The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

  • 2259 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 559 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Glad I stayed here at least once Location is perfect...bell, room service, and concierge staff are great...food is incredible....fabulous wait staff....but room leaves something to be desired...no robe, TV did not work, ran out of wash clothes...had to make a few requests to housekeeping and concierge, but these glitches were resolved finally. February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pink Palace is Fantastic Second time staying here. Great hotel with wonderful and friendly staff. They exceeded my expectations for a resort vacation place. February 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Teririble WiFi For a property that purports to be one of the best, it's in room WiFi is one of the worst. 3rd World performance. Difficult to log into, slow, with non existent tech support. I had to coach the tech support on how to fix one of several problems (unexplained, unrequested log off in the middle of a usage session). Also got put on hold by tech support and the cut off twice. Just a terrible time wasting experience. talked to several other guests who experienced similar problems. They said they just gave up from frustration and used their smart phones. February 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay Perfect in almost every way . Beach services were outstanding; Azure still makes my mouth water; the public areas make you want to stay there forever and the staff was exceptional. The only gripe, and a minor one, is the internet connectivity which was, at times, flaky. February 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can I move in permanently? I had such a wonderful time at the Royal Hawaiian. The staff were always operating at 110%. Having valet parking is a must in Waikiki and they were always prompt with our car. The room was GORGEOUS! The products made me run downstairs and buy sets for all of my friends. I also went home with more hats from Newt's than my honey was expecting. I must have been a sight in the airport with all of my hat boxes! The Mai Tai bar was perfectly situated and was one of the best people watching locations on the island. After staying here,my new goal is how often I can come back. February 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rooms are noisy The hotel is excellently situated on Waikiki beach. The restaurant food and service was of very high quality. Concierge staff were knowledgable and very helpful. Housekeeping was meticulous and the bed very comfortable. The main criticism was the night time noise heard in my room. I could hear babies crying in other rooms on the floor, people loudly coming and going with doors opening and closing and conversations in other rooms were audible. The housekeeping staff are very noisy in the mornings. The hotel pool is small. February 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service Excellence I came here for an early Valentine's since I had to work on the actual day. The hotel Ambassadors were really accommodating: complimentary valet, they upgraded my room to the best available (ocean front tower view!), they delivered the flowers to my room before I came in the room, staff are warm, nice, sociable, and really show aloha. February 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise The Royal Hawaiian is a beautiful slice of paradise. Very relaxed and accommodating atmosphere! The Garden rooms are lovely, but the tower rooms offer amazing ocean views. February 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mr. ashtrays in garden overflowing...could not get early check in until 2:30, staff very nice but i found the executive lounge to be 2 steps lower than n airport lounge. for 360 per nite I would not rate the "grand old lady" more than 2 stars......sorry very disappointed February 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Looking forward to my return Stayed here in December 2010 after stopping by for drinks only in 2009 at the Mai Tai Bar and vowed to return and stay! My experience here was outstanding: the Mai Tai Bar - my second home. Seriously, the best anywhere. The bartenders were amazing; however, Reid makes the best Mai Tais ever and Susan is an outstanding representative at Mai Tai Bar too.! Dinner at Azure: simply the best food and service. WOW. I love every aspect of this hotel. Thank you! February 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Well, it's beautiful? The hotel is gorgeous, all the staff is very nice. But in our three day stay this is what happened: Our TV broke, our garden view was a pink wall view. Five feet from our window was a pink wall. Really? Internet only worked part time. There was a disturbance on our floor during the night. There was a disturbance in the garden area that same night. couldnt see what it was because of the pink wall. We needed our car early morning for our trip home. They assured us it would be there, it wasn't. We had to track down a valet to get the car. At 4:30am? And, a small thing I know. We never got our banana bread welcome basket. We "reminded" them about it twice. Got two guarantees that it would be there but never got the basket. We had a room key "die". Another trip downstairs for that. I guess we expected more. But it's beautiful and the people are very nice. February 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful setting on Waikiki Beach The location cannot be beat and the staff were very friendly. We enjoyed staying in both the tower room and the historical wing with lovely ocean views. February 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Old and Newer Hotel with Amenities Cost Traps Plus side--Friendly Staff, Clean Rooms and Property, Rooms Price Competitively, Elevator Availability for Old Section-Super. Minus side--However Avoid Staying in the Older Hotel side, Garden view may be lacking and no Balcony. Be preparded for hidden cost at Ocean Side (Chairs and Umbrella). January 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by we liked it but????? we booked a garden view room with the intent to use points to upgrade.....it was pretty full when we arrived but the hotel check in folks advised to check back in a few days to see if an upgrade was available......we did so and were given a room key to check out room 318 which was awsome and advised we would like this upgrade only to be advised that it would take all my 25000 points and an additional $75 per nite...but we told the person 1st that we only wanted to use points for the upgrade......they seemed to turn it into a "bait and switch" scam....why not just be upfront about it?....especially since this is our 4th honeymoon visit to the royal hawaiian hotel since 2000......guess loyalty doesn't mean much to the starwood folks or this hotel......however... our room was very nice as is but we had to keep hunting down the room service folks daily just to get shower stuff replacements and plastic bags for the ice bucket even though we left a tip for the room service folks earrly during our stay....only found a few long black hairs on the bathroom floor (neither of us have long black hair) but even once is a creep out....why don't they wear head covers to keep this from happening? continuing.......the pool experience was very strange as on our last full day there some guy who we never saw the previous 6 days came out to advise us that they removed our stuff from from the chairs we were trying to reserve only to put then back but still had to come over and lecture us on their pool rules....geeeze....where was this guy all week when i kept asking what the pool protocal and program was to get lounge chairs at the pool?.....amazingly enough that same day a sign was finally put on the attendents towel counter that explained in detail what the pool protocal was for reserving poolside lounge chairs.....we paid $400 a nite just to get lectured in front of everyone else out there about this.....nice job!!!!!........and oh by the way......they have a separate pool for kids but apparantly the smaller pool at the RH is more attractive so every day there were kids 12 & under or whatever that would run around and jump in and splash the folks lounging and reading much to everyones annoyance.....and they would always be drawn to play with the chair meant specifically for disabled folks but apparantly was just a toy for them to play with.....well where was our mr hero or anyone else to set these kids straight about running and jumping.....our hero must have been a pretty busy guy to show up one day just to lecture us but never conveniently be around to monitor thes kids "in action"........RH should just designate their smaller pool for the adults and refer the kids to the kids pool...."what a concept".......other than these small annoyances the place is very nice but this was our 4th and worst visit and will take some time before we muster up the desire to return.......have fun and aloha!!!! January 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Much lower level of service compared to last year While the hotel staff was very welcoming, and the room are great, there are a few things that took be aback. In particular, I was shocked to discover that the hotel started charging USD 40 for an umbrella and a chair on the beach, which is outrageously expensive, and a big downer compared to be previous stay at that hotel a year earlier. C'mon, this is absolutely ridiculous. And plus the beach staff was not very pleasant at all. The hotel should increase the USD 36 resort fee by a few USD to include the use of chairs and umbrellas at the beach. The rooms are also more loud than I remembered, especially in the morning. The location, however, cannot be beat, but this should NOT be a reason for taking advantage of their customers. January 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by First Experience at Royal Hawaiian Great Location and Royal Feel Originaly we were disapointed with our room. We booked a front ocean view room and were put into a room where you had to huddle in a corner (4 of us) to see the ocean. The room faced to the side however you could see the ocean but not what I would consider a front ocean view room that was booked and paid for at full price 9 months prior. Not only that the towels in the bathroom were not fresh and there was rubbish next to the bin. This was week 5 of our US holiday where Hawaii was a 5 nght stop over for pure relaxation before returing home to Australia. Upon speaking with house keeping we were given new towels for the evening. Unfortunately there was no other rooms available that night and we were moved to a new room the following day for the remainder of our stay. We were however compensated with a breakfast and an appologiy letter which helped ease the frustration My 17 year old daughter was keen to book a trip to see the island. The female Japanese speakeing agent was on the phone when my daughter entered the room which is fine so she looked at some brochures while waiting. However she was overlooked twice by the agent who chose to serve the two non english speaking couples who entered seperately after my daughter. Finally acknowledging my daughter some 35 mins later. Lastly we were dispponted by the pool service. We had to get our own menus and then come back to order becase the server was busy chatting with more familiar or regular guests. The rest of the time was fine but we lost a day out of 5 because we could not unpack and unwind due to the move. We would consider staying again but we would also compare other options before booking. I would also like to know the exact room view for the price in the future so there are no disppointing surprises. January 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not worth the cost Beautiful grounds, but Not worth the money. Service was so-so, most of the staff seemed like they wanted to do the minimum of what they could get away with (with a couple bright exceptions). Rooms were not as clean as expected. The beach is so crowded and had more rude people than I have ever seen in one place at one time. Overall, did not even compare to other 4-5 star facilities that I have been to. Nothing really that special about it. January 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is an oasis from busy and noisy Waikiki The approach to the hotel is picturesque. The ground are magnificent and the hotel decor is fitting to the tranquility that is Hawaii. However, the service is spotty. Check in was long and tedious. The room cleaning staff was fantastic. However, the dining staff needed training and lacked efficiency. Valet service had good and bad days..Room service was excellent. Overall, the hotel tried to personalize your visit and make you feel at home. January 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not enough attention to details A 5 night stay. No turn-down 1 night, no bath mat 1 day, no wash cloth 1 day. Sporadic Internet connectivity. No notice of dining facilities being unavailable. January 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel - Disappointing Service My girlfreind and I rented chairs on the beach in the section that had service bar & food service. After asking for a server 3 times we finally went up and got a menu. Asked for a server to place an order and after an hour and 15 minutes we finally went up and ordered from the bar. We were then told to come back in 20 minutes to pick up our food and that they will not deliver it. For such a classy hotel with so much history i was shocked with the lack of care from the employees. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous hotel! Our room, the staff, grounds, food - everything was beyond our expectations. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary and on the last night they provided us with a private cabana for dinner - so romantic. Will definitely return! January 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stereotypes Everything at the Hotel had exceeded our expectations except for a couple of staff members. My children (16 & 17 yrs) was downstairs cruising.g by the rocking chairs and they were both questioned, quite intensely, about their reasons for being on property. I spent the money to stay at the Royal Hawaiian because it is the one hotel that is desired by both foreign travelers and locals. My expectations from a hotel is to always make my family and I feel like we are home. Unfortunately, my kids felt like they were criminals and felt like they were being picked on especially after being questioned once again in the back lobby of the hotel. This was unacceptable and quite frankly rude. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel What a wonderful hotel experience. January 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Peace and quiet Highly satisfied, the staff was very friendly, the hotel was neat, clean and tidy. You could walk to everything and it's location ensured peace and quiet. I highly recommend this as a vacation must. January 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Pink Palace Needs Help The Royal Hawaiian Hotel use to be my favorite hotel. I have gone for vacation most years of my life--probably 30+ times. After an expensive remodel she looked lovely, but many important features were removed. It is no longer at the top of my list. Dirty elevators (grunge around the baseboards and carpet), poor menu selections, empty restaurant, average food preparation, poor bar service, beach umbrellas that cost a fortune, no table cloths (or elegance) at the restaurant. I could go on. Breaks my heart. January 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise in the city Staying at the Royal Hawaiian was the most relaxing, luxurious and delicious experience I can remember. We are looking forward to when we can return. Our expectations were exceeded in every way and all of the staff were so kind, helpful, efficient and friendly. January 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by So sorry to be negative but TRH was a huge disappointment I would strongly recommend that Starwood take a serious look at their rating of this hotel as included in their 'luxury' collection. Not up to the usual standards as Luxury. Yes the building is Historic and charming. But the rooms are flat out BAD. Front desk staff not up to par. Mai Tai beach bar (main gathering place) very SLOW service. As a Gold SPG member we were given a small DARK room overlooking the check in area. We called as asked if possible to have our room changed. And yes the front desk manager (Monica who was very nice) did her best and moved our room. It was her best attempt to upgrade us which we appreciates. But after seeing 2 rooms all I can assume is that most of the rooms are sorry. The room we ended up in was 265. The air vent above the closet door was filthy. The windows were so dirty it was difficult to see through them. And no wireless Internet service available from the room which presented a problem since unfortunately my husband had some business he needed to conduct. After hours of trying to get it working .....the evening manager Evan sent a 'hot spot device ' up to the room that took care of it. La la la. I try to be a positive traveler. But I can only say that I appreciate that SPG is interested enough to ask for our review and I hope that SPG management will take the time to read our reviews and act on Any of our negative pressions in order to maintain their excellent reputation. We used all SPG properties 2 years ago all over Southeast Asia. And EVERY hotel was absolutely perfect in every way. Service was outstanding. The royal Hawaiian hotel front desk could take a lesson from their fellow employee's in Southeast Asia. My final recommendation to my Hawaii bound friends........ Do not burn your SPG points on the Royal Hawaiian. Just drop on for a look around And personally I would recommend skipping Waikiki altogether and head over to Maui or Kauai. The SPG properties are much better there I prefer giving positive reviews but we feel so ripped off by our Royal Hawaiian downer. January 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is the most beautiful in Waikiki. If you stay in this hotel, you can enjoy a very pleasant and relaxing atmosphere all day: from morning to night. January 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by PARADISE We keep coming back. If you go to the Royal Hawaiian you know what I mean when I say thaey treat you like family, Most of their staff has been there forever (or so it seems). They remember your name, your needs and even what you want to eat for breakfast. The hotel is one of the few hotels in Waikiki that is right on the Beach and is centrally located to all of the great restaurants and shopping. The rooms are awesome, the views are great and the property is beautiful January 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel This hotel is clean and the staff are friendly. It is in the perfect location, next to everything. The pool area is too small and there are insufficient chairs and umbrella's to accommodate all its guests which should be considered before booking especially those who have children. January 8, 2013
  • 2015-08-29T09:34:19.288-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-13, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_559, tr_559
  • loc_en_US, sid_376, prod, sort_default
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 20 next>>