The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort

  • Playa Conchal
  • Cabo Velas,
  • Guanacaste
  • Costa Rica
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

An additional fee applies for children between three to 12 years old sleeping in existing bedding. Guests 13 years of age and older will be charged as an adult. Fees for children ages three to 12 years old (per child, per night): May 1 to December 22, 2014: Add 90 USD December 23, 2014, to January 2, 2015: Add 255 USD January 3 to April 5, 2015: Add 135 USD April 6 to December 22, 2015 : Add 90 USD

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years old with a valid, government-issued ID to check in.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 171 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great family vaction We booked this as a grand family vacation for my wife and I, and our six children (ages 22 years to 12 years). We had a great time! The hotel was excellent, the staff terrific (particularly would like to recognize Eden at the front desk). The folks at Swiss travel seem to have a very good system worked out with the hotel for both transportation and for "beach toys" - chairs, kayaks, snorkel equipment. The Pizza service at poolside was great, and the pool bar was enjoyable. Only negatives: surprised that dining reservations could only be made from 8:00 - 4:00, which ruled out any days we were off-site on an inland tour. No staff are able to access that information after 4:00, it is not available on any computer, and you are just out of luck if you need to make a change; this caught us when our tour did not return as early as had been scheduled. Secondly, not every restaurant is open every night. Seems a bit less than expected for an award-winning, expensive all-inclusive resort. Also, you are not allowed to get anything "to go" from the restaurants. One night we were tired, wanted dessert, but not right away. No luck. Finally, Costa Rica is both hot and buggy. This is no surprise; but about half the restaurants are outdoor seating only. Everyone immediately sprays with bug spray, and that's just sticky and sort of smelly to eat a great dinner. All that said, it was a great vacation, the Westin was certainly a place we would recommend, and would gladly return to in the future. May 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service excellent for SPG P We were there for six days for a destination wedding. The property did an excellent job of looking after it's platinum guests. Special shout out to Maureen, Priscilla, Sylvia and Nelson. Unfortunately service is not enough for some of the areas that need improvement: Rooms - well appointed rooms. Queens would be much better than double beds and it should be standard to have full length mirrors in the room. Not sure why there was never any paper or pens in the rooms. Pool - nice size pools. Not very kid friendly given the depth of most of the pool was over 4 1/2 feet. Food - as expected food at an all inclusive is average. What is not expected is the shortage of service staff in both the buffet and sit down restaurants. Always had to keep asking for coffee refills in the am and wait times in the restaurants were long. Food in the restaurants was disappointing as was the lack of local Costa Rica cuisine. It was also disappointing that tables of more than 4 had to make resos 4-5 days in advance. Not sure why an all inclusive resort would close restaurants by 11pm. Where is anyone going to go? Other than the bar, there was nowhere to go for drinks or a late night snack other than room service which defeats the purpose. Beach - having a disclaimer inside saying you are at your own risk is a cop out for the property when the beach is less than 20 feet away. The currents can get rough and unsafe for young children who are innocently playing. At the very least a flag system should be used warning simmers of dangers. Overall, it's a nice property and while the concierges were excellent, it would not be enough to bring me back. December 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Construction Nightmare The early morning noise of construction workers greeted you most ever morning. The disorganization of the management was evident every day. The staff was ill prepared for english speaking guests. The rooms were not cleaned daily. Our bathroom was dirty most of the stay. The offered restaurants were closed on certain days, so you couldn't make reservations. The only bright spot was three employees that we had the pleasure of meeting, which management should promote to higher level positions. Jimmy, the head waiter in the italian restaurant, his assistance Louise' a young man who also worked the buffet breakfast most morning who were both outstanding. Maylania, who worked in the Mediterranean restaurant. Her work ethic was exceptional and her attention to detail was a breath of fresh air. I would hope that improvements will be made, but if not I can not in good faith recommend this hotel to anyone. The overall experience was unsatisfactory. I believe the training of the staff to handle international guests was very weak, communication was very difficult, just to get a wash cloth. The people outside of the hotel were very friendly and made you feel very safe. The country was beautiful, but these accommodations took something away from the trip. We have stayed at RUI Palaces, so I guest our standards were set very high, because their hotels and management provide the highest level of service to all international guests. Thank you January 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relaxing I must say this place was great. Being part of the royal beach club I think more should be offered. I've visited several resorts with VIP services that there is no need for reservations. No one wants to be bothered with calling to book reservations and being told no. Either way our stay was wonderful. At night it's pretty dark n property becomes confusing. Considering the wildlife that's there you want to be able to see what's around. The guys who drive the carts are so sweet . August 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just beautiful... This is an all inclusive resort and it’s a huge property. My first impressions were this resort is for newlyweds and families. You could see that was the majority of people here. Didn’t see any singles or “friends” traveling together. That said, we still had a good time! They gave us an upgrade to one of the Presidential suites. It was VERY nice and VERY big. It's at the ocean end of the resort and has an ocean view. Nothing is ocean front since it's a public beach.   They had a special check in area for the Royal Beach Club "rooms" and assigned us a personal Concierge for the week. His name is Bergen and he's been wonderful. Always calling us by name, very personable.   They have a family pool area closer to the ocean end of the resort and the Royal Beach Club pool for adults and Royal Beach Club patrons only. That's a nice pool!!!  The service there is noticeably different than that the regular pool area, however it's not bad at the regular pool. It’s much quieter if you’re looking to “relax by the pool” instead of hearing a lot of people talking and kids playing!   They have 5 different restaurants. The food has been good. Not spectacular, but good. We've eaten Latin, Italian, Asian and Mediterranean. The breakfast buffet is out of this world though. Delicious and so much to choose from. If you’re in the Royal Beach Club, they have a separate breakfast buffet that, like the pool area, is significantly more quiet.   The minibar items are included, but they’re not stocked like a minibar at a regular hotel where you have to pay for everything individually. Just drinks, no snacks. They fill it once a day - you pay additional if you want it replenished more than once a day.   We did a 3 hour spa treatment yesterday - massage, mini facial, manicure and pedicure - that was $500+ and it was VERY disappointing. The massage was probably one of the worst I've had and the mani/pedi were equally bad. It was such a waste of money. Save your money and get a hour long massage on the beach by a local for $20. The wi-fi was spotty around the resort. In the room it would work fine and then 2 ft away you couldn’t get a signal. And s-l-o-w. We were in the middle of the country prior to this and they had lightening fast internet compared to the Westin. That was disappointing. Overall we had a great time. Not sure I’d come back here specifically, but if I did, I’d consider staying here again. August 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Notch I'll keep this short and sweet. I'm somewhat of a hotel snob and typically have expectations that are difficult to meet. The Westin in Costa Rica not only exceeded every single one of my expectations, it blew them out of the water. This place is amazing. I highly recommend upgrading to the Royal Beach Club. It is a mathematical certainty that I'll be returning to this resort - hopefully sooner rather than later. August 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by restaurant reservation system and internet connection I found my experience was great overall except the following two areas: The concierge staff upon our arrival was not attentive at all when we tried to make reservation at one of the restaurants. I felt that he was trying to convince us to eat at the buffet instead. He was not helpful at all to try to find space for us at the restaurants. I understand there is only one lady in the whole resort to handle restaurant reservation from 8:00 to 4:00. But i don't feel like stressing out to reach her to reserve a table. Is there a better system to satisfy the guests' request? I paid $15 a day for the internet but only can connect for the first 1.5 hours.....I gave up after the line went dead. I do want to complement the two fitness staff who taught the fitness classes. Very friendly, very energetic, and understanding. August 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service Service was very eraditc. At the French restaurant it was horrible. Getting pizza could be an adventure. There were some exceptions. Andres at the family pool,Christian at Corola and the Mediteranian restaurants, and Daisy at the Mediteranian were exceptional. They were on top of everything. No one was rude, but service was slow. Not sure if there was a language problem or if they just weren't aware of what their jobs entailed. Sometimes the help seemed clueless. Their pleasant attitudes helped but it was frustrating. April 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome Resort This is a beautifully landscaped, well maintained resort. The staff was kind, happy and eager to serve. I loved all of the coati, monkeys, iguanas, birds and beautiful trees on the property. The only negative was that the food was just okay. We rented a car for one day to see the country. There are really no public attractions very close to the resort. We drove 4 hours to Arenal Lake /Volcano- gorgeous country but roads were under construction...not pleasant. I could have stayed in the resort all week and been totally happy. December 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful setting with some drawbacks Beach, pool and restaurants are great! The rooms have a little privacy as far as bathrooms with NO doors to shower and sink areas. There are a limited number of chairs available on the beach so you better get there very early and even then they could be taken. Reservations for restaurants are also very competitive. Then wine and alcohol are the very cheapest brands. August 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friendliest staff possible! The staff was amazing at every level. Warm, helpful and eager to make a memorable experience. The service to the room was inconsistent, spotty turn down service, housekeeping as late as 5 pm. Restaurants were all nice,food very fresh, only exception was Faisenella. Activities staff was exceptional, the fitness center classes by Jose were great/ Beach yoga at 8am. wow! Would have preferred access to all the pools, sometimes the family/main pool got a little wild at the bar for younger kids to be exposed to. Tennis courts are the only subpar facility in the resort, desperate need of an overhaul. Rooms are nice and comfortable and the resort is very eco-centric. The beach is somewhat narrow and the locals do hassle visitors to the point you want to avoid the beach entrances to the main pool, better at the spa entrance. July 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay While overall our experience was a good one, we were very disappointed that the pool closed at 7:00 pm and the only bar you could access other than at a restaurant was in the lobby. All staff we encountered were very friendly and nice! August 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic staff Staff is excellent!!! Only the best can be said about their attitude, responsiveness and efficiency. Food and Beverage: All juices are diluted. Very big disappointment for a 5* resort! Bathrooms lack solid door in room, lack of privacy. Many guests talked about this issue. August 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good Been all over the Caribean and this resort is as good as it gets. The food was better than average, the location was spectacular and the entire vacation was a pleasure. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent All-Inclusive Resort Having been at several all-inclusive resorts The Westin has been the best by far. All the restaurants offered a variety of selections and had beautiful presentation. Took a few excursions and relaxed by the pool. Everyone was very friendly and extremely helpful. August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We had a great time We were total 17 family members. Except we were disappointed we were not served Premium liquor drinks, even though our travel agent confirmed us that our package includes such package, for other services, we were very happy. Everything was great and enjoyable. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location Thoroughly enjoyed our vacation. Staff was friendly and great with our baby. Only down fall was ++ animal excrement on the pathways. Loved this resort, have been twice and would come again if the opportunity presented itself. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the most amazing SPG properties This place is amazing and the staff were incredible. Special thanks to David and everyone at the Royal Ocean Club. November 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Had a great time We enjoyed our week on vacation with rest and great food. We were disappointed with the inconsistency of the shuttle service. We loved the atmosphere, including the wildlife that roam the premises. We never got the drinks we ordered when we went to the buffet, but loved all the other restaurants. July 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs improvement The resort is beautiful but the food quality needs improvement. The menus, ironically, mimic all inclusive resorts, very massed produced feeling. Drink quality is like from rum punch cruise, not adequate quality for a Westin. I didn't notice any pool attendants to serve drinks or food at pool making it inconvenient. All this apart, the stay was adequate as the kids liked it, except for a few rotten apples. 1. On Saturday, August 16, 2014, around 10am, I was outside the spa when golf cart, color green, 6 seater, number 6, carrying another guest, was passing the curb and I hailed it down. I was carrying my infant son and asked the woman driver if she could drive us to the pool. Her response was negative and said she wasn't going there. I walked and to my surprise I find her passing by the pool. Great customer service, and great sensitivity as I was carrying an 11 month old crying infant. 2. My companion had a spa treatment in the late afternoon, August 15, 2014. She told me that when she arrived she was treated rudely. Had to wait 30 minutes for a locker, towels. etc. The jacuzzi at the spa was full of rowdy people drinking alcohol where in theory she went there to get a relaxing time. The treatment was regular bordering bad. There was no one to complain when she was leaving as there was no one at the reception. Next day a spa attendant was promoting their services and she told them about experience and said someone would contact her. On check out day, no response yet. 3. Photoshop, boutique, etc., do not accept room charge, defeats purpose of not carrying cash or cards at an all inclusive. August 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by lots of hassles arrived to a beautiful hotel. our room was nice except for problems with the air conditioning. It was extremely hot outside and the room was uncomfortable. A person attempted to fix the problem to no avail. We couldn't get restaurant reservations unless they were extremely late i.e. 9pm ( we have child) Everything was booked. We also had a hard time finding a place to sit by the pool for our group. There were club towels on many of the chairs. When you walked around the pool area there was animal feces in a few areas which was never picked up. One of the toilets by the pool would not flush and the bathroom in the main lobby on one evening had no water. A gentleman showed up on the evening before we were departing to let us know he would be our personal driver and attendant. Three people in our family got sick on the day before we were leaving. Service in general was pretty quick and people were friendly. May 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anniversary Trip My husband and I visited Playa Conchal for our second and absolutely LOVED IT! We upgraded to the Royal Club and the staff was beyond amazing. They ALWAYS greeted us by our first names, everyone remembered us, even the hostess at the restaurants. The staff could not have been more friendly. They went above and beyond at every turn. One night my husband wasn't feeling so well and could not make it to one of our dinner reservations, and I went alone. The staff asked if I wanted to take a plate to my husband and wrapped it up for me. He enjoyed it, even though he didn't get to go. It was little things like this that make the staff at the Playa Conchal the BEST!! It honestly felt like home. We loved it so much, we looked into buying one of the condos located at their property, but didn't quite like anything, because if we had found something, we would have stayed. Everything was within walking distance at the hotel, we were offered rides, but we are a young couple, so we didn't need them. Honestly the BEST resort we have stayed at, and we travel quite often. I have recommended this place to everyone we know. It has been about a month since we visited, and sometimes we wake up thinking we are still there! We cannot wait to visit again. Everyone is amazing and it was a once in a lifetime experience. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Customer Service Ever! We went here for a family wedding and I cannot stress enough how awesome the Westin staff was for our family wedding. Every little detail was taken care of. The hotel is just gorgeous and they cater to your every single want! With a genuine smile! The all inclusive itself is a real bonus. The bars had anything you could ever want and if they didn't have it, the bartender will go get it for you! The food is ok. Latin was our favorite, than the buffet. The other places had over or undercooked food that was not good. The presentation though was a 10! Again, the Westin really knows how to knock your socks off when it comes to a vacation with our without your kids! August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thanks to Tri! Great place to visit with incredible hospitality. One employee especially, Tri at the front desk, is an outstanding individual. His professionalism is the best I've ever come across in my travels as a platinum member of spg. He went above and beyond to make sure our visit was a memorable one. Thanks, Tri! We'll definitely be back. September 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Crew!! We had a great stay at this location. Service makes all the difference. The staff was very nice and genuinely helpful. The dining options are great and the facility was green and clean. They have great daily activities for both kids and adults. The Spa was very nice and they had some great promotions while I was there. September 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This resort should not be ranked as a category 7 My husband and I went to Costa Rica looking for a relaxing vacation after just having twins in January. We were woken up 4 out of 6 nights due to our air conditioner going out. While this is an all inclusive resort, the staff is very slow to respond which we assume is a method to control costs. July 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyable Birthday I went with 3 others to celebrate my birthday (end of June 2014). I arrived on my birthday and was automatically upgraded to the Royal Beach Club tower room. I was slightly disappointed with the room because the bathroom hardware was tarnished and it needed a paint job (room 2119). However, Westin's heavenly bed always lives up to its name. Overall the service was excellent. David and Andres took excellent care of our needs and were always available when we called. The pool at the Club is very quiet and clean. Unlike the general pool, we did not have to worry about giving our room number for towels. The only disadvantage was that we were far from the beach and the restaurants. However, the restaurants were great and the staff were very pleasant. We had my birthday dinner at the Italian restaurant and they sang Happy Birthday in Spanish and English! The other nights we ate at the Latin Restaurant and the French Restaurant. I was not impressed with French restaurant - average food; however, the Latin restaurant's menu was delicious! Please remember to get Champagne with your meal and the watermelon mimosas are divine! We took a tour to Vendara (with TAM), which was a fun adventure. It was a 2 hour ride from the hotel, but worth it. There was a horse back ride up the mountain and zipline (10 lines), volcano mud bath, hot springs pool and a delicious 4 course meal. We arrived during rainy season; however, it only sprinkled a couple times during our stay. It was overcast and humid, but the pool and beach were fun. We also went to Tamarindo (bus ride sponsored by the hotel). The cost was $10 roundtrip. It was a 30 minute ride each way and pick up was in 4 hours. That was enough time to visit the shops and eat lunch or dinner. July 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor food Staff was fairly helpfull..Food was way below what I would have expected from a Westin Hotel. June 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing service and great property The Westin Playa Concha Resort & Spa Upon arrival we were promptly and warmly welcomed curbside. The bellman took responsibility for our bags and walked us to the front desk to check-in. We were immediately welcomed to the hotel by Eder who was very pleasant, helpful and checked us in with efficiency. As we stood at the check-in counter a waiter handed us each a refreshing cold drink, a very nice touch. We asked Eder for recommendations on the restaurants at the property and he gave us both the official response “they’re all wonderful” that you hear everywhere, and when pushed a touch, he also gave us his personal (which he clearly identified as his personal) opinion. This kind of honesty is so welcomed by guests. We’re smart enough to see through the “fake” answers. We came away from the check-in process impressed already with the staff, and Eder in particular. (Note: you can’t make dinner reservations after 4pm, so if you arrive after this time and would like to eat somewhere other than the International Buffet, you need to call before arriving and push them to allow you to make reservations at least for the first night – they’ll tell you that you can’t make reservations in advanced, but pushed they will take them.) Next an opened-air shuttle whisked us to our room. The rooms are call bungalows and appear to be 8 rooms per building. The room was attractively decorated and appeared to be in good condition, at first. I was a bit surprised that the bellman that took us to our room and handled our bags also felt the need to check and make sure everything worked. I’m guessing he does this, as more often than not something is wrong. In our case we’re glad he did check. The refrigerator was not working or stocked, the key slot used to turn the lights on didn’t actually require the key to work, a light bulb was out and the clock was not set to the correct time. The bellman called maintenance and they showed up in less than 5 minutes! Wow, great response time! Unfortunately the repairperson told us the refrigerator was working and that the product inside was warm simply because it was just restocked (funny since the bellman had told us 5 minutes earlier that it was not stocked and he would send someone to stock it). The repairman left and the person assigned to refill the refrigerator showed up a couple minutes later. We expressed concern about the refrigerator not working. He called maintenance for us and although we don’t speak Spanish, we’re pretty sure maintenance told him they had already checked it and that it was working. He could tell we were still concerned and to his credit he took things into his own hands, pulled the unit out and loaded it into his beverage cart and brought us a new one. Restocked it full of beverages and confirmed we were happy. Although you hate to deal with things not working 5 minutes after arriving in our room, thanks to a great restock person all was well and we were moving forward again with our visit. (Note: This property is showing it’s age, a higher quality maintenance program would go along way to improving this property and its appearance. Mismatched concrete patches, bent or chipped lighting, and electrical outlets that were not secured tightly to the exterior walls were common throughout the property) The pools are beautiful, the restaurants have been recently updated and there are lots of activities. The beach is also very nice and large. You do have to navigate the local vendors that are stationed directly outside the gates to the Westin, but they are not pushy and common in this area. If you want a massage for $20 you have lots of options. There are also water-crafts of all types that you can use or in some cases rent. The beach was very clean and well kept. The room design was ok. It was very open and if you and your significant other aren’t on the same except sleep schedule it’s a bit hard to be respectful of the one wishing to go to bed earlier or sleep in. The room design does allow for an easy fix however if the hotel wishes. A simple curtain of some type could easily isolate the bed area a bit from the balance of the room. This would have made a big difference for us. A night-light would also be helpful given there are two steps down from the bed area to the bathroom. Loved the over-sized shampoo and lotions. Finally someone got this right! And the bed was so comfortable, a dream to sleep on for sure. The food at this all-inclusive was excellent. The portion sizes were great and the food was very fresh. With the exception of the bee’s (lots of bee’s) that surrounded the poolside bar, the drinks were very good as well. The staff is the shining diamond at this property. The level of service (minus the one maintenance person) was top notch, world-class at every turn. The hostess, Cinthia was wonderful from the first night at dinner at the Asian Bistro until our final breakfast. I was impressed that she offered us the choice of two tables at dinner, a 2 top and a 4 top. This is a really nice touch that is rare. Another call out goes to Fernando, a waiter we had for dinner one night and then for lunch a couple days later. He remembered our names and even what we like to drink. Amazing considering this is a large resort with lots of guests. There was no question that he cared, took notice and wanted us to feel important. This type of service was common at this property and I wish I had captured more names. One other that comes to mind was Albin who took care of us at the CaraCola (poolside restaurant). Even the young lady working the towel shack was great, taking the time to explain the towel control card in detail with a smile. The staff at this property is top-notch. Some of the best I’ve ever had the opportunity to enjoy, and I rarely find this to be true. In fact I reviewed another 5 star property recently that should send their staff to stay at the Westin to see how it’s really suppose to be done. Opportunities for improvement – 1) Overhaul the maintenance staff and improve the quality of repairs. 2) Create an environment in the rooms that would work better for people that would like to sleep on slightly varied scheduled. This is a simple fix that would be a big upgrade to the rooms. 3) Add a make-up mirror for those of us who wear contacts – or make-up. 4) Offer Wifi for free throughout the property. The days of charging $15 per day are over, long ago over. And even if you do pay, you need to switch back and forth between the room and the few areas were Wifi is provided for free … this is a pain. 5) Add some additional English speaking TV channels. There’s only one and it gets old after a while. 6) Add more lighting in the coffee bar within the room, super dark even once the light bulbs were replaced. Overall I would recommend this property and primarily due to the outstanding service provided by the staff. They anticipated your every need. ~ Reviews by Rich July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Vacation We just came back from an amazing stay at the Westin (June 21-28). We were a family of 3 (12 yr old son). And we went with a family of 4 (kids 12 and 10). This trip was booked since Nov. 2013. So I read all the reviews. Arriving into Liberia - our lugguage was waiting for us right away and so was Swiss Travel. So we were at the hotel within 1 hr. Checking in took awhile only because we were trying to get rooms closer together and the welcome mojito went down so fast. We ended up switching after the first night. Beds are soft, if you have a bad back. You have to stay by the pool, get the deluxe junior suite with a balcony. I heard that Royal Beach club also got very wild that most were hanging out at the regular pool. Restaurants - make reservations right away. We were a little puzzled as to how empty the restaurants were and how many families were shut out of reservations. I do know that there were a few large parties, so I'm assuming staff can only handle a certain amount. Our favorite was the Asian (fastest service) and Mediterranean (make sure to request a table overlooking the pool). Sorry to say we were disappointed in the Latin American restaurant. Italian was good. French - horrible and it's in the lobby, no ambiance. And can get very warm. Buffet is fine, lots of choices. Make sure to sit under a fan to get an extra breeze. For Lunch, go to the restaurant right by the pool. Great salad w avocado and hearts of palm and hazelnut ice cream. Wine: it was fine, and chilled. Beer - if your a beer drinker, forget it, Imperial tasted like bud light. But go with all the frozen drinks and mojitos. They have great non alcoholic drinks. Excursions: We went with Swiss Travel, kids were FREE. You can't go wrong with Eric Garcia either, and he's right there on the beach. As for the beach, it's public but not an issue. The beach isn't that nice. We have nicer beaches in Florida. The Westin offers a lot of activities, my favorite was water aerobics. I heard Yoga at 8am on the beach was amazing. They also offer Kayaking, snorkling, biking for FREE. My son had his own snorkling gear, which helped as he didn't have to return it after an hour. WESTIN STAFF - Amazing! They go out of their way to make sure everything is taken care of. Housekeeping - also great, only 2 days we had to call when our room wasn't clean. The bartenders are the pool were great, always try the drink of the day. They also treated the kids very well. One suggestion is bring a flashlight to help you at night find your way back to your room. It gets dark very early and lighting isn't that good. The only complaint that I tried to address was there was a wedding party who drank way to much. This was not the resort for this type of behavior. I spoke to Carlos (manages groups) but he never got back to me and issue continued. We met a great group of people and all the kids were very well-behaved. July 2, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>