The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

  • 2259 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 519 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise This hotel is an oasis in Waikiki, the ocean tower rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed; the beds are a pleasure and the bathroom is great. The staff are friendly and efficient and the food at the resort is great as well, all up it makes for an enjoyable and serene holiday. September 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent This hotel is Excellent! I would highly recommend . Not only is it a great location on Waikki the view of Diamond head is excellent. I found the rooms to be very comfortable, clean, quiet and tastefully decorated. The bathrooms are large and modern with all the amenities.The staff are very helpful, friendly. September 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing getaway beautiful hotel, wonderful service, paradise get away. I hope to make this an annual place to go. September 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hospitality - Food and Beverage Lacking I have always enjoyed my stays at the Royal. I find the staff to be friendly and proactive. Unfortunately in last few visits I have had to dine elsewhere. The food service is understaffed with long wait times affecting guest satisfaction in overpriced menu items. On one occasion I found three hairs in my food. However it is easy to find other places to eat, much harder to find such a pleasant experience in other amenities. Thank you! September 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location and top notch service Upon arrival, greeted with fresh flower lei, cold towels, and pink lemonade. Check in was easy and room was ready. Location center of Waikiki beach behind major shopping and restaurant areas. September 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our pool experience The hotel was great except the little seating (about 60 lounge chairs) around the pool. To charge for chairs on the beach with an umbrella is ridiculous. For as many rooms as the hotel offers, something needs to be done about seating in shade by the pool. I feel that I should get some points returned to my account since I was unable to get seating by the pool when I wanted it. September 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roach Motel The Royal Hawaiian is as beautiful as the pictures you'll find on the web or in print. We were greated by friendly and bellmen. We moved to the front desk and were told our room wasn't quite ready. My cell phone number was taken and I was told I'd be called within the hour when our room was ready. Almost two hours later after not receiving the promised phone call I returned to the front desk and was told by a diffrent staff member my room had been ready I received I diffrent room than the prior employee set me up with (no big deal). With in less than a minute of entering the room the bell staff was already at the door to deliver our bags! These guys were on it! The first night went well. On the 2nd of our 5 night stay I opended the cabinet door that concealed the refridgerator and a roach ran behind the other door. I opened the door to find the coffee pot and a few roaches running around. I called the operator and the person on the other end of the phone replied oh ok. After 15 min of waiting I removed the contents of the cabinet myself found 5 roaches running around, I managed to kill 4 the other ran under the cabinet. After another 10min finally a knock at the door. Two maids were there one holding two freshly laundered towels the other with two bottles of weather and the chocolates they place on your pillow. They had no idea why they were sent???? I told them I killed a few roaches that were running around the coffee while I was waiting and they turned to leave. I stoped them and asked if they wouldn't remind removing the coffee pot cups condiments and coffee from that compartment. We dont drink coffee so I told them no need to replace it. I just didn't want the tainted items in the room for the next guest. For the remainder of our stay staff never once followed up with us, in fact other than the beach staff that set up our rented chairs (also very friendly and eager to please) another staff member didn't speak with us until check out. The night after the incident another roach was spotted in the bathroom. And on our final night some teenagers in the room next door had there radio on to max level and we having a "party" in their room until well after 1:00am after finally falling asleep I was waken the sound of all of them screaming. I heard one voice say " that better not be a roach" the next morning while packing my items to leave I noticed a roach running along the door that adjoins my room to the partying teenagers. I snapped his picture to remember my stay and headed off to check out. Once again the bell staff was attentive. All in all not a big deal about hot the staff dealt with the bug problem, but as having a colledge degree in hotel management and living in Las Vegas I couldn't help but think in a 5 star luxury resort the situation could have been handled much much better. After all everyone I encountered that asked where I was staying all replied with ooh the Royal Hawaiian - or WOW! I just don't think it quite lived up to his mystique. September 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Top 10 Hotel Besides the historical beauty of this hotel, the staff has continued to provide the excellent service befitting this legendary property. August 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs improvement in services Very hot in the rooms, no A/C in the hallway, such an expensive hotel and yet you have to pay 15$ a day for internet services, food needs improvement for in-room dining August 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location and Service Location of the Hotel is fantastic, with the beach on one side and restaurants and shops on the other side. Service of the staff is great. The room was spacious, with separate dining and living area, walk in closet, 2 TVs, coffee making facilities, sink and fridge. Free 1 hour international calls daily save us roaming charges. The banana bread given on arrival was delicious. Shops at the hotel had nice stuff. Perfect stay if one can afford it. August 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice hotel and good services Great location, very nice service and even suprise the valet parking staffs memorized our names. Beautiful setting , Overall rating.... EXCELLENT PLUS. + + + +. Need to improve: I saw two live roaches in our bathroom. August 17, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel was very disappointing Had to wait 45 minutes to get our reserved room while they searched for 2 beds. Manager would not come to discuss the situation with us. No beach chairs were available and they would have cost $40 EACH if they were. On top of a resort fee. August 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by DISAPPOINTED IN WHEN BOOKING THIS HOTEL, WE THOUGHT WE WOULD EXPERIENCE A MUCH HIGHER LEVEL OF SERVICE. NOT!! 55 MINUTES TO CHECK IN! THEN WE ARRIVED INTO OUR 2 ROOMS. AFTER 6 PHONE CALLS INTO FRONT DESK FOR A POOR AIR CONDITIONER OUTPUT, THE ENGINEER STATES,''YOU HAVE A SMALL AC UNIT, NOTHING CAN BE DONE.... IT TOOK 6 CALLS.... I GUESS WHEN YOUR ALWAYS SOLD OUT, THEY DONT CARE ABOUT MY 6 CALLS...BE CAREFUL, THE FRONT DESKS DOESNT CARE, THEY SMILE AN PRETEND NOT TO UNDERSTAND YOU SO THAT YOU GO AWAY!!!! August 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Well Below Expectations I had a very mediocre stay at this hotel over a 4 night stay - I was expecting everything to be near perfect considering the star rating of the hotel and the $400+/night we were spending to stay here. Unfortunately, the hotel did not meet any of our expectations as the hotel staff was unprepared to help with any requests (e.g., I arrived late at 3am because of flight delays and the receptionist would not let me sign in because somehow they didn't have my name on the reservation even though my friend had already checked in, we had to ask for extra glasses multiple times before they arrived, my bill was incorrect and I had to get it corrected three times, etc.). The rooms were also very small, old, and dated. The only bright spot was Colleen, the manager, who accommodated my requests and was very helpful. Otherwise, I would've checked out and found another hotel. August 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tropical paradise and classic luxury It has been nearly 20 years since I first stayed at the Royal Hawaiian. Like a fine wine, she has only improved with age. From the warm greeting (flower leis for the ladies, and kukui nut leis for the men), to the fresh guava juice at check-in, to being escorted to your room by the front desk staff, the Royal Hawaiian truly makes you feel like a welcomed and honored guest. The views from the Ocean tower are exquisite. The food in the restaurants is phenomenal. (The tasting menu at Azure is not to be missed). And if you get bored with the food at the Royal Hawaiian, you can eat at any of the sister SPG properties, and charge it right back to your room and earn SPG points. I tried the restaurants at 2 of the other SPG properties, and I was equally impressed. I can't say enough good things about the Royal Hawaiian. August 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by not the best could be better next time Booked for spg50 (50% off). At first did not get rate ...i needed 100 points spg center did not mention. Asked for non smoking and was booked smoking. Called the night before arrival. Everything fixed but when I checked in and explained situation. I was a suspect. insinuating I was lying. I was to get an ocean view room. I know the person checking in with was annoyed. Rewarded with a great room on floor 2 where the air condition system was blocking my ocean view. Nice. also there are maybe 550 rooms and pool/beach space for about 150. Really?. Stayed at The Moana Surfrider the next 4 days. Everything there was excellent. Thinking about asking for some type of comp. Would stay again if I ask about my view before checking in. Cindy at the Mai Tai Bar is great. go get a Mai Tai with her. August 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing staff and beautiful hotel This hotel exceded out expectations had a beautiful suite. The service was amazing all around a very pleasant and relaxing vacation. August 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by THIS HOTEL HAS BEAUTIFUL GARDENS AND A ROMANTIC FEEL. THE HOTEL HAS BEAUTIFUL GARDENS AND THE ROCKING CHAIRS BY THE GARDENS GIVE THE HOTEL A HOME AWAY FROM HOME FEELING, VERY RELAXING. August 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Great Hotel in a Great location. Some services and room cleanliness let the hotel down. We found the hotel was over priced as everything was charged from a $25.00 daily resort charge to paying for the seats on the beach. August 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay in Waikiki at the Royal Hawaiian Overall, we have a wonderful experience. Little quirks with check in where you sit down at a desk with the receptionist and this lead to us waiting an inordinate amount of time to check in and get a room. Then we had a discount rate due to corporate arrangement ahead of time but then I was asked for paperwork confirming the corporate rate that I did not have since my office arranged everything and did not give me anything offhand. Had to wait until last day when my secretary returned from her vacation to get the details straightened out. Nice pool but no where to swim laps. also if you arrived after 9 am there were no chairs unless you wanted to pay for oneunder the cabana or on the beach. August 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is spectacular! Exquisite service, staff makes guest feel like royalty, no homeless people on the beach at this resort, luau not so good (lady hostess talked the whole time through dinner and it was not relaxing instead loud and obnoxious), food at luau was not good either, room service food was excellent. August 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful hotel we have stayed here many times and enjoy every time . (one complaint) your restaurant is very pricy August 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great aloha staff - We truly enjoyed our stay at the Royal Hawaiian. Not only is it a beautiful resort set on one of the most georgeous beaches in the world but the staff was wonderful and the service outstanding. That made our trip so special. Also loved the music, food and dancing at the luau. August 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply the Best! When you close your eyes and think of Hawaii...visions of calm gardens, palm trees swaying in the tropical breeze, and an ocean with multi shades of blue fill your imagination. Add to that a historic hotel of magnificent beauty where the staff is attentive, respectful, and filled with the warmth of AlOHA.....and you have PARADISE! The Royal Hawaiian Hotel is the closest you will ever get to a place where your imagination is out done by reality! July 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impeccable service The bell desk, housekeepers and Mai Tai Bar staff made our stay beyond memorable. Kawika, (bell desk) approached us right away and helped us with our bags while we checked in. He remembered that we were celebrating a birthday throughout our entire stay and would always ask how we were doing with a smile. Susan, (Mai Tai Bar) was so friendly and made the last day of our stay-cation most memorable with so many laughs, good food and drinks. July 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heaven on earth This is my second anniversary for my ME TIME at the royal!!! I LOVE THE COMFORT, THE ALOHA, AMENITIES, STAFF, FOOD AND LOCATION!! I JUST WANNA LIVE THERE!! July 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience for us! We have been to Honolulu before. This time, due to our travel schedule, we were basically just spending a day and staying overnight. So, we planned on strolling along the beach, having lunch, browsing through the shops along Kalakaua Ave and later having a nice dinner. As an SPG platinum member, I checked the SPG site for availability - only one of the four Star wood member hotels, the Royal Hawaiian, had the "cash and points" option for that night. Some friends (also platinum) recently stayed there and were really disappointed - no upgrade; basic small, "dated" rooms; no SPG club lounge and minimum free breakfast package. In Tripadvisor, as is often the case, the range of reviews went from outstanding to terrible. However, I was a little concerned about the number of poor reviews in regard to overall service, accommodations, facilities and the benefits received by SPG members. I am aware that SPG upgrades are completely dependent upon availability - and I have experienced the full gamut - from deluxe suites to no upgrade at all. I always anticipate having the room that I have booked, but hope for and am very appreciative when I receive any upgrade. We arrived at 10:00 AM and were told that we had been upgraded to a suite (fantastic!), but that our room was not ready yet ( I expected that) - but that they could see if another room might be available now. He said that the upgraded room would be ready around 2 PM. I told them we were happy to wait and that we had planned on just dropping off our luggage and returning later anyhow. I wanted to know if the was somewhere that we could change (as we always "layer" on the plane). HINT: They said we could use the hospitality suite to change and gave us the key. I don't know if this is for all guests or just because we were platinum, but I saw a number of reviews that complained about not having anything to do for an hour to two while waiting for their room. If you have nothing planned, the hospitality suite is a place to sit and relax (a/c,watch TV or use the wifi) while waiting for your room - so it wouldn't hurt to ask to use it if you are in this situation. We returned at 2:30 PM and were told that our room still wasn't ready, but he could check to see what might be available. I told him that it would be no problem for us to wait for our room, as long as we could do so in the hospitality suite again. While there, another couple came in - they had to check out of their room, but since it was a while before they were returning to the airport, they were also using the hospitality suite. Our room was ready at 3:00 PM. A really spacious two room suite, mainly with a garden view. But one could see the ocean in the distance behind the common pool. The Rooms were very nice. But if one were expecting rooms having the modern feel of contemporary luxury -- and especially if paying full price -- then I could certainly understand some of the negative reviews. The bathroom was quite small in relation to the size of the other rooms, but was completely renovated. The bathroom amenities/toiletries were abundant. We were thrilled with the room, as we could just sit and contemplate how the privileged guests of a previous era would have thoroughly enjoyed this setting. There was no balcony with this suite. But we could picture the occupants of the past being more interested in sitting down on the veranda, or in the garden or at the bar or on the beach and socializing with their compatriots, rather than sitting on a small, isolated balcony by themselves. We were quite surprised when a complimentary bottle of Sparkling Rose and some banana bread muffins were delivered to the room. Don't know if this is routine hotel procedure for the suites, or because the room wasn't ready the second time we came back - but it was a very nice touch. We had originally planned on having some seafood at the Azure restaurant, but we ended up dining elsewhere.. HINT: Staying at any of the four Starwood member properties allows you to dine at any one of them and charge it to your own room, so that it appears on your hotel bill, rather than paying separately - very convenient, and you get the SPG points. The "free Platinum SPG" breakfast was basically a continental breakfast, so no big benefit there. But our server Chester was such a delight that it more than made up for it. So, to summarize, we were very pleased with the service, facilities, location, surroundings and accommodations during our brief visit. However, we knew what to expect beforehand and were not expecting "modern luxury" style accommodations. One goes to the Royal Hawaiian for the service, history and tradition. The upgrade made it even more special - thank you Royal Hawaiian and SPG. July 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel, Impeccable service Very comfortable hotel, small, yet cozy. Beautiful architecture. Service is impeccable. and very attentive. Dinners at the Azure restaurant were delicious and the wine list was first class. We attended the Luai at the hotel, the show was excellent but the meal was average. The pool area was very small for an oceanfront property, seating around the pool was limited and If you could not find a seat around the pool and wanted to enjoy the beach, you had to pay an extra $40 for an umbrella and 2 chairs. Of note a resort fee is added to the room charge which apparently includes beach activities, but not the beach umbrella and chairs. To enjoy the beach, a 6 day stay for 4 persons, will include an extra $480 to use an umbrella and chairs. In my opinion, making a reservation at a Luxury collection beachfront hotel, should at least include the free use of the beach and its amenities, especially when you are also paying the resort fee. In general, however, I loved the hotel and the service. July 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pink lady the best place to stay. Wonderful magestic Hotel ,we met up with my sister and husband from Australia and couldn't have found a better Hotel. Takes you back in time .From the moment you arrive nothing is too much trouble for the staff.We all absolutely loved it! We stayed in the older part , overlooking the gardens .Sister's room was in the modern section.We rated ours the best. Only thing i'd change is make the pool area larger ,we sat on the sunbeds behind a section of plants and couldn't see the pool .Better to have two palm trees there instead :) Wished we had the name for a member of staff to say a big Thank you, whom one night took pics of the 4 of us acting silly ,he was so funny . When a Hotel makes you feel so welcome and makes those special touches that brings a smile ,you know you have it right .well done! Pease don't change the Pink lady lady she truly stands out from all the other sky scraper Hotels. Thank you so much will recommend to all my friends . July 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved it!!!!!!! Very nice hotel.......would stay here again July 17, 2012
  • 2015-03-30T18:27:00.930-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-17, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_519, tr_519
  • loc_en_US, sid_376, prod, sort_default
<<prev 15 16 17 18 19 next>>