Al Maha, a Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, Dubai

  • Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve,
  • Dubai - Al Ain Road
  • Dubai,
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 188 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing experience Beatiful natural and simple place total immersion in the natural setting of the desert and wild life and spectacular food experience. One suggestion is to have your Italian beer colder and no need of internet your place is designed to disconnect from the world and enjoy few days of freedom!! October 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfection This resort is the best I have ever stayed in - true perfection. The staff, the accommodation, the food - everything was simply outstanding. Words cannot describe just how amazing this place is. I have totally fallen in love with everything about this resort. We were welcomed by the manager, the porter, the ranger and our guest coordinator - all were lovely and made our stay so special. The activities were incredible too - really well organised and great fun. This place offers total relaxation - amazing food and activities if you want to do them. I cannot rate this place high enough. If you are in Dubai this place is a must visit. They made our stay so special and we will definitely be returning. October 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It blew us away We eagerly anticipated our stay with you, but the reality once we arrived blew us away. The setting is breath taking, the amenities to die for, the food requires membership to Weight Watchers on return and the staff are out of this world. Special mention to our beautiful guide Beth who went out of her way, especially with our 12yo daughter taking her to the stables in her own time and to Remy - you are a true gentleman. We are recommending Al Maha to all our friends. Such a special place that everyone should experience at least once in their lifetime, but hopefully for us there will be another stay in future. As far as I am concerned 5 stars is not enough. It is far beyond anything you could dream of - thank you xx October 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lots of contemporary charm in a totally impressive surrounding Great, solid "old style" and contemporary quality. Unbeatable friendlyness and helpfullness of staff. Top class cuisine! Top of the end Spa. Al Maha is a diamond in the middle of the sand. We had a most wonderful stay! September 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A beautiful Desert experience We spent 4 nights at Al Maha at the end of August before going on further to Zighy Bay in Oman. The transfer from Dubai airport went smoothly, turning off the main road into the desert. After a short time we came to a security check point, we were checked through and drove further through a smaller official entrance into the conservation area and then finally to the Hotels main reception building. We were greeted warmly and were guided to a small seating area in the Lobby. We were offered cold drinks and wet face towels. Check in went smoothly, then we were informed about Restaurant timings, Spa activities with special offers and joining the SPG (Starwood Group) loyalty program. Then one of the South African guides/Ranger came and started telling us about their activities and start times. Personally I thought this was a little too much information just after arriving from a 14 Hour trip with various trains, planes and automobiles, we just wanted to get to our room and relax. We were informed that our Villa was still being cleaned and that our Guest relations coordinator Ankush would meet us later. We were then asked if we would like to go to Breakfast until everything was ready. We followed but still made a detour to be shown the seating area, the Bar and outside seating area with Shisha corner. We were finally led down the steps to the Restaurant and shown to a table. After our initial Breakfast we went back upstairs and waited in the Lobby until Ankush came to meet us. We were driven to our Suite but made yet another detour to the Spa and Main Pool area and were given a complete tour of their beautiful facilities. We were finally taken to our Suite No. 40 which is probably the farthest Suite from the Main buildings. In our previous email correspondence with the Hotel we had asked for complete privacy, we just simply wanted to relax. Ankush told us later that this suite is usually given to the local guests who require such privacy. The Bedouin Suites look Octagonal in shape with a large Canopy giving the illusion of a Bedouin Tent. We entered into a lobby area which had a small table and chair where the Nespresso Coffee machine was placed, a Kettle with various Teas as well as a small fridge, hairdryer and bottled water with glasses. A nice touch was the complimentary Sherry in its decanter with two glasses. There were two other large double doors, one on the right hand side that led into the large bathroom, the other leading into the Bedroom/Sitting room. Each time I opened the double doors in the Suite I would always say “Open Sesame”……I don´t know why. The Bedroom/Sitting room was beautifully decorated. As you entered the room there was a large wooden wardrobe on the left hand side which incorporated the TV and DVD Player. To the right there was a “Huge” double bed with a Captains Sea chest at its foot with two bedside tables. In front of the Bed were situated two large chaise lounge chairs with a table between them. On the other side of the bed was a writing desk and chair. Between the bed and writing table was another double door which also took you into the Bathroom. There were four large sized double windows (three of them could be opened) which gave access to the outside decking and infinity-type private pool. The bathroom had a very large bathtub, a large glass doored shower, two wash basins with large mirror as well as a separate WC and bidet. The rooms were extremely clean with ample toweling and Toiletries. We were disappointed with the Decking area. There were two comfy sun loungers situated on the right side as well as a table and two chairs on the left. The partial view of the desert could be seen standing up, but in the pool or lying on the loungers very little could be seen. It was probably our fault for requesting privacy but we thought that privacy would also come with a view. This could have been communicated earlier in our various email correspondence. The Suite was very quiet with just the noise of buggies or a few cars entering and leaving the resort. The Air-conditioning unit was situated near the front of the Villa and can be heard when it kicks in. The pool in our suite was somewhat dated with various tiles missing as well as tiles which somebody had carelessly tried to reattach. As you could not look out onto a desert view your only option was to look at the small sand dunes as well as the shrubbery and the Villa itself. Unfortunately due to rain or maybe condensation there is staining on the Villa walls and the garden/ scrubs are in my opinion very poorly maintained. Dead leaves everywhere as well as the missing blue tiles scattered around in the sand. This particular area in this particular suite was certainly NOT acceptable and needs to be quickly rectified by senior management as it does not fulfill the expectations of its guests or of the resorts high standards. I gathered as many tiles from the garden as possible and laid them out on the pool side….they were taken away two days later. Housekeeping comes twice a day, to make the room in the morning and to turn down in the evening. A daily paper is also delivered. The resort has I believe 42 Villas offering full-board in the restaurant as well as in-Villa dining with the option (additional cost) of “Deck dining” where your meal will be served to you. There is also afternoon Tea and Coffee, as well as various snacks and drinks throughout the day served in the Bar area. This was all included in our Package. The quality of the food and service in the restaurant is exceptional. Even thinking about the Avocado-smoothie with Breakfast, the “7 Hours” braised Lamb shank (Oh that Gravy!!!) and Lobster Thermidor or Wagyu Beef fillet for evening meal, but the Sashimi starter with its Tuna, Salmon and fresh Scallops and spoon of caviar was just to die for. You should also try the Sri Lankan Dinner Menu. A big thank you to Srinivasan Nadarajan and ALL his Team…..Nikhil, Aruni, Pam, Dhan and Naresh to name just a few. Thank you again for your hospitality in our private room on our special day. Breakfast is served from 07:00 till 10:30, Lunch from 12:30 till 14:30 (How anybody can eat three full meals a day is beyond me… would be in the restaurant all day) and evening Dinner was served from 19:30 till 22:00. Meals can be taken inside or out and casual dress (Gentlemen – Long trousers) for dinner is required. A pre-dinner drink in the bar on the veranda looking out onto the reserve and the water hole which is illuminated was quiet magical. A cold Belgium Leffe beer and the seaweed tempura was a great match. Not to mention the star of the show which was Ramil the barkeeper, a really great host! As we found that we could only get the sun in our villa from 07:00 till 09:300 and then again from 16:30 we headed off to the main Pool after Breakfast. Again, a beautiful facility with excellent attention to detail. Here we had the opportunity to see the Oryx and Gazelles grazing from the comfort of the large pool. To get around the resort, Buggies are recommended because of the wild animals especially the Oryx. We did not have to wait more than Five minutes for a Buggy from our Suite after dialing 0, especially as our Suite was far away from the Main building. Anything that you required you any had only to dial 0 for reception. Thanks here especially to Ankush and to Maria. We also went on two excursions with the South African guides which took one hour, the nature walk with Kurt and the Falconry were we discovered that Owls only turn their heads 270° and not 360° as in the cartoons. I think Oscar the Owl was just as awake as we were. You have to be at reception for 05:30 to start at 05:45. Service and hospitality at Al Maha is excellent and can only be highly recommended, as well as the quietness of its tranquil surroundings. When we return we will however be requesting another Suite. The staff recommend Suites 6, 11, 15, 23 and 35 for beautiful views. Oh and that Bed!!! Since we have returned home we have been inundated with various emails from Starwood (6) and the Hotel (2), 8 within the last 11 days. This seems to be a little bit too much marketing. September 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Get ready to be pampered! This hotel is AWESOME! Everything from the food to the furnishings is top of the line, and the service they provide is unsurpassed. My wife and I were in awe at the fantastic treatment provided. The individual villas are beautiful and romantic, and with the service they provide, the hotel goes out of its way to make you feel like you are the only ones staying at the resort. The food may very well be the best food I have ever had, and they have an excellent selection to choose from. I can't wait to stay at Al Maha again in the future. September 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made our 10th anniversary an experience of a lifetime After considering the Maldives and Mauritius for our 10th anniversary we decided to celebrate at Al-Maha and boy did it blow us away. Very little is left to imagination here, the service is worthy of a 7 star hotel and the food is straight out of the master chef tv series! Almost all ingredients are flown from abroad (I've been in their kitchen) and to top that off, the staff don't know how to say No to any request. Some of mine weren't standard procedure but they were all done with a wonderful smile on top. I thought the hotel was expensive but the rate is full board including all three meals (which makes sense because your a full hours drive from civilization), two activities i addition to unlimited room service!!! I also tried their tomeless spa, 10/10. No words can do this experience just. Thank you to the entire team at Al-Maha for making our stay an experience of a lifetime. August 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Grace and charm Heavenly! As a repeat guest, I can attest to this being a true resort hotel. The staff are all professional and friendly. Special kudos go to everyone in the restaurant. They have never failed to make us feel warm and welcome. The activities are conducted well and the few issues that I had were prompted resolved. The Al Maha is a fine example of what hospitality should and can be. Please don't ever change. August 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience Best hotel in terms of privacy, suites, customer focus and staff. The hotel is in harmony with the nature and animals. We very much appreciated the great staff and how they cared about us. Acitivities are very interesting and the guides are always ready to answer questions and help. Overall very professional staff. Excellent cuisine. However we would have appreciated more variety on the menu card. August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Resort; The spa is for young people!! I loved my stay at Al Maha, as usual, great staff and great services. I often go to the spa whilst I am there and for the first time decided to find the Jacuzzi along with my husband. We have decided the jacuzzi is for young athletic people not for more mature persons. The steps are very deep and the hand rail is not very practical. August 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by the hotel excellent The hotel excellent it's really nice place I enjoyed a lot. August 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by attention to events. Had a great three day stay there. staff were friendly but need to pay attention to outdoor events, in particular, as the Eagle flying event was too short and sundowner during camel ride was rushed... Restaurant staff were superb.... Going to the spa is a must here... August 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding (again!) Al Maha continues to deliver a unique guest experience from falconry in the early morning to fine dining in the evening with a menu specifically designed by the excellent chefs. Staff are attentive and service is off a high standard and tailored to your personal needs. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay wonderful! August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel is simply amazing Me and my wife had a blast honeymoon in the hotel and we were grateful for the wonderful compliments. The activities enriched our stay there leaving us with unforgettable memories. The spa treatments were extremly relaxing however I would recommend larger rooms to help in relaxing more. I already did recommend the hotel to my friends and family members although we just left because of the wonderful experience. August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfection This resort for us is perfect, great weather, great food, great hospitality and great privacy. August 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by With my daughter Great place. Best to relax. Very quiet. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best of the Best We spent 13 nights in this magnificent resort. This is sanctuary in the desert, It really is the place to relax and unwind. The food was exquisite. We would like to convey our gratitude to Head Chef David, Sous Chef Peter and all the restaurant team. The activities where wonderful, we really enjoyed the falcon display and the camel rides. A big thank you to all the members of staff at the Al Maha, whilst we didn't get to know you all by name, we really did appreciate your hard work which resulted in making it such a special vacacion for us. Best wishes to Naresh, Hussein, Ankush and La Roux. Thank you for everything, fingers crossed we shall return next year to relive the Al Maha experience once more. July 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Oasis This hotel was on all points above my expectations. Geat location, privacy of the room, quality of the food, kindness of the staff.... One very small possible improvement : the coktails are not great...not at the level of the rest of the food / beverages July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantasy in the desert Great and magical experience June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Desert Escape Al Maha is a beautiful resort in the middle of the desert. It is very romantic, quiet and peaceful. The food is excellent and the staff are very nice, doing their best to please the guests. June 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pampered and Priviliged Just wonderful - suites, service, views, animals, food, activities, spa. Just wish we had longer! June 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderfully relaxing stay We enjoyed a wonderfully relaxing 9 night stay at our friendly "home from home". The hotel staff catered for our every need in a wonderfully friendly and professional manner. We can't wait to return again later this year. June 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A charming rustic resort within an undisturbed desert landscape Even though the age of the resort is evident compared to other desert escapes within the UAE, Al Maha has character and charm that you will rarely find in a country which has transformed itself into an ever evolving cosmopolitan hub. The beautiful undisturbed desert landscape coupled with freely roaming wildlife within the resort helps to make a stay a highly unique and memorable experience. Even though there were a couple of minor incidents which could have upset the balance of our stay, the ever enthusiastic staff and management quickly responded and made sure that the issues were resolved and our stay enhanced. Thank you. June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxed luxury away from it all spent 4 nights in this wonderful resort away from the crowds of the city.. an oasis of peace and tranquility where you can relax and unwind.. The food was excellent a big thank you to all the kitchen staff. In fact a big thank you to all staff .. a great team from the maintenance staff to the General manager ...The activities where wonderful the falcon display, the camel ride to watch the sun set, and the dune bashing !! what a view ,,, Archery was a first for us both and i think more practice is needed.. hopefully we will improve when we return which I'm sure we will, Thanks for a fantastic break. June 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location, Location, Location! The hotel is wonderful! Only the waiters should be trained better. June 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Restaurant Service Needs Additional Attention While I think the resort is beautiful and very relaxing, there were some details that I found rather disappointing: 1. Arrival experience. I was not contacted by the hotel to be told I have to call when I arrive at the gate. I had some friends who were staying there last weekend and they were contacted; I wonder why there is no consistency in the service; one would expect that from a luxury collection hotel. You might answer that is because we did not book directly with the hotel – I don’t believe that is a good-enough reason. I booked through Expedia and my email address was there. So there we were, arriving to a 5 star resort, we get to the gate and the security person says “Did you call the hotel?”. I answer “No, was I supposed to?”. I had no idea we were going to be picked up by a member of your staff and since the hotel did not inform us, we had to wait for about 20 minutes in the parking lot/guest waiting room. I must tell you that the guest waiting room needs some attention, since it is not at all a 5 star facility. I am not sure when was the last time you did an assessment of that room, but I would recommend that you renovate it. It is not really promising when you have to wait in a room like that. 2. Dining experience. a. Dinner. While the food quality was very good, again I noticed a certain lack of consistency in the service and a VERY slow service. We were having dinner with our friends, another couple. We sat down and it took forever to get menus and another considerable amount of time to order. Also, other guests were given wet towels, we were not – you can understand it is not nice when you notice that. b. Breakfast. Again, the food was very good; however, a few observations for the service, that I would expect from such a resort. Both my husband and I wanted fresh lemonade; the server asked each of us whether we want it sweet or not. I said I wanted mine sour and my husband said he wanted his sweet. Well, when the lemonades arrived, they were both sweet. They were good, we drank them but again, I would expect that when I am asked about my preference, that is taken into account. c. Lunch. Again, lack of consistency and very slow. All guests received cold towels, we did not. We waited 15 minutes until somebody took our order and I had to wait for 10 minutes for a glass of sparkling water. When one goes to a luxury collection resort, one expects attention to details. I believe your restaurant service staff needs a little bit more training for this. You should also treat all your guests with the same attention, regardless how they reserved the room - not call some one day before but fail to inform others about the arrival protocol. May 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can understand why guests come back here Great location -- a gigantic room with a private pool in the middle of the dessert Excellent service -- everyone made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived Plus great field trips to choose from with informative guides! May 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Al Maha Exceeded All Expectations Having read glowing reviews of Al Maha we came with very high expectations - we were not disappointed. From the warm and friendly welcoming on our arrival to the exceptionally well managed departure, staying at Al Maha was a delight. We have never encountered such friendly and knowledgeable staff - from the housekeeping team through to senior management - we were always greeted by name (even from staff we had not met!) and nothing was too much trouble. This is by far one of, if not the best hotel experience both my wife and I have had and are already planning a visit for next year. Special thanks to our guide, Gerard. His knowledge was exemplary and we now have a much better understanding of the desert animals, reptiles, birds, flora and fauna. Our one to one time with him in the desert made our stay even more memorable. May 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relax in the nature We stayed as a couple one month ago. As a professional from the hotel industry I enjoyed the stay and noticed as well certain details. lThe resort is beautiful, the suites are amazing, top class amenities, the private pool is definetely a gem! The Spa was very nice, the therapist was professional and very kind (hot stone massage for lady, I forgot her name unfortunately). We ordered room service and the quality of the food was 5 *, only to mention that the server forgot the bread and some other items so he had to come back. For breakfast, drinks order took quite long time (+ 15 minutes) considering we were almost the last table. And then the first evening for the turn down service, they came to the suite just 5 minutes before we were picked up for our Spa Treatments, which I found not very organized. With limited quantity of suites, they could have checked activities before going, in order to give a more personalized service. Overall, the place is fantastic, ideal to relax and disconnect from crazy Dubai. Looking foward to come back! May 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by magnificient Had an absolute wonderful time, great spot to relax, enjoy nature, its surrounding and the service was impeccable. May 17, 2013
  • 2015-10-12T06:14:56.445-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_188, tr_188
  • loc_en_US, sid_3081, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>