The St. Regis Princeville Resort

  • 5520 Ka Haku Road, Princeville,
  • P.O. Box 223069
  • Kauai,
  • Hawaii
  • 96722
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest registration and check-in is restricted to those 21 years of age or older with valid identification.

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 462 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Grat hotel, some minor issues We had a great experience overall, the view is unbeatable in the three islands we were (Maui, Kauai, Honolulu)...just some minor issues, we were told at front desk your pool was warm at 83°F, and it was pretty cold, everyday we heard guests complaining near us about that, and we didn´t see more than 5-6 guest using it, my wife couldn't enter once there. Also your lobby is pretty cold, A/C was at max there. We came from a warmer place, thus this affect more us than probably the rest of the guests, but we saw many people complaining. And I have been in lots of colder places and they keep it up balanced this two issues.... Concierge was the best, staff in general also. the room was great. thanks. November 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location but service not world-class With its amazing physical setting and location, this hotel stay could have been excellent. For the most part, the service personnel were friendly and caring. However, some annoying service glitches tainted the experience. List is below: 1. At check-in, we arrived at 1PM and were finally in our rooms (2 rooms for 6 of us) at just before 4PM. What was really annoying was that several parties who came after us got rooms right away (well before 3PM) and one would think the staff would alert housekeeping to make our rooms first, since the 6 of us were waiting at the lounge and visibly annoyed at the delay. And then, to top it off, the staff we were dealing with disappeared and I had to ask another person who then told me the rooms were ready. Moreover, the staff then insulted me even further by offering me 2 free drinks for the inconvenience! This was insulting and would have been much better if she never offered. St Regis should know their customers better. To be fair, the Duty Manager did follow up and offered to give us credit etc but the damage was done. 2. A couple of times, the valet made us wait a long time for our car. By itself is not an issue but the valet manager told us the car is coming around the corner and then we saw her give my keys to the runner to bring the car afterward, not aware that I was watching her. As with the delay in check-in situation(if the front-desk person told us it would be over 2 hours before our rooms were ready, then we could have used that time more constructively rather than anxiously waiting at the lobby and bugging them every 15 minutes), it would have been much better for the staff to be upfront with the customer and admit an oversight, instead of lying to cover up. 3. On leaving the hotel, the bell service kept us waiting at our rooms for 20 minutes before coming to get our luggage. We had to call them 3 times before they showed up. Again, they kept telling us they will be right there when they probably knew that they were back-logged and couldn't get to us for a while. If they told us it would take 20 minutes, then we would have rolled our own luggage (not a big deal) and would have avoided a very stressful drive to the airport for the fear of missing the flight (a big deal). 4. The Housekeeping threw away our laundry that in a plastic bag. Again, not a big deal by itself but along with all the above...not what I expected from St. Regis. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to take the family We had a great time staying here. The staff was very responsive, courteous, and personable. The food was delicious and the rooms were impeccable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes 5-star quality. It's worth it! June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All around excellant resort! The staff is wonderful! Everyone from the valet to the butler and housekeeping staff seem like they really ejnoy their jobs and want to help. Our butler gave is additional information on the room we were given (before we got there)so we made a change that the front desk clerk made possible. We had an issue with our ipod dock and someone came immediately to fix it. Then we got a box of chocolates and and a note to apologize the next day! The food and service was exceptional; best breakfast buffet I've had! We will definitely be staying there on our next visit to Kauai! March 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but NOT Great After several stays at multiple St Regis resorts (including Bora Bora, Punta Mita, Bahia Beach, and Monarch Beach) the Princeville property does not live up to our high expectations of the St Regis Brand. First of all the staff was fantastic, butler service could not have been better, and the location is amazing. Unfortunately, the property is worn and dated. The furniture on our room's lanai was very dirty and the umbrella had definitely seen better days. The food is average with the breakfast buffet being fine. The Sunday Brunch is a pass as it does not compare to other St Regis brunches we have attended. The Kaua'i Grill is OK with the food being just average and the atmosphere is very loud - NOT a pleasant dining experience. We have loved all the other Jean Georges restaurants (both at the St Regis resorts as well as in NYC) but this is by far the most disappointing one. Finally, the pool and beach areas are limited. The cabanas are the way to go (albeit expensive but worth it). The first week of our stay was very quiet and the pool was enjoyable. The second week the hotel was booked to capacity and the pool area was crowded and noisy. Most other St Regis properties have separate pools for kids play but unfortunately Princeville does not. We have nothing against children, but its hard to relax by the pool with footballs knocking over your drinks. We realize that Hawaii is a big draw and therefore some Hotel brands may feel entitled to provide a lesser experience - but we did not expect this from the St Regis. We would highly recommend the St Regis Bora Bora, Punta Mita, or Bahia Beach over this property any day. As an SPG Lifetime Platinum member we have experienced many wonderful times with the St Regis resorts - unfortunately the Princeville property was not up to par. In talking with other people on their experience at this property we understand we are not alone in our evaluation. Hopefully management will listen to their guests (and staff) and address the shortcomings SOON ! June 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs some attention The hotel is dated and is in need of some major upgrading. The exterior painting is in very poor condition. The food is below average for a St Regis. The breakfast buffet is what one might get at a 3-4 star hotel at a much lower price. The staff don't seem that genuine, and the restaurant staff need major training for a 5 star hotel. September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel and service This was a perfect hotel and we are picky. Excellent facilities and staff consistently friendly and on top of their duties. June 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Flawless Honeymoon location I am a platinum member and did not know what to expect coming to this hotel. Many of the reviews from other platinum members complained about not getting upgraded or other features of the hotel. The hotel was full and we received a very nice upgrade to a suite with a terrace walkout. The room alone was so romantic that we could have probably not left the room and been happy with this visit. The staff pampered us on arrival and were so pleasant on every single occassion during our stay. The butler service added the finishing touches helping us recover from any surprises that we did not not plan. Overall, this was a perfect honeymoon and I could not ask for one detail different from the St Regis. Thank you. March 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's really a 4 and 3/4 Star Everything was outstanding and the staff were exceptional....except for one area. I had read on Yelp that some guests had experienced less than stellar service in the bar area and, unfortunately, that held true for us. The waitresses in the bar area were slow and one night never even attended to us at all...we just got up and left. Fortunately, that was the one and only dark spot in an otherwise perfect stay. Shout out to Sean at the front desk....great guy and very helpful. The parking valets and doorman were all very personable and helpful, as was Noah in the pool area. February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We loved this hotel Our concierge (Kate Krieg) was wonderful. She reached out to me via email in advance of our stay to ask for details about our stay. I mentioned that we were on our babymoon and asked for a complimentary upgrade to an ocean view room -- and she gave it to us when we arrived at check-in! In addition, they delivered complimentary apple cider and pregnancy lotion to our room after we checked in. So sweet! My husband and I had a romantic few days at this hotel and were able to do challeging hikes into the Na Pali coast, drive to views of the Waimea Canyon, and have some relaxation time in the pool area with a *beautiful* view. We thought the hotel staff and service were excellent and will definitely be coming back! Thanks! February 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing hotel Really really great hotel! I've been to many Starwood locations and many 'beach' type vacations at other resorts. I have to say the mix of facilities, staff, and natural beauty here is unparalleled. I went for my Honeymoon and they treated us really well. I can't recommend this place enough. June 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely Exceeds Expectations I am a SPG Platinum member, Diamond with Hilton Honors and obviously have choices when it comes to hotels. I travel the world and have access to some of the nicest hotels. I booked the St. Regis for spring break with my adult college kids and we absolutely had a blast. Hiking is 15 minutes away and water sports are at the hotel. Most tour companies on the island bring their tours to the beach right next to the St. Regis. Talk about an awesome location. Everything from the valet, food, and room were way beyond expectations. The front desk director was very humble and gracious when I asked to speak to him about how wonderful his hotel and staff were. We will defiantly be back to this slice of paradise. Thanks again to the staff for making our stay so enjoyable. April 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best hotel in Hawaii. Will be back for sure! First of all, I'd like to thank the staff for helping us have a great time last weekend there. It was definitely the best romantic stay that we had. Got upgraded to a suite as a platinum benefit, and the room was really fabulous. The butler service was also very good. The views are unbeatable and the place is very quite with great detail and services. Can't wait to go there again! One things they could make better though would be having an upgrade option ($7~$10) to full breakfast for platinum guests on the breakfast as the continental is really a little too simple. October 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT ALL The service and facilities at the St. Regis Princeville were superb and match what I expected of a superior resort. This was only surpassed by its location on the most beautiful island in the world. The views are incredible! This was our first stay at a St. Regis and I am so glad we made the decision to visit. We travel quite a bit and usually stay at a competitor high end hotel. Lucky for us there were none on Kauai because it gave us an opportunity to try something new. The restaurants and wait staff were wonderful, my only wish was that the casual dining they had by the pool serve later than 5:00. Even the guys that park your car were great. Overall our stay here made this vacation in Hawaii one of our most memorable. April 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by perfect! We choose the St.Regis for our honeymoon and it was perfect! The staff was very attentive and the service they provided was great! We will definitely be back! August 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't wait to return! The St Regis lived up to and exceeded all expecations on this trip -- the staff were universally friendly and helpful, the rooms were lovely (we particularly appreciated the Platinum suite upgrade), the butler service outstanding and the property well maintained. From the moment we checked in to the sad day we checked out, we didn't have a single complaint and felt like we were leaving friends. Of course, the location doesn't hurt -- what a wonderful vibe Princeville has with easily accessible activities and great local food. I'm already planning a return trip! November 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Hotel in Every Aspect Superb hotel with a great mountainside location and views overlooking Hanalei Bay. Incredibly friendly staff eager to go out of their way to please (concierge, maids, valet, bellmen etc.). Great dining options at the Kauai Grill and Makana Terrace (including for a New Year's Eve dinner), as well as poolside. A stunning infinity pool and beach that never seems to be crowded (and lots of staff eager to help you set up), with numerous activities like surfing, snorkeling and kayaking. Superfast valets, so I never had to wait for my car. Perfect in every way. January 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by MAGICAL! For our traveling time and dollars, there is no place more magical than the St. Regis Princeville. We first visited over 18 years ago for our honeymoon and as we have continued to visit over the years the resort has only gotten better and better. It's hard to get better than the cliffs overlooking Hanalei Bay, but the St. Regis has managed to take a magical location and make it even more special with phenomenal rooms, wonderful amenities and unparalleled service. We only recently returned from Princeville and we are already talking about our next visit. August 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by RAINBOWS The amazing staff, the beautiful views and sunsets...the welcoming spirit of all the people! June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Manager Made the Experience On the spur of the moment while staying elsewhere on Kauai, I decided to treat my wife to a surprise pampered day & night at the St. Regis at Princeville. Lucky for me I talked to the Manager, Jeffery "Masa" Holeso...he set everything up ...could not have been better...thanks to Masa we have a lifetime memory that we owe to him...he is a gem and Starwwod needs to keep him in their Management...he know how to do things right!!! May 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb Hotel in an amazing location Took my entire family to this hotel. We were a big group, having reserved 3 suites. I wasn't sure it would be relaxing but was truly an amazing experience. There was something for everyone from the beach to the pool, hiking, biking, kayaking, zip-lining, sightseeing, golf, etc. The hotel itself is located in a prime location. Service was terrific and the food amazing. On our downtime, we even rented videos from concierge. My wife and sister in law also tried the spa. They couldn't say enough about treatment. We are already booking next year's trip. September 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Honeymoon in Paradise! We stayed here for six nights in October for our honeymoon and enjoyed every second of it! I have never seen a more beautiful resort with gorgeous views of the north shore. Staff was outstanding and concierge was knowledgable ale and helpful. We especially loved the valets, butlers and pool staff. Breakfast was excellent, we recommend the buffet. Rooms were spacious and clean. We were fortunate to have an ocean view to enjoy. If we come across anyone planning a trip to Kauai in the future we will insist they stay at the Regis, it was that amazing! October 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The view stunning and the staff amazing The junior suit we stayed at had an impeccable view. The pool was amazing as we spent most of the time by the pool. The staff were super friendly and accommodating. Upon arrival we were recognized as we were celebrating our honeymoon at the front desk Mrs. Suzie and our room had a butler service which the staff were great as well. February 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular Stay Every Time We Return!! We live in Honolulu for 29 years and do "stay-cations" @ the SRP as often as we can. We recently returned for our 6th stay and were once again thrilled and amazed at the attention we got from every member of the staff! The Bar, Lounge with Live Jazz delivers a knockout punch with delicious sushi and other delectable treats. Do plan to eat at the Kauai Grille - one of Jean George's most exquisite restaurants! The food poolside is also quite remarkable. Butlers were charming and helpful. Don't think twice...treat yourself to St. Regis! Just DO IT!! November 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise Bliss! What a location! The best Views in Kauai! The most beautiful Hotel on the Island and the most amazing staff one can have. Our suite had a great ocean view, our butler was so helpful and friendly and the food was superb! During our stay the concierge booked us for a Helicopter Tour with preffered seating and also for dinner to experience Mailani which is a review of the culture and traditions of Kauai! I am now looking forward to coming back to Kauai the most charming island of them all with best Hotel one can stay in that rivals many worldwide! September 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel on the Island (with its issues) This is by far the best hotel on the island, but it should be for the price premium to other locations. Wonderful location in Princeville and a must-stay. But, it does have its issues. The reservation folks couldn't seem to put together my multiple reservations for points, points + cash and cash. That resulted in wrong charges and multiple trips to the front desk. Always resolved, but annoying. We also didn't get an upgrade given our Platinum status. Our room had a small view when in the past we received ocean view. Furthermore, the rooms are nice but dated. Maybe it is my sense of style, but they were not great rooms. On a positive note, the food was beyond great and the pool service improved greatly over our last visit. Just an amazing place. July 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location but over priced This hotel has as it's main amenity it's location. The front entrnace guys are personable and make sure your entry and exit are memorable. It goes a little down hill fro there. When I asked a front desk guy it there were clothes dryers for wet clothes- his first response was " whats your room number?" I guess if you are Starwood or paying a high price the answer might vary. $30 a day to park your car is ridiculous and then you have to tip on top of that. Had what sounded like light construction going on in the room above me. February 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Breathtaking! The views are breathtaking… The service is impeccable… This Island is one of a kind, just like this St Regis. May 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great view. Staff needs improvement The arrival, entrance and view of the hotel is breathtaking. Absolutely amazing! Unfortunately the staff did not meet the bar. The concierge was not helpful with assisting us on our honeymoon. The waitress at the pool bar rushed us out of our tab after waiting for several minutes to be serviced. The male bartender argued with other patrons at the pool bar about what they wanted to watch. The servers in the restaurants were not welcoming and seemed annoyed with any question that we had. Service overall was very poor. It took over twenty minutes to check out. The best service provider was Noah, one of the servers at the pool. Your best employee! He made educated suggestions on the menu and knew the area very well. He was our concierge and server in one. November 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by ROOM WAS NOT GREAT Expected a much better room (promised upgrade never materialized). The view was great, but there is no balcony's in the room there. Very average room, cant compare to the nicer hotels we usually stay in in Cabo. The buffet breakfast was very good, and the service overall was excellent. We werent crazy at the menu in the Kauai Grill, so we didnt stay. Spa was great. Both spas at the pool were broken. December 5, 2011
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 17 next>>