Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

  • Port Douglas Road
  • Port Douglas,
  • Queensland
  • 4877
  • Australia
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children 17 and under sleep free in existing room bedding. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs will incur extra charges. Dining Children ages 3 and under dine for free in Lagoons Restaurant. Children between the age of 4 and 12 can dine from the children's menu. Airport Shuttle Children between the age of 2 and 12 years travel on airport shuttle bus at children prices. Children under 2 years of age travel free. Please note, there are no baby seats in the coach service.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 290 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old and Shabby I stayed at this hotel in 1997 and it was wonderful one of the best resorts in the world! But sadly it has been left to deteriorate. Its appearance outside and in is shabby, faded and old..Such a shame that this lovely hotel has been so badly neglected. October 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by AHHHHHHHHHHHHH I LOVE MY HOME BUT SHERATON MIRAGE PORT DOUGLAS PROVIDES ME WITH A GREAT ESCAPE AWAY FROM WINTER CHILLS WITH WARM & FRIENDLY SERVICE ITS A LUXURY HOME AWAY FROM HOME WITHOUT THE STRESSES OF HOME LIFE, WITH LITTLE OR LOTS TO DO, THIS WAS MY 5TH VISIT June 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful resort in a fantastic place we had a wonderful week at sheraton mirage. The resort facilities are fantastic especially the amazing lagoon pools. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is fabulous. Rooms are good and beds comfortable. We will be back for sure. November 30, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tried and old Hotel We have been back to this Hotel several times and each time it gets older and run down with poor upkeep. Several items were on the dangerous side so we wont be going back until it has had a full makeover. Great location. November 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bit outdated The decor and furnishings were a bit outdated but the beds were very comfortable. I think the beautiful gardens and pools made up for the daggy decor. The portering and general service was excellant. June 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by pools pools we went on our delayed honeymoon,the sheraton was wonderful,service excellent ,beds/rooms so clean and comfy. staff is great and kind.meals are top shelf.the pools are so many all beautiful. June 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice property My wife and I have stayed in many Starwood property's and each has it own charm and quirks. We were checked in by the assistant manager Matt who was extremely helpful getting us the right room and took us there in a buggy. The room was big, with a little balcony in good standard, with minimal guest amenity supply,s The housekeeping is quick and efficient. The complex is spread out in different buildings 295 rooms and a further 100 villa,s set in a park like surrounding with lots of palm trees right on the beach( a 20 minutes walk to port Douglas) The grounds are kept very nice and constantly being worked on. The staff is very friendly, and helpful, a particular mention, Emily and especially Mauro who's people skills are amazing and is obviously capable of better things ,who finally managed to get some soy milk for the cappuccino after 6 days of refusals by others. The breakfast buffet is a disgrace for a hotel of this standard, very, very basic. The food in general is not up to standard, being room service, or restaurants we stayed 10 days and tried everything. The ingredients are all there, it is purely staff knowledge and training, an easy thing to fix I would have thought, surely there must be an executive chef or food and beverage manager, come on guys the food is boring and average. No wonder all who stay there, head for the town which has some excellent restaurants. This could be and should be the best property in the south pacific The rating I give this hotel,is for the property, it's location, and some of the staff. The restaurant experience deserve,s 2 1/2 star. Having said all this, I have just been told that both the general manager, and the executive chef are recent appointments, so there is hope for the future. March 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ripe for a reno! LARGE rooms, large bed, large bath, large bathroom and storage. Good view across the immaculate tropical gardens. Short term quick fix, is to make the doors to the accom hallways quiet/gas closures. This was noisy early and late. Biggest free form pools I have ever seen! Sheraton hopefully have this hotel at the top of their reno list as it would be stunning again, at the moment other hotels in the area outshine it-yet it is has the best beach position of them all. VERY friendly staff and porter (in the LARGEST Foyer!) :) June 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Faded and worn Poor The hotel decor is worn out. Towels are frayed. Furniture is chipped. Carpets are worn. Service is mediocre. Manager does not preserve amenities for guests. September 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 star at its best We had high expectations of this resort and we were not disappointed and this was due to all the happy, friendly and helpful staff. This resort is paradise. February 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful surroundings & excellent service The peaceful & relaxing surroundings were enhanced by the friendly and attentive service throughout. This was my second stay with other family members and I will definitely be back!! June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Mirage is just amazing! We have been staying at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas for some years now. We travel up at the same time each year & every year its just wonderful! September 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Great Service, Great Everything! I recently took a group of customers to Australia and stayed at the Port Douglas Sheraton Resort. I was very impressed by the service and the quality of rooms, staff and food. i stay in a lot of hotels and this place exceeded my expectations. The management and staff are to commended for their effort to make me look good to my customers. I wish we could have stayed more nights as the facilities and pools were so nice and relaxing. i know this hotel made an impression with our group and they will be back at some point. Thanks again to the Sheraton in Port Douglas in ensuring they keep up the good name and reputation. Ernie---- Alberta, Canada April 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent location Excellent location, beautiful suroundings, very welcoming staff. The hotel s nevertheless a bit old and would benefit of some renewals. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Met Expectations The whole experience lived up to the Sheraton Mirage brand. We will visit again and stay at the Sheraton again. August 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Housekeeping We made the mistske of filling out a card, which we thought would be environmentally friendly, to have our sheets and towels changed every second day. We then spent the rest of our 7 days trying to get the room made-up, which spoilt our stay. Amanda at housekeeping kept promising that all is fixed, but it never was. Someone put something into the computer and from then on, we had no more housekeeping, whithout manual intervention every day! Do not fill that little card out. Otherwise, the facility is a bit faded now, but still nice. The other staff were good to excellent. Helena, as 'front of house' in the Logoon restaurant was exceptional. July 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Somewhat disappointing Unfortunately this resort falls short of our previously experienced Sheraton standards. It is tired and in need of maintenance desperately. A lot of the published features were not available due to it being "low season" despite being school holidays and January. It claims it has 4 restaurants with a variety of choices. Only one was open and the lagoon bar. The menus were limited and average with a huge price. The kids menu, which is the same for lunch and dinner, lacked healthy food options and only had 5 items on it. After a 6 night stay (12 meals consumed each), the kids hated the food and so did we. It claims it has a kids club, which was not operating, even though it was school holidays. The resort pools need cleaning, there are visible mould strips under the broken coping and many areas which need attending to. The staff appear inexperienced as many errors were made on our room bill, which was very frustrating to deal with on our last day holidaying. The resort has potential with a good clean, refurbishment and better food options, however I would not recommend it until it has undergone the above. The grounds are enormous, but I think that is the problem, it is too big and lacks a homey feel. January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One Word. Excellent. Quite a few people have commented on Tripadvisor on how outdated and run down this place is. Well, if you are prepared to look past the gold that has worn off some taps and some worn carpets, you will see that this really is a state of the art Hotel. It really was beautifully built in a truly idyllic setting right on the beach. It is under new ownership and management and it has really stepped up a notch since our last visit. Renovations on the building are clearly evident with the closure of one of the wings and construction/renovations underway in earnest. Our visit was faultless in every aspect. Our room was spotless and well maintained. The Pools and Gardens all impeccably kept. The restaurants served excellent food. A big plus is the staff at this hotel. All of the staff we encountered had a smile on their face, they seemed genuinely pleased to serve and help us. Nothing was too much effort and every request was met. Being regular guests at Sheraton hotels, we enjoy Gold level of their "Starwood Preferred Guest" program. This brings added benefits that make our stays more enjoyable. I really cannot fault this place and it has become our new favourite. Room Tip: Join the Starwood privilege program. Great deals and discounts for accommodation and meals. November 3, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by the good and the bad The hotel was very clean and we were happy with the housekeeping. They were excellent! However, the rooms did need updating. Bath fixtures very old and worn. Shade in shower window was unable to close. Found this window very strange in the first place. The food staff was good and bad. The people poolside were very nice but did take anywhere from 20 minutes to 45 minutes to get our drinks for us. 45 minutes to get a soda and fries?! Lagoons Restaurant was horrible. Went in just for a coffee with milk. Took 10 minutes to get a cup and then the milk didn't come with it. I had asked three times for milk before going to get it myself when it finally arrived. By then, coffee was cold. Restaurant wasn't even busy at the time. We were there during the off season. I cannot imagine how bad service is when it's busy. Service was so poor that we ate every meal in town every day. If they update this place, it has potential to be really pretty. Gardens are overgrown and need work as well. If you stay here, do yourself a favor and rent a car to drive to town. They also charge to use their transportation (per person) each way in and out of town. Cheaper to rent a car. Normally we would have went to management with our concerns but with the service here, we felt even trying to find a manager was going to be more effort than it was worth. June 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas My wife and I stayed from 9.6.13 to 14.6.13, it was a treat for me for my birthday and she booked the "Romantic" package. Overall our stay was satisfying, the room was looking a little tired but this did not detract from the comfort and cleanliness. Chocolates were not in the room on arrival (for the non-drinker) but that was quickly resolved with a call to the front desk. The dinner in Il Pescatore was marred a little by a co-ordinating staff member seeming unable to comprehend that we had already paid for our meal in the package.Telling us, after we explained this, that it had been taken care of and then putting it on our account anyway. I might say this did not reflect on the courtesy and professionalism shown by other staff in the restaurant. We discovered the bill by checking our folio under guest services. I do not wish to seem querulous and realize that we were one couple among many but it does seem to suggest a break down in communication between departments. It took three attempts at the front desk to rectify but eventually was sorted out. I would add that all of the staff and I mean all of them were at all times friendly and helpful and not once were we ignored by any that we may have just passed by in the walkways. The lady who organized our sunset cruise was friendly and helpful both with the cruise and sorting out our dinner account. Unfortunately her name eludes me. Breakfast each morning was superb and the pools and outdoor settings are magnificent. Above all it was peaceful and relaxing and it was nice to see the Manager doing the rounds on Friday morning. June 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Resort with superb staff - fantastic stay in every respect! This Resort is a true gem ... unbelievably gorgeous setting, world-class facilities, and superstar staff. Everyone we encountered during our 25th anniversary trip - Kimberley at checkin, Mr. Soni and Mr. Khot (duty managers), Karen at front desk (who was also a wonderful resource for local touring and bookings - GREAT suggestions!), restaurant and housekeeping staff - seemed to go out of his or her way to be helpful and welcoming. This was a most memorable stay in every possible positive way ... except too short! Mr. Walker - You should be very proud of your team. Many thanks, and we'll be back! Warm regards, Patricia and Bill R. July 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Chris Coffey we have stayed ay this property at least 10 years ago and it is exactly the same, very grand but still in need of an upgarde to starwood level. All staff seemed very relaxed and chilled! not reflective of other Starwood properties, platimun status was reqonised upon arrival with a complimentary upgrade ( thank you) but other details reflecting platinum were not. including turndown and complimentary waters daily etc end of stay account needed to be changed effectivly and it seemed to be an effort. Sorry for the honestey but we would love to return for a family retreat with 3 other families but don't have much faith in rebooking!!! November 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Arrived at the Sheraton early and was greeted by Matthew upon check-in. Though we were early, our room was ready to go and we got a full run down of the place. Wow.......Matt is definitely a wealth of information. The porters were right on it asking if we wanted to be driven to our room. We actually declined and said we were happy to explore our way there. We were in 2115 and initially we were confused as it was on ground floor (should have had the porters take us!). Upon entering the room we noted that the room was dated. Yeah the fixtures and some of the furniture was old and I understand some reviewers comments around this. But, being 100% realistic here.....though a lot of the furniture and bathroom fittings are old....there is absolutely nothing wrong with any of it as it is all still in 100% working order. So hats off here to the TLC that this place has received over the years. We had lunch on the first day at the Pool Bar. I had the burger and it was good....not the greatest....I think it may have sat on the pass for a little while as there were lots of lunches going out....but hey these things happen. My wife had the wrap and she was 'wrapped'. We were mad keen for the buffet but unfortunately it was not open on the Tuesday night! We enjoyed the breakfast in Lagoons. Chef Jai makes a pretty mean omelette! We got to the buffet dinner on the Wednesday, it didn't have the widest selection but for $49 I am not complaining. It seemed fairly quiet in the buffet so maybe they knew it was going to be a quiet night. I was surprised that the dessert buffet had no ice cream? However, with the help of Anne I was able to get some rustled up. We also enjoyed dinner in Il Pescatore on our final night and it was also very nice indeed. We indulged on the eye fillet main along with entrees and it was by far and away better then the buffet. Very well done team! Make sure you investigate the Mirage Dinig Passport as some good deals can be had! Was very impressed that we had turn down service. Fresh towels, little chocolates and water bottles. A very nice touch indeed. As a member of the Starwood Program the hotel put on a happy 'half hour' which I thought was absolutely fantastic. A nice, simple way to thank repeat clients to the brand. Well done! What I liked about the happy hour was that management and some representatives were actually out and about chatting to guests which was nice to see. Myself and my wife met Sharon....she was absolutely hilarious and great value to talk to. The hotel does a lot of special touches......the duty manager on Thursday evening (I can't remember his name I'm afraid!) lent us umbrellas and when we returned them,approximately fifteen minutes later a lovely cheese platter arrived at our room out of the blue. Talk about a surprise! We spent a lot of time by and in the pools and lagoons. One word.... SENSATIONAL! I don't think I need to go into much more detail here with the exception of adding that there is soooo much lagoon and pool space that you could almost at any time have your own private oasis! It was nice to see one lagoon dedicated to the kids (and even big kids) with the Aqua Bubble Play Zone. Lots of kiddies were getting in on the fun and it was good to see. Those who may shudder at the thought of laughing kids.....remember there are heaps and heaps of quiet lagoon spaces throughout the resort. The Mirage Port Douglas is dated but still excellently workable and more then adequately does the job. This place has so much potential and I note that plans are in place for a refurbishment. I hope this happens as a makeover would bring this place back up to five stars. Should anyone need an example refer to the amazing transformation of Port Douglas' sister property on the Gold Coast. Overall.....well done and we can't wait to come back on our next North Queensland adventure. Maybe next time we won't recognise the place with its planned revamp! :-)  April 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing We were very much looking forward to staying at the Sheraton Mirage as the website and photos looked beautiful. We were however very disappointed upon arriving at the hotel, as in general it was not up to the standard we were expecting. It was difficult to relax here. The room we were in smelled - an old, musty smell, and the corridors were even worse - I felt sick walking up the long hallway to our room as it was such a terrible smell. It was a relief to enter our room, which was thankfully smelly to a slightly lesser degree and had windows which could be opened to allow fresh air in. Everything inside the room was embarrassingly aged and in desperate need of repair or replacing. The tap fixtures were rusty and hard to turn, the buttons to control lights and aircon were broken/cracked, the draws had a terrible smell when you open them, the carpet was old and stained, the ice bucket was embarrassing - scratched and old, - such a cheap thing to replace but it seemed like it was as old as the building itself. The corners of the bathroom had not been cleaned properly on a continuous basis - build up of neglect over time but in general just in need of a reno. The furniture also seemed to have not been updated since the hotel opened - dated decor but worse than that showing such obvious signs of age, wear, and dirtiness. I didn't want to sit on the chairs, they looked so unappealing. The cushions need replacing desperately. The matching fabric bedhead was of a similar embarrassing nature and I tried to keep my head away from it. The base of the beds had a very old looking fabric covering which also would benefit from an update to bring it into this century. One of the crackers supplied in the mini bar was crumbled into a hundred pieces inside the wrapper - I am sure you could afford to replace with an unbroken one. The lagoons were constantly quite dirty with debris from surrounding trees etc. I understand that this happens naturally but it seems like it was not cleaned in the four days we were staying, as each morning was of similar standard. If it was cleaned (or cleaned to a better standard) at the beginning of each day it would be appreciated. The pool with the swim up bar, the spa and the small toddlers pool were very un-inviting - they looked visibly dirty and unattractive. I did not let my kids go in. It may just be the old, dirty tiles which need replacing which is letting it down, or it may be in need of a regular clean, either way it is not attractive. They definitely need a re-tile. The swim up bar which was an attractive feature on the website was another surprise - so daggy. Not the sort of place you would enjoy spending time. Just a cement wall at the edge of the pool with a window cut out. I didn't see anything advertised about a kids club operating even though this is advertised as a feature on the website. I thought it rather inappropriate to charge $15 per child to have a play on some inflatables in the pool. It was raining heavily at times while we were staying and the walkways become flooded easily. We were walking through ankle deep water along outdoor corridors to get to our room with children in tow. it is difficult to walk around in the rain as everything is spread out and walkways do not provide much protection as they are quickly flooded. The dining options did not really meet my expectations as I thought there was not a lot of variety. The restaurant was not very appealing with the evening set course menu. The breakfast buffet was quite good however avoid the optional purchased coffee (latte etc) as it is not good at all!! The service was fine and staff were friendly and helpful, particularly the porters and tour desk staff. Porters were quick to offer help with moving around the grounds and with luggage. It was rather off-putting with a waiter smelling badly of cigarettes. Overall a negative experience mainly because of the unkept/poorly maintained facilities and lack of any modern touches. The room was a smelly, scary step back in time to the 1980's. (yes, you have a flat screen and ipod dock in the rooms, but that is nothing to boast about these days) I understand it is difficult to renovate fully however it is not difficult to invest in new furniture for rooms, new ice buckets or replaced crackers, or even freshen up the pools/spa, which are a big attraction in theory but in my opinion a major let down in reality. This would be a sensible investment which doesn't need a lot of time and planning commitment. January 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect for family We (family of four with two young kids) had a lovely time at the resort. The pool was spectacular and the sheer size meant there was plenty of room for all. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of our room which was suitable for a 4 day visit. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Decor does need updating but as we were with kids we weren't bothered (if we were there as a couple though would have wanted a higher standard). Food was what we expected at a large resort - acceptable but definitely not fine dining - unfortunately priced like fine dining. All in all a great stay for a family and we look forward to returning. August 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good relaxation Have been to this resort many times. Friendly staff. Glad to see the start of updates to rooms. Looking forward to see resort when work has been finished. June 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome tropical resort oasis This is a beautiful oasis in a great area with easy access to the reef and rain forest. Although the resort feels very isolated, there is easy access to the beach and to town through a shuttle. Be ready to empty your wallet to eat on property, but if you use the dining "passport" program it makes it very affordable. Port Douglas (shuttle every 30 minutes) also has some great spots for eating. Staff was great in helping us book tours with pick-up right at our hotel and even had a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room at check-in. Went for our honeymoon and was everything we dreamed of and more. August 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simply Stunning Tropical Oasis! My husband surprised me with this trip for our 24th wedding anniversary ,we had always dreamed of holidaying in Port Douglas & staying at the Sheraton Mirage.This Hotel exceeded our expectations in its size ,gorgeous views, & impeccable lush surroundings.The staff were friendly and the service at the restaurants was excellent.The only thing we felt a little disappointed in is, when we arrived & checked in,no effort was made to try & obtain a bedroom with a kingsize bed that we had requested prior to arriving- being that it was a special occasion.Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.. September 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has excellent features. The hotel is very relaxing with its large swimming pools and close proximity to the beautiful 4 mile beach.The hotel is outstanding for its features,rooms,gardens and represents excellent value for money.Highly recommended. June 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by An Icon The Sheraton Port Douglas is an Icon and still is!! June 13, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 11 next>>