The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort

  • 40 Apollonos Street - Astir Palace Complex,
  • 16671 Vouliagmeni
  • Athens - Vouliagmeni,
  • 16671
  • Greece
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve and check-in to a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 58 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has great facilities but is let down by staff service A Beautiful setting with stunning views and weather. Some of the staff are fantastic, while a lot really let the overall experience down with poor service. Countless times, drinks or orders don't show up. Staff say they will do something and not follow through, or are rude and non-responsive with simple requests. Another disappointing feature is the standard of internet speed and accessibility throughout the hotel. In this modern age, wifi is a necessity, and the speed and amount of dropouts was terrible when internet access was a business necessity. August 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clearly the best in Athens The hotel, it's location and the staff were excellent. The rooms were extremely comforanle and no request wentbunattended. This hotel is located a good distance between the airport and the centre of Athens with the luxury of beach, amazing resort facilities and the best restaurants. Breakfast was amazing and served til 11am. Highly recommended and the place to stay! July 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great time Hotel always nice......I felt staff lacked just a little bit...eg beach towels... We had to wait for 1 person on duty to come and give us towels. We could not set up until he lifted our sun umbrella and brought us beach towels... Other hotels have towels available to collect upon arrival at the pool. I would suggest that all sun umbrellas go up in the morning and down at night.. Breakfast also lacked a bi in the hot food range. No table cloths on table like the last time we came. Food rices at hotel very expensive. Otherwise we had a great time... July 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location location Situated on a peninsula in the Aegean sea, the hotel offers stunning vista´s over the blue waters, a lovely pool and a small private beach. Having said that, there are quite a few downsides: receptionists are almost rude in behaviour, certainly not welcoming, the rooms are simple for a five star hotel and the hallways definitely gloomy and the food and drinks are extremely expensive, which can be expected, but here it is not in balance with the quality offered. All in all o.k. for a few days of relaxation, but I would certainly not want to spend more than 2 or 3 days there. July 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of Starwood's Best I don't often write reviews, but need to for this stay. I travel a lot for work but this trip was a family vacation. Spent 4 days at the Westin Astir and received an excellent greeting from Thanos at the Front Desk. The hotel is in one of the best locations in Greece (Voulougmeni). Trip into Athens is less than 30 mins. The suite consisted of two rooms which was great for my 2 young children. The bathroom was huge with 2 showers and the balcony was anormous. The view from the room, the pool, and the beach were all outstanding. In addition to the Front Desk service, the valet service was also excellent. The only improvement is the service around the pool, but this is not the Hotel's fault. This is how the service is in most restaurants in Greece. Food and drink service is much slower in Greece than the USA and you just need to get used to it. If you are thinking about going to Greece, this is the place to stay. I think the Voulougmeni area is great as it gives you the option of the city and the comfort of being on the water. August 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by beautiful hotel, understaffed? The hotel was beautiful, and had wonderful facilities! However, our air conditioner did not function properly, and the room service was slightly poor. We reported both, and neither were really fixed. July 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Astir Westin This hotel is in the most beautiful lovation in Athens but needs a major overhall. The rooms are dated and need improvement September 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The level of service was not as expected The hotel is on a great location but the staff, especially during check in. Very unwilling to assist, and rude. July 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful facility and location Pool service for drinks/food was a little difficult, but everything else was very well done. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful The location of this property is just beautiful, the best view you'll ever see. April 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old & dated hotel - trapped in the 60s Apart from the beautiful view, old and dated hotel with poor service.... June 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This Hotel is on a nice location Bad service at the restaurants and the frond desk at the Arion Hotel July 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice place for holiday Lovely place, good acomodation, nice stuff. August 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by First 45 minutes at Westin? / Go with the flow this is the "greek way" While I have stayed at this resort in the past, I find the need to write about the positives and possible improvements to this great property. The resort on its own compares to few in Greece. its location, grounds and beautiful waters sparkle majestically. It's the staff that can make a hotel shine to its glory. While the Front desk and bar staff were great its the behind the scenes that needs immediate repair. Greater attention to the room preparation must be made by the hotel staff. In my first 45 minutes; I requested my bags to be delivered on two occasions (once in receiving my keys and half hour later with a call to front desk) which I had checked in earlier prior to receiving my room keys. Upon entering the room; I could not open the safe. Call to front desk; sent their security person up within 20 minutes. Tried to work the TV in room; no power. Called and had the TV repairman in. Seems that the rooms power to the TV unit had been completely discharged from the plug. Waited 45 minutes now for all this to rectify itself but still no bags. Finally went down to front desk and recovered my three bags myself and brought them to my room. The next morning, one of the girls at the front desk apologized and insisted that she requested the bags to be brought up twice. It seems that the hotel expects a two man operation to handle the following; (porters, baggage check-in; taxis departures/ arrival) This may be fine in November or February (off season) but it is lacking in service and expectations for the clientele and the busy summer season. My suggestion to the GM; move waiters from your dining facility that are either delegating order to others or arguing in front of guests on who should deliver plates to a quality control team to your rooms. This was actually comically to watch as the Manager in this area would try to calm staff members, not to shout where guests would hear them. A property of this magnitude should not have it's rooms delivered to a guest's hands until it is checked and reviewed. One would expect the maids to see that no lighting is available in the shower and report such to maintenance. Not a chance! Hopefully, the GM will recognize these events and try to implement a system for internal procedures which are expected. If he doesn't; he need have to worry too much. I will stay there again as I refuse to let staff that are not properly trained to provide "great customer attention" affect any part of my trip at the Westin. Regrettably, this is the Greek standard. My message to travellers here, go with the flow and you will enjoy yourself in this beautiful place. Go against the grain of the Greeks and you will truly miss the beauty of this resort and country and will no doubt be worrying about their negative attitudes towards guests and performing at a high level of service which is more than obtainable. Staff Accountability can be the only way to enhance this resort. If the hotel could run as 50% as efficiently as it's Japanese Sushi (Nobu) restaurent on the property. Now that would be something to be proud and excited about as a Greek visiting his homeland. August 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Avoid weekends when weddings are hosted Room cleaning needs improvement Policy regarding inviting friends to come over seems crazy (charge of 25 euro per person) and customers shall be informed when making a booking and not when starting their stay at the hotel. Very frustrated of not being able to find a sunbed on 10.00 am at the pool because sunbeds were reserved for quests of a wedding being hosted last night!!! August 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Athens Astir has great features We loved the private beach and Taverna 37. Also, the breakfast and staff of Kymata was excellent. August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Athenian Oasis Astir Place was a quiet oasis for our family away from the heat and hustle of central Athens. Poolside was ideal for the kids and morning and evening sunsets were sublime. Overall the location made it easy to get ancient cultural sights and local islands for day visits (Corinth, Hydra, Sounio, Athens). Breakfasts were amazing and the staff were very attentive to the ever changing needs of the kids. Great job! RSB July 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is a mirror of the crisis in Greece Whilst the hotel in past has had good reviews, hard times have hit. 1. Getting the bags to the rooms was efficient. 2. getting bags from the room to the taxi to leave was efficient. 3. getting a drink by the pool was 45 minutes and you had to go and ask. 4. on the terrasse on the 5th floor, ditto, taking orders for drinks, way too long, table not cleaned, 5. A smoking area should be delimited on the terrasse, many children do not like to sit beside people smoking cigarettes not cigars. 6. Hotel restaurant, you have got to be kidding for those prices. No fish on the menu were available. 7. Matsuhisa (NOBU) is on the grounds so that was good. GREAT FOOD especially the desserts. 8.A bit annoying when taxis that deals with the hotel overcharge for a fare. EUR 50 as opposed to EUR 33. 9. The carpet in the hallways are not nice at all. Maybe for a good reason, but still they smell stale. 10. The water at the beach was dirty, the equipment by the pool side for hotel guests, was either rusty or broken. One might to encourage hotel guests not to let their dogs swim in the swimming pool! There are good points. The remarks by employees who say to me to write and tell the managers, exemplifies what I noticed. The managers are not up to the level as they appear to be content to be managers and not manage. April 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth the money I was not happy with my stay at the hotel. For the price, it was unimpressive. The carpet in the rooms were badly stained, and the beds were hard as rock. The prices at the restaurants and for simple things like beverages were way too high even for a luxury resort. There were no food choices for my kids other than room service. There weren't enough servers at the pool and the ones that were there were not friendly at all. The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. July 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Athens Astir Palace Regarding Room Comfort - reservation specifically stated King Bed which I did not have. It was two double beds put together with a wide gap as a make shift King. The carpet and upholstery was faded, stained and dirty. The drinks by the pool were over priced given the amount of alcohol they were pouring into the drinks. For the rate we were paying, I was very disappointed in the quality of the room. July 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Service Staff at pool were extremely unresponsive and rude. When asked to take an order - simply chose to ignore or refused to service. Took me 30 minutes to check-in as trainee staff was not clear on how to manage the proccess and answer queries. Reception staff was not conversant in english and kept needing to ask someone else about english translation. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleasant Hotel to stay Excellent position, excellent food and very nice staff. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 General review Hotel is wonderful, definitelyI would recomend it. - Great location - Great View - Excellent service - Variety of F&B outlets - Great facilities - Friendly staff Angelo (night shift) did a great job in helping us, he is an excellent hopitality employee, also Vivi at the front desk was very helpful. * Areas for improvement: - Financial transactions procedures should me clearer - During our stay whereever and whenever we met any of the staff they greet us before we do except for cleaning staff in the corridors, they never greet! September 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Front desk not friendly The hotel and its facilities are great, our main complaint is the front desk reception lady was unfriendly when we checked in. This is an area that needs to be improved given we are guests and this is the first impression when we arrived. A 250ml coke was priced at 6 euro, which is an unnecessary mark up. June 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by EVERYTHING WAS EXCELLENT LUXURY LIVING BY THE SEA IN THE ISLAND OF ATHENS June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Food - Explain what you are serving The hotel was a beautiful resort with a great location and views. Minor items that bothered us were in the room - scale did not work, coffee was not replaced on our second day, extra toiletries not provided on second day. Worse part was the dinner in the restaurant where the menu gave no warning to the "foam" and "marshmellow" type appetizers. I know its a Michelin restaurant, but at least give us heads up that the food was minimalist. Very disappointing. Menu and waitress were no help in describing the items. September 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Setting Stunning scenery and setting. Great friendly service, well appointed modern rooms, great breakfast selection, fabulous pool area. Some reviewers have mentioned that some of the public areas could do with an update and although that is true, the location more than makes up for it. There are many local restaurants within 3 miles of the hotel and Athens is only 20-30 mins by taxi. May 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A beautiful spacious hotel in a great location. The Westin Hotel is extremely spacious with great facilities. The swimming pool is large and beautiful and for those who wish to swim in the Mediterranean, there is direct access to a lovely little beach. The hotel has great facilities. The courtesy and extremely helpful attitude of the staff at all times was greatly appreciated and is one of the many strong points of the hotel. I would definitely recommend a stay here be it with families or just couples. April 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Staff Service and Care! This is a commendation on EXCELLENT customer service by two employees at the Westin Astir Palace Beach Resort. The primary desk manager Sofia provided exceptional and thorough service shortly after our check-in when I discovered that someone had mistakenly picked up my very unusual, patterned suitcase at the Athens airport baggage claim. My cellphone was only activated for global data service, not voice, so Sofia made phone calls to the airport, to the airlines and finally to the only phone number which was located on the bag. Luckily that woman was at a hotel in downtown Athens (not on a departed cruise ship). Sofia realized that the hotel was close to the drop-off/pick-up location for their shuttle service that ran 4 times a day between this resort 20 miles outside of Athens and downtown. She arranged with their hotel to hold my suitcase until we could take the last shuttle loop of the evening to their hotel for the switch. She also talked with the shuttle driver to make sure that he understood the instructions, and he even went directly to the hotel and waited for us to make the switch. Another desk clerk Maria helped Sofia off and on during this process, and Sofia wanted to make sure that she received credit for this also. But Sofia definitely made all of this happen -- without creating any loss of service to other hotel guests. The desk staff and all the other employees were exceptional and a great reflection on Starwood standards of customer service!! June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great getaway near Athens Visited the hotel during the weekend with the children and wife for a short getaway instead of going to nearby islands. The experience was amazing, really felt i was far away from Athens at the islands. Staff excellent, service as courteous as could be, rooms clean and tidy with scent of freshness, We have discovered our weekends escape when there is no time available to visit the islands. The location and views are like a painting, even the sunset as romantic as it could get... July 4, 2012
<<prev2 3 next>>