The Andaman, a Luxury Collection Resort, Langkawi

  • Jalan Teluk Datai
  • Langkawi,
  • 07000
  • Malaysia
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

For families of two adults and two children (up to 12 years old), one child can sleep on a daybed, while the other child can sleep in existing bedding. An extra bed for a child is complimentary.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 222 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Our stay during Christmas and New Year 2012/13 The hotel fell short of our expectations by some way regarding it's five star rating and prices. The infrastructure (such as rooms, furniture and general condition of buildings (inside & outside) needs an awful lot of attention and investment. That said, the staff went a long way to make our stay a comfortable and memorable one, in particular going to enormous lengths to ensure guests had a night to remember at the Masquerade Ball on New Year's Eve. Overall, the food at the hotel was excellent. The Japanese restaurant was superb and the new Jala Sea Food Restaurant purports to very good once it's initial teething problems are ironed out. The new beach bar was in some ways the hotel's saving. An excellent addition. January 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great ambience ,love the peacefulness & tranquility We still love this hotel even tho it's been our 3rd time. We definitely have plans to revisit Andaman again. However I must admit their service has dwindled over the past years. pool service was below expectations. Requested for lunch menu, after 30 minutes of waiting, it never arrived. Frequency of complimentary water served was less. At one point requested for water and was asked to request it from the bar. The sight of man in uniform cleaning the pool was unsightly, esp with children playing around the area. Proper swimming attire should be used. They used to have great coffee machine in the room but it's no longer there. Dvd selection was pathetic. The morning walk was a great experience and it's must do list. March 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made my 40th birthday weekend very special At the request of my friend for the hotel to provide a small surprise for my birthday, the F&B team surprised us with a lovely cake and a bottle of champagne to celebrate my 40th birthday. The staff were friendly and service requests from front desk, the restaurants and in room dining was always courteous and prompt. The room with own pool which i booked as a treat for myself was very nice. The pool was lovely. My only comment would be to look at the warping of the wooden floor at the entry area and to check some of the dents on the bath's stone tiles esp close to the floor. Otherwise a very lovely , luxurious and very very relaxing stay for us amidst the forests, mountains and the sea which was just what we needed. August 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Luxurious relaxation The Andaman is in the perfect location, facing a beautiful beach and surrounded by rainforest, full of monkeys and birds. Spent the day relaxing by the pool or on a sun lounger on the beach. The beach hut staff were very attentive with bringing water or your ordered drinks and snacks. The food was good in all the restaurants and the staff were very friendly and accomodating with requests, always smiling. The rooms are a little tired and need a revamp but they are still very comfortable. Hired a car and driver for a few hours tour around Langkawi which the staff arranged for us. Well worth it. A great way to unwind and enjoy being pampered is to spend time in the spa for fabulous facials and massages. Great week! June 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Honeymoon destination from heaven I had always wanted to visit this island for my honeymoon for 15years!!!!!!! It took a while but O it was worth it! The Andaman was the cherry on the cake for me. It was so peaceful and romantic and not overcrowded. It was just what we wanted. The staff were absolutely fantastic, their personal touch was amazing, even taking time to know our names and refer to us by names by day 2. Especially Rachel and Sathi . The beach or pool wasn't overcrowded. Just beautiful. Watch out for the monkeys though, they can get very handsy and grabby when it comes to your fresh fruits as we learnt. Scary. Only thing I would complain about is not getting that waffle recipe!!!!!!!!!!!! I would really recommend this hotel to anyone. Go for it August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect This will be my fourth visit to The Andaman. To be honest, this hotel never fails to impress me. The service level was excellent & I would say it is impeccable. The beautiful surroundings, from million year’s old rainforest & the beautiful Datai Bay really make The Andaman a special place. From our pick up in the airport to check out, the staffs never fail to impress me. Where ever you go in the hotel, you will be greeted with a smile. The restaurant manager & staff will also talk to guest to ask on their dining experience. If you’re looking for a chic & happening hotel, this might not be the right place for you. However, this is the place to be if you want a peaceful & quiet getaway from your busy & hectic lifestyle. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful hotel We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights and we had a great time. All the staff, the facilities and services were top noch. The rooms were large and comfortable, the bathrooms very clean and all comforts at our fingertips, including the wifi access, DVD for the kids to enjoy and lovely outlook. The pool was a highlight to the kids where they met lots of new friends, they loved the slid so much, you could't get them out of there!. The beach stunning with its corals, its lovely long walks abundant with wildlife and stunning views. If I have only one constructive complaint it would be to have more local food available at the restaurants as I love Malaysian food and felt that it was under-represented. We would return there any time. July 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quiet Relaxation Wonderful positioning for a Resort - away from the maddening crowds. Let's start with the Staff- absolutely on the ball in every department.Could not have been more helpful.Resort is almost self contained with plenty to do and see - it's up to you. From long walks on the exclusive beach,ocean or pool swims or kayaking. Wildlife abounds in the wonderful surrounding rainforests with monkeys,prevosts squirrel gecko,sun skinks plus much much more.Great variety of Restaurants available but for me the Seafood Restaurant was a standout both in format and fresh variety available.Breakfast in the Dining Room was ,again,full of variety with something for everyone no matter what Nationality.Nightly musical entertainment was very relaxing March 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some restyling and renewals are needed The hotel is located in a idyllic paradise. The strong points about the hotel in my opinion would be: - Good food and service at the restaurants - Room service - Activities & services offered - Environment is unbelievable The areas of improvement: - Front desk: very few information upon arrival, problem solving very limited, no complain meant no action, usually nobody would pick-up the phone, etc - Furniture and rooms; very old fashion and in some cases deteriorated. You expect a better quality in hotels at this level. - Pool: usually was dirty and not tempting at all to be used. We could not believe that there were no showers and also that people with clothes on were allowed to be in the pool. Also very old fashion looking. September 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Idyllic tropical retreat Hotel very clean, feels quite exclusive and isolated which is nice, great pool, great beach bar food and service, friendly staff attentive when asked for assistance. Good buffet breakfast. Very poor air conditioning in room, was set at 18 degrees C , room temp never got below 23, we complained and was given another room, but same thing! A/C not working efficiently, engineer did look at it, but not really any better. Poor wifi signal throughout hotel and room, only allows 2 pieces of equipment to log on. It's time all hotels improved their wifi facilities. May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs serious improvements Perfect location Needs urgently refurbishment training of personnel improve spa (no sauna ) Cleaning better the rooms(below the beds) Training of front desk personnel ( impolite /wrong informations January 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Next to nature, proximity to beach My family had a relaxing stay here, the nature sounds has a lulling effect, and the beach is so beautiful and clean. Appreciate the daily beach maintenance done by the staff. My kids also love the pool and its slide. The nature walk was interesting too. Also appreciate the DVD loans, as it is well stocked with up to date titles. The food variety for breakfast can be improved, our favourites are the oat pancakes and waffles. December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfort Redefined We stayed at The Andaman for 4 nights from 16th of June 2012, we had booked ourselves a Deluxe Rainforest room and must say that the place was amazing. The room was so comfortable that our year old daughter felt at home the moment we got in. The location, though far from habitation, is in an amazing place and the staff are extremely friendly and service is top notch. Our daughter loved the pool immensely and we spent quite a lot of time there. We sure would love to return and for anyone looking for a peaceful getaway in Langkawi, look no further. June 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Superb setting on the edge of the rain-forest This is a good hotel, especially if you enjoy being close to nature. The hotel sits on a pretty stretch of coastline, probably the best beach in Langkawi, the trees of the rain-forest sweep all around. As a result, the animals and birds seem to co-exist with the holiday-makers. Tips: try and secure a room with direct access to the plunge pool, or from November 2013, seek out accommodation in the refurbished north wing. If you enjoy photography, embark on one of the special nature photography trips. The Japanese restaurant is excellent. September 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed After having read the raving reviews on TripAdvisor, I felt convinced The Andaman would be a great choice for me and my parents to relax and be pampered at the resort. Unfortunately, this wasn't our experience from the start. We arrived just 30 mins before check-in, but were told we would have to wait. My mum was rather tired after the flight, and luckily when we asked a second person, he ushered us into a 'hospitality' room to wait till the check-in time. 3pm came and passed and my parents couldn't get into their room till 3.45. I was told they would call my parents' room to inform me when my room was available. At 5.30pm I got tired of waiting and found my room had been ready all along! We complained to the Manager who did some service recovery. We appreciated that. However, when we checked out early a few days later, her offer of a packed breakfast for us never materialised. Rather disappointing to end our holiday this way. Over the few days we were there, service was efficient mostly, but it didn't seem very warm. I gather it could be because of the busy season, but it should not be an excuse for a 5-star resort like yours. Andaman's advantage is its beautiful view and great waters. I wish its people would match its beautiful location and aspect. January 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Now even beyond expectations While our holidays normally consist of exploring new countries and cultures there are a few selected exceptions to our rule of "never going back to the same place". The Andaman is a place we DO return to and it has been one of our favorite destinations for many years. And now it even got better. The new Seafood restaurant and bar combine great food with am extremely cool setting near the beach. Everything, from smooth check-in to rooms, food and activities in the hotel now at an extremely high level. We will be back, again, and again. April 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some Pointers I really enjoyed my experience! The staff was very friendly, the hotel was clean, the area is beautiful! I would however strongly suggest that you take the time to thin the vegetation around the property! I would have enjoyed sun bathing next to the pool but, because of the vegetation round it, there were very few places to get sun. I’d also suggest that the lounge chairs around the pool and on the beach be pressure washed! I also found the food at the Jala restaurant to be very good quality but the portions were WAY too small! June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Calm and relaxing stay If you want to run away from noisy and busy life go into the jungle and fing The Andaman as a great choice for a relaxing and calm stay. You can get a room with access to the swimming pool where you can swim 24 hour a day. You will meet wild animals wondering, flying and jumping around the resort. You will be able to join wonderful beach and forest tours and lectures where you can observe and learn the nature. You will have a chance to try international and local cuisine in various restaurants and during the breakfast. September 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel My wife and I really enjoyed our recent two week visit to the Andaman. The location is exquisite, both the rain forest and the beach. The standard of service was wonderful (thanks esp to Shirley in the lobby bar). Nothing was too much trouble. My only criticism was the lack of choice regarding vegetarian meals. However, this was quickly resolved when we were informed that the chef would cook special meals for my wife. All which were apparently delicious. A real plus mark goes to the speed in which the menu was changed when we pointed out a meal marked as vegetarian actually contained fish. The very next day the vegetarian symbol had been removed from the menu. All in all a very wonderful stay and if we are in the same area again would definitely be returning. December 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel with great environment Overall rating of hotel is very good. Although from outside hotel would need some touch of paint. Maybe due to the humid and rain forest environment. Nice and quite environment. Great beach and forest. Really relaxing. Staff very friendly in particular one front desk manager who organized our onward stay in K/L has been very professional. The guests evening gathering and cocktail party near the beach was also great. Good initiative. Unfortunately the service in some of the dining areas was missing a little bit of efficiency. However Food was great. Your Yoga teacher deserves also a great thank. Very instructive and helpful tips in a very relaxing atmosphere. Activity program and excursions program great. Many thanks for having made our stay pleasant and relaxing. May 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE TEST DELETE December 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST December 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time, Super relaxing and awesome Sure it might be a bit of a drive from the airport, but once you arrive, there is no where else you need to go. Between the activities on the beach, nature walks, wellness spa, clear water for snorkeling, long beach to walk in peace, cozy sand bar with delicious libations, several restaurants to choose your choice of meals, and wildlife (monkeys, birds, fish and more). It is a refuge of relaxation, great food, where the staff remember who you are and cater to your needs. Worth the visit and will be back again. March 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relaxing and rejuvenating Spent the weekend at the hotel and it was a great relaxation trip. Didn't leave the resort as it was far from everything else. Spent a lot of time by the beach or the pool, staff was great and attentive. Liked how the staff were actually cleaning up the beach every now and then to ensure that guests do not step on twigs and stuff. December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Resort Ever This Resort is the best by far of any that we have stayed in(over 160 around the world). We were taken by the sheer beauty and elegance of the establishment. Service by the staff was first class,the resort was spotless,pool and beach area pristine.We were celebrating our 42nd wedding Anniversary and could not have selected a better Resort.We have promised ourselves that we wiill return.Our congratulations to Management and Staff - you are winners.We cannot and have not stopped talking about The Anderman to our friends and family.Whilst we thoroughly enjoyed every facility available, our favourites were The Beach Bar, Jala and the pool area.Special thanks to Mizan(who surprised us with cake and chocolates for my wife)and Shirley, both made us feel more than welcome. CONGRATULATIONS. March 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An amazing few days Wow! What a beautiful part of the world. Staff were lovely, location coulnt of been better, rooms light, airy and spacious. Special thank you to the Doctor who drove all the way from town at 10pm at night to give me some medicine for a dibilitating migraine. What a life saver!!! Did not want to come back to KL. Tip - Get a terrace if you want to hang on the balcony. Two nice sun lounges. Oh and don't just close the doors, lock them - monkeys broke in and stole our welcome fruit and raided the mini bar. December 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great experience A really great experience of luxury in the middle of the rain forest. Fantastic and friendly staff, great food and drinks, so what else could you ask for? Hotel was under renovation during our stay, which meant some unwanted noise (workers on the hotel roof just above our room, construction work next to the beach bar etc.).Judging from our room (and furnishing) an upgrade of the facilities is somewhat overdue. If not for this, the stay would have been perfect. but nevertheless it still was fantastic. October 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keep this hotel a secret The Andaman improves every year - this was our fifth visit. Sorry to see the GM leaving and hope that her successor will prove equal to the task of continuing progress. December 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A word - GREAT Spent a night at Andaman and this was my very first visit. I heard so many good things about this hotel prior to my arrival. It was indeed a great one! Staffs were friendly and courteous. Room is clean and spacious, breakfast was superb and all special requests were well handled. I would love to stay in this hotel again after the renovation is completed. If you are looking for a place to stay for your trip to Langkawi, The Andaman should be your first choice. You will never regret.... September 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Andaman – a ‘luxury collection resort’… you have got to be joking!?!?! This hotel is so far removed from being categorized as a Starwood ‘luxury collection hotel’ it’s not even funny. Granted, the surrounding topography, vistas and naturalistic elements regarding the location of this hotel are extremely pretty as one would expect from the way this hotel is marketed. Alas, that is where the compliments end. There is absolutely nothing ‘distinguished’ or platinum ‘preferred’ about it whatsoever. Upon arrival I attempted to check-in and was then asked to take a seat… I could just tell there were issues almost immediately. After almost 30 minutes of waiting, I was informed there was no room ready for us and would we please go and wait in the restaurant and get some breakfast whilst they attempt to get a room ready. Another hour later I head back to reception and then ask what is going on? We are then escorted to what can only be described as a dated, rather smelly, drab, dark wooded and mediocre standard room (no platinum upgrade). The bedside lamp was held together with electricians tape, the shower made a horrendous squealing noise when turned on. Bizarrely upon entry to the room a maintenance crew member joined us and commenced work on changing light bulbs in the bathroom whilst we were just unpacking?!?!?! There was no fruit replenishment, no complimentary newspaper and no platinum cocktail ‘happy-hour’ offering of an evening. Instead they sell this gimmick to ‘all’ patrons that depending on the temperature of the day that is the discount you get on your happy hour drink… that’s great, but that coupled with all of the above hardly makes regular, loyal Starwood travellers feel anything other than undervalued and unappreciated. Turn on any t.v. in a Starwood hotel and channel 1 will always go on and on about ‘personalization’ and ‘loyalty appreciation’ – at this hotel none of that exists whatsoever, no preferential treatment and no loyalty distinction whatsoever. Let’s move onto the restaurants… I attempted to have lunch at the relaxed beachside decking area (Tepian Laut). Simple order of a tuna Melt… 10 minutes later I was informed there was ‘no tuna melt’. In fact the waitress went on to further add that they had ‘no breaded products available whatsoever’, thus ruling out all burgers, all sandwiches and all Panini’s (approximately 1/3 of their entire lunch menu – this was at 1pm!!!!). When I asked for a chicken wrap instead I was also told ‘no’. At this point I questioned the response and informed the lady that it was a tortilla, not bread per se, could she please double check with the manager? Five minutes later the waitress now confirms I could have the dish!!! In an attempt to discover if this was a ‘one-off’ incident I went back to the same restaurant in the evening to try their local Malaysian dishes. I arrived at 8.45pm and despite the restaurant being only at approximately 20% cover capacity the maître de refused us a table for 2 as the restaurant was fully booked. Clearly, once again, I had to challenge this purely because the place was practically empty. Upon checking the reservation log-book the maître de was still holding tables that had reservations booked for 7pm (2 hours past their arrival time) and was quite happy to turn us away on that basis. The food was appalling… despite ordering starters they somehow decided to bring every single dish at the same time (1 hour later). There was fish bones in the prawn curry, the meat was extremely fatty on the lamb, only brought 2 rice dishes instead of 3, no plates on the table, the beer sizes are tiny so you have to order your drinks in advance otherwise you are left waiting for 20 minutes for a warm re-fill. This entire operation is poorly managed, the staff are all very nice as you would expect but they simply have not been trained to an acceptable standard. Upon complaining to the management, all I got was a nervous laugh and an offering of 10% off the bill. The buffet was limited, offering the cheaper cold meats cuts, not the nice hams etc – always a quick way to see if a hotel is attempting to keep costs down. In addition I noticed that the pasta had already been pre-cooked!!! Its appearance was massively over-cooked, soggy, unappetizing and just screamed ‘stack it high, sell it cheap’… hardly ‘fine dining’. Other observations; - Beach bar toilets… no hand towels, had to you use toilet paper to dry ones hands. Hinges on the door were falling off… basically old and dilapidated. - Wireless Internet connection terrible – forget trying to work whilst relaxing at this hotel. - DVD collection – non-existent… only titles on offer were Lost, Midsummer Murders and CSI… hardly indicative as a DVD ‘library’ as they like to market it as. - Bar staff pay no attention to customers – had to always ask for a drink, ask for olives, ask for nuts… too busy washing dirty glasses. - Checking out of the hotel – zero cars available… had to wait over an hour for a car. The harsh reality of this hotel is that despite its clever marketing on the internet and even upon arrival witnessing for myself the lovely vista location it doesn't take long to strip back the veneer and take a closer look at how this hotel is failing to meet the level of expectation that a Starwood luxury collection should be attaining. It was a real shame and the whole exotic experience was completely lost for me. The hotel has approximately 180 rooms and even having a 100% occupancy rate can never compensate as an excuse for how poorly trained and managed this hotel is. If you are purporting yourself to be a luxury collection offering then you simply must deliver upon that promise for fear of tainting all your other luxury collections – the vast majority of which are nothing short of excellent at Starwood. April 4, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9 next>>