The Andaman, a Luxury Collection Resort, Langkawi

  • Jalan Teluk Datai
  • Langkawi,
  • 07000
  • Malaysia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 304 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by 3rd visit in 6 months - We love this place! Just returned from my family's 3rd visit to the Andaman in 6 months. And I HIGHLY recommend it! If you're thinking of visiting Langkawi, you MUST stay at the Andaman for a most fun, interesting, luxurious, relaxing (even though i had 4 kids with me), personalized holiday. The staff could not do enough to ensure we were all taken care of and enjoying our selves. Thank you! (Note: we've also stayed in the Westin Langkawi and this is far superior.) Traveling with kids ranging in age from 12yrs - 1 month, I have to consider different needs. The coral nursery and new marine biology lab, nature walks, pool, kids club, and more offer something for everyone, not to mention a couple fabulous spa treatments for me to get some much needed R&R. As one of only 2 hotels in this part of the island set directly in the jungle, the nature around you (wildlife, flora, fauna, etc) is amazing! And the hotel's efforts re: coral and marine life education and rehabilitation is both fascinating and highly commendable. A snorkel in the hotel's coral nursery is a MUST to see, touch, and learn about beautiful coral and fish up close. And the staff are fantastic at making it interesting and exciting for both young (my 4 yr old) and old (my parents in their 70's). Thank you! Lastly, I must commend the Young Explorers Kids Club staff. They're fantastic! I've been to many Starwood Kids Clubs in this region and this one (and the one in Phuket's Westin Siray Bay) are the BEST! The staff are energetic, caring, creative, and very responsible w the kids. Where else do you find kayak tug of war or bobbing for apples in the pool?! How cool! Whether you want to drop off the kids or participate in activities with them, it's all great! And the ladies are great at taking pics of the kids and sending them to you - Thanks, Siti and Shidah:) Overall, an A+ holiday...can't wait 'til our next visit! June 30, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Feel like staying at Four Points Hotel Food:- We have our daily breakfast at the hotel. Food is nothing to shout about. Should have more varieties Housekeeping:- Face towels were not replaced. Have to call everyday to request. Reception:- Good when check in. Check out time the staff was not friendly at all. Not sure if it is due to Puasa. :) Water sports staffs:- Very rude. Should get rid of them. June 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel was better than expected the hotel seemed to be a long distance from the airport at 55mins. But when we arrived it was magical, a fantastic setting. We wanted a relaxing away from it all holiday and that is what we got. The most relaxing holiday we have had in a long time. If you wanted to go on tours you could, we chose not to. The food and the beverages were all much better than we had expected after reading some of the reviews. The price was good for the quality and nicely presented. June 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding combination of luxury and natural beauty Quite simply stunning location in the remote north east corner of Pulau Langkawi. This is certainly a 5 Star property albeit lacking all the fancy trimmings of those newer resorts closer to town. What they are missing however is the seclusion, serenity and outstanding natural beauty of Datai Bay which is not to be missed. The coral nursery is a standout feature, where the resort has taken ownership of the task to rebuild the fringing coral reef that was destroyed during the tsunami. It also offers both young and old an opportunity to snorkel amongst live corals and fish in a contained environment facilitated by an enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide. We also took the opportunity to take in a tour of the Kilim Karst Geoforest Park and mangrove system which was another highlight of the trip and worth every $ to take in this remarkable and ancient natural site. We were looked after by one of the local Eco-guides who provided a very detailed history of the site going back more than 600 million years. Back to the hotel itself, we enjoyed the morning and evening trek around the resort where another knowledgable local guide (Shakira) pointed out the local flora and fauna Despite being a Platinum SPG member I was still surprised to find ourselves upgraded to a luxury sea view room considering it was a public holiday weekend. This was however a real treat with a balcony overlooking Datai Bay and including a mind blowing sunset that brought an end to each day. NOTE - A word of caution for those new to Sth East Asian hotels surrounded by virgin rainforest - the local Long-Tailed Macaque monkey troops are a professional bunch of thieves and are renowned for their house-breaking capabilities. I strongly suggest that you ensure your balcony door locked at all times particularly earlier morning and late afternoon - including when you are in the room!. I wished I had received such a warning myself having experienced a "break-in" whilst relaxing in room. It is quite a shock to see your balcony door opened right in front of your eyes and a brazen Macaque cruising nonchalantly across to the fruit platter, helping himself to a mango (seemed a clear preference over 4 other fruits) before retreating back out side to feast at leisure on his stolen prize - further warning, don't look them in the eye and don't smile - both acts are considered threatening and will be responded to in kind! On to the food - now I realise many on various forums have complained at the pricing at the resort but I can't say I found it to be in any way extortionate. Yes it is pricey, but the food quality and freshness, in particular at Jala, more than justify the expense and it's worth remembering that such a remote location brings with it significant costs in managing the food supply chain. You can't have your cake and eat it too in other words and in my view, most of the negative feedback seems not to take this factor into consideration. Apart from some absolutely delicious food, what was a surprising highlight for us was the thoughtfully put together and quite expansive wine list, which included some real treats - as an example we feasted on an array of fresh grilled seafood accompanied by a delicious 2007 GC Alsace Riesling - stunning combination. As a final point, I will pay tribute to the hotel and restaurant staff who at all times were helpful, friendly and considerate - always putting in 100% effort to ensure we were looked after. Many thanks to all at the Andaman - we will be back! May 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Team Overall experience was awesome. Front desk staff (Filipino Lady, sorry I dont remember her name)who checked us in was highly professional and very informative. Room amenity was world class. Talented Culinary team. May 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad experience stay Room was not ready upon arrival Cleanliness of the room was worse, ants was everywhere due to rotten fruits in the room and stain was on the bedsheets Basic toiletries was not sufficient Foul smell was in the lift and room Flies was all over the place especially in the restaurant No awareness especially staff in the restaurant (New plate were not given, not attentive of listening of request etc) April 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great SPG Recognition Great recognition upon arrival and a smooth check-in. In the room there was aslo a nice welcome drink as a returning customer. Nicely done. Stayed there tree times and will come back again. As usual Jala is the star restaurant with nice ambiance and great chef, while the breakfast restaurant is in desperate need of upgrade. April 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Wonderful hotel and I can say that it is the best spg hotel in Langkawi. Tq for the studio suite and hopefully to be upgraded to executive suite for my next visit. Tq. March 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Definitely worth staying! My husband and I spent our honeymoon in this resort, and we had the time of our lives! Our experience here was unforgettable and has already set in our minds as a delightful memory to reflect upon. The Andaman’s staff provided such excellent care that we were impressed before even arriving in Malaysia. A splendid woman named Vivien called us overseas to confirm our reservation and congratulate us on our marriage. When we arrived in the resort, we were welcomed by a fine and jovial gentleman named Barry, whom I have no doubt will one day be manager of a five-star hotel such as this. Check-in could not have been more pleasant, and we were immediately upgraded into a room with access to a private pool. Our room had already been prepared with welcome drinks and our bed was decorated with rose petals and swan shaped towels joined to form a heart. When we went back to our room later that night, we were delighted to find yet another surprise, a delicious mountain of chocolate strawberries! We spent our time in the resort wandering around, strolling on the beach, swimming in the sea, meeting new people, and enjoying the miraculous view of the island. We went kayaking to another piece of land nearby, which was dangerously scattered with shards of glass and broken beer bottles. Nevertheless, it was exhilarating to explore new lands and search for different life forms. The resort has a beautiful coral nursery, where they teach children and adults how to grow coral and the importance of coral in sea life. We also went bike riding, which I would only recommend if you’re looking for a good workout. Bike riding is not allowed inside the resort, so we had to ride up and down the steep hills surrounding it. Breakfast in the hotel was absolutely phenomenal. Everything was made fresh on the spot, and anything you can think of, they had! The crispy chocolate croissants, freshly whipped cream, crunchy blueberry jam, and fluffy pancakes were by far my favorite. We also had a wonderful dinner in the Japanese restaurant, which was serving a sushi buffet one night. There we met an Indonesian hostess named Novita, who showed us the traditional instruments and seating arrangements of the Japanese. The one drawback we found was that the food was much more expensive than we were expecting, and we did not enjoy the Malay food in one of the restaurants near the beach. There is no way to have food delivered to the resort, so make a budget for at least $100 a day for food if you plan on staying. All in all, this resort is overflowing with positivity, and I would recommend it without a doubt to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation away from the hustle and bustle of city life. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank all of the staff working in The Andaman for making special memories for people like myself and my husband. You have made our honeymoon truly unforgettable. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional holiday experience Thank you to everyone at The Andaman for a superb stay this past week. To Christian Metzner and your team, it was outstanding and we loved every minute of our five nights at the resort. Although it was very hard to leave, our time at The Andaman was so sublime that we felt refreshed and relaxed and ready to go back to reality, truly the mark of a great holiday. We were celebrating a special anniversary, and to our great surprise the associate who looked after us so well at the Westin in KL had phoned ahead to The Andaman! Waiting for us was a special cake and a very warm welcome. Platinum recognition is excellent, and we stayed in a beautiful executive pool suite - thank you so much! We felt welcome and very special every moment of our stay, and we loved the restaurants, the nature walks and the coral nursery activities (don't miss them!). The beach and the view was glorious and it was very easy to relax there for hours on end. We also hired a kayak and paddled over the nearby small island and went snorkelling. So much to do, or you can just relax on the beach for hours at a time, which many other couples were doing. Seeing the animals in their own setting in the rainforest was an incredible experience and one we will never forget. A special moment was a private dinner we booked, which was organised for us on the beach. The food and beverage manager arranges it all for you, and you have a private butler attending to your every need. As we were celebrating something special, it was the highlight of our trip. Thank you so much to everyone concerned. Our experience at the Andaman more than met our expectations. We will definitely be back! March 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great wildlife on hotel grounds Our 2nd stay at the Andaman. Saw even more wildlife on hotel grounds than last time. Complimentary nature walks are great (thank you Fendi). Coral nursery snorkel was a wonderful surprise and experience (thank you Dynah (sp?)). If you love wildlife, it is easily seen on the hotel property - birds (even hornbills & eagles), flying squirrels, fish and coral in the coral nursery, monkeys, monitor lizards, and more - this is an place to effortlessly see them all without leaving the hotel grounds or sometimes even the pool. Environmental bent of the hotel is refreshing compared to other locations that put animals more on display than letting you observe them in their natural state. Wish there was an informal restaurant option like a snack bar or pizza place. Free shuttles to Kuah Town and Cenang Beach get you off the property if you feel the need for some different scenery. Staff are responsive and caring. Starwood Platinum guests receive good recognition. We love this property and its staff. February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the most amazing places in the world. The tag " Luxury Collection" sits very well with the Andaman resort. Having stayed in many all over the world, if SPG were looking to create an Uber level, this place would make the cut. What's great. 1. The staff. Professional, happy and want to please. Led by an outstanding leader in food and Beverage, Faizul Othnam, who made our stay special, all the staff from front desk to support staff are of impeccable quality. 2. Rooms are very comfortable. They are not absolutely modern, but hey , you are in the middle of a rainforest with a most amazing beach at your doorstep. Great balconies have great views. 3. SPG recognition is outstanding and thank you to management for looking after us with an upgrade . 4. The rainforest! This place is beyond just special. Whether you are walking to breakfast or coming back from dinner, the forest abounds with bird life and wildlife not seen anywhere else in the world. My recommendation is take one of the free, yes free nature walks provided by the hotel and really understand what surrounds you. 5. The beach. Warm water and white sand and great views. 6. The spa! A real treat. For those that love a great massage but also want the spa experience, the villas overlooking the Andaman sea make this a truly exotic experience. 7. The food selection. So many great restaurants and you can sample everything from the humble burger to great Malaysia food and prepared by some great chefs, and in particular Renee, a Danish maestro with seafood. 8. When things do go wrong and we had a little blip with service one night, rest assured management lead from the front to ensure true happiness is restored. I wish I could hand out 6 stars as the Andaman resort deserves the highest acclaim. We will certainly return! January 18, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very unsatisfactory Hotel is dirty, extremely aged, lacks staff discipline. Restaurants are bad, dirty, serve unpalatable food, except Jala. That restaurant and its chef is the only shining start in this establishment. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of our best vacations ever, if not the best! My wife and I stayed at this Resort from December 20 - 25 2014. The resort and the beach were a little paradise but what truly made our stay was the experience and the outstanding customer service we received from the entire staff and the general Manager himself, who made us feel welcomed each and every day. We were upgraded to a suite with a private pool and ocean view, which made our stay. We were offered a Free mini-bar (without alcohol) so we didn't have to pay for water, soft drinks, snacks... The bed is amazingly comfortable. The staff is very well trained and gives exemplary customer service. The food in each restaurant is outstanding, especially the breakfast buffet which offers so much variety. Monkeys came to our balcony for a few visits which was a fun experience, They're harmless and stay away from you as long as you don't give them food. It was paradise even when it rained! We'll definitely be back January 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location but needs improvements The hotel is located in a very remote area, quite far from anything else. If you don't have a car is difficult to move around. The hotel is quite old but overall is ok. Food is extremely overpriced for the quality offered. The beach is wonderful, but the presence of coral debris in the water makes difficult to walk in the water. Overall the structure is ok, but definitely overpriced compared to similar structures in Thailand or Indonesia. January 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful beach! private beach, wonderful pool, great relaxed atmosphere December 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by serene, tranquil, peaceful & paradise I love to put my reviews in short words WHATS GREAT 1. Earth's paradise 2. Great for family and couple 3. Nice welcome! 4. Fantastic staff 5. Educational nursing CORAL 6. SPACIOUS AND CLEAN ROOMS and toilets 7. Great spa 8. Great beaches 9. Try the kayak and watersports 10. Superb pool 11. Complimentary ice water to keep you hydrated 12. Lots of towels on standby but please save the environment by using what you will ever need! Whats not so great 1. Breakfast is of great variety but there is space for improvement on food quality 2. Some beach Towels were stained somehow November 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Weekend Away Hotel was beautifully laid out and clearly preserved the nature surrounding the grounds. I loved the non-pretentious entrance and lobby area. Room had the most amazing view and extremely comfortable bed. All staff was incredibly polite and attentive. The service really enhanced the trip. We loved the element of privacy throughout the hotel as well. Dinner at Jala was absolutely delicious and cocktails at the beach bar were very good. The only complaints about the hotel were that the first shower I took, the drain was completely clogged and flooded the entire bathroom. The drain should have been checked before we were allowed to unpack in the room between guests and when I called the concierge it took more than 25 minutes for someone to come look at it. Lastly, the food at the beach bar was not up to standards with the rest of the hotel. My boyfriend ordered the turkey panini and it was disgusting and inedible. The turkey was thick processed pre-packaged turkey. Being at a 5 star hotel, I highly recommend the beach bar get its food quality on par. Overall a very relaxing and romantic weekend away from Singapore. Will definitely be going back and recommending The Andaman to friends! November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Close to perfection! We definitely want to come back. This is a great resort hotel! Arrival from the airport by taxi takes 45 minutes (fixed price MYR 65, half the price of the hotel transfer service MYR 110), along curvy roads. The resort is isolated (30 kms from the airport) and there's nothing at all within walking distance, so we hired a car to do some exploring around Langkawi. However, the resort is wonderfully comfortable, so for shorter stays, you may not need a car if you just want to rest at the hotel instead. Check-in was easy and quick. The hotel is set within a rainforest, so there lots of lovely trees and wildlife around. Our room was "a luxury seaview" room on the north wing (at the time, the south wing was closed for renovations). All the rooms (deluxe or luxury) seem to be the same size (43 square metres), but many will just have 'tree views'. Our first 'sea view room' had a tree obscuring our view, and we were finally moved to another room with a lovely, clear view. In the north wing, you need to be on the 3rd or 4th floor, and high room number (30+) to get the best sea views. The room was large, clean and comfortable, with many amenities (coffee, tea, etc), and a large, comfortable bathroom. However, the balcony was small and only semi-private. The large king bed was comfortable, the air conditioning worked well, and we slept well. You need to be very careful with locking the balcony doors, and not leaving things on the balcony, as the naughty macaque monkeys will enter your room and steal food (and possibly other things)! One stole chips from a mini-bar even while I did my very best to scare it away (they can act a little aggressive, showing teeth and hissing). Free wi-fi in the room and around the hotel was very reliable but a little slow. The beach is perfect. The water is flat and calm, warm and pleasant, and mostly sandy underfoot. There’s plenty of shade for the lounge chairs (ice water and towels are provided) -- I've been to many beaches, but this was definitely the best I have experienced! There are only a few eating choices at the hotel, each seems a little over-priced. Our favourite was the main restaurant (unimaginatively called..."The Restaurant"). The breakfast buffet was very, very good and had a large choice of Asian and western style food. As we had a hire car, we also ate out (requiring a 45+ minutes drive). The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. We had a couple of minor problems, and the staff did their very best to resolve these for us. The pool area is very nice, and there's activities provided by the hotel which are interesting. The wellness spa is beautifully situated, but we had mixed experiences with massages (2 were very good, 1 was poor, and 4th was simply bad and uncomfortable!). The hotel is not cheap, but we had a fabulous stay and would love to come back! Highly recommended! November 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely Honeymoon Langkawi is a beautiful island & through The Andaman, A Luxury Collection, we enjoyed very much our honeymoon. It’s unforgettable. It has a beautiful beach (clear water, soft wave, soft white s&) & green forest hill at once are simply breathtaking view. At the point of arrival, thanks to Pak Kamal who has explained and assisted us very much in transportation service. Great limousine service Audi A8. We like his punctuality. He is very helpful, sincere and friendly Check in & check out process are very quick & smooth – Thanks to Christine, Mark and Hiew We love the refreshing welcome drink and splendid room amenity :) The resort offers very good Asian & Western cuisines at worth paying price. We went out for lunch & dinner & we found that the resort cuisine is still the best. Great taste & variety for breakfast, delicious signature dish at Tepian Laut Restaurant & not to forget the fresh seafood selection at Jala Restaurant. – Thanks to Aloy, Robin and Sri for making our dinner to become a romantic dinner experience at Jala. Very good and smooth team work Other than the beach & hill side view that are astonishing, the resort offers activities & none of other resorts have, such as coral nursery, fish feeding, coral transplanting. It’s a must try activities in our list We are looking forward to come back again next year for our second honeymoon :) :) & get to know Langkawi and the Resort better. NovitAdrian Bali October 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful We have just returned from our third visit to The Andaman and are already planning another. We were lucky to have our room upgraded to a Sea Facing room which was fantastic, I had the opportunity one morning to watch the Otters swimming in the bay. The staff are very warm and welcoming and go out of there way to help you. The rooms are very clean. The V Spa is a must for anyone visiting the Andaman. Enjoyed all the restaurants, Jala (Seafood) is outstanding. This is a fantastic place to relax in beautiful surroundings and to take in all the wildlife. I cannot praise The Andaman highly enough, I love this place. October 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Great location, great hotel, great facilities and awesome coral farm to top it all. Met all the expectations that me and my wife had of the hotel. Prior to booking, had read a lot of positive reviews and some were simply hard to believe as they were too good to be true. But post the stay, can confidently state that it was a trip of a lifetime and we loved every moment there. The staff also made a huge difference. October 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best stay ever The first time ever I felt so satisfied going for a vacation. We were upgraded to Executive Pool Room and the room was to die for! We love sitting at the deck with our daughter playing in the pool and us chatting while enjoying the sea. Everybody had a good share of doing what we want on a holiday at the Andaman. September 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by secluded resort with great beach A great place to sit and relax, even during tropical downpours. Beautiful areas to sit or swim, in sun or shade. Very attentive staff, in all areas. Interesting architectural details. Various jungle animals to be seen from the resort balconies. September 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice place for a family escape Nice hotel, beautiful beaches and activities for everyone. The staff responsiveness is not optimums. Good option in Langkawi. August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Holiday We have stayed at many resorts but this resort was just exceptional. My family and I had an amazing time and we received everything we needed in great response times with smiles each time. The day spa was fantastic and the views made it an even better experience. August 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Housekeeping We checked into our Seaview 'luxury' room and found rice grains on the balcony floor and the top of the cabinet (supposedly left over dried food from the previous guests). There was a lump of hair on our unused towel (very gross), a spider web next to our safe, there were no bedroom slippers, the sink stopper was jammed (although I should comment that the maintenance guy was quick to fix this) and on the 2nd night, the temperature control for our shower was no longer working. Lastly, joining 2 twin beds for a King bed does not work. The gap in the middle of the 2 beds is just uncomfortable - not recommendable for a 'Luxury Collection' proclamation. August 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Facility and Grounds Great Hotel facility and grounds. Staff was nice but not as attentative as I would have expected for a hotel this nice. August 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Close to nature A retreat & back to nature. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by attentive staff clean facilities, delicious food, attentive staff at all times. enjoyed Coral Pool experience. our Restaurant waiter 'Hery' most attentive. happy staff, great quiet location. will tell our Australian friends...better than Phuket or Bali. July 23, 2014
  • 2015-11-29 T07:35:05.092-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_304, tr_304
  • loc_en_US, sid_3528, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>