The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

  • 2259 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 506 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Our stay at this hotel was the worst experience ever at SPG properties Like the review title, our stay at this supposedly "LUXURY" hotel was possibly the worst experience we've ever had at SPG properties. We arrived in Hawaii around 2 pm and proceeded to arrive at the hotel at around 2:45 pm. The check-in process was uneventful, but the person checking us in told us that they don't have the room ready until 4 pm. This is unacceptable as we had 2 very young children who just got off the plane and needed to rest and clean up. But no, the room which was suppose to be ready at 2 pm wouldn't be ready until 4 pm. That same night at around 9 pm we got back to our room, but noticed that there was loud music and noise coming from the Mai Tai Bar. I'm not sure how the hotel managed to mess up the sound proofing of the building...this is a luxury hotel...you should have great sound proofing from outside noise or inside noise. The music and noise were so loud that we couldn't sleep. My children were miserable because they couldn't sleep and in turn they made us miserable. The rooms were fairly nice and the banana breads were a nice touch; but I have to say the rooms are showing their age. There were instances where the coffee table had paint scraped off, carpet dirtied, and bathroom with muggy smell. Again, this is a luxury hotel and we were totally underwhelmed by the room. I mean, come on, we are paying over $500 a night at a luxury hotel and we expected luxury rooms. Lastly, the staff at this hotel just didn't perform up to par. The check-in staff we interacted with showed little interest in helping us and resolving our problems at the hotel. Even when a manager was called, it felt like he was just trying to get rid of us...we just didn't feel like we are valued as paying customers during our stay. One bright spot thought...we have to commend Michelle, who was the manager who took care of us and really showed that she cared about our stay. The rest of the staff was sub-par and not worthy of mentioning. Thank you Royal Hawaiian hotel for making this one of our worst vacations in our life time. Oh, and make sure you tell your guests what your resort credit could be used on or could not be used on. You need to be more clear about this. December 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay in Honolulu The hotel provided everything I could ask for. March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is the most beautiful in Waikiki. If you stay in this hotel, you can enjoy a very pleasant and relaxing atmosphere all day: from morning to night. January 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Once Again Had A Fabulous Time in Waikiki Dear Royal Hawaiian Hotel management and staff: Once again I was captivated by your excellent service and the beauty of the Royal Hawaiian Hotel. I stayed at the RHH in May 2011 and was so impressed that I had to book with you again to show my dad how wonderful your hotel is. I hope to traveling back to Hawaii December 2015 and without a doubt I will be booking with you again. Love the spa, love how peaceful and quiet the RHH amidst busy Waikiki Beach, and love the pink/Moroccan décor. I also enjoyed walking through one of the first floor level hallways that displayed photos from the hotel's past. There is one photo in particular that caught my attention and it's the one where it is the opening night of the RHH in 1927. I'm fascinated by the expressions on the people's faces, especially those of the young married couples. Must have been a magical night that day in 1927. Thanks again for your kindness and your demonstration of the aloha spirit. Aloha Oe, until we meet again! Elizabeth Medina Orlando, FL August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by terrific location Wonderful bar and beach. Not too old fashioned for mature people, not too many kids, a real positive. April 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Notch Service and Accomodations What an incredible experience, the staff at the hotel from the beginning to the end was fabulous. April 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Luxury and Priceless Views This is how Hawaii should be visited. The hotels first word (Royal) is how you are treated. April 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service is impeccable Staff at RH are friendly, knowledgable and make our stay as comfortable as our second home. December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great renovation Lovely décor, love how the heritage was preserved in the redesign, great photo ops June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing view This staycation was amazing. The view from the ocean tower king was breathtaking. August 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun & relaxing Best place I have ever stayed. Beautiful beach, food & service was great. July 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great place for Hawaii history. Hawaii residents should take time to have a stay vacation at the Royal. August 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel was wonderful Always wanted to stay and finally did and it is in a perfect location. January 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mahalo Truly enjoyed my stay. Ms. McCarter attended to my every need. April 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome experience! Beautiful hotel, fantastic location! Well definitely be back! April 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Waikiki Disappointment We booked our stay at the Royal Hawaiian as this was my first trip to Hawaii. After a lovely week in Kauai, we arrived on a Friday to be told that the computers were down. Check-in took about 45 minutes. Once we got into our room, it was fine, although it backed up to the area where music was played until about 10 p.m. each evening, so it was loud. The hotel is old and needs some refurbishing. Also, doors are heavy wood and do not reach the floor so noise from other rooms & hallway is very loud. Beach access (part of the reason to stay here) costs about $50 for a reserved beach chair. Not worth the money, and I won't repeat the experience. November 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Tower aircon. Tower airconditioning in serious state of disrepair. November 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Honolulu vacation We had a wonderful experience while staying here March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel Lovely hotel and excellent customer service! September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great experience! Perfect, could not have been more satisfied. May 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heaven We had 3 perfect days & nights here December 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Great Hotel with a lot of old memmoies. October 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel What a wonderful hotel experience. January 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful location Once upon a time this hotel might have been something special. But it is overshadowed by the two adjolning hotels and the shopping mall. The pool is tiny and noisy, echoing with noise because of the small space and particularly with the Outrigger's entertainment. The breakfast servers are wonderfully attendant but the breakfast was nothing special. Even the coffee was weak. There is no place for people to go have a drink at 6 PM unless they want to sit at one of very few bar stools. There are plenty of empty tables at 6 PM but the hostess would not seat us for drinks and snacks. Our remodeled suite, 111, was lovely but the bathroom vanity was much too small, as was the tub/shower and the toilet paper roll could not be accessed by any human more than 4 feet tall. Great mirror backlighting, though. Room for guests to shower and change after checkout time is a great idea but the shower room needs to have an exhaust fan. Way too many people shopping in Waikiki area. Way too many. Las Vegas on the beach is not really for us but it was nice to have had the Royal Hawaiian experience as a based for shopping. Maybe it is the hotel to stay in on Waikiki. But Waikiki and Honolulu are not for a relaxing vacation experience. It's work to be part of the shopping crowd on Waikiki. December 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Royal Hawaiian Royal Hawaiian was a great overall experience, with the hotel's classic charm and atmosphere bringing instant relaxation and comfort. Overall we were pleased with our stay at the hotel -- when we arrived the valet staff were prompt and friendly, and the check-in staff were also very helpful and accommodating, as they took the time to walk us to the elevator to get us oriented. The room and ocean facing lanai were very comfortable, clean and elegant. The main negatives for us were that the pool area is very small and was dominated by children -- to the point that it felt like a kiddie pool. Thus it was not an option for us to seek a peaceful atmosphere in the pool. Alternatively we spent our days at one of the beach chair/umbrella setups that can be rented for the day -- this was an easy and nice experience as it allowed us to have a 'home base' on the beach for the day where we could relax. The pool/beach staff was not up to par from what we would expect from a 5 star hotel. While they were generally friendly, they were not especially prompt or attentive or going above and beyond the call of duty. For instance we had to wave them down multiple times to get basic services such as water or menus/drinks/etc. The beach side activities were great in that it made it very convenient for us to rent surfboards/SUP, September 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Royal Hawaiian Review Having stayed in other Hotels on Waikiki, overall I wasn't impressed with the extra premium to be paid for the Royal Hawaiian. For comparison I have stayed in other Waikiki beach front hotels and much prefer those hotel to the Royal Hawaiian considering that the Royal Hawaiian is at least a third more expensive and i couldn't tell any noticeable difference between the two. My big complaint is that for the extra cost, I didn't feel the services or faclilities lived upto their billing. My main complaints are around the cleaning of the room which wasn't upto the standard i was expecting. Two examples of this 1) On the first day of our stay, a small corner of one of my wife's makeup sachets fell on the bathroom floor. This stayed there for the entire duration of our stay and proved the bathroom floor was neither hoovered or washed while we were there. 2) On the first day we also received a welcome fruit basket. While this was appreciated, by the end of the stay it had gone mouldy and should have either been replenished or thrown away sooner before it became a health hazard. Once again highlighting the sub standard room cleaning This was a shame as we had had such high hopes for staying in the Royal Hawaiian. After staying in other Waikiki Hotels and knowing their standard we were expecting something special of the Royal Hawaiian and sadly it didn't live upto expectations. September 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Royal Hawaiian Hotel I really enjoyed my stay at the Royal Hawaiian. The staff are very pleasant and attentive to guest needs. Every day I would pass staff in the hallway on the guest floors and they always smiled and made a point of saying hello. If you ever even had the slightest look of question on your face someone would be sure to ask if you needed something. The guys out front were great - very engaging and friendly and always asking if anything was needed. I was very impressed when standing out front one day waiting on my shuttle and a clearly intoxicated woman left the hotel and walked off on her own. The bellman tried to assist but she was heading somewhere. They kept an eye on her and called hotel security who promptly sent two guys to go look for her. I am sure there are other hotels where that would just have been ignored but these guys really took it upon themselves to be helpful. The guy who checked me in was great. He tried to get me the best room possible. Unfortunately my hotel neighbor's family was apparently sick and coughing a lot (smile - this review is sounding worse than it should but my point is how attentive and helpful all the staff were) and the desk guy really worked with me to help me relocate rooms without any hassle. The restaurants and bars on premises are nice. The beach is readily accessible. It's a shame they crammed the Sheraton in next door in terms of the overall locale but the combination of Sheraton and mall provides ready access to other shops and restaurants. The hotel's location makes it very easy to get to the main strip for eating or shopping. One downside - one of the nearby hotels or bars has outside music that is loud and usually goes until around 1 or so in the morning. April 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by My room was a diappointment I reserved a garden view room using an SPG award, hopeful for a little bit of an upgrade, but not optimistic given our Saturday arrival. I was not greeted as an SPG Gold member, and had to push hard to get a 2 PM check out on my last day. (I asked for 3 PM and they couldn't do it. Yet the resort was EMPTY the day I left) I was very impressed with the lobby - gorgeous. I was put into room 396. The room was small but beautifully decorated. Sadly, my garden view was a few palm leaves growing within a foot of the glass on my window. When I looked carefully through the leaves, I saw that my room overlooked the driveway and was also in an inside corner that denied my any opportunity of any kind of view to my left. Housekeeping was a big disappointment. No hairdryer and no washcloths in my room at check in. Came back to my room from the beach at noon on my second day and housekeeping had not visited. Went back to the beach and came back at 4. Housekeeping had been there but -- had left a dirty pillowcase on one of the chairs, had taken my dirty towels away but not left clean ones, no fresh water bottles, no fresh coffee packs for the next day. Not sure if I came back too early, and caught them in the middle of the job, or if they started, left, and forgot to come back. And, I saw quite a few small bugs in our bathroom. I also don't understand why the pool closes at 5:30 PM. Between being given what must be the worst room in the house, and the poor job of the housekeeping staff, I am disappointed in the value that I got for my starwood points. I'll try the Westin next time I come to Oahu. October 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Experience at hotel was mixed The hotel rooms & facilities were excellent, but certain aspects were way below expectations for a luxury hotel. 1) wi-fi signal in room was very week and could not sustain a connection with my PC or other devices. while issue was frustrating, actual IT phone support was polite and good even though the connectivity issue needed to be solved by using a LAN cable. 2) the service & attitude of some of the staff at the Surf Lanai during breakfast was terrible. hotel signs seem to lead you to the restaurant from the pool-side area, but when i got there none of the staff offered to seat me. so after a little confusion, i just seated myself like you do when eating/drinking at hotel's beachside Mai Tai bar. then i sat there for 15 minutes trying to get a server's attention for a menu. finally, i flagged down a fat bald guy who i assume was the manager. instead of just getting me a menu, he immediately went out of his way to tell me in a condescending way that not having a menu was basically my fault because i should have entered on the other side of the building (which is only marked as the entrance to Azure restaurant and NOT where hotel signs lead you) and been seated by the hostess... the actual waitstaff that ended up serving me was polite, but I don't spend $650 a night on a hotel to get attitude from the breakfast manager and start my day off being irritated. i looked up the restaurant on Yelp afterward and believe that there is definitely a reason why Surf Lanai has so many negative reviews focused on its service. luxury hotels are expected to do all the little details right, so negative experiences like mine really stand out. i'll never stay at the Royal Hawaiian again if i can avoid it. December 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Okay but Not Great We choose to stay in the Royal Hawaiian due to our desire to be in the middle of the activity and the historical nature of the hotel (the last time I stayed was 25 years ago and have stayed multiple times at another hotel at one end of Waikiki but wanted to try the Royal again and be in a more central location) The hotel did meet those expectations, however, what I did not expect was the overall condition of the hotel and our room (dirty, unkempt, leis left from the previous tenant, used shampoos in the bathroom) and the lack of service by some of the staff (specifically the bar area). Registration and check in were satisfactory and the meal service at the Lanai Surf was outstanding, but the rest of the service was indifferent. My main complaint was the cleanliness of the overall hotel and our rooms in particular followed by the overall feel of luxury. Also, I had made by reservation through the hotel call system who suggested a special Starwood rate that entitled me to a 35 percent discount on food and purchases, however, it was not usable when we used it (quite a bit) on the last day of our stay....which should have been noted to us at check in. Generally, we were left with a feeling that we were not getting what we paid for. Also, I would note that the resort fee was an excessive amount - no complaints that there was a resort fee - but the amount and the things it covered that were not needed was ridiculous and the fact that there was such a point made that the Mai Tai served as part of the "free coupon" (not so free because paying resort fee) was smaller and not the same Mai Tai as the one when ordered from the paid menu (different glass, different size, no fruit) made the entire hotel look cheap and like a discounted property. Next time - I will say at another property. June 17, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 18 next>>