Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

  • Port Douglas Road
  • Port Douglas,
  • Queensland
  • 4877
  • Australia
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 340 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel is clean but in need of refurbishment Rooms are clean and staff was courteous. Facility seemed understaffed, even for low season. Beds and linens are in need of upgrade. Facilities are in dire need of maintenance. Our room was plagued by mosquitos, but the staff attended to the matter promptly when advised. Food and drink prices are excessively high. It's not the destination it used to be. January 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing We were very much looking forward to staying at the Sheraton Mirage as the website and photos looked beautiful. We were however very disappointed upon arriving at the hotel, as in general it was not up to the standard we were expecting. It was difficult to relax here. The room we were in smelled - an old, musty smell, and the corridors were even worse - I felt sick walking up the long hallway to our room as it was such a terrible smell. It was a relief to enter our room, which was thankfully smelly to a slightly lesser degree and had windows which could be opened to allow fresh air in. Everything inside the room was embarrassingly aged and in desperate need of repair or replacing. The tap fixtures were rusty and hard to turn, the buttons to control lights and aircon were broken/cracked, the draws had a terrible smell when you open them, the carpet was old and stained, the ice bucket was embarrassing - scratched and old, - such a cheap thing to replace but it seemed like it was as old as the building itself. The corners of the bathroom had not been cleaned properly on a continuous basis - build up of neglect over time but in general just in need of a reno. The furniture also seemed to have not been updated since the hotel opened - dated decor but worse than that showing such obvious signs of age, wear, and dirtiness. I didn't want to sit on the chairs, they looked so unappealing. The cushions need replacing desperately. The matching fabric bedhead was of a similar embarrassing nature and I tried to keep my head away from it. The base of the beds had a very old looking fabric covering which also would benefit from an update to bring it into this century. One of the crackers supplied in the mini bar was crumbled into a hundred pieces inside the wrapper - I am sure you could afford to replace with an unbroken one. The lagoons were constantly quite dirty with debris from surrounding trees etc. I understand that this happens naturally but it seems like it was not cleaned in the four days we were staying, as each morning was of similar standard. If it was cleaned (or cleaned to a better standard) at the beginning of each day it would be appreciated. The pool with the swim up bar, the spa and the small toddlers pool were very un-inviting - they looked visibly dirty and unattractive. I did not let my kids go in. It may just be the old, dirty tiles which need replacing which is letting it down, or it may be in need of a regular clean, either way it is not attractive. They definitely need a re-tile. The swim up bar which was an attractive feature on the website was another surprise - so daggy. Not the sort of place you would enjoy spending time. Just a cement wall at the edge of the pool with a window cut out. I didn't see anything advertised about a kids club operating even though this is advertised as a feature on the website. I thought it rather inappropriate to charge $15 per child to have a play on some inflatables in the pool. It was raining heavily at times while we were staying and the walkways become flooded easily. We were walking through ankle deep water along outdoor corridors to get to our room with children in tow. it is difficult to walk around in the rain as everything is spread out and walkways do not provide much protection as they are quickly flooded. The dining options did not really meet my expectations as I thought there was not a lot of variety. The restaurant was not very appealing with the evening set course menu. The breakfast buffet was quite good however avoid the optional purchased coffee (latte etc) as it is not good at all!! The service was fine and staff were friendly and helpful, particularly the porters and tour desk staff. Porters were quick to offer help with moving around the grounds and with luggage. It was rather off-putting with a waiter smelling badly of cigarettes. Overall a negative experience mainly because of the unkept/poorly maintained facilities and lack of any modern touches. The room was a smelly, scary step back in time to the 1980's. (yes, you have a flat screen and ipod dock in the rooms, but that is nothing to boast about these days) I understand it is difficult to renovate fully however it is not difficult to invest in new furniture for rooms, new ice buckets or replaced crackers, or even freshen up the pools/spa, which are a big attraction in theory but in my opinion a major let down in reality. This would be a sensible investment which doesn't need a lot of time and planning commitment. January 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Front desk personnel Not very accomadating until you ask to see the manager, then things change greatly. Obnoxious front desk personnel January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel Reception area is very impressive, rooms are of a good standard. I found the staff very helpful in all areas of the resort. Dinner in Il Pescatore was beautiful, lovely atmosphere and very tasty food. January 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is really beautiful in design & layout. The hotel is starting to show it's age. Parts need painting and updating. Our bed & furniture inside was in OK order but the wooden shutters at the balcony door needed attention. The outside furniture was not in good order. Some of the staff were excellent and others needed some training. Maybe good staff is hard to get. Food was very good if a tad expensive but Port Douglas food in general is expensive. We bought vouchers which made meals quite reasonable although I'm not sure that staff know much about them. January 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lovely pool That was about it. The staff were very dysfunctional with poor communication. The fire alarm went off three times with guests leaving their room and staff ignoring everyone, when we asked what was going on not one staff member said anything, our room had no airconditioning and smelt bad, our group booking was split up over the resort with room on different levels and in different buildings! There was a terrible mold problem in the a-la-carte restaurant and our booking was not correct, the staff got the orders wrong on numerous occasions and then the bill was wrong, the staff at the pool bar were rude and not helpful our drinks order was lost for an hour! The breakfast was good but again the staff could not help in any manner we asked for a table for 12 and were completely ignored. The coffee is terrible. If the hotel was fixed and staff trained we would recommend the hotel as the location is amazing January 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer service While we found the hotel facilities excellent we were extremely disappointed with the level of customer service for this level of hotel. At 1 pint we waiting pool side for 1 and a half hours for a toasted sandwich and drink? The pool bar was never adequately attended by staff and frustration of waiting to be served meant no product was purchased. While the facilities were excellent some of the entertainment like the 'aqua bubble' should have been free for quests. This also applies to the town shuttle service. Overall, facilities great service below expectations for this hotel. January 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great family hotel We enjoyed a one week stay recently. As a family with two children (5 & 7) the pools and surrounds are perfect. I was highly impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms and daily housekeeping. Staff were prompt and keen to assist us at any time. We would have however liked more dining variety. We preferred il pescatore restaurant for esthetics and service over the Lagoon, however they were closed for the remaining four days of our stay so we limited to dining choice to Lagoon (which we tired of eating at after having had breakfast there) or Daintree lounge ( which was lovely but had a limited menu). The meals at il pescatore were amazing together with outdoor dining by the lagoon was perfect! January 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel location the best in Port Douglas Hotel location is fantastic our room was Awesome, food and wait staff were a mixed bag from great to very average, however all in all a great place to stay and holiday. Will return again! January 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Having read some reviews I was a bit weary of the Mirage, however, I can only say that it was a pleasure to stay there. My 2 children loved the pool. Breakfast buffet was fantastic, and staff very warm. The hotel is definitely a bit warn and tired, but the pools and environment certainly make up for that. January 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and great pools This was our second visit and once again it did not disappoint. The hotel is located with direct beach access which provides an easy walk into town. The pools are magnificent. Even though we were there during holiday time there was plenty of pool space we could enjoy. We were there for New Year's Eve. The hotel went all out to make sure everyone had a great night from waiters to management. It was a lovely relaxing holiday. January 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Outdated My husband and I recently stayed at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas resort for our honeymoon. Since it was a category 5 resort, we went against the trip advisor reviews and used our points to book our trip. While the staff were very nice and accommodating, the property itself left much to be desired. It apparently was built in the 80s and just never progressed. The furnishings were very old, furniture and fixtures had not been updated for quite some time and it definitely is not wired for this decade ( we had to set up our own modem in the room in order to access wifi). The location is great since it's close to town and most tour companies pick up directly from the hotel, but the property itself definitely doesn't belong in category 5. If you're expecting a more elevated experience, I'd recommend staying somewhere else as there are plenty of places nearby. January 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely Resort The resort is lovely with nice grounds, trees, flowers, pools,and buildings. Our room was very large with a comfortable bed, seating area and large tub/shower combo and it overlooked one of the pools. The breakfast buffet was varied with made-to-order eggs, etc. A shuttle bus ran between the resort and town and the staff was helpful with recommendations for things to do in town. December 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very relaxed and comforting Very nice ambience for both family and couples Very nice lagoon and pool setup Good service December 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you I took my two sons and daughter in law and grandchildren for a short stay over Christmas. Nothing could have been designed to help us " wind down" after a hectic year. I love the Sheraton at Port Douglas and will keep going back and keep taking family and friends there. Thank you so much. December 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Can't beat the location! This Hotel has a swimming lagoon that is second to none and is located directly on beautiful Four Mile Beach. In addition, it's only a short boat trip to the Great Barrier Reef and all it has to offer. December 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Lagoons The Shertaon Port Douglas is a large complex with beautiful lagoons and gardens. The hotel is older and needs updating, but grounds make up for that. Karen at the tour desk was very helpful in booking and recommending tours and sites to see. The hotel is located on 4 mile beach and you can walk either way for a good distance. You can walk to town on the beach, but do not recommend during the evening hours as it is really dark and jungle like..Would need a car to get to town or take the shuttle to town. December 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel caters for locals The Mirage is one of very few hotels in Port Douglas that offers a local rate. As locals, we appreciate this as it means we are able to get away for a short break! December 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place - food ??? Great,comfortable accommodation, friendly obliging staff. Well maintained grounds and pool areas. Food and wine prices way above what was presented at the table. Everybody on staff were only to happy to go out of their way to make sure that you were their guest and you were enjoying your stay. December 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Did not see the spa and gym. Breakfast was excellent. Night tiger snake on stairs was a surprise at 9pm. We locals had a great time. December 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by An amazing Port Douglas stay I stayed at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas for 3 days during my holidays and I must say I have never stayed in such comfort! The rooms are spacious and generous, but the bed and pillow are one of the best I've encountered. The pools were out of this world - it spans the whole resort and provide a great relief from the heat. I never get tired of relaxing by the pool amongst palm trees and gardens. I also dined at the restaurant and the food was impeccable. I definitely recommend the Sheraton Mirage resort for a Port Douglas getaway. December 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Reef Suite ... magic! We were fortunate to "win" 5 nights at Sheraton Mirage in a charity auction. We did not realise that the 5 nights were in the Reef Suite! Palatial is not overstating it. Great room, brilliant breakfasts, service and food in Il Pescatore delightful, and outstanding service from the Tour Desk. We would have to recommend Grub's Trike Tours in particular! Good value for money on the very attractive golf course, but the pool was just too warm. If that is the biggest complaint, then you have to know we just loved the resort. We really hope we can return soon. November 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relaxing I was looking for a good value relaxing holiday with 5 star accomadation and this was provide by your Resort. Excelent pool and golf facilities. Hotel is well maintained and groomed. Service was a little slow in in responding to seating at breakfast, but otherwise staff were attentave to needs and service was good. November 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Chris Coffey we have stayed ay this property at least 10 years ago and it is exactly the same, very grand but still in need of an upgarde to starwood level. All staff seemed very relaxed and chilled! not reflective of other Starwood properties, platimun status was reqonised upon arrival with a complimentary upgrade ( thank you) but other details reflecting platinum were not. including turndown and complimentary waters daily etc end of stay account needed to be changed effectivly and it seemed to be an effort. Sorry for the honestey but we would love to return for a family retreat with 3 other families but don't have much faith in rebooking!!! November 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Pools Had a relaxing stay at the resort. Kids loved the pools and afternoon High Tea in the lounge was good value for the money. Our standard room was very large and the lighting controls are very retro, would have been very high tech in the 80's a bit dated now. Overall the resort is older compared to more modern facilities but the staff was pleasant, the room was clean and the pools were great. We would stay again. November 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Charming Resort We were there in September and returned in November following withdrawal symptoms. What a charming resort this is with equally charming staff. We feel very welcomed and safe in this resort, just beautiful. Impeccable housekeeping and maintenance of pools and grounds, wouldn't stay anywhere else now that we have experienced MIRAGE. Many thanks again. November 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice enough, but nowhere near as good as Sheraton Resorts in Asia We stayed here for 4 nights in November to watch an eclipse. Our turndown service worked 1/4 nights; our room was serviced 3/4 nights; our internet worked 2/4 nights. Not ideal. The resort has no facilities - unlike Asian resorts where there are water sports and other stuff. The Gym is so far away (on another site!) that we never found it. The beach is nice but there are NO facilities on the beach - not even chairs. The resort seems to specialise in "special events''. Great for them, but they close the normal restaurants for the events, so you are down to (on one night) just ONE restaurant. Very unimpressed with that. They also add 1.5% charge to the bill for using a credit card (wft?) and although they said they waived this charge, sent me a folio after checkout indicating they charged it anyway. The cost of this resort is multiple times that of competing (almost as nice) places nearby, hard to justify the uplift. The resort is also somewhat old - the light commands in the room are ancient and didn't work much of the time; there are very few power sockets in the rooms (all reminiscent of an older build). It was nice enough. But I won't return. November 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tropical bliss I would like to thank management for our most wonderful stay at Sheraton Mirage. We are from Carins and this is our fourth year staying at the resort for my partner's birthday. We were upgraded into the most beautiful room overlooking the lagoon and coconut trees with complimentary champagne. We also met really friendly and fun staff at the meet and greet drinks that night. Complimentary chocolates arrived at our door on my partner's birthday. Overall all stafff members were so friendly and fun and we had a much needed getaway...very relaxing. Thanks for making us feel special!! Love this place!! November 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by HOTEL WAS GREAT BUT NEEDS SOME TLC. ON THE WHOLE THE SHERATON MIRAGE PORT DOUGLAS IS HEAVEN ON EARTH BUT SOME OF THE STAFF NEED TO IMPROVE IN THE FRIENDLINESS AND SMILING STAKES AND SOME OF THE HOTEL IS IN NEED OF TLC!!! November 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by dissapointed we were quite surprised that the hotel was so tired and run down, the room we were in smelt mouldy and the features in the room were extremely old and outdated. we were surprised that this is still rated as a 5 star hotel, or maybe we were just given the worst room in the house ?? November 10, 2012
  • 2015-07-30T21:21:43.361Z
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_340, tr_340
  • loc_en_US, sid_370, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 13 next>>