals car... Bags took 2 hours to be delivered from bell hop..the MOD was quick to respond and professional.. SPG perks were nice and appropriate. We stayed with a friend for a few days during our trip and borrowed their car, which was a mistake. Every time we pulled up the valet wouldn't come to our car, inquired what we were doing there and who we were. One night I left the car there and walked to the room, forcing them to park it. When we would pull the car from valet the wait was very long and guests that came after us got their cars first.. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional place St Regis Princeville has everything - location, beauty, top notch service and incredible facilities. The ocean view from our room was breathtaking. Dining at the terrace each morning a joy. The beach and pool are spectacular. The Kauai Grille delivered with a grand dinner. We also golfed both Prince and Makai which were awesome. The spa completed our stay, which was excellent. If you are thinking about Kauai for a special occasion - there is no other better hotel. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible location, superb service For my wife and I, Princeville is our favorite location in Hawaii after visiting four islands. The St Regis has a microclimate that has broad diversity and the terrain is breath-taking. Ocean view suites are superb, but expensive. That said, it was worth the investment from our perspective. Service is end to end and personal. Food is good, but we enjoyed eating at a number of solid north Kauai restaurants. While the beach is marginal relative to other resorts, it was still functional. Too much silt in the shallows and the coral knobs start just a few yards from the beach. The pool setting is above average. I like the lobby design but it was freezing cold, all the time. Again, we'll probably go back next year because it is so beautiful. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Kauai. July 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good, but tired This St. Regis is a good property with a great location. but it is tired and not up to normal St. Regis standards. Service is poor, food is so so, and the facilities are old. The location is the best part and is the main reason to stay. Overall, I would give it 2 stars, for a property at this level. June 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best resort on the island Hotel is paradise. Rooms are so quiet and beds are amazing. Staff is wonderful. Pool is beautiful. Food prices were a little high. Tapas dinner by the pool was pricey yet portions were too small. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The St. Regis Everyone who asked me where I was staying on Kauai and heard that I was at the St Regis said that it was the best. Know what? It is the best. Beautiful room with an ocean view; beautiful pool; beautiful beach; excellent food. I will come back to the St. Regis every time I come back to Hawaii. July 12, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>