W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

  • State Road 200,
  • KM 3.2 - HC-1 Box 9368
  • Vieques Island,
  • Puerto Rico
  • 00765
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Minimum Age for Check-in

Guests must be 21 years or older with a valid photo ID to check-in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 307 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by An Oasis on Vieques We had a great time at the W. It's definitely the nicest place to stay on the island but it does have its ups and downs. The good? Airport shuttles are free, they have coffee and orange water in the lobby daily, the recreational gear for the beach is free to use, the pool is excellent and the food at Sorce' is super good. I slept like a rock on the super comfy beds, the bath tubs are very nice and the view in the ocean-front room is to die for. The bad? The concierge is almost never at the desk and they don't always answer the phone for room service and wake-up calls. There was something a little fishy smelling near the pool that wafted our way throughout the visit. I couldn't tell if it was trash or a dead iguana. Either way, they should take care of that. We tried to play pool one night but the cues had the tips broken off . . . perhaps something that should be fixed since they have an awesome black light pool table. We also got a little bit of hassle for bringing our own non-alcoholic beverages (i.e. water and juice) down by the pool. I never heard of a rule where you can't bring outside food into a hotel area, unless it's alcohol of course. The lighting in the rooms is also a bit weird. As an energy saving technique, they make it where you have to insert a key in this lighting dock by your door to get the lights to work. I get it, but it's inconvenient when my husband pulls the key out to run get a drink and I'm in a dark shower. All in all, the W was a good experience. The things that need to be worked on are minor and don't take away from the fact that it's a nice place to stay. They're just minor improvements that need to be made to make it a first class trip. August 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing When we arrived at airport lounge there was nothing there but a few apples, cans of sprite and half bottle of Bacardi rum. Was expecting more snacks and drink choices. Pathways on resort are dark and I tripped several times due to the poor lighting. Have to request to have sheets changed-bed get full of sand after walking on beach and pathways. Maid service at 5 pm or even later. When you return to resort in afternoons I would expect room to be turned over. No washclothes for several days-had to call for them almost everyday. Rooms need more lighting, they are dark even with all the light on. Nice beach. Staff was friendly. December 13, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average I stayed at the W Hotel Vieques in mid May. The island is very quiet and relaxing...which means no nightlife, no shopping and very few options outside the hotel. Hotel is beautiful and relaxing. Agree with the rest of the reviews that the service is somewhat slow by W standards but not too bad. My main issue was given the lack of outside dining options and even a small store to buy toiletries outside the hotel...it makes no sense to close the on property store at 5pm and the restaurant at 9:30pm. The food at the restaurant is great so it's your only real option on the island so it feels like rushing to the dining hall before it closes and you're doomed to room service. The little store closed early as well which was frustrating and had a limited selection of items. Those issues were compounded during the stay as the hotel was out of tuna, salmon, ginger ale, chicken wings and few other things during the stay. Overall it's very relaxing and a beautiful property but not worth the price. May 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel, Terrible Service for the Price Mr. White, I am writing to inform you of what a terrible experience I had at your hotel in Vieques. My stay was in a Garden Villa from April 5-9 w a bill of approx. $3500. Here is a list of my complaints: On Fri, 4/6 at 1203pm-> I took out a 24-hour rental car w the Avis on the W Hotel premises. When I returned the car, I was informed by the clothing boutique sharing the building to return the keys to the W Hotel's Reception Desk, as there was no on at the Avis counter. There was simply a sign that said "Be back in 15 minutes." When I was billed on my Amex for the rental, I was billed for two+ days bc W Hotel Reception had not returned the keys to the Avis desk until Mon, 4/8 at 1004am. I was not told to sign any paperwork just to leave the keys w this tall, white European-looking woman. After I was over billed, I called the Avis desk multiple times, but there was never an answer. To remediate this (1) I left 20+ messages with Justin at W Hotel Operations (2) left multiple voicemail messages at the Avis desk and (3) even spoke w a female Avis Rep but no action on my behalf was ever taken until I called the Avis headquarters in the US and in Puerto Rico. I understand that Avis is a separate entity from the W hotel, but the lack of assistance, in spite of your "whatever whenever" slogan was sadly remiss. Not until Fri, 4/27 did I receive a refund from Avis corporate, in spite of all my efforts to work w the local Avis desk affiliated w the W Hotel. On Mon, 4/8-> I was stung by a bee near the main pool. I went to the Concierge Desk and a woman there did nothing but call a nurse or doctor on the phone. She gave me a bandaid and some cream. When I returned to NYC on Tues, 4/9, I had to visit my local doctor bc my right front calf was infected due to inadequate treatment. I was skeptical at the treatment delivered by your Concierge Desk but was told, "no, just a little cream and a bandaid is fine." When I checked out of the hotel, I even informed them of what had occurred and asked for additional cream and bandaids, but was told they didn't have any such cream and was given a bandaid as a parting gift. The lack of empathy was abysmal. On Tues, 4/24-> I called the W Hotel at 915am, bc at that time, my Avis issue remained unresolved. When I asked to speak to a manager, I was told by Dave (?) in Operations, that all managers were in a meeting and I would receive a return call within 30 mins. Today is Sun, 4/29 and I have yet to receive any call or email from management. Long story short, I will NEVER stay at any W Hotel again. As a Starwood Gold member, I cannot believe the pathetic service I received for a "luxury hotel" and cannot believe that I wasted $3500 at the W Hotel in Vieques. It is one thing to have a series of bad circumstances occur when on holiday. That can happen to anyone. The true test of a hotel's service is how they recover and assist in closing out any outstanding issues, and in my eyes, you have failed in every possible way. I will forward this email onto the appropriate corporate Customer Service persons to ensure they have an understanding of the lack of service I received, to ensure that this doesn't happen to anyone else in the future. It is really quite awful to have spent so much money on a vacation that didn't meet my expectations. April 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Mrs O'Neill The service of the staff is perfect. All personnel are kind, they have complete knowledge of what to do. Reliable, very nice and fast. The facilities are awesome, very clean, good taste, good amenities, great location. September 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Place First time at this hotel, blew away expectations, I am not easy to please, ask my wife. Grounds are amazing, can't wait to go back. Great experience from the lounge bar awaiting at airport to great transfers. August 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by NOT WORTH IT You expect the best of the best when you stay at the W especially when you pay "W pricing". I was very disappointed. My cable TV and internet worked only half the time and when it did it was slow and not clear. I asked for someone to fix this and nothing improved. My room also had no minifridge. The room is designed for show not for use. I hit my head on the shelf above the sink for example because the sink is so large and awkwardly placed. The bed is not comfy whatsoever and the food prices are insane. However, the resort has a great pool and gym. In the end, I had a bad experience for the price i paid. I would not stay there again. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect location Perfect drinks, pool, beach and dinner. Piña coladas are off the hook January 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great pools, bad food the staff, hotel rooms and resort was wonderful. the pools were perfect, open 24 hours a day which is great. sadly the food was awful - the burgers at the pool were terrible - the side orders of just potato wedges were $10 and not alot of choice. Source was slightly better, but not worth the money - better to go outside to esperanza to eat to be honest. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect place to relax! We found the W in Vieques to be the perfect place for a relaxing vacation. The location, design and staff were all fantastic. With the beach, pool, fitness center and a few dining options all on site it was hard to leave. Food was a little pricey but not unreasonable for what you are getting and relative to other places on the island. Drinks on the other hand are definitely a little expensive for my taste... you'll want to buy your own Don Q if you want to have more than one or two. As great as the hotel is you will definitely be selling yourself short if you don't rent a car and explore the many amazing beaches on the island. Vieques is a beautiful island and it feels deserted relative to some other places in the Caribbean. July 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENCE TRAPPED IN PARADISE I was just there for my brothers wedding. The staff was very nice and the Hotel Grounds were just perfect. IT was really paradise. The beach was amazing also. The pools and rooms were super trendy and comfortable. The food was good and at night all you hear are birds chirping with the noise of waves swishing in the background. Cable TV for bedtime also !!! Food prices are a bit high but that is nit picking. They also NEED to get Strawberry Daiquiris. They dont carry it !! lol The place is paradise. I would def recommend this place for a romantic getaway. November 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Honeymoon Disappointment We went to the W in Viques with HUGE expectations, and we were left VERY disappointed by the W Hotel. We spent 6 nights at the hotel, and found that leaving the grounds of the hotel were more satisfactory than being around the rude staff. The maids to the room would do the bare minimum of a job cleaning the room(even though it is off season and nobody was staying at the hotel), it looked like they probably spent 10 min. in the room leaving trash everywhere, and then would take our spare room key that controlled the lights and electricity upon every visit. We complained about the service, but it took 3 complaints for them to finally stop taking our key. The electricity and water went out for the majority of one of the days we were staying, which left us trying to shower in a bathtub with gallons of water we had to go buy from the store. We were charged for things in the mini bar, to which we did not use. The Wi-Fi did not work in our room, to which I called about and never received a call in return, and then we get hit with a $65.00 a day for the use of the non-working WiFi, and the amenities that we never even thought about using on our trip. I was rather outraged when I saw $400 worth of charges on my bill for things that were never used, and I think it is ridiculous for a hotel as nice as the W to charge for these kind of things. Overall, it would be hard for me to recommend the W to anyone. I was planning on getting a room there for my wife's birthday at the Austin W, but I might have to spend a day with the accounting department trying to figure out ridiculous charges on my bill. Also, the luminescent bay is supposed to be one of the most beautiful things to see on the island, yet what they don't tell you is when there is a lot of moonlight, you really cant see much of anything. We spent $107 on a 35 min. kayak trip to mostly have our guide tell us about where to go eat on the island as we sat bored wondering why we spent so much money on a trip when they know you can't see anything on nights with a mostly full moon. All 8 people who went on the trip from the hotel were very disappointed that we were taken out on this trip and not told to go another night when you could see something. I could probably keep going, but it is just going to make me even more angry about out trip. The only positive was the bed, that was it. September 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not in a rush... Excellent hotel with very friendly staff. Unfortunately, our room was not cleaned until very late and only until we called to find out why it was not clean ( we called at 4PM). The next day the room was not cleaned at all and we found an extra do not disturb sign on the outside of our door. This happened after 4PM since both my wife and I had returned to the room and it had not been cleaned. We somehow ended up with our sign on the inside of our door and a second sign on the outside. Our waiter at the restaurant was VERY slow.....twenty + minutes in between each stop at our table, considering he only had two tables at the same time (including ours). We received a complimentary bottle of cava for our troubles and a very pleasant note from front desk. Thank you Arturo - nice gesture! September 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by W Hotel has written romanticism all over The room was clean, super comfortable, inviting for relaxation and romance. The views of the beach and ocean of the Island of Vieques from the W are spectacular. My only critic is the food of the W restaurant, it is flavorless it lacks spiciness and personality. A mixture of foods that doesn't belong to the W ambiance and doesn't reflects the aura of the location. I strongly recommend a local Chef that can make use of local produce with finese. I know at least one that can make your restaurant excel. July 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is outstanding Loved this property. Staff was friendly, helpful and overall outstanding. Facility was very well kept/maintained. Location is terrific...close enough to San Juan but a world away.... Small improvements: room is not well lit and bed isn't up to Starwood standard. I look forward to going back and enjoying the hotel and Vieques. May 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not great food and rude service For the standard W food selection and service this hotel does not meet them. The food at Sorcé was not excellent and the bar food refrigerated hamburgers for $15. The bar waiters (Robert and Ronnie) were beyond rude. Closing the bar 5 min earlier of the advertised time. Bar food menu not had great vareity. The property and rooms were great and entrance clerk were service oriented. Also, were requested late check out and was offered a $150 charge for 3hrs when the hotel was empty for the afternoon. August 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The perfect retreat in the Caribbean Very nice hotel, amazing amenities and comfort and great location. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Millie We enjoyed our stay at the W Vieques. It was beautiful and our every request was met. The service could not have been better. Our only complaints were that the room was very cold and when we turned off the AC for some reason it kept kicking back on and we also needed a bit more light.in the evening. When we called we got an immediate response. There was a wedding the first evening we were there and a wonderful Steele Band was playing in the living room where we just chilled and enjoyed the lovely surroundings.along with a delicious dinner. As my son coined "Chillaxing in the Caribbean." The Vibe was young and hip yet there were plenty of opportunities and places for quiet contemplation...lots of fun activities, do not miss the bio bay or the horseback riding with Elizabeth. Wonderful stay Thank you!! February 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel; needs work on the follow through The good: dedicated lounge at the airport before getting picked up by the hotel. Beautiful location and grounds. Got a lovely upgrade at checkin. Average: expensive spa, late start on service, okay massage. Slow service at poolside bar. Bad: food a restaurant was awful. Legit gave a microwave pizza (did take it off bill) Really slow on room cleaning. This place is beautiful and if they can it all in order I think it will be a great hotel, but there is definitely work to be done. August 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful weekend getaway The close location to the airport and town of esperanza is very convenient. Hotel grounds are beautiful, and the bed is wonderfully comfortable. Decor is nice and groovy, a different kind of luxury suited to the island vibe. Dinner at Sorce was very nice, although not exceptional. The waiter did not offer the wine list though... Breakfasts were delicious and with a nice variety. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing trip Overall the W in Vieques met my expectations. We were upgraded upon arrival and the Living Room/Great House views were exceptional. The room was well-appointed and comfortable. Service at the pool was prompt and friendly, as was the service at the other dining options. Cocktails at the Living Room were excellent. The Spa and Fitness Center were good, but not the best I have used. Black Beard's sporting store (that provides snorkeling gear and kayaks), as well as the Island Car Rental location, are a perfect complement to the resort. Having them on the same compound makes anything you could want to do on Vieques convenient. I highly recommend bio-bay and snorkeling tours with them, as well as renting a car to check out all the beaches Vieques has to offer. An excellent stay that kept me occupied just enough to leave the rest of the world behind. February 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful location, poor customer service Upon arrival to the hotel our faces were full of smiles. The view of the beach and ocean, the modern but comfy decor and the manicured grounds were breathtaking. But in the moments/days to come something didn't add up. Where was the hospitality? Why didn't the staff seem happy to see us? Why didn't they want to provide excellent customer service? Many frustrations with this experience. I sure hope they get things figured out soon. June 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hidden gem thats rough around the edges We were very disappointed with my latest stay at the W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island. During our travels, the W hotels are always our first choice, however this last experience was very discouraging. The most disappointing experience were the staff members and the food quality. Restaurants were not opened on time and staff members got frustrated when I attempted to request service; even though the hours were printed on the menu. The food quality; I don't know where to start.....:( This was the worst dining experience we have ever had! (i.e. guacamole from a can/box/bag / Paella Rice that was hard to eat etc.) There is no excuse for low quality of food at a W hotel; apparently this is not news to many staff members / guest that agreed with our experience. The mosquitos in rooms/beds were too much. I still recommend the W hotel, but change has to occur. July 24, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location - bad service Stayed with my family over a long weekend. The location is great, but the service is slow and inattentive. Our room were not cleaned properly one single day, and our minibar never got re-filled. I will not go again or recommend this place. April 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Almost! All prior reservations, CAR, MASSAGE, BIO BAY, made and confirmed twice, did not exist when i arrived! I reserved a cabana upon arrival with front desk, they wrote it on a sticky note and never confirmed! Staff did not seem to care! Thank God for WADE at the front desk and Diane at Black beard, they seemed intent on helping.. The rooms smelled of urine! However, everything about the wedding was amazing. April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful W Vieques We had a wonderful weekend! The only thing i can complain and you should take care of is the lack of real espresso coffee, i This is a standard feature in good restaurants and hotels, and i cosider that it could be an excellent add on to offer an array of coffes like the high quality coffees of PR, espresso, frappuccino,etc. Plain bland american coffee is not acceptable We loved the airport lounge June 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 Good dining, poor service. The food was great. However, we were disappointed by the service provided by Jose on Wednesday around 8:30 PM. He was not willing to accept changes to the main courses. He indicated that the Chef does not allow changes. Also, we asked for some room service but the alternatives were very limited. This means that the "Whatever you want, whenever you want" is not right for this location. August 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Private beach, great pool, fantastic relaxation If you're considering this hotel, just do it; this is the best category 6 hotel I have ever stayed in! Greg and his team do a fantastic job of making you feel welcome and comfortable. The prices for food/drinks is not as bad as many resorts I have been to and if you stick to the special mojitos they make at the pool, then you won't be disappointed with the bang-for-your-buck (strongly recommend the mango version)! Blaine and Karif will take amazing care of you at the pool - recommend asking for them by name to serve you! Last comment: the view is incredible. What they call a "partial ocean view" is about 80% ocean and 20% beautiful trees and nature. Only bad part was that our air conditioner broke down one night which made our room get very warm. It was an inconvenience but obviously out of the (reasonable) control of the hotel. They got it fixed promptly and made it up to us, so no complaints overall. July 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Redefining vacations This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. From the moment you arrive at the airport you are greeted with cocktails. The entire staff at the hotel is so helpful and just plain cool. Robert, the concierge, took care of us every day. Orlando at the bar drew us a map to a local secret beach. Amazing. November 10, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Underwhelmed The hotel location was INCREIDBLE!!! However, don't call down and request anything, because you will never get it i.e. towels, room service, etc. We have a malfunctioning television that never got fixed, we were charged for bar and food which we never touched. It took them 3 weeks to credit back my credit card. Spend your time and money at other resorts April 2, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>