The Andaman, a Luxury Collection Resort, Langkawi

  • Jalan Teluk Datai
  • Langkawi,
  • 07000
  • Malaysia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 304 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Shoddy hotel, great location & staff This is a pretty unique SPG property, located in the middle of a rainforest. It’s a 30 minute ride from the airport, which cost 90MYR via the hotel. The hotel has an impressive open lobby, and I was greeted warmly as a platinum member, along with a ginger-based welcome drink. The hotel is currently renovating the entire North Wing, so half the rooms are not available. As such, suite upgrades are hard to come by. I was upgraded to a Luxury Room, which is on the first floor, with access to a semi-private (you share it with 5 other rooms) pool. It’s clean and lit up really nice at night, but as people swim by, there’s not much privacy. The room itself has a rustic feel, with a below average build quality, which was disappointing. You can clearly hear conversations from outside and your neighbors, and there was a gap in the sliding glass doors allowing bugs to get in. The front door wouldn’t close all the way without giving it a firm tug, the bathroom door wouldn’t stay closed, the shower temperature knob broke, the sink stopper was jammed, and sewage odors would leak into the room. In addition, shower pressure was extremely low. The worksmanship in the bathroom was also pretty sloppy. And the hotel says that the Luxury Room is newly renovated? If I return, I’d definitely want a North Wing room. Bottled water isn’t provided in an effort to be more “green”. Instead, there’s a clay jug that’s refilled everyday. I’m not sure how hygienic it is (are those jugs ever cleaned?), but I still would prefer the bottled water. For you city slickers, you’re in the middle of a rainforest, so you’ll have plenty of bugs to swat in your room. But don’t worry, the room has plenty of magazines! There’s also a high-pitched whine from hundreds of….some sort of insect, that got to be annoying at times. But it went away at night. The hotel has a business center (complete with mini-library), decent-sized gym that’s open 24/7, and has a tour and spa desk. There are half a dozen wildlife tours to sign up for, and tend to be half day ventures. Hiring a driver from the hotel is 210MYR for 4 hours. Breakfast can be had in the main restaurant, which opens at 7am. There is a bewildering array of offerings, but at the expense of quality. For example, the breads and pastries were stale, and noodles were overcooked. Aside from the chicken curry, I can’t say anything else really stood out. On the flip side, everything I ordered via room service was of great quality, and tasted great! I have mixed feelings about this property. While it’s in a really unique area and has a great concept, I feel that execution in general could have been done a lot better. Is it up to Luxury Collection Standards? No - the room construction is clearly subpar, although the staff are terrific. In the end, I’d recommend going for the location, and not the property. June 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 3 Nights in Langkawi (Andaman) A great resort with excellent amenities. The service was impeccable, and every interaction we had with the staff was friendly, and professional. The F&B Manager (Teufik), also opened the breakfast buffet earlier on our departure day for us to enjoy their world-class breakfast, which exceeded our expectation, and left a great impression on my family, who had two rooms for three nights. June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic location, fantastic staff! We had a wonderful stay here, with many thanks to Ariyanto, the F&B Manager, and all the chefs and staff, for looking after my Coeliac children so well! Gluten-free bread was baked each day for us, as well as gluten-free cupcakes at breakfast (a first experience for my children who usually don't enjoy breakfast as it is full of food they want but cannot eat). The location is outstanding but it is the well-trained and happy staff that make it a 5-star experience. Thank You! June 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lovely location, unworthy of 5 star rating Not usually bothered by a few minor things missing however this added up in the end for me- to the point where it was noticeable and affected my impression of the hotel. Check in issues as my room wasn't ready (after 4.30) Waited 20 mins.No water in the room and took an hour to deliver, no bathrobe and slippers, coffee machine not working-but was quickly fixed, daily housekeeping slightly substandard as towels/washcloths and sanitary bags not replenished. Ordered fried fish as a snack at the bar and smelt a little funny- when I queried about the freshness of it the staff did check for me and advised it was fresh from the market but not from the fishermans catch. Stomach Feeling a dodgy the next day... All in all a lovely location. Beach could be cleaner although I did see staff picking up rubbish a few times, it seems to gather constantly. Staff were nice and friendly. All in all I would say that for 5 star prices, I would expect the little things to be looked after without needing to call housekeeping so often and waiting for a slow service. The room is nice- wish there was a balcony to enjoy the view. Pool opening hours too limited May 31, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Luxury Collection - Really? This is a lovely hotel in a fantastic setting, however, the service levels remains questionable. The issues were mainly with The Restaurant at dinner time on our first night as well as the daily housekeeping service for the room. For The Restaurant, the dinner service was disorganized to the point that the actual dinner took 3 hrs to complete. The other was that for the first 2 days, housekeeping only serviced the room after 4pm on the first day - and on the 2nd day at 5pm. This seems a tad late by any hotel in comparison globally. Perhaps what we can't understand is that during our stay we constantly reminded that the hotel was only 40% full due to the renovations at the north wing - we would hate to imagine how the staff would cope if it was at 100%. We reported this to the relevant parties and eventually all the issues were ironed out - hopefully by design and not by chance. What would have been a nice touch was that - if a senior manager could have just followed up with us to personally inquire if everything was satisfactory in the end. Instead it feels like our inconvenience was just rectified to the barest requirement by the hotel to qualify its very minimum obligation to a paying guest. On the plus side, however, the quality of the food itself and the spa -were definitely something to write home about. May 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great view The view at this hotel is spectacular. It is very quiet, only the sounds of waves. May 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Idyllic tropical retreat Hotel very clean, feels quite exclusive and isolated which is nice, great pool, great beach bar food and service, friendly staff attentive when asked for assistance. Good buffet breakfast. Very poor air conditioning in room, was set at 18 degrees C , room temp never got below 23, we complained and was given another room, but same thing! A/C not working efficiently, engineer did look at it, but not really any better. Poor wifi signal throughout hotel and room, only allows 2 pieces of equipment to log on. It's time all hotels improved their wifi facilities. May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good food (Seafood) & beautiful beach It was an excellent experience with The Andaman Resort, Langkawi. From the time of our arrival until departure, we were well taken care by all the dedicated & courteous resort staff especially from reception, room service, F&B waiters & waitresses. We had a great time at the beach, my two young children had a good time building sand castle. They like the activities organised by the kid's club too. They enjoyed the water slide at the pool very much. Beautiful Pool. We would like to take this opportunity to convey our sincere thanks to the Front Office Manager Mr Hiew for solving all the minor disputes on details of the ALL INCLUSIVE Package. Most if not all our requests were met during our extended stay of 4 days 3 night. We also like to compliment on the quality and freshness of the restaurant foods. They were excellent & awesome beyond description esecally at The Jala Restaurant , We visited the Jala restaurant twice during our stay as the seafood served there are fresh from the sea daily . Japanese Restaurant, THE Resraurant & Beach Bar but Tepian Laut needs improvement on freshness. This could be due to storage or turnover of selected type of raw materials e.g. chicken wings, frozen fillet / fish, etc. On the facilities inside the hotel room, everything is excellent except the control of the temperature of water / shower. It is not so user friendly especially for the kids it may cause serious burn on the skin due to hot water. Overall, we are very happy and satisfying with the experience at The Andaman Resort, Langkawi. We will definitely return again. May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel and nice staff Everything is great. I was upgraded to executive suite, which was totally out of my expectation. Hotel staff are very friendly. Everything is perfect except the internet. May 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by If you're looking for a quiet getaway A lovely resort. Although the furnishings in the rooms are a little dated and refurbishments are required, it still provides a very warm and comfortable ambiance. More importantly, it's the staffs at Andaman that works the magic and provides one of the best services in Malaysia. May 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice location in the Rainforest We enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms are a little dark due to the fact that they facing the rain forest and that the interior is pretty dark. However half of the hotel will go under refurbishment. Good spot especially if you on vacation with your kids, nice swimming pool, monkeys and other wild animals around the hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful. May 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by An excellent place to get stranded on an island This place lives up to the SPG name. The room was impeccable. Small extra touches such as lighting a little tealight candle in the bathroom for our arrival was appreciated. The bed was very very comfortable. The surroundings covered by lush mature greenery was a sight for sore eyes. The beach was clean and private. The staff were always friendly and ready to accommodate. Just a thing or two which was not up to par. The breakfast buffet could do better. The food was not 5 star standard (eg the nasi lemak rice was too hard - perhaps undercooked and the roti canai tasted as if it came from the frozen pack). Worse still, there were flies hovering the food. A big turn off. As we were still having our breakfast at 10 30am, we had constant reminders from the staff that we had to leave soon as they had to prepare for lunch. I would think one reminder would have been sufficient. We also had a staff come into our room in the morning to check the fridge. We felt that was a little inappropriate as we did not enjoy the interruption. The beach itself was littered with dead corals making it not easy to walk or swim in the shallow waters. My husband and I both had cuts resulting from our attempts to wade in the sea. For this, I do not think the hotel is to be held responsible but just a note to other interested swimmers to be careful. Even so, we loved the Coral Nursery. We loved the swimming pool too which was a great compensation for the beach. It's lovely to have large trees hovering over us at the pool while we do not find many plant debris in the pool (great maintenance) Overall, we had an excellent time there. Because of this lovely experience, we are determined to try out other SPG hotels and if we were to return to Langkawi, we would definitely stay in The Andaman again. As for now, I am already showing off my pictures taken at the hotel and recommending it to all my friends at work! May 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel with great environment Overall rating of hotel is very good. Although from outside hotel would need some touch of paint. Maybe due to the humid and rain forest environment. Nice and quite environment. Great beach and forest. Really relaxing. Staff very friendly in particular one front desk manager who organized our onward stay in K/L has been very professional. The guests evening gathering and cocktail party near the beach was also great. Good initiative. Unfortunately the service in some of the dining areas was missing a little bit of efficiency. However Food was great. Your Yoga teacher deserves also a great thank. Very instructive and helpful tips in a very relaxing atmosphere. Activity program and excursions program great. Many thanks for having made our stay pleasant and relaxing. May 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Would def go back Hard to fault this place apart from some rooms being very far from lobby. Great breakfast! May 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 the resort needs a mini mart I beleive ths resort need a min mart to supply ice creams/lollies packaged wine and beer.The mini bar is too expensive and not needed April 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Nature Surrounding -Great surrounding with trees and plants -Poolside ervices are poor or nothing at all -Tons of FLIES!! -Very limited restaurant selctions within the hotel -Very limited shuttle bus services to town centers -No restaurant within walking or short car ride outside hotel property -Pool is NOT crystal clear April 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by IP Team Global Meeting April 2013 at "The Andaman" Beautiful location and the meeting rooms/service where fantastic! Our Global Team enjoyed the space, technology and accommodations. April 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Hotel Many thanks to Ann and her staff, especially Alias and Migat for thier hospitality, humour and great service. Nothing was too much trouble and was greatly appreciated by all of us. Breakfast was great, many selections both Western and Malay. Every meal we had was enjoyable spent around great views and inviting staff. I will not hesitate to stay here again with family and freinds (for a 3rd time). Keep up the great eco work the hotel has embarked on with the coral and recycling projects. April 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Great location! The hotel is beautifully located; gorgeous beach and warm sea on one side and lush tropical rainforest on the other. You can regularly see amazing wildlife; monkeys, flying lemurs and stunning bird-life. The rooms are lovely and the beds very comfy. We missed having a balcony, but understand the reasons why (the monkeys can get in!). The food and drink here is fine and breakfast is excellent. The pool can be busy at chill on the beach; there is loads of space and beds. April 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing holiday @ the Andaman Hi there, my family and I have just returned to Sydney after a one week stay at the Andaman. Kids club - excellent. Highly commend the yoga instructor for his level of enthusiam and keeping my son interested in yoga. Joy (waiter) excellent customer service in the restaurant. Always so welcoming and always greeted with a smile. Babysitting - excellent. We had our 5 year old minded for the wedding we attended as well as the hens/bucks day. "Nanny" (the babysitter) was very warm and friendly. Pool serivce - The only hiccup was my order around the pool. It took over an hour to receive my food and my order was mixed up. I put that down to a language barrier and rush hour. I wasn't upset or anything as I am a fairly easy going Australian. The dinner was excellent. I loved the squash and butternut pumpkin soup and the roast dinner provided. It was a little expensive so my husband and I only did this once. However, it was amazing and the champagne / beers were unlimited. Breakfast - unreal and customer service at breakfast was excellent. When my son was felling under the weather, the waiters were all to happy to send a plate of breakfast up to the room from the restaurant so that he would not miss out on breakfast. This is one of the many examples of the lengths that the staff go to, to ensure your are looked after. Thank you to all the staff for making my family feel welcome. Amanda M April 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Asian experience The Andaman lived up to all our expectations. It is in a wonderful setting on the edge of the rainforest on a beautiful beach, thus offering much more than just a beach holiday. Staff were very friendly and service excellent. Special thanks to Wan and Mizan! Although the Andaman is quite far from the nearest town, car hire was cheap and easy. After a day's exploring we were glad to return to the best location on the island! April 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel has great service i have stayed in most of hotels in Malaysia,especially in KualaLumpur and Langkawi, this hotel with best serive, everyone in the hotel are nice and smile April 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easter break Firstly, the location of the Andaman is breath-taking and nothing short of spectacular. It's set in a magnificent rainforest and on an idyllic beach. Secondly, Anne and her staff are exceptional. They made us feel welcome and at home and were friendly, courteous and helpful - particularly Mizan! He's a wonderful fellow who made our stay extra-special. The Beach Bar is a delight, and the food and beverages we experienced at the various restaurants were delicious. Another great attraction at the hotel is the coral nursery and coral rehabilitation program. It's a fun education and great experience for the kids. In terms of improvement, the only area I would point out is that the hotel does look and feel somewhat dated, but that aside it is a wonderful destination for a relaxing family vacation, and I would highly recommend The Andaman. I had considered the Four Seasons as an alternative, but am very relieved I chose The Andaman. The locations simply don't compare! April 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Now even beyond expectations While our holidays normally consist of exploring new countries and cultures there are a few selected exceptions to our rule of "never going back to the same place". The Andaman is a place we DO return to and it has been one of our favorite destinations for many years. And now it even got better. The new Seafood restaurant and bar combine great food with am extremely cool setting near the beach. Everything, from smooth check-in to rooms, food and activities in the hotel now at an extremely high level. We will be back, again, and again. April 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Andaman – a ‘luxury collection resort’… you have got to be joking!?!?! This hotel is so far removed from being categorized as a Starwood ‘luxury collection hotel’ it’s not even funny. Granted, the surrounding topography, vistas and naturalistic elements regarding the location of this hotel are extremely pretty as one would expect from the way this hotel is marketed. Alas, that is where the compliments end. There is absolutely nothing ‘distinguished’ or platinum ‘preferred’ about it whatsoever. Upon arrival I attempted to check-in and was then asked to take a seat… I could just tell there were issues almost immediately. After almost 30 minutes of waiting, I was informed there was no room ready for us and would we please go and wait in the restaurant and get some breakfast whilst they attempt to get a room ready. Another hour later I head back to reception and then ask what is going on? We are then escorted to what can only be described as a dated, rather smelly, drab, dark wooded and mediocre standard room (no platinum upgrade). The bedside lamp was held together with electricians tape, the shower made a horrendous squealing noise when turned on. Bizarrely upon entry to the room a maintenance crew member joined us and commenced work on changing light bulbs in the bathroom whilst we were just unpacking?!?!?! There was no fruit replenishment, no complimentary newspaper and no platinum cocktail ‘happy-hour’ offering of an evening. Instead they sell this gimmick to ‘all’ patrons that depending on the temperature of the day that is the discount you get on your happy hour drink… that’s great, but that coupled with all of the above hardly makes regular, loyal Starwood travellers feel anything other than undervalued and unappreciated. Turn on any t.v. in a Starwood hotel and channel 1 will always go on and on about ‘personalization’ and ‘loyalty appreciation’ – at this hotel none of that exists whatsoever, no preferential treatment and no loyalty distinction whatsoever. Let’s move onto the restaurants… I attempted to have lunch at the relaxed beachside decking area (Tepian Laut). Simple order of a tuna Melt… 10 minutes later I was informed there was ‘no tuna melt’. In fact the waitress went on to further add that they had ‘no breaded products available whatsoever’, thus ruling out all burgers, all sandwiches and all Panini’s (approximately 1/3 of their entire lunch menu – this was at 1pm!!!!). When I asked for a chicken wrap instead I was also told ‘no’. At this point I questioned the response and informed the lady that it was a tortilla, not bread per se, could she please double check with the manager? Five minutes later the waitress now confirms I could have the dish!!! In an attempt to discover if this was a ‘one-off’ incident I went back to the same restaurant in the evening to try their local Malaysian dishes. I arrived at 8.45pm and despite the restaurant being only at approximately 20% cover capacity the maître de refused us a table for 2 as the restaurant was fully booked. Clearly, once again, I had to challenge this purely because the place was practically empty. Upon checking the reservation log-book the maître de was still holding tables that had reservations booked for 7pm (2 hours past their arrival time) and was quite happy to turn us away on that basis. The food was appalling… despite ordering starters they somehow decided to bring every single dish at the same time (1 hour later). There was fish bones in the prawn curry, the meat was extremely fatty on the lamb, only brought 2 rice dishes instead of 3, no plates on the table, the beer sizes are tiny so you have to order your drinks in advance otherwise you are left waiting for 20 minutes for a warm re-fill. This entire operation is poorly managed, the staff are all very nice as you would expect but they simply have not been trained to an acceptable standard. Upon complaining to the management, all I got was a nervous laugh and an offering of 10% off the bill. The buffet was limited, offering the cheaper cold meats cuts, not the nice hams etc – always a quick way to see if a hotel is attempting to keep costs down. In addition I noticed that the pasta had already been pre-cooked!!! Its appearance was massively over-cooked, soggy, unappetizing and just screamed ‘stack it high, sell it cheap’… hardly ‘fine dining’. Other observations; - Beach bar toilets… no hand towels, had to you use toilet paper to dry ones hands. Hinges on the door were falling off… basically old and dilapidated. - Wireless Internet connection terrible – forget trying to work whilst relaxing at this hotel. - DVD collection – non-existent… only titles on offer were Lost, Midsummer Murders and CSI… hardly indicative as a DVD ‘library’ as they like to market it as. - Bar staff pay no attention to customers – had to always ask for a drink, ask for olives, ask for nuts… too busy washing dirty glasses. - Checking out of the hotel – zero cars available… had to wait over an hour for a car. The harsh reality of this hotel is that despite its clever marketing on the internet and even upon arrival witnessing for myself the lovely vista location it doesn't take long to strip back the veneer and take a closer look at how this hotel is failing to meet the level of expectation that a Starwood luxury collection should be attaining. It was a real shame and the whole exotic experience was completely lost for me. The hotel has approximately 180 rooms and even having a 100% occupancy rate can never compensate as an excuse for how poorly trained and managed this hotel is. If you are purporting yourself to be a luxury collection offering then you simply must deliver upon that promise for fear of tainting all your other luxury collections – the vast majority of which are nothing short of excellent at Starwood. April 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice but a little tired Very friendly staff but service so slow. Kids loved the pool which was great. Facilities generally good, but could do with a refit. Aircon not great. April 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 Service not up to the name and group 1. Wifi difficult to connect, without lan cable 2. No help to assist luggage during check out 3. Too much paperwork 4. Pathetic terrace 5. Avoid early check out, as bell boys still sleeping so will not get help. 6. Food so so 7. Better rent transport at airport, location far from town. April 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Good A luxury hotel,very friendly staff everywhere you go. Amazing beach and pools and staff always ready to assist without being annoying. A great choice of restaurants and watering holes,only one suggestion although the rooms were comfortable they really need a freshen up bit old and shabby . I would recommend this hotel April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great location & service Have some indian tandoor dishes March 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Excellent hotel What an excellent hotel! Staff, location, beach, rainforest, the place is an enchantment. You have to know that you're far from towns, restaurants and outside animation, which is an advantage rather than a drawback. Plan a stay for relaxation and leave your stress behind. The hotel is so discreet, so nestled in the rainforest as to be nearly invisible from the beach. The beach and the view from it is stunning, waters clean and warm, no jetskis, no speedboats, nothing but beauty and nature. I shall go back to Malaisia especially to stay at this hotel again. Just wonderful. March 24, 2013
  • 2015-11-29 T07:35:06.541-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_304, tr_304
  • loc_en_US, sid_3528, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 next>>