Al Maha, a Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, Dubai

  • Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve,
  • Dubai - Al Ain Road
  • Dubai,
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Guests must be over age 10
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 155 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Took advantages of the situation being isolated from Dubai I will make this short and sweet. Overall i liked the experience,, but financially speaking, the resort is not a good value. After paying $1100+per night when booking, then I am hit with additional fees of $250+per night. To add insult to injury, at dinner the wine is ridiculously marked up. I know wine very well and know the costs in the UAE. La Maha is taking advantage of having captured customers (one hour from Dubai) and gouging customers for wine. I estimate the markup from 8 to 10x La Maha's costs. That is not reasonable and I would never recommend the resort based on this one issue. If you need to make more $, charge more for the room/resort fees (and disclose upfront) and stop gauging on wine. January 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfection We spent top dollar and got what we paid for. No detail was overlooked and the peace and beauty of the desert was maximised by the beautiful, and very private luxurious 'tented' suites, ours with its own pool. The attention from the staff was at times quite touching. My husband has a food allergy and the kitchen and wait staff went to every length possible to ensure he was well and safely fed including making him a special birthday cake. While one of the most luxurious resorts in Dubai, it is a relaxed and unostentatious place. An excellent and very interesting range of activities are offered. The food was delicious. Nothing is overlooked. January 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our home from home, but more luxurious! We have stayed each year at Al Maha for about 7 years, the length of our stay having increased to 12 nights for the past 4 years or more. Although there was a slight deterioration in overall standards due to the massive staff changes that occurred when the resort came under Starwood management, the new staff have now settled and the resort is better than it has ever been - so if you visited soon after the changeover and were a little disappointed, do go back again and you will be delighted once more. Chef David has worked marvels with the menu, the welcome at the resort is superb and the standards are unsurpassed compared to any other top grade deluxe hotel elsewhere in the world. The staff are truly professional but with a friendly touch that makes this such a special place. Congratulations to the management and staff on running such a tight ship but with such a relaxed and homely atmosphere. See you again soon! September 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Perfect Retreat I will spend a lifetime trying to recreate memories experienced during my recent stay at the Al Maha resort. The place is simply magical, the panoramic views, beautifully decorated rooms, exquisite food and warm personal service offered, make the entire experience special from the moment you arrive. I will return soon, January 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional I have stayed in several hotels ranging from 5* to cheap Guest Houses but my stay at Al Maha has been the best. 1. Staff: Absolutely brilliant. Polite and respectful 2. Services: Extraordinary. Everything I requested was received in 5 min. (I have not seen such a fast response in many of the 5* I have stayed) 3. Room: Loved it, great quality and well decorated room. Private Pool although small in size but was well maintained with warm water all the time. 4. Food: Great quality and wide range of selections. Carrot Juice highly recommended! 5. Activities: Well Planned and appropriate to the levels of the novice. Camel ride and the sunset scene was amazing. 6. Special Requests: a) Early Check In: Room was cleaned and delivered in one hour after the previous guest left at 11am. b) Desert Dining was fabulous well arranged with fantastic food. c) Airport Pick and Drop prompt and on time no delays in anything. 7. Location: Wonderful, calm, peaceful and relaxing 8. Spa: Did not have enough time to enjoy the Spa facilities but I am sure they will be as amazing as the others January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Magnificent Al Maha Our first visit since the property became a Luxury Collection. Al Maha retains the charm of the desert nature reserve, unique for peace and tranquility, first class service and staff, great food, (especially Sri Lankan curry, all inclusive room service menu and great breakfast Chefs). The desert activities with experienced rangers and fleet of Land Cruisers topped off a great holiday. Only -ve the gym doesn't open early enough! A couples experience ( no kids under 10 yrs) July 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by An oases of tranquility, a paradise in the desert Al Maha is literally an oasis of tranquility, a paradise in the desert. From our arrival we were taken care of and pampered. The staff are super friendly and did everything to make us happy. The luxury Bedoiun Suites offer total privacy and are equipped with all comfort and luxury all. There is a private pool, a generously stocked fridge and Nespresso sufficient stock. Varied lunch menu, reasonably priced wines, dinner menu with matching wines. This was our first time in Dubai. We will definitely return. But it is unthinkable that we will ever do to Dubai without a visit of at least three days to Al Maha. February 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxed luxury away from it all spent 4 nights in this wonderful resort away from the crowds of the city.. an oasis of peace and tranquility where you can relax and unwind.. The food was excellent a big thank you to all the kitchen staff. In fact a big thank you to all staff .. a great team from the maintenance staff to the General manager ...The activities where wonderful the falcon display, the camel ride to watch the sun set, and the dune bashing !! what a view ,,, Archery was a first for us both and i think more practice is needed.. hopefully we will improve when we return which I'm sure we will, Thanks for a fantastic break. June 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel, a dream come true! My wife and I spend 5 days at AlMaha, from March 3 to 8, 2013, such a perfect experience. I don't think there is another place like that in the world! Everything was so perfect and the staff did everything possible to make our stay so enjoyable. I highly recommend this place. Special thanks to Maria. March 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Oasis in the Desert I stayed with my wife for one night and I can say that this place is amazing. It's a real luxury in the heart of desert and wildlife. Total privacy and extremely friendly staff. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It blew us away We eagerly anticipated our stay with you, but the reality once we arrived blew us away. The setting is breath taking, the amenities to die for, the food requires membership to Weight Watchers on return and the staff are out of this world. Special mention to our beautiful guide Beth who went out of her way, especially with our 12yo daughter taking her to the stables in her own time and to Remy - you are a true gentleman. We are recommending Al Maha to all our friends. Such a special place that everyone should experience at least once in their lifetime, but hopefully for us there will be another stay in future. As far as I am concerned 5 stars is not enough. It is far beyond anything you could dream of - thank you xx October 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely brilliant! Everything from check-in till check-out worked perfectly. Staff are a happy bunch always willing to help. Food was delicious no matter if its the buffet breakfast or the five course dinner. We went there as a recently married couple and only mentioned it in a passing casual conversation to the staff and the next thing we know a champagene bottle was sent to our room! The desert activities are a one of its kind and the occassional visit of the orynxs and the gazelles to your suites is a bliss! We are looking forward to going back once the weather becomes a bit better. August 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by All aroud amazing hotel This hotel is truly one of a kind. Everything was amazing, from our arrival when our guest services coordinator and field guide greeted us at the hotel entrace, to when we left. The villas are completely private with a heated pool (which we initally felt was a little hot at 27 degrees (it can be turned down), but ended up being perfectly comfortable once we got used to the idea of it being slightly hot.) Perfect for a nightly swim as well! We chose the camel ride and the dune diving activities, both great, although the dune diving is not recommended if you get carsick easily! Breakfast, lunch and dinner - amazingly good quality food. Service at the restaurant was excellent. After check out we had a good few hours before we had to leave for the airport, during which we were allowed to use the spa facilities and the main pool, which are also up the extremely high standards of this hotel. If you have the chance, the dune dinner picnic is highly recommended. Overall, we have never experienced such personalised service at any hotel, everyone truly makes you feel welcome wherever you go. Would highly recommend to anyone in the Dubai area. 2-3 nights is perfect. January 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Special My husband and I just came back from a night at Al Maha where we chose to celebrate my 40th. Wow what an amazing place, from the staff to the rooms and food. All exceeded our expectations. It is expensive but so worth every dirham we paid ...will definitely be back at the first opportunity. The rooms are huge and the pool was heated so we could avail of it as it can be quite nippy here in Dec....I chose the dune drive and falconing as our activities, having lived here for 11 years I can't believe how little knowledge I had of our nature I'm ashamed to say.... December 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'll be back Visited as part of a party of 4 what a great resort, unfortunately we only booked 2 nights, still the upside is my wife and our friends have agreed we'll go back for a longer stay to celebrate our wedding anniverseries. Did everything go perfectly, no not quite, they forgot I was spg platinum and had written in with a request, but the sign of good service is to address problems and the team did a fantastic job. The setting has to be experienced and the team are great. as the title says I'll be back. What more could be said? January 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Words cant explain - pure paradise and luxury Stayed in the Emirates Suite on our 2nd visit to Al Maha (previous visit 3 years ago) and this resort just gets better and better! The smiles and welcome are genuine and you are totally encaptured by the pure escapism and tranquility of Al Maha from the moment you arrive. Service is now legendary and truly nothing was to much trouble without being intrusive. If you are looking for time out and being enveloped in luxury, I cant imagine anywhere better than Al Maha - cant wait to return one day. October 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overwhelming experience .... Again Thank you We have had the most overwhelming holiday again at The Al Maha Desert Resort. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, everyone made us feel very very special. We would like to thank all the staff but especially like to thank, Pamela, Arun, Sateesh and Bibek for their constant attention to detail, using our names, remembering our preferences at meal times, smiling, attentive and polite. If Starwood offer a reward and recognition I would like to nominate all 4 members. February 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Al Maha Exceeded All Expectations Having read glowing reviews of Al Maha we came with very high expectations - we were not disappointed. From the warm and friendly welcoming on our arrival to the exceptionally well managed departure, staying at Al Maha was a delight. We have never encountered such friendly and knowledgeable staff - from the housekeeping team through to senior management - we were always greeted by name (even from staff we had not met!) and nothing was too much trouble. This is by far one of, if not the best hotel experience both my wife and I have had and are already planning a visit for next year. Special thanks to our guide, Gerard. His knowledge was exemplary and we now have a much better understanding of the desert animals, reptiles, birds, flora and fauna. Our one to one time with him in the desert made our stay even more memorable. May 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Magical place, truly relaxing, first class service. My wife and I spent two nights at Al Maha, the staff can't do enough for you - they are warm and welcoming and always professional. They are a real credit to the hotel. The accommodation is also first class; as you would expect. We tagged on a short break at Al Maha at the end of our trip to Australia - little did we realise that these two days would be the high point of our trip... even though our time in Australia was astounding. We will be back. October 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by An experience of excellence Our 4th visit to Al Maha was an experience of excellence. The warmth of welcome, exceptional standard of service and care and attention to every detail made this the best visit yet. Michelin star food in the restaurant delivered by a team both knowledgable and caring. Upgraded facilities in the suites provide an even higher level of luxury. Sundowners amongst the dunes is a must do. A true oasis in the desert in which to relax and enjoy. October 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Peace & Love Al Maha desert hotel is a paradise, extremely relaxing and peaceful, lovely staff with a great and positive spirit giving you true happiness. I have already started recomending to my friends to visit your hotel at least for a week end as a must. We will definitely come back as now I know where to get an outstanding rest and where I will always be delighted:) Thank you very much to all of you to make our stay memorable. January 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Memorable Stay From arrival to departure, the staff has been superb! They made this resort feel extra special. Everybody always had a smile on their face and courteous. All the suites are strategically located so that there is total privacy. Every unit comes with an infinite pool and looks out to the desert. Food is beautifully presented and tasty. I would recommend this resort to all my friends. October 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel is a 6 star hotel i took my wife to spend her birthday at the resort. we had a fantastic time from the time we checked-in until departure. The staff were so polite and helpful. The food presentation and quality is first class. My wife received a complimentary birthday cake from the resort management. Excellent retreat for few days and is highly recommended. October 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprise in the Desert We LOVED al Maha.. the biggest surprise was that the desert is alive with life. But the best surprise was that the food was out of this world. The chef/food manager does a superb job. Truly world class dining.. truly a great experience and one we will recommend to everyone! May 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A few glitches The location is wonderful and the activities offered were most enjoyable. It is a thrill to see the lovely gazelles and elusive oryx wandering about. Staff were all friendly and tried to be accommodating. On the down side, this is the ONLY Starwood Hotel I have ever visited where absolutely nothing was done in recognation of my 13 plus year Platinum status - not even a welcoming note. I was advised that as this was an all suite hotel, upgrades were not provided - I never experienced this anywhere before and know for a fact that there were better suites available. Room service needs work in terms of accuracy, quality and speed but the F&B mgr did try to make up for an unfortunate series of mistakes. Breakfast choices wre somewhat limited especailly in terms of fruit and availability of cooked alternatives to eggs. Check in and check out were way too slow - 25 minutes to check out partially due to leaving new staff member all on her own.. After one initial contact from our guest relations coordinator, no one ever contacted us again to see how our stay was going. The spa treatments were superb. So all in all, worth the visit if some service deficiencies are addressed to bring it up to what should be Luxury Collection standards. October 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by * Al Maha - Perfect desert paradise for all occations! * It was apsolutely amazing! My boyfriend and I celebrated our 3 years Anniversary in Al Maha and we got engaged! :) Staff made our stay, buggy drivers expecially! All our expectation are exceeded! We are definitely recomending to stay there and have life time experience! October 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by a dream became true we want to say thanks to you all you who made our stay so great. Special thanks to Nathalie our guide, to Srini the Restaurant manager and to Hari from the Houdkeeping team. Being in Al Maha was really the dessert of our Dubai - Oman Menue. A place to be revisited May 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by my views on staying at Al Maha From the kindness of Moix who liased he booking with me to the unexpected bottle of Champagne for my partners birthday, I cannot fault this the best hotel I have stayed in worldwide. Thank you staff management and owners of this paradise . S.R. Brotherston August 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Welcome to heaven It is our 3rd time to this hotel, and every time it was for a special occasion. The reserve is wonderful, quiet, peaceful, heaven for the soul. This is quite simply the best hotel we have ever stayed in, we travel a lot and have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world... this tops the lot!! And with the heat of UAE, having a private pool from which you can marvel at the desert and see wonderful wild animals (gazelles, oryx, falcons...) makes you feel privileged. We have stayed twice in the last 18months and fully intend going back again later this year. Our latest visit was a honey moon gift from my husband, we were upgraded to a emirates suite on arrival, treated with champagne in the suite and had a truly amazing trip. The whole experience from start to finish each time has been first class, and its raised our standards even more with regards to service. By the way I almost forgot: the food is just superb, and trust me I am french and know a bit about gastronomy ! You simply must visit if you can... You will never forget it. April 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can it ever get better than this ? From arrival to sad departure time it was like an Arabian desert dream. The staff are among the worlds best. The pool was perfection. The cuisine exceeded all expectations. Our early morning drive with Werner was memorable, and he was so professional that he made sure that we did not get sick.The attention to detail was amazing. The uniforms on the staff the cleaning of rooms and the pool when you are absent , the beautiful linens , the overall cleanliness were all amazing. But it is the fabulous people all working so well, so hard to make the guests so happy that we shall always remember. Yes, it is indeed expensive to stay at Al Maha, but worth every Dirham! May 14, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>