The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort

  • Playa Conchal
  • Cabo Velas,
  • Guanacaste
  • Costa Rica
  • Mapa
 

Quartos e tarifas

Fechar
  • Para estadias superiores a 90 dias, ligue para 866-539-3446.
  • As reservas são aceitas com até 550 dias de antecedência.
  • Por favor, verifique novamente as datas.
1 quarto 1 quartos , 1 adulto 1 adultos , 1 criança 0 crianças
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 225 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyable Birthday I went with 3 others to celebrate my birthday (end of June 2014). I arrived on my birthday and was automatically upgraded to the Royal Beach Club tower room. I was slightly disappointed with the room because the bathroom hardware was tarnished and it needed a paint job (room 2119). However, Westin's heavenly bed always lives up to its name. Overall the service was excellent. David and Andres took excellent care of our needs and were always available when we called. The pool at the Club is very quiet and clean. Unlike the general pool, we did not have to worry about giving our room number for towels. The only disadvantage was that we were far from the beach and the restaurants. However, the restaurants were great and the staff were very pleasant. We had my birthday dinner at the Italian restaurant and they sang Happy Birthday in Spanish and English! The other nights we ate at the Latin Restaurant and the French Restaurant. I was not impressed with French restaurant - average food; however, the Latin restaurant's menu was delicious! Please remember to get Champagne with your meal and the watermelon mimosas are divine! We took a tour to Vendara (with TAM), which was a fun adventure. It was a 2 hour ride from the hotel, but worth it. There was a horse back ride up the mountain and zipline (10 lines), volcano mud bath, hot springs pool and a delicious 4 course meal. We arrived during rainy season; however, it only sprinkled a couple times during our stay. It was overcast and humid, but the pool and beach were fun. We also went to Tamarindo (bus ride sponsored by the hotel). The cost was $10 roundtrip. It was a 30 minute ride each way and pick up was in 4 hours. That was enough time to visit the shops and eat lunch or dinner. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by No surprises (in a good way)!! This hotel was exceptionally well kept, staff was absolutely attentive at all times, and the experience was exactly as advertised! July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Vacation We just came back from an amazing stay at the Westin (June 21-28). We were a family of 3 (12 yr old son). And we went with a family of 4 (kids 12 and 10). This trip was booked since Nov. 2013. So I read all the reviews. Arriving into Liberia - our lugguage was waiting for us right away and so was Swiss Travel. So we were at the hotel within 1 hr. Checking in took awhile only because we were trying to get rooms closer together and the welcome mojito went down so fast. We ended up switching after the first night. Beds are soft, if you have a bad back. You have to stay by the pool, get the deluxe junior suite with a balcony. I heard that Royal Beach club also got very wild that most were hanging out at the regular pool. Restaurants - make reservations right away. We were a little puzzled as to how empty the restaurants were and how many families were shut out of reservations. I do know that there were a few large parties, so I'm assuming staff can only handle a certain amount. Our favorite was the Asian (fastest service) and Mediterranean (make sure to request a table overlooking the pool). Sorry to say we were disappointed in the Latin American restaurant. Italian was good. French - horrible and it's in the lobby, no ambiance. And can get very warm. Buffet is fine, lots of choices. Make sure to sit under a fan to get an extra breeze. For Lunch, go to the restaurant right by the pool. Great salad w avocado and hearts of palm and hazelnut ice cream. Wine: it was fine, and chilled. Beer - if your a beer drinker, forget it, Imperial tasted like bud light. But go with all the frozen drinks and mojitos. They have great non alcoholic drinks. Excursions: We went with Swiss Travel, kids were FREE. You can't go wrong with Eric Garcia either, and he's right there on the beach. As for the beach, it's public but not an issue. The beach isn't that nice. We have nicer beaches in Florida. The Westin offers a lot of activities, my favorite was water aerobics. I heard Yoga at 8am on the beach was amazing. They also offer Kayaking, snorkling, biking for FREE. My son had his own snorkling gear, which helped as he didn't have to return it after an hour. WESTIN STAFF - Amazing! They go out of their way to make sure everything is taken care of. Housekeeping - also great, only 2 days we had to call when our room wasn't clean. The bartenders are the pool were great, always try the drink of the day. They also treated the kids very well. One suggestion is bring a flashlight to help you at night find your way back to your room. It gets dark very early and lighting isn't that good. The only complaint that I tried to address was there was a wedding party who drank way to much. This was not the resort for this type of behavior. I spoke to Carlos (manages groups) but he never got back to me and issue continued. We met a great group of people and all the kids were very well-behaved. July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Eco friendly? My husband and I really enjoyed our 4 nights with you. The property is amazing! Beach, landscape, pools, etc. Excellent! I was troubled though by the noise & exhaust fumes from the ATVs that were near the beach and pools. I feel that jet skis also are unnecessary in such a paradise!! We ate and drank so much of your wonderful food. I was alarmed to see that all water on your property was served in small plastic bottles. Why not pour water into reusable cups at the restaurants? Please look into all of the options available to serve water. Thank you for asking for a review. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Resort Ever! Our experience at the resort was fantastic! The accommodations were exceptional and very welcoming. The staff were all so friendly and accommodating and made our trip one of the best ever! Restaurants and food were fabulous! We can't say enough good things, definitely worth the 5 star rating. We would absolutely stay here again! July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for families Excellent resort with lots of activities and beautiful swimmable beach. Staff is amazingly friendly and willing to make your stay perfect. Specialty restaurants are very good but the buffet is just average with most food slightly over cooked. Our only complain is that the bathroom in our suite doesn't have a privacy door (only the water closet and shower do) so it was problematic for our family of 4 to change. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The resort is much better than it looked on the website. I’ve traveled to 18 countries, but this was my first trip to Costa Rica. As we planned our vacation, we researched many resorts in the country. We mainly picked the Westin because we’ve had good experiences at other Westin resorts, and we read mainly positive reviews from other travelers. The resort is represented on several travel sites, and they have a website, but none of these really do the place justice. It was even better than we had expected. THE RESORT The resort is fairly large, but they will pick you up and drive you anywhere you want to go if you don’t want to walk. You need only ask. All the grounds are landscaped and well maintained. Our room was clean and was stocked with amenities and a full mini-fridge. Everything was in working order. THE SERVICE The service from the staff was nothing short of spectacular. Everyone was extraordinarily friendly, and it felt genuine and sincere, not like they were just being nice because it’s their job to be nice. At one point I was standing on a resort walkway looking at a map trying to determine which way to go, and a woman on the housekeeping staff stopped what she was doing to come over to me and ask if she could give me directions. Everyone on the resort greets you with a smile and “hola” or “buenos días” as you pass by. I asked for something slightly odd from the room service and the response I received was “no problem sir, you’re the boss here; we will take care of that.” Everyone that you will interact with speaks both English and Spanish. I tipped many resort employees during the week, but I was never asked for a tip, and never made to feel like it was obligatory. I’ve stayed in about a dozen resorts, many with very good service, and I think this resort had the best service I’ve experienced. THE FOOD There is something that everyone will like. In addition to the buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, they have several nice restaurants for evening dining. At least three options are open at all times during the day. You can also order room service. We tried all the specialty restaurants and loved all of them. The buffet food was average to above average… nothing I tried was bad. The specialty restaurant food was all above average to excellent. A few of the dishes that I had would rival some of the best restaurants I’ve ever visited… and yes, I eat in nice restaurants with some frequency. If you don’t find some food you like at this resort, you’re a food snob on a level I’ve not yet encountered. THE COUNTRY Costa Rica is BEAUTIFUL! It’s a good blend of upscale resorts and modern conveniences, and unspoiled nature. The people are very kind and welcoming. We never felt unsafe in any of the areas we visited. When venturing off the resort, there are several vendors selling items and services, but you will not be attacked with a wave of high pressure selling like some places I’ve visited. When you say no, they will leave you alone. Also, I felt like the locals were not trying to scam me. They will bargain and haggle with you on pricing, but I never felt like I was being taken advantage of. It wasn’t a shell game or three-card hustle buying experience. One of the vendors at the artisan tent on the resort property jumped up from her table and ran after a woman because she had forgotten to take her change from the transaction. It’s rare to see such a display of honesty, and this really impressed me. I can’t say enough about the good nature of the people here. Don’t hesitate! Book your trip now. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The overall experience was wonderful I would like to have more dining options in the evening, it was not ideal to have to make reservations for dinner every night. June 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Will return! Excellent quality, service, and amenities for all ages. Staff were gracious, courteous, and enthusiastic. They tried to fulfill all our requests. Guests were also personable which enhanced our experience. Every restaurant offered a great variety of delicious food. Pool and grounds were clean and never felt crowded. Appreciated the reserved areas for family concierge by the pool. Enjoyed the classes offered (pilates, water aerobics, yoga on beach- instructors were wonderful- wine tasting, bike tours, dancing, etc) Loved the fresh herbs in the drinks. Only drawback would be the heat in the open air restaurants, we would have preferred more fans for circulation and to blow away any flying insects. June 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Generally nice Generally, the Westin is a nice hotel with lovely rooms and well-appointed grounds. There are sufficient activities to keep families occupied. Your Candelas and Faisanellas restaurants are world class. However, the Mitras breakfast buffet is very disappointing. Although there is a large variety, quantity doesn't mean quality. Most people walked out after one plate. June 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Wonderful Wedding Experience This was our second visit to the Westin Conchal and without any doubt the best experience we have ever had. Not only was this a vacation but more importantly it was our wedding. We had 40 people that attended. I can assure you that all agree with our review. From the very start our Wedding Coordinator Yoel was very professional, always quick to respond and accommodating to every little detail. He guided us thru the entire process of setting up the wedding/reception and even helped us with things he was not responsible to do. BUT it wasn’t until we arrived at the property that we realized Yoel was going to make our wedding one to remember. He was there when we checked in, he spent extra time going over the details of the wedding and the reception with us, he checked in every day to see if we needed anything and he always made it happen. He is the perfect person to coordinate weddings at the Westin. Yoel! Thanks for making our wedding day special. Equally deserving was Bergen our Concierge. Every single request I made, happened!!! From the chairs outside our room, to the special requests we made in our room, to taking care of my mother when she needed transportation thru the resort, to the night of the wedding when he stayed over after his normal work hours to take pictures, to being at the reception party and making sure everyone was comfortable, to dealing with a security issue (which I must say he was blamed for and had nothing to do with). Awesome job Bergen! Overall the Westin Conchal was absolutely perfect! Your property is gorgeous, the golf course unbelievable, the pool was awesome, the waitstaff perfect and the food to die for… Between Yoel and Bergen they made this Vacation/Wedding experience one that we will remember for the rest of our lives. My heart goes out to such wonderful people that represent your resort. Todd & Katrina June 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to westin standards Not up to westin standards. June 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great family vaction We booked this as a grand family vacation for my wife and I, and our six children (ages 22 years to 12 years). We had a great time! The hotel was excellent, the staff terrific (particularly would like to recognize Eden at the front desk). The folks at Swiss travel seem to have a very good system worked out with the hotel for both transportation and for "beach toys" - chairs, kayaks, snorkel equipment. The Pizza service at poolside was great, and the pool bar was enjoyable. Only negatives: surprised that dining reservations could only be made from 8:00 - 4:00, which ruled out any days we were off-site on an inland tour. No staff are able to access that information after 4:00, it is not available on any computer, and you are just out of luck if you need to make a change; this caught us when our tour did not return as early as had been scheduled. Secondly, not every restaurant is open every night. Seems a bit less than expected for an award-winning, expensive all-inclusive resort. Also, you are not allowed to get anything "to go" from the restaurants. One night we were tired, wanted dessert, but not right away. No luck. Finally, Costa Rica is both hot and buggy. This is no surprise; but about half the restaurants are outdoor seating only. Everyone immediately sprays with bug spray, and that's just sticky and sort of smelly to eat a great dinner. All that said, it was a great vacation, the Westin was certainly a place we would recommend, and would gladly return to in the future. May 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Resort OK but not great Was somewhat disappointed in our two-week stay. Beach, while beautiful and in a beautiful setting, was dirty and unkept - should have been raked regularly to remove trash, cigarette butts, leaves, etc. Also bothersome beach vendors. Resort had fairly limited daily activities - if you're not interested in golf - and was very hot after 10 am or so making activity difficult other than beach use. Phone service in our room was sketchy and intermittant. Staff friendly and responsive so no complaint there, although service could certainly be improved in the eating facilities. Resort fairly remote - difficult to get out and see the countryside other than in organized tours. All in all - not a great experience. Wouldn't go again or recommend to others. May 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Costa Rica as a place to retire We found the facility great with wonderful staff. Everyone was very nice. The room was essentially sound proof and did not hear much from the Night club just across from us. Loved our time with you. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Fun! The 4 bartenders Johon, Bryan, Ricaido, Brahim at the swim up bar were so much fun and keep you laughing all day. We enjoyed talking and joking with them. They go way of out they way to make your stay enjoyable. We did the water agua class with Kenny from the gym and he sure can get you a great work and have you laugh too. He was always happy and smiling and had you doing the same. A must is dinner in the lobby to watch the sun set. The monkey in the room out of towel was so cute-great time at the Westin. May 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Vacation Ever!!! From the moment we arrived until we left, the staff was friendly and helpful. When we returned to our room late one afternoon, we were not able to open our safe; the staff immediately responded and helped us. The shuttle is easily accessible and will respond to pick up calls quickly. We enjoyed the pool and all the animals. The pizza restaurant, by the pool, has excellent food. We enjoyed breakfast at Mitra - especially the fruit and spinach drink. The beds were very comfortable; it made for a good night sleep after a busy day. The tours were outstanding. We returned home less than 2 days ago, and we already miss Costa Rica. May 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by lots of hassles arrived to a beautiful hotel. our room was nice except for problems with the air conditioning. It was extremely hot outside and the room was uncomfortable. A person attempted to fix the problem to no avail. We couldn't get restaurant reservations unless they were extremely late i.e. 9pm ( we have child) Everything was booked. We also had a hard time finding a place to sit by the pool for our group. There were club towels on many of the chairs. When you walked around the pool area there was animal feces in a few areas which was never picked up. One of the toilets by the pool would not flush and the bathroom in the main lobby on one evening had no water. A gentleman showed up on the evening before we were departing to let us know he would be our personal driver and attendant. Three people in our family got sick on the day before we were leaving. Service in general was pretty quick and people were friendly. May 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent All-Inclusive Resort in Costa Rica!!!! Our experience at the Westin Playa Conchal was so amazing that I am not sure where to start my review. First and foremost, I have to say that Yasil Alvarado (our resort host provided to Platinum members) made our stay so incredible that I cannot thank him enough. He started working for us before we even arrived by setting up transportation to and from the airport, helping with reservations in the resort and in the towns, and generally making us feel like very valued and important guests! On arrival Yasil greeted us and took us immediately to the Royal Beach Club ("RBC") lounge for our check-in and overview of the property. The check-in was a breeze and Yasil and Jonathan (our Platinum concierge who was awesome as well) escorted us to our room which was incredible! We were upgrade to the RBC Junior suite that was steps from the beach and the main pool. We had plenty of room to stretch out and relax in this great room. Let's discuss the restaurants and bars next. I will say, given that this is an "all-inclusive" resort, we were not expecting such exceptional food and service. We had lunch everyday at the restaurant by the pool (Caracola) and we loved it. The several Ceviche's that they served here were all excellent as well as every other dish that we ordered. Each day the fish of the day was excellent as were all the sandwiches that we tried. Of the restaurants that we had dinner at I would rank them as such: 1) Cauri, 2) Catalinas, 3) Bamboo, and 4) Faisanella. At Cauri, the view is spectacular so plan on an earlier reservation there so you can watch the sunset. I had the filet and it was one of the best pieces of beef I have ever had. At Catalinas you are sitting at the pool of the beach club and the setting and the food were both top notch, we had the Paella that was very good. Bamboo and Faisanella we both great too but not quite up to par of the other two. For breakfast we split our choices between Faisanella (the RBC buffet) and the Mitri buffet - both were excellent with the RBC buffet ranking slightly better as a result of the made to order items....the french toast was excellent there!. We really enjoyed both pools (main and the RBC). We never had a problem getting chairs and the water temperature was perfect. The swim up bars at both pools also provided excellent service and tasty drinks! We used the Swiss travel group to book some excursions and they did a very good job as well. We did the ATV & Canopy tour which we loved - Luis was our guide and did an excellent job...in fact, such a good job that we went back a couple days later and requested him again to give us an ATV beach tour...all of which were beautiful. The beach here was great and the all-around experience was awesome! Again we cannot thank Yasil and Jonathan and the rest of the staff enough for the service and experience that they provided us while we celebrated our 10th anniversary. May 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by our girls trip we celebrated my daughter's 40th birthday and my sister's 60th birthday at the Westin. We could not have picked a better place to go. The hotel is beautiful and I have never before encountered such wonderful staff at a resort. Besides being outgoing and friendly and helpful, you could tell that everyone loved the job they were doing. The food was lovely, the resort is beautiful and the wine and spirits plentiful. Thank you for making these birthday celebrations memorable. April 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service Service was very eraditc. At the French restaurant it was horrible. Getting pizza could be an adventure. There were some exceptions. Andres at the family pool,Christian at Corola and the Mediteranian restaurants, and Daisy at the Mediteranian were exceptional. They were on top of everything. No one was rude, but service was slow. Not sure if there was a language problem or if they just weren't aware of what their jobs entailed. Sometimes the help seemed clueless. Their pleasant attitudes helped but it was frustrating. April 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 glorious days at the Westin Playa Conchal We checked in for a 5-night stay in the Royal Beach Club section for March Break, 2014. As a Platinum guest, we were accorded 1st class treatment - including an upgrade to a corner suite in Tower 1. The suite included a king size bed, two Jacuzzi baths (one indoor, one outdoor), an enormous rain shower, and a huge balcony. There is an onsite concierge to arrange shuttles, refresh the in room mini bar and make tour arrangements. John (our concierge) was the best, as was Maureen, the chief concierge. Daily activities at the resort, including early am exercises, were available, and we found the trainers to be excellent. There are 8 restaurants on site, and we tried them all! The best (for dinner) were Les Candelas & Faisenellas. Our daughter loved the mojitos in the swim up bar, and the Costa Rican beer was not to shabby! All in all, a great place to sit back and relax for spring break. We were sad when it was time to go home! March 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This resort is Paradise! My wife and I just returned from a week at this nearly paradise like resort! I cannot overstate what a wonderful stay we experienced. The property is located on the beach about a 50 minute ride from Liberia airport. We arranged a shuttle but a private car rental appears to be a safe and reasonable option. I would be sure if driving yourself of accurate directions for the route. Upon arrival an open air Westin Playa Conchal reception center will take your luggage and transport you to your room after you have checked in. The transport is via a small shuttle with travel time 3-5 minutes along paved pathway to your building. Most buildings are comprised of 8 guest units. The rooms are attractive, comfortable and modern and feature flat screen TV, separate sitting area with couch and desk. Each guest unit has a comfortable open air covered patio right outside the front door to enjoy during your stay. The resort is all-inclusive with no limitation to food or drink. We had never stayed at an all-inclusive and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Multiple restaurant options provide opportunity to find food preferences or sample the different cuisine themed styles. Numerous bar locations are found over the property for alcohol and non-alcoholic beverages for you to enjoy throughout the day. Landscape and grounds are very attractive consistent with Central American Costa Rica. A very large pool is available to all with configuration lending to a sense that the pool is not overcrowded. A second adult pool is also good size and easily accessible from all units. Both pools have swim up bars to enjoy. The property sits on the edge of the ocean with a nice beach with smooth sand and, during our stay, gentle waves. As you enter the beach locals wish to offer massages, 4-wheeler rentals, and souvenirs to purchase but we did not feel this was uncomfortably intrusive. A Robert Trent Jones golf course is on property and is an enjoyable layout with several views of the ocean as well as the surrounding countryside with vistas from various course elevations. The course was well cared for and the pro shop had available abundant new model Callaway golf sets to rent as needed. Green fees seemed reasonable for a Category 7 resort. Three tennis courts are on site, available for play without charge before 6 pm each day and there was always a free court for us to walk onto. A tennis pro will provide lessons as desired and this is easily arranged at the Activities Center. The grounds have numerous iguanas and coatimundis which guests enjoyed watching. Howlers monkeys can be heard and seen in the trees and could be seen close up one morning when they were in the low trees along the beach as well as various times while on the golf course. The staff throughout the resort was always cheerful and helpful, spoke English well, and communication was never a problem. February weather was warm (90s), low humidity and barely a cloud in the sky. My only disappointment this entire week was minimal perceived recognition for our Platinum SPG status regarding room assignment. Nonetheless our accommodations were wonderful. This is a fabulous vacation resort deserving of Category 7 status. We hope to return. March 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Third visit as refreshing as the first We visited the Westin Playa Conchal for a third time for a couples retreat and continue to be impressed with this resort. Prior to our arrival we received a very pleasant, welcoming email from guest services and were thrilled upon arrival that our dinner reservations were made in advance. The attentiveness of the staff is second to none, and they truly went above and beyond with every interaction. Our butler sought us out every morning to inquire about our stay and any needs. The bartenders remembered our drink orders and anticipated our every need. The wait staff in the restaurants were professional and polished. The Westin made some nice enhancements to the dinner menus at their restaurants and though improvement was not needed, we found the new items and presentation refreshing and inspired. We particularly noticed the addition of many more vegetable options at breakfast, lunch and dinner. It was easy to eat healthy on our vacation. Fasinella added a lunch buffet in lieu of menu format, and we were very pleased with the variety and quality of options available. The Latin restaurant was fantastic and truly authentic. The fresh seafood at Bamboo was impressive - excellent cuts of fresh fish. The grounds were well maintained and a gorgeous departure from the snow and ice of NY. We were greeted by dozens of monkey's in the trees outside our suite on the first and second night. The fireworks on July 4th were nothing short of spectacular! Westin spared no expense. Thank you Westin for providing a relaxing and rewarding experience! February 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great A/I hotel...booked to go back. Staff were attentive, we had family concierge, great on site restaurants( once you manage to get a reservation), not huge portions in evenings but quality and more than enough. Evenings were quiet but can always go to Locals towns if you like. Golf course was great, free golf for u12's and not busy. Beach is great, admittedly local traders assemble there and aren't intimidating..great people in Costa Rica, not long trip from airport..going back in a few months.. February 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really Fun Vacation Hotel was lovely. Beach and pools were great. Fun excursion to Zip line and Mud Baths. Food was OK sometimes very good. Drinks were so-so - not very strong at all. All in all a wonderful place to visit and very romantic. February 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent resort This resort has excellent staff. They anticipated our needs & exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend this resort to those who plan to travel to the Guanacaste region. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 10 year anniversary trip - couldn't have been better We decided on this hotel for our 10yr anniversary trip and could not have been happier with our choice. Once you get used to some of the quirks of traveling to central or South America you realize how great this hotel is. Hotel - the hotel is really well done. Very large grounds, gold course, shops, six restaurants, swim up pool bars, wildlife on the grounds, great landscape, local tours set up by the hotel, onsite travel services, modern rooms and workout facilities. Two large pools (you have to be a royal beach club to use the second. Service - overall really good. Can be inconsistent at times but I think that is just part of the more laid back culture and general slower pace of things. Overall the people at the hotel and outside are very friendly. Food - here is where we were most surprised. We were not to keen on the all inclusive aspect figuring the service and quality of the food would be average at best. This was not the case at all. The restaurants were all very good and we are used to good food with all the quality options that Chicago has to offer. We couldn't have been happier with the options and quality. The reservation system in the restaurants is a little odd. You have to book in advance but most nights the restaurants we're only 60% full. But the food and service were very good. The only only complaint would be that the wine could have been colder so that's pretty nitpicky. Rooms - very nice and what you would expect. We booked on points and them upgraded to a double wide room in the royal beach club. For us this was perfect. The royal beach club is adults only and for us this was important as if we have seen loads of other kids we would have spent the whole trip being miserable missing ours. This area also has a private area for breakfast and lunch. A nice restaurant overlooking the pool. So even though we didn't plan it this was it worked perfectly. Adventure - onsite travel agency is top notch. Arenal (must see), scuba, jetski, canopy tours, white water rafting. It has it all. Only downside is most activities are a few hour car ride away so consider that and if you want to stay in a place more interior in the country Beach - probably the only downside. It's nice but the current is really strong so we didn't spend as much time there as we thought we would based on the pictures. Nice but under used. Overall though one of the best Starwood hotels we've stayed at and we've stayed at a lot. Costa Rica as a country is great and worth the visit. Lots to do, clear skies everyday and great people. Hotel is top notch. January 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Honeymoon We checked in for our honeymoon stay and upon checking received mojitos and an upgrade to one of 3 bungalows- adjacent to the beach, pool, and restaurants. Already off to a great start! Honestly I think we had he best location on the property! The grounds are beautifully kept and spread out enough that you feel it's more private and exclusive. Maricruz at the concierge was so helpful and gracious. Next Manrique gave us a ride to our bungalow. He later arranged for a bottle of champagne to be delivered. He was so helpful. He's also very knowledgeable about golf which my husband appreciated. He went above and beyond throughout our stay to make sure we were comfortable and taken care of. Excellent guy. All the staff though, wait staff, hostess, chefs, activities staff, maid staff, EVERYONE is genuinely happy to help. The room is unbelievable. Spacious. Super comfortable bed! And a mini-bar included that gets restocked everyday!! We grabbed beers from there and jumped in the ocean first thing. We also had a family of monkeys outside our room! :) Tuesday, we spent half the day at the beach. The Westin crew pulled out lounge chairs and an umbrella for us. The beach is nestled between luscious green rainforest and mountains. Truly an amazing panoramic view. Dinner at the French restaurant Couri was nothing short of wonderful. We had a delicious charcuterie plate, French onion soup, and a delicious salad with Cod cakes on it. Next I had the mushroom risotto with tilapia and a truffle cream sauce, truly decadent. And a delicious hazelnut icecream with pastry. My hats off to all the chefs. Every dining experience has been wonderful. Last night was the Asian restaurant and again we thoroughly enjoyed every course. The spicy tuna roll was so good! Yesterday we went on a beautiful horseback ride. Worth every penny!! We started/ended on the beach which was so relaxing. We entered the rainforest and rode the horses through winding trails with the most lush greens ever and Tarzan like vines hung from the trees. We rode to the top of a cliff with the most STUNNING view of the beach and cliffs below us. Truly a memorable view. Next, we golfed on the Westin course, Reserve Playa Conchal. Again the golf pros were super helpful. $85 for as many holes as my husband wanted to golf and that included renting clubs. The views were unbelievable. One tee has you aiming for the ocean! One thing that I will say I think is overpriced is the photo shop. Staff will take your pictures on the beach and around the property. There was one photo I really liked but to get it digitally you had to buy a minimum of 5. While I appreciate the value of good photography I think there should be more options for folks who just want a few pictures and not be forced into a package. Our last full day we spent at the spa. The experience was incredible and truly TOP NOTCH. The property, staff, and most importantly, the memories, are just awesome. Thank you Westin Playa Conchal! January 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay over the new year I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by our stay at the Westin. Athough the hotel was completely sold out, we didn't feel like it was too crowded as the grounds are expansive and the hotel has special areas for platinum guests (family club) for breakfast and the pool as well as adults only (royal club). We made dinner reservation the week before we got there which was a good idea as we noticed the popular dining times filled up quickly. We especially enjoyed the food at Catalinas and Bamboo. Our least favorites were the italian and french restaurants...but perhaps my expectations were too high. My only complaint was that in almost every restuarant, the presentations for each course were too quick. We would barely finish our appetizers when the salads were served and then entrees. This happened in almost every restaurant and there were plenty of open tables so no need to rush. Otherwise staff was very attentive and friendly The wine selection was a bit limited as well.. There was a lot to do on the property, from the expansive pools, quick access to the beach (jet ski's for rent, kayaks for free, horseback riding/ATV for hire and a great $20 message at Gigi's), pool/ping pong tables, daily activities and nightly entertainment. I thought the hotel did a great job of creating a festive environment on New Year's Eve, with hats, a live band and champagne at midnight. Very fun! We saw more wildlife on the property than we did on any of our nature hikes. Watching the monkeys swing in the trees, the iguana roam the property and hearing the birds sing throughout the day were all highlights to our stay. The beaches in Costa Rica are all public beaches so be prepared for larger crowds and lot of locals selling trinkets. All were friendly but a bit annoying after a while. Also, you cannot see the beach from the property unless you are in one of the few beachfront rooms so you have to walk down for sunsets etc. This was a little disappointing as that is what we most enjoyed when we stayed at the Westin in St John last year. The rooms are a bit cramped for a family but well appointed and clean. I wish there were two sinks and the doors to the shower/toilet area a bit more private. The beds were comfortable, towels plentiful and great housekeeping services. Room services was prompt. I would recommned a second floor room if you want a bit more privacy or like to sit on the balcony and relax. If you are looking for a couples getaway, I would highly recommend upgrading to the Royal Club. They have an adults only pool and breakfast/lunch area that will make it a bit more romantic. Overall, we really liked the hotel. It was not luxurious but very well appointed, beautiful/very clean grounds and very friendly staff. I especially appreciated the extra attention give to their Platinum guests. The special seating areas during breakfast and around the pool, along with the upgrade on drinks, was very much appreciated. Many thanks to the staff in the family club who were so accomodating to our requests.. I would stay here again. January 5, 2014
  • 2015-09-01T11:48:10.354-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_225, tr_225
  • loc_en_US, sid_3560, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>