Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 745 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Platinum status just doesnt matter here anymore. Obviously this hotel doesnt value the starwood preferred status. As a platinum member you just come to expect some things from starwood properties. Check in was great (except somehow we got skipped for the lais that the other guests seemed to get) we did get upgraded to a nice room which was awesome, as I park a car, I am ok with the resort fee. In the past at the resort when I have stayed we have had a welcome fruit basket, which I always thought was a nice touch of recognition, but as a business owner I understand cut backs and a changing economy. My bad experiences started with the free continental breakfasts that Platinum guests can now choose as there welcome ammenity. I honestly think the hotel resents giving this out. Our experiences over the first 3 days at breakfast just got progressively worse until I talked to the restaurant manager, then the guest services manager, and no one seemed to have any empathy or see anything wrong with the situation. Again as a business owner, I look at problems as an opportunity to fix the situation which is much better than letting the unhappy guest go away and stew. I found their response to be almost more disconcerning than the original problem (which in fairness they did comp the 2 days breakfasts that we were wrongly charged for) The issue wasnt about the price though for the breakfasts it was about how the restaurant made us feel through using the "coupons" and in each and every case it was far from being a valued platinum member. At a sister starwood property almost next door, the platinum guests get a platinum wrist band for special recognition and preferred seating at the restaurants, not treated like 2nd class citizens. March 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Just completed our 5th February stay at the Moana-Surfrider in Waikiki. We stayed 23 nights in the original part of the hotel on the Banyan Court side so we could hear the music. We have always found the hotel staff to be friendly, helpful, courteous and very accommodating. The Beach Club is wonderful. The locale is central to everything because we like to walk to places. We love this place! March 7, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Going downhill fast This hotel has gone downhill fast. My wife and I stayed there for our honeymoon four years ago and everything was fantastic. We went back last year and things were still pretty good, though we stayed in a city view room and it was incredibly loud. We went again this year (paying the extra for the ocean side Diamond Wing Room) and the hotel has gotten worse. First the good stuff: The staff is super friendly and helpful, especially the pool and bar staff (Lee, Isaac, Gloria and Clayt were awesome). The location cannot be beat and the beach chairs are nice and well spaced (as long you are willing to shell out the $50+$10 reservation +tip). They can be hard to get on busy weeks and reservations are only one day in advance, but if you plan properly, not a problem. They are expensive for beach chairs, but this is an expensive property and for those who can afford the rooms, the cost is well worth it. The rooms are definitely nicer since the renovation and the bathrooms are a huge upgrade. Also the in room coffee is good and there is a power strip provided to charge three to four devices at once (helpful when have an ipad and phone each). Now for the bad: We stay at the hotel because it is targeted towards higher end clientele and is supposed to be the nicest Starwood property in Waikiki, but it doesn't deliver to those standards anymore. My last two Starwood stays were at the W Scottsdale and W San Francisco. Similarly priced high end hotels, but those two properties delivered on expectations. The two thing I expect from a 4 star or better property are quality food and good maintenance. 1) The food at the hotel was terrible. We ordered room service twice and both times it was nearly inedible (except the fries which were very good). The tomato soup tasted like someone heated up a V-8 and the edamame were overcooked and mushy. The flat bread was cold but tasted like it was probably decent before the cheese congealed. The food at the Beach house (non-buffet breakfast) was equally subpar. The pork hash was burnt, the eggs tasted like they were from a carton, the yogurt was not as good as the Yoplait from the ABC market and there are pigeons that land on the tables and try to share your food. The only good item we had food wise was the Ahi Poke Nachos at the beach chairs. This wouldn't have been so bad, except that in prior years we have enjoyed the food at the hotel, particularly the beachhouse. 2) Maintenance/Cleanliness. I understand its an island and being on the beach makes maintenance hard, but this is a newly renovated room. The bed is "heavenly" but the pillows are terrible. They provide no support and they seemingly deflate when you lay on them. The diamond room is small, but it has a good view and room to sit and look at the water (the banyan City rooms are even smaller and two adults do not fit in it). Plus, how much time are you spending in room in hawaii anyways? The problem came with the cockroaches. First twenty minutes in the room we had a couple of small cockroaches. They came and sprayed and gave us a nice gift basket (weirdly the guy asked if i wanted "compensation" for the roaches after asking if i saved them so he could see them then seemed offended when i said I would accept it since he offered). Then the roaches came back, we didn't even bother to call after that and just killed the ones we saw. Also, the shower dripped and was sloped improperly so that the water pooled on one side of the shower. There was also little thought to where a two humans could put their toiletries as the shelves don't hold a normal toiletry bag. The shaving mirror is no where near the sink and it was coming off the wall. The air conditioner won't come on with the lanai door open (smart idea for conservation) but the sensors didn't work right so the air conditioner wouldn't come on the first few times we closed the door. 3) Lack of SPG info. On checking in with our SPG Gold we were not given any indication of the property specific benefits, and only learned by overhearing another couple that we were supposed to be getting a discount on our pool chairs. Also, free internet means nothing as a it is included in the resort fee (which has increased to include parking, at a different hotel no less, even though almost no one parks at the hotel. If you valet you have to pay for the parking. There was also no preferential room location (we were stuck on the lowest floor), though there was a faster check in line. 4) lack of thought process in operating/designing a hotel. I have some experience in developing hotels so I know that this is much easier than hotels make it out to be. When you have an ocean front hotel you expect that people will sleep with the doors open to hear the ocean. That means you do not roll carts past their windows every morning at 5 am on the stone paths, or if you have to roll the carts outside instead of through the hotel, get rubber wheels so they roll quietly instead of the loud rattling of hard plastic wheels. When you put a king bed and dresser in and the only place to put a room service cart is on the other side of the room, there should be enough room to get the cart through without picking up the cart. If you are going to have no ice machine on a floor signs would be nice (i had to ask housekeeping and maintenance and they had to go find it as they didn't even know that it was on a different floor). 5) beyond their control, but the surfider was the only hotel in Hawaii that was able to serve alcohol on the sand (at the aforementioned beach chairs). This past year the state refused to renew that permission and now the beach chairs lose some of their appeal. The bar is nearby and the bartenders are fun, but with little to no ocean view you now can't just sip a cocktail or beer while getting some sun. Huge loss in terms of the uniqueness of the property. All in all, we are presented with a dilemma. We have a nostalgic attachment to the hotel, but unless it improves I don't see how we can go back there. The hotel is still marginally better than most in Waikiki, but it is far pricier. The high end appeal is just not there and if we are going to get a mediocre hotel experience then why pay top rates. February 22, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Suggestions 1. Bathroom ceiling had mold over entrance door that was growing during our stay. 2. On our first full day we left the room at 7am and it wasn't made up until 2:30-inconvenient. 3. The main reason we go to the Moana Surfrider is for the relaxed island atmosphere. No longer does the back porch offer that relaxation. There are 2 or 3 computers set up at each high top table doing business, while people are talking loudly on cell phones in the lounge chairs. there was even a man pacing back and forth under the Banyan tree while on a business call on his bluetooth. I could not read my book or a newspaper with all the business going on. I felt like I was in New York. I come to Hawaii to relax, not to listen to overwrought techies. It ruined the Banyan Courtyard serenity. Put them in their own room! This is our 8th stay at Surfrider. February 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not an SPG hotel I am writing this review as a current SPG platinum guest, and solely based upon my experiences of this this stay. The hotel itself is great and the hotel in general has been very well at the upkeep. As a platinum member I am disgusted at the level of recognition offered. The fast that the $25+ resort fee covered much of what I should be entitled to, and that a few of the amenities have not been offered to me, seems to be a rip off. I am essentially paying for self parking, which I do not have. They have not even placed the "two bottles of water" in my hotel room that I am supposed to receive at all. The hotel and the rooms are clean, and my room appears to be clean. There was a used condom on the floor next to my bed when I checked in, this to me was so disgusting. This is something that should not be easily overlooked. Highly unacceptable. The second night I placed the card on my bed to have my sheets replaced, seeing as there were stains and tears on the sheets fitting my bed. The replaced all my sheets except the fitted one. Also highly unacceptable. Tonight, after having a cocktail party, I requested turndown service. I returned to my room at 9:15pm and nothing was done. Also highly unacceptable. My room overlooks the pool area and has a band until 10:30pm. My first night I called and asked to be moved to a quieter room and I was told there was nothing available. I do not believe this for a second. I took a second Ambien and I eventually fell asleep. Granted I wanted to go to bed at 9pm because of jet lag. Tonight I planned on a dinner at the hotels restaurant. When I enquired about reservations in the morning I was told it would be no problem, I could come at any time. When we showed up, we were told there was an hour wait for five people. Two people left so we could get a decent table. The manager of the restaurant got three of us in fast, but this put a big cramp in my evening. our sever was good, but clearly used to the push them through fast service of a big hotel. This is definitely not specialty dining. The pool is over crowded and the only way to get a place to relax after 10am when all the chars are taken is to spend $50 for beach chairs. If you are coming to this hotel for an SPG experience seem another hotel. If you are coming here and want something on the beach and nice rooms then this is a good place. May 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed - Third time is not a "charm" I grew up on Oahu and every time I return "Home", I have high expectations of this hotel. This is my third stay at the hotel and is the worst one so far. First, when I checked in I wasn't told that it was a handicapped accessible room. Second the bathroom showed a large patch of rust. Third, the shower design resulted in water flowing throughout the bathroom. Every morning I had to order an extra 5 bath mats to soak up the water. I contacted SPG and send pictures of the rust. The hotel offered to move me, but how do you move a family of four (including girls - 7 & 10) without disrupting our schedule. I would have thought I would have been treated better since I've stayed there two previous times. FYI, I don't usually complain or write these reviews, but I was so disappointed that I had to do it. July 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely but silly add ons Great hotels don't nickel and dime you. I was as a platinum lifetimes offended by the 25.00 resort charge for things I am supposed to get free anyway. insult that more and you pay 50.00 to sit on the beach with an overcrowded pool area. Just outrageous, but the rooms ar lovely in the tower and the staff did try to go the extra mile. March 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location, Great Staff! I stayed at the Moana Surfrider for the first time in January. I arrived early (prior to standard check-in time) and to my surprise, the front desk agent was able to find an available room for me! She was very pleasant and efficient. The room was lovely, location perfect, and overall experience wonderful. The housekeeping ladies on the 2nd floor, restaurant servers, bell staff and Frank with the valet team, were all very welcoming, professional, courteous, and emulated the Aloha spirit. I will definitely come back to this timeless, historical hotel right on Waikiki Beach! February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Stay!!! I'm a Lifetime SPG Platinum who stays in Starwood properties throughout the world. From the moment I checked in with Irene at the front desk and spoke with Aki the concierge, I knew they would do everything possible to insure a perfect stay and they did. The new Tower rooms have been completely renovated and are very luxurious and a good size for Honolulu. The ocean and diamond head views are incredible. The Veranda restaurant and pool food and service were very good and Peter our breakfast server and Hayes at the pool were excellent. I've stayed in this hotel on four or five occasions since it has become a Westin and overall this was the best stay yet. March 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Moana The service I come to expect from Star Woods was lacking at this property. For example a room booked for two beds several months ago was unable to be fulfilled. We were told there wasn't a bed available. Several phone calls later they were able to locate a rollaway bed to put in our room. Next, the bathroom has mold in the shower. Another issue the air conditioning did not work properly. Then we go reserve an umbrella and there isn't one available. We tried to reserve one at 8 am still not available. We had a $10 umbrella credit. So we tried to apply it to the beach chairs we Rented. Unable to do that!! Then we get over billed for those!! August 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Save your money I had always wanted to stay at this hotel after living on Oahu and I can't believe how disappointed I am. The front desk staff were not personable at all and seemed irritated that I was checking in. I was so put off that I came back later to ask my questions to a different receptionist who was more approachable. There hasn't been a single mention of what the resort fee even covers and as far as I can tell it just covers parking. The worst part is the lack of soundproofing in the city view rooms. I get that it's an old hotel but it doesn't even seem like they tried to make it less noisy. We haven't slept since we checked in. It's almost like you're sleeping in the middle of kalakaua ave. At the price of this hotel I expected way better. At least the two star hotel I stayed at on Kuhio ave. provided guests ear plugs. Save your money and stay elsewhere. February 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Right in the mix of all the action. Very clean hotel nice staff. The rooms are a little small but it is an older hotel. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel has everything Once again our experience at the Moana Surfrider was exceptional , staff at check in great. We booked the Banyan Club which is new to the hotel, it was comfortable, food was good for breakfast and the beer wine and nibbles were great at night. love love love this place. This is our 6th year in a row and it is amazing how many people have been coming here year after year to me this says something , keep up the excellent standards Westin. June 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Favorite Waikiki Hotel without question! The Moana Surfrider has the unique charm and architectural intrigue you might expect from the iconic First Lady of Waikiki, but the staff really make this property shine. Maitre D's and Bellman that have worked there for 30+ years truly love their jobs and care about their guests. The restaurant is outstanding, the beach amenities are perfect and the value for the Resort Fee is more than fair. The only two negatives are that the bathroom is a bit small in the heritage building- but that is to be expected. The greatest drawback quite frankly are the other guests who seem to have an incredible sense of entitlement. The complaining I heard about having to wait for a table at breakfast during peak times, or the lack of chairs at the pool during Christmas vacation was outrageous and embarrassing. The staff at this property are sincere, helpful and deserve a medal for dealing with their impatient and rude customers! January 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Misleading website and poor service This hotel has some great features. The problem is that there are very different wings, and the website does not disclose that the wings are *vastly* different. The best wing is newly renovated and has that old-school charm, while the Diamond Wing feels like a two star motel that was appended to the hotel. The rooms are badly in need of repair, and yet the hotel charges high rates because they offer ocean front views. When I checked in, the front desk refused to give me an ocean front room in any wing other than the dilapidated Diamond wing. I complained and (finally) reached a manager, but she was unconcerned and simply offered 5000 Starpoints. The hotel was overbooked, and there was a long line of unhappy customers. Although the front desk clerks said they would follow up by trying to find a room at a sister hotel, they failed to do so. I ended up checking out and booking a room at a nicer hotel. In short, I would not go back. June 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Charming Historical Hotel The Westin Moana Surfrider is a very charming and classic hotel. I visited the hotel for New Year's and enjoyed my stay. The rooms in the historic wing are small, but comfortable. The bathroom was small but had a great shower (no tub.) The heavenly beds always make for a good night's sleep, but unfortunately that was hard on New Year's Eve with the party going on in the courtyard directly under my room. That withstanding, the rest of my stay was great. The hotel recently opened the Beach Club lounge and it's open to platinum members. The club is very big and has outdoor seating directly in front of the beach. It's a great place to relax and get snacks. I would return to the Westin, just not for New Years. January 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Great Stay Right from the start at arrival with a greeting at the front door, I knew this was going to be another good stay at the Moana. It feels so good to be back and see the same familiar faces of staff, many of whom will also remember you in spite of dealing with thousands of other guests throughout the year. I noticed right away that the beautiful flower arrangements in lobby are back and the whole property is looking as good as ever. Very gracious and helpful front desk to accommodate a couple of requests I had made. Thanks Gloria and Mo and staff at the beach services, relaxing under an umbrella at the beach is made so very easy by these people and the wonderful beach bar staff that will run a cool refreshment out to you. Caught a few sunsets at the Beach Bar with family and friends, ahh, so nice. Had some wonderful food as well, coconut waffles in the morning are great and I can personally recommend the pomegranate glazed lamb chops, they were delicious. Overall, I love the Moana for its history, staff, and location in the heart of Waikiki. Relax on the inside and action on the outside. Thanks for a great stay. February 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Memorable Vacation Whether you’re travelling on business or for pleasure, the Moana Surfrider is the “perfect” hotel for you. My family and I returned last Friday after a week-long vacation in Honolulu. We upgraded our room to a Tower Suite and felt it was worth every cent! The ambiance is perfect, the room was clean and the staff was extremely attentive. I must, however, call your attention to two outstanding individuals who made our stay at the Moana Surfrider so much more enjoyable --- Roxanne Hashim (Guest Services) and Karen (Beach Club Lounge - a great addition!). The service Roxanne and Karen provided during our stay was exceptional. They are friendly and dedicated – the consummate professionals. I have stayed at many hotels across the U.S. and found most of them to be quite accommodating and the staff generally friendly. However, both Roxanne and Karen have far outpaced every one of them. Their “can-do” attitude and responsiveness are what set the Moana Surfrider apart. Also, given her extremely busy schedule, Roxanne personally checked in on us to ensure that our needs were met. Simply put, the service at this hotel is First Rate! I would definitely recommend the Moana Surfrider to friends and family, and I am certain I’ll be back on an annual basis and hope to get the same quality of service when we return. I wish everyone at the Moana Surfrider all expanding success as they continue the traditions of serving their community and the traveling public. “The First Lady of Waikiki” deserves to shine and be proud forever. Surely it will do so in Roxanne’s and Karen’s care. Kudos Roxanne! Thank you again for all you've done for us. Undoubtedly, I will be in touch to schedule our return in 2015. And Karen, we still love papayas! October 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Charming Waikiki Hotel Loved the opportunity for early check in and offers to upgrade when we arrived. Front desk staff excellent help and cheerful even with our flight changes and arrival time changes. Incredible view from 19th floor and loved the 4th of July there. Loved the quaintness and charm of the historic lady on the beach- thanks for your preservation . Success with blending the historic charm and more modern amenities I have become spoiled by. Love the Banyan tree and the Veranda for breakfast- thank-you. Hope to visit again from the mainland at least once more! Jill July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best beach side hotel! I made advanced reservation over 3 months ahead I'm glad I did. Hotel was fully booked because of four weddings on my 5 days stay there. Besides being SPG Gold and check-in early, I also paid small upgrade fees to get double beds with partial oceanview on 7th floor. It's really worth it, just do all you can to get oceanview room, it's really gorgeous and worth it. Only down side is there's no parking lot and you must park across street with its sister hotel chain. Besides that everything is perfect and for sure will stay here again next time I come back. April 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pool chairs The amount of chairs around the pool to sunbathe was very unsatisfactory.It seems apparent to have less chairs available so you would have to rent one for 50$ a day and increase even more revnue despite my over 300$ nightly rate. Having being told by a pool /towel attendant to have to show up at 650 am to get a towel for 7 am to reserve a chair is a bit over the top while on vacation.It took 4 days to actually get a chair by the pool since 9 am was to late to be able to work out and eat breakfast .Further more the method being used to hold chairs is not being enforced although I was refered on my 4 day of actually getting a chair.The Westin policy of reserving a chair.This was a major disapointment for me.On two occasions we went to Dukes for breakfast simply because it was very good and more affordable than the westin.The amount of pool chairs far out numbered the westin chairs by the pool and will be a major consideration next time im in Waikiki.Being a starwood prefered member was not enough to keep me satisfied with 300$a night and waite 4days to sunbathe with out paying 50$extra of lay on the sand with my back after back surgery. February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Ocean Front View At the time of my booking I mentioned it was my husbands birthday. When we checked into our room, I opened the bar fridge and to my surprise found a plate full of delicious fancy chocolate with a chocolate enscribed "Happy Birthday" on the plate. WOW! I had forgotten that I had mentioned it but they remembered! I would highly recomend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience Waikiki at it's finest. The staff shone with Aloha Spirit and were so helpful. The view from our room was breathtaking, the bed and pillows were delicously comfortable. November 16, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrid Experience, but hopefully a rare one Our stay at the Surfrider was grossly disappointing (and I hope rare) and my worst ever at a Starwood property. 1) The concierge and activities desk repeatedly gave us incorrect/outdated information and the companies they "endorse" for activities were disappointing, over priced to market and certainly not checked-up on (e.g. pearl harbor and haunama bay). 2) It's logical but BEWARE, due to the age of the building any "city view" window pours in noise from the busy street below. Facilities hasn't even bothered with installing insulation on windows. 3) We booked a city view king and received a queen - we had a party of two rooms and it was unmistakable that while two king's were booked - they weren't equal 4) Floor plan was poorly layed out: TV couldn't be viewed from bed and bathroom door couldn't be opened without awkward manuevering. Finally as SPG Gold I found loyalty treatment horrid. We were effectively given no property benefits outside what's already granted under the mandatory $25 resort fee. I asked for, then even offered to pay for upgrades and was told no rooms were available. This clearly not so as I verified the ability to book three other rooms options by looking online. Lastly, their rented beach chairs were a joke. No matter when you show up, full rental price is required and sunset wasn't until 6:50 but we had to give up our chairs at 5:30 because the beach office closed then. Sorry Starwood, but I'll be recommending anything but the Surfrider for a Waikiki stay. September 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Splendidly Evocative of Old Hawaii I cannot imagine a more superb location or delightful atmosphere than those provided by the Moana Surfrider. Sitting in a rocking chair on the front verandah watching the world go by, enjoying hula under the magnificent Banyan tree at sunset, dining on the gorgeous terrace overlooking the Pacific...these are some of my finest Hawaiian souvenirs. The recently renovated rooms are upbeat but still respectful of the hotel's great heritage. Being greatly interested in Hawaiiana, I loved the small museum dedicated to the hotel's history and my only regret is that the historic tour is not offered on a more frequent basis as I was unable to join one. March 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, nice hotel Was disappointed that despite booking 6 months in advance our request for a balcony was not accommodated. Also we stayed here on our honeymoon, no rose petals on the bed or wine etc to congratulate us and thank us for choosing to have our honeymoon there. I thought that gesture was standard in most luxury hotels? I guess not. The room was small and very basic but the bed comfort and shower was wonderful. No bottle opener or anything in the room besides 2 glasses. A couple of times our room was not cleaned that well but it was peak period so we overlooked this. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back there. The location cannot be beaten. January 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel that needs help The staff is really 1st rate and the location is second to none. If we return to Waikiki, this is where i want to stay, but they will need to spend a few more dollars on the maintainence of the rooms. We stayed in the Towers and the bathtub re-finish was peeling off and looking like a tub in a cheap hotel. Also the wall tiles were stained and not appealing for a 5 star hotel. Grout was missing from the floor tiles and what was there was discolored with ground in dirt. Please attend to these things so we will chose to return. November 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely noise rooms and unhelpful staff in resolving issues We just checked in last night for a weekend of relaxation and rest by the ocean. The rooms are nice/clean, but we immediately noticed the extremely high street noise level in the room. The bands on the street and busses/cars mind as well have been playing in the room or driving directly through the room. I approached the front desk staff at 3 separate times about the issue, and they were completely unable to help. I understand they may be booked and not have any alternatives, but the answer was simply a "sorry nothing we can do" and then they presented me with a map of the street and suggested that I check out one of the other non-Starwood properties on the block. As a loyal Starwood member for years, it completely rattles my faith in the brand to have employees suggesting competitor hotels as the only solution to issues. This hotel is by no means up to the Westin standard that I have come to know and love. I would save your money and stay somewhere else, and if you have points you are hoping to use... stay somewhere else and use them on spa services or something instead (maybe another Starwood property in the area?). January 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice on outside, dumpy on inside I had seen the lobby and beach view of the Moana Surfrider on other visits to Honalulu, and thought it was lovely. When we got our room (after waiting in line 20 minutes) it was horrible!! The decor was old and beat up, the bathroom was miniscule and very old fashioned, and the balcony did not have any chairs to sit on. We asked (and paid for) and ocean view, but the courtyard below had an event taking place with lights and noise--so you could not look out on the ocean. We cut our stay there short. November 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Very disappointing. Bed arrangements booked through travel agency apparently not "confirmed" by the hotel. My friend and I were given a room with one bed instead of the two doubles we had requested months earlier. One of us slept on what the hotel called a "day bed" which was really a window sill with a cushion. Tower city-view rooms are in dire need of updating and cleaning. They are well-worn and certainly not "luxury" rooms. Front desk staff is slow and inconsistent. Another friend was told she could have late check-out confirmed; others were told that none was available. Wait time at the front desk can exceed 20 mins. Lobby is noisy and cramped. August 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel The Moana is filled with old world charm and modern convienences. The tower rooms are spacious compared to the historic rooms. I have stayed in both. I really like the character of the historic rooms....but you have to know what you are getting....you have to want a cozy room with character. If you want more space and a lanai then book a tower room. Historic rooms with 2 beds are much larger than a historic room with a queen. Any city view room can be a bit noisy...if you are a light sleeper you may want to keep that in mind. Nothing beats sitting on the rockers on the front lanai or listening to music at night on the back lanai. It is paradise on earth. August 23, 2013
  • 2015-03-28T17:43:36.202-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_745, tr_745
  • loc_en_US, sid_374, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>