The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico

  • State Road 187 kilometer 4.2
  • Rio Grande,
  • Puerto Rico
  • 00745
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

All St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort guests must be 18 years old to register. We request that minors be accompanied by an adult.

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 343 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Would not stay here again. This hotel does not live up to St Regis or even normal Starwood standards. During rainy season, from December through April, the water is brown because it is located between two rivers. Further, the beach had trash on it: think plastic, a hair curler, a ketchup packet, a tampex dispenser, a styrofoam food box and a shotgun shell all right in front of the hotel. The Chaise lounges on the beach were rusted and the beach umbrellas were torn. Recognition of Platinum status was non existent. They did not offer points and were not apologetic when it was pointed out. Also, they said upgrades were for "paying" customers, not award or discounted reservations, contrary to Starwood policy. They used these exact words to another Platinum SPG member also. There were some minor problems with maintenance like light bulbs which were out and a door lock which was missing. Another irritant was that they charge customers $35 to use the spa (steam room, etc.) if they are not engaging spa services. The good news is that the staff was very polite and spoke good english. There were some minor service issues and it was clear that they could use more training, but they make up for a lot of the small errors by being so nice. The beach attendant provided exceptional service. Also, the facility itself is beautiful, set in a rain forest setting. The rooms were all very nice (we moved a couple of times during our stay - see notes about recognizing platinum above). Room service was excellent, The ugly beach ruined it for us. All the other problems would have been ignored if the beach looked like the pictures of the beach. January 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost perfect Absolutely gorgeous property. Two restaurants with great food: the bunuelos (little donuts) at Molasses were worth the trip. Pool is gorgeous and although hotel full, plenty of chairs. Beach looked a little ragged. Three complaints: There is an extra 7% "amenitiy" charge at the spa which is not made clear, housekeeping didn't replenish the soap, etc., consistently, and had to call back sometimes more than once to get a shuttle. But overall, the staff is accommodating, the rooms lovely and the facilities beautiful. December 14, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Thoroughly disappointed! Location - this hotel is in the middle of nowhere. RioGrande is great if you're looking to do nothing but stay at the hotel for the duration of your stay, if you want the slightest bit of entertainment, this is not the place. Value for money - extremely poor. I still do not understand what the $60 per day hotel charge was for. Every single meal in the hotel is overpriced. Even the minibar is exorbitant even by hotel standards. $12 for a pack of M&Ms or chocolate covered raisins? Seriously? And it's not only the meal charges that are astronomical, take the $22 charge for valet parking overnight. I was even told that this charge applies even if you rent a car from the Avis Rental Car desk on-site at the hotel. I asked several times: "how can it be possible to charge me $22 per night if I rent a car that would stay on the property in any event?" I assume that the multiple people who gave me the same answer are misinformed. Service - this is the biggest let down of all. Several times I called the front desk and the telephone went unanswered. Several times I left messages for the concierge or the front desk to return my call, only to never hear from them. It's almost as though the staff hasn't been trained - every single request is a crap shoot; you may or may not get what you're looking for. Room quality - great at first glance, but the service staff also need to be trained. I once soiled a robe and left it in a pile of dirty towel in the bathroom, only to see it hung proudly in the bathroom with the red ketchup stain clearly visible when I returned the room. Oh and they "lost" a shirt of mine. Of course I was compensated for it, but actually was almost charged for it - it appeared as an addition to my bill my hotel checkout. Of course it was adjusted subsequently. The one notable bright spark of service I received was from Mr. Garces (front desk manager). After I complained to several people I finally asked to speak to a manager and he was the first person who I felt understood my grievances and wanted to do everything to make me feel better. Spa - outstanding. One of the best massages I've ever had in my life. Truly amazing. Pricey, but worth it. Overall a disappointing 4 night stay. Beautiful property, great spa and great overall potential, but the entire pricing structure needs review and staff needs to be (re)trained. Overall not what I would expect of a St. Regis. September 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonferful FAMILY vacation! If you are looking to get away from the hustle of everyday life, the St. Regis is definitely the place to go. From NYC you can take a direct 4-hour flight to Puerto Rico, and then after a short 30-minute drive you arrive at the St. Regis Bahia Beach. Even though the St. Regis is a "resort", you feel like you are in a quiet oasis of your own. The plentiful vegetation and the well-kept grounds camouflage the buildings, and the canopy from the large trees offer a sense of serene. After your trip you check-in at the Plantation House where the staff greets you with a smile, helps you with your belongings, offer you a cold drink, and checks you into your room. Your kids can stretch their legs, and visit the Koi fish (on our trip the staff brought out fish food so that my kids could feed them), you can also meet with the concierge to schedule your on- and off-resort experiences. After check-in you are probably hungry, so while you are dining poolside at Sea Grapes, the staff is settling you into your room. After lunch you hover above the ground when you take the boardwalks from Sea Grapes to your room. When you enter your room you are surprised by how large the rooms are. You appreciate the entry area, the veranda, the walk-in closet, the refrigerator, and the bathrooms with rain showers, deep soaking tubs, and in-mirror televisions. You are notice hanging robes and slippers, but then you are pleased to also see miniature-sized robes and slippers, one for each of your children. After you've settled in you decide to explore. You swim in the pool, and appreciate the poolside towels, sunblock and cold water, free-of-charge. Your kids squeal and chase the small brown lizards around the pool, and then stand still looking stunned to see a large green iguana standing motionless in the middle of the pool area. You order yourself a cocktail, and cool drinks for the kids, along with the best chocolate chip cookie ice cream sandwich anyone has ever had. This is your experience throughout your trip. You go to the Boat House for your tour of the resort. The guide shows you the pointy/sharp tree trunks, takes you to go feed the pelican, fish and turtles at the sales center, introduces you to the crabs on the beach, and takes photos for you so that you can be in them. You go to the Boat House and take the kayaks, sailboats, and canoes out on the pond. The kids fish and swim. Your husband and kids try go to the golf course driving range and hit a few balls (even though they left their golf clubs at home). The Fern Restaurant Manager learns that your husband likes to golf, and calls to invite him to join him in a game. The concierges schedule your family for a Bio Bay / Bioluminescent Excursion, a snuba dive, and helped us to navigate a visit and hike to the El Yunque National Forest La Coca Falls . You enjoy breakfast every morning at Fern on the veranda looking at the ocean. Your kids see the lizards running across the lawn and decide to go chase them. You dine at Sea Grapes, or poolside, and also Molasses. You remember to bring proper attire and shoes to have dinner at Fern Restaurant. You think that the food will be good off resort, but is isn't. There are a couple of good restaurants in Old San Juan, but otherwise stay on the resort. Mc Donald's, KFC, Pizza Hut - even though they are franchises, they taste nothing like home. So… the facility is very nice. But, the experience isn't only about the property, the room, the amenities. It's about the PEOPLE. The staff at the St. Regis is wonderful. Valet, concierge, butler, managers, servers, housekeeping, maintenance, entertainment… everyone is amazing. The staff is professional and friendly. They are good with adults and little people. They are not snobby or mean. They go above and beyond to think about your needs before you do and to make your stay memorable. THIS IS what separates my experience at the St. Regis from the Ritz and the Four Seasons. The St. Regis staff at Bahia Beach is personable and helpful. Here are some of the many examples we had on our trip that we've never experiences in all of our travels anyplace else. The Fern Restaurant Manager heard my husband talking about golf, but regretfully we left our clubs at home, and he invited my husband to be his guest which included rentals (same PING clubs my husband has at home). My kids loved the Koi fish, valet brought out fish food (even though it wasn't feeding time) so they could feed the fish. My kids were shocked by the loud sounds in the evening, when we learned they were frogs and started searching for one, two staff members around the pool area stopped what they were doing and helped my son find a frog (it took 1-2 hours). My baby needed milk every morning, the butler brought us a couple of gallons of milk at no charge (we didn't even ask for it). The butler saw that we drank a lot of water, and then a case of bottled water showed up in our rooms (again, without us asking). The list is lengthy. The staff at the St. Regis made our stay an experience. We've never had such attentive care at the Ritz and Four Seasons. Should you stay at the St. Regis when you go to Puerto Rico. ABSOLUTELY! January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The perfect getaway The hotel was amazing. The staff was very professional and accommodating. The restaurants and spa were excellent. Sitting poolside and on the beach was very relaxing, the pool and beach staff were attentive to all of our needs. October 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous property for destination party/wedding I recently hosted a three-day party at the St. Regis Bahia Beach to celebrate my birthday with 50 friends and family. The hotel staff attended to every event with care, professionalism and to the last detail. The catering staff are amazing. The food was exactly as I wanted it. The locations for each night's party were perfect. The activities available at the hotel kept my guests busy all day. The rooms are luxurious. I couldn't have been happier with every aspect of the weekend. December 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good But Lovely suite facing the ocean, outstanding property, very friendly staff. "Butler service" is really just an operator who has to connect you to others. Details are sometimes missed—maid doesn't replenish items, a ride fails to arrive. Mosquito problem when dining outdoors. Fern is hugely overrated, don't spend your money in the resort's top restaurant. Food is indifferent, service cloying, wine vastly overpriced. The resort did not conform to the amenities supposed to be provided by American Express when you book through them. Outstanding pool area and service. Serious beach erosion taking place, however, and date is very shallow. January 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel and grounds Excellent service Beautiful rooms Spectacular landscaping Beach, average October 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Underwhelmed! The name St Regis is supposed to be synonymous with great service. This is not the case at the Bahia Beach resort. Here you'll find Bartenders who don't know how to make the simplest drinks, housekeeping staff who don't clean well and pool area wait staff who are simply rude. Save your money, this place is just not worth it. April 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service, Relaxing Vacation Just returned from 5 wonderful days at the St Regis Bahia Beach. The staff was exceptionally friendly, very accommodating, and always around (but never in the way). Our butler checked in with us several times a day, to ensure that we had everything we needed to make our stay an absolute pleasure. As a SPG Platinum member, we were upgraded to a St Regis Suite, which was enormous. The property was very clean and the pool was spectacular. There are plenty of things to do, and plenty of places to do nothing at all! I Highly recommend this property, although reluctantly, but only because I don't want everyone else to find this gem. We're already planning our return trip. May 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is paradise My family and I just returned from a 11 day stay at your hotel (December 20th-december 31st). We had a wonderful time and thought the facility and service were great! Noelle was amazing and helped me unpack when I arrived which was heavenly!!!!!!!! Noelle was always available to make sure that our reservations were confirmed, organize transportation, communicate with the other staff as needed etc. Joselle, the head concierge was also over the top wonderful!!!! He is sooo knowledgeable, helpful and lovely. Kathy and Gabby who work at Fern for breakfast always greeted us by name and tried to make sure that we received everything we needed, Corral was our server at night and she was also fabulous!!!! Nothing was too much! The 2 managers Terry and Sam were always accessible and asking how they could help. Krystal at the spa was sooo accommodating and lovely and Karyn gave me the best pedicure! January 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by a paradise getaway An oasis on a beautiful beach. The rooms were immaculate and beautiful with outstanding bathrooms. The service was terrific with a friendly staff. Pool service not as fast but I don't think I've ever seen great pool service anywhere. Restaurants, while pricey, were excellent quality and I played one round on the golf course. If you like golf, It's a winner course, beautiful with some of the best greens I have seen. If I have one knock, it would be the resort fee that got added to my bill for hotel services. For the prices being charged for the rooms, and the cost of drinks (very high), adding a surcharge for things like towels and the like seemed a bit excessive. Also charging for parking in the middle of nowhere was unneeded. The hotel needs to balance profitability with not making the guests feel nickel and dimed. I'd actually recommend raising the room rates but dropping some of the surcharges. May 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by beautiful resort, but with a few problems For the rate charged, I expect to be able to get two pool side chairs at 10 am each day. Also, the service is not great and the hotel simply misses on many areas that a 5 star luxury hotel shouldn't like stacked chairs visible by the morning coffee station, like a mix of very average tables and chairs in the Molasses restaurant, like not being able to get a drink at the bar after midnight when the staff basically stacks up all the chairs and cushions and gets ready for overnight vacuuming. Very unprofessional. March 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Family Getaway Grounds are amazing and the Staff is very friendly always acknowleding you and saying hello. My kids loved the Boathouse which has bikes, paddleboards, saliboats amd kayaks all included in the resort fee. Food is a little pricey but the $25 per day fee for kids meal is very helpful. The only real problem we had was the water pressure during high traffic shower hours. June 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couple's Escape While we were only at the resort for two days it was one of the best resort experiences we have ever had. From the moment we arrived at Plantation House we felt special. Our suite, to which we were upgraded because of our Platinum status, was spectacular. We will definitely return to Bahia Beach when in Puerto Rico and encourage others to stay there as well June 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible experience My family and I stayed at this hotel, and it was amazing. The staff was great especially Carlos, Mike, and Deltza in the pool restaurant and pool area. They were always very pleasant, and went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. We will definitely be back, and I can't wait. Our rooms were absolutely incredible. Thanks for the best vacation ever. June 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful location limited restaurant options Overall a very good stay. Room was not ready upon our arrival. The drinks at the pool were 17 each!!! A complete rip off. Staff was very friendly. Limited dining options if you didn't want to leave the property. A great place for families or couples. No nightlife or activities at the pool. Very very quiet. A quick ride to the airport. April 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Celebration in Paradise Thank you to the whole St Regis Team! The concierge staff, Joselle, Christine and Didi were truly inspired. I strongly recommend the beachfront room! And take a day trip to Vieques with Angie as your guide. The resort fee of $60.00 per day is something management should remove. June 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything You'd Expect The staff was always kind and friendly, meeting every single request with a warm smile and can-do attitude. The location is secluded but still close to stores just down the road. The butler service was great, the rooms were nicely appointed, and the property was stunning. April 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Honeymoon in Paradise My husband and I chose the St. Regis Bahia Beach for our honeymoon and we were not disappointed. Everything about our Astor suite was wonderful, especially the butler service. We were greeted with rum punch at check-in and a very knowledgeable staff member guided us to our room and explained the resort to us. He delivered a complimentary bottle of champagne in honor of our honeymoon. It was totally unexpected and a very nice touch. There were so many amenities that I cannot begin to explain them all. The few that I would like to highlight are the amazing butler service that packed and unpacked us and brought us coffee and tea each morning (our butlers were wonderfully personable!) , the golf cart service that provided transportation around the resort, and the transportation service which provided a black Navigator for transport throughout Puerto Rico. The food was great. During our stay, we dined at Fern, Seagrapes, and used in room dining. Each meal was wonderful. We very much enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning. June 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best luxury experience Wonderful stay at St.Regis. It had all the amenities and the activities in the resort- golf, kayak, bike, etc. The staff hospitality and graciousness is unbeatable. The room is the most spacious room I have seen thus far with its own walk in closet. December 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average hotel, shouldnt be cat 7 This is my personal experience and opinion. I went to PR, and stayed three nights at this St Regis for spring break. The reasons I chose this hotel were because the the St Regis name, opened not long ago, hundreds of positive reviews from both spg and tripadvisor, and of course the PRICE. I respect and value others' reviews, however, I could not say the same. Let me start with something good. First, the hotel is small, which only has around 180 rooms, and is big, which set in large plantation field, and has a private beach of 2 km long. Second, each of the hotel staff was super kind and willing to help you. This did not include some housekeeping ladies. Then, here are some major disappointments, which I think the hotel should work on to improve. The beach is really DIRTY, and beach chairs look like $20 each. Next, the hotel definitely could not run with full capacity. For example, butler didn't greet us at the room, and spent 20 mins come to my rome when I called for help. Another HUGE problem is the housekeeping ladies, they usually came to my room everyday around 5pm to clean, and didn't do their basic job, like folding towels, and cleaning the carpet and sinks. For the romm itself, somehow, I felt the room I stayed was like 15 year old, even the hotel just opened for 15 months. Stains were everywhere on the couch , pillows, and carpet, and especially on the rug in the bathroom. Scratches, too, on the door, tables, and mirrors. Last, there were some minor things, the time was an hour late on the ipod dock, butler button was not working on the tele, and had a big bucket of ice, but no ice tongs. In short, if you dont mind and have time to fly, go to Southeast Asia, where you can spend less, and get more like good plat recognition (free, upgrade, daily fruits, breakfast, and more). March 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best weekend of my life My boyfriend and I stayed at the St. Regis for Labor Day weekend and we just had the most wonderful time. As an SPG Gold Member, the hotel upgraded us to an Ocean Front room with Butler Service. It was the most beautiful room. The staff was incredibly helpful, sweet, and professional. The grounds are gorgeous. The restaurant, Fern, is delicious. Even the hotel lounge bar is a great place to relax, listen to live music, and have a great pre-dinner cocktail. I just cannot say enough about the St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort. I've never had a more relaxing and wonderful experience at any hotel or resort. We will definitely be returning as often as possible. September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ONE OF THE BEST This hotel has surpassed our expectations. It was very clean, nicely furnished and all the staff went out of their way to be helpful. My wife and I ate at the 'Molasses" restaurant. The food, while a bit expensive was delicious. The pool area was exquisite and the staff would locate a chair for you and bring your towels. The surf was a bit rough, so I never tried the ocean, but, the beach is for the hotel guests and it is clean. The nature tour is hosted by a wonderful college student and I would recommend it. Neither my wife nor myself found anything to be unhappy about. I prefer the fact that its away from at all and yet, close enough to visit old San Juan. I will stay again in the near future March 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at the St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort September 10 - 13, 2012 and I can't find the words to express the fabulous time that we had spent there. From the friendly staff upon our arrival at the Plantation, to the meticulously manicured grounds leading up to our room. FABULOUS VIEWS! Every one of the staff was very accommodating particularly Andriana from butler services, our butler Ivan and housekeeper Brian. I also would like recognize our shuttle driver Angel. Service with a smile. From the pool staff to the waiters at all three restaurants and the golf course staff, everyone! I can't say enough. Great time, great food and great staff! Thanks so much! September 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by You have to stay here at least once! I stayed here with some friends for my birthday last weekend. This resort is truly the best experience I have had in any hotel in Puerto Rico. We checked in early and since our room was not ready we were offered to go to the pool and relax. The front desk staff was extra attentive and made us feel welcome and encouraged us to relax and enjoy our stay. Thanks to Raixa at the front desk for her excellent service. The staff is service oriented and the ratio of staff to guests is so good that you feel there is one staff member dedicated to each guest. I felt like I was a king. Thanks to Edwin and Orlando for ensuring all of our needs were meet. The pool was our favorite area to hang around all day and the pineapple mojitos were great. The nachos are super recommended, great portions to share. The pool staff is extra attentive, ask for Angelica!!! The room is incredible and the best part is the bathroom with its wonderful rainshower and tv mirror. We did not stay in the room so much as we were enjoying the pool but I can see myself spending a day or two in the comfortable accomadations of the rooms. The only negatives were a wake up call at 7:30AM which I did not ask for and the fact that I was not given a late checkout on the day of departure. This is mostly a resort to go unwind and relax. It's super romantic. But you may also go with friends and have a blast like I did. The staff will notice what vibe you are into and will accomodate to your needs. It was a perfect birthday weekend. Highly recommended!!! December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Greatest hotel in the WORLD I don't know if anyone can find any faults with this hotel or their stay. I've been to many luxury hotels but none are even in the same league as the St. Regis in PR. Rooms are magnificent, property is amazing and well-maintained and the service is second to none. We had coffee brought to us by our butler every morning like clock-work. The beach is private and truly feels like paradise. We also did boating/biking with the kids, which was a lot of fun. You can literally stay at this hotel for a week and not have to leave. We had the best time and miss this hotel! HIGHLY recommended!!! January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel I Have Ever Stayed At!!! The first thing that strikes you is the location, set on an old 483 acre coconut plantation, it looks like a botanical garden. The second thing that strikes you is the staff!!!! They are extremely professional and exceed even that of the W Hong Kong, which is saying a lot. No question the best staff of any hotel I have stayed at and I have stayed all over world. The rooms are extremely private, clean, luxurious and everything you expect from a St. Regis. The food is great. The beach is gorgeous. Ever want to own your own secluded beach house, well staying here is like having one with a 5 star staff!!!. My wife and I already planning our next visit to the hotel. Simply the best!!! The spa is great too. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by St. Regis Bahia Beach Resot This Hotel has great feature, excellent service, and a great location. The Bahia beach is beautiful well kept and the surroundings of the Hotel are like the El Yunque rain forest close by. October 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Amazing Property, needs work to be extraordinary THE GOOD - The property is absolutely gorgeous and totally relaxing how its built into the landscape. The buildings and accommodations are very refined. All of what you'd expect from the St. Regis brand. The food was excellent as well. THE BAD - I guess San Juan qualifies as "island time", but the staff was in absolutely no hurry. The queue for the continental breakfast was consistently 4-6 seatings deep (10-15 minutes) while there were visibly open tables. It was nice to have golf cart shuttle service around the expansive property, but you'd wait 20-30 minutes for that service. We often gave up and walked. Arranging for a taxi to leave the resort (a few local haunts or even to the airport) was a fiasco (i.e., the concierge failed to notify the bell stand when we arranged our departure taxi to the airport). The golf course and facilities were very nice. Not necessarily worthy of the fees they charge tough. Also, the rental clubs were unsuitable for decent golfers (I typically bring my sticks, but knew I was only playing one round so I rented and the only clubs they carry are oversized, game correction clubs with regular shafts). Also, I had to wait 20 minutes for my hot dog at the turn which took 2 holes to recover from (way to kill a good round). The rooms were well appointed, but could have been cleaner (i.e. dust on the lampshades, smudges on mirrors). THE UGLY - The pool is vastly undersized, or at least the amount of lounge chairs available around the pool. There was no patrolling of chair vultures who'd get up at 7:00 AM to place towels on chairs and not come back until mid-morning or later. Something absolutely has to be done about this as it takes away from the enjoyment of the resort. We saw numerous confrontations regarding this and heard the same complaints from almost every guest we spoke with. This is ABSOLUTELY unacceptable for a resort of this caliber. WOULD I GO BACK? - Honestly, no. While the resort was beautiful and relaxing in some aspects, it wasn't worth the frustration and there are so many other place to see. However, I'd recommend it to someone for a long weekend (food choices are limited for an extended period of time) as it is a great property and hopefully the service gets better as its still a relatively new resort. February 7, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>