Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 726 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Make sure you get the new wing Rooms in the historic wing are mostly too small (claustrophobic barely space around a queen sized bed) or too dark (think prison cell or dungen with v. tiny windows; very depressing). Most bathrooms are so tiny they can compete for smallness against a NYC studio's bathroom. In fact, my old studio in NYC had bigger bathroom than the ones I saw in the historic wing. I would be v. careful what room you get if you're put in the historic wing because you could end up wishing you were home instead of on vacation. Staff was great but facilities of historic wing need major overhaul or they should be v. clear about what you'll get. September 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good service Whenever I needed some assistance I received a good customer service from your staff. November 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, restaurant customer service not as great This hotel has all characteristics of a lovely hotel you would choose as your main option when considering Oahu Island in Hawaii. It has great location, rooms are pretty and the view is just amazing. What I liked most about this hotel is how it has a more classic look from outside without losing its modern look from inside the rooms. There were two aspects that could improve the overall stay - 1-) Hotel does not have a nice pool similar to the another hotel nearby from the SPG family - It could have an inifinity pool or something like that 2-) The hotel's restaurant customer service is not as trained, especially considering such a premium hotel like the Moana Surfrider. Waiters were sometimes aloof to guests and service was inconsistent (sometimes they would say good morning, sometimes they would ask what type of tea one would like etc.) Overall, a good experience, almost great, but, good nonetheless. October 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Amazing All of the hotel services were without flaw. We have never experienced the quality of staff, food, drinks and overall happiness of the guests we met. We will return! July 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a very good stay Maintenance had to come to the room 3 time to try and fix the air conditioner. It would not cool the room. Just got tired of calling. There was no ice machine on the floor. Housekeeping never did a turndown service and did not leave towels once. One of the pillows on the bed had a stain on it and was put back on the bed every day.. March 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience Excellent location, ameneties and staff! Really have to emphasize the friendleness and professionlism of the staff. From our arrival to the hotel via auto to our 5 am departure, everyone was excellent. Our room was an oceanfront in the new tower and the views were excellent. As was the terrific lanai. December 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Totally disappointed Public areas beautiful ... Rooms old, small, worn, and misrepresented on website and VERY over priced compared to other Westin locations. Do not consider this location unless you enjoy overly crowded conditions I.e., Times Square -New Youk September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Romantic Getaway This getaway was in celebration of our 20 year anniversary. I called the concierge to see if they would do anything special for the occasion and she stated that she would take care of it. Upon arrival, after being up for almost 24 hours straight, the staff at check-in recognized our need for sleep and were efficient at getting us checked in. We were pleasantly surprised to see a welcome note, chocolates, and a bottle of sparkling wine waiting for us. The staff is wonderful and the new lounge available to platinum members saved us a ton of money on breakfasts and snacks. All of the staff members were attentive, professional, and very friendly. On the down side, our original room had some sort of bugs/beetles, but we were upgraded before they really became an issue. Our new room did not have any issues. We came to Oahu to relax...and that is what we did. The beach is really not that large and was pretty crowded. Be prepared to pay for covered seating and rental chairs if you prefer that type of beach hangout. We are used to all inclusives so this was a major shocker for us. The local stores have mats available for a reasonable price, so we just decided to go that route. We ate at the hotel restaurant one evening...OMG was it good. I could have made a meal out of my clams/mussels appetizer. The food was out of this world and the service was excellent. I would definitely go back to Moana Surfrider. October 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a good experience OUR ROOM WAS SMALL. MOLD IN THE BATHROOM AND WATER ON THE BATHROOM FLOOR CAUSING A SLIPPERY MESS. I SLIPPED AND FELL BUT WAS NOT INJURED. WE EXPECTED ALOT MORE FOR THE MONEY. I WILL NOT STAY AGAIN AT THIS HOTEL. October 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT an SPG hotel This was a beautiful hotel, but it did not meet expectations for being a Starwood/Westin property. At all. I almost asked at the desk a few times if our reservation had been messed up, because our room and bath were tiny, absolutely NO view (could never have the blinds open for privacy reasons), and noisy. The SPG status meant nothing. No reason for the SPG line at the desk, as no one was there. The "resort fee" obviously bought you nothing, as you still needed to pay to get umbrella cover and chairs, as the pool was always crowded and did not accommodate many guests. Waitstaff from the bar were abrupt, but made clear what you should tip?? Oh my goodness. It is in a good location and a lovely lobby, but that doesn't really make up for all that was lacking. We often stay in Westin hotels, and were disappointed with this visit. June 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by As a happy return hotel guest "Excellent" is the word I will use to describe Moana Surfrider. Beautifuly hotel, provide lots of nature daylight, bright and well naturally ventilated. Excellent restaurants and high quality foods. The "New Balance" concept provides me all my exercise outfit that save my luggage space for shopping. Extremely helpful check in staff "Keola", he has arranged us the room that we never can expected. Housekeeper "Merlita" keeps our room sparkling clean, organized our personal belongs even better than we can do. One phone call to report mattress was too soft, surprisingly got a new mattress the next day. In house photographer "Ritch" captured all exciting moments of our family and that will definitely bring us lot of memories. Concerige staffs provided us excellent recommendation of restaurants and had provided us name of attractions that we definitely should visit. I will look for a reason and to return to Moana Surfrieder. Thank you the greatest team from Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa which you all had given us an unforgettable staying! September 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST LUXURY VALUE IN WAIKIKI The following review is posted on Trip Advisor. Please note that I would have rated Food & Beverage as excellent however the Ocean Club breakfast protein offerings were poor. The Westin Moana Surfrider Waikiki Beach never disappoints. It is the best value luxury property on Waikiki beach. The staff was wonderful especially Khola who met us at the SPG check in desk. This Hotel is Hawaii's most historic beauty, from the front veranda rocking chairs, to the lobby staircase, pool area, hula lessions, Waikiki Beach and more, this hotel is Hawaii at its best. We booked the New Ocean Club rate, it was a GREAT value and a wonderful setting for Breakfast and evening appetizers accompanied by local wines and beers. Simply the BEST !!. August 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highlight of our Trip We were only at the hotel one night but it was the best night of our trip. After our airline canceling our flight out of Honolulu (mechanical) they put us at another (less desirable) hotel. As we walked to dinner I stopped in to see if by chance there was a room. They had a room but the hotel felt bad because of my SPG Platinum Status - all they had was the historic rooms. That is what we prefer. Our room was small but wonderful. We enjoyed brunch the next morning and even afternoon tea before our night flight out of Honolulu. Thanks for making a wonderful trip EVEN better. We will be back! June 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hawaiian Culture with Modern Comfort If you are looking for a piece of authentic Hawaii then look no further than the Moana. She is a grand, stately reminder of Hawaii before she was discovered by hordes of tourists. The original part of the hotel contains a museum with many original and unique pieces of art and history. If you are looking for a hotel that has character then you will want a room in the original wing - but be warned that the rooms tend to be on the small side and there are no balconies. If you want the character and luxury of this property but are looking for more modern upgrades then ask for a tower room. Regardless of where your room is be prepared to take a step back in time and enjoy the ambiance of the Moana. November 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Charming I love this hotel but you need to know that the street side noise is intrusive as is the rattle from buses pulling into the drop off area. If you want charm and a great location then this is the place for you. If you want to get to bed early for a good night sleep you will beed to get a room away from the road. I was disapointed that the pool was a fun free zone and the fun police were out in force also the pool closes rediculously early. I think it was 6.00 pm, which is the time that those not wanting to get burnt head for the pool. I noticed that other hotel pool were open until late. September 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel in Honolulu Have been to Hawaii every year for the past 5 years. The moana surf rider van highly recommended. Well......the fact is it was everything and more. What an experience...The best of everything...A great vibe from a very sophisticated establishment from the very classy Hawaiian building to the great service from the entire staff team This is a world class establishment..and the location is nothing short of breathtaking. I can't speak highly enough about our 2 week stay.. I was very sad to leave....but buoyed by the knowledge that i will be back next year Mahalo Surfrider Team October 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid staying at this property Staying at the property during our honeymoon, albeit with high expectations, we experienced a cavalry of dissappointment from check-in to check-out. The check-in agent didn't seem to be trained on the 'resort' offerings of the property to inform of us of the various amenities available. We figured it out ourselves later. Albeit, the concierge was moderately helpful when we asked questions. The first of a few rooms that we checked into didn't seem to have been cleaned prior to entry. There was some form of white goo smeared down the side of the nighttable (in a cramped room mostly devoid of natural light!). After complaining, and waiting in a very long lineup to do so at the check-in desk, we were moved to an inferior room with a smaller bed. Thinking about leaving to one of the many competitors in the area, we asked politely for a larger bed and were sent down a few floors and in an even tighter space! We were about to check out at this point and call it a loss when we realized that our luggage was in a different room to which our key no longer worked. The manager on duty had us move again ... fortunately to a slightly nicer room this time with an approriately sized bed! We didn't end up checking out but our stay didn't get much better. Multiple times per daywhile relaxing poolside, the security-like customer service employees asked my wife and I to show our room keys. It was uncomfortable to persistently 'prove' that we were, indeed, paying $25 a day in resort fees to hang out at a pool full of children (that closes very eary!). Common areas were very busy and we certainly weren't greeted by staff during our stay. Restaurant is OK in terms of quality, questionable in terms of value. It's similar to the hotel wherein it masquerades as a premium product but doesn't deliver in terms of experience, quality or service. We regret not checking out when we had the chance. November 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by May be a Westin but sdtill feels like the old Sheraton I am a frequent Westin guest, all over thge world, and unfortunately the standards at the Moana are just not up to par. Maybe it is because the Dheraton shadow still looms. Rooms are bleak, bathrooms old fashioned and badly maintained, service overall lacking. Maybe it was the crowds and time of year, but the hotel seemed more like a bus station than a comfort hotel. I was not given a single consideration for my Starwood memebership as I am anywhere else I stay, e.g. Sydney. Maybe it's just the nature of your location and time of year, but the experience was deeply unsatisfying.... August 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Charming Historical Hotel The Westin Moana Surfrider is a very charming and classic hotel. I visited the hotel for New Year's and enjoyed my stay. The rooms in the historic wing are small, but comfortable. The bathroom was small but had a great shower (no tub.) The heavenly beds always make for a good night's sleep, but unfortunately that was hard on New Year's Eve with the party going on in the courtyard directly under my room. That withstanding, the rest of my stay was great. The hotel recently opened the Beach Club lounge and it's open to platinum members. The club is very big and has outdoor seating directly in front of the beach. It's a great place to relax and get snacks. I would return to the Westin, just not for New Years. January 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by We have always wanted to stay at the Moana We were in Hawaii this month to attend the UH graduation and stayed at the Moana. I have to say we were very disappointed in the service we received-which really came as a surprise. Our room, although beautiful, was very noisy and incredibly small-no closet and the tiniest bathroom ever! Also, did not enjoy paying a "resort fee" for ammenities we did not use. We did have our "portrait" taken, but the photographer was not friendly at all! Had to reserve our seats by the pool at 6:30am or there were no seats available-we thought staff would be more friendly...no aloha spirit :( May 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overpriced This is a beautiful hotel full of history and even though it is right on the beach, it is run quite average. We walked from our bus up the front steps and through the entrance without any luggage assistance, not once were we approached. We did not expect that from this quality hotel and basically that's how the service stayed. It was nice to stay in a Banyan room in the older area of the hotel but you should charge a more reasonable price as they are very small and VERY noisy. The food at the cafe was lovely, but we didn't need to stay overnight to enjoy the food and drink. September 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room was not up to advertised expectations Our $400+ a night "Ocean View" room could be described as a King bed surrounded by a 2-1/2 foot walkway! and oh yeah, a 3 foot X 4 foot closet with a toilet and shower. Our "Ocean View" consisted of a view of the other hotel wing and a 1 inch sliver of what looked like sky and the trunk of a palm tree. The noise from the beach bar consisted of a loud, not so good band that was attempting to play all of the songs from a 70's Fleetwood Mac concert. The band played well past midnight. Internet cost $28 for 24 hour's worth. One bright spot though . . . we only stayed one night. February 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Noisy, Cramped Room My husband and I spend last weekend at The Moana Surfrider to celebrate our wedding anniversary. When we arrived, we we were disappointed right away by the size of the room and bed. My husband had paid in advance, and it was confirmed that we would have a king size bed. The room was so tiny, with only one double sized bed. When my husband went to the front desk to share his concern, he was told there was nothing available with a king size bed, even though the reservation had confirmed it already. The bathroom was so tiny, my 6' ft tall husband could not even sit on the toilet correctly because his knees hit the doorway. Regardless of the size of the room, the outside noise level was obnoxious. Even attempting to get any sleep before 2 AM is a joke. The noise of street performers, traffic and people outside was outrageous. Not to mention through out the night we could hear every word of outside late night arguments, and drunken hollering. Both my husband and I agree that we have never had such a disappointing, sleepless stay in our lives! May 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the Moana we have stayed at this hotel annually for the past 10 years and have always had an excellent time. The facility is great and the people better. One of our favorite things about the Moana is that they treat you like family. The same people we met checking in or working the pool or the restaurant 10 years ago are the same great people we saw last week. In a word the Moana is TERRIFIC October 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Starwood Hotel Ever The Moana Surfrider is the most well oiled Resort ever! Upon check in received a Platinum upgrade to an Ocean View Room in the Tower Wing. Additionally, the hotel has implemented several programs of further recognize gold/platinum guests such as discounts on food/spa across the Starwood resorts in Honolulu. Every detail in architecture and maintenance at this hotel is monitored frequently and it is kept beautiful. The staff exudes Aloha in every way possible. From check in to breakfast to drinks at the bar, service is impeccable and friendly. Chris and Peter at the Beach Bar are extremely friendly and great resources for local grinds. Don't consider staying else where on Waikiki! Extremely satisfied and want to live here! March 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is perfect! From the first time we walked through the front of the hotel and saw the exquisite Bayan tree and beach we knew we were in for a BIG treat! The staff was wonderful, the entertainment was excellent, and the facilities were immaculate! Thank you for the perfect place! September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded Expectations The hotel itself reminded me of a southern plantation. The facilities and restaurants were very superior. The staff was the friendliest and offered us services beyond our expectations. The view from our balcony was breathtaking. The pool area staff was friendly and offered services to the degree that my friend, my husband, and I felt like queens and a king during our stay. The area with the umbrellas and chairs was also very comfortable and inviting with the staff even waiting on us, meeting every request and need during this time also. October 26, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never Again I have stayed at the Moana Surfrider probably four times in the last two years. Each time I've checked in there was no recognition of my award status, and three times at least I have been allocated rooms that are either on the main street i.e. incredibly noisy, or overlooking the interior courtyard i.e. music late into the evening. Since I usually travel on business, rest and comfort is the key to success in my mind. Although the hotel common areas are lovely, and the outlook on the Ocean fantastic, the rooms lack any insulation from the outside world. Additionally, there was not even an amenity package in the bathroom - by that I mean shower cap and Q-tips. Sorry there is too much competition on Waikiki for me to contemplate returning to this hotel. June 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A hotel we loved to be in As German it is not so easy to write in English, so we try to say it in a simple way. Even the room was to the city it was calm from 10 pm. Fantastic the cleanness. Near to the beach was great. As jazzmusician we loved the music in the lobby Most amazing was the woman in duty on the frontdesk in the morningtime10/8 to 10/10 (we apologize for forgetting her name) : she met us every morning with a warm smile and helped us so wonderful in a friendly courtesy way that we nearly would say: next time we only shall come to meet her again. We appreciate if you pass this review to her. Not satisfying was the long waitingtime for breakfast. Wonderful architecture outside and inetrior create a comford feeling. Thank you that Your hotel exist October 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by manager and room All the noise from the street, including cars just passing. advised the hotel the problem and i ask to talk to manager and she called him and i waited there for moor than 10mts. after 10mt or more wait she said that he is busey with other guest so ask me to leave my cell number so he will call back. never recived call from manager name-STEVEN ZORITHAKR. next morning i told the same lady that he never called. this place is not worth it for all the noise. maybe when all construction is done. hotel staff did not seem to care at all. January 16, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>