Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort

  • Avenida Niemeyer 121 - Leblon
  • Rio de Janeiro,
  • Rio De Janeiro
  • 22450-220
  • Brazil
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children 12 and under sleep free in existing room bedding. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 33 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite hotel in Brazil I could write that this is just an average Sheraton. But I can't. The staff there is outstanding. Check-in staff, lounge staff etc. Those people made my stay unforgettable. Obrigado. July 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by staff and bathroom The bathroom needs some updating. The staff met all of my needs. Excellent time spent in hotel. JM October 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gem is coming! This hotel will be doing a makeover and we can't wait to come back! Christiane and her team has it together! My partner and I had a wonderful stay with you all. We noticed much improvement at checkin with Pablo knowing all the right items to ask and about the platinum benefits offered. We even found it very personal for you handing us your card. We both said it was a huge improvement from last time we were there which was October 2011. We also noticed the prompt calls to our room for services needed. That was a nice touch and knowing you all were on top of it. We are really excited about the upcoming renovations to the resort. We can't wait to see the improvements when we come back! May 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Plus and minus If you're looking for a beach hotel, this is it. Pure relaxation at Rio's apparently only on the beach hotel. It's an old hotel with outdated rooms and a bathroom I would rate sub-par. However, the pros outweigh the cons big time. The view from my room was stunning - although the room was just avg. The gym is great with loads of daily classes - yoga pilates etc. The nearly private beach is fantastic. The club lounge is one of the best I've ever been to. If you're looking for the hip downtown hotel, this isnt it - but if you're looking to relax - this is absolutely the place to go to. August 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I was one of the first guests My wife and I celebrated our 10th anniversary at this resort. The resort had just opened. This year we will be enjoying our 49th anniversary. Not all the facilities were available. However, everything else was wonderful and romantic. May 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Club Rooms The newly renovated Club Rooms are now on par with other new Sheratons in Asia. Efficient check-in staff and great attentive service at the Club Lounge. August 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel - shame about room service, and lack of show clean Very pleasant, esp if you plan to take advantage of the secluded beach. For business, just note that - room service can be very, very slow - there is no shoe clean service (why?) April 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Work in Progress We stayed at this hotel for one day prior to a cruise. While we understood that check in was not before 3 PM, we were told that our room was being cleaned and would be ready "in about an hour" (this was at about 11:15 AM).. When we returned after at about 12:45 PM, we were told the room was being cleaned and we would have to wait. We were also told that the hotel was 100% booked and clearly the staff was working very hard trying to get guests checked in and out. An alternate room was offered that the receptionist acknowledged was not as nice as what we would have been given. The offered room was clearly a least desirable room, had two double beds instead of our requested king bed, and overlooked a construction site. We rejected this room and were finally given a room on the Sheraton Club floor. I noted that at about 2:30 PM there were no cleaning carts on the Club floor, suggesting that perhaps all cleaning had been completed. Our room was at best, average. The AC was marginal, the carpet was filthy, the furnishings were deteriorating. There was one lamp that had no plug available to provide power. Internet was painfully slow. Had I selected this as a category 5 hotel, I would have been very disappointed. I did not get the sense that our status as SPG gold made any difference, as we talked to a couple who almost immediately got a room well before the 3 PM check in time (about 11:30 AM) who were not even in the SPG program, while we were essentially lied to about getting an earlier check in. It finally took a supervisor to make the decision to give us a room - which we finally got in to at around 2:30 PM. In fairness, the resort is apparently doing upgrades and it is not clear how far along they are, or how many rooms have been taken out of service, however one would have thought that they might have started on their Club Level floor - this was obviously not the case. February 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by says one thing,does something else as a spg gold member, expected a late checkout - was told 'no. Also asked me to pay 27000 points to update to 'Sheraton Club' which includes special benefits. I said 'ok'. After coming back home I noticed they have taken out more than 30000 starpoints.They cannot be trusted -no way to promote loyalty February 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Extremely run down Having stayed here a number of times, I can safely say this hotel does not deserve to be called even a 3-star hotel, despite having recently moved up a category. Check in is slow and inefficient, rooms are extremely run down. Club floor is below reception, (on 4th floor, reception is on 6th) so there is no view from these. Worse: on the 5th floor is the conference hall and they had a massive bash on a Sunday night with loud music directly above my floor till 2am! SPG recognition is very bad: upgrades only to Club Floor, room nothing special, ok breakfast but no wifi on club floor. In fact, I only found out during my last visit that only a few floors have wi-fi, so if you need it be sure to ask at check-in. Pool area is large but gets in the shade fro around 2pm onwards. Yes, the hotel has its own "private" beach also used by the nearby slum: nothing wrong with that, but they say the beach is private, which it isn't... It is walking distance to Leblon, walking downhill, but too far to walk uphill, and should never be done after dark. Taxis are always at hand, but otherwise it's not a very handy location. This hotel should be closed down immediately and given a complete makeover. Yet funilly enough, it remains one of the better options in a city which desperately lacks decent hotels. April 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice Location Away from the Crowds We spent 3 nights at the Sheraton Rio Resort in September and had a very enjoyable stay. We booked a Full Ocean View Executive Suite and, while definitely pricey, the views of the ocean and the Rio beaches were spectacular. With the all glass walls and the 3 large sliders open, you got the feeling of being in and open air beach house. After reading reviews before our trip, we were concerned about both the condition of the non-remodeled rooms and the ongoing construction. We were actually in one of the rooms that had not been upgraded and, though a bit dated, everything was clean and functioning. We also had no issues with construction. This hotel is the only one in Rio located right on the ocean. While the beach is not private, there are very few people using it and it is much better than the wall to wall people on Ipanema or Copacabana. The ocean front pool is also very nice and not too crowded either. The only minor negative is that the sun does drop behind the Dos Hermanos mountains around 3 PM. As a trade-off, you are able to enjoy the views of these dramatic peaks while at the hotel. Scattered around the grounds of the hotel abutting the pool are the fitness center, some restaurants and live entertainment at night, giving you the feeling of being in an oasis in the middle of congested Rio. The food quality was good and the pricing reasonable by hotel standards. The Fitness Center has the usual offerings, never seemed busy and offers a view of the ocean. The free shuttle service from the hotel to the Rio beaches and shopping helps mitigate any concerns about being a bit of a distance from those areas. The lounge off the lobby has not yet been renovated and is definitely in need of a face lift. We found the staff members to be friendly and helpful and you can easily arrange tours or transportation through the Concierge or car service. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rio. October 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by HIDDEN COSTS Fantastic hotel and facilities. Staff friendly. One major problem - hotel charges B$60 per hour to use the tennis court even if you have your own tennis racket and balls. This in my opinion is greed as nowhere when I booked was I made aware you had to pay to use the tennis courts. What next? Will we in future have to pay to use the swimming pool? April 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, helpful staff during Carnival As first-time visitors to Rio, my girlfriend and I were delighted that the Sheraton Rio served as our oasis during our stay. We came during Carnival and were happy that while we were within walking distance of Ipanema, we didn't have to pack ourselves in on that beach. A stairway led to Leblon beach and a set of lounge chairs for guests. So while the beach was not private, it still felt somewhat your own. We were only about a 15 minute walk to Ipanema and we felt pretty safe walking there day and night. We exchanged several emails with Luna, our concierge, months before our arrival to secure tickets and transportation to the Sambodromo. Not exactly cheap, but we not only got the seats we wanted, but also were upgraded to a private box. While the concierge desk was packed constantly, she and the other concierge staff helped us find our way to some nice restaurants in the area. We even used the private car service at the hotel our last day in Rio to take us to Sugar Loaf Mountain, Christ the Redeemer (with special access to bypass the cable car), and the airport -- our luggage was safe and the trip was cheaper that any crowded bus tour. We went out to enjoy the city a lot, but from time to time, one thing we really loved was just relaxing by the pool. While there were big crowds daily grabbing lounge chairs, once we secured a spot, the service was great and the rolling beer cart was both humorous and refreshing, There were even roving samba dancers and musicians hourly. We loved the fresh-from-the-seed coconut water and the Brazilian lunch buffet filled us up very nicely. To top it off, even though this was a points stay and the hotel was full, the staff assigned us a room on a high floor (14) with a postcard view of Ipanema. While the hotel's exterior is stuck in the '60s, the interior is quite modern. We weren't even in one of the upgraded rooms, but we'd look forward to staying in one on our next visit. June 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the Best in Rio The other bad reviews must have been written by seeing eye dogs. They are not correct. We travel to many luxury hotels and this is truely a beautiful hotel. Room was fantastic, we were upgraded as is SPG's policy. Food was great, service was very friendly, pools were terrific, and the "private" white sand beach was fabulous. The hotel is not like those in Ipanema or Copacabana beaches. They ALL are across the street from the beach and stand up against each other. The Sheration Rio has breathing room. One small thing - those at the conceirge were snotty and not hospitable. April 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Newly renovated The staff was extremely accommodating. They went above and beyond to recognize my platinum status. My husband and I were upgraded to a newly renovated room with an amazing view! We have vowed that we will be back! September 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Skip this place One of the worst experiences in my travel history. The hotel is outdated, rooms were small and loud. Terrible customer service from the front desk to the fitness center. Stay Away April 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great one far from the bustling Copacabana, but hardly any other hotel in Rio has a direct access to the beach. the Beachfront location is a big plus! Club lounge was great. July 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by “CARLOS EDUARDO--THANK YOU” This hotel right now is at a very advanced stage in preparation for the World Cup as many FIFA delegates will stay there. Naturally there is some noise--put up with it! The hotel has amazing gardens-pools and above all the wonderful views. We stayed twice recently --both of which were great stays thanks to the help of RAFAEL Head Concierge and ERIC the Duty Manager. Just 2 of the restaurants are working right now however at least 3 more are to open providing great options. The hotel has a delightful Executive LOUNGE on the 26th floor where it was a pleasure having breakfast daily and cocktails in the evening. In the lounge were 2 very special people -the chef Paulo--who was most charming to his early morning guests and the person who was loved by all the guests was the very young waiter -age 20 --CARLOS EDUARDO. His attention to detail--constantly smiling---ensuring that breakfast was perfect for his guests--this young man is special. If you want a relaxed stay in RIO--this is where to go. January 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Im torn about this hotel... This sheraton has definitely the potential to be a 5 star hotel. But unfortunately at this moment it is not. The rooms need to be updated, particularly the carpets. I had to change rooms 2 times in one day because the AC did not cool; it just blowed warm air. I gave up when Nadia, from customer service, upgraded me to a nice ocean view suite that once again, did not have an AC that worked properly. I have to say that all the staff, particularly customer service, is amazing. To me, intention and effort trumps. People are extremely nice. The steak restaurant is excellent, both service and food. definitely recommended. April 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by In Rio, this is hard to beat The only hotel located on the beach in Rio - you can literally fall to sleep as the waves crash beneath you. I have stayed here several times and always do so when in Rio. The pool and recreational area is unique for a Rio hotel - acres of pools, tennis courts, relaxing areas and several restaurants and bars - it looks like a movie scene and all set against an amazing view of Leblon and Ipanema beaches. Staff are very friendly and efficient. Service is bars and restaurants can be a tad slow but is always obliging. Rooms are currently being upgraded, as is the while hotel, but they were very comfortable a s they were and most feature really great views. It is not inexpensive, especially in peak times (eg January) but the value is there and rates are similar to other hotels that do not offer the unique attributes of this hotel. Sheraton Rio is actually one of the reasons I come to Rio and I am very much looking forward to staying there again in a few days time for a week! Thoroughly recommended. January 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs improvement... The only reason why I recommend this hotel is its location - on one of the best beaches in Rio and almost private for the hotel guests. For the rest - it needs a major refurbishment to recover a bit of its past glory. We stayed there twice, on our first stay we were assigned a 'junior suite' which was dirty and stinky with a horrible bathroom - could not get another room as the hotel was fully booked. We complained with the management and for our second stay we got a better room, with a nice view, but still way below what you would expect for this hotel class. February 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by under construction i arrived from a late flight with out reservation, so i pay a high rate for the room, the girl (bianca) told us that we were having great quiet rooms, but early morning when the construction arrived, was impossible to rest due to the noise. try to avoid this hotel during the renovation process October 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good hotel The hotel is under renovation. As gold member, we asked for an upgrade, but the room they gave us were not that good... My husband asked again and Heitor, at front desk, gave us a very nice room, renovated, and, although facing the road, silent too... The location of the hotel is really good, between Barra and Zona Sul. October 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor service and extremely overpriced hotel Very slow speed of general service. Breakfast resto is small, crowds of guests, hue and cry, swear visitors due to lack of seats, breakfast is weak and tasteless. August 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible experience Summary of my hotel experience: - No early check in available even though I've been gold or platinum for 10 years. Most US to Rio flights land at 9am. No early check-in after ~14 hours of travel. - It took 30 minutes to check in with four people at the desk and just six people in front of me in line! My check-in took well over 10 minutes! - I had to settle for pool view instead of ocean or wait longer for a room. - There was construction in the room above and maybe next to me. This is after 14 hours of travel, hours of waiting for my room. I can't nap because I hear drilling and hammering like its 4 feet from me. I was told no construction would occur on Sunday but woke up to a drill at 8am! Not a great feeling after a few caiprinhas the night before. - I took a bus to Buzios on Monday. I asked the hotel if I needed a reservation. They said no problem because Monday buses are never full. All I need to do was show up at the bus terminal. I showed up at 9:30am. The first bus I was able to get on was 1pm... which was delayed. A four hour trip door-to-door took 9 hours. Thanks Sheraton! I ended up canceling the weekend where I planned to stay with Sheraton and was forced to find a hotel solution last minute. This is one of the worst experiences I've ever had and I travel a lot. Further this hotel should not be Cat 5. Buyer beware. August 22, 2013
<<prev2