Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

  • Port Douglas Road
  • Port Douglas,
  • Queensland
  • 4877
  • Australia
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children 17 and under sleep free in existing room bedding. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs will incur extra charges. Dining Children ages 3 and under dine for free in Lagoons Restaurant. Children between the age of 4 and 12 can dine from the children's menu. Airport Shuttle Children between the age of 2 and 12 years travel on airport shuttle bus at children prices. Children under 2 years of age travel free. Please note, there are no baby seats in the coach service.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 259 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Loved the location Love the size of the room, the grounds and the pool area. However it is dated and looks tired. Also it would have been good to have better and less expensive snacks and dining on the premises. When refitted we would definitely come back again. June 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Made me question why I bother with SPG hotels. Overall a disappointing stay when compared to many of the other Starwood and Sheraton hotels that I have experienced. Staff service was mediocre at best when checking in, ordering food and using the bar services. I understand the rooms were much 'cheaper' then other Sheraton hotels due to the outdated rooms and hotel but the service was less then satisfactory. Otherwise overall just a very ordinary stay. June 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent location Excellent location, beautiful suroundings, very welcoming staff. The hotel s nevertheless a bit old and would benefit of some renewals. June 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful surroundings & excellent service The peaceful & relaxing surroundings were enhanced by the friendly and attentive service throughout. This was my second stay with other family members and I will definitely be back!! June 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by port douglas carpet in room was dirty room was cold no heat in room - we were told to open window - outside temperature was warmer than room temperature - still cold restaurant staff - manger was rude restaurant was empty sunday night - we were ask if we had a reservation - we said no and were told he would try to fit us in - restaurant was empty - no estimate of wait time given purchased 3 days of inter4enet support but was terminated before the third day desk clerk at check out didn't care about our issues I would not stay at the property again June 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Pools The interior and exterior of the hotel is dated however the rooms are spacious and the facilities are great. The pools are stunning and very clean and make for great holiday photos. The hotel room rates are reasonable and affordable for a family. The buffet breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice and fresh food. Il Pescatore restaurant was disappointing - overpriced, small and very basic tasting. Pool bar is good but understaffed - trying to do to much with too little i.e. towel exchange, drinks/cocktails and food service with limited staff who seem stressed and unhappy. Overall we had a great stay and would recommend and return to the hotel. December 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ripe for a reno! LARGE rooms, large bed, large bath, large bathroom and storage. Good view across the immaculate tropical gardens. Short term quick fix, is to make the doors to the accom hallways quiet/gas closures. This was noisy early and late. Biggest free form pools I have ever seen! Sheraton hopefully have this hotel at the top of their reno list as it would be stunning again, at the moment other hotels in the area outshine it-yet it is has the best beach position of them all. VERY friendly staff and porter (in the LARGEST Foyer!) :) June 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good relaxation Have been to this resort many times. Friendly staff. Glad to see the start of updates to rooms. Looking forward to see resort when work has been finished. June 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by So 80's The hotel looks nice in pictures... Let's face it, it is dated. I understand that refurbishing a hotel costs millions but start off slowly. The carpet in my room was torn by the door, the bathroom fixtures were a dusty rose colour, the shower head sprayed out of the shower due to calcium build ups, and the room felt like a time warp. The positives were the fantastic bed, and the breakfast buffet. The grounds keeping was really unmaintained. Seriously, hire someone to clean the parking lots from all of the dead palm debris. First impressions are everything and garden upkeep did not leave a good one. I expected more for the money. April 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by An Icon The Sheraton Port Douglas is an Icon and still is!! June 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Resort in Port Douglas Was blown away by sheraton Mirage Resort my expectations were wow !! The staff were amazing don't know who to compliment first. But waitress Jullada her service and chef dylan at night buffets was the best loved his food and service sold us to come back ! The resort facilities are wow so clean from rooms to outside pools the whole resort ! The service was 10* we loved every moment every part of our stay would highly recommend sheraton to anyone. Thank you Sheraton and all staff for making our holiday a memorable one we are so happy that we chose this place loved our stay it was phenomenal thank you again. Returning guests again next year :) Kind regards Cvetkova Family January 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Speechless There are just no words. Thank you again from the bottome of our hearts. We have been enjoying your hospitality for several years now and will just keep coming back and back and back again. We will never tire of the beautiful and grand Sheraton Mirage. I know rooms are to be upgraded but they have a charm of their own as they are. I am looking forward to the revamp of rooms but will also miss the existing decor. Well done and hats off to you Sheraton Mirage. It is your STAFF that make it all worth while, ALL OF THEM! October 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has excellent features. The hotel is very relaxing with its large swimming pools and close proximity to the beautiful 4 mile beach.The hotel is outstanding for its features,rooms,gardens and represents excellent value for money.Highly recommended. June 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has thepotential to be better Main pool toilets were filthy & disgusting. I was told they were cleaned twice a day. For so many people, they should be cleaned twice per hour! Annoying radio hosts/music at main pool not smart - some radio commentators were crude & rude for my 3 children. Cocktail knowledge and ability to mix up basic drinks was extremely poor. Bedroom pillows too soft. Buffet dinner overpriced! Should make it more affordable for majority of people and have themed nights (Italian, Mexican, Seafood, Asian, American, Australian, European.....). May 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Run Down - Not 5 Star Not up to standard of a 5 star hotel. Paint peeling, worn out carpets, outdated 80's furnishings, loud pool pump running all day and night, car park not undercover, distance to walk to your room in rain, tall weeds in room's window box, small bath towels, pool rundown. Would not stay again. May 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great stay We had a really great family holiday here. It was so pretty, and my children, aged four and seven, really loved the pool areas and the aqua play zone. I especially appreciate the efforts the executive chef made to successfully accommodate the multiple, severe food allergies of my children during our stay. January 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff are so friendly and accommodating The interior of the hotel does need an update which I believe will be happening next year however the outside, location and other facilities certainly make up for the early 90's glamorous interior. December 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bliss We have just enjoyed a 5 night stay in a deluxe garden view room. Yes it reminds me of my honeymoon suite (80s)...but the room was large and clean, sheets and towels fresh..bathroom spotless. Staff great... From the bell boy that offered us a lift to our room to the housekeeping staff that swapped pillows in 20 mins. The breakfast was excellent .. So much choice. The cash back offer for only getting housekeeping every few days paid for all our lattes but the pool! The pools are great so much choice. . Yes it's dated but can't wait to return after the renovations. October 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dated, but well appointed Our room was dated, but it was huge and well appointed. Amazingly comfy bed, lovely bathroom, good facilities. Breakfast fantastic. Lagoon pools and grounds also fantastic. Right on the beach too, but nicely sheltered and secluded. June 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 bigest problem Most hotels we have stayed at out of town have courtesy buses into town nearby. Would suggest day tickets to cover cost of the bus. Most guests we spoke to agree. June 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An amazing Port Douglas stay I stayed at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas for 3 days during my holidays and I must say I have never stayed in such comfort! The rooms are spacious and generous, but the bed and pillow are one of the best I've encountered. The pools were out of this world - it spans the whole resort and provide a great relief from the heat. I never get tired of relaxing by the pool amongst palm trees and gardens. I also dined at the restaurant and the food was impeccable. I definitely recommend the Sheraton Mirage resort for a Port Douglas getaway. December 4, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Shoddy Sheraton Mirage, Port Douglas Our well-earned holiday began on Boxing Day 2011, with a much anticipated arrival at the Sheraton Mirage, Port Douglas. The name itself seems to provide an image that it's a destination of 5 Star quality - but greatly overrated! With the 5* expectation and price in mind, on a gorgeous sunny afternoon, Boxing day - one would think that an iced - cold beer lazing in front of the Boxing day cricket would be an ideal way to spend a day relaxing for some - but this was a bitter disappointment since not one television in the lobby or entertainment area was able to screen the test game - apparently only the bedrooms in the actual hotel had this channel available. Then, about a 25 min wait for our beverages whilst we sat parched near one of the glorious pools. The separate windows to purchase these drinks proved even more confusing for most guests - more trained staff would be advisable. We headed to our Villa - which was dated but spacious and overlooked the green at the 9th hole, however, the squeaky fans and constant call-outs for the aircon to be repaired , proved tiresome. It was supposedly “fully equipped”, but with no barbeque facility, it was difficult to enjoy! Room service on New Year's day was terribly disappointing since - we ordered 3 hamburgers, which were overcooked, not to mention inedible! The bright sunlight rays first thing in the morning through the transparent blinds was also rather annoying on our 10 day stay - darker blinds (or window shutters) would be highly recommended. The highlight of the trip, were the 3 porters, in particular: Sharon, Brendan and Will who were very friendly and accommodating and made our stay worthwhile, as we certainly didn't receive any happy or helpful faces at the front desk (even a simple task like checking the weather report or a friendly farewell on our departure, was a bit too difficult). January 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much better than reviews Very Charming resort and exceeded my expectations. Based on some prior negative reviews, I was hesitant to stay here and almost changed my mind. I am glad we did not. The only negative thing I could say would be the price of the food was a bit high. However, it matched prices of other establishments nearby if you factor in shuttle transportation and time away from hotel premises. As on any trip, you would eat some meals at your establishment and some away in nearby tourist locations. Because the Sheraton Mirage offers you a $15 discount per day if you choose not to engage in Housekeeping Services, this offsets your cost of food at the time of checkout. I have never seen this offer given before at any resort or hotel. Very nice touch. The taste, amount, and quality of the food was very good. The rooms were definitely nicely sized with large closet space and sitting area. Reviews have said the rooms were dated but I found this to be the opposite. even with the gold hardware in the bathroom. We stayed in a basic 2 double bed room facing the lagoon and it was beautifully set up. The beds were very comfortable. No disappointments. Complimentary bottled water was also nice as most rooms charge for this and there is a mini fridge if you choose to go shopping or have leftovers. No microwave though. The tour desk operators were a huge assistance in helping us decide on which day trips to take and for arranging all of our transport needs. You can get an all day shuttle for $10, $7 for a roundtrip, or $4 for oneway, so it was reasonable. Every staff member that we encountered was very friendly. I would highly recommend this resort. Even though it was cloudy and raining (unusual for this time of year ,end of May), we still had a fabulous time. We were able to spend our 4 days without the need of a rental car which was important since we are Americans who drive on the opposite side! I am glad we chose to stay with Sheraton and would stay here again if we return to Port Douglas. June 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Assessment of stay We remembered the hotel from stays in the 1990s. It needs a bit of sprucing up, but it is still an exceptionally pleasant resort. Only complaint is the food which is bad. There is little fresh fish, even at the Pescatore. There is not much choice of venues for dining, and the Friday buffet was very poor and overpriced. The staff were exceptionally courteous and helpful at every level and are to be congratulated May 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Probably a great hotel 20 years ago Just returned from a disappointing 7 night stay. Good news is that the swimming pools are very good, clean and well maintained. Bad news is that the rooms are very dated, e.g. toilet seat wasn't fixed properly, old musty smell and fittings are very old and dated. Food was very average but fortunately its close to Port Douglas where very good food can be found. The most disappointing thing was the state of the sports facilities. We went to this hotel after seeing that they had plenty of tennis courts and in fact a country club next door. The reality was that they only had one serviceable tennis court and when we had rain it was dangerous to play on. We certainly felt mislead and a very poor reflection on the Starwood group. Hopefully just a blot on the Starwood landscape and not reflective of the group. My recommendation on going to Port Douglas is stay somewhere else as the place seems to have plenty of pother options. April 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing staff The Sheraton Port Douglas has an amazing staff. The pool, beach and grounds are lovely. However, the rooms need some upgrades like the furniture and carpet. Other than that, we loved our stay. We love port douglas and the great staff at the Sheraton. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. Thank you! May 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Agonizing resort from 80's with unprofessional staff No need to go to museum to see how hotel looked like 25 years ago. Not much was changed here since then. For example, ancient in-room safety deposit box requires you to take metal lock from reception (leaving huge AU$165 "guarantee deposit" for it), then you need to find the way how to access that box with that lock which is located on floor deeply in wardrobe with doors opened just partially (elderly people will not be able to do this), and then you need to find the place where you will hide the key from that lock. And this is 5 stars hotel??? Walkways throughout resort and around pools are not suitable for barefoot walking as 25 years of tropical rains made them very sharp because of losing concrete around sharp small rocks by water erosion. Water in some swimming pools smells, pools has dirty bottom and surface and has lots of missing and broken tiles. Tiled walkways between main building and guest houses are extremely slippery when wet. There are plenty of biting and non-biting insects throughout resort (including buildings, like breakfast restaurant and guest rooms). Sea is not suitable for swimming because of life-threatening jelly-fish. Many in room devices are faulty - in-toilet phones, lightning, remote controls. Minibar fridges are noisy - I need to unplug it during night. I also had numerous problems with hotel staff: Reservation office sent me a letter before my arrival that they "found duplicate bookings" and asked me to reconfirm how many rooms I need and informed me that deadline for cancellation was passed and I will need to pay in case of cancellation. I don't know why they decided that my three bookings with different numbers are "duplicate" (SPG system does not allow to make award bookings for more than one room at one time, so, I made 3 bookings for 3 rooms), but after I confirmed that I need all my three rooms, they requested next "bed configuration".  Looks like they are not able to find this information from bookings by themselves without disturbing guests. Security officer confused small metal shovel which my kids used for sand digging with knife and called for help (!). "Help" came promptly with 6 or more people and they questioned me and kids like we were criminals. After they left us without any excuses, I had hard time to explain my kids what it was. Our fun was ruined completely by that incident. Another staff member was very rude called behind our backs during conversation with my other family members and friends me (or my son?) "moron" using my family name because of this incident. She even didn't see us neither before, during or after incident. She wasn't aware, probably, that she talks with my friends, but it makes situation even worse. General manager didn't answer my direct questions about this incident. He wrote me common words about "other guests safety" and that "it is private resort on a private beach" what means to him that his team can do whatever they want with guests. He trying just to send me bottle of wine and stuff. After I sent that back, he wrote me: "The wine, fruits and cookies sent last night is part of our Guest Amenity which we send to our guests and disheartened that you choose not to enjoy this. " That was obvious artful lie because it was our fifth night of stay, not first or last, and it was after I asked my questions about incident and it was sent in my room only. About calling me "moron" he promised me to "investigate". What and how he wants to investigate? There are bunch of witnesses and he didn't talk to any of them.  Receptionist does not use polite words and smiles. Nobody asked me how was my stay, but one day before departure I received letter which starts from "tomorrow you leaving our wonderful resort". Why they decided that they are "wonderful"? Service is unstable - one day we had turndown service, other day - not; one day we waited more than 10 minutes to be seated at empty (!) restaurant for breakfast by non-smiling lady. Other day we had great service at breakfast with very friendly lady. Food at breakfast over dried because of inadequate heating. Lots of dangerously hot surfaces - need to watch your children. Same with hot water in rooms - it is too hot.  "Seafood night buffet" had pork, chicken curry, other meats but just some tasteless seafood. Few of us had stomach upset after that dinner. After trying resort's restaurants we decided to dine outside. As Platinum SPG I did choose free breakfasts as "welcome gift", but each time they tried to charge me for those  breakfasts, as for unknown reasons my rooms were not included in list of rooms with free breakfasts. It was corrected only after visit to front desk, calls and restaurant staff didn't help. We purchased "kids package" which allows to have free soda refills, but, pool bar lady told once that she is alone and she can't provide this service for 20 more minutes. The "air hockey" and other gaming machines were out of order and extremely old and noisy. Tennis table has three legs.  I saw few broken sunbeds around the pool, and zero intentions to remove it. There are no pool attendants or supervisors or anybody else (or probably they are invisible). Bathrooms in guest rooms has glass doors and windows. Forget about privacy. There is no in-room wi-fi Internet. You can't access your bill through TV. You can wait delivery of your luggage for ages, no matter that resort is almost empty. Platinum amenities are just welcome gift and free wired Internet. And some 30-minute "drinks with management team on Wednesday" which you need to reconfirm in advance. I received invitation to this magic event after deadline for reconfirmation.  Bill was inaccurate with wrong minibar, bar and restaurant charges. Even during checkout wrong breakfast charge appeared in the bill because restaurant staff mixed free breakfast and 1 for 2 promo. Hotel charges extra 1,5% when pay by credit cards (is this legal?). Can I say something good about this hotel? - No. And this is not because of humiliating incidents my family had there. This hotel is amongst worst of more than 300 different Starwood properties where I stayed during my lifetime. It desperately needs deep renovation and new management. This is mystery for me how that hotel received all it's awards, but don't jeopardize your holidays by choosing this hotel. You can ruin all your fun here like I did. April 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best swimming pool I have ever seen, best breakfast offered, courtesy of staff excellent One of the best resorts I ever stayed at, the atmosphere, surroundings, staff friendliness and service standards are impeccable, I suppose the location has a lot to do with it, credit to the Management for the efficiency and courtesy provided. December 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Outdated My husband and I recently stayed at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas resort for our honeymoon. Since it was a category 5 resort, we went against the trip advisor reviews and used our points to book our trip. While the staff were very nice and accommodating, the property itself left much to be desired. It apparently was built in the 80s and just never progressed. The furnishings were very old, furniture and fixtures had not been updated for quite some time and it definitely is not wired for this decade ( we had to set up our own modem in the room in order to access wifi). The location is great since it's close to town and most tour companies pick up directly from the hotel, but the property itself definitely doesn't belong in category 5. If you're expecting a more elevated experience, I'd recommend staying somewhere else as there are plenty of places nearby. January 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by "5" star This hotel is no where near a 5 star rating. MAYBE 10 years ago. The only positive thing i can say about our stay was that the room size was good and the staff at reception were good at what they do. Bad points: * shower wouldn't stay at the temp you selected, it was either boiling hot and freezing cold. * room rear door needs some grease or lubricant as it was a struggle to open/close it. * the first 10 minutes in our room we spotted over 10 mosquitos that had white striped legs (dengue possibility) * room strongly smelt like mould, and aircon vent was in need of a clean. My wife get ultra bad allergies due to mould and her night was full of sneezing and nose blowing. *Spa buttons were faulty/ old. struggled to turn the bubbles off, i actually had to use force and hit it. * spider webs/ spiders on the balcony. * no water jugs in the room, only bottled water you had to pay for. * the Spa window had scum and dirt that was really noticeable when using the hot water. * the prices for your buffet were a joke, we ended up going to QT and only paid $65 per head and got a way better selection. Same with the breakfast prices, we opted to go into the main street and save $40. * pools outside near the walk way are in major need of renovation, they look horrible and due to that we never swam i the resort. I bought my wife here for a romantic get away for our 1 year wedding anniversary and i was embarrassed. ESPECIALLY after taking her to QT and seeing what other "5" star resorts were offering. April 29, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>