The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

  • 2259 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 556 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Felt unappreciated as an SPG member Just got back from an 18 day fun filled Island hopping vacation to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. With the exception of Royal Hawaiian, everything was fabulous. I booked through SPG and the representative I spoke to recommended this hotel. I booked a garden view which she claimed would be fabulous in this historic hotel. Instead our view was of the lobby area and porch. It was a bottom floor with people sitting out and/or walking by our room, day and night. There was no ventilation in the bathroom so the window remained open. and a lack of proper window treatments meant people sitting and passing by could see right into our room at night which meant we showered in dark. Of all my Westin/Sheraton stays, I've never felt so disappointed as an SPG Gold member. The facility is beautiful, the housekeeping staff was wonderful, but the acknowledgement of SPG and the room we were given was far below my expectations for a category 6 resort and not what I was looking forward to on this trip. November 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Staff in an Iconic Cultural Landmark in Paradise This is a majestic property with a rich cultural history, and the property has undergone a renovation to restore it to its original look c 1927. It occupies the most beautiful stretch of Waikiki beach, and has a gorgeous view of diamond head. There is a beach club on the sand in front of the hotel which is the place to relax and take in the sights of Waikiki while enjoying the sunshine. It is an extremely well-run property, and the staff are as good as you'll find anywhere. They are really what make this property awesome. November 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classy Hotel Great room, great location. Room would have been a five, but the ac was a bit weak for my liking. Otherwise excellent room/hotel! October 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great break in Paradise This was our third stay at the Royal Hawaiian and we weren't disappointed. We had a very comfortable king size room overlooking the gardens and which was very private. The bed was the best we have ever slept in and the pillows were fantastic. The staff were excellent and we enjoyed our breakfasts each day in the Surf Lanai. We also ate at the Mai Tai Bar and at Azure, their wonderful seafood restaurant. We are hoping to return again in the not too distant future. October 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The friendliest staff As soon as we pulled up, I knew we were in the right place for a great vacation. Even though it was 11 PM, the valet was right there to help and the check-in staff made us feel like we were rock stars, from the cold lemonade to the banana bread. Every time we ran into a staff member, they were so friendly and asking if everything was going well. Thanks for taking care of us for a week. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a special trip to Hawaii. October 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Resort in busy Waikiki Beach My husband and I celebrated our two year anniversary at the Royal Hawaiian and absolutely loved it! The hotel rooms and lobby are beautiful. We stayed in the historic building which had an elegant charm to it with the lavish decor. The restaurant food and service was great. Fantastic mai tais at the mai tai bar! Most importantly, it was quaint and felt like a mini getaway from the really, really busy Waikiki Beach. The walls in the hotel and the grounds really made us feel secluded and special. Highly recommend for a couples only getaway! It is truly a royalty treat! October 28, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Your offer doesn't match your price or status We had 2 days with holes in our sheets. Now charging for beach chairs over $40 a day and a Resort Charge compulsory at $35 a day adds over $80 a day to your stay. If you don't want to wear a pink tag and be at a pool with 100 children running around your only option is a postage stamp size pool, which now is slightly crowded as alot of customers don't want to pay the $40 plus to sit on the beach. My wife and I have travelled to Hawaii more that 10 times in the last 15 years . This was the first time we stayed at the RH . We expected it to be alot better. October 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent in every way possible Another wonderful stay at the royal Hawaiian. All facilities and service provided was again above our expectations. We enjoyed the new format for hiring beach lounges as it allowed for greater flexibility and certainty of reserving a beach position. The staff were once again courteous and nothing was too much trouble. We will be returning for our annual holiday again next year. October 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A dream family holiday The staff at the Royal Hawaiian go above and beyond from housekeeping to management. You never walk past a staff member without a friendly Aloha. Our suite was spectacular and serviced each day to prestine condition. The staff were very accommodating and welcoming to our young children and made an effort to get to know them and always very attentive to their needs. Mahalo Royal Hawaiian, we can't wait to come back. October 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Money grabbing Owners This used to be our favorite hotel/resort in Hawaii. We looked forward to staying here every year. The garden is truly tranquil and one of the reason why I love this hotel. The resort is located in the hectic Waikiki, but staying here takes us away to paradise. The resort recently started to impose resort fees (started in 2011) , and it included complimentary self parking, daily internet, as well as free phone calls (not sure about that though). As a platinum guest, we were offered a buy one get one lunch at Surf Lanai as a goodwill gesture for paying for the resort fee back in 2011. However, by September 2012, the resort raised the resort fee to include complimentary valet parking instead of self parking. As result, the garden driveway is now full of parked vehicles. It used to be a nice tranquil garden with coconut groves, now a busy parking lot. Furthermore, the parked vehicles blocked the accessible wheelchair ramps between the other SPG hotel pathway to Royal Hawaiian. I have brought this issue to the management, but nothing is done about it. The valet attendants continued to park vehicles blocking ramp access. Let just say that the resort fee imposed is another way of sticking it to the non-driving tourists. They used to serve coffee and tea by the lobby, now you have to walk around to Surf Lanai to grab a cup of complimentary drink. When we got to our garden grove junior suite; I was surprised to find out that our view was the parking lot as stated above (the driveway full of parked valet vehicles). The shower curtain in the bathroom was moldy, which the resort quickly replaced. Bottomline, I really hope that the owner(s) and management realize not to be “cheap”. Don't get me started mention about the pool, pool chair, or the beach chair and umbrella situation. It is another money grab win win for the hotel and the poor guests. October 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fees I know the norm is now to have "resort fees" on top of room rates. Not happy with that. I did not need "free" valet parking as I did not have a car; kids eat free, as kids not with us; so I guess my internet was $35.00 plus tax per day. ABSOLUTELY should not have additional fee for beach umbrella and lounge!!!! Many guests also complained of this fee. October 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 4 Days in the Pink Palace We take a yearly sojourn to the Royal Hawaiian - we just finished our 12th or 13th trip. 3 nights/4 days of peace and bliss. And being taken care of by an outstanding staff. Over the years the property and menus have changed but the quiet, beauty and friendliness has remained superb. The Royal Hawaiian is a slice of peace and tranquility inside the hustle and craziness of Waikiki. Life doesn't get much better than a day spent lounging under an umbrella on the sand followed by a sunset dinner and live entertainment at the Mai Tai bar. We will return again and again. October 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Old Hawaiian meets modern perfectly! We live on Oahu, not in the city. Needed a night alone so chose Royal Hawaiian for a 1 night stay. I was kind of dreading going into the city with all it's traffic and busy feel. We have been to several places prior but Royal Hawaiian by far exceeded our expectations. Great room; clean, stocked proper, comfy bed, beautiful decor, a/c easy to adjust, high ceilings even in bathroom & tiled all the way up-smart and nice detail, updated flat screen tv that we could hook our own dvd to, little fridge and couldn't hear neighbors-nice & quiet. Best customer service ever; maids offered complimentary water to my husband who was getting ice. Pool with jacuzzi's were right by beach with beautiful view and attentive but not intrusive attendants. They also worked with us on getting local rate even though we forgot proper id. LOVED that you feel like you are not in the city yet can walk to all the shops/restaurants in Waikiki. We WILL be back! Blessed Rest, thank you! October 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Perfect Simply put, everything was just perfect for our 40th wedding anniversary, the room,the view, the food,the staff,the amenities,everything. In other words we just loved the place. Thank you for everything,we will definately be back. October 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Great Hotel with a lot of old memmoies. October 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic! We visit the Royal Hawaiian every year. It is by far the best resort on Oahu. The grounds are gorgeous, the views spectacular and the people fantastic. October 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Timeless beauty Grand hotel right on Waikiki that manages to simultaneously be in the heart of all the sights and be a perfect oasis. We were greeted with a delicious hibiscus tea cool beverage that was simply sublime. Our room was well appointed and large. Our only disappointment was the pool felt cramped nonetheless with Waikiki beach as your disposal we didn't mind the pool at all. Overall a wonderful hotel with great attentive staff. A true gem. October 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Once again, a great stay at the Royal Hawaiin As a local resident of Oahu, I like to spend a night or two every month in Waikiki with my girlfriend to go out for dinner and do some shopping. I have stayed at all four Starwood properties in Waikiki and none of them is better than the Royal Hawaiian. As Platinum SPG member, I always get special treatment and recognition but this time, the management went above and beyond and put me in the Royal Hawaiian Suite which was spectacular. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely be back soon. To the staff, guest services manager, and General Manager - Mahalo, a hui hou malama pono! October 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Had a great time for my tenth trip to this hotel. Staff as always was wonderful and the hotel offers you a calm elegant experience in the midst of busy waikiki. Only issue I had is now there is a charge on top of room cost & $25 dollar a day resort fee for beach chairs. Another $ 42!! per day you use them. Not happy about that at all. October 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very beautiful hotel Stayed at this hotel during one of our many visits to Honolulu. We had an ocean view room. The room is a bit small. The hotel is very beautiful and elegant. Take a stroll around the property and marvel the beauty of it. It is one of the three SPG properties right on the Waikiki Beach, October 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rusty room with unfriendly staff - Rood condition is sucks, no fan working / bed side ramp out safety box lock down : so need to call security everytime - But they were no respond and no service at all as they treat you are just short term stay guest. - Strange smell in room - Unfriednly staff - Better to stay next big and cheaper hotel October 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Room very unclean - fridge and bathroom especially + rubbish from former guest left in wardrobe. No golf channel on TV October 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Stay My wife and I stayed for five nights on the first leg of our honeymoon. The room, service, food quality were all excellent. Probably one of the best hotel stay experiences I have ever had. October 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always exceptional!! My fiancee and I make a trip out to Hawaii every 6 months and when we stay in Oahu we always stay at the Royal Hawaiian! The service was exceptional and on this visit I was able to enjoy the luau which was incredible. You can be sure that my next trip to Oahu that I will once again be staying at the Ryal Hawaiian!! October 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by We had a wonderful time The hotel room was a little small. I could hear the next door people rattling hangers in the closet. The shower door was so high we couldn't hang towels over the top. The beach was fabulous. The food was very good. We could have our things on lounge chairs and walk just a few feet for lunch. Shopping, food court, souvenir shops, and restaurants were very short walks. The hotel was beautiful, with lots of beach amenities very handy. The staff were quite helpful. October 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by fantastic hotel, location, and staff i had a very pleasent stay from start to finish at the royal hawaiian. they recognized my spg status immediately and had a welcome happy hour that was very nice. at check in, we received a drink and leis which set the tone for the rest of the stay. i cannot wait to go back. the only thing i did not like was that i had to rent a beach chair that was part of royal hawaiian. October 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by It is puzzle for SPG Platinum You will have the Platinum benefits by hotel depended besides instant: Upgrade to suite: NO Breakfast:PUZZLE It is also NO room of good view for you. The hotel give a coupon of light set menu at noon time for one person per room even if couples stay. September 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by As a SPG Platinum this hotel offers nothing in extras. None of the usual amenities that we usually always receive. Do not stay here if you expect the usual upgrades and services that a platinum member receives. You will get zero , no robes, no slippers, no breakfeast, no room upgrades and of course no club! September 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by rustic, but cozy and beautiful; The surroundings were beautiful, staff was very courteous, room was very comfortable, pool was great for the grandchild and proximity to the restaurants was great. September 25, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never coming back! This was our second stay, 1st stay Bad, 2nd stay terrible!!! I feel I was lied to by your reservations people, I was very specific in what I wanted, not looking for a deal or a discount, money not a problem, wanted high in the tower and was told that is what I was getting. What I got was room 2000, a handicap room, with a view of the cooling and heating ductwork!!! I will never come back to your hotel or any Starwood property. September 24, 2012
  • 2015-07-01T13:21:15.098-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_556, tr_556
  • loc_en_US, sid_376, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 20 next>>