Al Maha, a Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, Dubai

  • Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve,
  • Dubai - Al Ain Road
  • Dubai,
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Guests must be over age 10
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 164 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful memory The bright sky, great desert, lovely camels, swimming pool and delicious food in the hotel provided my family a wonderful memory.Thank you to all the friendly staffs. We are looking forward to come back every year! February 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Desert beauty Fantastic resort. Restored my tranquillity minutes after arrival. Peace and quite surrounded by Gazelles and Oryx. Wonderful rooms with the best bed in the world. Superb food. Amazing staff. Thanks so much Alex May 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff, great location Splendid welcome , super room, top service , top meals , magnificent location , attentive and knowlegable staff, led to a memorable visit - our high expectations were fully achieved. Will return . May 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice Experience My daughter and I had a wonderful experience at Al Maha. The person who met us at the airport, the guest relations associate who checked us in upon arrival, all the housekeepers, the buggy drivers and the restaurant staff were all outstanding. The food presentation, quality and delivery were all excellent. We visited in the summer so it was great to have the choice of our own pool at the suite or the larger common pool at the spa. The facilties were well kept. The views and setting were amazing and unique. Two suggestions for improvement: 1) The guides were all highly professional and clearly competent at their jobs. Our safety was always their top priority. I have been on several similar types of vacations and am used to the guides being more outgoing towards and engaging with the guests. I would have liked to have seen more of that from our guides. 2) While the food was outstanding, I would have liked to see more variety for menu choices, such as having two different menues that alternated every other day. Overall it was a very nice experience and I would recommend it to others as well as return again myself. July 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel, superb kitchen, good desert adventures We spent a week in Al Maha, and it was wonderful. The food offer and the quality of the kitchen is just superb. The desert events are great, they have good guides. January 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Truly Magnificent The level of service and attention to details is incredible! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for great service and a high level of privacy. December 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Manager- Project Procurement The Hotel location and view was amazing, it was a real getaway place for relaxation and mind peace, and the staff made sure to gain our comfort and satisfaction. January 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Desert birthday treat Al Maha offered a wonderful but too short break - we would love to visit again. Everything was perfect February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cleaning The cleaning of the bathroom should be improved. December 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by With my daughter Great place. Best to relax. Very quiet. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantasy in the desert Great and magical experience June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Majestic Al Maha My partner (now Fiancé) and I were in Dubai for 10 days in April 2014 and on booking the holiday I wanted to so something really special and amazing to suprise her for an engagement proposal. Through internet research I came across Al Maha. It looked amazing but the pictures and videos don't even begin to do the resort Justice for just how special it is. The personalised check in service in a magnificent lobby area was the beginning, Our suite was luxurious, secluded and sensational. The room service was of exceptionally high quality, we were picked up by buggy and brought to the lobby for our activities, meals etc. The quality of food and drink at the resort is unrivalled and we really appreciated the private pool looking out over the vast desert. Local Gazelles and birds kept us company in this tranquil resort. The activities are second to none. Our assigned field guide, Andy, brought us to see the sun go down over the desert with a glass of champagne. The hotel then set up our exclusive dune dining package where we ate in a secluded spot under the stars in the desert. It was the perfect place to propose. The picnic was extravagant and the set up and service offered was top notch. The next day we got up and went for a dune drive which was a great adrenalin rush. Breakfast in the restaurant was exquisite and to finish our trip we went for romantic Spa treatments. Once again the facilities and professionalism of the staff was unrivalled. This truly is as good as it gets when it comes to 5 star luxury. Thanks to everyone at Al Maha for making our stay so special. I honestly couldn't fault a single thing. It exceeded my exceptionally high expectations. Truly Magical. April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel will leave you wanting more From the moment we arrived we were made feel very special and unique. Located in the Dubai conservation reserve it offered absolute peace and tranquility from the moment we entered the reserve. Passing the Arabian Gazelles and Oryx's on the drive to the hotel through the desert you get a sense that this hotel will offer you something unique that will take you back to a time when nomads and bedouins roamed these lands. The reception and journey reinforces this view and when you arrive at your room, you have the contrast of the desert beside your luxuriosly appointed accomodation. With a private pool with every guesthouse and each room filled with tastefully decorated furnishings this was a feeling which you know will live long in the memory. The desert activities added to the memory by taking us on a camel ride into the desert to see the setting sun and also the sand dune ride the next morning added to the sense of adventure and excitement which the desert offers. As we were given our own special guides for these activities, this made these journeys all the more special and individualised. The meals (some of which were served in our room) were excellently prepared and presented by very attentive staff. the quality of the food was first class and the restaurant managers interest in our meal made us feel very special too. The pool and gym which we used were excellent. Unfortunatley, we did not get enough time to sample the delights of the spa and this is something which we will have to address when we next return to the Al Maha Desert resort hotel. And this is something that we will certainly do given the warmth and friendliness of our experience there. October 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can it ever get better than this ? From arrival to sad departure time it was like an Arabian desert dream. The staff are among the worlds best. The pool was perfection. The cuisine exceeded all expectations. Our early morning drive with Werner was memorable, and he was so professional that he made sure that we did not get sick.The attention to detail was amazing. The uniforms on the staff the cleaning of rooms and the pool when you are absent , the beautiful linens , the overall cleanliness were all amazing. But it is the fabulous people all working so well, so hard to make the guests so happy that we shall always remember. Yes, it is indeed expensive to stay at Al Maha, but worth every Dirham! May 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A charming rustic resort within an undisturbed desert landscape Even though the age of the resort is evident compared to other desert escapes within the UAE, Al Maha has character and charm that you will rarely find in a country which has transformed itself into an ever evolving cosmopolitan hub. The beautiful undisturbed desert landscape coupled with freely roaming wildlife within the resort helps to make a stay a highly unique and memorable experience. Even though there were a couple of minor incidents which could have upset the balance of our stay, the ever enthusiastic staff and management quickly responded and made sure that the issues were resolved and our stay enhanced. Thank you. June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A beautiful Desert experience We spent 4 nights at Al Maha at the end of August before going on further to Zighy Bay in Oman. The transfer from Dubai airport went smoothly, turning off the main road into the desert. After a short time we came to a security check point, we were checked through and drove further through a smaller official entrance into the conservation area and then finally to the Hotels main reception building. We were greeted warmly and were guided to a small seating area in the Lobby. We were offered cold drinks and wet face towels. Check in went smoothly, then we were informed about Restaurant timings, Spa activities with special offers and joining the SPG (Starwood Group) loyalty program. Then one of the South African guides/Ranger came and started telling us about their activities and start times. Personally I thought this was a little too much information just after arriving from a 14 Hour trip with various trains, planes and automobiles, we just wanted to get to our room and relax. We were informed that our Villa was still being cleaned and that our Guest relations coordinator Ankush would meet us later. We were then asked if we would like to go to Breakfast until everything was ready. We followed but still made a detour to be shown the seating area, the Bar and outside seating area with Shisha corner. We were finally led down the steps to the Restaurant and shown to a table. After our initial Breakfast we went back upstairs and waited in the Lobby until Ankush came to meet us. We were driven to our Suite but made yet another detour to the Spa and Main Pool area and were given a complete tour of their beautiful facilities. We were finally taken to our Suite No. 40 which is probably the farthest Suite from the Main buildings. In our previous email correspondence with the Hotel we had asked for complete privacy, we just simply wanted to relax. Ankush told us later that this suite is usually given to the local guests who require such privacy. The Bedouin Suites look Octagonal in shape with a large Canopy giving the illusion of a Bedouin Tent. We entered into a lobby area which had a small table and chair where the Nespresso Coffee machine was placed, a Kettle with various Teas as well as a small fridge, hairdryer and bottled water with glasses. A nice touch was the complimentary Sherry in its decanter with two glasses. There were two other large double doors, one on the right hand side that led into the large bathroom, the other leading into the Bedroom/Sitting room. Each time I opened the double doors in the Suite I would always say “Open Sesame”……I don´t know why. The Bedroom/Sitting room was beautifully decorated. As you entered the room there was a large wooden wardrobe on the left hand side which incorporated the TV and DVD Player. To the right there was a “Huge” double bed with a Captains Sea chest at its foot with two bedside tables. In front of the Bed were situated two large chaise lounge chairs with a table between them. On the other side of the bed was a writing desk and chair. Between the bed and writing table was another double door which also took you into the Bathroom. There were four large sized double windows (three of them could be opened) which gave access to the outside decking and infinity-type private pool. The bathroom had a very large bathtub, a large glass doored shower, two wash basins with large mirror as well as a separate WC and bidet. The rooms were extremely clean with ample toweling and Toiletries. We were disappointed with the Decking area. There were two comfy sun loungers situated on the right side as well as a table and two chairs on the left. The partial view of the desert could be seen standing up, but in the pool or lying on the loungers very little could be seen. It was probably our fault for requesting privacy but we thought that privacy would also come with a view. This could have been communicated earlier in our various email correspondence. The Suite was very quiet with just the noise of buggies or a few cars entering and leaving the resort. The Air-conditioning unit was situated near the front of the Villa and can be heard when it kicks in. The pool in our suite was somewhat dated with various tiles missing as well as tiles which somebody had carelessly tried to reattach. As you could not look out onto a desert view your only option was to look at the small sand dunes as well as the shrubbery and the Villa itself. Unfortunately due to rain or maybe condensation there is staining on the Villa walls and the garden/ scrubs are in my opinion very poorly maintained. Dead leaves everywhere as well as the missing blue tiles scattered around in the sand. This particular area in this particular suite was certainly NOT acceptable and needs to be quickly rectified by senior management as it does not fulfill the expectations of its guests or of the resorts high standards. I gathered as many tiles from the garden as possible and laid them out on the pool side….they were taken away two days later. Housekeeping comes twice a day, to make the room in the morning and to turn down in the evening. A daily paper is also delivered. The resort has I believe 42 Villas offering full-board in the restaurant as well as in-Villa dining with the option (additional cost) of “Deck dining” where your meal will be served to you. There is also afternoon Tea and Coffee, as well as various snacks and drinks throughout the day served in the Bar area. This was all included in our Package. The quality of the food and service in the restaurant is exceptional. Even thinking about the Avocado-smoothie with Breakfast, the “7 Hours” braised Lamb shank (Oh that Gravy!!!) and Lobster Thermidor or Wagyu Beef fillet for evening meal, but the Sashimi starter with its Tuna, Salmon and fresh Scallops and spoon of caviar was just to die for. You should also try the Sri Lankan Dinner Menu. A big thank you to Srinivasan Nadarajan and ALL his Team…..Nikhil, Aruni, Pam, Dhan and Naresh to name just a few. Thank you again for your hospitality in our private room on our special day. Breakfast is served from 07:00 till 10:30, Lunch from 12:30 till 14:30 (How anybody can eat three full meals a day is beyond me…..you would be in the restaurant all day) and evening Dinner was served from 19:30 till 22:00. Meals can be taken inside or out and casual dress (Gentlemen – Long trousers) for dinner is required. A pre-dinner drink in the bar on the veranda looking out onto the reserve and the water hole which is illuminated was quiet magical. A cold Belgium Leffe beer and the seaweed tempura was a great match. Not to mention the star of the show which was Ramil the barkeeper, a really great host! As we found that we could only get the sun in our villa from 07:00 till 09:300 and then again from 16:30 we headed off to the main Pool after Breakfast. Again, a beautiful facility with excellent attention to detail. Here we had the opportunity to see the Oryx and Gazelles grazing from the comfort of the large pool. To get around the resort, Buggies are recommended because of the wild animals especially the Oryx. We did not have to wait more than Five minutes for a Buggy from our Suite after dialing 0, especially as our Suite was far away from the Main building. Anything that you required you any had only to dial 0 for reception. Thanks here especially to Ankush and to Maria. We also went on two excursions with the South African guides which took one hour, the nature walk with Kurt and the Falconry were we discovered that Owls only turn their heads 270° and not 360° as in the cartoons. I think Oscar the Owl was just as awake as we were. You have to be at reception for 05:30 to start at 05:45. Service and hospitality at Al Maha is excellent and can only be highly recommended, as well as the quietness of its tranquil surroundings. When we return we will however be requesting another Suite. The staff recommend Suites 6, 11, 15, 23 and 35 for beautiful views. Oh and that Bed!!! Since we have returned home we have been inundated with various emails from Starwood (6) and the Hotel (2), 8 within the last 11 days. This seems to be a little bit too much marketing. September 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Al Maha. This small Desert Retreat used to be one of the finest most exclusive places in the world when it was run by the Emirates Group. For reasons beyond comprehension they allowed Starwood to run it with the attendant dramatic lowering of standards. The word exclusive has been erased, noisy groups descend on it totally unaware of how to behave at such a resort. This leads to a feeling of wanting to leave the area and remember it as it used to be. Objectively, it is difficult to review the Al Maha in light of how it is now versus how it used to be. It was 6 Star, now it is 4 Star and going lower. October 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Peter & Tanaya " We have just completed our 52nd night over a 10 year period at Al Maha" Loved the new pillow so much we bought x2 to bring home. The food choise was excellant and the Chef daily menu is a great idea. The Spar team fixed my back and made us both feel good within. The Housekeeping & Room Service Team were all friendly and knowledgable. Front of House and Managment made us feel very special... Thank you all August 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel is a fantastic place to relax We give the hotel our highest rating, as we had a fantastic stay there. The location is very unique and having separate villas with a dedicated swimming pool for each guest is just amazing. We also enjoyed the offered activities very much, particularly the dune driving, as well as the camel riding and the morning walk in the desert. Having the opportunity to dine outside and watch the animals, as well as the desert makes this place very special. The staff is super-friendly and professional and is fulfilling every wish. It could not have been a better experience. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Honeymoon Stop on our Trip! Al Maha Resort is the ultimate romantic getaway or honeymoon stop! My husband and I stayed 2 nights here on our honeymoon, and we had a very romantic time in the serene desert. We had an upgraded room with our own private infinity pool overlooking the desert and wildlife (gazelles, oryxes) - it was epic! We didn't want to leave! The staff was attentive but let us have our privacy. And the food was glorious! It was the best food we ate on our Dubai & Abu Dhabi honeymoon! Thank you to all the staff for making our honeymoon magical! We'd love to come again! July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfection This resort is the best I have ever stayed in - true perfection. The staff, the accommodation, the food - everything was simply outstanding. Words cannot describe just how amazing this place is. I have totally fallen in love with everything about this resort. We were welcomed by the manager, the porter, the ranger and our guest coordinator - all were lovely and made our stay so special. The activities were incredible too - really well organised and great fun. This place offers total relaxation - amazing food and activities if you want to do them. I cannot rate this place high enough. If you are in Dubai this place is a must visit. They made our stay so special and we will definitely be returning. October 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best of the Best We spent 13 nights in this magnificent resort. This is sanctuary in the desert, It really is the place to relax and unwind. The food was exquisite. We would like to convey our gratitude to Head Chef David, Sous Chef Peter and all the restaurant team. The activities where wonderful, we really enjoyed the falcon display and the camel rides. A big thank you to all the members of staff at the Al Maha, whilst we didn't get to know you all by name, we really did appreciate your hard work which resulted in making it such a special vacacion for us. Best wishes to Naresh, Hussein, Ankush and La Roux. Thank you for everything, fingers crossed we shall return next year to relive the Al Maha experience once more. July 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing place that everyone must stay at at some point I have stayed in many high end resorts around the world and Al Maha did not dissapoint. The staff were amazing, accomodation fabulous (we stayed in a Royal Suite) and food delightful. The day spa experience was one of the best I have ever had. My only comment is that for the price it would be good to have included some alcoholic beverages which is what similar resorts do include. The whole experience was way above my expectation so do not hesitate to go. I think it is the only place in the world where camels do not smell as they shampoo them regularly. Love that! April 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a disappointment... Though the staff were friendly and helpful, from the arrival to departure it was overall disappointing. The resort was very hard to find with small roadsigns and we had to wait for a long time at the entrance to be picked up and taken to the resort, as we were not told when making the booking to call on our arrival. We requested a twin bed room and received a double bed and as we registered two people, only I was addressed by the staff. The villa was very well placed with great views and the accommodation was very well equipped. The pool villa was like a bath (outside temperature was 48 degrees)and could not use until the next morning after requesting to cool the water. We had dinner in the restaurant and we did expect the quality of the food to be better however it was a pleasant atmosphere. We were to stay another night, but the price paid (and it was low season rates) to what we received was not as expected. We were not asked on check out on how was our stay and we even received someone else's invoice. January 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by memory22 wonderful experience! gorgeous memory!! people who work for this hotel are especially kind and friendly. February 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Just amazing!!!!! The only thing I did not like was they don't seem to care if you are a SPG member or not. May 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Al Mahar This resort is a wonderful experience. Very romantic if that's what you want, very restful if thats what you need. For me, as a painter, lots of inspiration. Set far out in the desert it's true Arabic style. The biggest most comfortable bed we've ever slept in with a view over you'r own pool then over the desert. Gazelles and Oryx wonder freely in the grounds. The wildlife is all around you and lovely to see. Then you go and eat the most amazing food 3 times a day! All the staff are welcoming, friendly and totally professional. We loved every moment. February 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Al Maha-True LUXURY What an awesome experience, from pre-arrival information, to checking-in....., it was a luxury treatment. All staff showed high level of responsibility and accountability in their various department. I was blown away...., never enjoyed luxury in its real sense like l did in Al Maha. You all ROCK...! August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing experience My husband and I spent 3 nights at Al Maha for our honeymoon, it was amazing. We could have stayed a lot longer! From our airport pick up to our drop off, we thoroughly enjoyed everything about Al Maha. The staff were all polite, friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was gorgeous, clean, a huge comfortable bed and our own pool was just fabulous. The food at the restaurant was incredible, we enjoyed every meal and there was a lot of variety. We only participated in 3 activities - sunset camel trek, archery and falconry, and really enjoyed all of them, all new experiences for us. It was just an incredible experience being out in nature and having so much privacy but also having everything you need just a phone call away. Wonderful trip! December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW and WOW The location and staff are absolutely fantastic. They cannot do enough for you. The food is out of this world and presented amazingly. They even took me to the hospital and waited for me to have treatment and even though we had missed our dinner....they cooked us our meal at 10:20pm! The facilities and activities are fantastic and the spa is a must. They even packed us an amazing lunch when we were leaving. Very knowledgeable and professional staff who are all a credit to the company. We will DEFINATELY be returning. May 15, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>