W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

  • State Road 200,
  • KM 3.2 - HC-1 Box 9368
  • Vieques Island,
  • Puerto Rico
  • 00765
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Minimum Age for Check-in

Guests must be 21 years or older with a valid photo ID to check-in.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 254 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hard Product Great, Service Needs Improvement First impressions here weren't great, as the check in procedure was just too "confused". I had my Your24 early check in approved, but Suite Night upgrade rejected. When we got there at 10:00AM, we were told that no, our room wasn't ready, but they were upgrading us to a suite. Thanks a lot, but would have been nice to let us know and I could have slept in in San Juan! The upgraded room, when we finally got it at 3:00PM, was beautiful, but the whole attitude marred the experience, especially considering I was impressed at the concierge getting in touch ahead of my stay, to advise of the dining options on the island, and activities... Anyway, the suite was very nice, huge, with a sea view, and set away from the main pool area. Ask for this section if you don't have children as it's much more quiet. There was a lovely porch area with long chairs and hammock, with sea view where the wild horses would sometimes come by grazing. Contrary to other reviewers, I actually liked the beaches here, it felt very quiet and private, and much better than the cut-throat scene at the pool, with people wrestling for chairs... Two further mishaps marred our experience: we tried to have dinner at Sorcé, and the restaurant was about 1/3 full, when the hostess attempted to turn us down by saying they had a 13-people table coming and they wanted to ensure the best level of service for us, and therefore they couldn't accommodate us. Hello?? The restaurant would still have been half empty! We insisted, and when the party of 13 showed up, half of it was children, so its not even like they were serving champagne for everyone! I would be furious if I was the owner of this restaurant. On another occasion, they did help us out by sending an "ambassador" to pick us up in the middle of the night after we were left stranded after a late bio bay tour, although they could have warned us ahead to let us know we'd have trouble finding taxis at this time. In conclusion, this is probably the most beautiful W I've stayed at, but better attitude and a more proactive staff could really make a difference. December 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent resort but as couple bad experiences This was an excellent resort. Property was fantastic. Pools were awesome. Grounds well maintained. Location perfect. Resort fee entitles you to many activities at no additional cost, such as snorkel, kayak, beach volleyball, tubing, and more. Pick-up service and airside lounge was very unique and great amenity. SPG status was recognized and upgraded to a a great suite. The downsides 1. Room was awesome, however it had a smell that resembled old cat/dog urine. I'm not sure if someone had a pet in there, or it was from humidity, but the smell was not good. 2. Spa: Looked forward to spa as I visit the Bliss spa's on a monthly basis. My favorite. This resort does not have a Bliss Spa, it is home away. The mani/pedi service was FAR from bliss experience. For the cost of that mani/pedi I could have done better myself. Spent more time taking off old polish than doing the new. No foot scrub or massage, etc. Just a very basic service. 3. Dining - Dining was not good. I had dinner reservations at the onsite hotel. It took over 1 ½ hours for meal to arrive. Then it was cold and dry, not very flavorful. (I had the most expensive Filet Mignon and Lobster). The waiter seemed like he didn't care. Was kinda rude and service was not all that great. However, when we talked to the dining manager, he informed us he had about 10 complaints just that evening from guests. The restaurant was severely constrained and he apologized. He then finished waiting on us personally, comp'd one of the meals and offered us drinks or anything to help rectify the issue. Manager did a great job trying to resolve the issue, but I just wish it didn't get to that point. 4. Wet Deck @ night - Not a complaint, but a bummer. I stay at W's all over the country on a weekly basis. I'm used to the nightlife scene at W Bar and especially the Wet Deck. I was looking forward to Wet Deck having a nightlife, music, people hanging out and partying. Didn't happen. The WET deck closed down when sun went down. Bar wasn't open, no body outside, all the lights was out. Resort was dead. I would think have the pool bar open and some music would be nice to mix and mingle in the evening. Other than that, the resort is fabulous. And I look forward to staying again. February 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Over Rated I travel about 60 nights a year so I am not writing as a novice when it comes to destination locations and quality travel. The island and property is very nice. In my opinion, this is below "W quality" (or even Westin) in several categories. 1. I am still wondering what is included in the $60.00 per person resort fee… No steam-sauna, no dry-sauna, no jacuzzi… The health club is smaller then most corporate hotels… the pool is very nice but very small for the amount guest. 2. The most disappointing thing is the advertised "high-speed internet" I am serious when I tell you that, "I am downloading ONE page-a-minute, at best." I have tried three different devices, a new iPad, Mac-Air and iPhone. When I have called the front desk, they just refer me to some internet tech support, (Like I want to be on the phone with their foreign-tech support, trying to diagnose their internet deficiencies. 3. In addition, the food are very, very overpriced for the quality you receive. I believe the dining menu prices here are equal if not more expensive then any 4 hotel in Paris or Manhattan. I've just returned from spending 23 days in both these cities and did not pay more for a lunch or dinner. The good news is, my wife and daughter are happy to be here and that is very important to me. Thank you W. November 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Almost! All prior reservations, CAR, MASSAGE, BIO BAY, made and confirmed twice, did not exist when i arrived! I reserved a cabana upon arrival with front desk, they wrote it on a sticky note and never confirmed! Staff did not seem to care! Thank God for WADE at the front desk and Diane at Black beard, they seemed intent on helping.. The rooms smelled of urine! However, everything about the wedding was amazing. April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic! Our visit to this hotel was one of the unexpected highlights of our trip to Puerto Rico! We have traveled to many hotels all over the world and the W on Vieques Island is extremely unique and enjoyable. The facilities are great but what sets it apart is the staff. All were very professional and friendly and were able to make us comfortable upon setting foot in the lobby until we left for the main island. There are so many things to enjoy on this island and the W is one of them! February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful W Vieques We had a wonderful weekend! The only thing i can complain and you should take care of is the lack of real espresso coffee, i This is a standard feature in good restaurants and hotels, and i cosider that it could be an excellent add on to offer an array of coffes like the high quality coffees of PR, espresso, frappuccino,etc. Plain bland american coffee is not acceptable We loved the airport lounge June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Private beach, great pool, fantastic relaxation If you're considering this hotel, just do it; this is the best category 6 hotel I have ever stayed in! Greg and his team do a fantastic job of making you feel welcome and comfortable. The prices for food/drinks is not as bad as many resorts I have been to and if you stick to the special mojitos they make at the pool, then you won't be disappointed with the bang-for-your-buck (strongly recommend the mango version)! Blaine and Karif will take amazing care of you at the pool - recommend asking for them by name to serve you! Last comment: the view is incredible. What they call a "partial ocean view" is about 80% ocean and 20% beautiful trees and nature. Only bad part was that our air conditioner broke down one night which made our room get very warm. It was an inconvenience but obviously out of the (reasonable) control of the hotel. They got it fixed promptly and made it up to us, so no complaints overall. July 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 Good dining, poor service. The food was great. However, we were disappointed by the service provided by Jose on Wednesday around 8:30 PM. He was not willing to accept changes to the main courses. He indicated that the Chef does not allow changes. Also, we asked for some room service but the alternatives were very limited. This means that the "Whatever you want, whenever you want" is not right for this location. August 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Redefining vacations This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. From the moment you arrive at the airport you are greeted with cocktails. The entire staff at the hotel is so helpful and just plain cool. Robert, the concierge, took care of us every day. Orlando at the bar drew us a map to a local secret beach. Amazing. November 10, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Has potential The grounds are beautiful, and so are the rooms. It's almost everything you want it to be. But, why was there only one bar of soap in the room when there was a sink that was separate from the shower which was separate from the bath tub? The toiletries were not replenished until the day before I left and then they didn't replace the shampoo. I hung my towels up everyday, and everyday they took my towels and didn't replace them until the next day. When I spilled water on the floor, I grabbed a hand towel to mop it up and the towel turned brown...I had never walked on that part of the floor as it was next to the bath tub. There is a complimentary bottle of water in your room, for two people, and they don't replace it...but when I asked at the front desk if you only get one complimentary bottle of water, they said no. That night they replaced the water, but it didn't happen every night. We had 3 rooms between us, and the first night we were there one of the rooms came back to chocolates when their room was turned down for the evening. That happened in their room one other time in the five nights we were there...the other two rooms never got chocolate! There is complimentary coffee in the morning until 10...the cups they have at the coffee pot are very small, ~6oz, and there are no lids. By the time you took it back to your room it would be cold. At night there is a free drink from 6 - 6:30...again it's a small cup and your only allowed to have one. I know these are little things, but it's the attention to these little things that make or brake ones opinion. For the amount of money one pays to stay here, these things should not be happening. Would I recommend this hotel...if you don't mind calling the front desk everyday, I'm thinking they would fix all the little things...it is a beautiful place and there is nothing else like it on Vieques. February 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Underwhelmed The hotel location was INCREIDBLE!!! However, don't call down and request anything, because you will never get it i.e. towels, room service, etc. We have a malfunctioning television that never got fixed, we were charged for bar and food which we never touched. It took them 3 weeks to credit back my credit card. Spend your time and money at other resorts April 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Check this place out Amazing quiet resort with great views, pools, spa, beach, etc. loved the atmosphere of the lobby and rooms. Resort not too big where you get lost. Great designed rooms. 4 nights was plenty as there was not too much to do at night on this small island. Biolumescent bay a must. Pools were nice and warm. Check out the plunge pool. Mojitos were tasty. March 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing grounds We loved our stay at the W on Vieques. We were there a week and it was wonderful. All of the staff that we had contact with were very helpful. The one thing that seemed off was the fact that when the housekeeping staff came in daily they didn't leave more shampoo/soap, etc...or clean towels. We had to call daily to get those extra items that we were missing. Seems like it would be less work for the staff if the people in the room daily did that. February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing place with a few minor missing amenities I cant say enough good things about the place. Would go there again in a heart beat. they do not have a Jacuzzi- I find this extremely odd for a resort of this caliber. Also the music they had playing at the pool and their lounge the Living Room, was the worst elevator music you could imagine. Minor issues. Amazing place otherwise. December 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great but not a place for kids - Hotel should make this clear I traveled quite a lot and have been in several beach properties, from Maldives to Greek islands to view is organized under several titles for easy reference: W Hotel Service: their slogan is "whatever-whenever and it literally is. Service was great, staff was very friendly, they never say "no" to any request." W hotel location: It is on the windy side of the island. The otehr side is much calmer. Having said that to have a breeze when you are drinking your coctatil by the pool/ or your balcony is nice. W hotel food: food is mediocre. One would expect better food (especially where there is not many other place that you can find decent food outside the hotel) there are several reviews mentioning food is expensive but what do they expect when they are in an island. all teh costs are higher in an island (whether it is a Greek island or an island in South East Asia) The resoruces are scarce and transportation is costly so the food is on the expensive side. W hotel wi-fi: yes it does not work properly but who needs internet in a place like heaven W hotel design: It is very nice, relaxing, romantic place. You can relax in one of the big chairs with a spectacular ocean view. Very nice choice of colors, furniture, design. W hotel - kids: It was a great place however do not go with kids. it is not a kids place at all. My son was bored to death. there is no single thing for kids, no water fountains, no kids pool, no playgorund, no single activity. W should note this in theri website. I also specifically called the hotel before I go to ask whether they have nanny services. they said yes. however when I arrived, they provided me a local newspaper with an advertisement of a nanny and told me to call. they do not even arrange the nanny becaue they do not want to take any liability. How can I leave my child to someone from an island that I do not know. Big mistake to go with kids. Otherwise go with your special someone and you would have your best romantic time. island: there are several public beaches on the opposite side of the island. Those beaches ara mazing, stunning. So natural, no development. It is like heaven. A must go. And do not forget to reserve your rental car before you go becaue you would need it. December 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by My impression for me and my clients I was thrilled to have the opportunity to visit the W and was quite impressed with the lobby, the reception and the eco friendly environment. The staff was exceptional and was always available to provide the best experience. The room was quite nice and spacious. In the evening is where i found a few issues that would make me reconsider sending specific clients. I found the lighting to be quite poor, e.g. i could not make out my room number and there was no lighting to the entrance of my room, hence i found myself walking up to the different rooms until i found my room. Also, in the evening, as i slept and wanted to go to the bathroom there was no visibility, so I found myself walking into the divider that separated the bathtub from the main room. I walked into the bathroom door and bumbped my head. The restaurant was lovely, although I found the food not to be on par with the property. Apetizers were great. All in all it was a lovely experience and look forward to returning. February 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This will soon become one of the top W's in the system Like most W's, this property is not for everyone. But for those who want something away from kids camps, 20somethings on a booze binge and retirees lugging their cooler around will enjoy this W. (As with most W's no one looked twice at the occasional male couples holding hands on the beach.) The atmosphere is upscale, but not stuffy or snobby in the least. Very relaxed. As others have said, the hotel, pool, beach and location are stunning. Rooms are very well thought out. And of course you don't want to leave the W's bed. I'd say the only downside is service and it's all stuff that can and will get polished over time, which is why I think this property has the potential to become one of Starwood's top properties. Staff need training and to learn little touches can add up to make a big difference. Better notification of a wedding closing the pool is an example. They should remove the word Spa from the name. It's not a full-service spa in terms of facilities. But who'd come to this beautiful location to spend a day inside anyway? December 9, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by the location is great- the location is great- that alone is why i would recommend; but would prefer to have services that provided more of a "WOW" factor. W's around the world are supposed to make you feel like you are elite customer- here you feel like a regular patron. July 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVED This hotel The ONLY thing I did not like about this Resort is the proximity to other restaurants and bars on the island. You had to drive everywhere!! Sorce was a delicious restaurant but way pricey. The bar drinks were delicious but pricey as well. November 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recent Stay Although I wasn't thrilled with the food (save breakfast - top notch there), everything else was absolutely stellar. Rooms were great, the staff went above and beyond all expectations and I couldn't recommend staying here more. March 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing location, wonderful hospitality, beautiful setting Simply put, the hotel and location is beautiful and the staff will typically go out of their way to offer you a great experience. The rooms are simply, yet expertly, designed in a way that feels grounded to the island. Every morning we would wake up, watch the sunrise and feel like we're the only ones at the resort. Tranquility reigns king here. The facilities were great, too. Good gym with options for morning yoga. Occasionally it'll get busy in the morning, but it's still a decent size and open 24 hours. The pool is great, too. There are some standouts from a personnel perspective. Edgardo is one of the most helpful Welcome Desk reps I've ever met - he took GREAT care of us during our stay, from room requests to island-specific pointers. He was great. Veronica was the nicest person and most attentive of the staff poolside. There is some improvement opportunity with the food, though. I'd expect nothing less than consistency, and at times we'd order a plate back-to-back but the food was different each time. Small things, too, like rusted metal in the salt shaker (from the cap), no French press coffee available, drinks were inconsistent, etc. The staff would typically work to remedy the situation, but at a place like this you'd expect it to never happen. Now, would I go back again? You bet! I think the issues above are more representative of my expectations, not necessarily of the resort's capabilities. Personally, I would probably go during the off-season, when staff to guest ratio is a little more in your favor and, presumably, they're more engaged in upping the QA procedures. Overall, a few key staff members and a great hotel make this place a great destination. February 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent the resort is beautiful, with the usual W interiors. Excellent menu with adaptations of local foods. Blissful beach and pool side. The entire staff were friendly and helpful and professional. Very easy to get around the island, with a rental Jeep right on the site. Horses on the lawns by day and tree frogs in the trees by night. February 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good place to relax the hotel is a no children place... its good to relax, food needs to improve a little specially on the menu, the waiters needs training rush!!! but overall i a had a nice time!!! and alos needs a jacuzii... rush!!! February 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 3 Days in Paradise W Style Whisper Beach was awesome, the food and drinks exceeded expectations, and the W Staff was beyond friendly. The pool and pool area rock and the W lounge at the airport sets the mood right from the begining. August 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Problems since we arrived Even before arriving at the hotel we already had a bad experience at the airport when we were told that we were not registered at the hotel. We were allowed to use the bus even though they had no record of us. At the hotel it was the same story, we did not appear anywhere in their system, they finally realized that they had registered us for arrival one day later. Eventually we got a room, one that was not the type we had requested, and the cleanliness of the room left much to be desired. The replacement of cleaning products such as shampoo, cream, soap, etc , etc, was really poor. We asked for an ice bucket since the room did not have one, and only after four calls and an hour later did they bring one to the room. Upon leaving the hotel we were surprised with charges that we had not done, both in the room as well as in the pool bar. When we challenged the charges the lady who checked us told us she would check into these charges; almost a week later I am waiting still waiting for her reply. She had mentioned that maybe some other guests had written the numbers wrong, but that was the end of it. I hope some day they will eventually get back to us with a response. The person who served me both times only spoke English, so being a Spanish speaker I spoke with a Spanish speaking attendant who with an angry expression told me that the other person was waiting on me, and to basically leave them alone. I really found it amazing that the service was so bad, especially in a hotel of this category. I have to say also that the person who took us from the airport was very friendly at all times. Hotel facilities are beautiful and the rooms quite comfortable, it is unfortunate the customer service is so bad. July 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has excellent facilities and services If you are looking for a paradise for your vacation, this is the place to go. Vieques is a a paradise and W's facilities and service are the best. August 14, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Christmas weekend visit - 2013 Unfortunately, I would not either recommend or return to this property for the cost extracted. Despite the efforts of the staff, the property is in sad physical condition. Is it possible that management does not walk the property and see what needs to be corrected/improved - such as the driveway and the tennis courts? It is only four years old. How can a room for two have only two drawers for storing clothes and one hook for nightwear? For a $65/day facility charge, why is there only one organized yoga class at 0815. Security at the front gate for those with rent-a-cars was literally nonexistent; the front gate staff need training. One visit was one too many; will advise friends and associates. December 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mothers Day Retreat Josuet makes the difference at our arriving, and one girl at the pool (WET) bar was great and very accommodating and friendly, with our family May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nirvana This hotel has the friendliest, most service oriented staff. I treated them with smiles and they gave back with enthusiasm. This island is beautiful. The beaches are some of the best I've ever been. The roads are as if the Navy are still bombing (they are not) so you have to have a jeep if you want to beach-hop. We rented from the hotel. Be sure and check the Internet rate and mention it. We didn't use the hotel scuba company, Blackbeards, to dive because they only had beginner divers but I understand they are very good. The W has a wonderful hotel pool. The bar service was very good. There was happy hour from 4:30 - 5:30 with half price mojitos, rum punch, and discounted Medallas (local beer) and sangria. They offer a free daily drink from 6:00-6:30. Yes the drinks and food are expensive but considering this is a somewhat remote island their costs are higher than being on the mainland. We had a prime ocean front room that was huge. The decor is typical W decor. All greys. We had a huge shower and a large tin bathtub we didn't use because it looked uncomfortable. The breakfasts in Sorce were very good and the dinners were merely OK. The food in nearby Esperanza were outstanding. We were happy with this property and would love to go back. September 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recommended with reservations...Don't expect any standard service This was my second trip to the hotel and I go back for the location. I had a great stay my first time down despite the very mediocre food. The concierge in 2011, Hiram, was phenomenal and he made up for what the Front Desk and management lacked in attention to detail in 2011. This year the I had to go back to the front desk to let them know they had my reservation wrong, there was absolutely NO recognition of status and NO effort to do anything near what one would expect as general service: 1) In the 5 days of my stay, I had to call 3 different days to get my room cleaned (this was after 3pm each day) 2) I had to ask twice to get my towels changed because it was forgotten 3) They NEVER restocked water 4) Food remains mediocre. It is not bad but it is not so good that it merits the prices charged Honestly, it feels as if management is more worried about their financials and ops budget than providing service to their guest. They rely on the fact that they have a wonderful, beautiful, peaceful location and that they have an amazingly friendly service staff in the bars and restaurants and by the pool. Kudos still to Hiram for welcoming me back this year. He really represents what one expects from a W RETREAT and spa...too bad that Management hasn't pick up his zeal for service! December 14, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>