The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

  • 2259 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 515 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful! I have stayed at the Royal for many years and in recent years have been staying in a Tower room. As always I was not disapointed, my stay was wonderful. I did however have a few issues this trip but they were dealt with immediatley and rectified. However, housekeeping did lock me out on the lanai one day and that confirmed my thoughts that the lania was not being swept or cleaned on a daily basis. Despite this my love of the Royal Hawaiian remains and I will be back next year! November 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful Old Lady I love this hotel, the gardens, the wonderful beach front, and the way its old, elegant past has been preserved. Unfortunately, I had to rate it much lower than I would like because there was no "do not disturb" sign in our room, and after a red-eye flight from Tokyo we really wanted to sleep. Finally, we had someone bring us a sign for the door, but then late-night music made it impossible to sleep. After three nights at the hotel we were glad to go somewhere else to rest. May 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Air conditioning noise Whilst my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you, we were continually woken up all through the night when the air conditioner turned itself on and off. I am a light sleeper, but have never heard such a noisy air conditioner. Perhaps something could be done about this. Secondly, we ate breakfast in the dining room most days, and whilst it was very expensive, I am not complaining about that. I was annoyed that on 4 separate occasions we SPECIFICALLY ordered toast and bacon and poached eggs only - nothing else - no salad, roesti, etc, and yet we kept on getting the full breakfast. This may sound trivial, but it was annoying, and not the sort of service you expect for the price and the specific instructions. However, on a more positive note, I would like to say that overall we had a great stay. Your concierges were terrifically helpful, particularly Monica, who gave us a lovely little book on the history of the hotel to read on the plane home. Thank you for the opportunity to pass this on to you. Robin Jackson September 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The luxurious and elegant Royal Hawaiian Resort at Waikiki The Royal Hawaiian Hotel and Resort on Waikiki beach emulates pure luxury in every sense of the description. The fine dining, Mai Tai Bar, pool, spa, beach lounges, luxurious lounges, shops, tours, Consigier service and especially our room made our vacation exemplary and memorable. The hospitality and service were superb. Mahalo! September 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our stay was most enjoyable Having stayed in the Royal Hawaiian over 20 years ago it was wonderful to find that the look, style and service were as I remembered. It is has retained it's classic feel while offering modern ammenities. The lobby, restaurants and rooms are beautiful and the staff for the most part goes out of their way to make your experience memorable. It was disappointing to be charged separately to use the beach chairs and umbrellas. This should be built into the daily resort fee. November 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay at RH We loved the facilities at RH. The services are excellence from the door bell guys, concergeries to restaurant staff and the pool sides. One comment: The Check-in/out Staff are not so called friendly (not all of them), my guess is perhaps it's busy here at RH. I love the Check-In/Out Staff at St Regis, Princeville. September 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful stay at a lovely hotel I would have given this hotel a 5 star rating, if it weren't for the bathrooms. We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2bathroom suite. The suite for lovely and huge. There was plenty of closet space and the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. For such a large room, I expected a comparable bathroom. The bathroom was very small in both rooms. There was very little room to room or for toiletry items. I usually did my makeup in the room. This is my only complaint. January 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great break in Paradise This was our third stay at the Royal Hawaiian and we weren't disappointed. We had a very comfortable king size room overlooking the gardens and which was very private. The bed was the best we have ever slept in and the pillows were fantastic. The staff were excellent and we enjoyed our breakfasts each day in the Surf Lanai. We also ate at the Mai Tai Bar and at Azure, their wonderful seafood restaurant. We are hoping to return again in the not too distant future. October 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing service this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in beautiful clean rooms every day amazing staff that went beyond their duty to ensure that everything was perfect fantastic restraurnt on site that would happily modify menus for us beautiful gardens and an amazing view from our tower room we woke up every morning and could see the beautiful beach from our bed amazing hotel with lots of history !!!! August 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Luxury and Romantic We are 2 adults and 2 children (6 years and 3 years). Our room was Royal Tower Loft Sweet. We requested two beds and an extra bed, and they kindly set them to the room. The room had two shower rooms and two bathrooms. The room has a large veranda. The breakfast of Surf Lanai was so nice. You can select many from the menu. My recommendations are waffle or eggs benedict. Mai Tai bar was also nice. August 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Royal Hawai'i (Pink Palace) I had great customer service. The concierge, Sidney, assisted me and my son make reservations for excellent tour packages; Chester, offered me great service in the restaurant. I was also very impressed with the bar tender who was able to help me make meal selections. I had a very positive experience with the Pink Palace and I will recommend it. August 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's still the people After years of returning to The Royal, we find that no matter what it's the staff that make all the difference. The facility, surroundings, and view are great too, but the friendly and warm staff make it feel like we are returning home. Once we sit down at the MaiTai Bar, it's Susan, Derek, AJ, Vince, Kekoa, Reid, Nicole, Chris, Bryden, Shane, Cheryl, Candido, Peter, Kui...they are the ones who make this place special! No other hotel in town is like it!!! March 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Looking forward to my return Stayed here in December 2010 after stopping by for drinks only in 2009 at the Mai Tai Bar and vowed to return and stay! My experience here was outstanding: the Mai Tai Bar - my second home. Seriously, the best anywhere. The bartenders were amazing; however, Reid makes the best Mai Tais ever and Susan is an outstanding representative at Mai Tai Bar too.! Dinner at Azure: simply the best food and service. WOW. I love every aspect of this hotel. Thank you! February 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Memorable anniversary vacation trip The Royal Hawaiian is all I would expect in a hotel...beautiful with the 1920's look and yet thoroughly modern and updated beautiful rooms, lovely lobby décor (I specially love the rocking chairs overlooking the garden), beautiful lush & verdant gardens. The hotel crew are all wonderful with just the right amount of friendliness and professionalism. Starting with check in staff with a lei for both my husband and me plus the refreshing welcome drink, housekeeping staff to the crew at the Surf Lanai where our server Wynn was so nice & friendly. And at the Concierge desk Laurie Ann & Sidney were very helpful in sorting out my transportation snafu. I salute all your personnel for a job well done and making our 30th wedding anniversary vacation at the Royal Hawaiian truly memorable! Aloha and mahalo Royal Hawaiian Hotel! See you next year! September 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has greate location The beache make the hotel the most attractive September 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply the Best! When you close your eyes and think of Hawaii...visions of calm gardens, palm trees swaying in the tropical breeze, and an ocean with multi shades of blue fill your imagination. Add to that a historic hotel of magnificent beauty where the staff is attentive, respectful, and filled with the warmth of AlOHA.....and you have PARADISE! The Royal Hawaiian Hotel is the closest you will ever get to a place where your imagination is out done by reality! July 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location and Service Location of the Hotel is fantastic, with the beach on one side and restaurants and shops on the other side. Service of the staff is great. The room was spacious, with separate dining and living area, walk in closet, 2 TVs, coffee making facilities, sink and fridge. Free 1 hour international calls daily save us roaming charges. The banana bread given on arrival was delicious. Shops at the hotel had nice stuff. Perfect stay if one can afford it. August 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel Beautiful hotel, lovely grand proportions, wonderfully located on the beach at Waikiki. Also nice and quiet as it is set back from the street. Two minor bugbears - resort fee was poor value given that internet is free at most hotels trying to compete these days, and the concierge/front desk was understaffed (there was ALWAYS a wait regardless of the time of day I tried to get service - I got around this by getting served over the phone, much quicker!). The valet parking was useful to us, but our traveling companion didn't have a car and still paid. Otherwise, everything else on the list was not particularly desired. The other minor annoyance was the fact that there was only 1 small pool/hot tub onsite and it closed at 6pm - a little sad, fortunately I was busy enough shopping, eating and sight seeing to not want to spend a lot of time poolside! January 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is an oasis from busy and noisy Waikiki The approach to the hotel is picturesque. The ground are magnificent and the hotel decor is fitting to the tranquility that is Hawaii. However, the service is spotty. Check in was long and tedious. The room cleaning staff was fantastic. However, the dining staff needed training and lacked efficiency. Valet service had good and bad days..Room service was excellent. Overall, the hotel tried to personalize your visit and make you feel at home. January 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not worth the cost Beautiful grounds, but Not worth the money. Service was so-so, most of the staff seemed like they wanted to do the minimum of what they could get away with (with a couple bright exceptions). Rooms were not as clean as expected. The beach is so crowded and had more rude people than I have ever seen in one place at one time. Overall, did not even compare to other 4-5 star facilities that I have been to. Nothing really that special about it. January 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impeccable service The bell desk, housekeepers and Mai Tai Bar staff made our stay beyond memorable. Kawika, (bell desk) approached us right away and helped us with our bags while we checked in. He remembered that we were celebrating a birthday throughout our entire stay and would always ask how we were doing with a smile. Susan, (Mai Tai Bar) was so friendly and made the last day of our stay-cation most memorable with so many laughs, good food and drinks. July 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Well, it's beautiful? The hotel is gorgeous, all the staff is very nice. But in our three day stay this is what happened: Our TV broke, our garden view was a pink wall view. Five feet from our window was a pink wall. Really? Internet only worked part time. There was a disturbance on our floor during the night. There was a disturbance in the garden area that same night. couldnt see what it was because of the pink wall. We needed our car early morning for our trip home. They assured us it would be there, it wasn't. We had to track down a valet to get the car. At 4:30am? And, a small thing I know. We never got our banana bread welcome basket. We "reminded" them about it twice. Got two guarantees that it would be there but never got the basket. We had a room key "die". Another trip downstairs for that. I guess we expected more. But it's beautiful and the people are very nice. February 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Timeless beauty Grand hotel right on Waikiki that manages to simultaneously be in the heart of all the sights and be a perfect oasis. We were greeted with a delicious hibiscus tea cool beverage that was simply sublime. Our room was well appointed and large. Our only disappointment was the pool felt cramped nonetheless with Waikiki beach as your disposal we didn't mind the pool at all. Overall a wonderful hotel with great attentive staff. A true gem. October 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hard to find the location of the hotel I drove to find the hotel at night, but could not find it for the first time. Although I used my GPS, but it also did not tell me where the hotel was located. I drove around the area for about 20 min and finally find it after asking a question to some walking people. If there is a big traffic sign to be noticed easily at night, it will make easier for people to find the hotel and get the hotel more attractive. June 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The not so Royal Hawaiian The Royal Hawaiian offers a wonderful beachfront Waikiki location and Hawaiian nostalgia, but the facilities and rooms leave much to be desired. Although renovated to the tune of $80 million in 2008-09, the facilities and rooms are inadequate for a 'luxury collection' property. The property imposes a $37 resort fee which does include parking (a nice inclusion) but does not include use of beach chairs, those will come at a cost of $40-50 for the day which no service. The pool is among the smallest I've seen at any hotel, let alone a resort. Although guests have access to the Sheraton pool next door, it's over run with children and Sheraton guests. The rooms are in need of a refresh: dirty carpets, dated furnishings are not representative of a luxury experience in the range of $400+ per night. I wanted to love Royal Hawaiian as it is quintessential Hawaii,but I'd skip this property until they update the hotel once again and add another pool, additional bar (Mai Tai bar is inadequate for this size hotel) and inclusions that are on par with a luxury collection hotel. September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful experience Enjoyed our stay...we'll be back. September 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Location We chose this hotel from Ubookit.com and were very happy with the selection. We were pleasantly surprised with the history of the hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There is plenty of shopping and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. We were there through Christmas and found a Catholic Church within a 15 minute walking distance to the hotel. The staff was excellent and helped us with whatever needs we had. December 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has excellent service Our family of four spent a week at Royal Hawaiian in the "Historic Wing." The service and friendliness are beyond compare. The check in process started by sitting at a large desk and promptly receiving a cool towel, refreshing drink and sweet treat! We had our own nightly family games in the Coconut Grove. This is what "old" Hawaii must have been like, no hussle and bussle. So relaxing! I only wish our room had a balcony. September 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful/ Historical Hotel You Must See We had a wonderful experience at the Royal Hawaiian. The resort (historical wing) is beautiful. It's like stepping back in time but with modern amenities. You are steps away from the famous Roy's (a must for dinner) and shopping. The staff was more than friendly and helpful. The Mai Tia bar is great place to relax, have tasty drinks while watching the sunset...steps from the beach. The bartenders are fun and entertaining. August 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Things have changed 3rd visit, 1st since renovation. Stilll an oasis of tranquility and beautiful hotel, lost ambiance of bygone era present prior to renovation. No more room amenities such as slippers. AC in room was not adequate & maintenance could not provide more. Hotel did not follow-up to see if concerns addressed. $36 per day resort for nothing applicable + add'l $40 for beach umb. & 2 lounge chairs p/d, previously part of tariff. October 5, 2013
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 18 next>>