The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

  • 2259 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 570 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Once again, a great stay at the Royal Hawaiin As a local resident of Oahu, I like to spend a night or two every month in Waikiki with my girlfriend to go out for dinner and do some shopping. I have stayed at all four Starwood properties in Waikiki and none of them is better than the Royal Hawaiian. As Platinum SPG member, I always get special treatment and recognition but this time, the management went above and beyond and put me in the Royal Hawaiian Suite which was spectacular. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely be back soon. To the staff, guest services manager, and General Manager - Mahalo, a hui hou malama pono! October 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Had a great time for my tenth trip to this hotel. Staff as always was wonderful and the hotel offers you a calm elegant experience in the midst of busy waikiki. Only issue I had is now there is a charge on top of room cost & $25 dollar a day resort fee for beach chairs. Another $ 42!! per day you use them. Not happy about that at all. October 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very beautiful hotel Stayed at this hotel during one of our many visits to Honolulu. We had an ocean view room. The room is a bit small. The hotel is very beautiful and elegant. Take a stroll around the property and marvel the beauty of it. It is one of the three SPG properties right on the Waikiki Beach, October 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rusty room with unfriendly staff - Rood condition is sucks, no fan working / bed side ramp out safety box lock down : so need to call security everytime - But they were no respond and no service at all as they treat you are just short term stay guest. - Strange smell in room - Unfriednly staff - Better to stay next big and cheaper hotel October 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Room very unclean - fridge and bathroom especially + rubbish from former guest left in wardrobe. No golf channel on TV October 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Stay My wife and I stayed for five nights on the first leg of our honeymoon. The room, service, food quality were all excellent. Probably one of the best hotel stay experiences I have ever had. October 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always exceptional!! My fiancee and I make a trip out to Hawaii every 6 months and when we stay in Oahu we always stay at the Royal Hawaiian! The service was exceptional and on this visit I was able to enjoy the luau which was incredible. You can be sure that my next trip to Oahu that I will once again be staying at the Ryal Hawaiian!! October 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by We had a wonderful time The hotel room was a little small. I could hear the next door people rattling hangers in the closet. The shower door was so high we couldn't hang towels over the top. The beach was fabulous. The food was very good. We could have our things on lounge chairs and walk just a few feet for lunch. Shopping, food court, souvenir shops, and restaurants were very short walks. The hotel was beautiful, with lots of beach amenities very handy. The staff were quite helpful. October 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by fantastic hotel, location, and staff i had a very pleasent stay from start to finish at the royal hawaiian. they recognized my spg status immediately and had a welcome happy hour that was very nice. at check in, we received a drink and leis which set the tone for the rest of the stay. i cannot wait to go back. the only thing i did not like was that i had to rent a beach chair that was part of royal hawaiian. October 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by It is puzzle for SPG Platinum You will have the Platinum benefits by hotel depended besides instant: Upgrade to suite: NO Breakfast:PUZZLE It is also NO room of good view for you. The hotel give a coupon of light set menu at noon time for one person per room even if couples stay. September 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by As a SPG Platinum this hotel offers nothing in extras. None of the usual amenities that we usually always receive. Do not stay here if you expect the usual upgrades and services that a platinum member receives. You will get zero , no robes, no slippers, no breakfeast, no room upgrades and of course no club! September 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by rustic, but cozy and beautiful; The surroundings were beautiful, staff was very courteous, room was very comfortable, pool was great for the grandchild and proximity to the restaurants was great. September 25, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never coming back! This was our second stay, 1st stay Bad, 2nd stay terrible!!! I feel I was lied to by your reservations people, I was very specific in what I wanted, not looking for a deal or a discount, money not a problem, wanted high in the tower and was told that is what I was getting. What I got was room 2000, a handicap room, with a view of the cooling and heating ductwork!!! I will never come back to your hotel or any Starwood property. September 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional!! I don't have anything negative to say. The rooms are gorgeous, the restaurant is amazing, the beach boys are very helpful, but the thing that stands out the most is the service. Everyone from management to housekeeping was truely remarkable and goes above and beyond on everything. September 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Visit Wonderful visit. This was a business trip, but I enjoyed the surroundings as if I were on vacation. September 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grand hotel with a grand history Beautiful hotel with excellent service. A wonderful staff that goes out of their way to service the customer. A hotel with a marvelous history of the Hawaiian Islands. I will definitely bring my wife back to the Pink Palace. September 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Royal Hawaiian Review Having stayed in other Hotels on Waikiki, overall I wasn't impressed with the extra premium to be paid for the Royal Hawaiian. For comparison I have stayed in other Waikiki beach front hotels and much prefer those hotel to the Royal Hawaiian considering that the Royal Hawaiian is at least a third more expensive and i couldn't tell any noticeable difference between the two. My big complaint is that for the extra cost, I didn't feel the services or faclilities lived upto their billing. My main complaints are around the cleaning of the room which wasn't upto the standard i was expecting. Two examples of this 1) On the first day of our stay, a small corner of one of my wife's makeup sachets fell on the bathroom floor. This stayed there for the entire duration of our stay and proved the bathroom floor was neither hoovered or washed while we were there. 2) On the first day we also received a welcome fruit basket. While this was appreciated, by the end of the stay it had gone mouldy and should have either been replenished or thrown away sooner before it became a health hazard. Once again highlighting the sub standard room cleaning This was a shame as we had had such high hopes for staying in the Royal Hawaiian. After staying in other Waikiki Hotels and knowing their standard we were expecting something special of the Royal Hawaiian and sadly it didn't live upto expectations. September 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful Experience I stayed at the Royal Hawaiian 3 nights, having stayed at many of the other hotels in Waikiki as a frequent business traveler. The location is terrific and the setting beautiful. After being sold an upgrade at check-in, I was horrified at the dirtiness of the room. In particular, the shower had hair and the shampoo bottle was from the prior guest (half full). The pillow cases were dirty. The shower faucet was not working properly. I contacted the staff, who offered me another room, which was also dirty. The next morning, a manager offered to upgrade me again to a suite for additional charge. While she did find another room for the same price and offered me a discount, that room also had a broken shower faucet. Not what I'd expect from a "luxury collection" property. September 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Royal Rhawaiian I love this hotel. I come over from the Mainland to see my dad. They always ask how he is. Everyone who works there is wonderful September 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I had wonderful experiences when the hotel was a catagory 5 Upon check-in my room was filthy, hopefullly the exception as it was my first visit as a category 6 hotel. My sheets were thin and torn, yes torn!! Shortage on towels, no robes or slippers and no longer providing a refrigerator unless you complain of your food not staying fresh. The balcony was dirty and the new seating is far less comfortable. I brought out pillows for comfort. My turndown service was not consistent. I had to ask my daily housecleaner to please vacuum, and leave enough linens, I work hard cleaning for a living and could not believe what I saw. We were not able to move the same night but the housekeeping management took a few pictures of the room. I expected to not be charged for that first night. Instead I received a friends and family rate??, I didn't know that existed! I have stayed at the Royal numerous times in the past before the rise to category 6.I always stayed in the tower. I wanted to mention there is no longer a snack bar and you will be charged for beach and some pool area seating. The hotel has a more sterile look and feel about it! I miss the way it was! September 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome We absolutely loved our stay at the Royal Hawaiian. The staff were friendly and very helpful from the bell desk, checkin (nice touch with the hot towels and beverage) to the Mai Tai bar (Susan) and the Restaurant (Oscar). We stayed on the 3rd floor overlooking the courtyard, the room was above expectations. We highly recomend this Hotel and hope your stay will be as memeorable as ours! September 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Historical Beauty & Charm with a Great Location! This was my first trip ever to the Islands after traveling extensively to other parts of the world. This trip was a gift to my partners 50th Birthday and was it magical! The Islands charmed me and the Royal Hawaiian sealed the deal. As you drive in to the hustle and bustle of Honolulu you are just a bit overwhelmed with the energy and density BUT the minute you drive past those beautiful iron gates you step back in time and a sense of peace and serenity embrace you! We were greeted by such friendly staff and the Hotel does not stop charming you from corner to corner. The history behind this hotel was quite impressive and the accommodations were supberb! Now I just wish we had spent more time at this Historical Jewel! We will be back!!! September 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Calm amongst the chaos We stayed a week at the RH and were thrilled with every aspect of our stay. The staff was very helpful and attentive to our needs. The location was a real bonus. Located in the middle of Waikiki, the RH is located within walking distance to just about anything you could need. And yet with all that is happening nearby, we were amazed at the calm and quiet atmosphere awaiting us when we walked around the corner to the hotel. It was serene and quiet. The room had adequate space and was well-kept. I would highly recommend this hotel. September 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise This hotel is an oasis in Waikiki, the ocean tower rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed; the beds are a pleasure and the bathroom is great. The staff are friendly and efficient and the food at the resort is great as well, all up it makes for an enjoyable and serene holiday. September 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent This hotel is Excellent! I would highly recommend . Not only is it a great location on Waikki the view of Diamond head is excellent. I found the rooms to be very comfortable, clean, quiet and tastefully decorated. The bathrooms are large and modern with all the amenities.The staff are very helpful, friendly. September 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing getaway beautiful hotel, wonderful service, paradise get away. I hope to make this an annual place to go. September 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hospitality - Food and Beverage Lacking I have always enjoyed my stays at the Royal. I find the staff to be friendly and proactive. Unfortunately in last few visits I have had to dine elsewhere. The food service is understaffed with long wait times affecting guest satisfaction in overpriced menu items. On one occasion I found three hairs in my food. However it is easy to find other places to eat, much harder to find such a pleasant experience in other amenities. Thank you! September 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location and top notch service Upon arrival, greeted with fresh flower lei, cold towels, and pink lemonade. Check in was easy and room was ready. Location center of Waikiki beach behind major shopping and restaurant areas. September 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our pool experience The hotel was great except the little seating (about 60 lounge chairs) around the pool. To charge for chairs on the beach with an umbrella is ridiculous. For as many rooms as the hotel offers, something needs to be done about seating in shade by the pool. I feel that I should get some points returned to my account since I was unable to get seating by the pool when I wanted it. September 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roach Motel The Royal Hawaiian is as beautiful as the pictures you'll find on the web or in print. We were greated by friendly and bellmen. We moved to the front desk and were told our room wasn't quite ready. My cell phone number was taken and I was told I'd be called within the hour when our room was ready. Almost two hours later after not receiving the promised phone call I returned to the front desk and was told by a diffrent staff member my room had been ready I received I diffrent room than the prior employee set me up with (no big deal). With in less than a minute of entering the room the bell staff was already at the door to deliver our bags! These guys were on it! The first night went well. On the 2nd of our 5 night stay I opended the cabinet door that concealed the refridgerator and a roach ran behind the other door. I opened the door to find the coffee pot and a few roaches running around. I called the operator and the person on the other end of the phone replied oh ok. After 15 min of waiting I removed the contents of the cabinet myself found 5 roaches running around, I managed to kill 4 the other ran under the cabinet. After another 10min finally a knock at the door. Two maids were there one holding two freshly laundered towels the other with two bottles of weather and the chocolates they place on your pillow. They had no idea why they were sent???? I told them I killed a few roaches that were running around the coffee while I was waiting and they turned to leave. I stoped them and asked if they wouldn't remind removing the coffee pot cups condiments and coffee from that compartment. We dont drink coffee so I told them no need to replace it. I just didn't want the tainted items in the room for the next guest. For the remainder of our stay staff never once followed up with us, in fact other than the beach staff that set up our rented chairs (also very friendly and eager to please) another staff member didn't speak with us until check out. The night after the incident another roach was spotted in the bathroom. And on our final night some teenagers in the room next door had there radio on to max level and we having a "party" in their room until well after 1:00am after finally falling asleep I was waken the sound of all of them screaming. I heard one voice say " that better not be a roach" the next morning while packing my items to leave I noticed a roach running along the door that adjoins my room to the partying teenagers. I snapped his picture to remember my stay and headed off to check out. Once again the bell staff was attentive. All in all not a big deal about hot the staff dealt with the bug problem, but as having a colledge degree in hotel management and living in Las Vegas I couldn't help but think in a 5 star luxury resort the situation could have been handled much much better. After all everyone I encountered that asked where I was staying all replied with ooh the Royal Hawaiian - or WOW! I just don't think it quite lived up to his mystique. September 2, 2012
  • 2015-11-29 T07:29:33.505-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-17, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_570, tr_570
  • loc_en_US, sid_376, prod, sort_default
<<prev 15 16 17 18 19 20 next>>