Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 719 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fabulous hotel with great decor The hotel is beautiful with fabulous decor. The location and views are stunning. Our only disappointment was at the pool bar where we felt the service was very poor by the female bar attendant. It felt like a shopping mall food hall. We had breakfast and afternoon tea on the Verandah and they were both great experiences. Lovely hotel that we will return to. Having come from spending five nights in another Westin hotel which was very disappointing, we were so pleased that our last three nights holiday were spent at the Moana. We loved all the quiet areas where you can just go relax in a comfortable chair. September 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Loved the plantation look & feel of this hotel I chose this hotel because of the plantation look & feel of the photos online. It had so much character & then I find out it is the oldest hotel in Hawaii! We went on the historic tour of the hotel when we arrived. Although the "welcome" wasn't as pleasant as I would have thought, I dismissed that since when I first walked in, the open lobby into the patio area was so refreshing. Loved the traditional décor. We stayed in the older side so the room was dated but, again, I loved the lobby & patio area. The rocking chairs out front to watch the people were great while waiting for our car. Right on the beach. The hotel is right next to shopping & Dukes had great food. Had a great stay! May 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is our regular haunt 6th trip back and the place it still the same. The sensory cues hit you. The white tea candles, the charm and the ambiance are great. New inclusions in the resort fee are welcome now. Great atmosphere at the Moana keeps us coming back. Roxanna, the tours advisor is a breath of fresh air in that role and a very helpful, funny and friendly lady. Even Aloha Tony is still there, which is great. We see plenty of the same faces there, which makes it a great hotel. The only small thing we didnt like is the pillows on the heavenly bed. Just could not get them right, but a few of the Beach Bar Mai Tais helped. September 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel has an extremely relaxing feel from the lobby to the pool side bar and the beach. My wife and I spent eight glorious days at this property celebrating our 25th anniversary. This was our first time to Hawaii and it could not have been more spectacular. What a great property. The hotel staff is second to none. We will be back with our two sons next year. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel I've stayed at a lot of SPG hotels and this is one of my favorites. It's right on the beach and the club lounge is amazing during the hours that it is open. The food is filling and the beer/wine is great. The only recommendation I have for this hotel is that, as a Platinum member I normally get 2 free water bottles in the room but this hotel didn't have any in the room. The lounge also does not allow access to water bottles during off hours, which is also unusual because I can normally grab a water bottle from club lounges at any time. Aside from that, this hotel is a great one to stay at! May 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lots of potential Wonderful location. Beautiful exterior. Sadly met by a number of problems. The air conditioner did not work properly. Even after approaching the front desk staff we were left with an air conditioner that failed to cool down the room as we had programmed it. We were later told that the room a/c is controlled not by the switch in the room but by a master computer. After a restless night awakening with sweat, we were upgraded to a lovely suite by an efficient and courteous manager. I am sad to say that this only occurred after being assured that the original concerned had been resolved. Overall, the hotel is quite lovely but our experience was marred by an uncomfortable and restless night. October 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff and service all week! Every year our company host retailers at the Moana Surfrider. The events staff lead by Brenda gets 5 stars! They are the best to work with in terms of organizing the events via email, hotel blocks, and being on hand to help with whatever we needed during the week. They went out of their way on so many occasions to make sure our group was taken care of. The waiters/waitresses and bartenders that worked during our event were so great too. I highly recommend hosting corporate events here at the Moana. Great organized staff that meets all your needs. The whole hotel staff in general is very sweet and have all worked there for a lot time. Everyone is so nice and has the best customer service!! December 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by fantastic hotel - relaxing holiday Both my wife and myself enjoyed our stay at the Moana Surfrider as we were looking for a place to stay to relax and recover from a busy year. Loved our beach view Tower room, and enjoyed our morning coffee and afternoon drinks sitting on the patio watching the beautiful views and listening to the music at the beach bar. The great thing about the hotel is that it is a boutique style hotel which means we could relax and enjoy the environment without the hussle and noise of a bigger hotel. Enjoyed sitting on the beach on the banana lounges every day, however would of liked to enjoyed the poolside as well if there were enough lounges and umbrellas available to do so. Other than that everything else was enjoyable and perfect for a good relaxing getaway. We felt like honeymooners again. Certainly would recommend this beautiful hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing and quite hotel with great service and perfect location. August 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stayed for corp event Was thrilled to see overall property upon arrving. This hotel is so spot on for enjoyment when it comes to their restaurant, rocking chairs to people watch/relax, piano bar/bar furniture but it just doesn't carry through outside on the patio area. The menus are so old/dirty I didn't even want to touch them...and I left due to the lack of service. BUT on the other hand I spent an evening out there just having a cocktail and the singer was excellent. Robes are delicious in room but the hotel towels (and beach towels) need to be updated. If they fixed these items, the hotel would be so much nicer. May 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location While the overall property was good, our rooms location was awful. It was small and we faced a vvery busy street that woke us adult around 5 a.m. Staff is incredibly friendly and attentive. If you want to have a spot on the beach you have one of two choices... Pay the $35 per day chair/umbrella fee or go buy yourself your own...probably cheaper. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay! Despite a number of non-positive comments and the somewhat average rating (3.8 / 5) on this website, I have nothing but good things to say about the hotel, all staff and platinum recognition. Our room was immaculate and the housekeeping excellent - as soon as we left each morning our room was quickly made up and refreshed whenever we called. All requests were quickly accommodated and the platinum continental breakfast was better than that of many other SPG properties. From lunchtime to late evening there was live entertainment in one or more venues of the hotel making for a very relaxing stay. November 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pool staff is lacking but great location Perfect location in Waikiki. The pool staff was below average and usually rude. They hassled my wife (36 years old) to show her ID to buy a drink EVERY time (we stayed for 7 nights and it's a small pool). We stay at lots of resorts and this is the first time this has happened to her. She was worried about losing her ID and not being able to fly home. Otherwise, the staff at the pool was invisible. We had to walk to the bar each time to get a $12.00 Mai Tai that the bartenders pour short. The beach at the hotel is excellent. Food was good and waiters were very nice. Maid service was good. Hotel is really beautiful. Rooms are very nice. If not for the location I would definitely NOT recommend. November 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Favorite Waikiki Hotel! I travel to Hawaii often and this is always my favorite hotel. Classy and beautiful teeming with historical features yet the towers are modern and comfortable. Added benefit is having great restaurants and Honolulu coffee on site! This is a top destination for weddings. Beautiful ancient Banyan trees adorn the ocean front property. I only wit push the rates were lower as sometime me sits outside my corporate limit. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Moana Excellent renovation of the fist and oldest hotel in Waikiki - beautiful historic renovation and very comfortable rooms August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Stay As a Platinum member with Starwood I've seen and experienced many Starwood properties. While each location has always met specific Starwood qualities - this resort stood out. From arrival and greeting from valet to check-in to check-out the experience was fantastic. The staff here really seem to go above and beyond - I'd like to specifically call out Janice at the front desk - as she really went out of her way to make sure our stay was as pleasant as possible. Another amazing perk specifically for Platinum members is their beach club - great quality and selection for breakfast and appetizers/drinks. This is a new program - please keep it going!! Thank you, I will be back in 3 weeks for business. December 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Standard Service I have always wanted to stay at the Moana Surfrider. Now that we finally have, I wasn't as impressed as I thought I would have been. The general service met my expectations. The valet and bell staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. I was planing a sunrise breakfast for my husband and two sons but was disappointed that I wasn't able to get any assistance in making this special surprise. Unfortunately, room service does not open until 6am at which time, we would already be at the beach in front of the premises and they were unwilling to deliver my room service order other than the room we are registered at. I asked if I could meet them at the room around 6:15 but that I would need help getting the food to the beach and was told this was not possible. I was hoping for the little extra mile but didn't find it here. Definitely fulfilled the standard service but unlikely to get the "exceptional." Had also hoped for poolside service but it wasn't available, it would have been nice not to have to take my children out of the pool whenever I needed something from the bar. August 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Accomodations vs Restaurants / Service Location is great. Hotel and room are great, although my friend indicated his room was in need of an update, and was very small (cramped 2 twin bed room). Why I actually decided to write a review (not like me) is because of my experience at the restaurants. The food was very mediocre (and very pricey) and the service was absolutely horrible. I ordered a $50 filet and it came out cold about 10 minutes before the rest of my parties entrees. I sent it back to be reheated... they gave me a new one, which came back mooing rare (I ordered medium rare). All food was served luke warm... Dinner took 2-3 hours (not because we were enjoying it). Can't say one good thing about the restaurants. (tried them both) January 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bathrooms and housekeeper issues The bathroom has no fan or ventilation and the closet is in the bathroom. Ones clothes gets wet from all the steam and humidity from the shower which is annoying. The housekeeper didn't replace the toiletries for 3 days. There was 4 of us and she simply forgot or neglected. Had to call to request more. Basic service not up to standard. Not expected from Westin, especially in Hawaii. Disappointing. August 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room was very small and view was poo We arrived at the hotel and our room was very small and we ask fior and upgrade. We couldn't even pass by each other in the room without running into each other. The bathroom was very small and only had a shower. Only room for one person at a time. We couldn't get a moved to another one of the resorts hotels even on another island!! We didn't want our money back we just wanted to be moved. So we decided to just pay for another hotel on another island. All was not lost you did have a great spa!! I just hate that this was our trip that we save for and we were very disappointed!! Thanks July 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, excellent location This is a very beautiful hotel in an excellent location in Waikiki. Our room was nice and had a side view of the ocean. I would have preferred a better view. Being an SPG Gold member, I would have hoped to be upgraded to a room with a better view. I used my Starpoints to stay here. I didn't like that I was charged a high daily resort fee when I was using A LOT of points to stay there! I also did not like that they charge for beach chairs and umbrellas when I was being charged a daily resort fee. There weren't very many chairs around the pool and you had to get up super early to get a chair. They have an outdoor restaurant that takes up much of the space near the pool. It would be nice to make more space for chairs around the pool. Besides those few annoying things, everything else was wonderful. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect! This was the perfect location and stay for us. We had attentive staff (in-room dining, service express, front desk, beach bar, Veranda, pool) as well as an uber comfortable room. As a frequent Waikiki visitor (even though I'm local), I can appreciate the great location with close proximity to everything. While I had breakfast and drinks in the hotel (BTW, Veranda breakfast is probably one of the greatest and best-known deals in all of Waikiki at $30 for buffet with an ocean view in the most historic building in Waikiki), I was also able to walk easily to some of my other favorite spots: Hula Grill, Gyu-kaku, Genius Lounge, Arancino di Mare, Duke's, Edge Bar, Mai Tai Bar, Yogurtland, the list goes on...) October 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous service Fabulous service and venue for a holiday. This place is right on the beach and in a fantastic spot close to all the shops. The breakfast included with the room is awesome with a full cooked or continental option. The rooms are absolutely spotless with a toilet that has a seat warmer and cleans at the same time! Customer service is second to none with the staff always obliging to assist you. There is a complimentary room to shower in if you check out and have to spend the day in town before your flight out you can use the room. Very impressed indeed will stay here again April 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by 0ld Hawaii Feeling Recalls the color and ambiance of the early 1900s in Hawaii August 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by enjoyed our stay the service was excellent with one exception; we ate at the beach bar 3 times and each time the service was very poor. first time it took 45 minutes to get our food and the other two times we sat for an extended time before anyone acknowledged us. the 3rd time i waited for our bill as the waiter could not be found and no one else could gives us a bill. the entire staff appears to be poorly managed. This did not extened to the restaurant where the service was excellent. Front desk, bell hop, valet, etc were all very good. the location is exceptional and the Moana is beautiful. March 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice experience, overall Overall the hotel is very nice. The rooms in the main hotel are a little small for two people and do not match the spacious adjective mentioned in their ads. The staff outside of the front desk were very attentive and helpful. The front desk staff at check in, during the stay and check out were not very attentive. We waited in line despite two other staff being at the front desk, not on phones or appearing to attend to other activities. They did not make eye contact or even say they were busy and would be with us shortly. Made for a frustrating start and end of our vacation. March 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by no would not recommend see my comments below August 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good balcony view The best 2 things i can say about my stay at this hotel was, #1, the nice balcony view of the ocean, #2 the cool electric toilet/bidet combination heated toilet. That was quite a suprise. But it did not make up for the out of date room furnishings. The room was really in need of a face lift, the pool was the smallest pool i have ever seen at beach resort, it looked like something you would find a a very small apt complex. It is a $50 charge to use beach chairs and very few pool chairs were available, since it was so small. The lobby of the hotel however was very beautiful. September 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by great location with mediocre service Checked in during week of July 4th. Hotel itself was nice enough with great access to the beach. I had a city view room which was clean but small. Balcony was very nice. Hotel didn't recognize my platinum status and I found service to be mediocre to poor. I had an issue with my invoice and they made me wait 25 minutes before speaking with me - I don't understand why six people behind the counter can only service one or two people at a time. Would not recommend if you're looking for top quality service. I found that because the hotel is so busy, staff take a very non-chalant attitude. Definitely not the type of service I expect from a Westin - given the premium location, I was expecting to be wowed in every way. July 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much Aloha at the Moana Surfrider I've stayed at the Moana Surfrider in Waikiki a half dozen times, but this visit was the best yet. Traveling with my daughter, niece and another young woman, I booked 2 rooms in the Tower with a City view. From my first interaction with the desk clerk, Irene, to our check out, Irene provided absolutely stellar service with a warmth and generosity not usually found in hotel staffs. She placed us in 2 lovely rooms, sent a birthday balloon arrangement for my daughter and did a number of other things to make our stay not only pleasant but memorable. I felt Irene went far beyond what was required, and I felt that our family established a personal relationship not only with her but with the Moana Surfrider. Many thanks!! September 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel looks great from the outside We got sent to the Diamond Wing of the hotel for $311 a night. I swear to you it was "Ghetto Fabulous." RM 3623 closet door fell off when I slid it open to put in our clothes, the towel racks in the bathroom were falling off from the weight of the towels on them, the corridors carpet was filty, dirty and threads coming loose. All the signs on our floor said Non-Smoking at the card readers, yet there were people smoking in their rooms. Can't believe they would do this. We complained and got another room in the center portion of the hotel on the 5th floor. Much better but still not worth the money. The bed was 12 inches from the front door to the room. You actually had to hop over the bed to get into the room. Room 550. November 5, 2012
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 25 next>>