The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

  • 2259 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 481 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Experience I stayed for 5 nights as a vacation to celebrate my birthday. It was an outstanding experience. The hotel has the best loocation on the beach, is secluded from the noise and foot traffic on the street and has elegance and charm. I love staying in the historical wing. Had room 271, an ocean junior suite. Huge room, geat view and nice room amenities. Free bottled water and a refigerator to keep things cold. Loved the pool chairs and umbrellas. Yes there is a charge now, but it is never full and you can always get a good spot. Great food, great drinks at the Mai Tai bar and the staff greets you by name every day. This was all in all a great experience and I will stay here on my next trip to Honolulu. November 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great luxury hotel The hotel was wonderful, service was excellent, rooms were spacious, staff were extremely helpful and courteous. The hotel is perfectly located close to everything. A definite 5-Star luxury resort that I would highly recommend to others. I know I will be definitely staying there again. May 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Slipping I remember my first first to the RHR 6 years ago. I was most impressed with every single thing (valet, bellman, front desk, etc.). This year I returned was most DISAPPOINTED. No greeting or assistance from Valet, Bellman (until my husband asked for assistance). No welcome from front desk, no pink lemonade was offered, wasn't able to extend a late check out. The first welcome we received was from House Keeping as we approached our room. In fact, all of the housekeeping staff was very friendly. Beach Boy Micah was AWESOME. Not sure I will stay at RHR next year, as when you promise to provide exceptional service and then you don't, then it is expected every single time. This time you just didn't measure up. November 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Once again, a great stay at the Royal Hawaiin As a local resident of Oahu, I like to spend a night or two every month in Waikiki with my girlfriend to go out for dinner and do some shopping. I have stayed at all four Starwood properties in Waikiki and none of them is better than the Royal Hawaiian. As Platinum SPG member, I always get special treatment and recognition but this time, the management went above and beyond and put me in the Royal Hawaiian Suite which was spectacular. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely be back soon. To the staff, guest services manager, and General Manager - Mahalo, a hui hou malama pono! October 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great iconic hotel in historic location though it's in the details While this hotel is in the most amazing location and the history behind this hotel is fantastic, I don't think I would return unless I was using SPG points like I did this time. The room I had was an upgraded beautiful room with the ocean view directly in front of me and a nice sized balcony. The negatives: -The room itself had a slight musty smell to it. -The gym is pretty lame - has no mirrors, stretch mats and another person walked in after I did and said the same thing I was thinking, "this is it???" - The shower pressure is pretty low and had an adjustable shower head that didn't help with the pressure. - The staff is superfriendly at the front desk and car valet. Though upon checkout, I brought my own bags down and the car valet/doorman brought my heavy rolling bag down in front of where my jeep was parked and then walked away, nowhere to be found. I was left to heft my own luggage into my car with noone to help. I've never had that happen before at a hotel! - I wanted to get coffee at 915am one day and they have a policy of taking the coffee away at 9am so I had to go to their outdoor restaurant, wait for a mgr to ask where I could get a cup of coffee to bring to my room, then she had to send a server to come up to me to order the coffee and then after, the paperwork to charge it to my room. It took 15 min to do that. If they could leave the coffee to 9:30am like the Modern Honolulu does (they actually leave it out until 10am). People are on vacation and can't always be early to rise. - Also, paying $50 to use the beach chairs in front of the resort seemed steep to me. $20 if you use them after 2pm. - Went to Mai Tai Bar for lunch one day. Sat at the bar. The server was incredibly nice and helpful. Though there was a smell at the bar where I sat closer to the beach side that comes from not smelling like they cleaned their mats well enough behind the bar. Pluses: 1) Welcome amenities of champagne and fruit, banana bread was a really nice touch. 2) The location right on the most beautiful part of waikiki beach. 3) being able to rent a paddleboard, surfboard and boogie boards right in front of the hotel and go straight to the water May 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Familiy Vay Cay Great, iconic hotel. A couple of disappointments. Took 2 phone calls to fix the room safe, had to call to get a shower curtain installed and have the shower head moved to accomodate someone over 3 feet tall !! The Royal is a great hotel, superb location and an oasis amongst the hustle of Honolulu. My issues are nit-picking for sure but this is a 5 Star Hotel at a 5 Star price, we had 40 hotel room nights booked for our family (multiple rooms) and expect close to perfection (devil is in the details) !!! We did have a great time and the staff were terrific !!! We will be back. April 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall, very good!! Would surely recommend the hotel for Waikiki visitors, great location. A couple of issues may be the loud A/C which can be fixed if they really tried, and the small sink in the bathroom which is a structural issue so may not fly. In any case, good job! to the whole staff. August 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by THE STAFF We come to the Royal hotel at least once a year and we love the Hotel for its elegance and beauty but the main reason is the staff….Avis is always the first person we see and what a delight…she is infectious….Gerrard and Allan at the car/cab area…Randall and Cam are the most wonderful staff in the breakfast areas and we all love Heidi she is so thoughtful and kind….Chuck and Tomoko are sensational, meeting all our needs and more poolside and Nelson is my kids favourite with the surfing lesson, he is a wonderful young man….and then there is Kui and Shane and Cheryl at the Mai Tai Bar, fantastic staff and our last favours are Romeo and Francis who looks after our room so well….we love them all….Jo and Paul Peers-Barlow November 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hawaiian elegance in the old style Beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting! Classic and elegant, with a superb restaurant called Azure and a beautiful beach. May 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Charm and Elegance Our stay in the historic older section could not have been more relaxing and pleasant May 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can I move in permanently? I had such a wonderful time at the Royal Hawaiian. The staff were always operating at 110%. Having valet parking is a must in Waikiki and they were always prompt with our car. The room was GORGEOUS! The products made me run downstairs and buy sets for all of my friends. I also went home with more hats from Newt's than my honey was expecting. I must have been a sight in the airport with all of my hat boxes! The Mai Tai bar was perfectly situated and was one of the best people watching locations on the island. After staying here,my new goal is how often I can come back. February 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Resort in busy Waikiki Beach My husband and I celebrated our two year anniversary at the Royal Hawaiian and absolutely loved it! The hotel rooms and lobby are beautiful. We stayed in the historic building which had an elegant charm to it with the lavish decor. The restaurant food and service was great. Fantastic mai tais at the mai tai bar! Most importantly, it was quaint and felt like a mini getaway from the really, really busy Waikiki Beach. The walls in the hotel and the grounds really made us feel secluded and special. Highly recommend for a couples only getaway! It is truly a royalty treat! October 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 4 Days in the Pink Palace We take a yearly sojourn to the Royal Hawaiian - we just finished our 12th or 13th trip. 3 nights/4 days of peace and bliss. And being taken care of by an outstanding staff. Over the years the property and menus have changed but the quiet, beauty and friendliness has remained superb. The Royal Hawaiian is a slice of peace and tranquility inside the hustle and craziness of Waikiki. Life doesn't get much better than a day spent lounging under an umbrella on the sand followed by a sunset dinner and live entertainment at the Mai Tai bar. We will return again and again. October 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Birthday I would like to thank the Royal Hawaiian for making my 32nd Birthday very special. In addition to it being my birthday, I was also celebrating passing my emergency medicine board exams. I want to pay special thanks to Melani who works at the front desk. She took great time and effort to find me the perfect room with an amazing view. She also added special touches during my stay to make it unforgettable. I would recommend this hotel to any of my colleagues. I have several conferences in Oahu and will always stay here from now on. Thanks again Melani! January 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Much lower level of service compared to last year While the hotel staff was very welcoming, and the room are great, there are a few things that took be aback. In particular, I was shocked to discover that the hotel started charging USD 40 for an umbrella and a chair on the beach, which is outrageously expensive, and a big downer compared to be previous stay at that hotel a year earlier. C'mon, this is absolutely ridiculous. And plus the beach staff was not very pleasant at all. The hotel should increase the USD 36 resort fee by a few USD to include the use of chairs and umbrellas at the beach. The rooms are also more loud than I remembered, especially in the morning. The location, however, cannot be beat, but this should NOT be a reason for taking advantage of their customers. January 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room Expectation IGreeted with aloha by bellman and recptionist. Went through amenities, two beds as requested. However, I was not told the room was equipped for "handicap visitors" which creted a problem as there was no place in the closet for evening attire[holoku,etc..] Receptionist spoke to supervisor and siaid that a room next to us was avaialable with a full closet and could I come and get the key. But it.. had a king size bed so we decided to stay in the room as we were late for a function .I used the hook holding the robes and the closet door frame for the long attire. It took away the ambience of the room. Saturday morning a very helpfil man[I did not get his name]' at the desk had a clothes rack sent to the room..very appreciated . It framed the foot of one of the beds....The air conditioning broke down sometime on Sat. but was quickly attended to when notified. I have a feeling that the receptionist may not have known that the room was for the handicap. I trust the use of a certicate had no bearing on the selection of the room. I still beleive the Royal is the best just a little disappointed in this visit. May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2nd honeymoon our travel agent recommended this hotel. My husband felt the housekeeping service was lacking on a couple of days, the restaurants offered nothing simple for an afternoon snack instead of a full lunch. I enjoyed the lanai's and breezes and beautiful grounds. May 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Royal Hawaiin This iconic hotel is a "must" stay. May 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice, but first time was better Check in process was good. We made a room change upon checking in but didn't get our banana cake until the following day. Service was good throughout stay but felt it was a bit lacking from prior visit in 2014. May 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful experience in an iconic hotel! We spent a few days at the hotel bookending a trip to Kauai. We could not have picked a better spot. The hotel is beautiful and sits on a prime spot on Waikiki. Situated next to the Sheraton Waikiki, the hotel's facilites, accessible to all guests, covered all of our needs from great pools for our young children to beachside cabanas for weary parents. Check-in time was great on the front end and yet took longer our second stay. Staff flexibliity to minimize guest check-in wait time should be enhanced. That said, we had a wonderful stay. January 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Summer Vacation Summer Vacation This is the third time that I have stayed at this hotel and I will be having a hard time staying at this hotel again. My wife and I were celebrating our 25th Wedding anniversary and we decided to switch hotels to the Royal Hawaiian. We did get an upgrade to an ocean view suite which was quite nice. Since this was in the original hotel the air conditioning unit does not work well. The room stayed at a constant 75 degrees, which made sleeping in the room a pain. The pool and service in the pool area was good. The only problem is this is a luxury hotel and you expect no screaming kids around the pool. This pool should be only be used for adults or children over 16. There is a kids pool beside the hotel which is shared by the two hotels. July 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home away from home I always feels like I'm returning home when I visit the Royal - staff reckognise and welcome me back.like an old friend. Azure is still a magical dining experience and the Mai Tai Bar with Kui and his crew still make and serve the best Mai Tai's and always with a smile. Pool staff are friendly and helpful; Housekeeping staff are courteous and competent as are the Bell Staff. All take pride in their hotel and do their utmost to make guests feel special. A lovely and gracious experience.. Looking forward to my next visit next year. November 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A stay at The Royal Hawaiian is a memorable experience The Royal Hawaiian is a rare find these days. It is one of the few lovely resorts that have maintained their original elegance, charm and grace but still offers all the up to date amenities today's traveler expects. The staff are warm and professional. The grounds and outlooks a tropical paradise. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Calm amongst the chaos We stayed a week at the RH and were thrilled with every aspect of our stay. The staff was very helpful and attentive to our needs. The location was a real bonus. Located in the middle of Waikiki, the RH is located within walking distance to just about anything you could need. And yet with all that is happening nearby, we were amazed at the calm and quiet atmosphere awaiting us when we walked around the corner to the hotel. It was serene and quiet. The room had adequate space and was well-kept. I would highly recommend this hotel. September 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Living up to Expectations The Pink Palace totally lived up to our expectations. Fabulously 5-star - we stayed in the old vintage wing which is one of the best parts of this historic hotel. Lounged by the pool, rented a lounger/umbrella combo and a paddle-board. All staff extremely helpful, especially the night-shift Housekeeping ladies. Perfectly located right in the center of Honolulu with beach access. And we even managed to sneak in a Sunday Brunch which is worth going back for in itself. Totally sold on this great hotel and will be returning. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Staff in an Iconic Cultural Landmark in Paradise This is a majestic property with a rich cultural history, and the property has undergone a renovation to restore it to its original look c 1927. It occupies the most beautiful stretch of Waikiki beach, and has a gorgeous view of diamond head. There is a beach club on the sand in front of the hotel which is the place to relax and take in the sights of Waikiki while enjoying the sunshine. It is an extremely well-run property, and the staff are as good as you'll find anywhere. They are really what make this property awesome. November 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location location location Great hotel,location perfect. Breakfast very good. Had dinner at Azure .Wonderful dinner & service wish I remembered our servers name. My husband was on a restricted diet & they made him a wonderful meal. I had some amazing fish. The only negatives for us was there work-out room needs to be updated & you shouldn't have to pay to lay on the beach especially when you pay a daily resort charge. April 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed We had previously stated at the Royal Hawaiian for our honeymoon and had a wonderful experience. This trip was good in many respects, but disappointing in others. Having had a wonderful view of the ocean and diamond head in our prior stay, we opted for the Tower Premium Oceanfront with King bed option. We were extremely disappointed to get a room with an ocean view on only floor 9 since we believed that we would get a high floor (floor 9 is not a high floor in a 16 / 17 floor building in my opinion) with the premium view (including diamond head). I spoke with the staff regarding our disappointment but there were no options available which met all the criteria that we had booked. While I would recommend the hotel based upon our first stay, I would not recommend the hotel based upon our recent stay since I felt we were sold one room and did not receive a room that met the criteria we were sold. April 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by i can't wait to return The only thing i needed that wasn't there, was a Kettle & English breakfast tea (I don't drink coffee) - and that is probably an English requirement, so I'm not too dissatisfied as next time I will just ask for one on arrival. I really found all the staff to show excellence & I will see you on the 15th - just wish I was staying longer. All my friends in Australia recommended your Hotel & I will definitely pass it on to others. Thank you again so much for a wonderful stay, Kindest Regards Emma Harvey October 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Pink Palace Needs Help The Royal Hawaiian Hotel use to be my favorite hotel. I have gone for vacation most years of my life--probably 30+ times. After an expensive remodel she looked lovely, but many important features were removed. It is no longer at the top of my list. Dirty elevators (grunge around the baseboards and carpet), poor menu selections, empty restaurant, average food preparation, poor bar service, beach umbrellas that cost a fortune, no table cloths (or elegance) at the restaurant. I could go on. Breaks my heart. January 17, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 17 next>>