The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort

  • Playa Conchal
  • Cabo Velas,
  • Guanacaste
  • Costa Rica
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

An additional fee applies for children between 3 to 12 years old sleeping in existing bedding. Guests 13 years of age and older will be charged as an adult. The additional fee is included in a room rate when a reservation includes children and extra adults, except in the case of SPG® award bookings.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years old with a valid, government-issued ID to check in.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 185 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise in Costa Rica The Westin Playa Conchal is a true paradise! The property is beautiful with all sorts of incredible wildlife-monkeys, birds, coatis and iguanas. The grounds are impeccably kept as are the units. The staff everywhere is so nice and helpful and really made us feel special. The food was really good. There are so many nearby excursions to participate in. My family and I feel like this might have been our best vacation ever. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff Each and every staff member was very friendly and went out of their way to make my family feel welcomed and pampered. We were always greeted with a smile. My daughter forgot her contact case at home but a staff member called around to find one and had it delivered to our room Such service! July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing stay It was a really nice surprise to have such great food and drinks at an all-inclusive. We got the opportunity to try all but the Italian restaurant during our stay and were really pleased with every meal! The resort was beautiful and everything was really well maintained (though it felt like the pool chairs could use some TLC). The only other suggestion I would make regarding the grounds is perhaps a bit more lighting around the pathways. It got really dark at night! The staff was INCREDIBLY helpful. We can't thank them enough for helping us have a fun, smooth trip. Especially the guys up at the front--on two occasions, we had transportation issues with excursions and they bent over backwards to help us arrange alternate transportation and ensure everything was taken care of for us. Cannot say enough good things about those gentlemen upfront (the valets, I guess?) Also, one of our friends accidentally left her GoPro camera by the pool and was so distraught, thinking it was gone forever. She contacted Lost & Found and learned that one of the security guards had turned it in. It was returned to her, safe & sound. His honesty and quick action saved her trip from becoming a disappointment! It was a little bit further than some of the other hotels, meaning we had to travel a bit further for our excursions but I thought it was worth it. Overall, we had an amazing week and I can't wait to go back to Costa Rica! July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel treated my wife and I royally We appreciated the room upgrade to the Royal Beach Tower 1 and all of the special features associated with it. July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing service and great property The Westin Playa Concha Resort & Spa Upon arrival we were promptly and warmly welcomed curbside. The bellman took responsibility for our bags and walked us to the front desk to check-in. We were immediately welcomed to the hotel by Eder who was very pleasant, helpful and checked us in with efficiency. As we stood at the check-in counter a waiter handed us each a refreshing cold drink, a very nice touch. We asked Eder for recommendations on the restaurants at the property and he gave us both the official response “they’re all wonderful” that you hear everywhere, and when pushed a touch, he also gave us his personal (which he clearly identified as his personal) opinion. This kind of honesty is so welcomed by guests. We’re smart enough to see through the “fake” answers. We came away from the check-in process impressed already with the staff, and Eder in particular. (Note: you can’t make dinner reservations after 4pm, so if you arrive after this time and would like to eat somewhere other than the International Buffet, you need to call before arriving and push them to allow you to make reservations at least for the first night – they’ll tell you that you can’t make reservations in advanced, but pushed they will take them.) Next an opened-air shuttle whisked us to our room. The rooms are call bungalows and appear to be 8 rooms per building. The room was attractively decorated and appeared to be in good condition, at first. I was a bit surprised that the bellman that took us to our room and handled our bags also felt the need to check and make sure everything worked. I’m guessing he does this, as more often than not something is wrong. In our case we’re glad he did check. The refrigerator was not working or stocked, the key slot used to turn the lights on didn’t actually require the key to work, a light bulb was out and the clock was not set to the correct time. The bellman called maintenance and they showed up in less than 5 minutes! Wow, great response time! Unfortunately the repairperson told us the refrigerator was working and that the product inside was warm simply because it was just restocked (funny since the bellman had told us 5 minutes earlier that it was not stocked and he would send someone to stock it). The repairman left and the person assigned to refill the refrigerator showed up a couple minutes later. We expressed concern about the refrigerator not working. He called maintenance for us and although we don’t speak Spanish, we’re pretty sure maintenance told him they had already checked it and that it was working. He could tell we were still concerned and to his credit he took things into his own hands, pulled the unit out and loaded it into his beverage cart and brought us a new one. Restocked it full of beverages and confirmed we were happy. Although you hate to deal with things not working 5 minutes after arriving in our room, thanks to a great restock person all was well and we were moving forward again with our visit. (Note: This property is showing it’s age, a higher quality maintenance program would go along way to improving this property and its appearance. Mismatched concrete patches, bent or chipped lighting, and electrical outlets that were not secured tightly to the exterior walls were common throughout the property) The pools are beautiful, the restaurants have been recently updated and there are lots of activities. The beach is also very nice and large. You do have to navigate the local vendors that are stationed directly outside the gates to the Westin, but they are not pushy and common in this area. If you want a massage for $20 you have lots of options. There are also water-crafts of all types that you can use or in some cases rent. The beach was very clean and well kept. The room design was ok. It was very open and if you and your significant other aren’t on the same except sleep schedule it’s a bit hard to be respectful of the one wishing to go to bed earlier or sleep in. The room design does allow for an easy fix however if the hotel wishes. A simple curtain of some type could easily isolate the bed area a bit from the balance of the room. This would have made a big difference for us. A night-light would also be helpful given there are two steps down from the bed area to the bathroom. Loved the over-sized shampoo and lotions. Finally someone got this right! And the bed was so comfortable, a dream to sleep on for sure. The food at this all-inclusive was excellent. The portion sizes were great and the food was very fresh. With the exception of the bee’s (lots of bee’s) that surrounded the poolside bar, the drinks were very good as well. The staff is the shining diamond at this property. The level of service (minus the one maintenance person) was top notch, world-class at every turn. The hostess, Cinthia was wonderful from the first night at dinner at the Asian Bistro until our final breakfast. I was impressed that she offered us the choice of two tables at dinner, a 2 top and a 4 top. This is a really nice touch that is rare. Another call out goes to Fernando, a waiter we had for dinner one night and then for lunch a couple days later. He remembered our names and even what we like to drink. Amazing considering this is a large resort with lots of guests. There was no question that he cared, took notice and wanted us to feel important. This type of service was common at this property and I wish I had captured more names. One other that comes to mind was Albin who took care of us at the CaraCola (poolside restaurant). Even the young lady working the towel shack was great, taking the time to explain the towel control card in detail with a smile. The staff at this property is top-notch. Some of the best I’ve ever had the opportunity to enjoy, and I rarely find this to be true. In fact I reviewed another 5 star property recently that should send their staff to stay at the Westin to see how it’s really suppose to be done. Opportunities for improvement – 1) Overhaul the maintenance staff and improve the quality of repairs. 2) Create an environment in the rooms that would work better for people that would like to sleep on slightly varied scheduled. This is a simple fix that would be a big upgrade to the rooms. 3) Add a make-up mirror for those of us who wear contacts – or make-up. 4) Offer Wifi for free throughout the property. The days of charging $15 per day are over, long ago over. And even if you do pay, you need to switch back and forth between the room and the few areas were Wifi is provided for free … this is a pain. 5) Add some additional English speaking TV channels. There’s only one and it gets old after a while. 6) Add more lighting in the coffee bar within the room, super dark even once the light bulbs were replaced. Overall I would recommend this property and primarily due to the outstanding service provided by the staff. They anticipated your every need. ~ Reviews by Rich July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place for a Family Vacation The Westin Playa Conchal in Costa Rica was a great place for our family vacation. My only regret is that we didn't stay at least a couple of more days (i.e. we stayed for a week and it was not quite long enough due to the travel distance from Oregon). The Staff, food, amenities and location are all excellent. You can't go wrong if you are looking for a tropical vacation getaway. July 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Had a great time We enjoyed our week on vacation with rest and great food. We were disappointed with the inconsistency of the shuttle service. We loved the atmosphere, including the wildlife that roam the premises. We never got the drinks we ordered when we went to the buffet, but loved all the other restaurants. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded Our Expectations Very satisfied with our recent stay at the Westin Golf Resort Spa. Food and drink exceeded expectations and the staff was better than we've experienced at any all-inclusive. The main concern would be the fact that our area of the pool was difficult to keep clean, not sure why. The staff was constantly working to keep pool cleaned out which leads me to believe there was an issue with the filter system. Overall a great experience and would highly recommend to others. THE DINING AND POOLSIDE STAFF MAKE THIS RESORT FIVE STAR !!! July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by birthday getaway wonderfull resort, very friendly, staff goes out their way to make you happy, very friendly and happy people, food, drinks, fitness facility and pool were all excellent July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT STAFF,SERVICES AND FOOD! The service provided by the entire staff, along with the food and the facilities in general, make this an incredible hotel to spend your vacations! July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great exprience The staff was outstanding. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great resort Overall the resort was excellent. The staff is absolutely wonderful!!! The facilities are nice ... the only complaint we have was related to the room: (1) the A/C was set for 65 but never got below 74 ... made for some hot days/nights (2) the mini bar is useless ... a mini refrigerator would have been more practical. July 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rooms Toilet paper was like cardboard and you should really consider putting benches in the shower. How does a female sit down and shave her legs? Staff was superb!!! Your seafood is very limited being located next to the pacific ocean. Why not serve scallops or lobster? I guess too expensive for a 4 star hotel. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is beautiful Our family had a wonderful vacation! I really enjoyed it being an all inclusive resort. The beach was beautiful and refreshing and the pool was very relaxing. Everyone was very friendly. The gym was very nice and I liked the daily workouts. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay! Everything was wonderful. The staff exceeded our expectations, everyone was so friendly and helpful, even if we didn't ask! We will definitely stay here again. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel for families We loved our stay at the Westin Playa Conchal for my father's 70th birthday. As Platinum SPG members we were treated like royalty with our own concierge, Roger, who took great care of us during our entire stay. From the rooms, to the food and activities, staff and amenities, our expectations were exceeded in every way. Thank you for a wonderful family vacation! July 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin quality Stayed July3-7 2014 in Tower1 of Royal Beach club. If you are traveling with no kids I would highly encourage you to do the Royal Beach club. It is so relaxing and nice over in that pool area and breakfast/lunch restaurant. The other pool is a little more active with kids, music, volleyball, etc....not bad, but not very romantic. Overall we had a great stay. The only frustrating issue was with our butler service. I called Friday morning to make next 3 nights reservatations for dinner and those never got done, we had to make multiple calls, nobody knew what was going on, one night we had to go to buffet, etc. They got it straightened out on the very last evening, and at that point I practically had to handle myself. It is what it is, but I feel like there's some miscommunication going on between Royal Club concierge and butler. Only other suggestion is to have the next days activities paper in your room during turn down service. I am so confused why they put that in our room at 3-4pm when most of the day is already over. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Westin Playa Conchal Looking for beautiful surroundings, great staff, great food, beautiful beach and pool, monkeys in the trees, go to The Westin Resort, you will not be disappointed. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friendliest staff possible! The staff was amazing at every level. Warm, helpful and eager to make a memorable experience. The service to the room was inconsistent, spotty turn down service, housekeeping as late as 5 pm. Restaurants were all nice,food very fresh, only exception was Faisenella. Activities staff was exceptional, the fitness center classes by Jose were great/ Beach yoga at 8am. wow! Would have preferred access to all the pools, sometimes the family/main pool got a little wild at the bar for younger kids to be exposed to. Tennis courts are the only subpar facility in the resort, desperate need of an overhaul. Rooms are nice and comfortable and the resort is very eco-centric. The beach is somewhat narrow and the locals do hassle visitors to the point you want to avoid the beach entrances to the main pool, better at the spa entrance. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Week Visited the Westin the weekend of the 4th of july. Do not have anything else to say other than wonderful experience. Thevhotel staff was very good, the rooms clean and comfortable. Loved this place and plan to go back. Will recommend this hotel to everyone. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful!!! This was my second trip to The Westin. I think that it was even better second time around, because I knew where everything was and felt so much at home. The staff is what makes this place. The service is five (5) star, genuine service. You feel like a special guest from the moment you check in and thru out your stay. The food is fabulous from the buffet breakfast to each restaurant. We loved Bamboo, but they each have something to offer. For tours, we used Erik on the beach. He is not associated with the hotel but he offers the very best packages and service. I am not a tour bus person, I prefer the personalized service that he offers. Can't wait to return!!!, A great value for your money. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great everything! We stayed at westin at playa conchal for 5 nights in June, a party of 3 including 2 teenagers. The restaurants, the pool areas and the beach are all excellent. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. We all had such a wonderful time that we hope to return soon. July 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Take great pains in trying to please all requests We went to this all inclusive resort for my son's wedding. Our room was beautiful as well as spotless. 24 hour room service is available if you don't want to walk or take shuttle to restaurants. Most are open air but we did not have any problem with bugs/mosquitoes. Never even broke out my bug spray. Pools are also well taken care of & the bar at the pool (in the pool!), opened daily at 10:00am. We were fortunate enough to see many howler monkeys as well as every size of lizard/iguana imaginable. My best memory will be the sounds of the birds & wildlife within the resort. Very restful place to visit if that's what you want but also many tours are available for the adventuresome. Would definitely go back! July 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Paradise! We visited for our honeymoon and were happy that we chose to stay at this resort. We were greeted with a mojito and although our room wasn't ready (we were several hours early), we went to lunch on-site and when we were done, they had the room ready. The grounds were beautiful and very large. Most of the staff was friendly and animals were everywhere! Food was awesome...much better than I expected! My only issues was with the shuttles. I enjoyed walking the grounds during the day but if I needed to go to the lobby at night when mosquitoes were out, it was difficult to catch a shuttle. One night we had four go by with nobody on them and each driver said they weren't going to the lobby...which was annoying. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and hope to come again one day! July 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyable Birthday I went with 3 others to celebrate my birthday (end of June 2014). I arrived on my birthday and was automatically upgraded to the Royal Beach Club tower room. I was slightly disappointed with the room because the bathroom hardware was tarnished and it needed a paint job (room 2119). However, Westin's heavenly bed always lives up to its name. Overall the service was excellent. David and Andres took excellent care of our needs and were always available when we called. The pool at the Club is very quiet and clean. Unlike the general pool, we did not have to worry about giving our room number for towels. The only disadvantage was that we were far from the beach and the restaurants. However, the restaurants were great and the staff were very pleasant. We had my birthday dinner at the Italian restaurant and they sang Happy Birthday in Spanish and English! The other nights we ate at the Latin Restaurant and the French Restaurant. I was not impressed with French restaurant - average food; however, the Latin restaurant's menu was delicious! Please remember to get Champagne with your meal and the watermelon mimosas are divine! We took a tour to Vendara (with TAM), which was a fun adventure. It was a 2 hour ride from the hotel, but worth it. There was a horse back ride up the mountain and zipline (10 lines), volcano mud bath, hot springs pool and a delicious 4 course meal. We arrived during rainy season; however, it only sprinkled a couple times during our stay. It was overcast and humid, but the pool and beach were fun. We also went to Tamarindo (bus ride sponsored by the hotel). The cost was $10 roundtrip. It was a 30 minute ride each way and pick up was in 4 hours. That was enough time to visit the shops and eat lunch or dinner. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by No surprises (in a good way)!! This hotel was exceptionally well kept, staff was absolutely attentive at all times, and the experience was exactly as advertised! July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Vacation We just came back from an amazing stay at the Westin (June 21-28). We were a family of 3 (12 yr old son). And we went with a family of 4 (kids 12 and 10). This trip was booked since Nov. 2013. So I read all the reviews. Arriving into Liberia - our lugguage was waiting for us right away and so was Swiss Travel. So we were at the hotel within 1 hr. Checking in took awhile only because we were trying to get rooms closer together and the welcome mojito went down so fast. We ended up switching after the first night. Beds are soft, if you have a bad back. You have to stay by the pool, get the deluxe junior suite with a balcony. I heard that Royal Beach club also got very wild that most were hanging out at the regular pool. Restaurants - make reservations right away. We were a little puzzled as to how empty the restaurants were and how many families were shut out of reservations. I do know that there were a few large parties, so I'm assuming staff can only handle a certain amount. Our favorite was the Asian (fastest service) and Mediterranean (make sure to request a table overlooking the pool). Sorry to say we were disappointed in the Latin American restaurant. Italian was good. French - horrible and it's in the lobby, no ambiance. And can get very warm. Buffet is fine, lots of choices. Make sure to sit under a fan to get an extra breeze. For Lunch, go to the restaurant right by the pool. Great salad w avocado and hearts of palm and hazelnut ice cream. Wine: it was fine, and chilled. Beer - if your a beer drinker, forget it, Imperial tasted like bud light. But go with all the frozen drinks and mojitos. They have great non alcoholic drinks. Excursions: We went with Swiss Travel, kids were FREE. You can't go wrong with Eric Garcia either, and he's right there on the beach. As for the beach, it's public but not an issue. The beach isn't that nice. We have nicer beaches in Florida. The Westin offers a lot of activities, my favorite was water aerobics. I heard Yoga at 8am on the beach was amazing. They also offer Kayaking, snorkling, biking for FREE. My son had his own snorkling gear, which helped as he didn't have to return it after an hour. WESTIN STAFF - Amazing! They go out of their way to make sure everything is taken care of. Housekeeping - also great, only 2 days we had to call when our room wasn't clean. The bartenders are the pool were great, always try the drink of the day. They also treated the kids very well. One suggestion is bring a flashlight to help you at night find your way back to your room. It gets dark very early and lighting isn't that good. The only complaint that I tried to address was there was a wedding party who drank way to much. This was not the resort for this type of behavior. I spoke to Carlos (manages groups) but he never got back to me and issue continued. We met a great group of people and all the kids were very well-behaved. July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Eco friendly? My husband and I really enjoyed our 4 nights with you. The property is amazing! Beach, landscape, pools, etc. Excellent! I was troubled though by the noise & exhaust fumes from the ATVs that were near the beach and pools. I feel that jet skis also are unnecessary in such a paradise!! We ate and drank so much of your wonderful food. I was alarmed to see that all water on your property was served in small plastic bottles. Why not pour water into reusable cups at the restaurants? Please look into all of the options available to serve water. Thank you for asking for a review. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Resort Ever! Our experience at the resort was fantastic! The accommodations were exceptional and very welcoming. The staff were all so friendly and accommodating and made our trip one of the best ever! Restaurants and food were fabulous! We can't say enough good things, definitely worth the 5 star rating. We would absolutely stay here again! July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for families Excellent resort with lots of activities and beautiful swimmable beach. Staff is amazingly friendly and willing to make your stay perfect. Specialty restaurants are very good but the buffet is just average with most food slightly over cooked. Our only complain is that the bathroom in our suite doesn't have a privacy door (only the water closet and shower do) so it was problematic for our family of 4 to change. June 26, 2014
  • 2015-05-04T19:51:52.790-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_185, tr_185
  • loc_en_US, sid_3560, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>