Al Maha, a Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, Dubai

  • Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve,
  • Dubai - Al Ain Road
  • Dubai,
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Guests must be over age 10
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 168 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by memory22 wonderful experience! gorgeous memory!! people who work for this hotel are especially kind and friendly. February 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel has great features wonderful experience! staffs are very friendly and nice. February 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Al Mahar This resort is a wonderful experience. Very romantic if that's what you want, very restful if thats what you need. For me, as a painter, lots of inspiration. Set far out in the desert it's true Arabic style. The biggest most comfortable bed we've ever slept in with a view over you'r own pool then over the desert. Gazelles and Oryx wonder freely in the grounds. The wildlife is all around you and lovely to see. Then you go and eat the most amazing food 3 times a day! All the staff are welcoming, friendly and totally professional. We loved every moment. February 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent , exciting This hotel maked me exciting, The team is excellent, the butler service is very outstanding, the food is delicious, you can have an intimate contact with nature . February 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great Incredible natural environment In the middle of the desert, but it provides all the services and activities you just need, and everything is just fine,everyone should come here to take a look and enjoy. February 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A few days at Al Maha Resort Having spent a few days at Al Maha a few years ago, I wanted to share this experience this year with my daughter. Once again, I was under the charm of this wonderful place. This feeling was shared by my 19 year old daughter, proof that excellence is appreciated by various generations. The quality of the service, the rooms, the kindness of the personnel as well as the setting make this place one of my top two favourite places in the world. February 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by I would not recommend this hotel at this price For the price that we paid, I expected a standard of excellence across the board. While some staff members more than compensated for an average stay (do look for Arun in dining), it certainly needs a lot of improvement to be rated at luxury level. While the location is magnificent, the nature idyllic, services offered are more upscale charter than tailored to individual needs, while the residences need more detailed attention. Had it been rated 4 star, my expectations would have been met. February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pure relaxation in desert luxury From the minute you arrive at Al Maha you can see and feel that the staff will go out of their way to make your stay unforgettable and that is exactly what they did! Every member of staff that we met were extremely friendly & professional. The food was excellent, the suite totally amazing & the overall setting mesmerizing & relaxing. January 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing location The best part of our stay in Dubai was at Al Maha. We stayed at the wonderful Presidential Suite with a spectacular desert view. Lovely activities offered but we loved the suite so much we spent most of the time in the suite. January 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful hotel and views We spent 6 nights in this wonderful place. The views are fascinating, the friendliness of the staff is superb. We felt very much at home. This is the place to unwind and relax. We enjoyed the activities too and combined with the privacy of your own suite and pool, we think it was the perfect holiday. January 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by romantic it was a very plesent stay,but to short. e ant to go back n 2014 fr 4 nights January 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surreal To us, Al Maha Desert Resort and Spa felt like a surreal environment in the first few days of our 14 day stay in December 2013. The experience of the Resort and Reserve is the best we have had amongst our previous holiday destinations. The service and willingness from all staff is overwhelming, and the level is excellent. The accommodation and facilities are very luxurious and add another dimension to the already magical environment of the desert. A place to return.... December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unique Desert Experience If perfection would exist, it had it's home at Al Maha Desert Resort. From arrival to departure, simply everything was exceptional! December 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another wonderful stay We stayed for 9 nights and as always, had a wonderfully relaxing time and were looked after so well by all of the staff. Everything about our stay was perfect. The only sad part is leaving, but we coped by knowing that we will return again next year! December 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing experience My husband and I spent 3 nights at Al Maha for our honeymoon, it was amazing. We could have stayed a lot longer! From our airport pick up to our drop off, we thoroughly enjoyed everything about Al Maha. The staff were all polite, friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was gorgeous, clean, a huge comfortable bed and our own pool was just fabulous. The food at the restaurant was incredible, we enjoyed every meal and there was a lot of variety. We only participated in 3 activities - sunset camel trek, archery and falconry, and really enjoyed all of them, all new experiences for us. It was just an incredible experience being out in nature and having so much privacy but also having everything you need just a phone call away. Wonderful trip! December 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Retreat the hotel is really nice and helps you to relax and enjoy your time away from the city. December 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Desert Resort ! Everything,staff so welcoming and friendly, food great, accommodation just perfect ! Especially food amazing. The best hotel we've ever stayed, ..except 'desert drive tour' 's field guide..conducted unprofessional...but desert dirve itself was fantastic. Also we liked 'no children' policy. Really enjoyed our stay and appreciate you made our stay so special. We will definitely be returning and recommend to friends. November 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service We were very pleased with the excellent service of the staff. Especially Ankush who has made our stay very special. Ankush have gone the extra mile for guest satisfaction, ensuring that we were informed well about the property, services and any information that we would require. The warm welcome was excellent and very pleasant. Thanks to Ankush that we have received the reservations for the Burj Khalifa and he made our stay very special. our guide Kurt was superb, giving us the in's and out's of the activities and giving us an excellent experience of the dessert. A special compliment to the food and beverage department, the variety and quality of the meals were excellent. We really have enjoyed our stay at this special hotel and will certainly recommend the experience. November 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by very nice place wounderful place in the middle of nothing, very good people and nice instalation October 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above perfection - an unforgettable experience From the welcome committee to the moment we left there was not one single thing that could have been better. The staff: just amazing and professional, from housekeeping to the field guides, all are taking care and make sure that all is perfect The suites: the interior, the pool, the view - a real amazing place to stay. The SPA: nice pool and fitness facility, good massages The food: again wow, especially breakfast was outstanding. Activities: Sunset after a camel ride is just amazing but also all other activities were great. Conclusion: When driving there into the desert you will be in another world, a place to relax, to enjoy and a place with outstanding professional hospitality. You will stop counting all the "wow" moments and just dive into a unique experience. No doubt: the place to go at least once in your life - we will certainly add a second time. October 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing hotel, pity that noise ruins the desert night The resort is fantastic: beautiful scenery, amazing food, kind and zealous staff. It's a shame that the noise of an engine (the water pump, maybe or some AC something?) was so strong outside the suite that we could not dine there. October 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxury in the middle of the dessert What a memorable experience. It was amazing to have all the modern luxuries in the middle of the dessert. Outstanding food, friendly service and awesome dessert activities. Fully enjoyed our stay and would recommend to friends and family. October 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel will leave you wanting more From the moment we arrived we were made feel very special and unique. Located in the Dubai conservation reserve it offered absolute peace and tranquility from the moment we entered the reserve. Passing the Arabian Gazelles and Oryx's on the drive to the hotel through the desert you get a sense that this hotel will offer you something unique that will take you back to a time when nomads and bedouins roamed these lands. The reception and journey reinforces this view and when you arrive at your room, you have the contrast of the desert beside your luxuriosly appointed accomodation. With a private pool with every guesthouse and each room filled with tastefully decorated furnishings this was a feeling which you know will live long in the memory. The desert activities added to the memory by taking us on a camel ride into the desert to see the setting sun and also the sand dune ride the next morning added to the sense of adventure and excitement which the desert offers. As we were given our own special guides for these activities, this made these journeys all the more special and individualised. The meals (some of which were served in our room) were excellently prepared and presented by very attentive staff. the quality of the food was first class and the restaurant managers interest in our meal made us feel very special too. The pool and gym which we used were excellent. Unfortunatley, we did not get enough time to sample the delights of the spa and this is something which we will have to address when we next return to the Al Maha Desert resort hotel. And this is something that we will certainly do given the warmth and friendliness of our experience there. October 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing experience Beatiful natural and simple place total immersion in the natural setting of the desert and wild life and spectacular food experience. One suggestion is to have your Italian beer colder and no need of internet your place is designed to disconnect from the world and enjoy few days of freedom!! October 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfection This resort is the best I have ever stayed in - true perfection. The staff, the accommodation, the food - everything was simply outstanding. Words cannot describe just how amazing this place is. I have totally fallen in love with everything about this resort. We were welcomed by the manager, the porter, the ranger and our guest coordinator - all were lovely and made our stay so special. The activities were incredible too - really well organised and great fun. This place offers total relaxation - amazing food and activities if you want to do them. I cannot rate this place high enough. If you are in Dubai this place is a must visit. They made our stay so special and we will definitely be returning. October 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It blew us away We eagerly anticipated our stay with you, but the reality once we arrived blew us away. The setting is breath taking, the amenities to die for, the food requires membership to Weight Watchers on return and the staff are out of this world. Special mention to our beautiful guide Beth who went out of her way, especially with our 12yo daughter taking her to the stables in her own time and to Remy - you are a true gentleman. We are recommending Al Maha to all our friends. Such a special place that everyone should experience at least once in their lifetime, but hopefully for us there will be another stay in future. As far as I am concerned 5 stars is not enough. It is far beyond anything you could dream of - thank you xx October 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lots of contemporary charm in a totally impressive surrounding Great, solid "old style" and contemporary quality. Unbeatable friendlyness and helpfullness of staff. Top class cuisine! Top of the end Spa. Al Maha is a diamond in the middle of the sand. We had a most wonderful stay! September 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A beautiful Desert experience We spent 4 nights at Al Maha at the end of August before going on further to Zighy Bay in Oman. The transfer from Dubai airport went smoothly, turning off the main road into the desert. After a short time we came to a security check point, we were checked through and drove further through a smaller official entrance into the conservation area and then finally to the Hotels main reception building. We were greeted warmly and were guided to a small seating area in the Lobby. We were offered cold drinks and wet face towels. Check in went smoothly, then we were informed about Restaurant timings, Spa activities with special offers and joining the SPG (Starwood Group) loyalty program. Then one of the South African guides/Ranger came and started telling us about their activities and start times. Personally I thought this was a little too much information just after arriving from a 14 Hour trip with various trains, planes and automobiles, we just wanted to get to our room and relax. We were informed that our Villa was still being cleaned and that our Guest relations coordinator Ankush would meet us later. We were then asked if we would like to go to Breakfast until everything was ready. We followed but still made a detour to be shown the seating area, the Bar and outside seating area with Shisha corner. We were finally led down the steps to the Restaurant and shown to a table. After our initial Breakfast we went back upstairs and waited in the Lobby until Ankush came to meet us. We were driven to our Suite but made yet another detour to the Spa and Main Pool area and were given a complete tour of their beautiful facilities. We were finally taken to our Suite No. 40 which is probably the farthest Suite from the Main buildings. In our previous email correspondence with the Hotel we had asked for complete privacy, we just simply wanted to relax. Ankush told us later that this suite is usually given to the local guests who require such privacy. The Bedouin Suites look Octagonal in shape with a large Canopy giving the illusion of a Bedouin Tent. We entered into a lobby area which had a small table and chair where the Nespresso Coffee machine was placed, a Kettle with various Teas as well as a small fridge, hairdryer and bottled water with glasses. A nice touch was the complimentary Sherry in its decanter with two glasses. There were two other large double doors, one on the right hand side that led into the large bathroom, the other leading into the Bedroom/Sitting room. Each time I opened the double doors in the Suite I would always say “Open Sesame”……I don´t know why. The Bedroom/Sitting room was beautifully decorated. As you entered the room there was a large wooden wardrobe on the left hand side which incorporated the TV and DVD Player. To the right there was a “Huge” double bed with a Captains Sea chest at its foot with two bedside tables. In front of the Bed were situated two large chaise lounge chairs with a table between them. On the other side of the bed was a writing desk and chair. Between the bed and writing table was another double door which also took you into the Bathroom. There were four large sized double windows (three of them could be opened) which gave access to the outside decking and infinity-type private pool. The bathroom had a very large bathtub, a large glass doored shower, two wash basins with large mirror as well as a separate WC and bidet. The rooms were extremely clean with ample toweling and Toiletries. We were disappointed with the Decking area. There were two comfy sun loungers situated on the right side as well as a table and two chairs on the left. The partial view of the desert could be seen standing up, but in the pool or lying on the loungers very little could be seen. It was probably our fault for requesting privacy but we thought that privacy would also come with a view. This could have been communicated earlier in our various email correspondence. The Suite was very quiet with just the noise of buggies or a few cars entering and leaving the resort. The Air-conditioning unit was situated near the front of the Villa and can be heard when it kicks in. The pool in our suite was somewhat dated with various tiles missing as well as tiles which somebody had carelessly tried to reattach. As you could not look out onto a desert view your only option was to look at the small sand dunes as well as the shrubbery and the Villa itself. Unfortunately due to rain or maybe condensation there is staining on the Villa walls and the garden/ scrubs are in my opinion very poorly maintained. Dead leaves everywhere as well as the missing blue tiles scattered around in the sand. This particular area in this particular suite was certainly NOT acceptable and needs to be quickly rectified by senior management as it does not fulfill the expectations of its guests or of the resorts high standards. I gathered as many tiles from the garden as possible and laid them out on the pool side….they were taken away two days later. Housekeeping comes twice a day, to make the room in the morning and to turn down in the evening. A daily paper is also delivered. The resort has I believe 42 Villas offering full-board in the restaurant as well as in-Villa dining with the option (additional cost) of “Deck dining” where your meal will be served to you. There is also afternoon Tea and Coffee, as well as various snacks and drinks throughout the day served in the Bar area. This was all included in our Package. The quality of the food and service in the restaurant is exceptional. Even thinking about the Avocado-smoothie with Breakfast, the “7 Hours” braised Lamb shank (Oh that Gravy!!!) and Lobster Thermidor or Wagyu Beef fillet for evening meal, but the Sashimi starter with its Tuna, Salmon and fresh Scallops and spoon of caviar was just to die for. You should also try the Sri Lankan Dinner Menu. A big thank you to Srinivasan Nadarajan and ALL his Team…..Nikhil, Aruni, Pam, Dhan and Naresh to name just a few. Thank you again for your hospitality in our private room on our special day. Breakfast is served from 07:00 till 10:30, Lunch from 12:30 till 14:30 (How anybody can eat three full meals a day is beyond me…..you would be in the restaurant all day) and evening Dinner was served from 19:30 till 22:00. Meals can be taken inside or out and casual dress (Gentlemen – Long trousers) for dinner is required. A pre-dinner drink in the bar on the veranda looking out onto the reserve and the water hole which is illuminated was quiet magical. A cold Belgium Leffe beer and the seaweed tempura was a great match. Not to mention the star of the show which was Ramil the barkeeper, a really great host! As we found that we could only get the sun in our villa from 07:00 till 09:300 and then again from 16:30 we headed off to the main Pool after Breakfast. Again, a beautiful facility with excellent attention to detail. Here we had the opportunity to see the Oryx and Gazelles grazing from the comfort of the large pool. To get around the resort, Buggies are recommended because of the wild animals especially the Oryx. We did not have to wait more than Five minutes for a Buggy from our Suite after dialing 0, especially as our Suite was far away from the Main building. Anything that you required you any had only to dial 0 for reception. Thanks here especially to Ankush and to Maria. We also went on two excursions with the South African guides which took one hour, the nature walk with Kurt and the Falconry were we discovered that Owls only turn their heads 270° and not 360° as in the cartoons. I think Oscar the Owl was just as awake as we were. You have to be at reception for 05:30 to start at 05:45. Service and hospitality at Al Maha is excellent and can only be highly recommended, as well as the quietness of its tranquil surroundings. When we return we will however be requesting another Suite. The staff recommend Suites 6, 11, 15, 23 and 35 for beautiful views. Oh and that Bed!!! Since we have returned home we have been inundated with various emails from Starwood (6) and the Hotel (2), 8 within the last 11 days. This seems to be a little bit too much marketing. September 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Get ready to be pampered! This hotel is AWESOME! Everything from the food to the furnishings is top of the line, and the service they provide is unsurpassed. My wife and I were in awe at the fantastic treatment provided. The individual villas are beautiful and romantic, and with the service they provide, the hotel goes out of its way to make you feel like you are the only ones staying at the resort. The food may very well be the best food I have ever had, and they have an excellent selection to choose from. I can't wait to stay at Al Maha again in the future. September 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made our 10th anniversary an experience of a lifetime After considering the Maldives and Mauritius for our 10th anniversary we decided to celebrate at Al-Maha and boy did it blow us away. Very little is left to imagination here, the service is worthy of a 7 star hotel and the food is straight out of the master chef tv series! Almost all ingredients are flown from abroad (I've been in their kitchen) and to top that off, the staff don't know how to say No to any request. Some of mine weren't standard procedure but they were all done with a wonderful smile on top. I thought the hotel was expensive but the rate is full board including all three meals (which makes sense because your a full hours drive from civilization), two activities i addition to unlimited room service!!! I also tried their tomeless spa, 10/10. No words can do this experience just. Thank you to the entire team at Al-Maha for making our stay an experience of a lifetime. August 30, 2013
  • 2015-04-27T18:35:55.673-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_168, tr_168
  • loc_en_US, sid_3081, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>