The Andaman, a Luxury Collection Resort, Langkawi

  • Jalan Teluk Datai
  • Langkawi,
  • 07000
  • Malaysia
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

For families of two adults and two children (up to 12 years old), one child can sleep on a daybed, while the other child can sleep in existing bedding. An extra bed for a child is complimentary.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 244 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great view The view at this hotel is spectacular. It is very quiet, only the sounds of waves. May 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Langkawi Family Retreat - Great...! Great destination and very much enjoyed the serenity of the jungle and ocean waves rolling into the beach. We had a family retreat, meeting together from Australia & China, and the grandparents & kids loved the time spent walking, swimming and chilling out. A much needed break. The jungle walla mangroves and coral tours was fabulous and Daia was amaxingly good, not only with the tour details and overview, but also with our kids. Eddy from the transport team, generoulsy showed us his langkawi, and presented the kids with some small gifts at the airport, which was warmly welcomed and thank you for sharing your time with us in the markets and hawker stalls. The kids club and kids Yoga, thank you to your team for helping to make the kids holiday wonderful. The spa team also wonderful and the open air pavillions, the ocean rolling in... an outstanding way to relax and sooth the soul...! And finally the F&B team, great with the kids, food variety was never an issue and the team on the beach with Joselyn's care and attention to the family, should be recognised for her service delivery, along with all the F&B/Culinary team, great, thank you. Would love to come back when all your new facilities are completed. October 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good experience The area of the hotel is great and very natural. Perfect place for Recreation. March 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Langkawi Would recommend for relaxation travel. November 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice quite hotel with nature, coral reef and some birds nice quite hotel with nature, coral reef and some birds December 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beutifulnplace Nice hotel, sadly was under renew, so there was noisi. January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Welcome Home People very friendly. A lot of nature at it´s best. February 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel The Andaman is a great hotel on Langkawi. First, the location: It is a good 45 minute drive from the airport. However, once you get there, and walk in, it is so very peaceful. The view of the sea is beautiful. Second, the staff is so very helpful. They are very warm and welcoming and work very hard to make sure each guest is comfortable. James, the GM, personally greets everyone during their stay and he knows who his guests are and goes out of his way to make them feel special. Third, the bay. You share a private beach with the Datai but it's so private, it feels like you are the only one there. There are alot of water sports for rent, but the sun is always free! Fourth, the food. It was delicious. The Japanese restaurant was our favorite. The quality of the food was amazing. As we were there over New Year's, they did an amazing job of the celebrations. You had your own private fireworks show and the dinner was superb. Fifth and most importantly - THE SPA. The Spa is the absolute best spa. I had many treatments there and the setting, the service and the treatments were so special and wonderfully planned. I definitely recommend trying out their services. Very amazing. Overall, the Andaman is wonderful place. We would definitely return. January 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great location & service Have some indian tandoor dishes March 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by ok good but too old,need to renew July 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best resort I have ever been too! We recently stayed at the Andaman for 1 week with our 3 year old son and extended family. I can honestly say this is the best hotel I have ever been too. The food is delicious, the pool very large and child friendly, and the location is out of this world. The staff are all really friendly and take the time to talk to children, Joselyn and Rina were especially nice to our son. The rooms are of a very high standard, we had a Lanai room with a view of the ocean. The staff cleaned our room twice a day which was a nice luxurious touch. The quality of the food is excellent, when it was open (approx every second night) we ate at Tepian Laut, a relaxed restaurant next to the beach, perfect for family dining. Room service food was also excellent with the staff bringing in a table to make dining with a child much easier. The staff are very helpful at organising trips for you, they sorted out several trips for us with a nature company called JungleWalla who were excellent. The only downside about organising trips was the staff are slightly slow at confirming your trip leaving you wondering if you are going or not. The wildlife around the resort is amazing, monkeys, lizards, eagles, flying lemurs, a nature lovers paradise! Overall a wonderful resort with fantastic staff May 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Luxury Collection - Really? This is a lovely hotel in a fantastic setting, however, the service levels remains questionable. The issues were mainly with The Restaurant at dinner time on our first night as well as the daily housekeeping service for the room. For The Restaurant, the dinner service was disorganized to the point that the actual dinner took 3 hrs to complete. The other was that for the first 2 days, housekeeping only serviced the room after 4pm on the first day - and on the 2nd day at 5pm. This seems a tad late by any hotel in comparison globally. Perhaps what we can't understand is that during our stay we constantly reminded that the hotel was only 40% full due to the renovations at the north wing - we would hate to imagine how the staff would cope if it was at 100%. We reported this to the relevant parties and eventually all the issues were ironed out - hopefully by design and not by chance. What would have been a nice touch was that - if a senior manager could have just followed up with us to personally inquire if everything was satisfactory in the end. Instead it feels like our inconvenience was just rectified to the barest requirement by the hotel to qualify its very minimum obligation to a paying guest. On the plus side, however, the quality of the food itself and the spa -were definitely something to write home about. May 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing holiday @ the Andaman Hi there, my family and I have just returned to Sydney after a one week stay at the Andaman. Kids club - excellent. Highly commend the yoga instructor for his level of enthusiam and keeping my son interested in yoga. Joy (waiter) excellent customer service in the restaurant. Always so welcoming and always greeted with a smile. Babysitting - excellent. We had our 5 year old minded for the wedding we attended as well as the hens/bucks day. "Nanny" (the babysitter) was very warm and friendly. Pool serivce - The only hiccup was my order around the pool. It took over an hour to receive my food and my order was mixed up. I put that down to a language barrier and rush hour. I wasn't upset or anything as I am a fairly easy going Australian. The dinner was excellent. I loved the squash and butternut pumpkin soup and the roast dinner provided. It was a little expensive so my husband and I only did this once. However, it was amazing and the champagne / beers were unlimited. Breakfast - unreal and customer service at breakfast was excellent. When my son was felling under the weather, the waiters were all to happy to send a plate of breakfast up to the room from the restaurant so that he would not miss out on breakfast. This is one of the many examples of the lengths that the staff go to, to ensure your are looked after. Thank you to all the staff for making my family feel welcome. Amanda M April 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Virgin excluded arrea We had our stay from 21st of november untill 30th of november 2012. And we cannot say anything else than that is has been wonderfull and we will certainly come back as Andaman Langkawi is easy to reach also by short flight through KL from any other part of Asia. Price/quality is the best. We think that Andaman is quite cheap compairing to other hotels in its category. The staff is GREAT. All so friendly and with these smiles that come right from the heart. Excelent service at all levels. All our respect on how the hotel is being maintained as this in a humid arrea where flora covers anything it finds in its way and the moist that in many hotels in similar arreas does cause smells and so on, is a dificult task. At Andaman all is very clean and we have not found unpleasant smells anywhere. Also our respect to how the management of this great hotel is caring for nature all around aswell as the coral reef as the onland nature. Andaman is a place for nature lovers. Also for children we have seen that there is enough to do with the kids club. A great family hotel too, but even for people like us who travel without kids it is still quiet and the children are not at all disturbing. Enough excursions outside the hotel. The food very nice, especially the local dishes. Beverage great. Cleanlyness great ... what else can we say ... We found a virgin beach in a most secluded arrea where we got a warm welcome and we have been pampered all through our stay. December 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good food (Seafood) & beautiful beach It was an excellent experience with The Andaman Resort, Langkawi. From the time of our arrival until departure, we were well taken care by all the dedicated & courteous resort staff especially from reception, room service, F&B waiters & waitresses. We had a great time at the beach, my two young children had a good time building sand castle. They like the activities organised by the kid's club too. They enjoyed the water slide at the pool very much. Beautiful Pool. We would like to take this opportunity to convey our sincere thanks to the Front Office Manager Mr Hiew for solving all the minor disputes on details of the ALL INCLUSIVE Package. Most if not all our requests were met during our extended stay of 4 days 3 night. We also like to compliment on the quality and freshness of the restaurant foods. They were excellent & awesome beyond description esecally at The Jala Restaurant , We visited the Jala restaurant twice during our stay as the seafood served there are fresh from the sea daily . Japanese Restaurant, THE Resraurant & Beach Bar but Tepian Laut needs improvement on freshness. This could be due to storage or turnover of selected type of raw materials e.g. chicken wings, frozen fillet / fish, etc. On the facilities inside the hotel room, everything is excellent except the control of the temperature of water / shower. It is not so user friendly especially for the kids it may cause serious burn on the skin due to hot water. Overall, we are very happy and satisfying with the experience at The Andaman Resort, Langkawi. We will definitely return again. May 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The beach was pure bliss! Stayed for 3D2N with hubby and 27 month old in tow. Greeted warmly by all the staff and by end of day 1, everyone seems to know little one's name. The beach was picturesque, and managed to squeeze at least 4/5 hours on the sunny beach everyday (which is amazing given the rainy season!). Concierge was great at recommending things to do and local eateries. The Teppanyaki Table at the hotel's Japanese Restaurant is worth a visit. I know little one enjoyed her food. Day 2 on the beach, i was stung by a jelly fish while swimming. I never got to see it myself, and it must have just been the only one as other guests were happily frolicking in the water with no worries. In any case, the hotel staff were very quick to attend. 20 minutes later under the watchful eye of the in-house doctor, Dr Sures, it was as if nothing happened. Thank you Dr Sures for checking in on me subsequently! It's great to know the hotel has an excellent attending doctor just in case. The Kid's Explorers Club was attended by very friendly staff, too bad little one was below the minimum age. Definitely a good excuse to come back. My only qualm with our stay was the room. We suffered severe condensation overnight so the floors were very wet by the morning. Although the room was dried and clean by housekeeping the next morning, there was no follow up by reception and housekeeping with suggestions to control the condensation issue. Hence, suffered the same fate the next morning. A little unpleasant - but it was the rainy season so perhaps it's just our luck! All in all, really happy with our visit. The Andaman has made our list of holiday default option! April 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely Stay in Langkawi Just finished a 4 night stay at the Andaman with 2 other friends in a rainforest deluxe room! It was a lovely experience overall. Pros: The property is located in a nice quiet area that is very serene and tranquil - to the point that I don't feel like getting up that early in the mornings. The staff are very attentive to the customers, which is a huge plus point. The concierge staff are spot on about where to go and where not to go in Langkawi. I have never failed to be impressed by the staff service standards, be they working the poolside, the restaurants, the check-in/check-out desk or the concierge. The nature walks that they had for guests to view the wildlife living around the area were great for spotting some animals that I would otherwise not have realised existed within the property grounds. However, I managed to get a room on a 50% discounted rate, which provided immense value for such a property. The room was large enough and the sofa bed could sleep 2 people, which means that we could have potentially had 4 people per room. Cons: The property is located in a quiet area, which means that there are no restaurants or activity outside of the property, and a car is absolutely necessary to get to the touristy/shopping areas such as Kuah and Pantai Cenang. The electricity supply is somewhat inconsistent - I experienced 3 power outages during my 4 nights there. The third power outage occurred when I was in the gym with a friend running the treadmill - it is somewhat dangerous to be running on the treadmill and nearly slip and fall just because the power supply failed. The WiFi, though free, was spotty and slow. December 24, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Fabulous location but loads of disappointment at hotel level First the only pro before the numerous cons: the hotel is on a splendid bay set amidst the jungle with various wildlife and with a stunning private beach. Now the cons, the Andaman is far from the "Tranquil Oasis"and "the luxurious trimmings of a five star resort" it claims to be: 1. Check in was poor, unpleasant and slow, staff did not provide any information on hotel and immediately asked for passports and credit card: apparently the team briefings are useless 2. Maintenance is one of the big problems (pictures available): - furniture in renovated rooms already deteriorated and falling apart - beach towels were poor/with holes/torn apart: apparently the delivery of new linen towels expected in August haven't reach the resort yet. - the wooden floor around the pool is falling apart in several areas - seat at the pool bar ripped and tables decrepit - room smelt mould, the floor was slippery and the bedsheets were humid: haven't you just replaced you air conditioning system? - corridors' balustrades decrepit, floor and ceiling full of mould stains 3. Construction/renovation noise all day long: when in the room, around the swimming pool, at the beach bar and on the beach, starting early morning until 7pm Customers should be informed about the noise regarding the 3 current construction/renovations before they make the reservations! In conclusion, I wonder if the management of the hotel walks around the resort ... and if it does why customers keep complaining for the same things for months and months? This experience strongly distorted the trust I had in Starwood hotels, how can this hotel be part of the Luxury Collections(?) November 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice surprises having last stayed in 2009 ... Overall excellent hotel. Nice upgrades since 2009, best of all the Jala restaurant where the chef does amazing things. Stayed in a third floor Deluxe Room, nicer than our Deluxe Room in 2009 owing to a bathroom refurbishment but could have done with some more simpler improvements (i.e. replacement of knackered lamp shades etc). Only complaint really was with the dining. Absolutely loved the food we were served, particularly in the Jala restaurant, however it was quite a shame that on each visit many menu items (sides, mains, seafood from the counter) were already sold out. I found this particularly difficult to understand given we had seen only a few diners each time when we left the beach at c. 7pm, and we did not think our reservation was particularly late at 9pm. This happened to us both times that we dined at Jala and the one time we dined at the Japanese restaurant. Never before have I been to a Japanese restaurant where they've run out of salmon! It definitely put a dampner on things. Overall though, I would certainly come back again if I found myself back in Langkawi), but perhaps dine out of the hotel more regularly (also because each time we were sat in very empty restaurants - it seems The Andaman is more suited to those who like to eat dinner early ... opposite to what we experienced the one time we ate at hotel next door for example, so at least we had that benefit inc easy cross signing). Lastly, our stay was made all the better by the lovely Sri Ulina (I really hope I took her name down correctly from her name badge). Always there with a smile and good chat at breakfast and again at dinner at Jala restaurant. She was lovely, pleasant company, and really made a difference whenever she was our waitress at dinner (and also used to pop over even when she wasn't tending to our table), sort of made up for the empty restaurant! A first class service so thank you for that. July 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by An excellent place to get stranded on an island This place lives up to the SPG name. The room was impeccable. Small extra touches such as lighting a little tealight candle in the bathroom for our arrival was appreciated. The bed was very very comfortable. The surroundings covered by lush mature greenery was a sight for sore eyes. The beach was clean and private. The staff were always friendly and ready to accommodate. Just a thing or two which was not up to par. The breakfast buffet could do better. The food was not 5 star standard (eg the nasi lemak rice was too hard - perhaps undercooked and the roti canai tasted as if it came from the frozen pack). Worse still, there were flies hovering the food. A big turn off. As we were still having our breakfast at 10 30am, we had constant reminders from the staff that we had to leave soon as they had to prepare for lunch. I would think one reminder would have been sufficient. We also had a staff come into our room in the morning to check the fridge. We felt that was a little inappropriate as we did not enjoy the interruption. The beach itself was littered with dead corals making it not easy to walk or swim in the shallow waters. My husband and I both had cuts resulting from our attempts to wade in the sea. For this, I do not think the hotel is to be held responsible but just a note to other interested swimmers to be careful. Even so, we loved the Coral Nursery. We loved the swimming pool too which was a great compensation for the beach. It's lovely to have large trees hovering over us at the pool while we do not find many plant debris in the pool (great maintenance) Overall, we had an excellent time there. Because of this lovely experience, we are determined to try out other SPG hotels and if we were to return to Langkawi, we would definitely stay in The Andaman again. As for now, I am already showing off my pictures taken at the hotel and recommending it to all my friends at work! May 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel have a great facilities and spot but not with the services. At the very beginning, it is disappointed to see the level of services in this 5 star owned by Starwood groups, the receptionist is not friendly and attentive enough, when we arrived, I have told that I had member of the SPG (Starwood Privileged member), and for this staying I shall get a points, but after saying that, receptionist only say "okay", but until the end of my stay they did not even care to ask my membership account number, they are not even offering the SPG membership for staying with them. The are not have a well hospitality manner, by not even offer to give welcome drink, when we are waiting for them to prepare our check in, until we should ask "do you have welcome drinks?", it is disappointing when a guest need to ask for that. During the stay, the buffet dinner menu is not satisfied, some of the bbq meat is not well cooked. The Swimming pool area is not even cleaned everyday or hourly, with all the leaves dropping inside the pool, and the pool is not clean. The room we stay seem lack of maintenance, there is some rusted part in the bathroom area. The wood in the balcony area was look so old, this property is Starwood property that they shall manage it well. Breakfast menu was okay only, not much option. The bath amenities is lacking when, they only check for the soap and shampoo, but some of the part, they are not doing it completely. We have run out of water during our stay there, they only give water refill at the 1st day of stay, after that, even they clean the room, but not top up the water. For this, call the GSE (guest service experience), they are not even pick up the phone in the 3rd ringing, but 10th ringing tone, and say yes, will send someone to the room for water. After wait 15-20 minutes no one come, and call again, while, they finally come after that 2nd call and delivered the water bottle refill. At the lounge bar, one of the waitress, not even know the alcohol menu very well, and when we ask for opinion, she replied by " I don't really know what is that". This is disappointing. The private beach is the greatest part of this properties. The food in Jala Restaurant, especially for the seafood is awesome. The facilities of the hotel, gym, spa, library is good. December 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor from start to finish We are a well travelled family to Asia & I've got to say this is the worst hotel we've ever stayed in, it's far from Luxury it claims to be. First the few pro's before the numerous cons: The hotel is in a fabulous location set amidst the jungle with various wildlife, with a stunning private beach. The spa is magnificent with wonderful views. The nature guy is very pleasant & helpful. Now the cons: On arrival we were not made to feel welcome at all. We had booked a room with a terrace only to be told none were available so we showed to our 'first room' which smelt awful so we asked to move. We were told we were being upgraded to a tree-top room on the second floor but the room wasn't ready, we weren't happy with this so requested another room, this time on the fourth floor (still not tree topped however). The room was small and dark, our 5-year old had to sleep on the sofa meaning we now had nowhere to sit. The hotel is in a very remote location, we knew this before we travelled, however there are only 3 restaurants, one being Japanese, one being Malaysian and the other international but full of flies, all with minimal choice so this makes the stay a little tedious as the closest restaurant out of the hotel is 30-mins away. The slide area of the pool is dangerous with our daughter being hurt twice. Overall the service is poor, each morning we had to request coffee at least twice and the lunch on the beach was often different from what we ordered. The hotel has no entertainment whatsoever at night so the only thing to do after dinner is retire to your small, uncomfortable room. We requested a late check-out but was told the latest was 14:00 due to a wing of the hotel being closed for refurbishment, which was also a nuisance. On a final check of the room I entered to find the maid cleaning the bathroom whilst another hotel employee laid on the bed watching the olympics with my wifes neck cusion on! So having checked out at 14:00 we were told we could use the shower room. The lobby is on the fourth floor, the shower room is on the ground floor, so we had to wheel our suitcases over four floors to access our clothes & toiletries. August 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Holiday feeback Our family of 4 spent a 2 week summer holiday on the gorgeous island of Langkawi at your wonderful hotel. Overall, we rate this hotel highly and look forward to returning one day. We particularly thought your staff were excellent - attentive and professional, accommodating and happy to serve, a real asset to the hotel. The spa is second to none and is one of the best we have ever experienced. A couple of things that we think you could do to improve the overall experience: 1. The kids play room was dark and under utilised. It needed vibrancy and light. We were also concerned about the security of the children once they were left in the room - we totally accept responsibility for our own children but when they are handed over there should be a signing in and out process and a locked door that the children are unable to reach so they cannot leave and wander around the grounds unaccompanied. The dangers of the pool, the sea and worse made it uncomfortable at times knowing they could just leave unnoticed. 2. Its a hugely child friendly hotel and the small touches like kids cutlery make all the difference to a family with young children. Maybe you could introduce an ice cream freezer near the beach bar where kids can buy an ice cream (a cornetto, magnum, calypso etc) rather than have to order one from a menu and eat it in a fancy glass bowl with a spoon. 3. the DVD's on offer at the library were of poor quality and need to be replaced - we tried to watch 4 films and only 1 of them worked. 4. the bedrooms in the south wing were of a very average standard. they were not 5 star quality. maybe these are due to be renovated as per the north wing? if not, you need to look at improving them significantly - one of the bath panels fell out and landed on my foot, the rooms were too dark, there was a lack of cupboard storage (no workable bed side table with drawer facility), and overall they just seemed to lack that extra something you expect from a 5 star hotel. 5. the food was excellent throughout although we were a bit disappointed with the lack of steamed vegetables on offer on the childrens menu - - in fact they didn't exist at all but I was told we could ask for veg if we wanted to order some. we don't always, if ever, have fries with every meal, and vegetables (carrots, broccoli, green beans, peas etc) should be as standard as fries on a menu. August 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Comments on The Andaman My parent, husband and I just got back from a fantastic stay at the Andaman even though there were some renovations in the Resort and we unable to spend too much times in our rooms. My father was not feeling well on the first day, so, we requested to have an early check in (around 1.30pm) when we just arrived Langkawi airport. Surprisingly, they upgraded one of our rooms to suite room when we arrived there and the rooms already well prepared. There was one handwritten welcome card from the Hotel Manager as well. We took the photo and posted it on the facebook. My friends commented that it was so sweet to see such arrangement. The things we like: 1) The beautiful surroundings, rainforest & the beautiful Datai Bay 2) The view from the spa villa is spectacular, the “natural” sound – waves, insects & the sound of nature is good enough for you to totally enjoy the treatment 3) There are a lot of complimentary activities that provided to the guests, such as, fitness class, yoga class, evening rainforest walk, morning rainforest walk & etc 4) The swimming pool is very large and child friendly 5) The staff cleaned our room twice a day which was a nice luxurious touch. We love to use the toilet amenities that prepared by the Resort 6) Beach was great, not crowded and scenic, I prefer this beach if compare with the one in Bali 7) Room was spacious. They provided the fruit basket everyday. But my mother feed the monkeys with those fruits, she love to see them enjoyed the fruits 8) Although we lend a car but we were so glad to see the Resort provide the shuttle for the guests to go to Pantai Cenang and Kuah Town. It’s very convenient for the guests Since my father was not feeling well on the first day, so, I checked with the Spa Manager on the nearest hospital. She was so kind to provide us a lot of information and even called the in house nurse to get the necessary information for us. But at last, we decided to go to Hospital Langkawi. Everything went ok after my father had a treatment at the Hospital. Even this Resort is far from town, but it’s near to the rainforest and beach. Also, there are a lot of activities for the guests, such as coral feeding and those complimentary activities in the Resort. I would suggest the guests to collect the activity calendar and The Andaman newsletter in order to plan the trip and understand the weekly promotion and activities in The Andaman. August 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel but F&B service requires improvement Location and the hotel in itself was great; the beach was lovely and the set up overall fantastic. The staff were very keen, polite and eager to help, but there is a serious training issue in the Food & Beverage service area. This is a shame, as the food is actually really great, but the service staff are clueless. We had several meals at the beach, in the beach restaurant and in The Restaurant, every single meal we had issues with service. This includes the following: - Beach restaurant: order 2x Satay & 1 pizza. We clearly spelt it out and waitress repeated it. Then she brings 2x pizza and 1 satay. She realises error and goes back with spare pizza to order second satay. She comes to our table and jokes how she got that wrong laughing (we didn’t find it very funny). We eat first satay and pizza. Waitress clears plates saying the second satay wont be long and leaves. Second waitress appears trying to clear our cutlery (we still need it as second satay still coming. - Beach: ordered satay and pizza. After 1 hour wait, they bring us Satay and tell us Pizza is sold out. They only realise this after 1 hours. To be fair in this instance the F&B manager came to apologise after we complained, but still not acceptable. - The restaurant (dinner): order bottle of Champagne before ordering starter. Starter arrives, still no champagne. Finish starter, finally waiter brings Champagne. Shows us the bottle, then doesn’t know how to open it, goes to a backroom and returns with open bottle. Champagne is warm, he puts bottle on table. I ask for ice bucket, he brings a bucket with cold water (not ice). - The restaurant (breakfast): waitress asks is we want to sit inside or outside. We say inside, but there are no tables. Waitress walks us around, instead of saying there are no tables she asks again do we want to sit inside or outside. (until we say outside) - The restaurant (breakfast): we order tea. Waitress brings hot water. We remind her we need cups to drink tea. She brings cups. We remind we also need tea bags. She brings tea bags…and so on - The restaurant (xmas dinner): Girl carving the turkey has clearly never carved a turkey before. It was painful to watch. There are many more examples, the service staff are clearly not trained well, menus are slow to arrive, drinks are slow and overall they all seem like they have no idea what to do.. It is a shame, as the food is actually good and there are enough staff; but none of them have a clue what to do and clearly need training. Unfortunately this overshadowed the rest of the stay for us as every meal was frustrating. December 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Shoddy hotel, great location & staff This is a pretty unique SPG property, located in the middle of a rainforest. It’s a 30 minute ride from the airport, which cost 90MYR via the hotel. The hotel has an impressive open lobby, and I was greeted warmly as a platinum member, along with a ginger-based welcome drink. The hotel is currently renovating the entire North Wing, so half the rooms are not available. As such, suite upgrades are hard to come by. I was upgraded to a Luxury Room, which is on the first floor, with access to a semi-private (you share it with 5 other rooms) pool. It’s clean and lit up really nice at night, but as people swim by, there’s not much privacy. The room itself has a rustic feel, with a below average build quality, which was disappointing. You can clearly hear conversations from outside and your neighbors, and there was a gap in the sliding glass doors allowing bugs to get in. The front door wouldn’t close all the way without giving it a firm tug, the bathroom door wouldn’t stay closed, the shower temperature knob broke, the sink stopper was jammed, and sewage odors would leak into the room. In addition, shower pressure was extremely low. The worksmanship in the bathroom was also pretty sloppy. And the hotel says that the Luxury Room is newly renovated? If I return, I’d definitely want a North Wing room. Bottled water isn’t provided in an effort to be more “green”. Instead, there’s a clay jug that’s refilled everyday. I’m not sure how hygienic it is (are those jugs ever cleaned?), but I still would prefer the bottled water. For you city slickers, you’re in the middle of a rainforest, so you’ll have plenty of bugs to swat in your room. But don’t worry, the room has plenty of magazines! There’s also a high-pitched whine from hundreds of….some sort of insect, that got to be annoying at times. But it went away at night. The hotel has a business center (complete with mini-library), decent-sized gym that’s open 24/7, and has a tour and spa desk. There are half a dozen wildlife tours to sign up for, and tend to be half day ventures. Hiring a driver from the hotel is 210MYR for 4 hours. Breakfast can be had in the main restaurant, which opens at 7am. There is a bewildering array of offerings, but at the expense of quality. For example, the breads and pastries were stale, and noodles were overcooked. Aside from the chicken curry, I can’t say anything else really stood out. On the flip side, everything I ordered via room service was of great quality, and tasted great! I have mixed feelings about this property. While it’s in a really unique area and has a great concept, I feel that execution in general could have been done a lot better. Is it up to Luxury Collection Standards? No - the room construction is clearly subpar, although the staff are terrific. In the end, I’d recommend going for the location, and not the property. June 18, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9