The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico

  • State Road 187 kilometer 4.2
  • Rio Grande,
  • Puerto Rico
  • 00745
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

All St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort guests must be 18 years old to register. We request that minors be accompanied by an adult.

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 258 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Amazing Property, needs work to be extraordinary THE GOOD - The property is absolutely gorgeous and totally relaxing how its built into the landscape. The buildings and accommodations are very refined. All of what you'd expect from the St. Regis brand. The food was excellent as well. THE BAD - I guess San Juan qualifies as "island time", but the staff was in absolutely no hurry. The queue for the continental breakfast was consistently 4-6 seatings deep (10-15 minutes) while there were visibly open tables. It was nice to have golf cart shuttle service around the expansive property, but you'd wait 20-30 minutes for that service. We often gave up and walked. Arranging for a taxi to leave the resort (a few local haunts or even to the airport) was a fiasco (i.e., the concierge failed to notify the bell stand when we arranged our departure taxi to the airport). The golf course and facilities were very nice. Not necessarily worthy of the fees they charge tough. Also, the rental clubs were unsuitable for decent golfers (I typically bring my sticks, but knew I was only playing one round so I rented and the only clubs they carry are oversized, game correction clubs with regular shafts). Also, I had to wait 20 minutes for my hot dog at the turn which took 2 holes to recover from (way to kill a good round). The rooms were well appointed, but could have been cleaner (i.e. dust on the lampshades, smudges on mirrors). THE UGLY - The pool is vastly undersized, or at least the amount of lounge chairs available around the pool. There was no patrolling of chair vultures who'd get up at 7:00 AM to place towels on chairs and not come back until mid-morning or later. Something absolutely has to be done about this as it takes away from the enjoyment of the resort. We saw numerous confrontations regarding this and heard the same complaints from almost every guest we spoke with. This is ABSOLUTELY unacceptable for a resort of this caliber. WOULD I GO BACK? - Honestly, no. While the resort was beautiful and relaxing in some aspects, it wasn't worth the frustration and there are so many other place to see. However, I'd recommend it to someone for a long weekend (food choices are limited for an extended period of time) as it is a great property and hopefully the service gets better as its still a relatively new resort. February 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This is not the St Regis treatment we are used to Not sure why the most recent reviews are in the back, but OK! We took a vacation from LA to Bal Harbour, FL location for 5 days. AMAZING experience... then we get to Puerto Rico, and the last half of our vacation suffered, even before check-in. The staff was very unhelpful (The service staff is amazing at restaurants, pool, etc), but the desk staff needs to all be replaced. WE are the guests, and the guest is ALWAYS right, even when we are wrong, we are right. I service clients in my profession, and giving the customer a little something extra, even when I know 100% they don't deserve it, if it isn't going to make or break me, I give it to them just so that I do not argue with them. Well, I call PR from Miami, tell them about transportation options. They only offered their "first class service" which is ridiculously overpriced, more than double of what it should be. I asked the concierge lady "we were at Bora Bora location just 3 months ago, they transport you by BOAT!, and it is half the price you are charging!" She said "well, it is first class", when I asked about other options, she suggested that a taxi would only be cheaper by a few dollars. I googled a local taxi company and found an amazing price. So , I reserve appointment pick up with taxi. I had hoped this was the end of it. We are checking in. We are platinum SPG members. She insists we are Gold. I mentioned we were just in Bal Harbour location a few hours ago, and we are Platinum, so it must've changed in a few hours? I have the SPG app on my phone, but my phone wasn't working, so I showed her my card and the "Platinum member thank you cards" received in the mail. She has the never to say "well, they must have just downgraded you, because our system shows you as Gold" We always choose free Continental Breakfast as a Platinum gift, and it is not available to Gold members. Whatever, if they don't want to give me free coffee or OJ and a bagel, FINE! I have better customer service than to keep arguing. Then she asks when we leave for airport (again pushing "first class"), and if we wanted to go to Old San Juan - "first class can take you there" blah blah, I just nodded and smiled politely. We go to check into our room, property is gorgeous. Very well done on the upkeep. The resort fee is a little steep at 60.00 / night for what they offer: same as all other resorts, at least they include WIFI in it. The rooms smell musty. I know PR is very humid, but at least in our room the humidity seemed to have been trapped inside the pillows, carpet, mattress, and upholstery. It smelled like people go to hanging out in the pool to laying in bed and having water just sit on the mattress. For being a newer hotel, the interior looks a little outdated. I am a Real Estate professional, so I understand "the look" and "architecture" and "feel" they are going for, but they did it wrong. That, I didn't ding points for. It was the smell of it. The housekeeping service would get done at 5:30 PM, isn't that turn down service? We NOT ONCE in our 4 night / 5 day stay receive morning service, and turn down service. Just turn down service. I like the room to be nice while I am getting ready to go out to dinner. Instead, we faced a room that looked like we hadn't done anything all day reminding us of the way we left it at 8 am. We didn't even get a door knock to ask to do it earlier. Then we wanted to rent a car to explore Old San Juan and look at all the forts and historical sites and shop for souvenirs. The Enterprise at St. Regis is RIDICULOUSLY priced. So what do I do, I look for other options, this is not a monopoly. Yes, I find an Enterprise and make a reservation for LESS THAN HALF of what Concierge / Enterprise was selling. I don't care if it's Enterprise's fees that are set that way or the Hotel's. When you KNOW the price is absolutely ridiculous, you do not allow your guests to be ripped off. I expect to pay 25% more for anything at a St. Regis, but DOUBLE is just spending stupidly and throwing your money away. We later found out from the locals that this St. Regis does want to monopolize transportation services. Concierge gives you a funny look when you ask them to tell Taxi Cab - "Joe, John, Luis," or any other name - in to pick you up. They automatically assume it should have been arranged through concierge. My advice is do your own thing. If you want to go around the city, rent a car at the airport, much cheaper than transportation any other way. If you go the cab route, google RIO GRANDE TAXI, and negotiate your own deal directly w/ the cab driver. None of the cab drivers have meters, so it is so easy to get ripped off. Having your guard up like they are out there to get you is a terrible feeling to have on vacation. Finally, I had enough and I actually complained. My first time EVER. The manager apologized, agreed with all of my points, and said that they are already working on all of these items. He agreed to adjust our bill for our breakfast meals since he too, agreed that that's where the argument should have ended - upon proof presented that I was a platinum member, instead of demeaning my integrity by suggesting I am "lying" or have been "downgraded" - those words should never be spoken to a client / guest. It was my birthday weekend. We were asked over the phone if we were celebrating anything upon making a reservation. We did say it was my birthday. I never expect anything, but when you ask like it's something you consider, it would have been a nice touch. Then, why'd you ask? Bal Harbour location sent chocolate covered strawberries with a Birthday card and upgraded our suite to the highest floor they had available as Ocean Front as possible. We were impressed by their efforts. Bal Harbour also has a Bentley house car that is free of charge up to about 50 blocks, so does San Francisco, and so does New York. PR, no. The forest is amazing, the property beautiful, the service staff attentive (I've read reviews of people complaining about the bar not open early or late enough) - if that's your complaint, you've got a bigger alcohol problem you may want to address with yourself first. Who drinks from noon to sundown, and is still in the mood for more? June 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful, but would not return This is a beautiful hotel and the staff are absolutely outstanding, but the resort is too isolated and there were not enough food options for my family. Since we visited after the high season there were only 2 dinner options (besides room service) and both restaurants serve very gourmet food. My family has traveled the world, but sometimes you just want a burger for dinner! There was also no food other then restaurants meaning no deli, coffee shop or ice cream shop. We also like to visit local restaurants and anything worth going to was over 30 minutes away. You are in the middle of the rain forest! We didn't like the room because the shower is totally open and this made it difficult for family members to share the bathroom. The staff are incredible and the resort very well maintained. The service was perfect! January 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Tropical Paradise I have been to a lot of hotels in my life but this property of St. Regis is one of the most beautiful and tropical resort I have ever stayed at, hands down. The location of the property, the beautiful rooms, the breathtaking views, the amazing clean beach, highly courteous and friendly staff and the best restaurants.......Isn't that what we all look for and need when we are on a relaxing vacation. St. Regis Bahia Beach has it all and more to offer. I sincerely can't wait to go bak to this resort and make more life lasting memories. I highly recommend this resort to anyone and everyone who is planning a trip to Puerto Rico. August 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing guest service! Your hotel went above and beyond from the moment we checked in. We planned a small intimate wedding at the resort and could not have asked for a more special day. I must mention two times the your employees went above and beyond. While I was getting ready for our wedding, I had noticed I forgot my cuff links. I was walking out of the spa from getting ready and the young lady at the reception desk, over heard me. She went on property to find one of the mangers, in Ferns, who kindly gave me his to use. After out wedding, everyone on property came up and congradulated us. I cannot begin to express my thanks and how this made both my wife and I feel, since we were alone on the trip. October 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recent Stay This was my third time at the St. Regis in Puerto Rico over the past 2 years or so. I love this hotel as a destination and will continue coming back. I've found that the service has significantly improved. However, there is room for improvement when compared to other SPG properties; particularly related to room expectations and to a lesser degree service protocol. I was surprised that my room had 2 beds and no view, that I had to wait until almost 5pm to check in, and was not allowed a late check out. I was also surprised that my Fern waiter took a signed bill back and charged me more after a mistake he made at dinner. I've never seen that at any high caliber restaurant. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful grounds and location When we pulled into the Bahia Beach resort we were struck by the awesome beauty of the facilities. Being a recognized refuge it is something to behold. We were upgraded to a suite which was a pleasant surprise. Along with the suite we received butler service. Our morning butler Ricardo was extremely friendly and we had some nice talks about the island and coffee there of which he gave us some to take back. He also printed our boarding passes for us on our last day which saved us much time. Our only complaint about the resort is the high price of meals. They really should be brought down to a more normal level. February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chairmen & CEO I found the room room poorly laid out and not extremely functional. March 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing location, beautiful facilities, beach An amazing property with a spectacular pool, warm staff, great restaurant (Fern), and beautiful beach. A few drawbacks: swimming isn't an option at the beach, the wind and current are too strong; the rooms smelled a bit of mildew, but hard to avoid as it is basically in a rainforest. Tips: eat at Fern as often as you can, its amazing. But avoid Molasses (the golf club), as it is pricey but below average; and the food at SeaGrapes is standard pool fare, not that great unless you are willing to eat off the kids' menu. December 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This place is Paradise. After reading several mixed reviews about the St. Regis, we went with open minds and did not expect too much. From the second we drove into the resort, we were extremely pleased with not only the beauty of the property but also the absolutely professional way the staff treated us. Every single member of this staff should be very highly rewarded by management because not only do they attend to every little whim, they do it with a smile. I have a special call out to Daniel at the front desk for his kindness and very friendly and helpful attitude. I also would like to specially praise Mike, one of the beach attendants, service with a smile and very happy to give you tips on where to go if you want to explore the island. Finally a very special thank you to Eileen, the golf club manager for her incredible kindness and willingness to do whatever was necessary to insure that we had a great time. I do not want to slight anyone as the entire staff was fabulous. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly recommended with one simple recommendation At the room rate charged why is the pricing on the beverages and snacks so extreamly overpriced??? January 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by larose service ar fern except for the last 2 dinners bad for 1 dinner breakfast service for 1/2 the tome was bad menu-for dinners 2 restaurants never varied same each night tell people to put on big spray at fern-drpes 1/2 or so broken January 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Best Vacation Experience ever Extremely well-run and well-managed property. The postcard property is as shown on the brochures and website. It was even better to experience in person. What went above my expectations are the staff and the level of service. All the staff were courteous and attentive. They were always eager to please. They made you feel at ease and relax; made you feel welcome at all times. We did not have a single negative experience to really write about except having reached the end of the vacation to go back home. It was the truest real getaway we ever had. Thanks Bahia Beach, just what we needed. August 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by large and very spread out We reserved a "beach front" room, that was mostly a view of trees, and very far from the rest of our family near the pool. Had to wait for golf cart shuttle to get to restaurants and pool. Restaurant food and service poor, except for breakfast. Manaagement needs to train staff, who were polite, but not organized December 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Butler service is phenomenal The butler service at this St Regis is phenomenal (especially Juan, the gentleman who was on duty during the day). Overall beautiful hotel with great facilities. The other services (concierge, waiters at restaurants) were a little slow, but the overall experience was great December 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Warm, Friendly and Marvelous Paradise We had an absolutely outstanding time, the room was fantastic, the view was great, the staff was wonderful, the food was good, the entire grounds were just a wonderful beautiful paradise that we can't wait to go and visit again. Just a couple of suggestions, 1st, it would be nice if the pool was opened a little later and served food until 8 or 9 in the evening, 2nd, the folks who clean the rooms were wonderful, however, they should take a little extra time & effort to clean under the beds and night stands as these areas were not very clean. In any event, your facility and staff is outstanding. You have done an wonderful job in presenting a place to visit where you feel like your welcome and special all the time..... March 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by a paradise hotel location, installation and the garden are amazing. it's a very nice hotel but there are some details to be improved: one day electrical problem at the pool area then the beverage were limited and restrooms closed. the pool need to be "cleaned"during the day (you can see the dirt at the border of the flat side). we asked for bath bubbles and never arrives. At the at the fitness center there were missing some "tools" like the bar for biceps/triceps. The service at the beach should be better. Use of the cabanas should be include in the room rate (then nobody use it) July 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff We could not have been happier with our stay at the St. Regis, Bahia Beach. Everything within the control of the staff was perfect, from the moment we were welcomed to the the lobby to the friendly people around the pool to our departure. The rooms are beautiful and spotless, the restaurants are exceptional. The beach is not the best and there are many mosquitos (because it's in an area with lots of plants and wildlife), but the property itself is well kept and beautifully laid out. The training and professionalism of the staff is remarkable. We had a tough time finding the hotel, but from the moment we checked in we felt all of our stress leave. Everyone on the grounds is considerate. This hotel is worthy of the branding. January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What an amazing experience! Two friends and I, much in need of four days of R&R, arrived at the St. Regis Bahia Resort and were wowed from the start. Our suite was amazing -- spacious and with a great view. From the moment we arrived, the staff was engaging, welcoming and inviting. The service was stellar, the facilities just right. The tennis instruction was really standout and our spa services were impressive as well. The food was great too -- from the terrific tomato/mozzarella salad w/chicken to the seared tuna wrap. And the butler service -- what can you say, it's terrific. September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Relaxing Get-Away From start to finish the staff made our stay at the St. Regis Bahia Beach comfortable, relaxing and worry free. We chose this spot for my wife's 40th birthday and we were not disappointed in any way. The rooms are well appointed, the staff excellent, the food very good, and the overall atmosphere was perfect if you are looking for an oceanfront relaxing get away. The location is perfect to quickly trip into Old San Juan or to enjoy a day hiking through the El Yunque National Rain Forest. The concierge was very helpful in setting up our activities and events (with the exception of sending us to the wrong marina for our snorkeling trip). Overall, the experience was superior and we would definitely return if the opportunity presents. January 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anniversary Visit This resort was exactly what we were looking for in terms of a quick, relaxing getaway for our 5th year anniversary. SInce this is a relatively new St. Regis there are some details to still be ironed out but overall the resort is stunning, beach is beautiful, and spa was awesome. Very friendly staff. A few improvements: too many mosquitos - recommend complimentary bug spray or treat the entire resort . Service was a slow at the pool and restaurants. Recommend waters and ice be provided to all pool guests upon arrival. Not enough food options, recommend some sort of Italian fare, sushi, etc.. Smoothies were not made of fresh fruit - they were mixes. Difficult to eat outside because of the birds/mosquitos. Recommend invisible wires to keep the birds away. October 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Stay We just returned from our stay. The hotel location and amenities exceeded our expectations for our family vacation. Service was generally excellent, but fell a little short when the hotel got very busy over the holiday weekend. In particular the lunch restaurant was very slow and lacked the expected level of service. We really enjoyed the tennis facility, biking and boathouse that included fishing, and boating. It was really nice that these were all complimentary. The pool was one of the nicest we have experienced. In general the food was very good. Our favorite was the restaurant Fern for dinner. Great service and excellent food. Very creative cuisine. Also our butler, Jose, was excellent. We are definitely looking forward to returning. July 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel lives up to the St. Regis Reputation I just returned from my trip to Puerto Rico. Prior to the trip, I read reviews of the resort, three of which stood out. (i) the concierge was nonresponsive; (ii) there was a stain on a piece of furniture; and (iii) there were not enough food options in a moderate price range. The reviews that state these concerns are wrong. The resort is two years old so the facility itself is practically brand new and the staff is seasoned and experienced. The service was superior to my expectations. I noticed nothing to be soiled and I carefully looked for that. As to the food options, there were considerable options of food choices both in the moderate and expensive ranges. One should not expect a five dollar hamburger at a lovely high end resort. The food was delicious and plentiful. The beach was clean. The pool and amenities were fantastic. Beautiful huge shells would wash up on the beach every morning. The grounds were perfectly maintained. I rented a car for a one day excursion and the rental service was on site. When I returned with the car, the valet took care of everything. The kids love the facility because there were lots of things to do like feed the fish and make smores. This is truly an exceptional resort and lives up to the St. Regis reputation. I most definitely would return to this resort and will seek out other similar St. Regis resorts for vacation given my experience at this resort. I travel the world frequently and have stayed in the finest hotels. This resort is one of the nicest experiences I have had on a trip. November 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Room condition Not a big fan of being on an island and not seeing and hearing the ocean 24/7. We were in a room on on a golf course - I would have never known I was near water. My room did not have a heavenly mattress. It was an old mushy mattress. The sheets did not fit properly on the mattress and would slip off every night. The mattress pad did not have anchors on them so the sheet on top slips off. Very uncomfortable. The pool bar closed way too early and did not lend itself to people wanting to use the pool in the evening and have a cocktail. May 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxation at its best! Just returned from an 8 day stay with my family. We had never been to this resort and it did not disappoint! The accommodations were wonderful. The food was delicious. The pool and beach areas were beautiful. We spent time golfing, playing tennis and going for walks on this spectacular property. The staff was extremely friendly and always helpful. This was our first time at this resort but not our last! November 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by 2013 Terrible Expereince!!!!! Our experience at the St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort Puerto Rico, Puerto Rico was the worst experience in terms of customer service as the establishment is trying to bill us for two rooms. We have children 5 and under and the St. Regis in Puerto Rico claims we reserved two rooms. Clearly, they can tell we cannot leave our children in a separate room and why would we ever reserve two rooms in the first place?. When in fact, we upgraded our room to an Astro Suite, they never took the other room off the reservation. When this was brought to our representatives attention, she told us not to worry about it, it has all been taken care of. However, when we arrived at the St. Regis, they told us we had two reservations. We told them we do not need two rooms, we simply upgraded our room to the Astro Suite and because they did not properly document that in there records, does not mean it is our responsibility to pay for their mistake. There was no reasoning with the St. Regis, there was no courtesy or attempt to make the situation right. They told us we will be charged for two rooms… two very expensive rooms!! We feel we have been setup and scammed! May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel and Amazing Staff My son and I just got home from our stay at Bahia Beach --what a fabulous time we had. The resort is truly wonderful. While the setting is spectacular, it is really the staff that made our vacation so wonderful. Every single person from Will at reception, to Ashley who took us on two nature hikes, to our waiters in the restaurants, to the people who took care of our room...everyone was so kind and welcoming. We have already booked a trip to return and can't wait! A wonderful vacation. October 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The employees are the best I have encountered This resort is a top of the line resort. It has anything you would want. The staff goes way out of their way to make your stay comfortable. They are very friendly and are willing to give you anything you need to make you feel comfortable. All staff deserve a huge recognition! There are awesome!! I loved how the pool was open 24/7. I wish that there was a more affordable "snack shack" close to the beach for guests. Drinks are way overpriced. WiFi and cell phone service needs to be improved. We were not able to make complete calls or access the computer without have dropped calls or being timed out on the internet. Restaurant food was excellent and all of our accomodations were exceeded. The resort should provide a daily shuttle to give guests the option to visit San Juan. August 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An over-all wonderful experience We were extremely pleased with our stay. Every staff member was courteous and truly wanted to be of help to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. A special thanks to the staff of Fern. The food was uniformly delicious and plentiful. The facilities were beautiful and well kept. Our only suggestion would be to have a shuttle service between the property and San Juan such that those who do not rent a car would have a reasonably price way to take an excursion into town. We will definitely return for future vacations. January 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Customer Service The moment we pulled up, I knew we were in for an amazing time. We were walked to the check in desk (literally a desk!) and immediately connected with Guillermo. He gave us a "tour" of the property and told us about all of the amazing things to do there. He answered questions and gave us information (plus directions!!!) to many different locations outside of the property that we inquired about. He was honest about a couple different ideas we had in mind and gave us new opportunities when there was a better idea then what we had in mind (and he was always right!). Because of his honesty, we truly felt like we had made a friend in the first 15 minutes at the property. Thru opened ended questions, he found out why we were there and also found out that my husband's birthday was on the 8th. He asked about what our plans were for that day and the whole time, was taking notes. He knew my husband was a bit apprehensive about this birthday as he is no longer 21 =). Of course, to our surprise, on Friday the 8th, we showed up to our room and there was a wonderful piece of cake and message that said "Happy 21st Birthday". There were multiple times that we had questions during our stay or was looking for something specific, and as much as we knew we would be in good hands with any of their wonderful employees, we specifically asked for Guillermo each time we called because we had built such a great relationship with him. I honestly have not seen someone so young, so passionate about his job and taking care of the guests in the hotel. He made us feel as if we were the ONLY people we were helping during our time there and I'm 100% sincere when I say we miss Guillermo now that we are home. My husband and I cannot stop talking about the future he has in front of him. He was so personal, yet professional at the same time (two traits that can be hard to have at the same time). He is for sure on his way to manager/director status and will thrive so well within Starwood and the St. Regis brand. We had great experiences at the pool, and at Molasses as well. Our waitress Madiline was absolutely fantastic. She ended up serving us for two of our meals while at the St. Regis and was great about recommendations. My husband is vegetarian and she worked with your chef to come up with personal veggie options for my husband (both which were out of this world by the way). She as well, was unbelievably personable while being professional. We had a lot of fun with her. If you book this property, you will not be dissapointed. Everything from the rooms, to the location, tot he service was fantastic. We will be back! February 27, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 next>>