The Andaman, a Luxury Collection Resort, Langkawi

  • Jalan Teluk Datai
  • Langkawi,
  • 07000
  • Malaysia
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 292 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful setting, very courteous staff Tranquil setting with Rainforest and Beach surroundings for pure relaxation. May 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent stay but restaurant food can be improved We just had a three-night stay at the Andaman and almost everything was very well taken care of. From our airport transfer, to check-in and to the prompt service rendered. For instance, our minibar fridge was not working at all, giving out lots of heat and sound throughout the night and the engineering staff was able to replace us with a new fridge late at night. Our kids' milk which could not be consumed as a result was replaced compliments from the hotel which we were grateful. The beach was awesome, the pool was well-maintained. The nature trails planned by their desk were very well-thought through. Suffice to say, this was what one would expect of a luxury class resort. However, we had a terrible experience at the Restaurant (supposedly italian dinner). First, our seafood was raw in the middle and the chef said it was supposed to be so. Second, our ravioli was tough on the edges and still lukewarm in the middle, which again, the server conveyed the chef's words that this was how ravioli is supposed to be cooked. The servers were very patient and helpful and wasted no time in getting us a new order. However, we ended up waiting for 45 minutes and the food arrived with extra serving of salt, salt and lots of salt. We complained to the servers and were told that they were sorry and asked if we would like another order. However, with two crying toddlers at hand, way past their bedtime, we just couldn't afford the time nor the patience. We were utterly disappointed. One could usually tell a person's mood from his/her cooking. Other than this unfortunate experience, we were fully satisfied with our resort stay with the Andaman! May 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Resort I had my great time in The Andaman, The Luxury Collection as the the hotel have wonderful location and great place to spend for holiday. Enjoying the facilities and the comfortable room.Another credit for the resort is truly rainforest resort where we can experience a great time on the beach while experience to stay at the resort inside the thick rainforest April 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Generaly speaking... I am still a guest here, and feeling quite fine. But I am writing today because I just had my first bad experience after ten very pleasent days. Generaly speaking, the only thing bothering us in this hollydays is the door, not closing properly. Meening there is enough room to stick your finger between door and frame. As a result you can hear everything what happens outside every hour of night and day, as if it happens in your room. About today; We where taking lunch as usual in the bar at the 4th floor, asking also as usual for juices for the kids containing Less ice, they came Full of the stuff. as I criticized this, everything went wrong with the poor Lady in charge. Not to mention that she brought the wrong juice, mango in stead of pinapple. At the end we had to wait 30 minutes for an icecream, and in the bill my SPG nr was not mentioned, thus we where here every day for 9 days. As for the rest; the japanese and the italian restaurants are very good, the swimming in the pool at the Pool Acess Room is perfect. Concierge is tring to help you every way they can. All in one; a great experience, not mentioning the rainforest... April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding in every aspect My family recently had a short holiday at The Andaman, and our only complaint is that we were unable to stay for much longer! Everything met or exceeded our expectations. The accommodation, level of comfort, and resort facilities were of the highest standard. Before our visit, I researched all the better resorts on Langkawi, and chose The Andaman because it seemed the best fit for us: comfort, a superb pool, dining flexibility, a good beach, and lots of wildlife nearby. We used the spa and fitness centre, and participated in several excellent tours. We found everything to be of the highest standard. I had noticed a small number of negative comments on travel review sites, and we discussed these during our stay, surprised that anyone could rate any aspect of the resort as less than 10 out of 10. Perhaps these were old comments, and management had already addressed these concerns? The staff were not only efficient and competent, but very friendly in a respectful way. All staff, whether pool attendants, waiters, cleaners or desk staff, had a friendly smile and "good morning" whenever we encountered them. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them, and our every request was met. Perhaps one of the best features of The Andaman is its "eco-resort" status. This isn't just a badge or tokenism. Not only is wildlife protected, and encouraged to co-exist on the property, but the resort is engaged in a range of initiatives to lessen its environmental footprint: composting, rainwater capture, a coral nursery, and a genuine effort to educate guests on features of the natural environment all contribute to a healthy balance between the resort and its surroundings. The broad diversity of wildlife on the grounds and in adjacent forests suggests a successful balance. I've stayed at many hotels which use terms like "lush tropical gardens" for sanitised, artificial grounds - The Andaman is not one of these. The gardens and pool area retain much of the original rainforest vegetation. Little wonder that hornbills, fruit-pigeons, leaf-monkeys, kingfishers and lemurs are all breeding residents, and a hawk-owl roosts in the pool area! A few reviewers on other websites have criticised the isolation of The Andaman, but this makes it possible to fully integrate the resort with the surrounding rainforest and wildlife. In any case, we had no trouble getting to other places on the island, though we gave up our original intention of hiring a car because we thought it better to spend our time enjoying the wonderful facilities of The Andaman! April 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by PERFECT LOCATION, Stayed for 5 nights for our anniversary. The location was ideal and the animal and birdlife was fantastic! The staff were super friendly and nothing was a bother for them. Highly recommend. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience at unique location Hotel has a unique location - Beach on one side, rain forest with wildlife on the other. Good Platinum recognition. We enjoyed the wildlife on the hotel's premises, such as monkeys, hornbills and other bird life, flying squirrels, and flying lemurs - the list goes on. And it has morning and evening nature walks. Great environmental focus at the hotel. Pool was great with lots of shade. Only downside was location is remote if you want to get out. However hotel does have complimentary shuttle to town and to another location that will allow you to get out without having to rent a car. No nearby restaurants outside the hotel. Hotel staff were great! We wish we had stayed longer than the four nights we were there. March 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel for complete relaxation. We had just completed a busy 29 day schedule visiting Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia and were looking for a hotel to provide complete comfort and relaxation for a few days before returning home. The Andaman with its perfect location, friendly, efficient and attentive staff proved to be the ideal choice. March 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Experience at The Andaman Sadly, I only spent 1 night at this truly amazing resort and my only regret is that I didn't have more time to stay longer. Upon arrival and check-in, I met Mr. Mokhtar, who personally welcomed me to the resort and arranged to upgrade my room to one of their spectacular Executive Pool Suites in recognition of my Platinum status and loyalty to the Luxury Collection. As the suite was not yet ready, he provided me with an ocean view room so I could relax for the brief wait. I spent a few hours on the beach in the meantime and soon after, was given the key to my upgraded suite. I was not prepared for the surprise ahead of me as the suite was stunning in every way. I had my own private pool and outdoor lounge with stunning views of the beach and surrounding mountains. Having spent close to 600 nights at various SPG properties around the globe, I have to say this is amongst the top 5 suites I have been fortunate to have experienced. The staff were terrific and the resort grounds simply gorgeous. My compliments and thanks to Mr. Mokhtar and the rest of the staff at this gem of a resort. Mahalo, Sott S March 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My new favorite resort in Asia Thanks to Tasriff and his team for making my stay spectacular! I really appreciate the upgrade to the suite. It was stunning. I never did come across any cheeky monkeys during my visit by the way. The beach, the pool, the forest, the seclusion, the service, all top notch. I will most certainly be back in the future. March 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel below expectations Visited the Andaman for 8 day holiday March 2014. The rooms were below average in relation to cleanliness. Not able to open sliding door as monkeys invade room. Room very stuffy and dark. Staff were pleasant but communication sub standard. Restaurant meals OK but charged excessively. Too far away from airport and shopping areas. March 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing place to spend a week in heaven Brilliant setup and service. Had an amazing time for the week. March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by so satisfied Thanks for wonderful and beautiful memories to us. realy apprecoate your all. February 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Nice hotel which gives a back to nature feel. Staffs are friendly and helpful.. February 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Place for relaxation I visited to The Andaman with wife and 9 yrs old daughter. They really had fun there during our stay for 2 nights. My daughter enjoyed swimiming at pool and picking up shells at beach. My wife enjoyed sitting at beach and poolside. They also liked atmosphere. We were surprised to see monkeys from the room we stayed at. About cuisine, various food was served at breakfast. We had very good time in the morning. We had buffur style BBQ dinner at Tepian Laut on 2/Feb. Wife and daughter were pleased with location and some dishes. Alnd we also enjoyed Malay traditional dance show. Although it was delayed to start, it was worth waiting for it for us. We could book only two stays due to Chinese New Year holidays season at this first trip to The Andaman. But we experienced mood of resourt. We'd like to be back to The Andaman, Langkawi. February 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, awesome kids club Stayed here for my twin sons' 4th birthday and we had a great time. We requested a birthday cake upon our arrival and were greeted with two great chocolate cakes in our room, which the boys loved. The kid's club (Young Explorers club) is the best kid's club of any resort we've been too with all sorts of engaging activities and games inside and out. We loved that the hotel has a coral nursery as part of their sustainability efforts and the surrounding rainforest is really special…you are literally in the middle of it with monkeys and other animals all around. Only drawback is that the rooms are very small and they don't go out of their way to upgrade or give special treatment to Platinum members (at least not the extent that other Starwood properties I've been to do). Overall, I would definitely recommend a stay here. February 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Close but no cigar My wife and I spent a 3 night-4 day stay at the Andaman in the second half of January, the best time of the year in Langkawi. I initially wanted to stay in a resort in Tanjung Rhu but the pictures of the Datai Bay made me change my mind. I don't regret my choice. The scenary is just stunning. The lagoon shaped beach is shared with the Datai Hotel but the best part of it belongs to the Andaman. The luxury seaview room offers a fantastic view of the beach surrounded by the breathtaking hilly jungle. Exactly what I wanted. I strongly recommend this room or the seeview suite if your budget allows it. The pristine beach is the highlight of the trip. The sand is literally as soft as sifted flour and the absence of wave allows the water to be crystal clear. No wonder then we didn't spend any single minute in the somewhat less mesmerizing swimming pool. The submarine flora is not as rich as the one in the Mariana Islands or Cebu but you can spot some corals and fish species with snorkling equipment kindly provided for free by the hotel. Needless to mention the fun to see and play with monkeys, squirrels, birds or lizards inside the property. I felt like being Robinson Crusoe without the tedium and the discomfort of a castaway. The facilities are simply top notch. The building is well maintained and clean. It seems that the furniture and interior are continuously revamped with taste and moderation. We loved our large bathroom with all 5 star amenities. Great attention to the guests with children playground, outdoor land and sea lover's activities, high rise spa and massage pavilions, comfortable deckchairs, free mineral water fountains etc. Kudos for the wifi internet. I enjoyed fast speed internet everywhere in the property, especially on my deckchair at the beach and in my room. But all was not perfect alas. It is the first time I lost my temper despite my general tolerance and leniency. F&B is the weakest link. As the hotel is in a secluded area, the minimum for the hotel is to provide either variety or food excellence. Neither was available. Let's start with the breakfast. Despite the good idea of offering Champagne, the buffet spread is too limited. For instance, the cheese platter only offers cheddar and imitation camembert while there is almost no exotic fresh fruit available. Meat from terayaki or curry dishes are utterly overcooked and non edible. What a disappointment. For lunch and dinner, there are four restaurants in total but all of them offer food below standard and price above expectations. When I pay circa 100 bucks for a fish or a steak, I expect that the quality of the restaurant and the ingredients are irreproachable. The grill for instance offers the possibility to select the fish but only a few of them had clear and healthy eyes, the sign of freshness. The Malaysian restaurant and the central restaurant should be more affordable as they serve mostly non-gastronomic dishes. The Andaman justifies their price by saying it is par with the likes of the Datai or Four Seasons. The hotel has much more to gain by either reducing the price or significantly improving the quality of the food. In addition, when we arrived on our first day, all the restaurants were fully booked and this seems to be the case every day. A little mail to take our dinner reservation before our arrival would have been astute. What a miss! In addition, the staff showed a clear lack of flexibility on a few trivial issues. A couple of examples; it is not possible to either get small dollar changes from a 100 dollar note or exchange into ringgit only 50 dollar out of a 100 dollar note. I explained that the small change was to distribute tips to room service but nothing will do. I tried with a different shift; same message and same inflexibility. During a dinner at the Malaysian restaurant, because all tables were fully booked (again!), it was not possible to change our table, the only one bombarded with nuts by squirrels. When we finished our dinner, half of the tables were still empty waiting for their guests. When issues cannot be solved, whatever the reason, finding an ad hoc alternative and/or showing that you tried to find a solution are keys to minimize the discontent. To wrap up, the Andaman has all the attributes of a 5-star hotel but it definitely needs to surpass itself in terms of F&B and staff to indisputably deserve this title. I hope this review will help future guests to know what to expect, and above all alert the management to make the necessary adjustments. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ultimate R&R at the Andaman The 'Andaman Ambiance' was so gentle and relaxing that we felt immediately at home. Add to this warm, attentive staff hospitality, a variety of delicious cuisines (including a stunning buffet breakfast array) at your fingertips, the divine pool and Datai beach Bay set-up.... and you couldn't help but enjoy an utterly 'lay-back' and memorable holiday experience January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Executive suite Outstanding acc, food, staff and location. An added bonus is the balance between the hotel and its environment with much effort placed into conservation and harmony of nature. January 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Everything Has Degraded We revisited The Andaman after a year, this time, paying for better room, i.e. Luxury seaview, to our dismay, besides the attentive staff treatment during our arrival, we felt the service was mediocre for a 5-star hotel. We even have to personally call to ask for our complimentary sparkling wine the day after, when it should have come with our arrival. What's more, the directory was not in our room, we had to request for it numerous times so that we could order food from our room. Also, we requested to have some ice packs kept in the freezer overnight for my wife's usage in storing breastmilk; when we received back the ice packs, they were all in liquid form. Needless to say, this will be the last time for us. January 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the Great Aspirational Properties in the Starwood Portfolio OVERALL IMPRESSION: The words “idyllic” and “paradise” come immediately to mind. Langkawi for me is the new Bali - or, better, the Bali of 30 years ago: unspoiled, tropical, magical and I can’t imagine a better place to enjoy it than this self-contained, eco-friendly, low-impact resort. I am thrilled with my total experience. SPG PLATINUM RECOGNITION: Excellent. Upgraded to a brand new, full-frontal ocean view. Very VIP treatment. Lovely in-room amenity. THE ROOM: Extremely chic but still true to tropical style. LOCATION: On a secluded bay with only one other resort property nearby. Extremely isolated but that is what appeals to most guests. In the heart of a tropical rain forest teeming with wildlife. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: After literally thousands of hotel stays, I can assert that the real X-factor that makes or breaks a property is the management. Even the most beautiful hotel can languish without strong direction and dedicated managers. This hotel is exceptional because the management is exceptional. The charming director of the hotel appeared EVERY morning to greet her guests at breakfast, to receive feedback and to offer suggestions to enhance the experience. Kudos! In a world of drop-dead gorgeous spas, the V Spa stands out for the sheer beauty of the locale - a series of private “mini” villas spread throughout the rain forest and facing the gorgeous water of the bay - and the high quality of the services. The day packages were also very reasonably-priced and great value for money and I would schedule time to do at least one but preferably several days of treatments. The various restaurant venues throughout the property were all consistently out-standing - which is a very good thing as once you are there, you pretty much don’t leave the property. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: While it could hardly have been helped, I was disappointed that large areas of the beautiful pool area were closed due to renovation. ONE THING TO KNOW: The complimentary nature walks offered by the hotel are an absolute highlight and should not be missed. January 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel has great pool The hotel had a great pool and excellent service. Rooms are comfy. Beware of monkeys. Not for those who are not in tune with nature as it is a great place to watch all the forest creatures. January 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location- service needs improvement - Perfect location, nice setting, wonderful beach - good rooms - very good restaurants and food - very good spa - concierge- and reception services poor - language capability of staff needs improvement January 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed After having read the raving reviews on TripAdvisor, I felt convinced The Andaman would be a great choice for me and my parents to relax and be pampered at the resort. Unfortunately, this wasn't our experience from the start. We arrived just 30 mins before check-in, but were told we would have to wait. My mum was rather tired after the flight, and luckily when we asked a second person, he ushered us into a 'hospitality' room to wait till the check-in time. 3pm came and passed and my parents couldn't get into their room till 3.45. I was told they would call my parents' room to inform me when my room was available. At 5.30pm I got tired of waiting and found my room had been ready all along! We complained to the Manager who did some service recovery. We appreciated that. However, when we checked out early a few days later, her offer of a packed breakfast for us never materialised. Rather disappointing to end our holiday this way. Over the few days we were there, service was efficient mostly, but it didn't seem very warm. I gather it could be because of the busy season, but it should not be an excuse for a 5-star resort like yours. Andaman's advantage is its beautiful view and great waters. I wish its people would match its beautiful location and aspect. January 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs serious improvements Perfect location Needs urgently refurbishment training of personnel improve spa (no sauna ) Cleaning better the rooms(below the beds) Training of front desk personnel ( impolite /wrong informations January 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This is my worst experience in a Luxury hotel! The hotel is so disorganized and so laid back like its guest, we never got the service we were paying for during our stay. Except for the beautiful beach and the rain forest, this hotel is over priced for what they promise. From the booking, followed by the co-ordination to various activities and finally for check out, the staff lack commitment to the guests and have only excuses. The only staff who we felt was worth taking to and is marselle the concierge. We believe that SPG group will loose its brand identity for the BAD service this hotel is giving to the guests. January 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great setting, fantastic common areas, hit-and-miss service/F&B First off, this is one of the best Starwood resorts we've visited, in terms of its setting and public spaces (especially the pool, beach, and spa). Also, the staff are clearly motivated. well-trained, and respectful. Though, for the renovated rooms and F&B service, expect a solid four-star resort standard. We had three challenges during the stay: 1. A poor quality concierge who missed the boat four times--lost reservations, bad advice, argumentative... 2. The required NYers Gala (about $250 USD pp) offered disappointing food/beverage. Although, the accompanying entertainment and fireworks were strong. 3. While the hotel invites guests to make special requests (for example, in the message on the front of the guest guidebook), the team had difficulty in understand and fulfilling them. January 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience First of all, I've never seen senior management (Ms. Scott et al) so involved. Not at any four seasons or any ritz. As a result, her team is well organized and the service to guests is great. They have an abundance of staff and so we were always instantly accommodated. The food at the resort is good - there are several restaurant options and so it's hard to get bored. The fish restaurant was the best overall. The beach is fantastic - flour-like sand and generally calm. Great for kids. The resort is located far from everything, though the resort has cars available on-site for rent. Rooms are nice, but are small. My Platinum status was recognized and we were upgraded to a seaview room. Overall, we had a great trip and enjoyed the Andaman. January 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Definitely not a luxury hotel!! The hotel is in a lovely setup with a beautiful beach, but it's a complete tourist trap with a very low quality of service: 1. There was a New Year's Eve compulsory dinner for everyone staying at the hotel. We found out about the compulsory dinner after making the reservation. And there was a cancellation fee for the reservation so we reluctantly agreed. Moreover, the quality of the food was below standards, only wine was included in the open bar. Even mineral water was not included in the relatively expensive package. 2. Room service is very slow to the point that we had to cancel an order after they failed to deliver 2 scoops of ice cream after 1 hour waiting time. 3. The hotel is in a remote area that is not well served by taxi services. There are no taxis available in front of the hotel at any time. We asked the concierge to order a car for us. The car arrived 50min later. We also had to share the car with another guest at the hotel because the concierge took the initiative of ordering 1 car for the 2 guests... 4. The hotel offers entertainment packages that are a complete scam. For example, a tour called rain forest tour is actually a walk around the hotel. Another fitness package claiming to teach how to loose 1000 calories is actually about running on the treadmill! January 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice stay at a wonderful hotel Wonderful hotel with warm personal touch from general manager Ann Scott. December 30, 2013
  • 2015-05-27T20:48:27.526-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_292, tr_292
  • loc_en_US, sid_3528, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>