The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji

  • Denarau Island North,
  • P.O. Box 9081
  • Nadi,
  • Fiji
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

A maximum of two children (12 and under) sleep free in existing room bedding. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges. There is a maximum of 1 rollaway bed per room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 108 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean, fresh & relaxing We felt very relaxed at the resort. The poolside areas are set up well. We liked the design of the pool area and there were ample sun lounges available during the day. Obtaining beverages was relatively simple, mostly we were served without needing to get the attention of wait staff. Most staff were friendly. We ate at the resort only one night out of four, as we found the restaurants at Port Denarau more affordable. We were a bit disappointed with the steak from the steak house at the Westin, Our request for Pepper sauce was declined by the chef! Overall though a lovely resort and would stay again September 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by good neigbours EXCELLENT GOOD FOR HONEYMOON December 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overpriced, undervalue and NOT 5 star Took family of 9 for special birthday. clearly the 5 star rating was obtained a long time ago. Stiil charged full price and arrived to find the property undergoing renovations. Circular saws going while trying to eat breakfast. Bricks and building stuff along the beachfront! Couples put into twin bed rooms. Ocean view rooms mean that if you stretch your neck you get a glimpse of the ocean. Food ordinary and overpriced. Oil for frying should have been changed a long time before. ended up eating at other hotels (better quality and better priced) Cocktails in happy hour clearly not much alcohol in them. water activity items broken and only some available. And then they inform me I only get star points for 2 of the 4 rooms booked and paid for by ME! Wont be going back November 26, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a lovely time with great staff looking after you My wife and I have a short stay over a weekend for a work weekend away and what a lovely place. I have been to Fiji many times and stayed in most of the Hotels. The Western is the best I have stayed in. lovely surroundings. great staff and what a place to wake up in. We loved the room and the pool. The only problem we had was trying to leave. We just did not want to go. We will be back to the Western again. I look forward to another great holiday there. much longer the next time. September 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A BULA BOWL OF BENEVOLENCE The purpose of our visit was to celebrate a family reunion and the fortieth birthday of my son. The warmth of the Fijian Sun struggled to compete with the convivial ,culturally bound hospitality extended to our family . All our expectations were exceeded and our needs met , with instant gratification from the moment we arrived, till our reluctant return to our Wintry home. Indelible memories continue to linger .....Loving family bonds strengthened by the nature and nurture of the Westin Family. May 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best hospitality The best experience. I`m impressed with the hospitality and attention delivered to me. Front desk really polity and kind. Specially Mr. Asiey and his wife, that really let me feel at home. I would like to congratulate the Westin for having this kind of friends in the hotel staff. I hope return soon for vacation. Be sure I you recommend Westin for all my friends. Good food, excellent services and staff, beautiful landscape. All the best. 5 stars. Thank you my friends! September 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by True paradise If the tropical setting, luxurious rooms, and superb cuisine were not enough to earn 5 stars, then the level of personal and considerate attention paid by the staff to all guests would merit the rating alone. Vinaka vaka levu to the entire staff. November 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Relaxing and enjoyable My time at the westin was relaxing and overall a good experience, due in part to the freindliness of the staff. My reason to travel to Fiji was to rest and not think about the day to day problems of life, so the fact that I had everything I needed at the resort was wonderful. If I had any negetive feedback it would only be about the rooms, they were in need of minor repairs which was a iittle disappointing. November 30, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ron Winter There is no worthwhile beach and the advertised free transport to the adjacent island was not available. Value and quality of Steakhouse restaurant was appalling. I would never recommend this hotel. October 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice surprise booked in for 1 nite and was upgraded to a presidential suite, very nice personal touch from the guys at Westin. will certainly start using SPG more instead of my ambassador status at another chain September 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service The hotel offered great service. Staff and other personnel were friendly and the varied services offered made our stay comfortable and fun. August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vanaka Denarau Westin Our stay was wonderful! From the welcome home greetingswhen we arrived to the farewell song sung by the staff at our last breakfast, we had a wonderful vacation! May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Denerau Would highly recommend this resort great rooms, excellent spacious grounds, helpful and friendly staff, very good food, swiming pools for all September 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is the most typical What a great family,couple or single traveller resort. Very Fiji atmosphere. July 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fiji holiday I thought I was headed to the best holiday of my entire life. 5 star, an island, Fiji. It was ok..... Totally over priced for what it was. Worth half of what I paid. The food was great, just like I listen to at home.... but I thought I was in Fiji? The food was great - totally over priced - wasn't Fiji meant to be cheap? I wanted a shell massage, no shells, I wanted the twilight special, no special, full price, plus taxes, I could have had it for half the price at home and double the benefit! Alcohol was over the top expensive. ALl in all, a lovely place, very little Fijian just very expensive and over rated. Better of on Hamilton Island! July 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Western Fiji the place to stay I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at your hotel breakfast was amazing unfortunately the meals at the steakhouse were below par,presentation was great, but the food was below par over cooked and tough,I suggest you send some staff secretly to review the restruant occasionally . I do like the lobby no loud music a restful an excellent ambience not like the Other hotels on denerau The loud base from the band was a nuisance to people trying to sleep early and I wonder if it really has to be so loud We really enjoyed our time and our one regret is that we had commitments and so could not stay longer To all the staff and management thank you October 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay here only if you have no other options By far the least favorite of all my starwood experiences.. 1. Slow check in with wrong information provided: Maybe its just FIJI time like everyone said.. but we took over 30mins to check in with just 1 other couple in front of us.. The guy who checked us in told us they have internet ONLY at the lobby and common areas & theres no wifi in the room. We waited another 10 mins for him to get us the log in ids & passwords only to realised we have a wireless router in the room + a password stuck on it. 2. SPG status not properly recognised: NO spg preferred room for my platinum status. We got upgraded to a ocean front room from the garden view we booked and thats the best they can do coz the chinese delegates were in town & they booked pretty much everything apparently. Most importantly, there was no welcome note or fruit platter.. & when i complained on the 2nd day evening, the fruit platter came with the welcome note written without addressing it to me. This is the 1st time as a SPG plat member i've experienced this... totally impersonal & disappointing. 3. Staff arrange transfers at a complete ripoff price: We wanted to go for dinner & the place we went to was at max midway to the airport..we paid the same price we paid from the airport to westin.. & when we got the restaurant owner to arrange the cab ride back for us it was only slightly more than half the price we paid from the hotel out... 4. TV has only 4 channels: Not that we were planning to stay in & watch the telly but there was simply no options to channel surf either.. The staff claimed the satellite is down.. oh well. October 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Old Hotel w/great views I arrived in Fiji on Sunday Dec 18th much later than anticipated and I was extremely happy that the hotel had arranged a taxi to meet me at the airport. I was a little surprised that the taxi was a beat up old Subaru, but the driver was extremely nice and the ride only cost $30 FJD. I was immediately struck by the poverty as we drove towards Denarau Island. The diver shared some of the history of the area with me and I learned that Denarau Island is a man-made island built to house four and five-star resorts, the marina and million dollar homes - quite a contrast to the scenery on the drive to the hotel. Unlike some places like Phuket, Thailand or other island resorts, once you get to Denarau Island, you’re completely isolated and sheltered from the poverty. Check-in & The Rooms Upon arriving at the hotel I was greeted and welcomed by the staff. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. Before arrival, I requested a room with two beds or 1 bed with a sofa bed – since I’m a Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) Platinum member I felt confident that they would be able to fulfill this request. I was quickly checked in and escorted by golf cart to my room. It was a beach front room, but as soon as I saw it, I realized that it only had 1 bed and no sofa. The bellman took me back to the front desk where I spoke with reception and they found me a new room with two beds. I also inquired about a room upgrade and was told nothing was available. When I got to the room, I noticed right away that the bathroom wasn’t clean. I called the front desk and they sent someone immediately to clean it. There was also no drinking water (which they usually provide to Platinum members) or other typical SPG amenities in this new room they moved me to. After speaking with the manager on duty he had water sent to my room and ensured that things would be taken care of that week. The following day, I inquired again about an upgrade and was told that there was a junior suite open that we could move into. We took him up on that. The suite had two rooms. A bedroom with king size bed, desk, chair and bathroom which had separate tub and shower (the non-suite room only had a tub) and a sitting room with a sofa (that could be used a bed) dining table and bathroom (tub and toilet – no sink though, which was very odd and also meant that the person sleeping out there had to come into the bedroom to use the sink. The suite was definitely much more spacious than the non-suite room and meets our needs much better. As many people have noted, the beach front rooms lack privacy as they face a main walkway, but the view is spectacular. I had also read that the air conditioning in the rooms is very loud – and that is quite true – but I got used to it pretty quickly and by the second night, it didn’t bother me. The air conditioner did create a pool of condensation on the floor – or whatever was under the unit (including my suitcase one day) due to the humidity and temperatures. The Hotel The hotel is old and in need of some refurbishments. The furnishings look very dated and everything could use some sprucing up. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations and they’d just completed work on the bathrooms at the pool when I was there. One of the great things about the hotel though, is that the rooms are very quiet. We never heard anything from our neighbors. The staff is friendly and welcoming. Everyone greets you with the traditional “Bula” which means life in Fijian. In fact, Tania at the front desk remembered me by name and said hello every day. While the people are friendly, service in Fiji is not what you’ll find in other parts of the world – everything runs on Fiji time (which can be great sometimes.) Don’t expect good or great customer service anywhere on the island. There are several shops at the hotel including a market (very overpriced), a few clothing stores (I didn’t venture in after seeing the prices at the market) and a duty free store. I checked out the prices at the Marina and compared them to the duty free store at the hotel, and they were the same. So I ended up purchasing some Pure Fiji products In addition to the stores, there are local craftsman who sell items like carved wood, jewelry, shells, grass baskets and purses, etc… (it’s important to note that many countries, including Australia and the US don’t allow you to bring back untreated wood or shells.) The prices seemed a little high for these “local” crafts, but they were beautiful and I wanted to support the locals The Pool The Westin pool is beautiful, but small and on very sunny days, the lounge chairs filled up fast. Most of the days I was at the hotel it was overcast and much easier to get a chair. You have to sign out pool towels and on busy days they limit the number of towels you can have – that’s a bummer. In fact, on Christmas Eve day they ran out of pool towels and it was over an hour before they had clean ones to give out again. That was the first really sunny day we had been there so it was disappointing to lose that hour of pool time. The beach is not so nice at the Westin, but that was fine with me as I prefer pools. As a guest of the Westin, you have full access to the other starwood property which is a short walk or bus ride away. The other one has a much larger and nicer pool and a bit nicer beach –this area doesn’t really seem like a great beach spot in general – I’m told you really should go to the islands to lounge on the beach. There is an ice cream stand at the Westin pool – which makes great milkshakes and they’re not terribly overpriced. There are also several shops that sell drinks, sunscreen, hats, etc…and they’re all very, very overpriced. You’d be much better off going to the marina and picking things up there. There is a small island across from the Westin and you can take a boat there from the hotel. I was warned by other guests we met not to eat from the vendor on the island. I guess they had a very bad experience eating there. Dining Options @Westin On the Westin’s website, they describe the dining options as a “seemingly unending selection of dining choices.” In reality, there are two restaurants at the Westin and 1 bar – Zing which serves breakfast and dinner and Moo Moo which serves lunch and dinner. You can order drinks and lunch from Moo Moo poolside as well. Zing was good, though the service was not what you’d expect from a restaurant at a resort like Westin. I enjoyed the chicken teriyaki stir-fry and had it twice in fact. The dim sum was fair, I wouldn’t order it again most likely. Overall, the two meals we had a Zing were good and the cost of the food was fair. The drinks and taxes are what make the meals expensive. If you eat at Zing around sun-down, you can watch the Fijian fire dancers, a torch lighting ceremony and other Fijian dancing. We went to Moo Moo a few times for lunch and we had the burger every time. It was one of the best burgers I’ve ever had. The Wagyu Beef burger was topped with beetroot and orange relish and came with truffle fries. It’s definitely worth a try! Spa The Westin Heavenly Spa is quite expensive – in fact, it’s the most expensive spa on the island (compared to other hotels and marina spas.) The Westin Spa is very relaxing and welcoming. We had pedicures and they were extremely luxurious and soothing. The spa uses Pure Fiji products and I loved them. The spa did offer 20% discount on massages booked for early morning or late night. At the spa, there was a lap pool and the Westin Workout Center. Westin Overall The Westin Denarau is old but the staff is very friendly and that makes up for a lot of what the rooms lack. The restaurants are good, the pool is calm and the spa is relaxing. Overall, I liked the Westin and if I was in Fiji again, would either stay at the Westin (I’d like to see what the rooms are like after the renovations are complete) April 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay We stayed at the resort between the 21st and 25th of March and what a stay it was. It’s a perfect getaway and the place is great. We loved the friendliness of the staff. The greeting when we arrived made us feel really welcome and was a nice way to start unwinding. The transfer from the airport to the hotel was easy and quick and the check-in at the hotel went very smooth. Our room was great and much bigger than I thought it would be which was a nice surprise. The view from the room was to die for and we just couldn’t get enough of it. We found everything we needed in the room and it was well equipped as one would expect. No minibar but it seems to be the norm these days however the fridge was working so one could use it if needed. A couple of small points with the room, the A/C was the loudest thing I have heard in a while and we have travelled a lot. However a couple of earplugs and that was sorted. Also the shower solution had a design flaw as water flowed from the bathtub edge freely onto the floor so it became a bit of a flood. Hard to explain but surely a design issue. The information stated we should have wireless access in the room but I could not pick up a network with the ipad, nor the phone. However there was a network cable supplied on the desk. The resort itself is beautiful. Especially the pool area where we spent most of our time. The views from the pool over the ocean are spectacular. It was clean and tidy and it was easy to get a spot and access to towels was a breeze. I’m not too impressed by the cleaning of the public toilets as the men’s ones were almost always rather unpleasant to visit. Not sure if the frequency of cleaning was not enough or what was going on but it was not clean. There are a couple of different places to eat and drink and the service around the pool is good. You can order drinks anywhere in the pool are and also in the pool. Here is one of my pain points though. As a tourist you look at the menu and its prices and order however do be aware that EVERYTHING has a 20% surcharge which is the local tax. This I think is something that they should put into the price already as its really irritating reading menus, drinks lists and anything else and then adding the 20% tax. Just add in it and be done with as the brain sees the cheap price and then you sign the bill and realize you forgot about the 20% which is stiff. Drinks quality are average, all the cocktails are big much without much alcohol as one would expect and the prices range between 19 to 23 fijian dollars plus 20% tax. I tried some classics such as a gin and tonic but it was awful as they didn’t seem to get it right and then I tried a dry martini a couple of times and they were not up to scratch. So it’s a vacation paradise but don’t expect the high end quality of drinks, wine by the bottle is also 20% but they have some stunning wines. However the wine by the glass I’d stay away from .. The food is outstanding. We tried fish, pasta and steak and all except the New York sirloin at the steak house was great. You should also have a look at the other two resorts beside this one as you have full access to their pools and restaurants. The chimes bar is excellent with its sun lunge beds. Also do try to grab a cab and go to the marina as everything is much cheaper and you get a taste for the local cuisine. March 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK but there are better We visited in October for a long weekend and then a group of 9 visited again in November for a week. I felt that our loyalty to the hotel and the SPG brand was not adequately recognised. There were some issues with rooms and the management sorted these out. Staff were friendly and did their best. We had four rooms in our booking but we could not accrue starwood points on all of them :( We will take this up with SPG. We were in the old unrenovated wing (although we specifically requested the new renovate wing for our November visit). There was jackhammering and building works during breakfast. We dined at hotels either side. November 27, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ripp Off Ripp off The Westin is a great hotel except its prices in particular the steak house are unreasonable and a rip off. Further to this the Australian manager is rude and arrogant. The Fijian staff are great and can't be faulted. The staff if the general store however are extremely rude and the fact you pay $13 Fijian for a packed of red rock chips is a disgrace. I don't mind paying fair and reasonable prices but not being priced gouged because I am staying in an island resort. I complained and asked to speak to the general manager who apparently was to busy with travel agents escorting them around to discuss my issues. May 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Inmprovements required My husband and myself stayed for our 32nd wedding anniversary, it was stated on all our paper work and on checking in we also stated this as we where asked. To find that on the day the hotel could not even spare a bottle of sparkling or even a token card to congratulate us was a very poor performance. Also one day we had to ask for housekeeping as at 3.30pm they still had not arrived and again on our last day there it was again 3.30pm and they then arrived at about 3.45pm but we where getting ready to go out so told them not to bother. So you can see why I would not in good faith recommend this hotel to my friends. September 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We keep coming back We have been to this hotel twice in the past 2 years and have just booked another week in December for New Years. The staff are all awesome. The staff remember us from year to year of our visits. Francis in the meke lounge goes above and beyond for service. Francis purchased Marshmellow from my 4 year old daughter as she asked for them everyday when we had our after dinner coffee and cake. Penni and Sai from the concierge area always wanted to go over and above with service. One night got off the Bula Bus with our daughter who had fallen asleep and they offered to drive us back to our room in a golf buggy. June 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Didn't want to go home We had the most amazing time at the Westin. The staff were amazing. They were professional, friendly and obliging. The motel was sensational. It was five star all the way. The breakfast each morning was nutritious and the variety was phenomenal. We dined each night at the Steakhouse, simply because the meals were amazing. The price was not excessive for the quality meals and service. We are going back again and again to the Westin. Our children aged 6 and 10 also didn't want to leave. Thank you so much to all the beautiful people in Fiji who made our first holiday there the most memorable and amazing time. April 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Denaru Our length of stay was 11 days and the resort is still being refurbished from cyclone damage last Christmas. SPG Denaru consists of three resorts and it was terrific to be able to move freely betwen all three. The staff are superbly trained and any request was met in a friendly and courtious manner. I would consider the level of service we received as outstanding. On arrival i discovered that my room did not have WIFi as advertised and is was no problem to relocate me to a wing that did have WIFi service. All restaurants across the Sheraton and Westin resorts were first class including the buffet breakfast. My wife and I have already discussed when we can return to the Westin Denaru April 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a wonderful relaxing ambience We stay at the Fiji Westin every year and wouldn't stay anywhere else when in Nadi. We always find the staff to be absolutely welcoming and unbelievably friendly. Our room was very comfortable and the heavenly bed was exactly that! Our housekeeper Kini, was very thorough and accommodating. With service and people like that it is no wonder we come back year after year. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great trip and Platinum recognition Had a great 7 night stay at the Westin Fiji. Whilst we experienced a few issues with our booking leading up to the stay, the hotel and its manager ensured we had a fantastic stay with superb service. SPG Platinum recognition was very good with upgraded room and the usual benefits (breakfast, internet etc). Sparkling wine with breakfast is a nice touch offered by the property. Good quality restaurants across the Starwood properties. The Fijian staff are incredibly warm (as are all the Fijian people we encountered throughout our holiday). Great for families. Can't wait to return. September 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Last resort - Resort Check in experience started poorly. Upgrade for Platinum Members was not as expected, and the 4 hours wait to have TV and lights repaired in room was also a let down. However, if all else is booked and you no where to stay go ahead and book an experience like no other, you will most certainly remember it. January 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best on the island Staff made our stay great, it would be nice to have more light in the eooms as they are quite dark also a pillow menu is required as the staff could not understand the request for firm/foam pillow and the down pillows do not offer support. Beds are lovely, restraints nice ROTC. Overall would rate high. August 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has the best pool complex on the Denarau Coast Situated nicely between the coast and the gold course, the Westin Resort and Spa provides excellent facilities for leisure, treatment and sporting endeavours. A superb workout gym and lap pool for those wanting to mix fitness with pleasure, complimented by the best guest pool complex on the coast - we have tried them all! An abundance of restaurants and casual eating facilities to cater for any taste bud, and if you want true relaxation for your special lady you will have to book in for a massage/manicure/facial - your partner will love you for it! The rooms are perfect for those who want extremely comfortable beds with clean & modern bathroom facilities - when you aren't out enjoying the hot Fiji weather. April 1, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>