The Andaman, a Luxury Collection Resort, Langkawi

  • Jalan Teluk Datai
  • Langkawi,
  • 07000
  • Malaysia
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

For families of two adults and two children (up to 12 years old), one child can sleep on a daybed, while the other child can sleep in existing bedding. An extra bed for a child is complimentary.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 238 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the Great Aspirational Properties in the Starwood Portfolio OVERALL IMPRESSION: The words “idyllic” and “paradise” come immediately to mind. Langkawi for me is the new Bali - or, better, the Bali of 30 years ago: unspoiled, tropical, magical and I can’t imagine a better place to enjoy it than this self-contained, eco-friendly, low-impact resort. I am thrilled with my total experience. SPG PLATINUM RECOGNITION: Excellent. Upgraded to a brand new, full-frontal ocean view. Very VIP treatment. Lovely in-room amenity. THE ROOM: Extremely chic but still true to tropical style. LOCATION: On a secluded bay with only one other resort property nearby. Extremely isolated but that is what appeals to most guests. In the heart of a tropical rain forest teeming with wildlife. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: After literally thousands of hotel stays, I can assert that the real X-factor that makes or breaks a property is the management. Even the most beautiful hotel can languish without strong direction and dedicated managers. This hotel is exceptional because the management is exceptional. The charming director of the hotel appeared EVERY morning to greet her guests at breakfast, to receive feedback and to offer suggestions to enhance the experience. Kudos! In a world of drop-dead gorgeous spas, the V Spa stands out for the sheer beauty of the locale - a series of private “mini” villas spread throughout the rain forest and facing the gorgeous water of the bay - and the high quality of the services. The day packages were also very reasonably-priced and great value for money and I would schedule time to do at least one but preferably several days of treatments. The various restaurant venues throughout the property were all consistently out-standing - which is a very good thing as once you are there, you pretty much don’t leave the property. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: While it could hardly have been helped, I was disappointed that large areas of the beautiful pool area were closed due to renovation. ONE THING TO KNOW: The complimentary nature walks offered by the hotel are an absolute highlight and should not be missed. January 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Great Quiet Place Booked directly online through Starwood Hotels website simply because it was one of the hotels listed under SPG in Langkawi. I have been to Langkawi and for this trip wanted somewhere nice and quiet to chill out. The Andaman Langkawi is located in Teluk Datai - one of the gorgeous places in Langkawi. Did not regret making this booking. My only regret is only spending 2 nights in Langkawi and this hotel. Check in was very smooth. We passed over our documents and was simply told to relax and have a refreshing drinks and towel in the lobby while the receptionist prepare our room cards etc. Had booked a Deluxe Rainforest View Room and was (very) pleased to be informed that we got an upgrade to a Deluxe Sea View Room. As we were only spending 2 nights at the hotel, we didn't manage to enjoy the rest of the other facilities and activities that were on offer. There's actually plenty of activities that one can do at the hotel - such as morning/evening walks through the lush gardens (there were hornbills flying room!), reef walking etc. Our breakfasts and dinners were at the hotels. Don't forget to enjoy the Happy Hour at the Beach Bar! Definitely worth it. And the staff at the Beach Bar are very friendly! We had our dinner there at the Beach Bar one night and my friend's dinner were too salty. She complained it and the Restaurant Manager was apologetic and did not charge us for her meal. During breakfast on our last day, the manager of the hotel had even took time to talk and mingle among all the guests of the hotel - which gives that very personalized touch and warm welcome feeling. We chilled out with drinks at the lobby in the nights after dinner listening to the in-house live band playing. On internet connection - if you feel the need to be connected, there's free wifi connection in the rooms and throughout the hotel. Great way to update your social network sites and make your family and friends envy on where you are! All in all, I had a great stay there and what you see in the website is what you get (and more!). Will definitely be coming back! October 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, awesome kids club Stayed here for my twin sons' 4th birthday and we had a great time. We requested a birthday cake upon our arrival and were greeted with two great chocolate cakes in our room, which the boys loved. The kid's club (Young Explorers club) is the best kid's club of any resort we've been too with all sorts of engaging activities and games inside and out. We loved that the hotel has a coral nursery as part of their sustainability efforts and the surrounding rainforest is really special…you are literally in the middle of it with monkeys and other animals all around. Only drawback is that the rooms are very small and they don't go out of their way to upgrade or give special treatment to Platinum members (at least not the extent that other Starwood properties I've been to do). Overall, I would definitely recommend a stay here. February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ultimate R&R at the Andaman The 'Andaman Ambiance' was so gentle and relaxing that we felt immediately at home. Add to this warm, attentive staff hospitality, a variety of delicious cuisines (including a stunning buffet breakfast array) at your fingertips, the divine pool and Datai beach Bay set-up.... and you couldn't help but enjoy an utterly 'lay-back' and memorable holiday experience January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Resort and Staff Thank you to all the staff and especially Anne, Darrin and Lawrence for making our trip quite memorable... all your staff went above and beyond in making us feel welcome from the moment we arrived to the very end. Our children really loved that you got us a volleyball and put up the net for us...that was wonderful! We really appreciated all the effort you put into our experience. All the extra little details you have put into making the resort a fun family family environment really show. We noticed all those details once we moved on to the next resort even more. Keep up the great work, From the "Volleyball Family" December 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by High and Low Stayed at the Hotel with my wife and two kids. Arriving at the hotel i was recognized and greeted as a platinum member and also got upgraded to a pool suite which was really nice. Unfortunately that was pretty much the positive experience staying at the hotel except for Jala restaurant which is great. The rest of the hotels services level is way lower than expected and makes you think they work with the motto “why do things today if it can be done tomorrow”, by far the worst is their pool/beach restaurant where we waited 1.15 min before having to put our son to bed without any lunch since it didn’t show up. May 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience at unique location Hotel has a unique location - Beach on one side, rain forest with wildlife on the other. Good Platinum recognition. We enjoyed the wildlife on the hotel's premises, such as monkeys, hornbills and other bird life, flying squirrels, and flying lemurs - the list goes on. And it has morning and evening nature walks. Great environmental focus at the hotel. Pool was great with lots of shade. Only downside was location is remote if you want to get out. However hotel does have complimentary shuttle to town and to another location that will allow you to get out without having to rent a car. No nearby restaurants outside the hotel. Hotel staff were great! We wish we had stayed longer than the four nights we were there. March 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trip Paradise Hot to warm temperature year round, set in in a jungle near the sea the Andaman is paradise. Great food and service. 5 star at it's best. December 3, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by need renovation to meet luxury collection i upgraded to presidential suite but the room i feel to old.except the bathroom other part of room need to renovate.the floor is totally out.this suite look like 4 star.also the corridor of hotel and other part outside hotel need to take care like painting and touch up.look not nice and old.base on room i stay and outside of hotel i cannot accept this as luxury collection.the lobby quite nice. June 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Serious lapses in service and SPG recognition I booked a romance package (flowers, champagne, room service breakfast) and requested a suite night upgrade. The upgrade request did not go through which is understandable given the busy time. Apparently, the romance package request did not go through either since after 1.5 days in residence, I have yet to see any flowers. Neither did anyone remind us at check in that room service breakfast is part of the package, so we missed that in the first morning. A bottle of champagne was delivered, but the empty bottle has not been collected 24 hours later, I guess the staff thought we brought our own bottle. At check-in, there was no recognition or mention of SPG platinum status, no one asked preference for amenity, and the seaview room was exactly what I had booked and paid for, although I was lied to that it was an upgrade. To the credit of the hotel, the room was ready for early check in at 11am as requested after about 20 mins wait in the lobby. Seaview room in North Wing with a cozy balcony is nice although small, bathroom especially good with a large bathtub and rainforest shower. Room service food was tasty and delivery prompt. Bad service experiences continued after taking the shuttle to town (Andaman is really far away from everything else in Langkawi). It was supposed to start the return trip at 4pm and arrive at hotel 4.45pm. There was no shuttle in sight at 4.30pm and a call to hotel did not results in immediate action, just telling to keep waiting. Eventually the shuttle came at 5pm and arrived at the hotel 1h 10 mins late at 5.55pm. Thankfully we had cancelled a spa booking in time, initially scheduled at 5pm. Overall, the hotel is nice getaway place but the absence of service and delivering extras that have been booked and paid, let alone beyond that, makes this our last stay here. December 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by wrongly rated hotel The hotel is just overrated. The services provided are not prompt. June 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Is the Andaman SPG material? As a SPG member I have the pleasure to be facilitated by one of the most prestigious hotel chains in the world. This implicitly means that usually I am a very satisfied customer. My recent stay in the Andaman Langkawi however, was far from my earlier SPG experiences. I arrived earlier than anticipated so the fact that the room was not ready at noon was understandable and not a part of my critique. However, the way the staff handled my early arrival was far from professional.(Just letting you wait without an update of how long it will take for any action) Another problem seems to be the reservation of a taxi. Except for the pure ripoff (you are being charged 105 RM by the hotel for a 60 RM ride to the "city center"), it also took an hour before a taxi arrived. The room was in a deplorable shape: broken "balcony" door, cracks in the floor, black stains on walls and ceiling.(I have the pictures to proof it). It's nice to have a Nespresso coffee machine in your room, but it would be nicer if it worked as well. It seems to be an issue of maintenance also for the beach area where dirt is encountered every where. So in the end the icing on the cake was when it was check out time. Due to my prior experiences with the taxis at the hotel I decided to book a taxi with the front desk staff the night before my departure. When I asked for the taxi in the morning, no one knew about the reservation which meant that I was close to missing my flight since it would take another half an hour or 45 minutes to arrange a cab. Was that all? Not really. To my surprise I found out that my bill was printed on the back of the bill of another guest. Well Mr. P(...), you sure did spend some money in the Andaman Langkawi. The Andaman Langkawi might be a hotel but certainly is NOT SPG material. March 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise The location is perfect to be away to rest, relax, swim, enjoy fine dining, read a novel at poolside - on the beach or in the spacious and quiet lobby. The Adaman Resort is about a 1-hour taxi ride from the Ferry Terminal and the downtown area crowded with tourists. Cost is 60 Ringgits one-way. When you check-in you'll see the spacious and comfortable lobby, registration area and the lobby bar with a musician playing smoothing music is huge. A cold welcome drink is offered to you - ginger and lemongrass. It's delicious. The rooms are spacious, clean, with comfortable bed and pillows. All the sundries you'll need are provided: toothbrush, shampoo, conditioner, soap, 4 small bottles of bottled water every day. The shower has a wonderful rainforest shower-head and the water pressure is very good. Bathrobes and slippers are provided. There's a DVD player and free DVD movies are available at the gift shop but most are very old. Management needs to update the selection and include 2011 and 2012 new movie releases. Sign up for the morning or evening Rainforest Walk. Do it a day in advance. It's excellent - sign up for both walks - only 1 1/2 hours - well worth your time. You'll learn everything about the rainforest that surrounds the Adaman. You'll see many animals, monkeys, birds, flying bats and squirrels, maybe a snake and monitor lizard - also all the plants and trees are pointed out and identified to you. You meet the guide in the lobby at 8:00 am or 7 p.m. The beach has beautiful white sand and it's wide and long. Towels and lounges are provided. There are many shady spots under the trees and a lot of space for sun-lovers. Same at poolside. If breakfast is not included in the cost for the room, it's a little pricey but there's a lot on the menu. Restaurants including a Japanese restaurant are clean and comfortable. The outdoor restaurant near the beach is ideal for lunch. The food is delicious, quantity of food and selection very good. Service is excellent. 10% service charge is added to your bill. You may regret the number of days you booked weren't longer. You may not want to leave. September 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice hotel let down by poor service I choose the Andaman based on my previous stay at this hotel, albeit when it was under different management. My recollection was that the hotel was set in fantastic surroundings and our stay was very enjoyable. This time around, my husband and I were very disappointed by the overall service and in particular the poor check-in and check-out experience we had. Sadly, the poor overall customer service has left us with a bad impression of this hotel. The service is certainly not one you would expect from the Luxury collection. The poor service started for the very poor check-in experience we received. To cut a long story short, after nearly an hour wait (when we'd been informed it was only 15 minutes) we were shown to a room with twin beds. After informing the hotel that we had received confirmation of a room with a king bed, we were informed that we were provided with an upgraded room, albeit without the one specification we had requested - a king bed. The implied tone was that we should have been grateful to have received an upgrade regardless of whether we were satisfied. After some discussion, our attendant had admitted that the hotel was full and the room that we had booked was not available till at least 7pm. A lot of frustration could have been avoided with better communication from the hotel reception from the onset to explain the situation. In the end, we chose to accept the room as after waiting for over an hour to check in, we did not want to waste more time waiting for the right rooms to be ready, nor did we want to unpack and repack to relocate. Our check out experience was also unpleasant as when presented with our bill we noticed that an additional night had been added without our consent. When challenged, the front desk merely manually crossed out the offending item and asked us to sign the bill without even amending it on the computerised system. There were no apologies but merely indifference and infuriating nonchalance when I insisted on a new printed bill to show the correct balance. On balance the hotel is a nice one - the settings and surroundings were fantastic with lovely newly renovated bathrooms. Unfortunately the experience was marred by the poor service experienced. In this instance, the Luxury Collection hotel disappoints as the expectation of service and experience was so much higher than what was received. December 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience First of all, I've never seen senior management (Ms. Scott et al) so involved. Not at any four seasons or any ritz. As a result, her team is well organized and the service to guests is great. They have an abundance of staff and so we were always instantly accommodated. The food at the resort is good - there are several restaurant options and so it's hard to get bored. The fish restaurant was the best overall. The beach is fantastic - flour-like sand and generally calm. Great for kids. The resort is located far from everything, though the resort has cars available on-site for rent. Rooms are nice, but are small. My Platinum status was recognized and we were upgraded to a seaview room. Overall, we had a great trip and enjoyed the Andaman. January 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5��by Definitely not a luxury hotel!! The hotel is in a lovely setup with a beautiful beach, but it's a complete tourist trap with a very low quality of service: 1. There was a New Year's Eve compulsory dinner for everyone staying at the hotel. We found out about the compulsory dinner after making the reservation. And there was a cancellation fee for the reservation so we reluctantly agreed. Moreover, the quality of the food was below standards, only wine was included in the open bar. Even mineral water was not included in the relatively expensive package. 2. Room service is very slow to the point that we had to cancel an order after they failed to deliver 2 scoops of ice cream after 1 hour waiting time. 3. The hotel is in a remote area that is not well served by taxi services. There are no taxis available in front of the hotel at any time. We asked the concierge to order a car for us. The car arrived 50min later. We also had to share the car with another guest at the hotel because the concierge took the initiative of ordering 1 car for the 2 guests... 4. The hotel offers entertainment packages that are a complete scam. For example, a tour called rain forest tour is actually a walk around the hotel. Another fitness package claiming to teach how to loose 1000 calories is actually about running on the treadmill! January 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An amazing hotel in a stunning location. I spent the week before Christmas at The Andaman with my husband and 10 year old daughter. We all had the most wonderful time thanks to the extremely attentive staff, the amazing food at all the hotel restaurants (our final dinner at the Japanese Restaurant was probably the best Japanese meal we have ever had), the sensational facilities including the pool, sun beds, beach towels and direct access to the stunning beach, and the little touches throughout our stay that made it so special (eg a complimentary bottle of wine in our room on arrival). December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Eco resort Advantages: perfect beach; ecolovers paradise (flora, fauna around); Disappointments: swimming pool could be better; staff undertrained (especially breakfast team); housekeeper did not switched off 6 a,m. alarm from previous guest, receptionist did not extend room key during check-in until our late check-out time (so I discovered this after swim and was obliged to walk far from my almost end most located room to front desk in wet swimming trunks to renew key);plenty of biting mosquitos and other insects (do not seat outside at breakfast - impossible to relax because of flies and ants). May 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by LOCATION IS THE KEY Top Marks on Mother Natures Contribution. Few Places in the World still exists with such beauty and Wildlife. This Hotel is beautifully located between the Rainforest ( filled with Cheeky Monkeys and other Wildlife) and an amazing Beach. However, The Hotel being a Luxury Collection does not Live up to its Name. The Rooms are tired and old and the Quality of the Service from the Staff is borderline to totally disorganized. The main let down are the Prices the Hotel Charges on Food and Drinks. They are so so expensive and far from the Quality of the Price they Charge. Basically Hotel does deliver Value for Money. So unless you go there for the Location which I have to confess is AMAZING I would not recommend it until they sort out Service and Quality of Food. January 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding in every aspect My family recently had a short holiday at The Andaman, and our only complaint is that we were unable to stay for much longer! Everything met or exceeded our expectations. The accommodation, level of comfort, and resort facilities were of the highest standard. Before our visit, I researched all the better resorts on Langkawi, and chose The Andaman because it seemed the best fit for us: comfort, a superb pool, dining flexibility, a good beach, and lots of wildlife nearby. We used the spa and fitness centre, and participated in several excellent tours. We found everything to be of the highest standard. I had noticed a small number of negative comments on travel review sites, and we discussed these during our stay, surprised that anyone could rate any aspect of the resort as less than 10 out of 10. Perhaps these were old comments, and management had already addressed these concerns? The staff were not only efficient and competent, but very friendly in a respectful way. All staff, whether pool attendants, waiters, cleaners or desk staff, had a friendly smile and "good morning" whenever we encountered them. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them, and our every request was met. Perhaps one of the best features of The Andaman is its "eco-resort" status. This isn't just a badge or tokenism. Not only is wildlife protected, and encouraged to co-exist on the property, but the resort is engaged in a range of initiatives to lessen its environmental footprint: composting, rainwater capture, a coral nursery, and a genuine effort to educate guests on features of the natural environment all contribute to a healthy balance between the resort and its surroundings. The broad diversity of wildlife on the grounds and in adjacent forests suggests a successful balance. I've stayed at many hotels which use terms like "lush tropical gardens" for sanitised, artificial grounds - The Andaman is not one of these. The gardens and pool area retain much of the original rainforest vegetation. Little wonder that hornbills, fruit-pigeons, leaf-monkeys, kingfishers and lemurs are all breeding residents, and a hawk-owl roosts in the pool area! A few reviewers on other websites have criticised the isolation of The Andaman, but this makes it possible to fully integrate the resort with the surrounding rainforest and wildlife. In any case, we had no trouble getting to other places on the island, though we gave up our original intention of hiring a car because we thought it better to spend our time enjoying the wonderful facilities of The Andaman! April 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location Location Location From the moment we checked in to the moment we check out the staff were fantastic and bent over backwards to ensure we were looked after. The food was exquisite and was refreshingly comfortable at how good the quality, freshness and presentation was. The setting was to die for, delicately nestled in amongst the rainforest secretly weaving itself out into beautiful Datai Bay. Everything that the Andaman has to offer, in my opinion would appeal to any traveller looking for the perfect holiday destination. September 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel for complete relaxation. We had just completed a busy 29 day schedule visiting Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia and were looking for a hotel to provide complete comfort and relaxation for a few days before returning home. The Andaman with its perfect location, friendly, efficient and attentive staff proved to be the ideal choice. March 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quiet, peaceful, luxury The hotel is situated in Datai area, a very exclusive part of Langkawi. there are not many travellers and the place offers peace and exclusiveness for a getaway from the hustle bustle of the city. Hotel is a bit aged, but still has its charm. Staffs are very attentive and professional. and that makes a BIG difference and good impression on the guests. I would recommend this hotel to couples, families with young children who aim to getaway and just relax by the beach. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A tropical resort I ever stayed Andaman is the 2nd hotel while my family and I stayed one week in Langkawi. It really attrracted us for its nice beach and real tropical environment. My son liked the monkeys and the squirrels a lot. The coral nursery activitity gave us a surprise and really nice education for the kids. Overall, I give 5 star for this great hotel. The staff is really helpful and smiles always. It's pitty I did not join the welcome cocktail. but really apprecate Anna's warmly welcome. Thanks! August 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel below expectations Visited the Andaman for 8 day holiday March 2014. The rooms were below average in relation to cleanliness. Not able to open sliding door as monkeys invade room. Room very stuffy and dark. Staff were pleasant but communication sub standard. Restaurant meals OK but charged excessively. Too far away from airport and shopping areas. March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great, friendly hotel We were very excited when we reached the andaman I can't wait to go in the swimming pool it was a very good hotel the waves were very strong and we had an exciting time surfing. The second day we went surfing again it was much more stronger but the part that I didn't like was when I tumble turned in the waves! But you have to be careful of the monkeys because they'll come into your room If its not locked! Hope you have a great time in andaman. Love Natasha June 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Experience at The Andaman Sadly, I only spent 1 night at this truly amazing resort and my only regret is that I didn't have more time to stay longer. Upon arrival and check-in, I met Mr. Mokhtar, who personally welcomed me to the resort and arranged to upgrade my room to one of their spectacular Executive Pool Suites in recognition of my Platinum status and loyalty to the Luxury Collection. As the suite was not yet ready, he provided me with an ocean view room so I could relax for the brief wait. I spent a few hours on the beach in the meantime and soon after, was given the key to my upgraded suite. I was not prepared for the surprise ahead of me as the suite was stunning in every way. I had my own private pool and outdoor lounge with stunning views of the beach and surrounding mountains. Having spent close to 600 nights at various SPG properties around the globe, I have to say this is amongst the top 5 suites I have been fortunate to have experienced. The staff were terrific and the resort grounds simply gorgeous. My compliments and thanks to Mr. Mokhtar and the rest of the staff at this gem of a resort. Mahalo, Sott S March 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely holiday We spent 7 days at The Andaman and regret that we did not book a longer holiday there. Our stay was absolutely fabulous and the staff were just great! The location of the hotel is really nice, in the middle of the rain forest and every day you can spot many different animals such as monkeys, birds, etc. I definitely recommend to join both the morning and evening walk where you get to know more about the rain forest. We will return for sure!!! July 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Asian experience The Andaman lived up to all our expectations. It is in a wonderful setting on the edge of the rainforest on a beautiful beach, thus offering much more than just a beach holiday. Staff were very friendly and service excellent. Special thanks to Wan and Mizan! Although the Andaman is quite far from the nearest town, car hire was cheap and easy. After a day's exploring we were glad to return to the best location on the island! April 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great hotel food too expensive we had a wonderful time at Andaman..after bad experience (due to very noisy people in room close to ours)and nights with little sleep! Staff kindly upgraded us to very nice suite and made the last part of our stay a very enjoyable one; But we were quite disappointed by meals provided specially by very high prices for even salad, sandwiches etc..Sea food restaurant is first class and high price is not a surprise but at least for lunch Andaman should propose meals at normal price it is not acceptable to pay a salad in Malaysia as if it was in big city like Paris NY or Tokyo..right? total amount we payed for our stay is high and we accepted that for room rate, tours etc but for food it's really too much! Except for tours activities proposed are quite low May 11, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>