W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

  • State Road 200,
  • KM 3.2 - HC-1 Box 9368
  • Vieques Island,
  • Puerto Rico
  • 00765
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Minimum Age for Check-in

Guests must be 21 years or older with a valid photo ID to check-in.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 290 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great weekend! We had a excellent experince! The staff was responsive and super friendly. Special thanks to Edgardo Rosario and the manager on duty they went beyond to make our stay one of the best! July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Property! The W Vieques was everything that I could have possibly hoped for. From the moment we arrived at the hotel and were treated to a cocktail and canapes at the W Lounge at the little airport, to the smiling staff at the Welcome Desk, almost all of our needs were met. The only two issues that I would have is that the resort fee is a bit steep and the towels at the pool were not replenished nearly enough. That aside, the property is gorgeous, my masseuse gave me one of the best massages I've ever had, and the cocktails at Wet were divine. Highly recommend you check out this stunning property on this beautiful sleepy little island! November 24, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost five stars, would be 4.5 if the rating allowed it First, we had some hesitance after reading some reviews before we arrived, mainly on 1) food quality at the hotel and 2) service quality/attitude at the hotel. I would say that this was, pleasantly, "mostly wrong". There were little things (a little surliness at the cafe from one employee in particular, though nothing outwardly confrontational, missed/forgotten drinks at the pool, etc.) but I say little because they were certainly not 'in the main'. In the main, the staff was very warm, friendly and eager to please. Food quality was very good; in particular the menu breakfasts (the buffet breakfast on Sunday, in all honesty, lacked, particularly given the exorbitant $28/per price). I honestly don't know what the reviewers were complaining about though regarding low food quality. Truth be told, after day 1 we ate all of our dinners off site at local restaurants (where admittedly food quality was even better), but still the food at the hotel in general was very good. We spent most of our day time on the grounds of the hotel, enjoying the pool, beach, water sports and just relaxing and reading. Days were complete pleasure end to end. My wife got a spa treatment, she said it was excellent. The island (not just the hotel but the island in general) was, surprisingly, quite pricey. I am not complaining per se, we had an excellent time and that's more important than what we paid for stuff, most particularly food, but still it was something we observed. Please understand I have mentioned absolutely everything I didn't like; which means most everything I did like. In fact, I am pretty comfortable that we'll be coming back to the W Vieques again, and maybe not too long until. We absolutely loved Vieques and overall the hotel was an excellent complement to the island. July 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great pools, bad food the staff, hotel rooms and resort was wonderful. the pools were perfect, open 24 hours a day which is great. sadly the food was awful - the burgers at the pool were terrible - the side orders of just potato wedges were $10 and not alot of choice. Source was slightly better, but not worth the money - better to go outside to esperanza to eat to be honest. June 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by If I said it was average it would be generous. Vieques is a beautiful island and the W property is awesome, but many of my positive remarks would end there as the customer service we received made it the worst stay I have ever had at a Starwood property. If you are planning to go there, still go because the island is awesome and should not be missed. However, be prepared to be met with horrible service...rooms were never cleaned, none of the staff ever smiled, the rates were so high, the staff ignored you a lot of the times when you had simple request; in all, it would have been better if it had not been staffed at all and we just had access to laundry and cleaning supplies to do things ourselves. Many of the guest that I befriended while there shared the same thoughts and I think many of them will be found by reviewing Trip Advisor's reviews for the property... I think you can have a positive experience if you know going in to not have high expectations on service and if you stay on site to sleep only...The bed is great for sleeping; I just wish it would have been made or freshened up during my time there. November 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is very relaxing. I stayed with my daughter and grandson. We all had four days of relaxed vacations. Not crowded facilities, not laud noises, excellent food, restful sleeps, really calming music around all facilities, great service, pools and beach. We all loved staying at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island. July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful, beautiful place for a peaceful vacation! THe grounds are beautiful, the decor is modern and clean, and the views are amazing! The horses that roam that property make you feel like you are someplace far away from civilization, yet all the amenities are at your doorstep. The staff was very courteous. The food at Mix was very good, but it's not the only option on the island. We rented a car right on property and got to visit gorgeous white sand beaches around the island. The concierge arranged the Biobay kayak tour for us and we paid less than the other non-W guests who were in our tour group. The room was great, but the lighting could be improved. Also the suite did not have a full length mirror, even though the regular room does! Overall, it was a great stay and I'd definitely go back again! December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by When will I ever learn? This hotel has saved us TWICE now! The first time we went to Vieques we rented a home that ended up having no working air conditioning which was not going to work with our 3 small children so we ran to the W hotel as fast as we could & knew we'd found a true paradise on this island! The second time we stayed just this past week I thought since it was just my husband & I that we thought we'd try to stay at another hotel that had no AC but looked cool online...wrong again! After three days with no AC, about 35 bug bites all over my body & a run in with a giant spider in the bathroom we called the W hotel at 10 PM begging for a room. They welcomed us once again with open arms, a great rate, kind service & an ocean front room for our last night on the island. The W Hotel is the best and most magical place to stay on this island & I will only stay here for all future trips...lesson FINALLY learned! The W hotel has amazing dining, great pool, fun activities, great decor & luxurious modern rooms & amenities. The staff is amazing as well! I can't think of one bad thing to say about the place! So...save your sanity, learn from my mistakes & stay here! You'll be so glad you did! July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great resort! However....... Overall the hotel is perfect with a very high service standard found not found anywhere else in the Caribbean. However, be prepared to serve yourself at the pool. The pool service staff (when you can find one) is in attentive and basically unfriendly. They lost a tremendous amount of revenue from me and the other guests. By FAR the weakest link in the chain...... What a disappointment! October 30, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, could be cleaner Loved my stay at the W, the front desk staff and concierge were very helpful and pleasant. Beautiful property, nice amenities, the Island Car Rental and Blackbeard sports make it very easy to plan activities and explore the island. Drinks and food were also delicious! What could be improved: room cleanliness. We found garbage from the previous occupants in the wet bar area. Also the floors and toilets didn't seem very clean (hair on the floor from previous occupants and the guest toilet had stains). July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Service The service was very poor. The food was terrible. The hotel itself was nice, but not as nice as you would expect from a W. July 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Average experience. As a road warrior for the past 15 years, I have extensively stayed at other properties. This was my first W experience. Let me start with the positives.. 1. Location, Location & Location. 2. Breath taking views all round. 3. Interior Decoration was 5 stars 4. Room was clean and great views 5. All the pools were awesome 6. An intern from Mexico and the front desk staff are awesome. Now for the negatives.. 1. Staff were curt and rude at Dinner 2. No Smiles...it was as if we were "stealing" free food 3. Bar closed at 12 sharp..There were 2 wedding parties and lots of people were left unhappy. Talk about losing great margins when you close early on a weekend! 4. Had icecream near the bar and was waiting for a spoon that never arrived. The blonde girl at the bar who was our waitress came back and took the check and said sorry... The icecream had melted and was liquid....still no spoon after 45 minutes! 5. It was so sad to see majority of the guests seek out other restaurants on the island due to a limited menu. 6. Spoke to approx 10 other guests who mentioned they were surprised at the below average hospitality from the staff. 7. Cleaning crew is loud and which woke us up in the morning. 8. The bar staff forgot atleast 20 to 30% of our requests and it seemed like the first word out of their mouth was "sorry" 9. Requested additional soap, shampoo and conditioner as ours ran out...and we did get it after a day! November 1, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very dissapointing We stayed there in November and had the worst service possible. 1) We arrived at the port and called for a shuttle to pick us up. We waited over an hour (in the rain) and there attitude was it wasnt there fault, tey were just too busy. 2) We were told that there was no upgrades available for Platinum guests. when to hear the couple checking in next to us were a AMEX card holder and was told that they had an upgrade ready for them. Why lie to the guest when only to hear the other agent say there were upgrades?? They put us in a room right next to the bar on the bottom floor! Very noisy and no privacy. We asked to change rooms and wala!!! they had an upgrade! 3) the Adult only beach was nice and quiet. But NO SERVICE at all!!! We had to call and ask for towels which took over an hour!!! We finally saw a waiter that had delivered drinks to a guest who had to call for service. He left without asking any guests if they needed anything!!! One of the guests chased him down (to the top of the steps) to ask for service!!!! The steps down to the beach were destroyed and you had to jump 4-5 feet to get over a large concrete/sand hole!! very dangerous! 4) No cleaning service even after we called at 4p!!! They finally showed up at 530p with an attitude. they same thing happend the second night and we just put our trash outside and asked for extra towels so we didnt have to deal with them!! It was very interesting to see that our final day there the cleaning service was breathing down our necks at 11a!!!! What service!!!! 5) we called the concierge desk to ask about ferry times and they said 2p. We got our shuttle ride down there at around noon only to find out that the ferry was canceled until 6p!!! We had to lug our luggage across town to find a bar or restaraunt to kill 6 hours!!!!! Do you think they might want to make a simple phone call to verify if the unpredictable ferry service was leaving at 2p???????????????? Overall service was horrible!!!! But the island itself was beautiful. December 23, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by This W is not up to standards There is very little to do other on premises. I had many problems in the room, however, once it was brought to the attention of the housekeeping supervisor, Jessica, everything was rectified. Jessica was excellent. The front desk staff is really sweet and David the concierge, is knowledgeable, funny and efficient. A different concierge never made our dinner reservation. The pool staff is nice, but insufficient . The pool food has nothing healthy available. More help needed at pool. The food in the only hotel restaurant, Sorce, isn't great, but it's expensive. There is a daily soup and Main Course special, but that is not enough. The menu needs to change daily or there should be multiple specials. Breakfast buffet is nice, but the fruit was unripened. How is that possible in Puerto Rico? No mango!. The town food isn't worth the trip, even though some of it is expensive . Beaches are beautiful. I'm glad I went, but I wouldn't go back. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great location/island This was our second visit to the W in Vieques, we traveled last year about the same time, we had a wonderful time last year and decided to make another visit, this time with another couple. The staff was very frendly from the reception desk to the pool bartenders. The service has greatly improved from last year and it was nice to see some familiar faces from our last visit. It was a very enjoyable stay and we look forward to visiting the W in Vieques in the near future. Keep up the good work! December 6, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Vieques Beautiful, relaxing resort on the Atlantic side of Vieques. Perfect for couples. The staff is warm and accommodating. Rent a jeep to explore the island, its beautiful beaches and great restaurants. Bily's in El Malecon is a must for the freshest lobster! July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is excellent in the Caribbean Excellent. The services is excellent July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply Spectacular The Staff at the hotel all performed with great care, character,consideration and dedication to ourselves as guests and the W brand as a whole. Very impressive! This resort is top flight and possibly the only resort in the world where a small pile of horse manure upon the grounds is chi chi some how. Best vacation for ourselves in recent memory. Thank-you W Vieques. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous Resort, Amazing Staff, Perfectly Relaxing We just got back from a weekend stay and we loved the W Vieques. It is the perfect place for a quick weekend getaway. The staff went above and beyond (especially Ricky and Edgardo) in all regards from booking our excursion to the bio luminescent bay. Platinum benefits were well recognized with an upgrade and breakfast. Overall, top tier service with a beautiful resort meant for a fantastic vacation. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vieques is great. We had a nice vacation and the hotel was great. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Magical! WOW!. I would love to keep this place a secret -- but it was so spectacular, we cant. We are well travelled -- and our expectations were guarded. The property, the staff, the "vibe", the friendly, efficient staff, .. was FAR BEYOND what we expected! We travelled with our 21-yr old daughter and a friend and had 2 oceanfront rooms. We had a jeep, but really didnt want to leave the property! we did leave the W for a few local restaurants.. but even that wasnt necessary. We cant wait to return and we will! January 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Honeymoon Location We chose the W Vieques for our honeymoon destination, and were not disappointed. It had the right level of high level resort quality we enjoyed mixed with the laid back nature of the island. We used points for our stay, and were upgraded to an ocean view over the pool. The view was amazing. We visited the spa twice--I highly recommend the coco scrub followed by a massage. The service was good; just understand it's island time, so the pace is slow. We always got what we needed and with a cheerful staff. We really enjoyed the passion fruit mojitos (the best ones made by Angel, in my opinion). Sunsets were gorgeous from the beach and pool. It was a great place to relax and enjoy the rest of the island. There is an Avis rental car right on property, and that's really convenient. Transfers to and from the airport are included in your resort fees. Every night at 6, they have a sunset sip, where the bartender makes a complementary drink for everyone who is at the outdoor fire pit. The concierge is very helpful booking off property events and reservations. We used them for dinner reservations and a trip to the biolumenescent bay. We had breakfast at Mix on the Beach a few days; it's a very good meal. The only misstep I'd say is the room service; I had a turkey club at the pool that was really good. I ordered the same sandwich at midnight one night and it was substandard. Overall, great place! It's pricey, but it's what you'd expect for a W and a quiet island. Oh, don't go here for nightlife, it's nonexistent. Go here to relax and be treated well. April 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excelent Getaway Great getaway stay, great food and employee attention to all our needs. Great experience will recommend to everyone. July 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff is great but Food service was poor and 1) The hotel should have notified guest prior to their arrival that certain areas of the hotel were going not going to be accessbile due to a 40 person wedding. the set up crew for the wedding arrived behind our room at 1230am and was up all night with noise 2) the leak in our room from the pipe above was terrible and could have damaged our belongings 3) the food and food service was horrible. A simple a hamburger could not be made properly. Many other Platinum guests were complaining about the food quality and price 4)Poor lighting at night. I saw 3 people fall down from the uneven paths 5) pool area was dirty with lots of hair on the chairs, staff was told by many but nothing was done 6) Staff members- kudos to Arelis- she should be in management, Iris, Nicole , Wade, Henry and the new F&B manager as they made things better. December 7, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome time! My family stayed at this W Hotel for a couple of days in December and we had a great time. If you really want to have a nice and quiet vacation and retreat yourself from the everyday routine then, this is the place to go and stay! All the facilities were great. Everywhere you walk, you could find a place to sit, lie down and relax. We stayed at the hotel the entire time since we just wanted to relax and have no schedule to follow for once! (We did do the bio-bay tour the first night and it was an experience to remember. We did the 8PM tour and there was no moon, pitch black perfect night!! We were amazed with all the stars on the sky and the luminescent lights on the sea. Definitely 'a must do'.) The only down side of staying in the hotel is the fact that you only have one restaurant choice and it is a little pricey. There is a 'cafe' that we used for quick bites, coffee and breakfast sandwiches. The one thing I really have to mention is the customer service. All employees were always friendly and helpful but one of them went ‘above and beyond’. After we checked out the hotel, they provided us with transportation to the ferry and inadvertently I left my camera in the jeep. I did not realize that my camera was missing until the ferry was approaching to the pier. I immediately called the hotel and the receptionist said that she would send someone to the pier with the camera. I waited on the street where I could see both the road and the ferry fast approaching to the pier and with that the possibility of not getting my camera back in time. The ferry arrived and in a matter of seconds, big traffic congestion covered the small street and was going to make the delivery of my camera a mission impossible. So, I decided to go back to the line to get inside the ferry. To my surprise, the same employee that drove us to the ferry was walking from the ferry crowded line and when he saw me, he said that he already gave the camera to my wife. I was so relieved and grateful to this person. It turned out that he parked the car several blocks from the ferry and walked to the ferry in order to return our camera and our memories just in time. I thought that was amazing!! I called the hotel and let know the receptionist that this guy went the “super extra mile for us”. I asked her to make sure to tell their supervisor about this...but just in case she didn't say anything...his name is Georgie and employees like him makes a big difference. Thanks again Georgie!!! And to all the ‘W‘staff thanks for making our stay a very nice and memorable one!! January 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stay at W Vieques Although I did enjoy my stay, I feel that the staff was sub par at best. They were not friendly, not accommodating and did not meet the W standards I have seen at most of the W hotels I have stayed at. Although I would recommend this hotel to others because of it's amazing design and the beautiful surroundings of the island of Vieques, other than the concierge, I was less than impressed with your staffing. November 9, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by W Vieques is a work in progress We had a revenue stay last week. Honestly I can't say our experience lived up to expectations: - W Shuttle took almost an hour to pick us up after calling from the ferry (we were told it would take under 20 minutes); - We weren't offered the new SP Platinum benefits e.g. complimentary breakfast; - Arrangements for dinner and transportation were not made as requested, adding stress to what should have been a relaxing stay. The W is the only 5-star resort on the island, so its the only game in town and they know it. There are no real "public" taxis as the resort controls who can pick up/drop off at the resort. I don't mind paying the resort fee ($65.40 per night) IF the services are up to snuff! March 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Hotel in Vieques Good hotel with a lot of things to do in the island June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This place rocks, as of December 10, 2011 they fixed whatever you read about that was wrong I was skeptical at first when I read the reviews about coming here, but they must have changed. Service was awesome. Everyone cared and did a fantastic job. Food was great and everyone was friendly and helpful. And the resort is awesome. Rooms are huge, especially if you get an upgrade and the beaches are really queit and nice. This is a great destination to hang at. We are more beach people than pool people so we stayed on the beaches the entire time and it was very quiet and relaxing. I would highly recommend this resort. You will not be dissapointed. December 22, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Service The site of this hotel is beautiful, and there were a handful of staff that were kind and helpful - the positives end there. The vast majority of the staff were rude or incompetent. Lost lunch orders, double charging us for rooms and not refunding the money, serious attitude from staff when we complained about issues. Honestly, my favorite day of my stay here was when we rented a car and left the property for the entire day - so I didn't have to deal with anyone. I would NEVER recommend anyone stay here. Fancy resort prices with terrible service. September 13, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>