The Andaman, a Luxury Collection Resort, Langkawi

  • Jalan Teluk Datai
  • Langkawi,
  • 07000
  • Malaysia
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 292 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by An excellent place to get stranded on an island This place lives up to the SPG name. The room was impeccable. Small extra touches such as lighting a little tealight candle in the bathroom for our arrival was appreciated. The bed was very very comfortable. The surroundings covered by lush mature greenery was a sight for sore eyes. The beach was clean and private. The staff were always friendly and ready to accommodate. Just a thing or two which was not up to par. The breakfast buffet could do better. The food was not 5 star standard (eg the nasi lemak rice was too hard - perhaps undercooked and the roti canai tasted as if it came from the frozen pack). Worse still, there were flies hovering the food. A big turn off. As we were still having our breakfast at 10 30am, we had constant reminders from the staff that we had to leave soon as they had to prepare for lunch. I would think one reminder would have been sufficient. We also had a staff come into our room in the morning to check the fridge. We felt that was a little inappropriate as we did not enjoy the interruption. The beach itself was littered with dead corals making it not easy to walk or swim in the shallow waters. My husband and I both had cuts resulting from our attempts to wade in the sea. For this, I do not think the hotel is to be held responsible but just a note to other interested swimmers to be careful. Even so, we loved the Coral Nursery. We loved the swimming pool too which was a great compensation for the beach. It's lovely to have large trees hovering over us at the pool while we do not find many plant debris in the pool (great maintenance) Overall, we had an excellent time there. Because of this lovely experience, we are determined to try out other SPG hotels and if we were to return to Langkawi, we would definitely stay in The Andaman again. As for now, I am already showing off my pictures taken at the hotel and recommending it to all my friends at work! May 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel with great environment Overall rating of hotel is very good. Although from outside hotel would need some touch of paint. Maybe due to the humid and rain forest environment. Nice and quite environment. Great beach and forest. Really relaxing. Staff very friendly in particular one front desk manager who organized our onward stay in K/L has been very professional. The guests evening gathering and cocktail party near the beach was also great. Good initiative. Unfortunately the service in some of the dining areas was missing a little bit of efficiency. However Food was great. Your Yoga teacher deserves also a great thank. Very instructive and helpful tips in a very relaxing atmosphere. Activity program and excursions program great. Many thanks for having made our stay pleasant and relaxing. May 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Would def go back Hard to fault this place apart from some rooms being very far from lobby. Great breakfast! May 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 the resort needs a mini mart I beleive ths resort need a min mart to supply ice creams/lollies packaged wine and beer.The mini bar is too expensive and not needed April 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Nature Surrounding -Great surrounding with trees and plants -Poolside ervices are poor or nothing at all -Tons of FLIES!! -Very limited restaurant selctions within the hotel -Very limited shuttle bus services to town centers -No restaurant within walking or short car ride outside hotel property -Pool is NOT crystal clear April 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by IP Team Global Meeting April 2013 at "The Andaman" Beautiful location and the meeting rooms/service where fantastic! Our Global Team enjoyed the space, technology and accommodations. April 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Hotel Many thanks to Ann and her staff, especially Alias and Migat for thier hospitality, humour and great service. Nothing was too much trouble and was greatly appreciated by all of us. Breakfast was great, many selections both Western and Malay. Every meal we had was enjoyable spent around great views and inviting staff. I will not hesitate to stay here again with family and freinds (for a 3rd time). Keep up the great eco work the hotel has embarked on with the coral and recycling projects. April 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Great location! The hotel is beautifully located; gorgeous beach and warm sea on one side and lush tropical rainforest on the other. You can regularly see amazing wildlife; monkeys, flying lemurs and stunning bird-life. The rooms are lovely and the beds very comfy. We missed having a balcony, but understand the reasons why (the monkeys can get in!). The food and drink here is fine and breakfast is excellent. The pool can be busy at times....so chill on the beach; there is loads of space and beds. April 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing holiday @ the Andaman Hi there, my family and I have just returned to Sydney after a one week stay at the Andaman. Kids club - excellent. Highly commend the yoga instructor for his level of enthusiam and keeping my son interested in yoga. Joy (waiter) excellent customer service in the restaurant. Always so welcoming and always greeted with a smile. Babysitting - excellent. We had our 5 year old minded for the wedding we attended as well as the hens/bucks day. "Nanny" (the babysitter) was very warm and friendly. Pool serivce - The only hiccup was my order around the pool. It took over an hour to receive my food and my order was mixed up. I put that down to a language barrier and rush hour. I wasn't upset or anything as I am a fairly easy going Australian. The dinner was excellent. I loved the squash and butternut pumpkin soup and the roast dinner provided. It was a little expensive so my husband and I only did this once. However, it was amazing and the champagne / beers were unlimited. Breakfast - unreal and customer service at breakfast was excellent. When my son was felling under the weather, the waiters were all to happy to send a plate of breakfast up to the room from the restaurant so that he would not miss out on breakfast. This is one of the many examples of the lengths that the staff go to, to ensure your are looked after. Thank you to all the staff for making my family feel welcome. Amanda M April 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Asian experience The Andaman lived up to all our expectations. It is in a wonderful setting on the edge of the rainforest on a beautiful beach, thus offering much more than just a beach holiday. Staff were very friendly and service excellent. Special thanks to Wan and Mizan! Although the Andaman is quite far from the nearest town, car hire was cheap and easy. After a day's exploring we were glad to return to the best location on the island! April 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel has great service i have stayed in most of hotels in Malaysia,especially in KualaLumpur and Langkawi, this hotel with best serive, everyone in the hotel are nice and smile April 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easter break Firstly, the location of the Andaman is breath-taking and nothing short of spectacular. It's set in a magnificent rainforest and on an idyllic beach. Secondly, Anne and her staff are exceptional. They made us feel welcome and at home and were friendly, courteous and helpful - particularly Mizan! He's a wonderful fellow who made our stay extra-special. The Beach Bar is a delight, and the food and beverages we experienced at the various restaurants were delicious. Another great attraction at the hotel is the coral nursery and coral rehabilitation program. It's a fun education and great experience for the kids. In terms of improvement, the only area I would point out is that the hotel does look and feel somewhat dated, but that aside it is a wonderful destination for a relaxing family vacation, and I would highly recommend The Andaman. I had considered the Four Seasons as an alternative, but am very relieved I chose The Andaman. The locations simply don't compare! April 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Now even beyond expectations While our holidays normally consist of exploring new countries and cultures there are a few selected exceptions to our rule of "never going back to the same place". The Andaman is a place we DO return to and it has been one of our favorite destinations for many years. And now it even got better. The new Seafood restaurant and bar combine great food with am extremely cool setting near the beach. Everything, from smooth check-in to rooms, food and activities in the hotel now at an extremely high level. We will be back, again, and again. April 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Andaman – a ‘luxury collection resort’… you have got to be joking!?!?! This hotel is so far removed from being categorized as a Starwood ‘luxury collection hotel’ it’s not even funny. Granted, the surrounding topography, vistas and naturalistic elements regarding the location of this hotel are extremely pretty as one would expect from the way this hotel is marketed. Alas, that is where the compliments end. There is absolutely nothing ‘distinguished’ or platinum ‘preferred’ about it whatsoever. Upon arrival I attempted to check-in and was then asked to take a seat… I could just tell there were issues almost immediately. After almost 30 minutes of waiting, I was informed there was no room ready for us and would we please go and wait in the restaurant and get some breakfast whilst they attempt to get a room ready. Another hour later I head back to reception and then ask what is going on? We are then escorted to what can only be described as a dated, rather smelly, drab, dark wooded and mediocre standard room (no platinum upgrade). The bedside lamp was held together with electricians tape, the shower made a horrendous squealing noise when turned on. Bizarrely upon entry to the room a maintenance crew member joined us and commenced work on changing light bulbs in the bathroom whilst we were just unpacking?!?!?! There was no fruit replenishment, no complimentary newspaper and no platinum cocktail ‘happy-hour’ offering of an evening. Instead they sell this gimmick to ‘all’ patrons that depending on the temperature of the day that is the discount you get on your happy hour drink… that’s great, but that coupled with all of the above hardly makes regular, loyal Starwood travellers feel anything other than undervalued and unappreciated. Turn on any t.v. in a Starwood hotel and channel 1 will always go on and on about ‘personalization’ and ‘loyalty appreciation’ – at this hotel none of that exists whatsoever, no preferential treatment and no loyalty distinction whatsoever. Let’s move onto the restaurants… I attempted to have lunch at the relaxed beachside decking area (Tepian Laut). Simple order of a tuna Melt… 10 minutes later I was informed there was ‘no tuna melt’. In fact the waitress went on to further add that they had ‘no breaded products available whatsoever’, thus ruling out all burgers, all sandwiches and all Panini’s (approximately 1/3 of their entire lunch menu – this was at 1pm!!!!). When I asked for a chicken wrap instead I was also told ‘no’. At this point I questioned the response and informed the lady that it was a tortilla, not bread per se, could she please double check with the manager? Five minutes later the waitress now confirms I could have the dish!!! In an attempt to discover if this was a ‘one-off’ incident I went back to the same restaurant in the evening to try their local Malaysian dishes. I arrived at 8.45pm and despite the restaurant being only at approximately 20% cover capacity the maître de refused us a table for 2 as the restaurant was fully booked. Clearly, once again, I had to challenge this purely because the place was practically empty. Upon checking the reservation log-book the maître de was still holding tables that had reservations booked for 7pm (2 hours past their arrival time) and was quite happy to turn us away on that basis. The food was appalling… despite ordering starters they somehow decided to bring every single dish at the same time (1 hour later). There was fish bones in the prawn curry, the meat was extremely fatty on the lamb, only brought 2 rice dishes instead of 3, no plates on the table, the beer sizes are tiny so you have to order your drinks in advance otherwise you are left waiting for 20 minutes for a warm re-fill. This entire operation is poorly managed, the staff are all very nice as you would expect but they simply have not been trained to an acceptable standard. Upon complaining to the management, all I got was a nervous laugh and an offering of 10% off the bill. The buffet was limited, offering the cheaper cold meats cuts, not the nice hams etc – always a quick way to see if a hotel is attempting to keep costs down. In addition I noticed that the pasta had already been pre-cooked!!! Its appearance was massively over-cooked, soggy, unappetizing and just screamed ‘stack it high, sell it cheap’… hardly ‘fine dining’. Other observations; - Beach bar toilets… no hand towels, had to you use toilet paper to dry ones hands. Hinges on the door were falling off… basically old and dilapidated. - Wireless Internet connection terrible – forget trying to work whilst relaxing at this hotel. - DVD collection – non-existent… only titles on offer were Lost, Midsummer Murders and CSI… hardly indicative as a DVD ‘library’ as they like to market it as. - Bar staff pay no attention to customers – had to always ask for a drink, ask for olives, ask for nuts… too busy washing dirty glasses. - Checking out of the hotel – zero cars available… had to wait over an hour for a car. The harsh reality of this hotel is that despite its clever marketing on the internet and even upon arrival witnessing for myself the lovely vista location it doesn't take long to strip back the veneer and take a closer look at how this hotel is failing to meet the level of expectation that a Starwood luxury collection should be attaining. It was a real shame and the whole exotic experience was completely lost for me. The hotel has approximately 180 rooms and even having a 100% occupancy rate can never compensate as an excuse for how poorly trained and managed this hotel is. If you are purporting yourself to be a luxury collection offering then you simply must deliver upon that promise for fear of tainting all your other luxury collections – the vast majority of which are nothing short of excellent at Starwood. April 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice but a little tired Very friendly staff but service so slow. Kids loved the pool which was great. Facilities generally good, but could do with a refit. Aircon not great. April 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 Service not up to the name and group 1. Wifi difficult to connect, without lan cable 2. No help to assist luggage during check out 3. Too much paperwork 4. Pathetic terrace 5. Avoid early check out, as bell boys still sleeping so will not get help. 6. Food so so 7. Better rent transport at airport, location far from town. April 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Good A luxury hotel,very friendly staff everywhere you go. Amazing beach and pools and staff always ready to assist without being annoying. A great choice of restaurants and watering holes,only one suggestion although the rooms were comfortable they really need a freshen up bit old and shabby . I would recommend this hotel April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great location & service Have some indian tandoor dishes March 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Excellent hotel What an excellent hotel! Staff, location, beach, rainforest, the place is an enchantment. You have to know that you're far from towns, restaurants and outside animation, which is an advantage rather than a drawback. Plan a stay for relaxation and leave your stress behind. The hotel is so discreet, so nestled in the rainforest as to be nearly invisible from the beach. The beach and the view from it is stunning, waters clean and warm, no jetskis, no speedboats, nothing but beauty and nature. I shall go back to Malaisia especially to stay at this hotel again. Just wonderful. March 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Resort Ever This Resort is the best by far of any that we have stayed in(over 160 around the world). We were taken by the sheer beauty and elegance of the establishment. Service by the staff was first class,the resort was spotless,pool and beach area pristine.We were celebrating our 42nd wedding Anniversary and could not have selected a better Resort.We have promised ourselves that we wiill return.Our congratulations to Management and Staff - you are winners.We cannot and have not stopped talking about The Anderman to our friends and family.Whilst we thoroughly enjoyed every facility available, our favourites were The Beach Bar, Jala and the pool area.Special thanks to Mizan(who surprised us with cake and chocolates for my wife)and Shirley, both made us feel more than welcome. CONGRATULATIONS. March 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect This will be my fourth visit to The Andaman. To be honest, this hotel never fails to impress me. The service level was excellent & I would say it is impeccable. The beautiful surroundings, from million year’s old rainforest & the beautiful Datai Bay really make The Andaman a special place. From our pick up in the airport to check out, the staffs never fail to impress me. Where ever you go in the hotel, you will be greeted with a smile. The restaurant manager & staff will also talk to guest to ask on their dining experience. If you’re looking for a chic & happening hotel, this might not be the right place for you. However, this is the place to be if you want a peaceful & quiet getaway from your busy & hectic lifestyle. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Honey Mooooon The hotel, food (including wine) and hospitality were superb. The staff smiled as if they genuinely cared that you had a great stay at their hotel. We met the General Manager at a sundowner drinks reception and we said Hi every time we saw her. Personal service. The spa and jungle (morning and evening) were particularly luxurious and fun. March 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel was below expectations I booked the Andaman as I wanted to have a really great time with my family, in a place that promises a good kids club, great swimming pool and luxurious accommodation. Unfortunately, for the price we paid, this hotel turned out to be a real disappointment. Firstly, the shower was blocked, which resulted in a flooded room Secondly, the TV reception was poor requiring the maintenance man to come Thirdly, the kids club was gloomy, and facilities for kids were lacking Fourthly, we were not informed that we had to make reservations for dinner. We dined in the hotel, hoping that it would be a quick dinner. When we went down to the restaurant at 8 pm, we were told we could only get a table at 8.45pm, which we did. However, our food only arrived at 9.45pm! By then, we were starving! Breakfast selection was also poor. We ate almost the same food for 3 days. For the amount of money we paid, I was really disappointed with our stay. However, the staff were always very courteous. March 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel - Great location. We have just got back from our first stay in Malaysia. We spent 9 nights at the Andaman and it was absolutely fantastic. We had a pool room. It was great to have a dip in your own private pool in the evening. Throughout our stay the staff really made an effort to make us welcome especially Sri Ulina and her colleagues in the beach bar. We ate in all the restaurants, all were very very good but our favourite was Tepian Laut the food here was the best we had all holiday. The highlight for us though was the location in Datai bay which gave us the most stunning views. Thanks for a wonderful holiday and we hope to visit again. March 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay We were in a group of swvwn who stayed at the Andaman in early February and really loved it. We thought the food, the service, the friendly staff were all excellent. The setting of the hotel in the rainforest is simply spectacular. Thank you for a great trip. March 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good experience The area of the hotel is great and very natural. Perfect place for Recreation. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Features at This Hotel Fabulous location at Datai Bay - stunning aspects on a long, curving, sheltered and quiet beach. Friendly and helpful staff, good choice of dining. March 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by this hotel lacks the capability of providing good room service the level of room service (room cleaning) was far below the expectations. rooms were not cleaned atleast till 2pm and we had to call to get it cleaned. after an initial concern was raised, we were promised that rooms will be cleaned by 12 noon the next day. However that did not happen again. stayed for 4 nights the service only went down after day 1. I can't understand when we check in the rooms are so pristine and after that why can't they continue maintaining the same standard? its definitely does not fall under a luxury collection standard. I would have moved to a different hotel midway but. could not do that as I my cancellation deadline had passed. March 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice Stay We enjoyed our stay and had a room with a beautiful ocean view. We planned excursions that had hotel pick-up, so we really didn't need a car. We saved a little by having breakfast (room service). The staff was great. We did venture over to Datai for a Thai dinner, it was great. My dish at Andaman's Japanese resturant was poor, due to the chef adding too much salt, which caused me stomach problems for two days. I think reviewers should mention this to see if it is a pattern that needs correction. The Andaman did have areas that needed some touch up, such as the pool deck, and the beautiful railings around the premises needed a little varnish. Housekeeping, I wished they would have dusted or light mopped the wood floors, as they were dusty. Overall, the Anadaman is a great get-away location, and I know it can achieve a 5-star rating in the future. For now, I rate it as a 4-star by comparing my stay at other 5-star locations. P.S...those naughty monkeys are an added attraction. Please do not feed, as I saw some tourist do. Respect the wildlife. March 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a true Luxury Hotel with a superb location We found the location of the Andaman to be exceptional, especially regarding nature and wild life related activities which are very well supported by the nature desk. Walking along the private beach is a delight. The Hotel exceeded our expectations and we found the staff charming and helpful. We will return. March 13, 2013
  • 2015-05-28T19:56:27.195-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_292, tr_292
  • loc_en_US, sid_3528, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 next>>