The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort

  • Playa Conchal
  • Cabo Velas,
  • Guanacaste
  • Costa Rica
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 229 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by 10 year anniversary trip - couldn't have been better We decided on this hotel for our 10yr anniversary trip and could not have been happier with our choice. Once you get used to some of the quirks of traveling to central or South America you realize how great this hotel is. Hotel - the hotel is really well done. Very large grounds, gold course, shops, six restaurants, swim up pool bars, wildlife on the grounds, great landscape, local tours set up by the hotel, onsite travel services, modern rooms and workout facilities. Two large pools (you have to be a royal beach club to use the second. Service - overall really good. Can be inconsistent at times but I think that is just part of the more laid back culture and general slower pace of things. Overall the people at the hotel and outside are very friendly. Food - here is where we were most surprised. We were not to keen on the all inclusive aspect figuring the service and quality of the food would be average at best. This was not the case at all. The restaurants were all very good and we are used to good food with all the quality options that Chicago has to offer. We couldn't have been happier with the options and quality. The reservation system in the restaurants is a little odd. You have to book in advance but most nights the restaurants we're only 60% full. But the food and service were very good. The only only complaint would be that the wine could have been colder so that's pretty nitpicky. Rooms - very nice and what you would expect. We booked on points and them upgraded to a double wide room in the royal beach club. For us this was perfect. The royal beach club is adults only and for us this was important as if we have seen loads of other kids we would have spent the whole trip being miserable missing ours. This area also has a private area for breakfast and lunch. A nice restaurant overlooking the pool. So even though we didn't plan it this was it worked perfectly. Adventure - onsite travel agency is top notch. Arenal (must see), scuba, jetski, canopy tours, white water rafting. It has it all. Only downside is most activities are a few hour car ride away so consider that and if you want to stay in a place more interior in the country Beach - probably the only downside. It's nice but the current is really strong so we didn't spend as much time there as we thought we would based on the pictures. Nice but under used. Overall though one of the best Starwood hotels we've stayed at and we've stayed at a lot. Costa Rica as a country is great and worth the visit. Lots to do, clear skies everyday and great people. Hotel is top notch. January 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Honeymoon We checked in for our honeymoon stay and upon checking received mojitos and an upgrade to one of 3 bungalows- adjacent to the beach, pool, and restaurants. Already off to a great start! Honestly I think we had he best location on the property! The grounds are beautifully kept and spread out enough that you feel it's more private and exclusive. Maricruz at the concierge was so helpful and gracious. Next Manrique gave us a ride to our bungalow. He later arranged for a bottle of champagne to be delivered. He was so helpful. He's also very knowledgeable about golf which my husband appreciated. He went above and beyond throughout our stay to make sure we were comfortable and taken care of. Excellent guy. All the staff though, wait staff, hostess, chefs, activities staff, maid staff, EVERYONE is genuinely happy to help. The room is unbelievable. Spacious. Super comfortable bed! And a mini-bar included that gets restocked everyday!! We grabbed beers from there and jumped in the ocean first thing. We also had a family of monkeys outside our room! :) Tuesday, we spent half the day at the beach. The Westin crew pulled out lounge chairs and an umbrella for us. The beach is nestled between luscious green rainforest and mountains. Truly an amazing panoramic view. Dinner at the French restaurant Couri was nothing short of wonderful. We had a delicious charcuterie plate, French onion soup, and a delicious salad with Cod cakes on it. Next I had the mushroom risotto with tilapia and a truffle cream sauce, truly decadent. And a delicious hazelnut icecream with pastry. My hats off to all the chefs. Every dining experience has been wonderful. Last night was the Asian restaurant and again we thoroughly enjoyed every course. The spicy tuna roll was so good! Yesterday we went on a beautiful horseback ride. Worth every penny!! We started/ended on the beach which was so relaxing. We entered the rainforest and rode the horses through winding trails with the most lush greens ever and Tarzan like vines hung from the trees. We rode to the top of a cliff with the most STUNNING view of the beach and cliffs below us. Truly a memorable view. Next, we golfed on the Westin course, Reserve Playa Conchal. Again the golf pros were super helpful. $85 for as many holes as my husband wanted to golf and that included renting clubs. The views were unbelievable. One tee has you aiming for the ocean! One thing that I will say I think is overpriced is the photo shop. Staff will take your pictures on the beach and around the property. There was one photo I really liked but to get it digitally you had to buy a minimum of 5. While I appreciate the value of good photography I think there should be more options for folks who just want a few pictures and not be forced into a package. Our last full day we spent at the spa. The experience was incredible and truly TOP NOTCH. The property, staff, and most importantly, the memories, are just awesome. Thank you Westin Playa Conchal! January 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay over the new year I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by our stay at the Westin. Athough the hotel was completely sold out, we didn't feel like it was too crowded as the grounds are expansive and the hotel has special areas for platinum guests (family club) for breakfast and the pool as well as adults only (royal club). We made dinner reservation the week before we got there which was a good idea as we noticed the popular dining times filled up quickly. We especially enjoyed the food at Catalinas and Bamboo. Our least favorites were the italian and french restaurants...but perhaps my expectations were too high. My only complaint was that in almost every restuarant, the presentations for each course were too quick. We would barely finish our appetizers when the salads were served and then entrees. This happened in almost every restaurant and there were plenty of open tables so no need to rush. Otherwise staff was very attentive and friendly The wine selection was a bit limited as well.. There was a lot to do on the property, from the expansive pools, quick access to the beach (jet ski's for rent, kayaks for free, horseback riding/ATV for hire and a great $20 message at Gigi's), pool/ping pong tables, daily activities and nightly entertainment. I thought the hotel did a great job of creating a festive environment on New Year's Eve, with hats, a live band and champagne at midnight. Very fun! We saw more wildlife on the property than we did on any of our nature hikes. Watching the monkeys swing in the trees, the iguana roam the property and hearing the birds sing throughout the day were all highlights to our stay. The beaches in Costa Rica are all public beaches so be prepared for larger crowds and lot of locals selling trinkets. All were friendly but a bit annoying after a while. Also, you cannot see the beach from the property unless you are in one of the few beachfront rooms so you have to walk down for sunsets etc. This was a little disappointing as that is what we most enjoyed when we stayed at the Westin in St John last year. The rooms are a bit cramped for a family but well appointed and clean. I wish there were two sinks and the doors to the shower/toilet area a bit more private. The beds were comfortable, towels plentiful and great housekeeping services. Room services was prompt. I would recommned a second floor room if you want a bit more privacy or like to sit on the balcony and relax. If you are looking for a couples getaway, I would highly recommend upgrading to the Royal Club. They have an adults only pool and breakfast/lunch area that will make it a bit more romantic. Overall, we really liked the hotel. It was not luxurious but very well appointed, beautiful/very clean grounds and very friendly staff. I especially appreciated the extra attention give to their Platinum guests. The special seating areas during breakfast and around the pool, along with the upgrade on drinks, was very much appreciated. Many thanks to the staff in the family club who were so accomodating to our requests.. I would stay here again. January 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An AMAZING resort My family of 4 just returned from this Westin and can not say enough about how great it is. The resort was 100% full over Christmas - and yet the staff, the food, the service was over the top fantastic. We were fortunate to stay in the Royal Beach Club which is a true oasis in the middle of a huge resort - but we spent time at the main pool and at all the restaurants - and the service was equally amazing throughout. For the price, you cannot find better value. Andreas at the pool, Eric and Ericka at the Royal Beach Club, Tri at reception welcoming everyone. I travel 4 months each year and expect alot from a hotel - and this one delivers. Oh, and Costa Rica is pretty great too ! Vacation at this resort - you won't regret it. December 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome Resort This is a beautifully landscaped, well maintained resort. The staff was kind, happy and eager to serve. I loved all of the coati, monkeys, iguanas, birds and beautiful trees on the property. The only negative was that the food was just okay. We rented a car for one day to see the country. There are really no public attractions very close to the resort. We drove 4 hours to Arenal Lake /Volcano- gorgeous country but roads were under construction...not pleasant. I could have stayed in the resort all week and been totally happy. December 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by It should have been a Wedding to Remeber not Forget Getting married is something I looked forward to. I really hoped that getting married in an all inclusive resort would make the event worry free.... but it sure didn't. My husband (then fiancé) and I arrived at the hotel on 11.8.2013 and were graciously greeted by your front desk staff and transporation staff, and we were so greatful to then as it was super late and our 2 year old son was fast asleep. We met with our wedding coordinator on Monday, November 11, 2013 to finalize our wedding preparations. We were told at that time that she would be transporting us from our rooms when it was time for the ceremony to our needed locations. So in my husbands case she was supposed to pick him up from our room, take him to the front to meet our guests, and then go with our guests to the wedding location. That did not happen. He actually had to walk himself to the wedding location and he didn’t know where that was, our photographers had to show him where the ceremonies usually took place. Our guests told us later that they were told my husband was supposed to make his own way to the front and meet them and when he wasn’t there the coordinator told them he was notified to come to the front (but that was not that case). While on my way to the ceremony, the coordinator picked myself, my sister and mom up from their room (nearly 30 mins later than we were told the ceremony would take place). The golf cart was super jittery and we very soon realized that the golf cart battery was low, in fact when we were trying to get to the venue the cart didn’t even have enough power to make it up the curb, so my mother and sister had to push us up the curb (in wedding attire). After the ceremony we took group photos and when we were done we were told Irene would shuttle our guests to the reception, but she was no-where to be found. So our guests had to walk to the reception venue and many weren’t even sure where they were going. When we were done with our photos and made our way to venue we had audio questions for the coordinator but she was again gone, and no one was around to help. When it was time to cut get ready to cut our cake the coordinator was again gone, and there was no one to help us find the cutting tools and prepare to serve our guests. When the reception was winding down, and our guests were trying to get back to the front of the resort, Irene was again no-where to be found and we had the wait staff call for shuttles, but no one came, so they all had to walk out of the resort from the beach side ( that is quite the distance especially for our older guests). When my husband and I made our way from the venue we again had no ride. This time though the coordinator was there but ignored us. She was on a golf cart with another person (male) and when we asked her about our ride she said she was too busy. So we walked to our room. The following morning my mother was watching our son, and she order him lunch from room service. She was told 40 mins to deliver, so at an hour she called them to see status, and they said it was coming. At 90 mins she called and they said the same thing. At 2 hours they told her the order had been mixed up and should be there any time. That is a very long time to expect a young child to wait for a meal without any information being relayed for an expectation. We were then told they were going to comp our internet for the remainder of the trip for the inconvenience, but when we checked on that, there was no such thing noted on our room notes, luckily the front desk honored what we were told. We spoke to the coordinator 11.14 and she told us that the reason that she was not there to transport our guests was because the photographer was too quick and she was checking on another party (we were under the impression that she was going to be available to us the entire time of our event). When we asked out the rides out of the resort and for us back to our room, she told us someone at her other event had to go to the doctor and she had to occupancy them (couldn’t she have had someone on staff come and keep an eye on us and help us with transportation when we were ready?). We were honestly disappointed in the service that we received from the wedding coordinator and were embarrassed that our guests experience went that way on our very special day. When we were trying to check out of the hotel (11.16), we called for a shuttle to come and help us with our luggage. It was nearly 30 mins before we had a ride to the front and they knew nothing of our request for a shuttle. Then when we checked out, we were told we hadn’t paid for a portion of the wedding package that included the liquor for our guests. When in fact I had paid all the wedding charges in advance (prior to arrival via wire transfer which was required), so our only charges should have been the local calls that we received and made during our stay. The front desk would not let us leave without providing payment so we did, but we don’t know how to resolve this. We also got notification from our Credit Card company that we were charged twice at check out from the hotel. On a good note, the wait staff for our wedding and through-out our stay were amazing and I can’t thank them enough. What an amazing group of folks. December 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most Awesome vacation yet.... Costa Rica is amazing in itself but I have to say this hotel had everything you could ask for. The food at the culturally themed restaurants was awesome. Would definitely like to return to this property. December 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service excellent for SPG P We were there for six days for a destination wedding. The property did an excellent job of looking after it's platinum guests. Special shout out to Maureen, Priscilla, Sylvia and Nelson. Unfortunately service is not enough for some of the areas that need improvement: Rooms - well appointed rooms. Queens would be much better than double beds and it should be standard to have full length mirrors in the room. Not sure why there was never any paper or pens in the rooms. Pool - nice size pools. Not very kid friendly given the depth of most of the pool was over 4 1/2 feet. Food - as expected food at an all inclusive is average. What is not expected is the shortage of service staff in both the buffet and sit down restaurants. Always had to keep asking for coffee refills in the am and wait times in the restaurants were long. Food in the restaurants was disappointing as was the lack of local Costa Rica cuisine. It was also disappointing that tables of more than 4 had to make resos 4-5 days in advance. Not sure why an all inclusive resort would close restaurants by 11pm. Where is anyone going to go? Other than the bar, there was nowhere to go for drinks or a late night snack other than room service which defeats the purpose. Beach - having a disclaimer inside saying you are at your own risk is a cop out for the property when the beach is less than 20 feet away. The currents can get rough and unsafe for young children who are innocently playing. At the very least a flag system should be used warning simmers of dangers. Overall, it's a nice property and while the concierges were excellent, it would not be enough to bring me back. December 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Returning for a third year! My husband and I cannot wait to return to the Westin for our 3rd annual Christmas-New Year's trip. The staff is what sets this resort apart from the others. They are the friendliest people we've ever encountered! Our check-in process is a breeze, as we are handed a mojito and recognized by name as soon as our vehicle pulls up to the resort. The food at Fasinella is fabulous from the elegantly displayed buffet breakfast to to the authentic Italian dinners. We were fortunate to have David as our concierge for both trips and hope to see him again this year. We are Platinum SPG members and this resort truly makes us feel valued and appreciates our business. We cannot wait to return again in a month and are literally counting the days! November 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 25 Wedding Anniversary Over the top awesome. We took our sons 16,17,18 and they had a blast as well. The service is simply the best. Just do yourself a favor and go. Food was outstanding. November 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Visit with young family We visited in early November 2013. The staff was truely outanding. My wife and I were treated exceptionally well and our young children were treated even better. Facilities were in great shape. Food exceeded our expectations and experience for an all inclusive. The resort can take a bit of walking to get from one location to the other, but they do offer transportation to come and pick you up (sometimes theyere is a wait) November 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Kudos to staff - Errol Steve I am a Starwood Preferred member. I received excellent service and support from the staff at the front desk, especially Errol Steve who was efficient, courteous and went above and beyond to help my wife and me. (This report is delayed due to my bag having been stored for a couple of months). November 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding After reading some of the excellent reviews I had my expectations set high, however they were exceeded by this wonderful Resort. If you want excitement, zip lining, canopy walking, ATV trails (albeit a tad expensive, but worth it) this is the place for you. If you want to sit by a relaxing pool, wander manicured grounds and just chill out, this is the place for you. Their six restaurants range from excellent to outstanding, depending on your taste. (My favorite was Bamboo, Asian Fusion) The staff are outstanding at all levels, everyone acknowledges you with a smile and “Olah” Even the tedious four hour ride from San Jose Airport was made entertaining by a wonderful driver. I have nothing but praise for this Resort. I did not play, but understand that the Golf course was pretty good too! The rooms are well appointed, well kept and once again perfect service. We had a wonderful week here in Costa Rica and would love to return another day. November 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Hotel I stayed at this resort for 5 nights. This resort was awesome. First my disappointments - When I first checked in I had to wait for ½ hour at the main reception to check in only to be told you are royal beach club you don’t check in here. That was frustrating especially as a platinum member. So I finally getting to my room it took over 2 hours for a pair of slippers to be delivered. I traveled in low season so not all the restaurants were opened in the evening. Only on the last day was a paper attached to my door as to which restaurants were closed and open. I traveled in low season. I had a rainy day on my last day, it rained all day. Otherwise the weather was sunny about 85 each day. Sometimes it would rain but only for a bit then it would get sunny again. It is very humid in Costa Rica. Activities I took a lot of activities through the activities desk. You could be as busy as you want to be. I took Spanish lessons, learnt how to make sushi(I got to take the leftovers home), watched how Costa Rican cuisine was made and walked on the beach with Evelyn. Evelyn works at the activities center. This girl is amazing. She was very patient with me when I took the Spanish lessons. The beach walk was an organized activity to a small town. The activities center even has books to lend out if you forgot a book. There was a guy working at the activities center I think his name was Daniel he was also very friendly. I liked the fact that all the staff at the activities center got to know me by name. In the evening there was entertainment at the theatre. Royal Beach club This is offered to royal beach club members. I was able to check out here instead of the main desk. At breakfast there is a continental breakfast offered. I ate at the main dining room. In the evening there were snacks such as chips, salsa and guacamole. I did not eat there for lunch. Beach The beach is not crowded. If you walk on the beach be careful of the stones but once you get over that the beach is sand to walk on. Beware of the vendors once you walk out on the beach. Once you say no they will leave you alone. On the beach there is a lady who sells red snapper and lobster. She will cook it on the BBQ for you. Restaurants The breakfast buffet was filling every morning. The options were super foods to omelettes, cold cuts, cheese and fruit, fresh bread and oatmeal. During the day there was a lunch restaurant called Caracola which had a fixed menu. I only tried one speciality restaurant Bamboo which has Japanese food. Bamboo has a speciality of the Costa Rican roll. Our group had 2 of them a bit spicy but delicious. Pools There are 2 pools one at the royal beach club and the main pool. The Royal Beach Club is for adults only. This pool has a swim up bar. The main pool was very big. This also has a swim up bar. There is an aqua size class and volleyball offered at the pool. I think I read somewhere it is 100 meters long. Fitness center All the equipment is new and modern. The fitness center was never crowded and opened 24/7. Spa I had the chance to use the spa. The spa offered many treatments. You had a choice of a 50 minute of 80 minute massage. Very relaxing! Once the massage was over you were allowed to use the facilities at the spa, the steam room, whirlpool inside and outside and the sauna. Rooms The rooms are clean. I found the royal beach clubs room to be smaller than a bungalow. I would stay in a bungalow when I come back. Golf Cart I took the golf cart around the property. This cost $15USD. Well worth the money. The views were spectacular. Getting around the property There are little vans/trucks that take you around the property but everything is within walking distance. Recommendations Better communication when you check i.e. maybe someone should ask when you drop off your luggage, are you royal beach club? Or maybe it should be noted when you arrive. How about posting at the activities center what restaurants are open for lunch/dinner. I did not know what was open or not. Overall I would recommend this hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. One night I locked myself out of the room not speaking Spanish the guard and I were able to figure it out. Someone left me into my room and even delivered me new keys. I want to thank Jaime as well for the tour of the hotel. This is big property and it does not seem crowded because the buildings are spread out. October 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Experience This was our best trip ever! The staff at this Westin made our week-long stay the best experience possible. Bergen was the BEST out by the pool everyday! He made us feel like he was there just for us! Evelyn did a great job on our beach walk tour. Both Tower 2 concierges were always looking for ways to help us. Sylvia was always friendly when she sat us for our meals. The beach yoga was outstanding! EVERYONE WAS GREAT! October 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Greatest all inclusive ever We stay at this hotel in low season. And everything was absolutely great. The food, the service and the facilities was superb. Nothing to complain just having to leave. October 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by MISSING NIGHTS This is the second year that I stayed at this hotel. I wrote an excellent review for the hotel last year; however, due to the hotel managements failure to assist me with the fact that they did not credit me the correct number of nights for my stay. For some reason the hotel credited me for only one night instead of the three which I stayed, despite sending 6 emails of which Mr. Corea did not respond to the last two. In all of the emails the hotel kept saying the points were credited instead responding to my repeated inquiries regarding the missing nights. I eventually asked SPG to send the hotel a message requesting the missing night credits and someone from the hotel again responded that the points and stay credits were correct and failed to mention any thing regarding the missing nights. The message from the hotel went on to say that they had responded to all of my emails making no mention that the last email I received from Mr. Corea stated their SPG department was looking into my missing nights and I should hearing back from them soon. I never did. I sent two more emails to Mr. Corea which he did not respond to. Eventually, I had to send a copy of my folios to SPG and they credited the proper number of nights for my stay. It took three months before I was correctly credited the nights for my stay which is ridiculous. Although I have enjoyed both of my stays at the property my experience regarding my missing nights coupled with the managements failure to correct the situation compels me to caution SPG members about staying at this property. Until this experience I planned to visit this property again; however, due to the fact that I am still awaiting a response from Mr. Corea to my repeated email inquiries those plans are on hold. October 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Crew!! We had a great stay at this location. Service makes all the difference. The staff was very nice and genuinely helpful. The dining options are great and the facility was green and clean. They have great daily activities for both kids and adults. The Spa was very nice and they had some great promotions while I was there. September 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by vacation of a lifetime!!!! everything about this resort is top notch! from the staff (superior) food, beautiful rooms,grounds.,EVERY detail was met with the guest comfort in mind. I have not one bad thing to say about this resort. I will definetly be back! thank you westin for the wonderful stay!!!!!!!!!!!!! September 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but not great We stayed at the Westin end of August to celebrate our 10 year anniversary with our small children. The staff was nice enough to place chocolate strawberries and wine in our room, nice touch! However since we were traveling with very small children, I was disappointed how far our room was from the pool, especially considering this was the low season and we are Gold members. I would have expected Westin to be aware of this after our check in, seeing that we had an infant as well. Another issue we had was that we opted for the Green Choice thinking that at least our bed would be made each day, but only after calling the front desk, did someone come. The telephone not working for our entire stay was yet another problem. It would have been great customer service if our room had been changed instead of telecom coming everyday to try and fix the phones. The activities offered each day were great, unfortunately when my husband tried to meet up for the Westin Run, he was told to go to the wrong place and it didn't end up happening. Westin needs to be very clear about the schedule of activities as my husband woke up early to try and do the run. I also suggest that Westin rethink it's kids policy. Charging for kids 3, 4, 5, etc. is unnecessary as how much can they eat? Plus it really adds to the price of the hotel. That being said we were blessed with great weather, the beach was one of the nicest (amazing sunset!) and food spectacular. Of special note, Andreas always had a smile for us when picking us up in the shuttle and Laura was awesome at the kid's club. We hope to be back for longer again! September 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Playa Conchal Spa I was booked into your spa for a spa deluxe package as part of birthday celebrations and as a gift from friends. I should say from the outset that Diana who performed the treatments was wonderful, professional and an incredibly good therapist. All credit to her for making the experience a lovely one. Unfortunately that's where the good part of this ended. The receptionist was rude and particularly unhelpful. I was concerned, having been given a gift certificate for the package, that I was still asked to sign a blank invoice at check in. There were no totals or values detailed in this and nothing to indicate that it was already fully paid. Further on check out when I asked for a copy from the receptionist was incredibly rude and disrespectful. While she may be used to other patrons simply signing blank invoices on an open resort account I am not in the habit of doing so and do not consider it unreasonable to have asked for confirmation that what I signed showed nothing being charged. When I eventually was able to get a copy of the receipt to show that the package was paid for it shows that charge was $75 more than the advertised price. I have emailed the resort and asked why this might be but have still not received a reply. This resort is beautiful and in a great location. For the most part the staff were pleasant but the issues at the spa spoiled what otherwise was a great time. SPG follow up also leaves me disappointed and not what I have come to expect from a world class resort. August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Vacation I brought my niece here to celebrate her 15th Birthday. I was admittedly reluctant to stay at an all inclusive, I feared that the food would be sub-par. I was wrong. The food was outstanding, the restaurants were fabulous. We loved the dining options and the service: the staff remembered us and they were very welcoming and accommodating. Our room was perfect, spacious, clean and comfortable. We opted for the Green choice program and were very pleased. We met the General Manager on our first day and we had the good fortune of seeing him several times during our stay. It was nice to see that the operation flowed smoothly under his direction. We can not wait to return to this Westin. Six nights was not quiet enough.. We di one tour which was wonderful. However, we didn't want to leave the property. August 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just beautiful... This is an all inclusive resort and it’s a huge property. My first impressions were this resort is for newlyweds and families. You could see that was the majority of people here. Didn’t see any singles or “friends” traveling together. That said, we still had a good time! They gave us an upgrade to one of the Presidential suites. It was VERY nice and VERY big. It's at the ocean end of the resort and has an ocean view. Nothing is ocean front since it's a public beach.   They had a special check in area for the Royal Beach Club "rooms" and assigned us a personal Concierge for the week. His name is Bergen and he's been wonderful. Always calling us by name, very personable.   They have a family pool area closer to the ocean end of the resort and the Royal Beach Club pool for adults and Royal Beach Club patrons only. That's a nice pool!!!  The service there is noticeably different than that the regular pool area, however it's not bad at the regular pool. It’s much quieter if you’re looking to “relax by the pool” instead of hearing a lot of people talking and kids playing!   They have 5 different restaurants. The food has been good. Not spectacular, but good. We've eaten Latin, Italian, Asian and Mediterranean. The breakfast buffet is out of this world though. Delicious and so much to choose from. If you’re in the Royal Beach Club, they have a separate breakfast buffet that, like the pool area, is significantly more quiet.   The minibar items are included, but they’re not stocked like a minibar at a regular hotel where you have to pay for everything individually. Just drinks, no snacks. They fill it once a day - you pay additional if you want it replenished more than once a day.   We did a 3 hour spa treatment yesterday - massage, mini facial, manicure and pedicure - that was $500+ and it was VERY disappointing. The massage was probably one of the worst I've had and the mani/pedi were equally bad. It was such a waste of money. Save your money and get a hour long massage on the beach by a local for $20. The wi-fi was spotty around the resort. In the room it would work fine and then 2 ft away you couldn’t get a signal. And s-l-o-w. We were in the middle of the country prior to this and they had lightening fast internet compared to the Westin. That was disappointing. Overall we had a great time. Not sure I’d come back here specifically, but if I did, I’d consider staying here again. August 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This resort should not be ranked as a category 7 My husband and I went to Costa Rica looking for a relaxing vacation after just having twins in January. We were woken up 4 out of 6 nights due to our air conditioner going out. While this is an all inclusive resort, the staff is very slow to respond which we assume is a method to control costs. July 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay in June! Overall: Great trip! Rooms: We had a suite in the Royal Beach Club and it was very clean, modernly decorated, had a mini fridge stocked daily with soft drinks, beer, liquor, as well as a daily supply of crackers/peanuts and there was fruit upon arrival. We were very happy with our suite as it has 2 full bathrooms, a living room, a patio with a whirpool, and though it was very humid in Costa Rica, our air conditioner kept our room very cold (which we like). The bathrooms were well stocked with not just the standard shampoo/conditioner/soap, but also shaving kits, toothbrush kits, and non standard amenities. None of the rooms really have beach or water views, as they are set up like little villas on a 24 acre property. That didn't bother us as we had a view of all the greenery and birds but just as an FYI. Food: It's true on the reservations - you need to book early. You should be fine as long as you book them as soon as you get there. We tried the Italian restaurant, the Mediterranean, The Thai/Asian (Bamboo), as well as the Latin Restaurant. We never made it to the French restaurant in the lobby. None of the restaurants have any sort of strict dress code (once in Mexico they were really strict on pants for me). They were all good, especially for an all inclusive. The best was the Italian restaurant. We went to Mitra (buffet) only for breakfast and they had a really good assortment. We also ordered room service twice, once for breakfast, and once for lunch. Room service is 24/7 which is nice Pools: There are two massive pools at this resort; one at the Royal Beach Club side (adults only) and one in the main side (note: both are in close walking distance). We stayed at the Royal Beach Club and parked ourselves in a cabanna most of the time. We saw somewhere after a few days of sitting there that they were $20 a day, but we used them for free - maybe because it was the rainy season. At the Royal Beach Club there is a pool bar, with top shelf liquor (all inclusive), towel service, drink service, and they even have a menu to order from if you don't feel like moving off your chair (we did this several days) - chips/guacamole, sandwiches etc. We didn't go to the main pool too much but it looked awesome. Activities: They have a full set of activities each day - we didn't participate in most, but if you have kids, I'd imagine it would be great. They have several workout classes as day (which is great) though I never made it to any of them :). They have a nice gym too open 24/7. We don't golf but heard great feedback on the golf course. They have Swiss tours on property or some guy outside on the beach that people have recommended (not affiliated) but I can't recall his name - we met friends that had a great time on both tour providers but my husband and I were there for pure relaxation this time as we have been to Costa Rica several other times and have done ziplining and the park tours etc. Beach: The beach is public, as are all beaches in Costa Rica, so there are some "sales people" out there, etc. The beach is ok, but the pools are the place to be. Overall Property: Yes, it is pretty big. Everything is however in a 5-10 minute walking distance and we walked most everywhere. And, they have these little truck/shuttles that are around to pick you up if you need a ride. Only wouldn't recommend this resort if you have some sort of difficulties walking but otherwise it is not an issue at all. I liked all the variety this larger resort offers. Staff: Very Very Very good. The staff at the Royal Beach Club went out of their way to make sure we had a great vacation. I mentioned to the concierge at the Royal Beach Club it was my husband's birthday, and they not only had a birthday cake at the restaurant we made reservations at, but also had a bottle of wine, chocolate strawberries, rose petals, and the patio hot tub running for when we got back. At the pool, I mentioned it was my husband's birthday earlier in the day, and he brought a mini chocolate cake for him with a candle to our cabana - so cute. Weather: We have been to Costa Rica several times - in the Central Pacific, however wanted to try out the Northern Pacific side. June is a the front of the raining season (believe it starts in May) so it is still good weather (atleast where we were), and only rained for a short period usually each day, though some days it didn't rain at all. I like traveling at this time since it is much less crowded. My only caveat to the whole trip was I got sick on day 3......I thought it might be food poisioning but my husband didn't get sick... I had a spa treatment earlier that day (spa is very nice by the way) that might have upset me, combined with the sun etc. Not sure.......but I had to spend day 4 and 5 recovering in the cabana. I went to the hotel doctor (who is "ok") and said I was dehydrated with a virus.......or something but wasn't sure. I've never gotten food poisening in Costa Rica in the past (and I drink all the water/food at the resort) unlike Mexico where I always get sick. But there was definitely something that upset me big time (major vomitting) for one night. The conceirge was sick that day also.....That said, I don't think it was something specific to this hotel per se, but just the one tid bit I didnt enjoy....... June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We loved this resort I can't remember the last time I've taken the time to write a review, but felt compelled to in this case. We had a great experience here and hope to visit again in the future. Of particular note ... Great food--especially the Italian, Asian, and pizza restaurants. The staff truly could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The room and grounds were amazing. I have never done the all-inclusive thing before and so wasn't sure what to expect in terms of quality. Thank you for a great stay! June 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed the beach, wild life My family spent 6 days in the resort and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The resort was beautiful, the beach was stunning, and the pool great. We completely enjoyed the various wild life, such as the monkeys, tropical birds, and coatis (especially the coatis) in and around the facility. The staff was very good, as was the food. One down side was twice we had to call, after 4pm, for our room to be serviced. It was not great trying to get ready for a 6:00pm dinner reservation while the room was being cleaned. Also issues with currency. Made a huge mistake bringing travelers checks. Almost everyone wanted US currency, but could only convert the travelers checks into Colons. Verny, with Swiss Travel was great and really took care of us. All in all a great vacation, would come back. June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Must experience this resort Other than restaurant reservation which is a pain given all-inclusive status, this resort is a gem and exceeds all expectations June 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor food Staff was fairly helpfull..Food was way below what I would have expected from a Westin Hotel. June 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I recommend it it’s a beautiful place When I called in and sent the reservation request I almost canceled because it’s like they are doing you a favor or that you are not someone that qualifies to go to their hotel. I called them several times and sent several emails, I receive better service for a $20 daily hotel than a 4/5 star hotel. Some friends that had already gone told me that is common that the front desk is the worst but after you pass that pain it’s a beautiful place and everybody treats you really nice So I decided to go, and that was what I received a really BAD front desk service and not just from one of receptionists but from 3 of them it really make me felt like you are not welcome. I did arrive early so after a 2 hour BAD experience I was finally allowed to enter and it was a complete change. The place is beautiful, really nice room (minor problem that the air conditioner was really noisy and it had a small leak) but I preferred not to call front desk. The pool is really big and the food was not bad, The place is really big so you can walk and see a lot of nature and nice places, Activities and equipment that you can borrow are in good conditions. I will go again but always knowing that front desk doesn’t care about you and treats you sorry my French like crap. June 2, 2013
  • 2015-11-26 T18:09:31.274-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_229, tr_229
  • loc_en_US, sid_3560, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 next>>