Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa

  • Brufut Heights,
  • AU Highway, PO Box 3311
  • Serrekunda,
  • Gambia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 53 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location and staff The hotel is in a great location but you cannot take it away from the staff they are brilliant and a credit to the hotel.. Personally not a 5 star hotel more like a 3/4 star but definitely a place to be able to chill out... The Spa is very good and I had a massage and facial which we're both excellent. April 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent food and staff If you're about to rest and enjoy the heat this is the perfekt place for you! April 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent staff and food The Staff were very helpful and friendly. food was great with plenty to choose from . April 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by For a relaxed holiday Stayed at the Sheraton Gambia 5 Mar to 19 Mar 2014, had a great holiday relaxing in gardens by the pool. The staff at the hotel are brilliant. March 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very friendly hotel! We have just spent a week here ... Staff are both very friendly and nothing is too much trouble! Food is great. Rooms are good, with powerful shower, lovely clean soft fluffy towels and bed was comfortable with clean bedding. Sea view from room. March 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing (7 days is not enough) Staff: very friendly and waited on us hand and foot. Special thanks to reception, bar and restaurant staff for helping me to learn Wolof. Any questions or issues were sorted out by reception in a matter of seconds. Room: lovely sized room with bath and shower room. Partial sea view from the ground floor. Facilities: spa treatments reasonably priced. I recommend the 'couples retreat'. Pool is a good size and adequately clean. On the beach (which is private). Activities such as French boulles, volleyball, aqua aerobics take place morning and afternoon. All public area toilets were spotless. Free wifi in reception area was painfully slow. Cocktails not included in the all inclusive deal but were reasonably priced. Food: excellent. Good choice, fresh, excellent quality, efficient service. Sometimes held indoors if it's cold/windy, or outside if the evenings are warm. March 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Hotel Good all round hotel, really enjoyed our stay. Staff very friendly. Food was excellent Comfortable beds Good bar staff Grounds well kept. March 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent location and superb all-inclusive Splendid staff everywhere and we were especially satisfied with the room cleanliness. March 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by superb staff great location, rooms more than adequate, superb friendly staff really make this a fab hotel, made us and our children feel very welcome and special. March 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by good mix of luxury and pleasure excellent experience with professionally trained staff. Great room view over the ocean; even if room at ground level; life music entertainment. February 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, great location. This was our first time in the Gambia and we were blown away with our experience. The staff went out of their way to make our holiday very special. The food in the restaurant was consistently great and a credit to the catering team. The staff in the pool area and bars were friendly and efficient and our room was comfortable, Thank you for a great holiday. February 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A welcome return to the smiling coast!! After a very stressful 2013 my husband and I decided to visit the Sheraton once more as we both wanted a relaxing and uncomplicated holiday. On arrival at the Sheraton on 3rd January, exactly the same time as last year. It was like coming home! We were welcomed with open arms by Francois and the rest of the staff on reception. We were shown to our room within minutes and once again it was a beautiful palm beach room with the sea just a stones throw away! It was lovely to see so many of the staff had been retained from the previous year., Maire with her radiant smile, Chris with his great sense of humour, Mohammed and Forday from the bar and Dtinnue, who is responsible for the great guest activities, to name but a few of the excellent staff! The food and wine was up to its usual high standard, all freshly cooked and prepared with a huge choice, all prepared under the watchful eye of the french head chef, Laurant, who once again excelled himself when cooking my favorite, Lobster! All in all it was an excellent holiday and just what we needed and I personally wouldnt hesitate to recommend this hotel to our family and friends. It must be remembered though that this is Africa, and sometimes things do lack the polish and sophistication of perhaps some of the Carribean islands, but to be honest, too much polish would ruin what is the natural ambient beauty of a wonderful country. With our thanks to you all, Julie & Chris 'S' January 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by one of the best hotel for memorable holiday The staff are exceptionally good and caring. There are two areas that require improvements, one room maintenance and restaurant. Room Maintenance - too many pests in the room and flooring is poorly maintained. Breakfast at the restaurant has limited spread and especially fruit display is very poor that makes the guest not to eat. Also, around 9.30AM (closure to the closing time) one has very limited choice. Secondly, inordinate delay in service January 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad Service Everybody has an own view on tips for service. In case of this Sheraton hotel, be absolutely aware that the hotel staff will provide "no service" or "very bad service" if you do not tip them for every action they take. That goes for the cleaning lady, to the guy serving coffee at breakfast and the poolboy. Not tipping or not tipping enough actually results in unfriendly behaviour of the staff. This Sheraton does not maintain a minimum level of service that goes with a five star rating and price. Nor belongs to the brandname of Sheraton. January 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sheraton the gambia The money we paid for this holiday was far too much, the food wasn't good, not very clean, the sheets were on the bed for nearly two weeks, all though we always had nice clean towels, we couldn't drink the brandy we complained, but they didn't change it, always running out of diet mixers which is not good if you are diabetic, the bar seats were so uncomfortable you couldn't stay to long and there wasn't anywhere else to sit, only lay on loungers which some people can't. January 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by sheraton This was our third stay , hopefully we will have many more good relaxing holiday. Staff all very good and helpful felt YAYA on the bar also Sanstally Sakio added to the holiday.As mentioned felt all staff good but general cleaners,gardeners,etc, efforts always get overlooked. January 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by WORST EXPERIENCE The hotel is run down and the pressure of water is low and the ceiling was old and water was coming into my room, DON'T VISIT HERE. December 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is a complete disappointment When I booked at sheraton/Gambia, I was expecting the usual high standards of excellent services which this worldly hotel enjoys.unfortunately, the hotel in The Gambia is lacking behind in every respect: no hot water available, bad meals, rooms contaminated with bugs of all sorts, water leaking into the room when it is raining, the swimmiing pool is unde maintainance, the lift never work properly......etc September 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by No where near Sheraton standard 1 of the 2 lifts were always out of order and for 3 days both lifts out of order. Half of the lights in the dining room don’t work. There are so many leaks in the roof there are buckets all over the place catching water. The food is left out far too long in the heat without covers or refrigeration. There are no UV lights in the dining room to zap the multitude of flies that use the food as private buffets. We stayed all inclusive but couldn’t have a bottle of water with meals or during the day only a small glass The aircon in the room kept tripping the fuse. The tv constantly buzzes. but worst of all was the poor choice, and constant recycling of food. The food was bland unimaginative and repetitive with a few exceptions. Some dishes we are sure were reheated or recycled 2 or 3 times, the head ‘chef’ needs training or moving on. August 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Gambia property is a disgrace to Sheraton brand name The management and staff do not know how to be customer friendly. They are bringing bad name for the Sheraton brand. The staff and managers do not seem to understand how to run a brand name hotel and resort. The telephone in my room did not work for four of the eight days of my stay there. It was a security hazard. Management did not care about it. Room was not tidy. Amenities in the room were insufficient. The lift of the hotel did not work on the last day. We had to walk up a number of floors a few times. By force, they overcharged a guest's credit card and did not return the overcharge amount. August 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dr. Great location, wonderful food excellent and excellent customer service. The artwork was extraordinary. I enjoyed my stay with the Sheraton Gambia. Keep up the great work. August 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Small things let it down - shame. Lovely setting and location and on the whole a beautiful hotel. Unfortunately it lets itself down with silly little things like: Pool - main pool was ok but around it was messy with pipes and the pool liner was creased and again looked messy. A large area that looked as if it should have been a 'beach' type pool for children simply looked abandoned and dirty. Food - variable standard. Some days it was excellent with lots of good dishes to choose from, hot and fresh. But other days there was little choice, dishes not restocked and the food was cold. If everyday could be like their good days then it would be spot on. Staff - all seemed friendly but on the whole they are pretty inefficient - they all seem try to do a bit of everything (in their own time) whereas if they worked as an organised team they would provide a better service without having to work any harder! 'Time & motion' review could sort this v quickly. This hotel is so close to being 'perfect'. We had a fantastic week lazing in the wonderful sunshine, in a wonderful setting during the day and then sipping wine into the night in the wonderful outdoor dining areas. The evening entertainment was good - local bands/groups. March 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by stay never recognize at all what so ever with my platinum status.My room was dirty ,aircondition did not work,no amenities at all(soap&shampoo),sewage flowing in fron of my room,mosqitos in the room,bad breakfast ,bad service from ALL STAFF member,low qulity food at dinner. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A superb holiday A most enjoyable, friendly, relaxed stay. Lovely people and very helpful staff from security to reception, without exception March 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Fabulous Stay Just returned from Sheraton Gambia, after a weeks stay. Absolute paradise! The hotel is situated on a beautiful private beach. All rooms have a fabulous sea view. The hotel is designed in the style of an African village ( looking a little more North African than West African, I think). The staff are very friendly and helpful, without being over bearing. Rooms are clean and well equipped. The food is delicious...and so much choice! The Manager of this hotel is to be highly commended, as are all the staff, from the gardeners, to the pool boys, cleaners, waiters, chefs security guards, and reception staff. My ideal holiday also includes birdwatching, and I was not disappointed! The hotel grounds are teeming with bird life, and it is not far from Lamin Lodge (a birdwatching paradise set in the mangroves), or Abuku Nature Reserve. If you want expert help with identifying the birds, or birdwatching trips arranged,, speak to 'Doctor Owl', the hotel's resident bird expert. He is usually available during the afternoons, to the right of the pool bar, and has a telescope set up, bird books and binoculars. I am already planning my return trip. February 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice but needs a bit more I was in the Gambia on business not vacation so my needs were different from the usual vacationer. With that in mind, the most difficult item to deal with was the lack of reliable internet service. I realize that this type of service is not first in the entire country, but there are alternatives such as the QCELL network which I have used elsewhere on prior visits. February 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Back to Africa The design of the Sheraton made you feel that you had arrived in Africa. Our room was clean and met our needs however you needed a major workout before attempting to try to open the balcony door. As a woman there would have been no way I could have done this without some assistance. The staff was very friendly but on our last day there was no water when I spoke to the lady in reception she did not offer any solution to the problem it was only when I spoke to guest relationship manager did she do this but it was hard work. My only major critic was that when I booked all inclusive I expect it to be all inclusive we were very limited to the drinks you had and at dinner there were some items which they had expected you to pay for. I have stayed at a number of hotels which offered all inc and this one was the worst so far and in my opinion was not value for money! Apart from these quirks a very enjoyable stay February 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable hotel Perfectly located by the beach, well maintained facilities, with staff aiming to please (but don't be in too much of a hurry), good food. January 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff needs to be more organized Roms were not ready. Had to wait 1 Hour for my room. Check Out was verry slow. January 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Miss Lovely hotel with excellant and friendly staff. Great pool and one of the largest i have seen. Very near the beach. Ok food though bit unimaginative limited in choice and repetitive, not very "african" . January 8, 2013
  • 2015-11-27 T07:49:46.395-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_53, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_1975, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 next>>