The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico

  • State Road 187 kilometer 4.2
  • Rio Grande,
  • Puerto Rico
  • 00745
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

All St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort guests must be 18 years old to register. We request that minors be accompanied by an adult.

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 262 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by ONE OF THE BEST This hotel has surpassed our expectations. It was very clean, nicely furnished and all the staff went out of their way to be helpful. My wife and I ate at the 'Molasses" restaurant. The food, while a bit expensive was delicious. The pool area was exquisite and the staff would locate a chair for you and bring your towels. The surf was a bit rough, so I never tried the ocean, but, the beach is for the hotel guests and it is clean. The nature tour is hosted by a wonderful college student and I would recommend it. Neither my wife nor myself found anything to be unhappy about. I prefer the fact that its away from at all and yet, close enough to visit old San Juan. I will stay again in the near future March 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at the St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort September 10 - 13, 2012 and I can't find the words to express the fabulous time that we had spent there. From the friendly staff upon our arrival at the Plantation, to the meticulously manicured grounds leading up to our room. FABULOUS VIEWS! Every one of the staff was very accommodating particularly Andriana from butler services, our butler Ivan and housekeeper Brian. I also would like recognize our shuttle driver Angel. Service with a smile. From the pool staff to the waiters at all three restaurants and the golf course staff, everyone! I can't say enough. Great time, great food and great staff! Thanks so much! September 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by You have to stay here at least once! I stayed here with some friends for my birthday last weekend. This resort is truly the best experience I have had in any hotel in Puerto Rico. We checked in early and since our room was not ready we were offered to go to the pool and relax. The front desk staff was extra attentive and made us feel welcome and encouraged us to relax and enjoy our stay. Thanks to Raixa at the front desk for her excellent service. The staff is service oriented and the ratio of staff to guests is so good that you feel there is one staff member dedicated to each guest. I felt like I was a king. Thanks to Edwin and Orlando for ensuring all of our needs were meet. The pool was our favorite area to hang around all day and the pineapple mojitos were great. The nachos are super recommended, great portions to share. The pool staff is extra attentive, ask for Angelica!!! The room is incredible and the best part is the bathroom with its wonderful rainshower and tv mirror. We did not stay in the room so much as we were enjoying the pool but I can see myself spending a day or two in the comfortable accomadations of the rooms. The only negatives were a wake up call at 7:30AM which I did not ask for and the fact that I was not given a late checkout on the day of departure. This is mostly a resort to go unwind and relax. It's super romantic. But you may also go with friends and have a blast like I did. The staff will notice what vibe you are into and will accomodate to your needs. It was a perfect birthday weekend. Highly recommended!!! December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel I Have Ever Stayed At!!! The first thing that strikes you is the location, set on an old 483 acre coconut plantation, it looks like a botanical garden. The second thing that strikes you is the staff!!!! They are extremely professional and exceed even that of the W Hong Kong, which is saying a lot. No question the best staff of any hotel I have stayed at and I have stayed all over world. The rooms are extremely private, clean, luxurious and everything you expect from a St. Regis. The food is great. The beach is gorgeous. Ever want to own your own secluded beach house, well staying here is like having one with a 5 star staff!!!. My wife and I already planning our next visit to the hotel. Simply the best!!! The spa is great too. December 27, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Underwhelmed! The name St Regis is supposed to be synonymous with great service. This is not the case at the Bahia Beach resort. Here you'll find Bartenders who don't know how to make the simplest drinks, housekeeping staff who don't clean well and pool area wait staff who are simply rude. Save your money, this place is just not worth it. April 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top notch hotel As a meeting planner, I have been around the world and have stayed at many properties. I have to say that St Regis Bahia beach is the best that I have been to. The property is wonderful and clean and I have never had staff that were so pleasant and willing to help. Everyone knew who I was and addressed me by name. I would recommend this property to everyone! March 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Impeccable stay, but some room for improvement Overall the stay was far better than feared, and certainly exceeded our expectations after reading some marginal reviews on-line. Net net, we would not hesitate to return to this lovely resort and would certainly recommend it to others. The grounds and the property design were absolutely impeccable. The service was also very good. We ordered room service several times and it was on time, and exactly as ordered each time. The shuttle service was quick and we enjoyed the tennis courts (and clinic), the bicycling, and nature tour. Both restaurants were very nice. The only negatives were - 1) lack of an easy to use coffee maker in the room (one was provided but it was unclean and too complicated to use), 2) lack of a refresh on amenities like soap and bodywash, and 3) beach could have been a little cleaner (we note some plastic items in the sand, and an abandoned TV set half mile down beach). Overall, the positives far outweigh the negatives and the negatives can easily be fixed. We would love to visit again soon. December 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Areas of Opportunity for St Regis I forgot to mention some ares of growth for this resort. I can only thing of 2. Invest more in the Iguana Kids Care Club. The building is old and musty. It needs to be freshened up. Think about a kiddie pool or splash pad. Also, Puerto Rico has terrible food. This is a fact. Fast food, fancy food = terrible. It's important that the food on the resort fills this hole. Consider more kid-friendly food, healthy food options, food that travels easily, in-room dining options that are affordable and kid-friendly. The food is an important factor for everyone - please consider improving this in regards to quality and variety. Thanks! January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secluded Luxury at its finest. GROUNDS:This Resort has some great highlights: golf, kids center, basketball courts, tennis courts, jogging/bike trail, exclusive beach, pool, 5 star restaurants, conference center is gorgeous, wooden walk ways meshed into the tropical forest with relaxing music pulsating as you walk, croquet lawn, and spa/fitness center. In general this is the most beautiful resort I have ever been too and I have been to a few five star stellar resorts. What makes this resort so different is not the size but the style and execution of the buildings/grounds. The Plantation House as well as the pool and every hotel building are built as if they were designed with the plants all around them from the beginning of time. The mistake some resorts make is clear cutting everything then planting down some buildings then trying to spruce up the place with some palm trees. This place I feel like they found spaces where naturally no plants were and built there. I know in reality that came in later and made the place look like that but they did such a great job it feels like you are in the jungle everywhere on the resort. Example: when walking from the resort lobby to our room one night carrying the complementary umbrella because I feared rain, the massive trees and plants covering the walk way that I really did not need an umbrella. BEACH: The beach was gorgeous. It is not a cookie cutter wide sands clear water beach like some I have been to, but it has palm trees all up and down the beach. So literally instead of using an umbrella we were 20 feet from the water under 5 palm trees one day. That is unlike any beach I have been to where the only cover from sun is an umbrella. Also because this beach is totally closed to anyone except guests it feels like you are on an island to yourself. I am no exaggerating when I say you could go anywhere you wanted on the beach in total privacy. We were at resort when it was totally full and seemingly the beach was empty the whole time. The waves are decent enough to boogie board, and they provide that for you, but to surf you have to go off property, which friends of ours did and enjoyed that, but we just relaxed on property. The beach has some seashells and sandollars but mostly just sand, so it was not tough on the feet like some beaches can be and actually very soft sand. Pool: The pool was really nice. The design how the pool is laid out is genius. Even if the pool were full of guests the way it is split up by levels and pools it would never feel that way. The pool also had palm trees and foliage creating shade so even while in the pool you could still be in the shade, which was nice. The pool did have the endless pool feel to it and even had an entrance from zero (like a beach) so you could sunbath in pool while laying out. The tea ritual was pretty much someone going around and offering a sip of tea, which was cool but wasn't some big deal or anything. It was a nice touch but nothing like you have to do or anything. Also after 5 days of my wife and I being poolside at various times eating our own snacks we bought, they told us that it was a rule that we could not eat snacks by pool that we bring from room. I said "So you want me to walk back to my room to eat snack then come back to pool", (I was hoping the waiter would see how ridiculous that sounds) and the waiter said "you can do that" and just kind of walked away. Besides being a terrible rule, we were never given that rule until the 6th day, and when it was given it was in a rather abrupt way and rather embarrassing. That was pretty much the low point of the trip. I was really surprised for multiple reasons. So we just got up and went to the beach where the beach boy handling the towels and chair said we could eat out there no problem and even acted like that waiter should not have said that too us. So I dont know what the deal with that was. Other than that the pool is amazing. Room Service/Butler/Seagrapes: We got ice 1 night out of 7. That is not good. The butler service is basically maxed out by getting coffee in your room every morning, other than that its no different from any other hotel/resort. Also one day I called front desk and asked if there was a basketball on the island I could borrow to go shoot at one of the two goals they have, and they said they would bring me a ball. After waiting for 10 or more minutes I called again and asked if they wanted me to go get the ball or i they were bringing it, they said they were bringing it for me to wait and they would even follow up with me. I waited another 10 or more minutes and just said to my wife, I am going to get the ball myself. I did just that and never ran into anyone trying to get the ball for me and never heard anything about it again. That was just odd. I wasnt really asking them to bring me a ball, I was just asking where it was and if I could borrow it and they offered to bring it but never did and I never heard about it again. The service at seagrapes which is the poolside restaurant was pretty terrible. We ordered nachos which consists of nachos and a bunch of condiments dumped onto it, which would take me in their kitchen all of 1 minute to prepare. We probably waited 35 mins for it and it was actually kinda of cold when we got it. That was pretty sad, especially when you consider how much we paid for it and even tipped just because we are nice people. FERN/MOLASSES: These both were the highlight of trip. The food was amazing. The service top notch. Breakfast at FERN was impressive, but dinner was even more so. I highly recommend FERN and Molasses both. FITNESS CENTER/SPA: Smaller than I expected but actually well equipped. And like everything else it was never to capacity which was great. I cannot comment on SPA because we did not use it. August 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular resort The resort facility is magnificent. A beautiful beach and an enormous property with immaculate landscaping. We stayed in a suite which was enormous and comfortable. Service was topnotch and friendly. Although the resort was filled to capacity, it never felt crowded. January 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor service and room cleanliness I was very disappointed in the quality of staffing and room cleanliness. My overall experience was unsatisfactory and I would not recommend staying at this hotel. April 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average hotel, shouldnt be cat 7 This is my personal experience and opinion. I went to PR, and stayed three nights at this St Regis for spring break. The reasons I chose this hotel were because the the St Regis name, opened not long ago, hundreds of positive reviews from both spg and tripadvisor, and of course the PRICE. I respect and value others' reviews, however, I could not say the same. Let me start with something good. First, the hotel is small, which only has around 180 rooms, and is big, which set in large plantation field, and has a private beach of 2 km long. Second, each of the hotel staff was super kind and willing to help you. This did not include some housekeeping ladies. Then, here are some major disappointments, which I think the hotel should work on to improve. The beach is really DIRTY, and beach chairs look like $20 each. Next, the hotel definitely could not run with full capacity. For example, butler didn't greet us at the room, and spent 20 mins come to my rome when I called for help. Another HUGE problem is the housekeeping ladies, they usually came to my room everyday around 5pm to clean, and didn't do their basic job, like folding towels, and cleaning the carpet and sinks. For the romm itself, somehow, I felt the room I stayed was like 15 year old, even the hotel just opened for 15 months. Stains were everywhere on the couch , pillows, and carpet, and especially on the rug in the bathroom. Scratches, too, on the door, tables, and mirrors. Last, there were some minor things, the time was an hour late on the ipod dock, butler button was not working on the tele, and had a big bucket of ice, but no ice tongs. In short, if you dont mind and have time to fly, go to Southeast Asia, where you can spend less, and get more like good plat recognition (free, upgrade, daily fruits, breakfast, and more). March 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by IN LOVE WITH THE PLACE! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!! SO IN LOVE WITH THE PLACE!! FROM THE MOMENT YOU ENTERED THE GATES IT’S ABSOLUTELY RELAXING AND BREATHTAKING; ONE OF A KIND LUXURY AND ROMANCE. MY DAUGHER, HUSBAND, FRIENDS AND I LOVE THE KAYAKS, BOARD PADDLE, THE POOL, AND BEACH, NATURE TRAILS; ALSO THE FOOD WAS MAGNIFICENT. WITHOUT A DOUBT THE BEST HOTEL WE STAYED SO FAR! NOT ONLY THE GUESTROOMS AND BATHROOMS ARE 5 STARS, BUT THE STAFF WAS WELCOMING AND INVITING; THE SERVICE IS ONE OF A KIND, SO ATTENTIVE THAT MADE OUR STAY SPECIAL. WE DEFINETLY BE BACK, I CAN’T WAIT HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!! September 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Vacation We just returned from our family vacation at Bahia Beach and it was truly awesome! Our kids are 17 and 20 so we booked two superior queens. Our room was upgraded to the St Regis king and we shared a foyer with our kids room. The arrangements were perfect! The golf was great, the pool was great, and the staff was always very friendly and helpful. We ate at the pool, Molasses and used private dining. No complaints about any of the food. The beach was very windy 3 of the 4 days we were there, so we stayed at the pool. My only complaint about the hotel is that the options for night time dining are too limited with only 2 restaurants. We had rented a car, so we went to a nearby hotel and Old San Juan for dinner on 2 of the nights. Would definitely return! August 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A perfect resort to relax This was our third visit to St. Regis Bahai Beach. The resort is top notch in every way...with some of the best rooms we have ever experienced. It is quiet..with an expansive beach that we used twice a day for fabulous walks. Love that it is not crowded, even when the hotel is full. The level of service is fantastic. Everyone is helpful, respectful and eager to please. Remede Spa is not to be missed. Our only wish....perhaps another restaurant choice....but those that are available are high quality. This place is so great, we never leave it during our stay. February 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Great Anniversary Trip Another awesome annual 10th anniversary trip in the books. This hotel is just awesome. My suite night rewards finally came through and WHAT A ROOM! Huge two room suite. The hotel has just gotten better over the past year, the beach was cleaned up and pool was the cleanest pool I've ever seen. The only meh to the stay was the revamping of the beach entrance area. However, after one day, the hotel management stood there and did the best they could to keeping the use of machinery to a minimum to keep the disturbance to a minimum. December 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some Great, some not so great. The grounds and locale might be one of the nicest places in all the world. The staff was genuine in their kindness and attention to detail. While the drinks are extremely over priced, good to see the return of earned gratuity versus a mandatory 18% on top of everything. Remede Spa was going through some construction and it degraded the spa experience. Watch out, they add a 7% service fee on top of the spa service you are obtaining and they do not mention this when you schedule the service. While it's great the hotel strives to be environmentally friendly to match the hotel's eco-system, doing it at the expense of the customer experience was quite annoying. I.e. Low flow shower, limited hot water, AC not being cold. Overall, I would highly recommend the hotel. December 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Thoroughly disappointed! Location - this hotel is in the middle of nowhere. RioGrande is great if you're looking to do nothing but stay at the hotel for the duration of your stay, if you want the slightest bit of entertainment, this is not the place. Value for money - extremely poor. I still do not understand what the $60 per day hotel charge was for. Every single meal in the hotel is overpriced. Even the minibar is exorbitant even by hotel standards. $12 for a pack of M&Ms or chocolate covered raisins? Seriously? And it's not only the meal charges that are astronomical, take the $22 charge for valet parking overnight. I was even told that this charge applies even if you rent a car from the Avis Rental Car desk on-site at the hotel. I asked several times: "how can it be possible to charge me $22 per night if I rent a car that would stay on the property in any event?" I assume that the multiple people who gave me the same answer are misinformed. Service - this is the biggest let down of all. Several times I called the front desk and the telephone went unanswered. Several times I left messages for the concierge or the front desk to return my call, only to never hear from them. It's almost as though the staff hasn't been trained - every single request is a crap shoot; you may or may not get what you're looking for. Room quality - great at first glance, but the service staff also need to be trained. I once soiled a robe and left it in a pile of dirty towel in the bathroom, only to see it hung proudly in the bathroom with the red ketchup stain clearly visible when I returned the room. Oh and they "lost" a shirt of mine. Of course I was compensated for it, but actually was almost charged for it - it appeared as an addition to my bill my hotel checkout. Of course it was adjusted subsequently. The one notable bright spark of service I received was from Mr. Garces (front desk manager). After I complained to several people I finally asked to speak to a manager and he was the first person who I felt understood my grievances and wanted to do everything to make me feel better. Spa - outstanding. One of the best massages I've ever had in my life. Truly amazing. Pricey, but worth it. Overall a disappointing 4 night stay. Beautiful property, great spa and great overall potential, but the entire pricing structure needs review and staff needs to be (re)trained. Overall not what I would expect of a St. Regis. September 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel My wife and I stayed at the Bahia Beach Resort from April 16th to April 21st. This is an absolutely beautiful property. Service was excellent as well. I would make the following recommendations: -Do not reserve common areas such as bars and restaurants for special groups. Upon arrival, my wife and I wanted to have a drink by the pool. Unfortunately, the pool bar was reserved for a special group. Not a good first impression. -Upon departure we attempted to have a drink in the lobby bar. The same thing occurred. It was reserved for a special group. -Enforce the adults only pool policy. Traveling without children, adults want the opportunity to experience some adult only areas. The adult pool was full of children and offered no adult only escape. Hope the recommendations help. April 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing resort For the 3rd year in a row the St Regis Bahai Beach exceeded my expectations. With an amazing pool and beach steps away, this is the perfect place for a family to enjoy themselves. February 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful property, good service We stayed at this property for 2 nights this past weekend. Everybody seemed to have the same idea about escaping the cold and spending a few days in the sun. It being high season we were lucky to get a room booked using SPG points but were understandably denied an upgrade at checkin in spite of my Platinum status. This was to be expected on a Saturday, however we were also not granted a late checkout, again due to the property apparently being fully booked according to the front desk. Oddly enough the exact same room category we stayed in was still being offered for booking on spg.com. Overbooking tactics I did not think a property like the St. Regis would engage in or at least then work around those policies more actively to accommodate the needs of their most loyal guest - I had to inquire multiple times about a late check out and only after insisting was offered a hospitality suite to freshen up before departing. That being said, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel otherwise. The grounds are meticulously kept, the rooms spacious and the dining options, although only a few are available (make reservations), were very good. We will definitely return. February 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Slow Service needs improvement The food should be of better quality and the service in the restaurants needs improvement. Also in the evening a piano player or some type of light entertainment should be provided. I also noticed that some of the fire lights that were used for the entrance to the hotel where not relighted after a couple of days. One night turn down service came to late and another night it did not come at all. My dry cleaning was not ready until the day I left and now I am waiting for it to be mailed back to me. January 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Romantic Getaway We flew from NY and the trip was painless. If I had three things to highlight about this hotel, it would be ' THE STAFF, THE STAFF, THE STAFF'. They were amazing. We thought Fern was delicious and Molasses was very disappointing. The pool area is delightful and the peace and quiet of the hotel was terrific. We ventured into San Juan one night. We realized those hotels were exactly what we DIDN'T want and were happy to come home to the St. Regis. Hats off to the staff. We'll see you again soon. May 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bahia Beach a Great Place to Stay The only issue we had was minor. The bath tub in our room had s few hairs and they weren't ours Otherwise the faciilites were extremely clean and comfortable. Service was impecable as well as the food. Yes, a bit expensive, but you must consider that this isn't a huge resort, and they have a huge ratio of staff to meet your needs and take care of you. They also have large area covered by the resort, and every bit is beautifully manicured. Looking forward to staying here again some day! November 19, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but not Great St. Regis Puerto Rico is very good but it is not great in all cases. It is great for a luxury vacation with kids. If you are not traveling with kids then there are much better places and would recommend you stay at other resorts. The staff is very friendly but it is very apparent that they are understaffed. My wife and I stay in a St. Regis Suite, but you almost feel bad using the butler service because the butler looks so over worked. It was more of hassle then a help to use the butler service. In addition to our suite we also had a pool cabana; again the staff is very friendly, but would disappear for long periods of time. They have a call button in the cabana, but it does not work, well at least for us it did not. The restaurant Fern is very good, but not fine dining. Again, it is great place to take young children because they can be screaming at the top of their lungs and you still cannot hear them because of all the noise in the restaurant. Some positives about the property the staff is very nice, they honor SPG status with upgrades. The staff tries to provide complimentary amenities because of issue you will run into because of lack of staff. Overall, beautiful property, great for family vacation, but definitely stay away for a romantic vacation. February 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel Overview A magnificent resort with excellent service and outstanding staff. Unfortunately the price of the food and the drinks at the hotel was extremely expensive...much more than anticipated. Also, there should be stricter rules in place at the pool, as there were at least 6 to 10 children every day who were not toilet trained constantly utilizing the pool wearing disposable diapers. I found this to be unsanitary and frankly unacceptable. Otherwise the resort is terrific. December 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent....but a few recommendations We really loved our stay at you property for a very special wedding that took place on the grounds. The pluses: the staff was overall amazing with their helpfulness & attention to detail. The property is absolutely stunning & the spa was the best experience I've had to date. Also, kudos to the staff at the boathouse. Their knowledge and enthusiasm is very impressive! Now for the bad: the pool service. The staff is very friendly, however, after the initial introduction they seem to disappear. The kitchen is ridiculously slow. Example, we ordered a mahi mahi sandwich, and 30 minutes later, it was still third in line to get to the kitchen. That's a bit ridiculous. Also, the day before we didn't get served for approximately 45-60 minutes, and my grilled chicken salad was over dressed and the chicken was very overcooked with burnt edges. The breakfast was amazing, but again there isn't sufficient staff. I was constantly trying to flag a waiter down for a coffee refill. Overall, I think the staffing level at the restaurants is lacking. With the prices charged for your property restaurants, the service should be much better than it is. December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It Only Gets Better This is our second stay at this property and again we were delighted in our choice. The service has improved over our original stay with premier service from out butler, Singh. He spoiled our daughter and was available for our every need. The property is stunning. We felt we were in our own private rain forest much of the time. We decided to make Bahia Beach Resort a family tradition and plan to return many times. Thank you for the wonderful stay! June 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by not enough to do The hotel and grounds were beautiful , however there are only 3 restaurants (one of which is the pool) and the hotel is too remote to go off property to others. There is absolutely no entertainment at night.,could at least have a band or piano bar. It is $100 each way to get a taxi to go off property for anything. the hotel should have more to do for the amount of money that it charges to stay. The restaurants are over priced. February 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Get Away I stayed at this property for 3 nights and I got everything and more than what I had expected. Everything from the food to the service was impeccable. All the staff was so kind and attentive. The drinks are a bit pricey but the cucumber martini is to die for. The mofongos at Molasses are tasty and pretty much anything on the menu is good. My husband and I absolutely loved this property and hope to return sometime soon. November 14, 2011
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>