The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico

  • State Road 187 kilometer 4.2
  • Rio Grande,
  • Puerto Rico
  • 00745
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

All St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort guests must be 18 years old to register. We request that minors be accompanied by an adult.

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 321 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by large and very spread out We reserved a "beach front" room, that was mostly a view of trees, and very far from the rest of our family near the pool. Had to wait for golf cart shuttle to get to restaurants and pool. Restaurant food and service poor, except for breakfast. Manaagement needs to train staff, who were polite, but not organized December 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular resort The resort facility is magnificent. A beautiful beach and an enormous property with immaculate landscaping. We stayed in a suite which was enormous and comfortable. Service was topnotch and friendly. Although the resort was filled to capacity, it never felt crowded. January 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff!! The hotel staff were truly excellent!! John, Karlos, Cesar were specially fantastic!! Everything we needed and wanted was at our hands. The hotel furniture could use upgrading as some of the furniture had too many stains on them and looked worn out. Over all was an excellent stay. May 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful and Friendly The hotel is quite beautiful and the staff helpful and friendly. While you expect to pay a premium at a top flight resort, I did find the prices for drinks and lunch at the pool area sky high. My only other negative comment is that it is long distance to town. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a Great Hotel - Truly Paradise This is the best experience you can ask of a hotel. Everything was Excellent the food, the services, the rooms were breath taking. I will be back again in Nov 2012 this will be an every year thing for me and my lovely wife January 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best! The St. Regis Bahía Beach is, by far, the best hotel in Puerto Rico. Great location and service. Love to stay there as often as possible. I do recommend it with no reservations whatsoever. May 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent....but a few recommendations We really loved our stay at you property for a very special wedding that took place on the grounds. The pluses: the staff was overall amazing with their helpfulness & attention to detail. The property is absolutely stunning & the spa was the best experience I've had to date. Also, kudos to the staff at the boathouse. Their knowledge and enthusiasm is very impressive! Now for the bad: the pool service. The staff is very friendly, however, after the initial introduction they seem to disappear. The kitchen is ridiculously slow. Example, we ordered a mahi mahi sandwich, and 30 minutes later, it was still third in line to get to the kitchen. That's a bit ridiculous. Also, the day before we didn't get served for approximately 45-60 minutes, and my grilled chicken salad was over dressed and the chicken was very overcooked with burnt edges. The breakfast was amazing, but again there isn't sufficient staff. I was constantly trying to flag a waiter down for a coffee refill. Overall, I think the staffing level at the restaurants is lacking. With the prices charged for your property restaurants, the service should be much better than it is. December 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel, but not the 5* I was hoping for. The hotel was nice (looked very picturesque) - however for a 5*, I was wanting more. When we arrived, we asked that the 2 rooms be in the same building - the staff indicated they were at +70% capacity and would not be able to accomodate. When we asked other staff in the building they indicated it was VERY slow and only 30-40% capacity - which was evident when we went out at dinner & around the pool. The hours of the restaurants at Fern (for breakfast) and at the golf course restaurant also randomly changed and closed early since things weren't busy. This was disappointing, as the resort is quite far from any other alternate dining choices - leaving us to eat at Fern 4 of our 5 nights. Finally, they couldn't even keep the torches at the front gates lit on Sun-Thurs - meaning we had to walk back to our rooms in the dark - the staff indicated they only light these on Friday & Saturday's (I'm sure it's diffferent when busy). Just disappointing that I didn't experience what I had hoped from this resort only because of they weren't full enough. Note to mention - they wouldn't offer to upgrade our rooms - despite being empty. October 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top class luxury The hotel is nearly perfect. We were upgraded to a suite at check-in, with butler service. It was a perfect room. All of the staff were great; very professional and very willing to help. We had dinner at Fern, where the food was excellent and the service top notch as well. And the pool... well the pool is truly a resort pool. With multiple levels and a winding feeling to it, I could swim there for hours without getting bored. The only complaint I had was that the butler service was hit or miss. That is, when they responded to my requests they were wonderful; but sometimes I would call for a request (like an extra luggage rack and a prepared bath while we were at dinner) and they just totally did not do it; it's like it got lost in their system. This happened about 1/3 of the time for my requests. Nothing that was missed was major or important, but this hotel feels so close to perfect 5-star luxury, if only they could solve the problem of being attentive and aware of all requests. Also, be prepared as there are a lot of mosquitos on the property, especially in the evening on your balconies and on the veranda at Fern. November 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by upper class all the way Fantastic hotel. There is nothing like it in Puerto Rico. Staff was great. Everybody tried to please and did. Truely an oasis. Stay there and you will understand December 4, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by When you need to relax! This is an oasis of relaxation. Upon our drive in, we got a little worried going through the town of Rio Grande (not terrible, just had an old/uneasy feel to it), but all of the sudden the St. Regis popped up out of nowhere. From the moment you arrive at the front gate, you can feel the level of hospitality and service that awaits you. Being personally greeted by our host at the valet stand was something that we haven't seen before. First class! All in all, the staff and level of service that you will receive at this property is unmatched. Both my wife and I came home and agreed that this was the best vacation that we've had to date. This property forces you to relax, which is a good thing. Rarely did we see or hear other guests around our building, which gave this property a very exclusive feeling. Most places you go, you end up hearing doors slam and other nuances from other guests. Not at the St. Regis. The only downside might be the food options. It would have been nice to have had a casual dinner poolside at Seagrapes, however, when we were there they close dthat restaurant in the evening. Can't wait to go back next year! August 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experiecne Hotel is paradise.....attentive yet not over bearing staff, spa is amazing, beach, pool, room all great..would stay there again for sure June 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by a spot on its own a really comfortable and quiet place to relax built in a very pleasant area with a private beach and a beautiful colf course December 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just a beautiful spot Hotel is first class. Tranquil, not spoilt, in harmony with its beautiful surroundings. One of the best ever. May 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful property Beautiful property. Everything was top notch. Only negative was our room was not ready at check in. December 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great family vacation! We loved our recent stay at St. Regis in Bahia Beach. The choice of where to go for vacation with our 3 and 5 year old children was extremely hard - we wanted to stay at a premium resort/hotel with good food and enough activities to occupy the kids for 5 days. After reviewing our options in Jamaica, Turks & Caicos, and the Dominican Republic, we decided to come here and WERE VERY HAPPY WITH OUR CHOICE! We redeemed Starpoints for a free stay in a Standard Room, which was extremely spacious and beautiful. The food was great, although I think the kids menu could use more healthy options. For adults, food at Fern was great - we tried almost everything on the menu and especially liked the Hamachi Sashimi, Avocado Pizza, Truffles Pizza, Snapper with Brussels Sprouts, Grouper with Black Beans, and Beef Tenderloin. Breakfast at Fern was wonderful, with lots of choices for the whole family. Upon check-in, we were recommended to sign up for a dining plan so we enrolled one of our kids in that program ($35/day includes 3 meals, with drink+entree+dessert at lunch and dinner). It was a valuable option and I would recommend it to other parents (our younger daughter often shared the meal with our older, so they both didnt need their own plan). The property is beautiful and well maintained. We did a "nature trail" tour (offered at 10:30am every day except Tuesday and Wednesday) and got to explore the entire area of the resort, with citings of beautiful rare birds). There were many other families at the resort, so the kids made new friends and had fun interacting with others at the pool. The resort also maintains a beautiful pond of koi fish, and they invite the kids to come feed the fish every night at 6 oclock. Lots of fun, not to be missed. We look forward to returning here some day! and would definitely recommend the resort to others. March 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent... Exceeded our expectations. Great service, food and facilities. We will definitely come back ! March 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ways to improve a fantastic hotel 1. improve lighting on the paths especially light the signs for the buildings 2.Increase the menu choices at seagrapes 3.consider breakfast at seagrapes 4. rooms could be a little bit cleaner -especially the floors which are difficult because of their colors 5.consider a daily schedule of activities such as the tennis clinic 6.improve check in times - we waited over two hours for our room. Having desks rather than a counter and having lovely people check you in does not help if you then wait two hours plus for your room. Perhaps you should comp. a meal if that happens (we received wine and cheese and a lovely letter but not everyone drinks wine) January 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond expectations! Great hotel for a getaway. Its pure luxury in a rainforest. Check in was done efficiently and the rumpunch helped with the waiting. Were shown the grounds by Carlos that was excellent. The room is huge giving us enough space to spread out. The outside patio was just so comfortable to have we spent hours at a time sitting reading or just watching golfers playing. The table outside was also great for when we called for private dinning. Bathroom was just a dream come true in how beautifull it was and comfortable. Nothing that we asked for was denied, from water, to extra milk for our coffee. Food at the resort was great fern standing out. I totally recommend the kayak and nature tours, they were wonderfull in helping understand all the flora and fauna that you see at the resort and was very fun! The pool was great with enough space for everyone to be in the pool and not feeling crowded. The prices at the resort are expensive however it is a St. Regis and we were expecting those prices, so we were ready to just pay for it and enjoy the 5 star experience that we did receive. In closing, we were told at check in to be ready to get ourselves ready to be spoiled, and we were spoiled wonderfully. Expect to return for many years to come. June 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding! Everything was fantastic! June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice My wife and four year old spent a long weekend here 2/2/13 to 2/5/13 and the resort exceeded our expectations. Everyone from our driver, our butler Jose, the hotel staff and the restaurants were very attentive and went above and beyond to make us relaxed and comfortable. we particularly enjoyed the pool, and we has an excellent meal at Fern with a nice chat with the manager. We frequently stay at the flagship St. Regis in NYC and have come to expect the excellent service that this Hotel offers. The Bahia Beach resort fulfills our expectations and we think that the St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort will become our tropical home away from home. February 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded our expectations Prior to our vacation I contacted the concierge, Jossell, to find out about the hotel's restaurants, area activities and such. From the minute he answered the phone the stage was set. The personal attention, the suggestions he made and the way in which everything was arranged was incredible. The resort itself is beautiful, the property is so well maintained that it was picture perfect even when it was raining outside. The service from every staff member was impeccable and delivered with a smile and such grace that we all felt right at home. The discerning travelor has many options in today's market but I would put this resort on the top of my list. March 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful but overly expensive This hotel is amazing but the prices are unjustifably expensive. $17 for a mix drink, $20 for two eggs (+ $5 for a piece of toast), $6 per cup of juice, $25 for a salad. Putting that aside, the hotel and staff were great. Pros: Stunning property with 4+ acres of land. Great beach views Huge Pool Great staff who set up your chairs in the morning to lounge by the pool and excellent staff who take your drink orders Molasses - great food and even better waiters (Nolan and Brauhlia) Golf course was awesome. Cons: Secluded. Costs $100 each way to get into San Jaun so consider renting a car. FERN - did not like the restaurant. For the money, I was expecting excellent food but it was just ok. Not much flavor. Preferred Molasses and the waiters were friendlier and more outgoing. Also, FERN dress code says "resort casual" so we wore pants, button won and sandals and were told (after we were seated) that sandals were not allowed. Lack of snack food (e.g., chips, salsa, guac) Only two dinner options on the resort and costs and arm and a leg to go anywhere else. Overall, great for couples, friends with other couples, aniversary, honeymoo if you are looking to get away to secdlued property for a few days. Just keep in mind it is really expesensive (and we stayed at St Regis in Bora Bora for Honeymoon). TIP: Stop at Ralph's before you get to the property and pick up a bottle of vodkoa or wine and some snack foods. August 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly recommended in all aspects. I found that the entire experience was exceptional in all aspects. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The grounds are awesome, location is great, the entire staff is experienced and attentive. Once you arrive, you are welcomed to your new home and treated as an honored guest for the duration. I cannot think of anything that we experienced that was disappointing. We were very pleased and plan to go back as soon as we can. I applaud management and staff on their great attitude, friendliness and helpfulness. Whether the staff was service, management or groundskeeper, they all shared the same attributes of being friendly and helpful. July 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice place THe facility, staff and service were excellent. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Natural Setting Offers A Great Escape After the fourth trip in less than two years, it's clear this destination is one that should make everyone's wish list! Nestled in a tropical and beautiful setting, this resort is a true escape. PRO's: *setting - you can't find a more beautiful and natural setting *pool - it is masterfully designed with many levels and a feeling of privacy, even when completely full *rooms - well designed with modern and very comfortable yet elegant and sophisticated furnishings *privacy - if you want a true getaway and appreciate the opportunity to have your own space, you'll appreciate this resort and the layout CON's *Service - while the attempt and intent is appreciated, the small details are not consistently met....the timeliness of the details is where the opportunity exists. I do however want to thank Edwin for continuing to remember us as a returning guest (very few have done this), and Etienne, who was an extremely engaging server at Fern *Food - while certain dishes and meals are good, there is a lack of options for restaurants...take advantage of the private dining...when they get it right, it's one of the best options. *Grounds - while the natural setting and grounds are beautiful and someone may say i'm crazy to call it a con, the hotel has been around for two years and there are some areas that need addressed..i.e. marsh like grass right outside our patio and on the estate lawn, beach is raked by a large tractor, but consistently have to walk past trash all over the natural area of the beach. Overall, it's a fantastic resort, hence our multiple trips back. The service is the biggest opportunity and once mastered, should be considered one of the top resorts in US/Caribbean! May 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relaxing hotel The hotel is beautiful and relaxing. The grounds are well maintained. The pool though relaxing is not for swimming, but more for splashing around and is great for kids because it is shallow. The food is mediocre and expensive with very little local selection. The staff is courteous. The beach is beautiful but is only great to look at. The waters are too cold, murky and rough for swimming. I was initially annoyed because there was a mix up in the room I reserved and the one I was given. All the rooms are large and beautiful so I decided to let it go and just enjoy the moment. A beautiful place to get away from the bright city lights. May 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Worst St Regis BY FAR I have stayed at many St Regis hotels in the past and this was quite possibly one of the worst hotels I've stayed at. To begin with the breakfast was beyond dissapointing, you could only choose from a limited menu and the eggs were definetly microwaveable. They charge a resort fee of 60 dollars for god knows what. They try to sneak in random charges so continuously check your bill. Everything is ridiculously overpriced , there is no nightlife such as open bars and hip restaurant- DON'T try their restaurant Mollasas. If you choose to stay with the St Regis, do not fall into their trap of paying 160 dollars from a 25 minute car ride from the airport to hotel, or hotel to The city of San Juan. Instead, book using Luquillo Taxi services, who charge 65-70 per way and even less for destinations such as to the hotel El Conquistador. Unfortunately, since they are not on the preferred taxi list from the St Regis they are not allowed on the property so they drop you off at the main gain wait till a van from the St Regis hotel comes and then you take the van to the lobby. This process is VERY EASY so i highly reccomend it and just proves how cheap the St Regis hotel really is. Plus the Luquillo taxi services are run by Shawn Herrera and his wife Rita who were such welcoming and knowledgeable people. Ask them about Flamenco Beach- if you ask the consierge, they will charge you 60 dollars for a ferry boat to the beach, when in reality it is only $4.50. I would not reccomend this hotel to ANYONE, however if you choose to remember to contact Luqullo Taxi before you fall for any of the hotels costly tricks. Plus it is 45 minutes from San Juan and in a very distant location.. The pool however is gorgeous, the gym has advanced machines with a nice stretching room, and the spa is overly priced. They place great emphasis on the landscaping, it is great if you are a golfer. But all in all a huge disappointment for the amount of money spent. March 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall very nice, but some service issues Our family of four with two children ages 9 and 11 are here for a week's stay. We are halfway through our vacation so thought we'd post some quick feedback. Overall, a great experience. The facilities are gorgeous. Upon check-in, my husband's Platinum status was recognized and we were upgraded to a beautiful suite. The suite works perfectly for a family as the bedroom is separated from the living room. The couch is a pullout sofa that the kids can sleep on. The pool and beach facilities are wonderful. The beach has some bigger waves but nothing that's dangerous. The kids have enjoyed playing in the ocean with the boogie boards the hotel provides. The food is very good at the restaurants but as you would expect comes with the St. Regis price tag, My son celebrated his birthday here and the hotel sent up a piece of cake which was very nice. The service has been surprisingly inconsistent. I would expect it to be flawless at a St. Regis, particularly when I heard they were at 25% capacity. A few examples, our family went to the driving range and afterwards went to the Mollasses restaurant for a drink. The door was locked even though we were told it was open. We could see 8+ employees in the restaurant. In the suite, one of the amenities is coffee delivered to your room in the morning. When we checked in, the butler asked us what time we wanted our coffee delivered. We told him and asked that it be set on the table in the foyer so it wouldn't wake up our kids. Every morning we have had to call to have the coffee delivered. Every morning they either call or knock on the door, waking up our kids. The valet takes a surprisingly long time to get your car. We even call from our room 10 mins. before we are planning to leave and often the car isn't there. Food and drink service on the beach is almost non-existent. These are of course small, but annoying service mishaps. You simply expect more at a St. Regis. We often travel with several other families and were hoping to be able to recommend this property for a trip next year for all of us.. We will wait to see how the rest of our stay goes before doing so. October 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond my expectations Excellent on all levels!! The entire team made us feel welcome and special. I was very impressed that the team always called us by name. Jossell is wonderful! Helpful, friendly and the consummate professional. Everything was exceptional, from the gorgeous property to the food and the amenities. We will recommend to all of our friends and family. A special thanks to Deirdre at Molasses. I feel like she is a member of our family! Thank you for a memorable anniversary trip June 4, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 12 next>>