The Andaman, a Luxury Collection Resort, Langkawi

  • Jalan Teluk Datai
  • Langkawi,
  • 07000
  • Malaysia
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 292 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by An amazing hotel in a stunning location. I spent the week before Christmas at The Andaman with my husband and 10 year old daughter. We all had the most wonderful time thanks to the extremely attentive staff, the amazing food at all the hotel restaurants (our final dinner at the Japanese Restaurant was probably the best Japanese meal we have ever had), the sensational facilities including the pool, sun beds, beach towels and direct access to the stunning beach, and the little touches throughout our stay that made it so special (eg a complimentary bottle of wine in our room on arrival). December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Resort and Staff Thank you to all the staff and especially Anne, Darrin and Lawrence for making our trip quite memorable... all your staff went above and beyond in making us feel welcome from the moment we arrived to the very end. Our children really loved that you got us a volleyball and put up the net for us...that was wonderful! We really appreciated all the effort you put into our experience. All the extra little details you have put into making the resort a fun family family environment really show. We noticed all those details once we moved on to the next resort even more. Keep up the great work, From the "Volleyball Family" December 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience All good, besides works that are being done to the resort which are noisy. December 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST December 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE December 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Serious lapses in service and SPG recognition I booked a romance package (flowers, champagne, room service breakfast) and requested a suite night upgrade. The upgrade request did not go through which is understandable given the busy time. Apparently, the romance package request did not go through either since after 1.5 days in residence, I have yet to see any flowers. Neither did anyone remind us at check in that room service breakfast is part of the package, so we missed that in the first morning. A bottle of champagne was delivered, but the empty bottle has not been collected 24 hours later, I guess the staff thought we brought our own bottle. At check-in, there was no recognition or mention of SPG platinum status, no one asked preference for amenity, and the seaview room was exactly what I had booked and paid for, although I was lied to that it was an upgrade. To the credit of the hotel, the room was ready for early check in at 11am as requested after about 20 mins wait in the lobby. Seaview room in North Wing with a cozy balcony is nice although small, bathroom especially good with a large bathtub and rainforest shower. Room service food was tasty and delivery prompt. Bad service experiences continued after taking the shuttle to town (Andaman is really far away from everything else in Langkawi). It was supposed to start the return trip at 4pm and arrive at hotel 4.45pm. There was no shuttle in sight at 4.30pm and a call to hotel did not results in immediate action, just telling to keep waiting. Eventually the shuttle came at 5pm and arrived at the hotel 1h 10 mins late at 5.55pm. Thankfully we had cancelled a spa booking in time, initially scheduled at 5pm. Overall, the hotel is nice getaway place but the absence of service and delivering extras that have been booked and paid, let alone beyond that, makes this our last stay here. December 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keep this hotel a secret The Andaman improves every year - this was our fifth visit. Sorry to see the GM leaving and hope that her successor will prove equal to the task of continuing progress. December 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel have a great facilities and spot but not with the services. At the very beginning, it is disappointed to see the level of services in this 5 star owned by Starwood groups, the receptionist is not friendly and attentive enough, when we arrived, I have told that I had member of the SPG (Starwood Privileged member), and for this staying I shall get a points, but after saying that, receptionist only say "okay", but until the end of my stay they did not even care to ask my membership account number, they are not even offering the SPG membership for staying with them. The are not have a well hospitality manner, by not even offer to give welcome drink, when we are waiting for them to prepare our check in, until we should ask "do you have welcome drinks?", it is disappointing when a guest need to ask for that. During the stay, the buffet dinner menu is not satisfied, some of the bbq meat is not well cooked. The Swimming pool area is not even cleaned everyday or hourly, with all the leaves dropping inside the pool, and the pool is not clean. The room we stay seem lack of maintenance, there is some rusted part in the bathroom area. The wood in the balcony area was look so old, this property is Starwood property that they shall manage it well. Breakfast menu was okay only, not much option. The bath amenities is lacking when, they only check for the soap and shampoo, but some of the part, they are not doing it completely. We have run out of water during our stay there, they only give water refill at the 1st day of stay, after that, even they clean the room, but not top up the water. For this, call the GSE (guest service experience), they are not even pick up the phone in the 3rd ringing, but 10th ringing tone, and say yes, will send someone to the room for water. After wait 15-20 minutes no one come, and call again, while, they finally come after that 2nd call and delivered the water bottle refill. At the lounge bar, one of the waitress, not even know the alcohol menu very well, and when we ask for opinion, she replied by " I don't really know what is that". This is disappointing. The private beach is the greatest part of this properties. The food in Jala Restaurant, especially for the seafood is awesome. The facilities of the hotel, gym, spa, library is good. December 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The best thing about this hotel is its great beach! We had a great time tanning on the lovely sands of the private beach that stretches along a 3 km bay. Lovely sands, blue skies, great weather (not humid!). We really enjoyed the complimentary guided rainforest walks in the morning, as well as at night, and much of this enjoyment came from two wonderful guides. It was like a NatGeo lesson! As a resort away from all the local markets & shops, both shopping and eating out were not options, though the hotel arranges complimentary shuttle. We ate mostly in the resort - pricey but then food quality was good. We especially liked the room service attendant for his patience! but similarly must mention not being very excited about eating at the beach front on account of some customer service practice. Otherwise, it was a great holiday! December 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Next to nature, proximity to beach My family had a relaxing stay here, the nature sounds has a lulling effect, and the beach is so beautiful and clean. Appreciate the daily beach maintenance done by the staff. My kids also love the pool and its slide. The nature walk was interesting too. Also appreciate the DVD loans, as it is well stocked with up to date titles. The food variety for breakfast can be improved, our favourites are the oat pancakes and waffles. December 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unbeatable location, service needs to improve If peaceful beautiful beaches are for you, this place is unbeatable The location in a nature and coral reserve is amazing. But our room had been recently renovated (the renovations were supposed to have been completed 5 weeks before - and we were not warned ahead of time that they were not). Even by the 3pm check in time the amenities (like coffee, kettle, iron) were not in place. There was dust and I had to ask the staff to come and give the place a mop, but building debris was still to be found behind the doors. Staff were demotivated and unhelpful until we gave some feedback. Then we found that about half the staff were capable. So capable but unhelpful until we brought up their inadequate behaviour for a luxury Collection hotel. For example, a new menu was being rolled out one evening in the restaurant. We asked the waiter if the pasta dish was a white or tomato based sauce. He didn't know, but worse, he refused to go and find out for us. I will definitely be back as beaches like these are hard to come by in SE Asia, but the staff training and attitudes need to be improved significantly to meet the expectations that come with checking into a 'Luxury Collection' hotel. December 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relaxing and rejuvenating Spent the weekend at the hotel and it was a great relaxation trip. Didn't leave the resort as it was far from everything else. Spent a lot of time by the beach or the pool, staff was great and attentive. Liked how the staff were actually cleaning up the beach every now and then to ensure that guests do not step on twigs and stuff. December 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Hidden Treasure I was very amazed with the coral nursery and rainforest surrounding of the hotel and the room's condition was just clean and comfortable. Spa is a must try too! The only thing I was worried about is the monkey issue! :) November 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Food Needs Drastic Improvement Hygiene and pricing requires a drastic revamp if Andaman wants to stay at the top of the competitive scene. November 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quiet, peaceful, luxury The hotel is situated in Datai area, a very exclusive part of Langkawi. there are not many travellers and the place offers peace and exclusiveness for a getaway from the hustle bustle of the city. Hotel is a bit aged, but still has its charm. Staffs are very attentive and professional. and that makes a BIG difference and good impression on the guests. I would recommend this hotel to couples, families with young children who aim to getaway and just relax by the beach. November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Location, Excellent Staff The Andaman is located at the best beach that I have ever seen. The beautiful sand, corals, clean waters and the rainforest all make for a breathtaking view. I stayed for 4 days and never got tired of taking a walk on the beach. The hotel is built up in a way to cause minimal disruption to the natural set-up. The sea food in restaurants is great, however, vegetarians will find themselves longing for a lot more considering the price of the rooms and the location (there are no alternative options to eat). The breakfast buffet was great but they do not serve anything made of pork so I found myself longing for a good serving of bacon that I love while on a vacation. As special mention for Jala restaurant - everything from starters to deserts is just amazing. The top reason to visit the hotel is the location & service. The property itself seems a bit old as I could see wear-and-tear and not-so-5-starry bit and pieces around in the bathrooms like mis-aligned lightings, choppy paintwork and sealed-off seepage. The very minor kinks are no reason not to visit the beautiful Datai bay and the Andaman! November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Langkawi Would recommend for relaxation travel. November 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic getaway! This was our first time visiting Malaysia, what a great choice! We had a wonderful time, the facilities were excellent, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the food was great, the beach is amazing, what else could we ask for! We'll definetely be returning soon. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tranquility base The fact that there are no motorised craft in the bay makes this resort a wonderful haven. The food in the Jala seafood restaurant was so good that it may well have been the best we have ever had whilst on holiday. The wine list was extensive for a hotel in Malaysia and the staff were fantastic. October 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr Staff very helpful and friendly, food was good even if not that much variety (italian and arabic cuisine), desk staff very helpful, clean room... October 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you! I have to give credit where credit is due... The Andaman is a fantastic hotel, with staff that go the extra mile that made my stay enjoyable and thoroughly relaxing. Anne, your team are a credit too you. Location is perfect for some relaxation either poolside or by the beach, listening to the waves on the beach. The hotel is built into the surrounding rainforest which gives it a unique character. The spa.... heaven! Only negative is it's distance from Kuah. However, this is offset easily by the quality of the hotel. Next time I am in Langakwi, I will be returning here. PS.... I loved the Mimosas at breakfast! October 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff could not have been more helpful We loved our stay on Langkawi, the whole lay out of the hotel, especially the spa. The most memorable factor for us was the friendliness, attentiveness and engagement of the staff without exception. Our first morning at breakfast we were greeted, our names and room number already known. Really impressive. We also enjoyed a truly memorable spa experience. Highly recommended. October 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Calm and relaxing stay If you want to run away from noisy and busy life go into the jungle and fing The Andaman as a great choice for a relaxing and calm stay. You can get a room with access to the swimming pool where you can swim 24 hour a day. You will meet wild animals wondering, flying and jumping around the resort. You will be able to join wonderful beach and forest tours and lectures where you can observe and learn the nature. You will have a chance to try international and local cuisine in various restaurants and during the breakfast. September 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Hotel The Andaman is nicely located away from the hustle of Langkawi . All the staff were friendly and always helpful and we genuinely felt welcome Food prices lower than expected for this type of hotel. The beach is great even though the tide pattern was against us during our stay (high at night ) Renovations that were being done had no impact on our stay ,did not hear them. It is good to see a hotel that does not rely on plastic and chrome glitter in the rooms, instead comfort. September 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Superb setting on the edge of the rain-forest This is a good hotel, especially if you enjoy being close to nature. The hotel sits on a pretty stretch of coastline, probably the best beach in Langkawi, the trees of the rain-forest sweep all around. As a result, the animals and birds seem to co-exist with the holiday-makers. Tips: try and secure a room with direct access to the plunge pool, or from November 2013, seek out accommodation in the refurbished north wing. If you enjoy photography, embark on one of the special nature photography trips. The Japanese restaurant is excellent. September 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A word - GREAT Spent a night at Andaman and this was my very first visit. I heard so many good things about this hotel prior to my arrival. It was indeed a great one! Staffs were friendly and courteous. Room is clean and spacious, breakfast was superb and all special requests were well handled. I would love to stay in this hotel again after the renovation is completed. If you are looking for a place to stay for your trip to Langkawi, The Andaman should be your first choice. You will never regret.... September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Holiday feeback Our family of 4 spent a 2 week summer holiday on the gorgeous island of Langkawi at your wonderful hotel. Overall, we rate this hotel highly and look forward to returning one day. We particularly thought your staff were excellent - attentive and professional, accommodating and happy to serve, a real asset to the hotel. The spa is second to none and is one of the best we have ever experienced. A couple of things that we think you could do to improve the overall experience: 1. The kids play room was dark and under utilised. It needed vibrancy and light. We were also concerned about the security of the children once they were left in the room - we totally accept responsibility for our own children but when they are handed over there should be a signing in and out process and a locked door that the children are unable to reach so they cannot leave and wander around the grounds unaccompanied. The dangers of the pool, the sea and worse made it uncomfortable at times knowing they could just leave unnoticed. 2. Its a hugely child friendly hotel and the small touches like kids cutlery make all the difference to a family with young children. Maybe you could introduce an ice cream freezer near the beach bar where kids can buy an ice cream (a cornetto, magnum, calypso etc) rather than have to order one from a menu and eat it in a fancy glass bowl with a spoon. 3. the DVD's on offer at the library were of poor quality and need to be replaced - we tried to watch 4 films and only 1 of them worked. 4. the bedrooms in the south wing were of a very average standard. they were not 5 star quality. maybe these are due to be renovated as per the north wing? if not, you need to look at improving them significantly - one of the bath panels fell out and landed on my foot, the rooms were too dark, there was a lack of cupboard storage (no workable bed side table with drawer facility), and overall they just seemed to lack that extra something you expect from a 5 star hotel. 5. the food was excellent throughout although we were a bit disappointed with the lack of steamed vegetables on offer on the childrens menu - - in fact they didn't exist at all but I was told we could ask for veg if we wanted to order some. we don't always, if ever, have fries with every meal, and vegetables (carrots, broccoli, green beans, peas etc) should be as standard as fries on a menu. August 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Great hotel for families and couples Fabulous hotel, spa, and location, lovely friendly cheerful and helpful staff. Hotel hidden in the rain forest so that even from the beach you could barely see it. Only problem I had was music in communal areas outside and in. The only noise that was needed particularly outside was the fabulous noise of the sea and the animal life. I was told that some customers complain when the music is turned off. Sad but true. August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Honeymoon destination from heaven I had always wanted to visit this island for my honeymoon for 15years!!!!!!! It took a while but O it was worth it! The Andaman was the cherry on the cake for me. It was so peaceful and romantic and not overcrowded. It was just what we wanted. The staff were absolutely fantastic, their personal touch was amazing, even taking time to know our names and refer to us by names by day 2. Especially Rachel and Sathi . The beach or pool wasn't overcrowded. Just beautiful. Watch out for the monkeys though, they can get very handsy and grabby when it comes to your fresh fruits as we learnt. Scary. Only thing I would complain about is not getting that waffle recipe!!!!!!!!!!!! I would really recommend this hotel to anyone. Go for it August 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great views and clear waters Wonderful but only thing they really need to work on is restaurant service. Took us ages to get our food at dinner and lunch and they still got things wrong. Otherwise was incredible in every way. August 13, 2013
  • 2015-05-25T19:55:46.810-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_292, tr_292
  • loc_en_US, sid_3528, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11 next>>