The Andaman, a Luxury Collection Resort, Langkawi

  • Jalan Teluk Datai
  • Langkawi,
  • 07000
  • Malaysia
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

For families of two adults and two children (up to 12 years old), one child can sleep on a daybed, while the other child can sleep in existing bedding. An extra bed for a child is complimentary.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 221 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Definitely not a luxury hotel!! The hotel is in a lovely setup with a beautiful beach, but it's a complete tourist trap with a very low quality of service: 1. There was a New Year's Eve compulsory dinner for everyone staying at the hotel. We found out about the compulsory dinner after making the reservation. And there was a cancellation fee for the reservation so we reluctantly agreed. Moreover, the quality of the food was below standards, only wine was included in the open bar. Even mineral water was not included in the relatively expensive package. 2. Room service is very slow to the point that we had to cancel an order after they failed to deliver 2 scoops of ice cream after 1 hour waiting time. 3. The hotel is in a remote area that is not well served by taxi services. There are no taxis available in front of the hotel at any time. We asked the concierge to order a car for us. The car arrived 50min later. We also had to share the car with another guest at the hotel because the concierge took the initiative of ordering 1 car for the 2 guests... 4. The hotel offers entertainment packages that are a complete scam. For example, a tour called rain forest tour is actually a walk around the hotel. Another fitness package claiming to teach how to loose 1000 calories is actually about running on the treadmill! January 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel for complete relaxation. We had just completed a busy 29 day schedule visiting Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia and were looking for a hotel to provide complete comfort and relaxation for a few days before returning home. The Andaman with its perfect location, friendly, efficient and attentive staff proved to be the ideal choice. March 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Quality and Bad Experience We were very disappointed in both the quality and service of the hotel including the room, facilities, food and pool are. We would not stay there ever again.... December 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A week of pleasure If you want 5 star locale, facilties & service the the Andaman on Datai Bay is the place for you. Laze by the pool 10 meters from the beach with drinks and snacks brought to you all day. Puuurrfect ! August 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Resort and Staff Thank you to all the staff and especially Anne, Darrin and Lawrence for making our trip quite memorable... all your staff went above and beyond in making us feel welcome from the moment we arrived to the very end. Our children really loved that you got us a volleyball and put up the net for us...that was wonderful! We really appreciated all the effort you put into our experience. All the extra little details you have put into making the resort a fun family family environment really show. We noticed all those details once we moved on to the next resort even more. Keep up the great work, From the "Volleyball Family" December 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Truly a 5 star experience This is actually my second visit to The Andaman this year. The first visit in May & being on an off-peak month, so the service is excellent and to be honest, I'm bit sceptical on my second visit in Nov which is on a peak season, that The Andaman can maintain such a high standard on their service, and guess what, they prove me wrong! The service is still excellent despite the hotel was having lots of guest. Everywhere in the hotel, the staff will greet you with a smile the moment they see you. The staff will try their best to fulfil your request and if they are not able to help, they will check on the matter & revert back to you. Food was excellent and I would suggest to try on their healthy cuisine menu & also the Japanese Restaurant. The service staff in all the restaurant is attentive & helpful. Being surrounded by million years old rainforest & beautiful sea, The Andaman offers a number of activities to the guest. There is a complimentary morning / evening nature walk & if you're lucky, you will be able to participate in their coral reef clearing activity. From the day we arrive till the day we depart, we are truly happy with the service. Kudos to all The Andaman staff! November 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Experience at The Andaman Sadly, I only spent 1 night at this truly amazing resort and my only regret is that I didn't have more time to stay longer. Upon arrival and check-in, I met Mr. Mokhtar, who personally welcomed me to the resort and arranged to upgrade my room to one of their spectacular Executive Pool Suites in recognition of my Platinum status and loyalty to the Luxury Collection. As the suite was not yet ready, he provided me with an ocean view room so I could relax for the brief wait. I spent a few hours on the beach in the meantime and soon after, was given the key to my upgraded suite. I was not prepared for the surprise ahead of me as the suite was stunning in every way. I had my own private pool and outdoor lounge with stunning views of the beach and surrounding mountains. Having spent close to 600 nights at various SPG properties around the globe, I have to say this is amongst the top 5 suites I have been fortunate to have experienced. The staff were terrific and the resort grounds simply gorgeous. My compliments and thanks to Mr. Mokhtar and the rest of the staff at this gem of a resort. Mahalo, Sott S March 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My new favorite resort in Asia Thanks to Tasriff and his team for making my stay spectacular! I really appreciate the upgrade to the suite. It was stunning. I never did come across any cheeky monkeys during my visit by the way. The beach, the pool, the forest, the seclusion, the service, all top notch. I will most certainly be back in the future. March 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Great Quiet Place Booked directly online through Starwood Hotels website simply because it was one of the hotels listed under SPG in Langkawi. I have been to Langkawi and for this trip wanted somewhere nice and quiet to chill out. The Andaman Langkawi is located in Teluk Datai - one of the gorgeous places in Langkawi. Did not regret making this booking. My only regret is only spending 2 nights in Langkawi and this hotel. Check in was very smooth. We passed over our documents and was simply told to relax and have a refreshing drinks and towel in the lobby while the receptionist prepare our room cards etc. Had booked a Deluxe Rainforest View Room and was (very) pleased to be informed that we got an upgrade to a Deluxe Sea View Room. As we were only spending 2 nights at the hotel, we didn't manage to enjoy the rest of the other facilities and activities that were on offer. There's actually plenty of activities that one can do at the hotel - such as morning/evening walks through the lush gardens (there were hornbills flying room!), reef walking etc. Our breakfasts and dinners were at the hotels. Don't forget to enjoy the Happy Hour at the Beach Bar! Definitely worth it. And the staff at the Beach Bar are very friendly! We had our dinner there at the Beach Bar one night and my friend's dinner were too salty. She complained it and the Restaurant Manager was apologetic and did not charge us for her meal. During breakfast on our last day, the manager of the hotel had even took time to talk and mingle among all the guests of the hotel - which gives that very personalized touch and warm welcome feeling. We chilled out with drinks at the lobby in the nights after dinner listening to the in-house live band playing. On internet connection - if you feel the need to be connected, there's free wifi connection in the rooms and throughout the hotel. Great way to update your social network sites and make your family and friends envy on where you are! All in all, I had a great stay there and what you see in the website is what you get (and more!). Will definitely be coming back! October 29, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Serious lapses in service and SPG recognition I booked a romance package (flowers, champagne, room service breakfast) and requested a suite night upgrade. The upgrade request did not go through which is understandable given the busy time. Apparently, the romance package request did not go through either since after 1.5 days in residence, I have yet to see any flowers. Neither did anyone remind us at check in that room service breakfast is part of the package, so we missed that in the first morning. A bottle of champagne was delivered, but the empty bottle has not been collected 24 hours later, I guess the staff thought we brought our own bottle. At check-in, there was no recognition or mention of SPG platinum status, no one asked preference for amenity, and the seaview room was exactly what I had booked and paid for, although I was lied to that it was an upgrade. To the credit of the hotel, the room was ready for early check in at 11am as requested after about 20 mins wait in the lobby. Seaview room in North Wing with a cozy balcony is nice although small, bathroom especially good with a large bathtub and rainforest shower. Room service food was tasty and delivery prompt. Bad service experiences continued after taking the shuttle to town (Andaman is really far away from everything else in Langkawi). It was supposed to start the return trip at 4pm and arrive at hotel 4.45pm. There was no shuttle in sight at 4.30pm and a call to hotel did not results in immediate action, just telling to keep waiting. Eventually the shuttle came at 5pm and arrived at the hotel 1h 10 mins late at 5.55pm. Thankfully we had cancelled a spa booking in time, initially scheduled at 5pm. Overall, the hotel is nice getaway place but the absence of service and delivering extras that have been booked and paid, let alone beyond that, makes this our last stay here. December 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience First of all, I've never seen senior management (Ms. Scott et al) so involved. Not at any four seasons or any ritz. As a result, her team is well organized and the service to guests is great. They have an abundance of staff and so we were always instantly accommodated. The food at the resort is good - there are several restaurant options and so it's hard to get bored. The fish restaurant was the best overall. The beach is fantastic - flour-like sand and generally calm. Great for kids. The resort is located far from everything, though the resort has cars available on-site for rent. Rooms are nice, but are small. My Platinum status was recognized and we were upgraded to a seaview room. Overall, we had a great trip and enjoyed the Andaman. January 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An amazing hotel in a stunning location. I spent the week before Christmas at The Andaman with my husband and 10 year old daughter. We all had the most wonderful time thanks to the extremely attentive staff, the amazing food at all the hotel restaurants (our final dinner at the Japanese Restaurant was probably the best Japanese meal we have ever had), the sensational facilities including the pool, sun beds, beach towels and direct access to the stunning beach, and the little touches throughout our stay that made it so special (eg a complimentary bottle of wine in our room on arrival). December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trip Paradise Hot to warm temperature year round, set in in a jungle near the sea the Andaman is paradise. Great food and service. 5 star at it's best. December 3, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing place to spend a week in heaven Brilliant setup and service. Had an amazing time for the week. March 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Close but no cigar My wife and I spent a 3 night-4 day stay at the Andaman in the second half of January, the best time of the year in Langkawi. I initially wanted to stay in a resort in Tanjung Rhu but the pictures of the Datai Bay made me change my mind. I don't regret my choice. The scenary is just stunning. The lagoon shaped beach is shared with the Datai Hotel but the best part of it belongs to the Andaman. The luxury seaview room offers a fantastic view of the beach surrounded by the breathtaking hilly jungle. Exactly what I wanted. I strongly recommend this room or the seeview suite if your budget allows it. The pristine beach is the highlight of the trip. The sand is literally as soft as sifted flour and the absence of wave allows the water to be crystal clear. No wonder then we didn't spend any single minute in the somewhat less mesmerizing swimming pool. The submarine flora is not as rich as the one in the Mariana Islands or Cebu but you can spot some corals and fish species with snorkling equipment kindly provided for free by the hotel. Needless to mention the fun to see and play with monkeys, squirrels, birds or lizards inside the property. I felt like being Robinson Crusoe without the tedium and the discomfort of a castaway. The facilities are simply top notch. The building is well maintained and clean. It seems that the furniture and interior are continuously revamped with taste and moderation. We loved our large bathroom with all 5 star amenities. Great attention to the guests with children playground, outdoor land and sea lover's activities, high rise spa and massage pavilions, comfortable deckchairs, free mineral water fountains etc. Kudos for the wifi internet. I enjoyed fast speed internet everywhere in the property, especially on my deckchair at the beach and in my room. But all was not perfect alas. It is the first time I lost my temper despite my general tolerance and leniency. F&B is the weakest link. As the hotel is in a secluded area, the minimum for the hotel is to provide either variety or food excellence. Neither was available. Let's start with the breakfast. Despite the good idea of offering Champagne, the buffet spread is too limited. For instance, the cheese platter only offers cheddar and imitation camembert while there is almost no exotic fresh fruit available. Meat from terayaki or curry dishes are utterly overcooked and non edible. What a disappointment. For lunch and dinner, there are four restaurants in total but all of them offer food below standard and price above expectations. When I pay circa 100 bucks for a fish or a steak, I expect that the quality of the restaurant and the ingredients are irreproachable. The grill for instance offers the possibility to select the fish but only a few of them had clear and healthy eyes, the sign of freshness. The Malaysian restaurant and the central restaurant should be more affordable as they serve mostly non-gastronomic dishes. The Andaman justifies their price by saying it is par with the likes of the Datai or Four Seasons. The hotel has much more to gain by either reducing the price or significantly improving the quality of the food. In addition, when we arrived on our first day, all the restaurants were fully booked and this seems to be the case every day. A little mail to take our dinner reservation before our arrival would have been astute. What a miss! In addition, the staff showed a clear lack of flexibility on a few trivial issues. A couple of examples; it is not possible to either get small dollar changes from a 100 dollar note or exchange into ringgit only 50 dollar out of a 100 dollar note. I explained that the small change was to distribute tips to room service but nothing will do. I tried with a different shift; same message and same inflexibility. During a dinner at the Malaysian restaurant, because all tables were fully booked (again!), it was not possible to change our table, the only one bombarded with nuts by squirrels. When we finished our dinner, half of the tables were still empty waiting for their guests. When issues cannot be solved, whatever the reason, finding an ad hoc alternative and/or showing that you tried to find a solution are keys to minimize the discontent. To wrap up, the Andaman has all the attributes of a 5-star hotel but it definitely needs to surpass itself in terms of F&B and staff to indisputably deserve this title. I hope this review will help future guests to know what to expect, and above all alert the management to make the necessary adjustments. January 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Is the Andaman SPG material? As a SPG member I have the pleasure to be facilitated by one of the most prestigious hotel chains in the world. This implicitly means that usually I am a very satisfied customer. My recent stay in the Andaman Langkawi however, was far from my earlier SPG experiences. I arrived earlier than anticipated so the fact that the room was not ready at noon was understandable and not a part of my critique. However, the way the staff handled my early arrival was far from professional.(Just letting you wait without an update of how long it will take for any action) Another problem seems to be the reservation of a taxi. Except for the pure ripoff (you are being charged 105 RM by the hotel for a 60 RM ride to the "city center"), it also took an hour before a taxi arrived. The room was in a deplorable shape: broken "balcony" door, cracks in the floor, black stains on walls and ceiling.(I have the pictures to proof it). It's nice to have a Nespresso coffee machine in your room, but it would be nicer if it worked as well. It seems to be an issue of maintenance also for the beach area where dirt is encountered every where. So in the end the icing on the cake was when it was check out time. Due to my prior experiences with the taxis at the hotel I decided to book a taxi with the front desk staff the night before my departure. When I asked for the taxi in the morning, no one knew about the reservation which meant that I was close to missing my flight since it would take another half an hour or 45 minutes to arrange a cab. Was that all? Not really. To my surprise I found out that my bill was printed on the back of the bill of another guest. Well Mr. P(...), you sure did spend some money in the Andaman Langkawi. The Andaman Langkawi might be a hotel but certainly is NOT SPG material. March 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise The location is perfect to be away to rest, relax, swim, enjoy fine dining, read a novel at poolside - on the beach or in the spacious and quiet lobby. The Adaman Resort is about a 1-hour taxi ride from the Ferry Terminal and the downtown area crowded with tourists. Cost is 60 Ringgits one-way. When you check-in you'll see the spacious and comfortable lobby, registration area and the lobby bar with a musician playing smoothing music is huge. A cold welcome drink is offered to you - ginger and lemongrass. It's delicious. The rooms are spacious, clean, with comfortable bed and pillows. All the sundries you'll need are provided: toothbrush, shampoo, conditioner, soap, 4 small bottles of bottled water every day. The shower has a wonderful rainforest shower-head and the water pressure is very good. Bathrobes and slippers are provided. There's a DVD player and free DVD movies are available at the gift shop but most are very old. Management needs to update the selection and include 2011 and 2012 new movie releases. Sign up for the morning or evening Rainforest Walk. Do it a day in advance. It's excellent - sign up for both walks - only 1 1/2 hours - well worth your time. You'll learn everything about the rainforest that surrounds the Adaman. You'll see many animals, monkeys, birds, flying bats and squirrels, maybe a snake and monitor lizard - also all the plants and trees are pointed out and identified to you. You meet the guide in the lobby at 8:00 am or 7 p.m. The beach has beautiful white sand and it's wide and long. Towels and lounges are provided. There are many shady spots under the trees and a lot of space for sun-lovers. Same at poolside. If breakfast is not included in the cost for the room, it's a little pricey but there's a lot on the menu. Restaurants including a Japanese restaurant are clean and comfortable. The outdoor restaurant near the beach is ideal for lunch. The food is delicious, quantity of food and selection very good. Service is excellent. 10% service charge is added to your bill. You may regret the number of days you booked weren't longer. You may not want to leave. September 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice hotel let down by poor service I choose the Andaman based on my previous stay at this hotel, albeit when it was under different management. My recollection was that the hotel was set in fantastic surroundings and our stay was very enjoyable. This time around, my husband and I were very disappointed by the overall service and in particular the poor check-in and check-out experience we had. Sadly, the poor overall customer service has left us with a bad impression of this hotel. The service is certainly not one you would expect from the Luxury collection. The poor service started for the very poor check-in experience we received. To cut a long story short, after nearly an hour wait (when we'd been informed it was only 15 minutes) we were shown to a room with twin beds. After informing the hotel that we had received confirmation of a room with a king bed, we were informed that we were provided with an upgraded room, albeit without the one specification we had requested - a king bed. The implied tone was that we should have been grateful to have received an upgrade regardless of whether we were satisfied. After some discussion, our attendant had admitted that the hotel was full and the room that we had booked was not available till at least 7pm. A lot of frustration could have been avoided with better communication from the hotel reception from the onset to explain the situation. In the end, we chose to accept the room as after waiting for over an hour to check in, we did not want to waste more time waiting for the right rooms to be ready, nor did we want to unpack and repack to relocate. Our check out experience was also unpleasant as when presented with our bill we noticed that an additional night had been added without our consent. When challenged, the front desk merely manually crossed out the offending item and asked us to sign the bill without even amending it on the computerised system. There were no apologies but merely indifference and infuriating nonchalance when I insisted on a new printed bill to show the correct balance. On balance the hotel is a nice one - the settings and surroundings were fantastic with lovely newly renovated bathrooms. Unfortunately the experience was marred by the poor service experienced. In this instance, the Luxury Collection hotel disappoints as the expectation of service and experience was so much higher than what was received. December 5, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quiet, peaceful, luxury The hotel is situated in Datai area, a very exclusive part of Langkawi. there are not many travellers and the place offers peace and exclusiveness for a getaway from the hustle bustle of the city. Hotel is a bit aged, but still has its charm. Staffs are very attentive and professional. and that makes a BIG difference and good impression on the guests. I would recommend this hotel to couples, families with young children who aim to getaway and just relax by the beach. November 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by LOCATION IS THE KEY Top Marks on Mother Natures Contribution. Few Places in the World still exists with such beauty and Wildlife. This Hotel is beautifully located between the Rainforest ( filled with Cheeky Monkeys and other Wildlife) and an amazing Beach. However, The Hotel being a Luxury Collection does not Live up to its Name. The Rooms are tired and old and the Quality of the Service from the Staff is borderline to totally disorganized. The main let down are the Prices the Hotel Charges on Food and Drinks. They are so so expensive and far from the Quality of the Price they Charge. Basically Hotel does deliver Value for Money. So unless you go there for the Location which I have to confess is AMAZING I would not recommend it until they sort out Service and Quality of Food. January 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience All good, besides works that are being done to the resort which are noisy. December 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location Location Location From the moment we checked in to the moment we check out the staff were fantastic and bent over backwards to ensure we were looked after. The food was exquisite and was refreshingly comfortable at how good the quality, freshness and presentation was. The setting was to die for, delicately nestled in amongst the rainforest secretly weaving itself out into beautiful Datai Bay. Everything that the Andaman has to offer, in my opinion would appeal to any traveller looking for the perfect holiday destination. September 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Everything Has Degraded We revisited The Andaman after a year, this time, paying for better room, i.e. Luxury seaview, to our dismay, besides the attentive staff treatment during our arrival, we felt the service was mediocre for a 5-star hotel. We even have to personally call to ask for our complimentary sparkling wine the day after, when it should have come with our arrival. What's more, the directory was not in our room, we had to request for it numerous times so that we could order food from our room. Also, we requested to have some ice packs kept in the freezer overnight for my wife's usage in storing breastmilk; when we received back the ice packs, they were all in liquid form. Needless to say, this will be the last time for us. January 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A tropical resort I ever stayed Andaman is the 2nd hotel while my family and I stayed one week in Langkawi. It really attrracted us for its nice beach and real tropical environment. My son liked the monkeys and the squirrels a lot. The coral nursery activitity gave us a surprise and really nice education for the kids. Overall, I give 5 star for this great hotel. The staff is really helpful and smiles always. It's pitty I did not join the welcome cocktail. but really apprecate Anna's warmly welcome. Thanks! August 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great, friendly hotel We were very excited when we reached the andaman I can't wait to go in the swimming pool it was a very good hotel the waves were very strong and we had an exciting time surfing. The second day we went surfing again it was much more stronger but the part that I didn't like was when I tumble turned in the waves! But you have to be careful of the monkeys because they'll come into your room If its not locked! Hope you have a great time in andaman. Love Natasha June 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely holiday We spent 7 days at The Andaman and regret that we did not book a longer holiday there. Our stay was absolutely fabulous and the staff were just great! The location of the hotel is really nice, in the middle of the rain forest and every day you can spot many different animals such as monkeys, birds, etc. I definitely recommend to join both the morning and evening walk where you get to know more about the rain forest. We will return for sure!!! July 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by so satisfied Thanks for wonderful and beautiful memories to us. realy apprecoate your all. February 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Asian experience The Andaman lived up to all our expectations. It is in a wonderful setting on the edge of the rainforest on a beautiful beach, thus offering much more than just a beach holiday. Staff were very friendly and service excellent. Special thanks to Wan and Mizan! Although the Andaman is quite far from the nearest town, car hire was cheap and easy. After a day's exploring we were glad to return to the best location on the island! April 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Perfect Place for honey monners and Families It was a very pleasant stay... really enjoyed it... private, nice beach view, lots of green stuff, quiet, crystal clear water, very reasonable rate for water sports equipment, clean, very good staff, except that they have not accepted to upgrade me as promised by SPG... I was on a honey moon trip and were welocomed in a very warm way except the upgrade denial. January 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very nice place for an intimate pmoments I really love the Executive Suite (Sea view) as I was really enjoyed with the breathtaking view of sunset and sunrise perfectly. I like the huge bathroom and the comfiest bed I ever slept in to. If you need an intimate privacy, this room would be the best one and the hospitality given by the staffs with smiles and kindness are awesome. June 7, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>