The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort

  • Playa Conchal
  • Cabo Velas,
  • Guanacaste
  • Costa Rica
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

An additional fee applies for children between three to 12 years old sleeping in existing bedding. Guests 13 years of age and older will be charged as an adult. Fees for children ages three to 12 years old (per child, per night): May 1 to December 22, 2014: Add 90 USD December 23, 2014, to January 2, 2015: Add 255 USD January 3 to April 5, 2015: Add 135 USD April 6 to December 22, 2015 : Add 90 USD

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years old with a valid, government-issued ID to check in.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 171 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Birthday Visit Hubby and I had a great relaxed stay. I enjoyed my birthday. Nov November 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but not great We stayed at the Westin end of August to celebrate our 10 year anniversary with our small children. The staff was nice enough to place chocolate strawberries and wine in our room, nice touch! However since we were traveling with very small children, I was disappointed how far our room was from the pool, especially considering this was the low season and we are Gold members. I would have expected Westin to be aware of this after our check in, seeing that we had an infant as well. Another issue we had was that we opted for the Green Choice thinking that at least our bed would be made each day, but only after calling the front desk, did someone come. The telephone not working for our entire stay was yet another problem. It would have been great customer service if our room had been changed instead of telecom coming everyday to try and fix the phones. The activities offered each day were great, unfortunately when my husband tried to meet up for the Westin Run, he was told to go to the wrong place and it didn't end up happening. Westin needs to be very clear about the schedule of activities as my husband woke up early to try and do the run. I also suggest that Westin rethink it's kids policy. Charging for kids 3, 4, 5, etc. is unnecessary as how much can they eat? Plus it really adds to the price of the hotel. That being said we were blessed with great weather, the beach was one of the nicest (amazing sunset!) and food spectacular. Of special note, Andreas always had a smile for us when picking us up in the shuttle and Laura was awesome at the kid's club. We hope to be back for longer again! September 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great A/I hotel...booked to go back. Staff were attentive, we had family concierge, great on site restaurants( once you manage to get a reservation), not huge portions in evenings but quality and more than enough. Evenings were quiet but can always go to Locals towns if you like. Golf course was great, free golf for u12's and not busy. Beach is great, admittedly local traders assemble there and aren't intimidating..great people in Costa Rica, not long trip from airport..going back in a few months.. February 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful week in Guanacaste Overall we had a wonderful experience at the Westin. I’ll start with the positives: the staff is friendly and efficient; pool-side chairs are plentiful, the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable; food and service are excellent at all the reservations-only restaurants and good at the buffet; the beach has plenty of shade, beautiful white sand and comfortably warm but refreshing water you can swim on. As to entertainment and activities, the aquarobics at 11 every morning is not to be missed, there is also yoga every morning but we didn’t try it; snorkeling is decent on the rocky area of the beach on the right side of the hotel during low tide; night entertainment is mixed, the live music was very good, others were so-so. Areas for improvement, first and foremost please make stronger and better coffee for breakfast, Americans and Canadians do appreciate a good cup of coffee, so how about brewing some of the locally grown coffee for the Westin guests! The bees … there are too many bees all over the pool. Be careful if you are allergic to bee stings. August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Food Overall the resort was very nice. We stayed in the Royal family suite, which was very spacious and comfortable. Two had 2 full beds with a seating area, desk, dining table for 2, and a bar area with a sink. Room was really well located on the resort property. Right in front of the family pool with easy and quick walk to the beach and restaurants. Which now leads us to the food. We were all impressed with all the restaurants. Please do make all your reservations within the first few days or you might end up eating buffets the whole stay. My favorite dinner restaurant was Las Candalas. They do fish really well? Especially salmon!!! Love the room service too 24hrs! Next is beach. Beach front is pretty wide and secluded. There are no other resorts along either sides so that was really nice. The beach part was very shallow so it didn't leave much room for lounge chairs. Water wise, the waves came in pretty rough. it was much stronger than the carribbean. My 4 year old couldn't stay standing in the water it would sweep her right off her feet. Water was nice and clear no kelp which was what I really appreciated! All in all this was a great resort and i would definitely go back! Shuttles all around. Staff was friendly Drinks were great! loved how they used real fruits to make all the drinks. Favorite was pineapple mojito! August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 glorious days at the Westin Playa Conchal We checked in for a 5-night stay in the Royal Beach Club section for March Break, 2014. As a Platinum guest, we were accorded 1st class treatment - including an upgrade to a corner suite in Tower 1. The suite included a king size bed, two Jacuzzi baths (one indoor, one outdoor), an enormous rain shower, and a huge balcony. There is an onsite concierge to arrange shuttles, refresh the in room mini bar and make tour arrangements. John (our concierge) was the best, as was Maureen, the chief concierge. Daily activities at the resort, including early am exercises, were available, and we found the trainers to be excellent. There are 8 restaurants on site, and we tried them all! The best (for dinner) were Les Candelas & Faisenellas. Our daughter loved the mojitos in the swim up bar, and the Costa Rican beer was not to shabby! All in all, a great place to sit back and relax for spring break. We were sad when it was time to go home! March 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really Fun Vacation Hotel was lovely. Beach and pools were great. Fun excursion to Zip line and Mud Baths. Food was OK sometimes very good. Drinks were so-so - not very strong at all. All in all a wonderful place to visit and very romantic. February 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent food, great comfort The resort is a beautiful place in a beautiful area of a beautiful country. The shower temperature wouldn't get particularly hot, and the air conditioning wouldn't get particularly cold, but every other aspect of our stay, ESPECIALLY the food, was great. Highly recommended. November 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Third visit as refreshing as the first We visited the Westin Playa Conchal for a third time for a couples retreat and continue to be impressed with this resort. Prior to our arrival we received a very pleasant, welcoming email from guest services and were thrilled upon arrival that our dinner reservations were made in advance. The attentiveness of the staff is second to none, and they truly went above and beyond with every interaction. Our butler sought us out every morning to inquire about our stay and any needs. The bartenders remembered our drink orders and anticipated our every need. The wait staff in the restaurants were professional and polished. The Westin made some nice enhancements to the dinner menus at their restaurants and though improvement was not needed, we found the new items and presentation refreshing and inspired. We particularly noticed the addition of many more vegetable options at breakfast, lunch and dinner. It was easy to eat healthy on our vacation. Fasinella added a lunch buffet in lieu of menu format, and we were very pleased with the variety and quality of options available. The Latin restaurant was fantastic and truly authentic. The fresh seafood at Bamboo was impressive - excellent cuts of fresh fish. The grounds were well maintained and a gorgeous departure from the snow and ice of NY. We were greeted by dozens of monkey's in the trees outside our suite on the first and second night. The fireworks on July 4th were nothing short of spectacular! Westin spared no expense. Thank you Westin for providing a relaxing and rewarding experience! February 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never Again Our first trip to Costa Rica was wonderful except for the Westin. Every response from front desk staff and service express is NO. Asked for upgrade told no even though rooms not full even offered to pay full price. Every item asked for was told no don't have that. No rooms close to beach. Must wait for ride to go anywhere cause nothing in walking distance. Staff in and out of rooms 10x per day and at all hours. Bracelet color determines treatment. Could go on forever. If looking for luxury this is not the place for such a price. February 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by SPG status not recognized Hotel was AMAZING! The adult only access was the way to go, not crowded with exceptional service. 5 star all the way However... Was not recognized as a Platinum member when checking in. Did not receive the 5 night credit to my account stays, and was refused by SPG Platinum desk afterwards for booking thru United Vacations July 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed the beach, wild life My family spent 6 days in the resort and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The resort was beautiful, the beach was stunning, and the pool great. We completely enjoyed the various wild life, such as the monkeys, tropical birds, and coatis (especially the coatis) in and around the facility. The staff was very good, as was the food. One down side was twice we had to call, after 4pm, for our room to be serviced. It was not great trying to get ready for a 6:00pm dinner reservation while the room was being cleaned. Also issues with currency. Made a huge mistake bringing travelers checks. Almost everyone wanted US currency, but could only convert the travelers checks into Colons. Verny, with Swiss Travel was great and really took care of us. All in all a great vacation, would come back. June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome place for some relaxation and fun! We traveled here with a group of people and had the best time!! The food was not always the best, but we were always able to find something yummy for all of us. None of us starved thats for sure. The facilities and grounds were spotless. You never went 5 minutes without seeing an employee cleaning. This place was just so beautiful and so much to do. Pool bar was a blast for us every day!! We did have a little bit of a difficult time with check in and pricings but in the end that was a small issue. April 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most Awesome vacation yet.... Costa Rica is amazing in itself but I have to say this hotel had everything you could ask for. The food at the culturally themed restaurants was awesome. Would definitely like to return to this property. December 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Perfect Honeymoon My wife and I just got back from our honeymoon at the Westin Playa Conchal in beautiful Costa Rica. We spent 5 nights and 4 full days there and it wasn't nearly long enough. We LOVED every single minute of our trip! The beach, pool, and restaurants were amazing! The unlimited and all-inclusive food and drinks were spectacular! The activities (also included free of charge) such as kayaking, snorkeling, and the dance show were incredible! There were iguanas and monkeys everywhere you looked. The property is absolutely beautiful! This was the perfect place to relax and enjoy each other's company for our honeymoon. We will definitely be back! We went in May which is the start of the "rainy season" in Costa RIca, so I was expecting quite a bit of rain. DO NOT LET THIS KEEP YOU FROM GOING!!! It only rained one morning and one evening for about 30 minutes and the rest of the time it was beautiful! It was actually very nice because the resort was only about 50% full, so it felt like we had the place to ourselves. The only complaint or negative experience I could come up with was when the front-desk staff failed to recognize my Platinum status with SPG. However, upon mentioning this and noting that we were on our honeymoon, they were more than happy to upgrade us as I expected. June 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Visit with young family We visited in early November 2013. The staff was truely outanding. My wife and I were treated exceptionally well and our young children were treated even better. Facilities were in great shape. Food exceeded our expectations and experience for an all inclusive. The resort can take a bit of walking to get from one location to the other, but they do offer transportation to come and pick you up (sometimes theyere is a wait) November 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Experience This was our best trip ever! The staff at this Westin made our week-long stay the best experience possible. Bergen was the BEST out by the pool everyday! He made us feel like he was there just for us! Evelyn did a great job on our beach walk tour. Both Tower 2 concierges were always looking for ways to help us. Sylvia was always friendly when she sat us for our meals. The beach yoga was outstanding! EVERYONE WAS GREAT! October 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Generally nice Generally, the Westin is a nice hotel with lovely rooms and well-appointed grounds. There are sufficient activities to keep families occupied. Your Candelas and Faisanellas restaurants are world class. However, the Mitras breakfast buffet is very disappointing. Although there is a large variety, quantity doesn't mean quality. Most people walked out after one plate. June 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what we expected This resort is not very clean. The fans in the suites were very dusty. They would give you 1 washcloth for 2 people. Communication is difficult as very few speak English. Hands stuck out for tips continuously. If you don't tip, you get no service, especially at the bars. This is the worse all inclusive resort I've ever been to. Poor lighting at night which makes it difficult to navigate on grounds Will not go back. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Services As a platinum member, we were upgraded to the Royal Beach Club with personal host/concierge. We are regular travelers & have stayed at many different Westin resorts. This is by far the best with services. The host checked in with us each night and throughout the day to take care of our needs and ensure all are in order. Staff at the entire resort are very happy to assist everyone. The food was excellent! Everywhere we go, staff were very professional and courteous. We truly enjoyed our entire 10 days stay. We hope to return soon. Special thank you to our personal host William Martinez, you made our vacation very memorable! To all travelers, please remember to tip as all staff truly deserved them. August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOM RESORT Will be back in the near future, hands down the best all inclusive resort. We will be bringing the kids with us for sure next time!!! Please see John outside the resort on the beach wearing the red shirt, he really took care of us on all the activities around Costa Rica. November 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Be very careful If you like Coati's running all over the pool deck stealing your bags and scavenging anything and everything, if you like small uncomfortable rooms, if you like to be welcomed on the beaches by locals scamming your $$ and gas powered jet ski's disturbing the beautiful beach waters, if you children like to be confined after 6:00pm because the pools, beaches, game centers are all closed than this is the place to be. I have never been so dissatisfied with an all-inclusive resort in my life. My family and I have been to all-exclusive in Turks, Mexico, Aruba, Puerto Rico, St, Lucia, and have never been disappointed until arriving at the Westin. My wife and I tried to go for a cocktail in the early evening near the buffet restaurant but were surprised that there was no seating available. You know the saying happy wife happy life; didn't happen until the day we checked out. Dining was average, room service was a joke. David from the Family club area was the only Westin employee that really took care of us. THANK YOU DAVID, for making sure the coati’s didn't steal our stuff, you made our stay tolerable. BE VERY CARFUL FUTURE GUESTS!!!! The pictures on the web site are for the adult area and look amazing, you will be disappointed. August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The resort is much better than it looked on the website. I’ve traveled to 18 countries, but this was my first trip to Costa Rica. As we planned our vacation, we researched many resorts in the country. We mainly picked the Westin because we’ve had good experiences at other Westin resorts, and we read mainly positive reviews from other travelers. The resort is represented on several travel sites, and they have a website, but none of these really do the place justice. It was even better than we had expected. THE RESORT The resort is fairly large, but they will pick you up and drive you anywhere you want to go if you don’t want to walk. You need only ask. All the grounds are landscaped and well maintained. Our room was clean and was stocked with amenities and a full mini-fridge. Everything was in working order. THE SERVICE The service from the staff was nothing short of spectacular. Everyone was extraordinarily friendly, and it felt genuine and sincere, not like they were just being nice because it’s their job to be nice. At one point I was standing on a resort walkway looking at a map trying to determine which way to go, and a woman on the housekeeping staff stopped what she was doing to come over to me and ask if she could give me directions. Everyone on the resort greets you with a smile and “hola” or “buenos días” as you pass by. I asked for something slightly odd from the room service and the response I received was “no problem sir, you’re the boss here; we will take care of that.” Everyone that you will interact with speaks both English and Spanish. I tipped many resort employees during the week, but I was never asked for a tip, and never made to feel like it was obligatory. I’ve stayed in about a dozen resorts, many with very good service, and I think this resort had the best service I’ve experienced. THE FOOD There is something that everyone will like. In addition to the buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, they have several nice restaurants for evening dining. At least three options are open at all times during the day. You can also order room service. We tried all the specialty restaurants and loved all of them. The buffet food was average to above average… nothing I tried was bad. The specialty restaurant food was all above average to excellent. A few of the dishes that I had would rival some of the best restaurants I’ve ever visited… and yes, I eat in nice restaurants with some frequency. If you don’t find some food you like at this resort, you’re a food snob on a level I’ve not yet encountered. THE COUNTRY Costa Rica is BEAUTIFUL! It’s a good blend of upscale resorts and modern conveniences, and unspoiled nature. The people are very kind and welcoming. We never felt unsafe in any of the areas we visited. When venturing off the resort, there are several vendors selling items and services, but you will not be attacked with a wave of high pressure selling like some places I’ve visited. When you say no, they will leave you alone. Also, I felt like the locals were not trying to scam me. They will bargain and haggle with you on pricing, but I never felt like I was being taken advantage of. It wasn’t a shell game or three-card hustle buying experience. One of the vendors at the artisan tent on the resort property jumped up from her table and ran after a woman because she had forgotten to take her change from the transaction. It’s rare to see such a display of honesty, and this really impressed me. I can’t say enough about the good nature of the people here. Don’t hesitate! Book your trip now. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by vacation of a lifetime!!!! everything about this resort is top notch! from the staff (superior) food, beautiful rooms,grounds.,EVERY detail was met with the guest comfort in mind. I have not one bad thing to say about this resort. I will definetly be back! thank you westin for the wonderful stay!!!!!!!!!!!!! September 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Costa Rica as a place to retire We found the facility great with wonderful staff. Everyone was very nice. The room was essentially sound proof and did not hear much from the Night club just across from us. Loved our time with you. May 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible experience First off, Costa Rica is a gorgeous country; if you want to experience it don’t come here. The photos on the site are very misleading. The beach is horrible, the staff isn’t very accommodating, and the royal beach club is a waste of money. None of the rooms here have an ocean view; it’s a very large place so expect to do a lot of walking as the shuttle service is very poor. The golf course was at least nice. I was very disappointed in my vacation here and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. August 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 25 Wedding Anniversary Over the top awesome. We took our sons 16,17,18 and they had a blast as well. The service is simply the best. Just do yourself a favor and go. Food was outstanding. November 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I recommend it it’s a beautiful place When I called in and sent the reservation request I almost canceled because it’s like they are doing you a favor or that you are not someone that qualifies to go to their hotel. I called them several times and sent several emails, I receive better service for a $20 daily hotel than a 4/5 star hotel. Some friends that had already gone told me that is common that the front desk is the worst but after you pass that pain it’s a beautiful place and everybody treats you really nice So I decided to go, and that was what I received a really BAD front desk service and not just from one of receptionists but from 3 of them it really make me felt like you are not welcome. I did arrive early so after a 2 hour BAD experience I was finally allowed to enter and it was a complete change. The place is beautiful, really nice room (minor problem that the air conditioner was really noisy and it had a small leak) but I preferred not to call front desk. The pool is really big and the food was not bad, The place is really big so you can walk and see a lot of nature and nice places, Activities and equipment that you can borrow are in good conditions. I will go again but always knowing that front desk doesn’t care about you and treats you sorry my French like crap. June 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great family vaction We booked this as a grand family vacation for my wife and I, and our six children (ages 22 years to 12 years). We had a great time! The hotel was excellent, the staff terrific (particularly would like to recognize Eden at the front desk). The folks at Swiss travel seem to have a very good system worked out with the hotel for both transportation and for "beach toys" - chairs, kayaks, snorkel equipment. The Pizza service at poolside was great, and the pool bar was enjoyable. Only negatives: surprised that dining reservations could only be made from 8:00 - 4:00, which ruled out any days we were off-site on an inland tour. No staff are able to access that information after 4:00, it is not available on any computer, and you are just out of luck if you need to make a change; this caught us when our tour did not return as early as had been scheduled. Secondly, not every restaurant is open every night. Seems a bit less than expected for an award-winning, expensive all-inclusive resort. Also, you are not allowed to get anything "to go" from the restaurants. One night we were tired, wanted dessert, but not right away. No luck. Finally, Costa Rica is both hot and buggy. This is no surprise; but about half the restaurants are outdoor seating only. Everyone immediately sprays with bug spray, and that's just sticky and sort of smelly to eat a great dinner. All that said, it was a great vacation, the Westin was certainly a place we would recommend, and would gladly return to in the future. May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by You need to stay at least a week! We had a wonderful, albeit short, stay at this property. The wealth of options available in terms of dining, recreation, and entertainment is awesome. We especially liked eating lunch at Spirula. The lobby staff was incredibly helpful. I had the unfortunate experience of leaving my passports at the lobby, and a camera at the Mitra buffet. In both cases, the staff was extremely helpful, efficient, and effective in getting my belongings back to me. My only wish is that we had stayed longer than 3 nights. I would have preferred to stay 1 week. August 13, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>