The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort

  • Playa Conchal
  • Cabo Velas,
  • Guanacaste
  • Costa Rica
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

An additional fee applies for children between 3 and 12 years old sleeping in existing bedding. Guests 13 years of age and older will be charged as an adult.Fees for children ages 3 to 12 years old (per child, per night): January 3 to April 30, 2014: Add 135 USD May 1 to December 22, 2014: Add 90 USD December 23, 2014, to January 2015: Add 255 USD

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years old with a valid, government-issued ID to check in.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 166 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Costa Rica as a place to retire We found the facility great with wonderful staff. Everyone was very nice. The room was essentially sound proof and did not hear much from the Night club just across from us. Loved our time with you. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most Awesome vacation yet.... Costa Rica is amazing in itself but I have to say this hotel had everything you could ask for. The food at the culturally themed restaurants was awesome. Would definitely like to return to this property. December 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Visit with young family We visited in early November 2013. The staff was truely outanding. My wife and I were treated exceptionally well and our young children were treated even better. Facilities were in great shape. Food exceeded our expectations and experience for an all inclusive. The resort can take a bit of walking to get from one location to the other, but they do offer transportation to come and pick you up (sometimes theyere is a wait) November 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Perfect Honeymoon My wife and I just got back from our honeymoon at the Westin Playa Conchal in beautiful Costa Rica. We spent 5 nights and 4 full days there and it wasn't nearly long enough. We LOVED every single minute of our trip! The beach, pool, and restaurants were amazing! The unlimited and all-inclusive food and drinks were spectacular! The activities (also included free of charge) such as kayaking, snorkeling, and the dance show were incredible! There were iguanas and monkeys everywhere you looked. The property is absolutely beautiful! This was the perfect place to relax and enjoy each other's company for our honeymoon. We will definitely be back! We went in May which is the start of the "rainy season" in Costa RIca, so I was expecting quite a bit of rain. DO NOT LET THIS KEEP YOU FROM GOING!!! It only rained one morning and one evening for about 30 minutes and the rest of the time it was beautiful! It was actually very nice because the resort was only about 50% full, so it felt like we had the place to ourselves. The only complaint or negative experience I could come up with was when the front-desk staff failed to recognize my Platinum status with SPG. However, upon mentioning this and noting that we were on our honeymoon, they were more than happy to upgrade us as I expected. June 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Experience This was our best trip ever! The staff at this Westin made our week-long stay the best experience possible. Bergen was the BEST out by the pool everyday! He made us feel like he was there just for us! Evelyn did a great job on our beach walk tour. Both Tower 2 concierges were always looking for ways to help us. Sylvia was always friendly when she sat us for our meals. The beach yoga was outstanding! EVERYONE WAS GREAT! October 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what we expected This resort is not very clean. The fans in the suites were very dusty. They would give you 1 washcloth for 2 people. Communication is difficult as very few speak English. Hands stuck out for tips continuously. If you don't tip, you get no service, especially at the bars. This is the worse all inclusive resort I've ever been to. Poor lighting at night which makes it difficult to navigate on grounds Will not go back. March 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great family vaction We booked this as a grand family vacation for my wife and I, and our six children (ages 22 years to 12 years). We had a great time! The hotel was excellent, the staff terrific (particularly would like to recognize Eden at the front desk). The folks at Swiss travel seem to have a very good system worked out with the hotel for both transportation and for "beach toys" - chairs, kayaks, snorkel equipment. The Pizza service at poolside was great, and the pool bar was enjoyable. Only negatives: surprised that dining reservations could only be made from 8:00 - 4:00, which ruled out any days we were off-site on an inland tour. No staff are able to access that information after 4:00, it is not available on any computer, and you are just out of luck if you need to make a change; this caught us when our tour did not return as early as had been scheduled. Secondly, not every restaurant is open every night. Seems a bit less than expected for an award-winning, expensive all-inclusive resort. Also, you are not allowed to get anything "to go" from the restaurants. One night we were tired, wanted dessert, but not right away. No luck. Finally, Costa Rica is both hot and buggy. This is no surprise; but about half the restaurants are outdoor seating only. Everyone immediately sprays with bug spray, and that's just sticky and sort of smelly to eat a great dinner. All that said, it was a great vacation, the Westin was certainly a place we would recommend, and would gladly return to in the future. May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good Been all over the Caribean and this resort is as good as it gets. The food was better than average, the location was spectacular and the entire vacation was a pleasure. August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by We had a wonderful time and would recommend!! Overall we had a fabulous time and all staff were accommodating and wanted to see everyone happy. Beach and pool are great. Activity center staff were great. I especially loved the swim up bar. The bar service staff throughout the resort is wonderful. The cleaning staff could do a slightly better job. (clearing room service trays-left for 2 days until we called; it happened 2 times, prior guest's bobby pins found, did not leave new activity newsletter each night in room, and did not refill the frig with new soda each day). Wished dinner reservations times were easler to get other than 6 and 9 if we did not make them early enough. Food was great. I would recommend this resort and would want to come back again. August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Vacation!! We had the best vacation ever!! We will be returning next year with our children. August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing Experience We just returned from Costa Rica and had an amazing stay at The Westin in Playa Conchal. Our butler, Erik, was amazing and met all of our needs. The beverage and food was great and they had a great assortment of restaurants to try out. We are not big buffet people, but the Mitra Buffet exceeded our expectations. We definitely recommend using the travel company inside of the resort (Swiss Travel). They are friendly and VERY reliable. We booked an excursion through a company not associated with the hotel and were cancelled on the day of. Our only complaint is that when you call for a ride (the resort is HUGE and requires a ride to avoid long walks in the heat), you usually have to wait a long time for the ride to come (after calling multiple times for a ride). All in all, we had a wonderful experience and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Costa Rica. August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by vacation of a lifetime!!!! everything about this resort is top notch! from the staff (superior) food, beautiful rooms,grounds.,EVERY detail was met with the guest comfort in mind. I have not one bad thing to say about this resort. I will definetly be back! thank you westin for the wonderful stay!!!!!!!!!!!!! September 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel We loved it. The resort is lovely and all the staff are very prompt, helpful and wonderful. I can't think of one bad moment. August 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful All Inclusive My family of four just spent a week at the Westin Playa Conchal, for our second summer in a row, and we were once again really happy with the hotel and all of its amenities. Our rooms were clean, spacious and we LOVE the beds! The pool is beautiful and very well maintained. Very close proximity to a wonderful beach. We ate at four of the five all-inclusive restaurants and were thrilled with our service and food at all. The bartenders at all four bars we frequented did a great job. Our service by all staff was amazing. We also took advantage of the free kayaks and bicycles and were extremely pleased with those as well. Overall excellent experience and we would love to return! July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 25 Wedding Anniversary Over the top awesome. We took our sons 16,17,18 and they had a blast as well. The service is simply the best. Just do yourself a favor and go. Food was outstanding. November 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I recommend it it’s a beautiful place When I called in and sent the reservation request I almost canceled because it’s like they are doing you a favor or that you are not someone that qualifies to go to their hotel. I called them several times and sent several emails, I receive better service for a $20 daily hotel than a 4/5 star hotel. Some friends that had already gone told me that is common that the front desk is the worst but after you pass that pain it’s a beautiful place and everybody treats you really nice So I decided to go, and that was what I received a really BAD front desk service and not just from one of receptionists but from 3 of them it really make me felt like you are not welcome. I did arrive early so after a 2 hour BAD experience I was finally allowed to enter and it was a complete change. The place is beautiful, really nice room (minor problem that the air conditioner was really noisy and it had a small leak) but I preferred not to call front desk. The pool is really big and the food was not bad, The place is really big so you can walk and see a lot of nature and nice places, Activities and equipment that you can borrow are in good conditions. I will go again but always knowing that front desk doesn’t care about you and treats you sorry my French like crap. June 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Costa Rica Excellent accommodations. Something for everyone. Beautiful All facilities easily accessible. August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING! The grounds were amazing...golf, pool, restaurants, beach....Great seeing all the wildlife! August 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service excellent for SPG P We were there for six days for a destination wedding. The property did an excellent job of looking after it's platinum guests. Special shout out to Maureen, Priscilla, Sylvia and Nelson. Unfortunately service is not enough for some of the areas that need improvement: Rooms - well appointed rooms. Queens would be much better than double beds and it should be standard to have full length mirrors in the room. Not sure why there was never any paper or pens in the rooms. Pool - nice size pools. Not very kid friendly given the depth of most of the pool was over 4 1/2 feet. Food - as expected food at an all inclusive is average. What is not expected is the shortage of service staff in both the buffet and sit down restaurants. Always had to keep asking for coffee refills in the am and wait times in the restaurants were long. Food in the restaurants was disappointing as was the lack of local Costa Rica cuisine. It was also disappointing that tables of more than 4 had to make resos 4-5 days in advance. Not sure why an all inclusive resort would close restaurants by 11pm. Where is anyone going to go? Other than the bar, there was nowhere to go for drinks or a late night snack other than room service which defeats the purpose. Beach - having a disclaimer inside saying you are at your own risk is a cop out for the property when the beach is less than 20 feet away. The currents can get rough and unsafe for young children who are innocently playing. At the very least a flag system should be used warning simmers of dangers. Overall, it's a nice property and while the concierges were excellent, it would not be enough to bring me back. December 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Construction Nightmare The early morning noise of construction workers greeted you most ever morning. The disorganization of the management was evident every day. The staff was ill prepared for english speaking guests. The rooms were not cleaned daily. Our bathroom was dirty most of the stay. The offered restaurants were closed on certain days, so you couldn't make reservations. The only bright spot was three employees that we had the pleasure of meeting, which management should promote to higher level positions. Jimmy, the head waiter in the italian restaurant, his assistance Louise' a young man who also worked the buffet breakfast most morning who were both outstanding. Maylania, who worked in the Mediterranean restaurant. Her work ethic was exceptional and her attention to detail was a breath of fresh air. I would hope that improvements will be made, but if not I can not in good faith recommend this hotel to anyone. The overall experience was unsatisfactory. I believe the training of the staff to handle international guests was very weak, communication was very difficult, just to get a wash cloth. The people outside of the hotel were very friendly and made you feel very safe. The country was beautiful, but these accommodations took something away from the trip. We have stayed at RUI Palaces, so I guest our standards were set very high, because their hotels and management provide the highest level of service to all international guests. Thank you January 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by restaurant reservation system and internet connection I found my experience was great overall except the following two areas: The concierge staff upon our arrival was not attentive at all when we tried to make reservation at one of the restaurants. I felt that he was trying to convince us to eat at the buffet instead. He was not helpful at all to try to find space for us at the restaurants. I understand there is only one lady in the whole resort to handle restaurant reservation from 8:00 to 4:00. But i don't feel like stressing out to reach her to reserve a table. Is there a better system to satisfy the guests' request? I paid $15 a day for the internet but only can connect for the first 1.5 hours.....I gave up after the line went dead. I do want to complement the two fitness staff who taught the fitness classes. Very friendly, very energetic, and understanding. August 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful setting with some drawbacks Beach, pool and restaurants are great! The rooms have a little privacy as far as bathrooms with NO doors to shower and sink areas. There are a limited number of chairs available on the beach so you better get there very early and even then they could be taken. Reservations for restaurants are also very competitive. Then wine and alcohol are the very cheapest brands. August 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyable Birthday I went with 3 others to celebrate my birthday (end of June 2014). I arrived on my birthday and was automatically upgraded to the Royal Beach Club tower room. I was slightly disappointed with the room because the bathroom hardware was tarnished and it needed a paint job (room 2119). However, Westin's heavenly bed always lives up to its name. Overall the service was excellent. David and Andres took excellent care of our needs and were always available when we called. The pool at the Club is very quiet and clean. Unlike the general pool, we did not have to worry about giving our room number for towels. The only disadvantage was that we were far from the beach and the restaurants. However, the restaurants were great and the staff were very pleasant. We had my birthday dinner at the Italian restaurant and they sang Happy Birthday in Spanish and English! The other nights we ate at the Latin Restaurant and the French Restaurant. I was not impressed with French restaurant - average food; however, the Latin restaurant's menu was delicious! Please remember to get Champagne with your meal and the watermelon mimosas are divine! We took a tour to Vendara (with TAM), which was a fun adventure. It was a 2 hour ride from the hotel, but worth it. There was a horse back ride up the mountain and zipline (10 lines), volcano mud bath, hot springs pool and a delicious 4 course meal. We arrived during rainy season; however, it only sprinkled a couple times during our stay. It was overcast and humid, but the pool and beach were fun. We also went to Tamarindo (bus ride sponsored by the hotel). The cost was $10 roundtrip. It was a 30 minute ride each way and pick up was in 4 hours. That was enough time to visit the shops and eat lunch or dinner. July 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just beautiful... This is an all inclusive resort and it’s a huge property. My first impressions were this resort is for newlyweds and families. You could see that was the majority of people here. Didn’t see any singles or “friends” traveling together. That said, we still had a good time! They gave us an upgrade to one of the Presidential suites. It was VERY nice and VERY big. It's at the ocean end of the resort and has an ocean view. Nothing is ocean front since it's a public beach.   They had a special check in area for the Royal Beach Club "rooms" and assigned us a personal Concierge for the week. His name is Bergen and he's been wonderful. Always calling us by name, very personable.   They have a family pool area closer to the ocean end of the resort and the Royal Beach Club pool for adults and Royal Beach Club patrons only. That's a nice pool!!!  The service there is noticeably different than that the regular pool area, however it's not bad at the regular pool. It’s much quieter if you’re looking to “relax by the pool” instead of hearing a lot of people talking and kids playing!   They have 5 different restaurants. The food has been good. Not spectacular, but good. We've eaten Latin, Italian, Asian and Mediterranean. The breakfast buffet is out of this world though. Delicious and so much to choose from. If you’re in the Royal Beach Club, they have a separate breakfast buffet that, like the pool area, is significantly more quiet.   The minibar items are included, but they’re not stocked like a minibar at a regular hotel where you have to pay for everything individually. Just drinks, no snacks. They fill it once a day - you pay additional if you want it replenished more than once a day.   We did a 3 hour spa treatment yesterday - massage, mini facial, manicure and pedicure - that was $500+ and it was VERY disappointing. The massage was probably one of the worst I've had and the mani/pedi were equally bad. It was such a waste of money. Save your money and get a hour long massage on the beach by a local for $20. The wi-fi was spotty around the resort. In the room it would work fine and then 2 ft away you couldn’t get a signal. And s-l-o-w. We were in the middle of the country prior to this and they had lightening fast internet compared to the Westin. That was disappointing. Overall we had a great time. Not sure I’d come back here specifically, but if I did, I’d consider staying here again. August 5, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible experience First off, Costa Rica is a gorgeous country; if you want to experience it don’t come here. The photos on the site are very misleading. The beach is horrible, the staff isn’t very accommodating, and the royal beach club is a waste of money. None of the rooms here have an ocean view; it’s a very large place so expect to do a lot of walking as the shuttle service is very poor. The golf course was at least nice. I was very disappointed in my vacation here and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. August 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Generally nice Generally, the Westin is a nice hotel with lovely rooms and well-appointed grounds. There are sufficient activities to keep families occupied. Your Candelas and Faisanellas restaurants are world class. However, the Mitras breakfast buffet is very disappointing. Although there is a large variety, quantity doesn't mean quality. Most people walked out after one plate. June 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Facilities My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our 1 week stay this August. Staff was extremely accommodating and pleasant and the food was great. August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was wonderful The place was amazing!. The rooms, food, atmosphere, staff, pool, beach, wildlife were all awesome!! August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service very nice hotel with friendly staff August 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service Service was very eraditc. At the French restaurant it was horrible. Getting pizza could be an adventure. There were some exceptions. Andres at the family pool,Christian at Corola and the Mediteranian restaurants, and Daisy at the Mediteranian were exceptional. They were on top of everything. No one was rude, but service was slow. Not sure if there was a language problem or if they just weren't aware of what their jobs entailed. Sometimes the help seemed clueless. Their pleasant attitudes helped but it was frustrating. April 25, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>