Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 755 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, older hotel, small rooms and average service The hotel is located right on the beach. The breakfast service at the main restaurant is hit or miss. The room is definitely on the small side. The bathroom is pretty small - 2 people cant get ready at the same time. The whole place needs a remodel. Overall was a decent experience, but a little bit below the Westin standards. August 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beauitiful location, We have only just returned from travelling in the USA, we stayed on 4 different occassions, all were wonderful except for night of 25th July, 2012, our room was so small, our cases had to be placed at the entry door, bed was a double we did ask to be changed but nothing could be done, on our last visit 7th August we were given a lovely room on SPG floor which was greatly appreciated. Thankyou August 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel stay When you drive up and they opened the car door for you, you new right away that you were going to be taken care of. The hotel and all its staff met our expectations August 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disapointed We were assigned a room and bathroom that was so small, we can hitting ourselves with the furniture, inside the bathroom with the fixtures and had basically no closet space. We had to leave our clothes inside our luggage. Our room was not fully cleaned, the refrigerator still had food (smelled bad) from the previous guests, the bathroom was full of ants and the room in general smelled damp. We were told upon check in that they could not upgrade us or change us to any other room, however, in the morning we noticed that there was still a few available rooms. We believe and felt that we were treated like second class guests because we used points for our stay and do not appreciate it. For a resort that size of Moana, with several buildings the pool is too small, not enough chairs are available and it is the only hotel on waikiki without lounge chairs on the beach. We had to make a line (long line) to get towels, chairs or reserved mini chairs on the sand by 7:00 am. After 9:00 am no one could find a place to seat around the pool. This property felt and looked more like a two star rated hotel than a Westin luxuty resort. The fitness room is too smal for the size of the resort, by 6:30 am there were no treadmills available out of 4 working only (two additional ones were broken). We were not recognized or treated as Starwood members. Very DIsapointed! August 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Looks can be deceiving I am an SPG member and I usually split my stays up between the 3 Starwood properties . This is by far the worst. I stayed in a room right over the veranda which is also on the main avenue. At 4:30 Am I was woken to deliveries and buses get ready to pick up tours. This went on every day. At night I had to listen to a piano in the lobby. I dont mind people having a good time and loud music but it shouldn't be heard in my room. I asked to have my room changed and of course the place was sold out. The only thing this place has going for it is that it's on the water. I am going back in October and I have made reservations some place else! The staff extremely unfriendly and unhelpful. August 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, though has some issues If you want to be in the center of the Waikiki scene and directly on the beach, this is a great choice. It is gorgeous and near great locations and shopping. The downside of this location is the noise from Kalakaua Avenue. Our room on the 2nd floor was at the very front of the hotel with 2 windows on the avenue, and it was so loud until about 2 am that we could not sleep. There were other problems. There were ants in the room, and we were promised a king bed, but given a queen. Staff was accommodating in addressing our problems, but moved us to a better room only halfway through our stay. We felt we should have received a refund for the days in the first room. Despite this, we had a positive experience overall and would recommend this hotel. August 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by HOTEL EXPERIENCE BEST HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED AT. KEEP IT UP. August 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Excellent hotel in all aspects , especially service. I had to check out early due to a death in the family. I used my Starwood pts but instead a getting a credit , I rec'd a small charge on my credit card. Other than that - great experience at a great hotel ! August 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Charming Lovely hotel. Great Location, Very friendly and accomadating staff...especially pool bartenders! Wish pool was alittle bigger. Could get very crowded at times .Enjoyed our stay and if ever traveling to Honolulu again I will choose to stay at Moana Surfrider. August 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by May be a Westin but sdtill feels like the old Sheraton I am a frequent Westin guest, all over thge world, and unfortunately the standards at the Moana are just not up to par. Maybe it is because the Dheraton shadow still looms. Rooms are bleak, bathrooms old fashioned and badly maintained, service overall lacking. Maybe it was the crowds and time of year, but the hotel seemed more like a bus station than a comfort hotel. I was not given a single consideration for my Starwood memebership as I am anywhere else I stay, e.g. Sydney. Maybe it's just the nature of your location and time of year, but the experience was deeply unsatisfying.... August 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Feedback of our stay This hotel's location is great. Across from International market and walking distance to hotels where we watched shows. It is right on the beach so it's so convenient. We also appreciated the amenities like the refrigerator, coffee and tea maker, robes, slippers, etc. We were just disappointed that the bath tub of our room has lots of scratches and for a 4-5 five star rated hotel....it is not acceptable. For sure it has been cleaned well. August 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by There is an underlying gracious elegance that is an integral part of this hotel's history. From the initial greetings upon arrival to departure, hotel staff were friendly and helpful. It was a feeling of being valued and welcome. The hotel room was comfortable and attractively appointed. The stay was most enjoyable and will be repeated in the future. This hotel is like an old friend. It deserves many return visits! August 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just OK The decor in my room was a little dated and I felt like I was staying in a chain hotel, overall it's a nice place... August 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just Average Nice hotel, but just that, nice. Nothing spectacular. Great location though. If a great location will fulfill your needs, this is it. If you're looking for an above-average, personalized, memorable experience, keep looking. August 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by mr We weren't recognized as Starwood preferred guests. We were not offered a welcome gift. Pool area and beach were too crowded, no chairs available. August 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great historic hotel Enjoyed staying at Moana Surfrider with friendly staff, excellent beach access, and great central location for shopping, dining, and people watching. However, the pool was somewhat disappointing and the basic WiFi connection in the room included in the resort fee was very slow and erratic. August 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by hotel is beautiful The staff and accommodations were wonderful. The hotel was so beautiful inside and out. We loved that it was right on the beach and the main street of the city. This made everything very convenient. August 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not enough seats on beach Beach not fun because no. Seating. August 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tiny ants There are so many tiny ants. I wanted to change the room, but I was not sure that there are no ants in other rooms. I had to clean and care the trash everyday. And there was no balcony. It was uncomfortable. Except thoes, the hotel was good. Very classic and gorgeous. August 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely stay Really great hotel, friendly staff and good service. Only one head of seating staff member in the restaurant was a little abrupt, but that was the only minority. Generally a really nice stay and will definitely recommend this to all our friends. The YOGA classes are fantastic! Definitely a plus. and the gym facility is terrific too. One of the best places to stay in waikiki. Thank you for ensuring we enjoyed our stay. Everyone is so nice. We'll be back soon. August 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Old part of hotel - BE CAREFUL! I stayed in the non tower or the older part of the hotel and the airconditioning in the room was so loud you had to sleep with it off as if on would keep you awake. But sleeping with it off meant you got really hot! I did complain but the hotel did nothing about it nor did they get back to me at all. There is also only one lift for the old part so you can wait a long time to get to your room which is a real pain. August 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pure Hawaiian Luxury Everything about The Moana was top of the Line. When we checked in we were upgraded to a beautiful suite and a piece of cake brought to our room, for my 50th birthday. What a magnificant view, could not have been in a better place. The staff were very friendly and were always available if we needed assistance. The Beach House Restaurant was Awesome and the sandwhiches from the Grille was great. Yes, It is a bit pricey there, but that is expected from a 5 star Hotel, and well worth every penny. We enjoyed our stay so much, hated to leave. We will definetly come back to the Moana on our next visit to Hawaii. Mahalo Moana for such a great place to stay. July 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A haven on Waikiki Even though this hotel is located in the middle of the Waikiki hubub, once I pulled up it was a totally relaxing atmosphere. Much appreciated. The staff were very gracious and the room was plenty nice. July 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect location !! This was a beautiful hotel. Not only did I love the historic significance of the hotel, but the accomodations and dining were amazing. Above all, you can`t beat the location. Right on the beach and center to all Waikiki has to offer. Definitely would stay again. July 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by great location with mediocre service Checked in during week of July 4th. Hotel itself was nice enough with great access to the beach. I had a city view room which was clean but small. Balcony was very nice. Hotel didn't recognize my platinum status and I found service to be mediocre to poor. I had an issue with my invoice and they made me wait 25 minutes before speaking with me - I don't understand why six people behind the counter can only service one or two people at a time. Would not recommend if you're looking for top quality service. I found that because the hotel is so busy, staff take a very non-chalant attitude. Definitely not the type of service I expect from a Westin - given the premium location, I was expecting to be wowed in every way. July 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by SPG member was treated poorly We are SPG members and we were not accomodated what so ever. It started by them not even acknowledging us a SPG members and them stating they were overbooked and can we stay at another hotel. When we told them we made these reservations months and we shouldn't be inconvenienced, we were told to wait for a room to come available. That was two hours later and no one called or looked for us to tell us our room was availble. When our room was available no one apologized. July 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed - Third time is not a "charm" I grew up on Oahu and every time I return "Home", I have high expectations of this hotel. This is my third stay at the hotel and is the worst one so far. First, when I checked in I wasn't told that it was a handicapped accessible room. Second the bathroom showed a large patch of rust. Third, the shower design resulted in water flowing throughout the bathroom. Every morning I had to order an extra 5 bath mats to soak up the water. I contacted SPG and send pictures of the rust. The hotel offered to move me, but how do you move a family of four (including girls - 7 & 10) without disrupting our schedule. I would have thought I would have been treated better since I've stayed there two previous times. FYI, I don't usually complain or write these reviews, but I was so disappointed that I had to do it. July 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Year 9 of Staycations This is the ninth year we've taken a staycation at Moana. The good: Gloria, Mo, Hulani at the beach were great! Remembered us by name. So much Aloha. Frank the bellman is exceptional!!! We got 4pm checkout! The bad: air con started dripping water at 11pm. Maintenance fixed it by midnight. Fridge in 244 makes a loud noise every 45 mins. At check in clerk wrote 224. Went to room, we're delighted to get a ocean room but that was wrong. We had a city view. 244. Had to go back to get it corrected. The ugly: person knocked on our door checkout day to see if we needed anything. We said some water. Never came. Kamaina who use points or discount are not afforded same perks as others regardless of loyalty. Ref beach umbrella reservations. July 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by preview room We were in room 3324 priced as a deluxe ocean view room.. What we had was a view of the tree in the courtyard. To see the ocean we had to go out to the miniscle balcony and move left or right to see the water. We heard all the pool and beach noise with no view. July 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good staff. Struggling to cope. I visited at a time when the hotel was extremely busy - in fact overbooked. Rooms were not available, bags took a while to arrive, and the line for breakfast made it not an option for anyone with plans for the day. That said, almost all staff were extremely friendly and professional, and doing their best in difficult circumstances. It's amazing how much that can help. The only exception, on both nights of my stay, were the staff at the outside bar, who seemed to resent having their evening ruined by mere guests. They could benefit from a fraction of the hospitatlity training that their colleagues have obviously had. July 24, 2012
  • 2015-05-03T18:31:43.272-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-24, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_755, tr_755
  • loc_en_US, sid_374, prod, sort_default
<<prev 22 23 24 25 26 next>>