The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji

  • Denarau Island North,
  • P.O. Box 9081
  • Nadi,
  • Fiji
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

A maximum of two children (12 and under) sleep free in existing room bedding. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges. There is a maximum of 1 rollaway bed per room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 192 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best hospitality The best experience. I`m impressed with the hospitality and attention delivered to me. Front desk really polity and kind. Specially Mr. Asiey and his wife, that really let me feel at home. I would like to congratulate the Westin for having this kind of friends in the hotel staff. I hope return soon for vacation. Be sure I you recommend Westin for all my friends. Good food, excellent services and staff, beautiful landscape. All the best. 5 stars. Thank you my friends! September 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vinaka I would like to sincerely thank everyone at Westin a very special thank you for making my stay with you an amazing experience. From the welcoming drums on arrival, to the farewells from the friendly staff, my holiday was exactly the de-stressing I needed. To be addressed by name for the majority of my stay was impressive, to the invite from a staff member to attend a local rugby match in Nadi, just shows how much extra the staff put into their job. The room was of an impeccable standard when I arrived and kept that way by the village staff throughout my stay. The Meals were something to die for, in as much I was contemplating e-mailing home for family to get the builder in and widen the doors by 6 inches. The entertainment in the Meke Lounge each day was extremely pleasant and varied. Once again a very, very sincere Vinaka to all. May 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Family getaway We had a lovely relaxing break October 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by poor billing. Inexperienced reception staff We stayed in the Westin for one night with another couple, two double rooms were booked. On arrival we were told that the accommodation would have to be paid on one bill ( by the person who booked it) . Also our food and beverage bills were totally incorrect.Charges had been made on both bills for the same items. Also the bills were presented to the wrong people. As we were in a hurry to get a flight we did not realise this till afterwards. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by No Regrets It accommodated our little family of four perfectly allowing the kids to have a swim while mum and dad could enjoy the facilities and also keep an eye on them. The service and the people are outstandingly helpful and friendly. Great food at the steak house and great evening entertainment and drinks in the meke lounge. Everything we needed from organising tours to simply getting directions. Love love loved the Westin! August 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by terrible experience What horrible experience we had. Few reasons why we would not be staying at Westin ever again or would recommend to anyone 1/ our confirmed reservation for villas accommodation was cancelled without us been notified. 2/ no alternate rooms booked until we turned up at the hotel. 3/ reception desk have no sense of customer service. 4/ we got rooms made available but not until after 4pm when we returned to check again – was promised phone call as soon as rooms were ready – still waiting for that phone call. No apologies what so ever. 5/ pools are so bloody cold 6/ pool staff didn’t want to issue towels – they cared less about guest busy talking between themselves – was asked “what do you want” off course pool towels what else. 7/ overpriced hotel compared with service and facilities provided. Thanks god we never stayed longer at Westin. We as two families were so disappointed with the service provided that we would rather stay in some cheap hotel then in Westin. June 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by CANCELLATION POLICY While this resort is aesthetically on par with its classification I was extremely appalled when they refused to refund our pre-paid stay even when we provided more than 24H notice. We decided to cancel so that we could stay an extra night in the idyllic Yasawa Islands. For an international conglermate, this policy strikes me as totally inappropriate and unaccomodating. This stands out even more when I offered to accept a penalty in the form of a percentage for the inconvenience of a pre-paid cancellation. The management refused. So, regretfully, despite the lovely accomodations and offerings, Westin Denarau gets a low score in our book. We have traveled quite a bit around Europe, the Americas, and now Polynesia. I have never had an experience like this before and would never in a million years have expected this type of reponse from an "internationally acclaimed" Hotel Chain. August 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Relaxing and enjoyable My time at the westin was relaxing and overall a good experience, due in part to the freindliness of the staff. My reason to travel to Fiji was to rest and not think about the day to day problems of life, so the fact that I had everything I needed at the resort was wonderful. If I had any negetive feedback it would only be about the rooms, they were in need of minor repairs which was a iittle disappointing. November 30, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by friendly friendly staff Enjoyed our stay - no complaints. October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved this hotel and its wonderful staff A great hotel with traditional features which the other hotels close by don't offer. Pools were never overcrowded and the adult only lap pool by the gym an added bonus. Rooms were a good size and very clean. Only problem was our fridge didn't work that well but there are Ice machines dotted around the place you can use to keep wine and beer cool. Food prices weren't as expensive as we were expecting. The bakery makes a decent coffee and pasta and fruit salads were value for money. We ate at the steakhouse and enjoyed a delicious piece of waghu. Wine at all of the resorts is expensive and I would recommend bringing own alcohol to the resort and having a drink before dinner in your room or on the patio watching the sunset. We also ate at the flying fish and enjoyed another fantastic meal. They have a set menu which is reasonably priced. Finally, the staff were friendly, warm, and extremely helpful. We loved our stay at the westin and will definitely be back. May 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great resort The staff are professional and friendly and the resort has great facilities July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fiji is cheaper than Tahiti & therefore better! Fiji is a great South Pacific destination compared to other South Pacific islands! You get the same as everywhere else but it isn't overpriced yet.Fijian are modest & so are the Indians that live there. Don't get caught in a cyclone though...... Its absolutely stunning & beautiful nature wise.Food is great & the Australian influence is better than the European or American on other South Pacific islands.They keep it simple=more down to earth & so are the Fijians.That's why they don't surf as good as the Tahitians...the Polynesians are the greatest surfers in the Southpacific! Westin is the oldest resort in port Denarau -but newly renovated. July 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worse Westin Ever Currently at the hotel as we speak. Room key did not work at check in so I had to get new ones, room safe was out of batteries, supposed to have free wifi in the lobby but doesn't (co-worker gets a free access code and they won't give me one since they said you need to pay), even the ice cream was melted at the ice cream shop so we couldn't get a milk shake. December 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Old Hotel w/great views I arrived in Fiji on Sunday Dec 18th much later than anticipated and I was extremely happy that the hotel had arranged a taxi to meet me at the airport. I was a little surprised that the taxi was a beat up old Subaru, but the driver was extremely nice and the ride only cost $30 FJD. I was immediately struck by the poverty as we drove towards Denarau Island. The diver shared some of the history of the area with me and I learned that Denarau Island is a man-made island built to house four and five-star resorts, the marina and million dollar homes - quite a contrast to the scenery on the drive to the hotel. Unlike some places like Phuket, Thailand or other island resorts, once you get to Denarau Island, you’re completely isolated and sheltered from the poverty. Check-in & The Rooms Upon arriving at the hotel I was greeted and welcomed by the staff. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. Before arrival, I requested a room with two beds or 1 bed with a sofa bed – since I’m a Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) Platinum member I felt confident that they would be able to fulfill this request. I was quickly checked in and escorted by golf cart to my room. It was a beach front room, but as soon as I saw it, I realized that it only had 1 bed and no sofa. The bellman took me back to the front desk where I spoke with reception and they found me a new room with two beds. I also inquired about a room upgrade and was told nothing was available. When I got to the room, I noticed right away that the bathroom wasn’t clean. I called the front desk and they sent someone immediately to clean it. There was also no drinking water (which they usually provide to Platinum members) or other typical SPG amenities in this new room they moved me to. After speaking with the manager on duty he had water sent to my room and ensured that things would be taken care of that week. The following day, I inquired again about an upgrade and was told that there was a junior suite open that we could move into. We took him up on that. The suite had two rooms. A bedroom with king size bed, desk, chair and bathroom which had separate tub and shower (the non-suite room only had a tub) and a sitting room with a sofa (that could be used a bed) dining table and bathroom (tub and toilet – no sink though, which was very odd and also meant that the person sleeping out there had to come into the bedroom to use the sink. The suite was definitely much more spacious than the non-suite room and meets our needs much better. As many people have noted, the beach front rooms lack privacy as they face a main walkway, but the view is spectacular. I had also read that the air conditioning in the rooms is very loud – and that is quite true – but I got used to it pretty quickly and by the second night, it didn’t bother me. The air conditioner did create a pool of condensation on the floor – or whatever was under the unit (including my suitcase one day) due to the humidity and temperatures. The Hotel The hotel is old and in need of some refurbishments. The furnishings look very dated and everything could use some sprucing up. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations and they’d just completed work on the bathrooms at the pool when I was there. One of the great things about the hotel though, is that the rooms are very quiet. We never heard anything from our neighbors. The staff is friendly and welcoming. Everyone greets you with the traditional “Bula” which means life in Fijian. In fact, Tania at the front desk remembered me by name and said hello every day. While the people are friendly, service in Fiji is not what you’ll find in other parts of the world – everything runs on Fiji time (which can be great sometimes.) Don’t expect good or great customer service anywhere on the island. There are several shops at the hotel including a market (very overpriced), a few clothing stores (I didn’t venture in after seeing the prices at the market) and a duty free store. I checked out the prices at the Marina and compared them to the duty free store at the hotel, and they were the same. So I ended up purchasing some Pure Fiji products In addition to the stores, there are local craftsman who sell items like carved wood, jewelry, shells, grass baskets and purses, etc… (it’s important to note that many countries, including Australia and the US don’t allow you to bring back untreated wood or shells.) The prices seemed a little high for these “local” crafts, but they were beautiful and I wanted to support the locals The Pool The Westin pool is beautiful, but small and on very sunny days, the lounge chairs filled up fast. Most of the days I was at the hotel it was overcast and much easier to get a chair. You have to sign out pool towels and on busy days they limit the number of towels you can have – that’s a bummer. In fact, on Christmas Eve day they ran out of pool towels and it was over an hour before they had clean ones to give out again. That was the first really sunny day we had been there so it was disappointing to lose that hour of pool time. The beach is not so nice at the Westin, but that was fine with me as I prefer pools. As a guest of the Westin, you have full access to the other starwood property which is a short walk or bus ride away. The other one has a much larger and nicer pool and a bit nicer beach –this area doesn’t really seem like a great beach spot in general – I’m told you really should go to the islands to lounge on the beach. There is an ice cream stand at the Westin pool – which makes great milkshakes and they’re not terribly overpriced. There are also several shops that sell drinks, sunscreen, hats, etc…and they’re all very, very overpriced. You’d be much better off going to the marina and picking things up there. There is a small island across from the Westin and you can take a boat there from the hotel. I was warned by other guests we met not to eat from the vendor on the island. I guess they had a very bad experience eating there. Dining Options @Westin On the Westin’s website, they describe the dining options as a “seemingly unending selection of dining choices.” In reality, there are two restaurants at the Westin and 1 bar – Zing which serves breakfast and dinner and Moo Moo which serves lunch and dinner. You can order drinks and lunch from Moo Moo poolside as well. Zing was good, though the service was not what you’d expect from a restaurant at a resort like Westin. I enjoyed the chicken teriyaki stir-fry and had it twice in fact. The dim sum was fair, I wouldn’t order it again most likely. Overall, the two meals we had a Zing were good and the cost of the food was fair. The drinks and taxes are what make the meals expensive. If you eat at Zing around sun-down, you can watch the Fijian fire dancers, a torch lighting ceremony and other Fijian dancing. We went to Moo Moo a few times for lunch and we had the burger every time. It was one of the best burgers I’ve ever had. The Wagyu Beef burger was topped with beetroot and orange relish and came with truffle fries. It’s definitely worth a try! Spa The Westin Heavenly Spa is quite expensive – in fact, it’s the most expensive spa on the island (compared to other hotels and marina spas.) The Westin Spa is very relaxing and welcoming. We had pedicures and they were extremely luxurious and soothing. The spa uses Pure Fiji products and I loved them. The spa did offer 20% discount on massages booked for early morning or late night. At the spa, there was a lap pool and the Westin Workout Center. Westin Overall The Westin Denarau is old but the staff is very friendly and that makes up for a lot of what the rooms lack. The restaurants are good, the pool is calm and the spa is relaxing. Overall, I liked the Westin and if I was in Fiji again, would either stay at the Westin (I’d like to see what the rooms are like after the renovations are complete) April 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Relaxation plus but..... We had a very relaxing time at the Westin Denarau and the overall ambiance of the resort is great. The rooms were a good size but a little dated. One irritating thing was that we didn't have a soap/shampoo holder in our shower - a small thing but it is difficult to understand how a feature like this can be overlooked. The cleaning of the room was generally well done but was let down by small things such as not providing face towels on one or two mornings. The pool area is very tasteful but is showing a bit of wear and tear (e.g. some of the paving had broken and some of the decking had become quite uneven). We also found the sun lounges somewhat uncomfortable - how hard would it be to provide foam padding like the other Sheraton resorts? The staff were very friendly and generally pretty efficient. The breakfast was perfectly adequate and the Westin Kitchen restaurant is highly recommended. One big gripe is the exorbitant cost wine throughout the resort - some of the wines were close to 5 to10 times of their cost at RETAIL in Australia. I appreciate the cost of getting it to Fiji etc but someone is making a big margin here. I don't mind paying $50 or $100 for a good quality wine but I object to paying those amounts for wines that can often be bought in Australia for between $5 and $15. July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 Very Poor Room Service 1. Arrive back to room at 5pm, no towels, took 3 phone calls and 45mins to get. 2.Next day ,4pm, room not serviced towels short supplied. Very disappointed for a 5 Star Hotel. June 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by True paradise If the tropical setting, luxurious rooms, and superb cuisine were not enough to earn 5 stars, then the level of personal and considerate attention paid by the staff to all guests would merit the rating alone. Vinaka vaka levu to the entire staff. November 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice relaxing stay without the kids Thoroughly enjoyed our 6 days at the Westin Denarau. Staff were excellent and breakfast was a highlight of the trip. Pools were great and rooms were very comfortable. Only complaints I had were the lack of a refrigerator in the room (was more of a cool box), the fact that we weren't given bottled water to drink each day (one small bottle at start) and the evening meals left something to be desired for the price (i.e. expected better of a 5 star resort given the prices (FD$100 for 2 Course Meal inclu taxes). September 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice surprise booked in for 1 nite and was upgraded to a presidential suite, very nice personal touch from the guys at Westin. will certainly start using SPG more instead of my ambassador status at another chain September 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great all round features Service was fantastic. Staff were friendly October 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vanaka Denarau Westin Our stay was wonderful! From the welcome home greetingswhen we arrived to the farewell song sung by the staff at our last breakfast, we had a wonderful vacation! May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Denerau Would highly recommend this resort great rooms, excellent spacious grounds, helpful and friendly staff, very good food, swiming pools for all September 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service The hotel offered great service. Staff and other personnel were friendly and the varied services offered made our stay comfortable and fun. August 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Reservation screw up, again!! Hotel did not honor the Internet rate. Room safe did not work. Refrigerator did not work..Unknown charges on invoice April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is the most typical What a great family,couple or single traveller resort. Very Fiji atmosphere. July 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by I would not recommend this hotel You could hear normal conversations through the wall October 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by fantastic fiji great location and an amazing resort that has it all thank you to Tily and the boys at the activities they made afternoons fun we got the opportunity to also learn to make Kokoda and the chef was amusing - a bonus is utilising the sheraton swimming pools but i must say the Westin pool was amazing and the sunset from this pool was even better thankyou October 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relaxed Would definitely stay at the Westin again. Room size was fantastic. Turn down service of the room was terrific. Staff were always friendly. Went with another family and we both had teenage kids and they had a ball. They enjoyed going between the three different hotels on our relaxing days between day trips. A lovely spot for a holiday. October 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay here only if you have no other options By far the least favorite of all my starwood experiences.. 1. Slow check in with wrong information provided: Maybe its just FIJI time like everyone said.. but we took over 30mins to check in with just 1 other couple in front of us.. The guy who checked us in told us they have internet ONLY at the lobby and common areas & theres no wifi in the room. We waited another 10 mins for him to get us the log in ids & passwords only to realised we have a wireless router in the room + a password stuck on it. 2. SPG status not properly recognised: NO spg preferred room for my platinum status. We got upgraded to a ocean front room from the garden view we booked and thats the best they can do coz the chinese delegates were in town & they booked pretty much everything apparently. Most importantly, there was no welcome note or fruit platter.. & when i complained on the 2nd day evening, the fruit platter came with the welcome note written without addressing it to me. This is the 1st time as a SPG plat member i've experienced this... totally impersonal & disappointing. 3. Staff arrange transfers at a complete ripoff price: We wanted to go for dinner & the place we went to was at max midway to the airport..we paid the same price we paid from the airport to westin.. & when we got the restaurant owner to arrange the cab ride back for us it was only slightly more than half the price we paid from the hotel out... 4. TV has only 4 channels: Not that we were planning to stay in & watch the telly but there was simply no options to channel surf either.. The staff claimed the satellite is down.. oh well. October 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything about this hotel is just awesome A great hotel to get away from the rat race. From the food ,staff services; activities, accommodation and to the buggy and westbus transportation is just excellent...Merci Westin..Definitely a hotel to recommend to friends, relatives and work mates October 6, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>