The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

  • 2259 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 457 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by perfect location I loved the resort and everything it had to offer. Really enjoyed breakfast at Surf Lanai and cocktails at the Mai Tai Bar. December 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Five Star Resort When asked what was the most memorable part of my stay in Honolulu, I say The Royal Hawaiian. Thanks for the great stay May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just beautiful Old world luxury, like stepping back in time. Very quiet and comfortable. Our only fault was the size of the bathroom May 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Pink Palace No better place to stay on Waikiki. The hotel is fabulous only matched by the staff's attention to the guests' needs- April 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is the most beautiful in Waikiki. If you stay in this hotel, you can enjoy a very pleasant and relaxing atmosphere all day: from morning to night. January 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by terrific location Wonderful bar and beach. Not too old fashioned for mature people, not too many kids, a real positive. April 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Notch Service and Accomodations What an incredible experience, the staff at the hotel from the beginning to the end was fabulous. April 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Luxury and Priceless Views This is how Hawaii should be visited. The hotels first word (Royal) is how you are treated. April 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service is impeccable Staff at RH are friendly, knowledgable and make our stay as comfortable as our second home. December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing view This staycation was amazing. The view from the ocean tower king was breathtaking. August 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great renovation Lovely décor, love how the heritage was preserved in the redesign, great photo ops June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great place for Hawaii history. Hawaii residents should take time to have a stay vacation at the Royal. August 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun & relaxing Best place I have ever stayed. Beautiful beach, food & service was great. July 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel was wonderful Always wanted to stay and finally did and it is in a perfect location. January 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mahalo Truly enjoyed my stay. Ms. McCarter attended to my every need. April 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome experience! Beautiful hotel, fantastic location! Well definitely be back! April 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel Lovely hotel and excellent customer service! September 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Waikiki Disappointment We booked our stay at the Royal Hawaiian as this was my first trip to Hawaii. After a lovely week in Kauai, we arrived on a Friday to be told that the computers were down. Check-in took about 45 minutes. Once we got into our room, it was fine, although it backed up to the area where music was played until about 10 p.m. each evening, so it was loud. The hotel is old and needs some refurbishing. Also, doors are heavy wood and do not reach the floor so noise from other rooms & hallway is very loud. Beach access (part of the reason to stay here) costs about $50 for a reserved beach chair. Not worth the money, and I won't repeat the experience. November 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Tower aircon. Tower airconditioning in serious state of disrepair. November 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Honolulu vacation We had a wonderful experience while staying here March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great experience! Perfect, could not have been more satisfied. May 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Great Hotel with a lot of old memmoies. October 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel What a wonderful hotel experience. January 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful location Once upon a time this hotel might have been something special. But it is overshadowed by the two adjolning hotels and the shopping mall. The pool is tiny and noisy, echoing with noise because of the small space and particularly with the Outrigger's entertainment. The breakfast servers are wonderfully attendant but the breakfast was nothing special. Even the coffee was weak. There is no place for people to go have a drink at 6 PM unless they want to sit at one of very few bar stools. There are plenty of empty tables at 6 PM but the hostess would not seat us for drinks and snacks. Our remodeled suite, 111, was lovely but the bathroom vanity was much too small, as was the tub/shower and the toilet paper roll could not be accessed by any human more than 4 feet tall. Great mirror backlighting, though. Room for guests to shower and change after checkout time is a great idea but the shower room needs to have an exhaust fan. Way too many people shopping in Waikiki area. Way too many. Las Vegas on the beach is not really for us but it was nice to have had the Royal Hawaiian experience as a based for shopping. Maybe it is the hotel to stay in on Waikiki. But Waikiki and Honolulu are not for a relaxing vacation experience. It's work to be part of the shopping crowd on Waikiki. December 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Royal Hawaiian Royal Hawaiian was a great overall experience, with the hotel's classic charm and atmosphere bringing instant relaxation and comfort. Overall we were pleased with our stay at the hotel -- when we arrived the valet staff were prompt and friendly, and the check-in staff were also very helpful and accommodating, as they took the time to walk us to the elevator to get us oriented. The room and ocean facing lanai were very comfortable, clean and elegant. The main negatives for us were that the pool area is very small and was dominated by children -- to the point that it felt like a kiddie pool. Thus it was not an option for us to seek a peaceful atmosphere in the pool. Alternatively we spent our days at one of the beach chair/umbrella setups that can be rented for the day -- this was an easy and nice experience as it allowed us to have a 'home base' on the beach for the day where we could relax. The pool/beach staff was not up to par from what we would expect from a 5 star hotel. While they were generally friendly, they were not especially prompt or attentive or going above and beyond the call of duty. For instance we had to wave them down multiple times to get basic services such as water or menus/drinks/etc. The beach side activities were great in that it made it very convenient for us to rent surfboards/SUP, September 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A stay at The Royal Hawaiian is a memorable experience The Royal Hawaiian is a rare find these days. It is one of the few lovely resorts that have maintained their original elegance, charm and grace but still offers all the up to date amenities today's traveler expects. The staff are warm and professional. The grounds and outlooks a tropical paradise. April 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Royal Hawaiian Review Having stayed in other Hotels on Waikiki, overall I wasn't impressed with the extra premium to be paid for the Royal Hawaiian. For comparison I have stayed in other Waikiki beach front hotels and much prefer those hotel to the Royal Hawaiian considering that the Royal Hawaiian is at least a third more expensive and i couldn't tell any noticeable difference between the two. My big complaint is that for the extra cost, I didn't feel the services or faclilities lived upto their billing. My main complaints are around the cleaning of the room which wasn't upto the standard i was expecting. Two examples of this 1) On the first day of our stay, a small corner of one of my wife's makeup sachets fell on the bathroom floor. This stayed there for the entire duration of our stay and proved the bathroom floor was neither hoovered or washed while we were there. 2) On the first day we also received a welcome fruit basket. While this was appreciated, by the end of the stay it had gone mouldy and should have either been replenished or thrown away sooner before it became a health hazard. Once again highlighting the sub standard room cleaning This was a shame as we had had such high hopes for staying in the Royal Hawaiian. After staying in other Waikiki Hotels and knowing their standard we were expecting something special of the Royal Hawaiian and sadly it didn't live upto expectations. September 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by First Experience at Royal Hawaiian Great Location and Royal Feel Originaly we were disapointed with our room. We booked a front ocean view room and were put into a room where you had to huddle in a corner (4 of us) to see the ocean. The room faced to the side however you could see the ocean but not what I would consider a front ocean view room that was booked and paid for at full price 9 months prior. Not only that the towels in the bathroom were not fresh and there was rubbish next to the bin. This was week 5 of our US holiday where Hawaii was a 5 nght stop over for pure relaxation before returing home to Australia. Upon speaking with house keeping we were given new towels for the evening. Unfortunately there was no other rooms available that night and we were moved to a new room the following day for the remainder of our stay. We were however compensated with a breakfast and an appologiy letter which helped ease the frustration My 17 year old daughter was keen to book a trip to see the island. The female Japanese speakeing agent was on the phone when my daughter entered the room which is fine so she looked at some brochures while waiting. However she was overlooked twice by the agent who chose to serve the two non english speaking couples who entered seperately after my daughter. Finally acknowledging my daughter some 35 mins later. Lastly we were dispponted by the pool service. We had to get our own menus and then come back to order becase the server was busy chatting with more familiar or regular guests. The rest of the time was fine but we lost a day out of 5 because we could not unpack and unwind due to the move. We would consider staying again but we would also compare other options before booking. I would also like to know the exact room view for the price in the future so there are no disppointing surprises. January 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Money grabbing Owners This used to be our favorite hotel/resort in Hawaii. We looked forward to staying here every year. The garden is truly tranquil and one of the reason why I love this hotel. The resort is located in the hectic Waikiki, but staying here takes us away to paradise. The resort recently started to impose resort fees (started in 2011) , and it included complimentary self parking, daily internet, as well as free phone calls (not sure about that though). As a platinum guest, we were offered a buy one get one lunch at Surf Lanai as a goodwill gesture for paying for the resort fee back in 2011. However, by September 2012, the resort raised the resort fee to include complimentary valet parking instead of self parking. As result, the garden driveway is now full of parked vehicles. It used to be a nice tranquil garden with coconut groves, now a busy parking lot. Furthermore, the parked vehicles blocked the accessible wheelchair ramps between the other SPG hotel pathway to Royal Hawaiian. I have brought this issue to the management, but nothing is done about it. The valet attendants continued to park vehicles blocking ramp access. Let just say that the resort fee imposed is another way of sticking it to the non-driving tourists. They used to serve coffee and tea by the lobby, now you have to walk around to Surf Lanai to grab a cup of complimentary drink. When we got to our garden grove junior suite; I was surprised to find out that our view was the parking lot as stated above (the driveway full of parked valet vehicles). The shower curtain in the bathroom was moldy, which the resort quickly replaced. Bottomline, I really hope that the owner(s) and management realize not to be “cheap”. Don't get me started mention about the pool, pool chair, or the beach chair and umbrella situation. It is another money grab win win for the hotel and the poor guests. October 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by So sorry to be negative but TRH was a huge disappointment I would strongly recommend that Starwood take a serious look at their rating of this hotel as included in their 'luxury' collection. Not up to the usual standards as Luxury. Yes the building is Historic and charming. But the rooms are flat out BAD. Front desk staff not up to par. Mai Tai beach bar (main gathering place) very SLOW service. As a Gold SPG member we were given a small DARK room overlooking the check in area. We called as asked if possible to have our room changed. And yes the front desk manager (Monica who was very nice) did her best and moved our room. It was her best attempt to upgrade us which we appreciates. But after seeing 2 rooms all I can assume is that most of the rooms are sorry. The room we ended up in was 265. The air vent above the closet door was filthy. The windows were so dirty it was difficult to see through them. And no wireless Internet service available from the room which presented a problem since unfortunately my husband had some business he needed to conduct. After hours of trying to get it working .....the evening manager Evan sent a 'hot spot device ' up to the room that took care of it. La la la. I try to be a positive traveler. But I can only say that I appreciate that SPG is interested enough to ask for our review and I hope that SPG management will take the time to read our reviews and act on Any of our negative pressions in order to maintain their excellent reputation. We used all SPG properties 2 years ago all over Southeast Asia. And EVERY hotel was absolutely perfect in every way. Service was outstanding. The royal Hawaiian hotel front desk could take a lesson from their fellow employee's in Southeast Asia. My final recommendation to my Hawaii bound friends........ Do not burn your SPG points on the Royal Hawaiian. Just drop on for a look around And personally I would recommend skipping Waikiki altogether and head over to Maui or Kauai. The SPG properties are much better there I prefer giving positive reviews but we feel so ripped off by our Royal Hawaiian downer. January 16, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 16 next>>