Le Méridien Chiang Rai Resort, Thailand

  • 221 / 2 Moo 20 Kwaewai Road,
  • Tambon Robwieng, Amphur Muang
  • Chiang Rai,
  • 57000
  • Thailand
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 13 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 13 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 143 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exellent Nice hotel. Very good value for money during the summer July 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A 5-star GM and team! This is a 5-star hotel for Northern Thailand, bearing in mind its remote location and the difficulty the resort has with 'finding good help'. This includes construction, which is happening right now with a major reception/banquet facility being built necessitating the closure of a good number of rooms. I was there for almost two weeks and can say that in spite of the heavy site work and building, I barely heard a sound, and I hurt my back and was holed up most of the stay. The Thai people in the north are playful, determined, and extremely proud of their heritage, which is heavily infused with highly ethical and well-intended Buddhist precepts. This means you will find the staff even more apt to try to help you, and when I was rolling around for a few days in a wheelchair, they were like family to me. I asked for a room by the pool and got one. It was far from the kitchen and I was ordering room service for every meal. When the food wasn't perfect, I let them know and on more than one occasion the meal was paid for by management and the head of culinary operations personally called to see if things were okay. It didn't stop there: the GM not only personally spent time with us in trying to plan cycling trips (until I hurt my back), but also was on hand when things got ugly for me to ensure nothing was left to chance. The icing on the cake was when we transferred to a sister property, Le Meridien Chiang Mai: the GM personally saw to the proper storage of our bicycles in the hotel limo, and had a bucket of ice and beer set up for me in case I experienced any pain. I think every property can stand improvement and in this one's case, it is really more about just letting the ongoing updates to the facilities take hold as each week goes by. As I understand it, newly renovated rooms by the score are about to be rolled out, but the room we stayed in was just fine. This hotel is as good as it gets in Chiang Rai and for the money, it is hands down a killer bargain. Skip the south and head north! July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel in Chang Rai We enjoyed our stay at the hotel, it was clean and the food was above average. The price in the room rate offseason was reasonable and the food prices at the hotel were good compared to the high prices you find at most resort hotels. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for family getaway Beautiful hotel for vacation July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location by River Kok. For a relaxing and peaceful holiday Le Meridien is located in an ideal position along side the River Kok and not far from Chiang Rai town centre. The spacious gardens make for a wonderful walk to exercise. The gym is well equipped and has 24 hour access. The resort offers an ideal location to visit the wonders of Northern Thailand and day trips to Myanmar and Laos. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply the Best in Chiang Rai When I fly into Chiang Rai I immediately feel at home here. I have stayed 2 times at Le Meridian Chiang Rai and I would not think of going to another hotel. My SPG receptionist greets me and I am given the Golden Preferred treatment all the way to an upgraded Platinum Suite. I look forward to my return after every visit. The breakfast is Superb!! The room view's are breathtaking, All the rooms in this hotel are excellent. I look forward to sitting out by the Infinity pool next to the river. The free WiFi keep's my business running as if I was back at my desk. 5 Stars for the Best Hotel in Chiang Rai and the whole North of Thailand. December 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 4.5 stars The cocktail staff in Latitude 19 and the dining staff at Favola performed their job with an excellent flair and superb attention to detail. The dining room staff at breakfast left a little to be desired... and a little bit of a smile from them would have helped cheer us up in the morning to start the day! The Front Desk staff on two occasions seemed befuddled and disorganized during check-out. The room was comfortable and very well maintained. The Starwood Platinum Ameniities were also excellent and very much appreciated. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing hotel Wonderful property on the river outside Chiang Rai. Good platinum recognition and inexpensive dining. Location is perfect for exploring the Golden Triangle. Justin and his staff have done a great job. October 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful and Serene We stayed at the LM Chiang Rai for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon in Thailand. We should have stayed there at the end of our trip, because this hotel set the bar very high for the rest of our destinations! The property is very beautiful and serene. As an SPG Platinum member, we were upgraded to a Grand Suite, which was very large with high ceilings, big bathroom with separate tub (big enough for two!) and large shower. The bed was VERY comfortable and the linens were some of the softest I have slept on. The staff was very welcoming and friendly, and spoke good english. The breakfast (compliementary with our Plantinum status) was wonderful each morning with made-to-order omelettes, crepes, etc, as well as a large selection of both eastern and western items. This property is a bit off the main center of town, but it is only at 200 baht taxi ride to town. The food and drink at the hotel was a bit expensive compared to the local area, but on par for a 5 star hotel. One other nice feature for Platinum guests was a complimentary drink each day at the bar. We stayed at 2 other Le Meridiens in Thailand during our trip, and neither other hotel offered this amenity. Overall, great hotel, quiet, good for couples, honeymooners. November 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel This is by far the best hotel in Chiang Rai. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nothing is too much trouble My husband and I decided to see what Chang Rai had to offer. We were pleasantly surprised to find Le Meridien there and decided to stay for 3 nights. What a wonderful time we had there! We celebrated New Year's Eve there and had the best night with wonderful food, drinks and entertainment. The staff went out of their way to make sure everyone had a great time. The trio of Justin, Renhaud & Whan were unbelievable with their service - nothing was a bother - they all deserve a medal! All the staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly. We stayed in and ate at the hotel for the whole trip - we were so relaxed we did not want to leave. we will definitely be back! Thanks to all the team. January 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Peace of mind place Very peaceful place. Friendly staffs with magnificant buffet & breakfast. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lives up to expectations My wife and I recently stay at Le Meridian, Chiang Rai for 4 lovely nights. The physical plant is stunning and staff were professional, as expected. Breakfast buffet was good and room comfort quite nice. We did have some issues with the a/c not keeping up with the, very warm temperature outside. The staff made every attempt to remedy the situation, including moving us, however the room never got cool enough for us. This normally would have been a "deal breaker" but despite this glitch, we would highly recommend this property. Favola restaurant at the resort was great and all other aspects of the place are 5 star. We've stayed at many 5 star throughout Thailand and found the value to be excellent. June 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect In Every Way This was the fourth time we have stayed at the Le Meridien Chiang Rai and it was the most memorable so far. The standards of the resort seemed to have increased with guest satisfaction an obvious priority for management. I was particularly impressed with the personal contact we received by all staff, particularly the different heads of department. The general manager, food and beverage manager and executive chef all made the visit just that little more special with personal contact each day. The resort is beautifully laid out and situated on a private section of the local river. The atmosphere is very relaxed and calm, the perfect place to unwind and enjoy your holiday. The swimming pool is fantastic and large enough for all guests to have their private space. The poolside service is quite good, much improved from our previous stays. As usual the resort was in perfect condition with well kept gardens and clean rooms. We were particularly lucky with the weather and took full advantage of the impressive pool area. Also worth noting is the extra services the resort provides such as a fully equipped children's playroom with staff, the gym also has a trainer there to help with workouts and there are outdoor activities provided for guests each day such as yoga, volleyball and archery. The restaurants at the resort are fantastic. The executive chef went out of his way to make sure there wasn't anything in particular we desired. Each of our meals was more than satisfactory with some particularly noteworthy. The morning breakfast buffet is a culinary feast with something to suit all tastes. Unfortunately we weren't there to try but I hear the Sunday buffet is well worth going along to with a delicious spread of seafood and international cuisine. Originally we only planned on staying at the resort for two nights but that was quickly extended for an extra night and then once again, totally four nights. I think that speaks for itself as far as the satisfaction with our stay. After our last stay I can only say the Le Meridien is a great option for the Chiang Rai area and we can't wait to return soon! Special thanks to Malcom, Renaud and Kuan. November 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of SPG's best We took a vacation with 7 other staff members for a week long getaway. This hotel met all of our expectations. I was somewhat worried when I saw that this hotel only had a SPG level 2 rating, but this hotel is definitely SPG level 7. There was a major conference going on at the hotel the same time that we were there, but they made us feel as if we were the only people in the entire place. I cannot say enough about how wonderful the staff, rooms, and location are. This was one of the best SPG vacations we have taken over the past 3 years! January 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Tucked-Away Place I stayed at the Chian Rai Le Meridien for one night and it was a fantastic experience. My party ate at the Italian restaurant on site which had great food. My only complaint was they are currently renovating their main ballroom and the noise from the construction made doing work or just relaxing during the day difficult. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service Excellent service all over area of the hotel , Front Desk, Favola amd Latest Recipe. Love to be here and hope I will come back to stay here again. June 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relaxing Hotel with a special flair This is my 3rd stay and as a SPG Platinum member I was upgraded to the Grand Deluxe room. We like the spacious room and the balcony as it overlooks the pool and the river. As a benefit we enjoyed the Happy hour in the bar from 5-7pm. There was also a good selection of appetizers brought on a tray to us which we really liked and enjoyed. If you come later than 7pm you can still get two drinks. The staff lady that works in the bar most days is excellent with guests. She has a God given talent to interact with guests in a very natural way and makes everyone feel welcome and special. I observed her with other guests as well. There was a function next to the pool on Sunday morning and just as the GM had promised in a prior letter it was NOT disruptive. Food and service in Favola is great. As a suggestion, I do miss a complimentary Sauna. January 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by stunning setting, lovely hardware, but slight service glitches The riverside setting of the hotel is stunning! Though it was too cold to swim, the poolside deck (and outdoor pools) look very inviting. Rooms are big with sundecks big enough to catch a sneaky snooze. The only problem we had was with service -- re housekeeping: earbuds in the bathroom weren't replenished, coffee cups cleared away weren't replaced, nor were the in-room breakfast menu. Speaking of which, the two mornings we ordered breakkie in bed, identical sets came out totally different (ie. 2 pastry baskets + 1 fruit plate vs. 2 fruit + 1 pastry). Food at Favola was great, but service was quite frazzled and really slow. That said, when we went earlier in the evening to just have a drink, the service was attentive and swift. Made use of the concierge a few times, who deserve special mention as they're all warm, courteous and efficient! All in all, would recommend it because the hotel itself is so lovely, but not to guests who get irked easily by service flaws. January 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great resort in Chiang Rai Very spacious and modern rooms and bathrooms with views of the grounds and river beyond. Outstanding facilities. Great western and Thai breakfast selection. More unusual and discerning Thai dishes on dinner menu. Overall fantastic stay with very accommodating and helpful staff. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent & gracious staff Thank you so much for a pleasant & very enjoyable experience. The property is superb, the head of food & beverage is most gracious and excellent and the rest of the staff is also excellent. When in the area again we will want to stay here again. June 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Currency exchange rip off I just spent 3 wonderful days here, but when checking out things went south. They are ripping off customers over 10% in exchange rate conversions. I have lived in Thailand for the last 11 years and always pay for my stays in baht using my credit card.. Well today was a new lesson in getting ripped off. The cash and points published rate is $30 and the hotel used a conversion rate of 27 baht to the dollar when todays true exchange rate is 31 27. I could understand a one baht difference in rate conversion, but 4 baht is extreme. Front desk personnel at check out had no explaination for the rate and could not explain why the rate was so low. Hotel management should take a good look at how they are doing the rate conversons when the rates are stated in Dollars, and then changed to thier own self determined exchange rate. If you live in Thailand most hotel rates are in baht, and you are always asked how you want to pay the bill when checking out, dollars or baht. It is always better to pay in baht as you get the best exhange rate. The problem arises when the rate is published in US dollars, and the hotel comes up with their own exchange rate January 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great outdoors The hotel is spectacular. The pool, the dining room, everything is great. October 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location I was very pleased with the location, staff, and overall amenities. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW wow what a property! I was only initially going to be here for a few days but ended up staying for 2 weeks b/c it was so comfortable. I was upgraded to the grand suite. Had a great view of the pool and the balcony was terrific. The staff were super friendly and I got to know quite a few of them while I was there. One thing to note is that it is trek from the center of town so you should rent a motorbike. That should cost about 200-250BAHT / DAY for a nice shiny new bike. I learned to ride while I was there and it made my life much more interesting. The breakfast is also good if not a bit pricey but hey if you're on vaca splurge a little. March 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by SPG Award members be aware Generally speaking the hotel and amenaties were very good, with the staff going out of thier way to try to solve my problems. I had booked 3 free night awards then used 3 suite upgrades. Now as a platimum member with over a 100 night stays this year I would normally recieve a upgraded room. Which is exactly what I got on arraval, but what about my suite night awards? My booking quite clearly showed a suite it staed seperate room with sofa ect. However according to the hotel they only had one suite and that was occupied. Eventually after some persistance we came to an arrangement where I had a normal room for 1 night and a suite for 2 (but it still cost me 3 suite night awards) so be aware when using your award nights you may not get what you have booked. Everything else was excellent except for our 1 day tour. We had booked a half day tour followed by a full day tour. The half day tour was excellent however the guide tried to persuade us we had booked the wrong tour for the full day. He was very persistant even to the extend that when we had not changed our tour to his recommendation by the next morning that he told the hotel staff our booking was wrong and needed to be changed. Being on holiday and already being a bit flustrated by this I decided not to push the matter and accept his advice (you don't what to start the day with an arguement) The trip turned out to be just the oposite of the day before it was not good and by 11 in the morning it was virtually finished. Ok we had lunch and then drove past the place I wanted to visit and were taken to some place to buy things we had no interest in for the next 2 hours but by 3 we were back in the hotel Hot, bored and not very happy that the full day trip was really a half day trip to a not particuarly interesting location.that we had not asked to visit in the first place. August 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little over price with minimal services We had stayed at the hotel one night. We arrived at late evening and were welcome and checked in to our room. The room was big, clean and comfortable however the bathroom amenities were not sufficient. We were provided with only one soap gel we knew we could asked for more but we did not bother as we stayed only one night and would leave early next day. There was no facial towel nor slippers provided in the room. We thought it was because we exchanged SPG points for our stay and some amenities were cut down to save cost. If we had to pay full price for our stay we would not choose to stay here again. Staff was friendly and helpful. October 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Idyllic but somehow soul-less Great Room, great staff but lacks any "Thai-ness" which you can reasonably expect in Thailand. Too much corporate policy, too little individual identity, meaning that you feel you could be in Texas, not Thailand. Charging for in-room WiFi at a luxury hotel was an unpleasant surprise, as was the charge for the shuttle (stated as free on the website on the day we arrived). Breakfast was good, the Italian restaurant also very nice. The concierge helpful, rooms well-appointed and in order....in room coffee making facility but no coffee provided...funny, huh? April 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Location in Chiang Mai Stayed in an Executive Suite on the 19th floor. All of these suites are on the corner so you have great views on two sides of the building. Room was extremely spacious and in great shape (didn't see any evidence that the rooms were "tired"). Club room had one of the best breakfasts I've seen in a Club. Great variety and able to order a hot entree. As to location, you can't beat it unless you're looking for total peace and quiet -this is right in the middle of the action. Staff was very helpful and courteous - no complaints at all. Did not try any of the in-house restaurants or the pool. January 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chiang Rai Heaven OMG....this resort is absolutely exquisite, pure luxury and indulgence in the most beautiful part of the region. We loved, loved, loved the staff, especially Mr. Jimmy (MWAH!) and could not have asked for anything more than the wonderful weekend spent relaxing at the resort. Every detail you can imagine is included in this resort - we walked in on a Friday evening and felt immediately like princesses! The resort offers free shuttle service to and from town and staff literally bent over backwards to ensure every need or want was immediately addressed. When we visit Thailand again, we will base our entire trip from this resort location, it was that fabulous. The experience of a lifetime, for sure! December 14, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>