The Andaman, a Luxury Collection Resort, Langkawi

  • Jalan Teluk Datai
  • Langkawi,
  • 07000
  • Malaysia
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

For families of two adults and two children (up to 12 years old), one child can sleep on a daybed, while the other child can sleep in existing bedding. An extra bed for a child is complimentary.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 256 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel below expectations Visited the Andaman for 8 day holiday March 2014. The rooms were below average in relation to cleanliness. Not able to open sliding door as monkeys invade room. Room very stuffy and dark. Staff were pleasant but communication sub standard. Restaurant meals OK but charged excessively. Too far away from airport and shopping areas. March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb We loved our stay! The location - Datai Bay - is perfect! Probably the best at Langkawi where the beach, the sea and the Rainforest merge perfectly. The wildlife at the Andaman is lovely. The staff is very kind, friendly and very professional. The SPA is magnificent. Definetly a place to relax and come back! June 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel for complete relaxation. We had just completed a busy 29 day schedule visiting Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia and were looking for a hotel to provide complete comfort and relaxation for a few days before returning home. The Andaman with its perfect location, friendly, efficient and attentive staff proved to be the ideal choice. March 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by 4 DAYS Overated Stay for over priced hotel Overated hotel. Rooms filled with ants. Breakfast was substandard. Most requests was ignored and only fullfilled after numerous calls. We did not have hot water for ore than 24 hours. Only great thing about the resort, is the beach, one of the best in Langkawi. They even messed up my SPG points. June 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nature, nature, nature One of the best locations I have ever seen. Perfect also for children both beach and pool area, etc. Typical Malaysian friendliness and hospitality. REmote location may require rental car, taxi, scooter to get around. Never leave a window open, very smart baboons! December 2, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Very Beautiful & Private Beach Resort We were on our honeymoon at the resort and it was a very invaluable experience. As we were on a honeymoon package; our room was upgraded. : ) The Romantic Dinner was really wonderful next to the beach. The hotel staff was very courteous and cheerful. December 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rainforest and luxury Unique way to visit the rain forest and be a part of nature. I particularly appreciate the hotel's green values. Green values are not just words, they are the part of daily oparation. THE Andaman offers a luxury experience and more! December 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Housekeeping We checked into our Seaview 'luxury' room and found rice grains on the balcony floor and the top of the cabinet (supposedly left over dried food from the previous guests). There was a lump of hair on our unused towel (very gross), a spider web next to our safe, there were no bedroom slippers, the sink stopper was jammed (although I should comment that the maintenance guy was quick to fix this) and on the 2nd night, the temperature control for our shower was no longer working. Lastly, joining 2 twin beds for a King bed does not work. The gap in the middle of the 2 beds is just uncomfortable - not recommendable for a 'Luxury Collection' proclamation. August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Experience at The Andaman Sadly, I only spent 1 night at this truly amazing resort and my only regret is that I didn't have more time to stay longer. Upon arrival and check-in, I met Mr. Mokhtar, who personally welcomed me to the resort and arranged to upgrade my room to one of their spectacular Executive Pool Suites in recognition of my Platinum status and loyalty to the Luxury Collection. As the suite was not yet ready, he provided me with an ocean view room so I could relax for the brief wait. I spent a few hours on the beach in the meantime and soon after, was given the key to my upgraded suite. I was not prepared for the surprise ahead of me as the suite was stunning in every way. I had my own private pool and outdoor lounge with stunning views of the beach and surrounding mountains. Having spent close to 600 nights at various SPG properties around the globe, I have to say this is amongst the top 5 suites I have been fortunate to have experienced. The staff were terrific and the resort grounds simply gorgeous. My compliments and thanks to Mr. Mokhtar and the rest of the staff at this gem of a resort. Mahalo, Sott S March 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent features all quality. This hotel is highly recommended. The position is pristine. The facilities and service are friendly yet professional. Will definitely visit again for a longer stay. July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel has great service i have stayed in most of hotels in Malaysia,especially in KualaLumpur and Langkawi, this hotel with best serive, everyone in the hotel are nice and smile April 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Andaman Resort is a great place Very beautiful environment and a wonderful hotel by one of the top 10 world beaches. Great service and hospitality. August 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience All good, besides works that are being done to the resort which are noisy. December 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed Check in was poor - did not provide any information on hotel and immediately asked for Passport and credit card - not pleasant. Room we booked a king and were given a twin - it took three nights and constant telephoning to change rooms. Limited storage space for family. Food dissatisfied - not 5 star. Limited choice . Today ran out of chips. Quality lacks consistency child's burger in beach bar different to burger in lobby bar? Package no benefits - we booked family escapades which includes free watersports however everybody in hotel has free waters ports whatever their package. Pool - no lifeguard - slide paint flaking. Location fantastic August 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed After having read the raving reviews on TripAdvisor, I felt convinced The Andaman would be a great choice for me and my parents to relax and be pampered at the resort. Unfortunately, this wasn't our experience from the start. We arrived just 30 mins before check-in, but were told we would have to wait. My mum was rather tired after the flight, and luckily when we asked a second person, he ushered us into a 'hospitality' room to wait till the check-in time. 3pm came and passed and my parents couldn't get into their room till 3.45. I was told they would call my parents' room to inform me when my room was available. At 5.30pm I got tired of waiting and found my room had been ready all along! We complained to the Manager who did some service recovery. We appreciated that. However, when we checked out early a few days later, her offer of a packed breakfast for us never materialised. Rather disappointing to end our holiday this way. Over the few days we were there, service was efficient mostly, but it didn't seem very warm. I gather it could be because of the busy season, but it should not be an excuse for a 5-star resort like yours. Andaman's advantage is its beautiful view and great waters. I wish its people would match its beautiful location and aspect. January 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by this hotel lacks the capability of providing good room service the level of room service (room cleaning) was far below the expectations. rooms were not cleaned atleast till 2pm and we had to call to get it cleaned. after an initial concern was raised, we were promised that rooms will be cleaned by 12 noon the next day. However that did not happen again. stayed for 4 nights the service only went down after day 1. I can't understand when we check in the rooms are so pristine and after that why can't they continue maintaining the same standard? its definitely does not fall under a luxury collection standard. I would have moved to a different hotel midway but. could not do that as I my cancellation deadline had passed. March 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Weekend Away Hotel was beautifully laid out and clearly preserved the nature surrounding the grounds. I loved the non-pretentious entrance and lobby area. Room had the most amazing view and extremely comfortable bed. All staff was incredibly polite and attentive. The service really enhanced the trip. We loved the element of privacy throughout the hotel as well. Dinner at Jala was absolutely delicious and cocktails at the beach bar were very good. The only complaints about the hotel were that the first shower I took, the drain was completely clogged and flooded the entire bathroom. The drain should have been checked before we were allowed to unpack in the room between guests and when I called the concierge it took more than 25 minutes for someone to come look at it. Lastly, the food at the beach bar was not up to standards with the rest of the hotel. My boyfriend ordered the turkey panini and it was disgusting and inedible. The turkey was thick processed pre-packaged turkey. Being at a 5 star hotel, I highly recommend the beach bar get its food quality on par. Overall a very relaxing and romantic weekend away from Singapore. Will definitely be going back and recommending The Andaman to friends! November 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Close but no cigar My wife and I spent a 3 night-4 day stay at the Andaman in the second half of January, the best time of the year in Langkawi. I initially wanted to stay in a resort in Tanjung Rhu but the pictures of the Datai Bay made me change my mind. I don't regret my choice. The scenary is just stunning. The lagoon shaped beach is shared with the Datai Hotel but the best part of it belongs to the Andaman. The luxury seaview room offers a fantastic view of the beach surrounded by the breathtaking hilly jungle. Exactly what I wanted. I strongly recommend this room or the seeview suite if your budget allows it. The pristine beach is the highlight of the trip. The sand is literally as soft as sifted flour and the absence of wave allows the water to be crystal clear. No wonder then we didn't spend any single minute in the somewhat less mesmerizing swimming pool. The submarine flora is not as rich as the one in the Mariana Islands or Cebu but you can spot some corals and fish species with snorkling equipment kindly provided for free by the hotel. Needless to mention the fun to see and play with monkeys, squirrels, birds or lizards inside the property. I felt like being Robinson Crusoe without the tedium and the discomfort of a castaway. The facilities are simply top notch. The building is well maintained and clean. It seems that the furniture and interior are continuously revamped with taste and moderation. We loved our large bathroom with all 5 star amenities. Great attention to the guests with children playground, outdoor land and sea lover's activities, high rise spa and massage pavilions, comfortable deckchairs, free mineral water fountains etc. Kudos for the wifi internet. I enjoyed fast speed internet everywhere in the property, especially on my deckchair at the beach and in my room. But all was not perfect alas. It is the first time I lost my temper despite my general tolerance and leniency. F&B is the weakest link. As the hotel is in a secluded area, the minimum for the hotel is to provide either variety or food excellence. Neither was available. Let's start with the breakfast. Despite the good idea of offering Champagne, the buffet spread is too limited. For instance, the cheese platter only offers cheddar and imitation camembert while there is almost no exotic fresh fruit available. Meat from terayaki or curry dishes are utterly overcooked and non edible. What a disappointment. For lunch and dinner, there are four restaurants in total but all of them offer food below standard and price above expectations. When I pay circa 100 bucks for a fish or a steak, I expect that the quality of the restaurant and the ingredients are irreproachable. The grill for instance offers the possibility to select the fish but only a few of them had clear and healthy eyes, the sign of freshness. The Malaysian restaurant and the central restaurant should be more affordable as they serve mostly non-gastronomic dishes. The Andaman justifies their price by saying it is par with the likes of the Datai or Four Seasons. The hotel has much more to gain by either reducing the price or significantly improving the quality of the food. In addition, when we arrived on our first day, all the restaurants were fully booked and this seems to be the case every day. A little mail to take our dinner reservation before our arrival would have been astute. What a miss! In addition, the staff showed a clear lack of flexibility on a few trivial issues. A couple of examples; it is not possible to either get small dollar changes from a 100 dollar note or exchange into ringgit only 50 dollar out of a 100 dollar note. I explained that the small change was to distribute tips to room service but nothing will do. I tried with a different shift; same message and same inflexibility. During a dinner at the Malaysian restaurant, because all tables were fully booked (again!), it was not possible to change our table, the only one bombarded with nuts by squirrels. When we finished our dinner, half of the tables were still empty waiting for their guests. When issues cannot be solved, whatever the reason, finding an ad hoc alternative and/or showing that you tried to find a solution are keys to minimize the discontent. To wrap up, the Andaman has all the attributes of a 5-star hotel but it definitely needs to surpass itself in terms of F&B and staff to indisputably deserve this title. I hope this review will help future guests to know what to expect, and above all alert the management to make the necessary adjustments. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel - Great location. We have just got back from our first stay in Malaysia. We spent 9 nights at the Andaman and it was absolutely fantastic. We had a pool room. It was great to have a dip in your own private pool in the evening. Throughout our stay the staff really made an effort to make us welcome especially Sri Ulina and her colleagues in the beach bar. We ate in all the restaurants, all were very very good but our favourite was Tepian Laut the food here was the best we had all holiday. The highlight for us though was the location in Datai bay which gave us the most stunning views. Thanks for a wonderful holiday and we hope to visit again. March 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thoroughly enjoyable Had a wonderful 7 nights at the Andaman in February 2012. Room, staff, food, beach, weather fantastic. We both really appreciated the relaxed and welcoming atmosphere; the quality of food, the caring approach of all staff (room cleaners, bar staff, restaurant, watersports, reception etc.). Our only grumble was the loudness of one of the evening musical acts - a female singer/keyboard player with guitarist - rather unfortunate as the noise levels travelled and intruded somewhat on dining and other artists performing. However, overall we had a wonderful time - and look forward to returning at some point in the future. February 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you! I have to give credit where credit is due... The Andaman is a fantastic hotel, with staff that go the extra mile that made my stay enjoyable and thoroughly relaxing. Anne, your team are a credit too you. Location is perfect for some relaxation either poolside or by the beach, listening to the waves on the beach. The hotel is built into the surrounding rainforest which gives it a unique character. The spa.... heaven! Only negative is it's distance from Kuah. However, this is offset easily by the quality of the hotel. Next time I am in Langakwi, I will be returning here. PS.... I loved the Mimosas at breakfast! October 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Location is great Location good, pool and environs well planned, service lacking consistency, clearly front office and housekeeping processes were not consistently followed despite several prompts. Food and beverage quality and services met expectations. Spa facilities were luxury standard. Top management not highly visible but line management did a very good job and displayed eagerness to please and improve delivery. Maintenance of building and facilities could be improved e.g lights in toilet near pool were reported as being inoperative but were not replaced making area unsafe. Will visit again despite these shortcomings. July 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by room was not much, but great nature I enjoyed staying with my family for four nights. The rainforest and all other aspects of its great nature surrounding made our stay very special. The coral activity was very unique and taught us a lot about the nature. The pool was ideally made to breathe in the air from the rainforest. The only thing we were not impresses very much was the standard room we stayed. Not dirty, but not perfectly cleaned with dusts under the bed floating around. Geting a little bit outdated. However, the food was great. We also enjoyed going to the restaurants in the Datai with free transportation arranged by the Andaman. November 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Close to perfection! We definitely want to come back. This is a great resort hotel! Arrival from the airport by taxi takes 45 minutes (fixed price MYR 65, half the price of the hotel transfer service MYR 110), along curvy roads. The resort is isolated (30 kms from the airport) and there's nothing at all within walking distance, so we hired a car to do some exploring around Langkawi. However, the resort is wonderfully comfortable, so for shorter stays, you may not need a car if you just want to rest at the hotel instead. Check-in was easy and quick. The hotel is set within a rainforest, so there lots of lovely trees and wildlife around. Our room was "a luxury seaview" room on the north wing (at the time, the south wing was closed for renovations). All the rooms (deluxe or luxury) seem to be the same size (43 square metres), but many will just have 'tree views'. Our first 'sea view room' had a tree obscuring our view, and we were finally moved to another room with a lovely, clear view. In the north wing, you need to be on the 3rd or 4th floor, and high room number (30+) to get the best sea views. The room was large, clean and comfortable, with many amenities (coffee, tea, etc), and a large, comfortable bathroom. However, the balcony was small and only semi-private. The large king bed was comfortable, the air conditioning worked well, and we slept well. You need to be very careful with locking the balcony doors, and not leaving things on the balcony, as the naughty macaque monkeys will enter your room and steal food (and possibly other things)! One stole chips from a mini-bar even while I did my very best to scare it away (they can act a little aggressive, showing teeth and hissing). Free wi-fi in the room and around the hotel was very reliable but a little slow. The beach is perfect. The water is flat and calm, warm and pleasant, and mostly sandy underfoot. There’s plenty of shade for the lounge chairs (ice water and towels are provided) -- I've been to many beaches, but this was definitely the best I have experienced! There are only a few eating choices at the hotel, each seems a little over-priced. Our favourite was the main restaurant (unimaginatively called..."The Restaurant"). The breakfast buffet was very, very good and had a large choice of Asian and western style food. As we had a hire car, we also ate out (requiring a 45+ minutes drive). The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. We had a couple of minor problems, and the staff did their very best to resolve these for us. The pool area is very nice, and there's activities provided by the hotel which are interesting. The wellness spa is beautifully situated, but we had mixed experiences with massages (2 were very good, 1 was poor, and 4th was simply bad and uncomfortable!). The hotel is not cheap, but we had a fabulous stay and would love to come back! Highly recommended! November 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed We wanted to go back to The Andaman after spending a wonderful time when we first visited the hotel in 2006. Unfortunately, this time we were quite disappointed by the service of the hotel and the quality of the beach. The towels provided on the beach were poor/ worn out, beach was very dirty with lots of rubbish and some oils from the ocean. We were also disappointed by the quantity and quality of the food at the restaurant Tepian Laut (i.e.:food tasted bland). We also had to wait one hour for our lunch at The Restaurant without having any explanation as to why we had to wait so long until we asked for an explanation. The only same service and quality we had from 6 years ago was the spa. August 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful experience We, a family of 4, had a wonderful time at "THE ANDAMAN". After a long 7-week trip, we needed a place to relax, we were recommended a stay at the resort. All members of the family were more than satisfied with the stay. A staff, working with the purpose to make the guests feel pampered, succeeded in this! Lots of thing to do, good food, very nice accommodation, the spa, what can you ask for more? December 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Eco resort Advantages: perfect beach; ecolovers paradise (flora, fauna around); Disappointments: swimming pool could be better; staff undertrained (especially breakfast team); housekeeper did not switched off 6 a,m. alarm from previous guest, receptionist did not extend room key during check-in until our late check-out time (so I discovered this after swim and was obliged to walk far from my almost end most located room to front desk in wet swimming trunks to renew key);plenty of biting mosquitos and other insects (do not seat outside at breakfast - impossible to relax because of flies and ants). May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helpful and friendly staff I would highly recommend The Andaman to families looking for a fun and relaxing beach holiday. The staff were outstanding - helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the wildlife and area and were great with the children. Snorkelling and feeding the coral were a highlight for our children and we would particularly like to thank the man who looks after the coral nursery for getting our daughter to snorkel for the first time. In addition, the staff in the Young Explorers Club were also fantastic. A few minor points: Movies on demand (especially children's films) would be useful for rainy days as there were no children's DVDs to rent. Toiletries and condiments weren't always replenished in the room. November 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel and location We stayed here in January as a family of 2 adults and 2 children. We found everything to our liking, from the moment of entering the hotel, with its grand entry, our lovely room, with beds for the children, to all of the caring and helpful staff (including the GM Anne who was very helpful when our child was unwell). The beach was beautiful and relaxing, we spent every day on the beach lounges while our children played in the sand. Happy hour at the beach bar was memorable, followed by dinner in one of the dining options, and drinks with live music entertainment. We didn't want to leave. February 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Hotel This hotel exceeded my expectations. Living in the middle of a rainforest with a deserted beach and monkeys was great but so was everything else, including the personalized service. Our concierge/bellman Mizeal was so attentive in educating us regarding our room, the monkeys etc. I was treated by the hotel's in-house medical asst. for a coral laceration infection with antibiotics etc. He cleared it up for $6., including medication. 5 Star service. From front desk to check out, everyone was caring. We paid for a new airline ticket just to stay an extra day. We're definitely coming back. December 31, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>