The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

  • 2259 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 580 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by sssh... keep this to yourself Fantasic old school hotel, really amazing hotel, rooms were good, everything you could want/need. Great private beach as well.. December 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay and fantastic staff Our bed was very comfortable and the sheets were heavenly! The maids were super friendly every day with a smile and hello. The food was delicious and we loved spending sunset at the Mai Tai bar. We always made sure to sit in Nicole's section as she is delightful, funny, and perfectly attentive. We had a great time! November 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rocky start .... Great stay We had a rocky start. Upon checking in after many hours of travel we were so excited to get to our room and unwind. Upon entering the room we had been assigned to, the bed was unmade, there were empty bottles of alcohol and to top it off as we began to dial the front desk, someone rolled over and sat up in the bed. We had been assigned to a room that was occupied. We quickly left the room mortified. As we called the front desk from the hallway phone, the bellman approached with our luggage. While my husband was on the phone I explained to him what was going on. The MOD then asked my husband if she could speak with the the bellman. He took us downstairs, went to the offices behind the front desk and reappeared with a new room key. We asked if the manager was going to come out and speak with us and we were told that she was on the phone with the other guest. Yes, we were upgraded, but felt that the situation was handled poorly by the guest service manager on duty. This is obviously not something that happens very often, none the less is was very unsettling, and I can not imagine how violated the guest who was sleeping in her bed felt when we barged in. We did receive a message hours later with a verbal apology. The remainder of our stay was superb. The service, outside of the front desk and concierge was excellent. November 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lucky! I am lucky enough to be able to come to this resort often and each time is marvelous. The staff inside and out, go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure every need is taken care of, even the ones I wasn't aware I needed!! The beach staff is fabulous, they rock! (thanks Chuck!). The Customer Experience team is out of this world,(thank you Cory, Monica) On my last trip I attended the first annual Halloween party.. what a blast! This will be a MUST every year for me! Kudos to the new GM Cheryl! Your doing a great job! November 7, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Requires better customer service Below average overall customer service - except for concierge and housekeeping. Rude front desk staff. Inadequate amenities for how expensive the property is. Hotel was more concerned about shooting of Hawaii-five0 vs. guest consideration. November 4, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not 100% Up to Starwood Standards There are a few good reasons to stay at this property. Specifically, the location is amazing, the views are amazing and the staff is amazing. That said, if you are looking at the relatively premium hotel rates or perhaps looking to use points and looking at the high category level... you are likely going to be expecting more from this hotel than it delivers. We found it frustrating that a hotel at this cost tier asks you to rent the vast majority of the seating options at their pool or on the beach, In addition to your daily resort fee of $39, it costs you an additional 40 to get a lounge on the beach or an extra 180 to get a cabana at the pool. Don't get me wrong, I don't mind having the option to upgrade to something nice by the pool, but at this hotel they do not have enough of the "free" seats to accommodate the number of guests that want to use them... so, you basically get forced into paying for a place to sit. We also had minor issues like a Platinum amenity (sparking wine) that was delivered a day late, some less-than-timely responses from the concierge regarding dinner reservations (and we ended up not being able to get a table) and a front desk that simply never picked up the phone when called from a guest room. Overall, if you go in with the expectation that you are paying for location, not necessarily service, then you will not be disappointed. October 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Waikiki Summer Fun Terrific hotel and enjoyed the old and new wings (other then a few moths). Nice staff, beautiful small pool and access to bigger Sheraton pool. Beach is terrific, super location to walk to great spots or ride to other sites. Beachside restaurants very good. Enjoyed the history also! October 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by VERY ROYAL What an amazing property, in the middle of town, with an array of facility including neighboring hotels. This hotel makes a busy built up town still feel relaxing, would make the perfect wedding destination with its amazing gardens set alongside the beach. Many other hotels feel almost robotic and machine like in the area but the royal Hawaiian has a very warm and welcoming feel October 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room Comfort Air Conditioning did not work satisfactrily. Room never got below 78 degrees. Shower took too long to supply cold water. Room staqff ingnored my requests to not touch thermostats. Having a sitting room with no air vents is a waste of this feature. September 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by location location location we found this hotel to be the perfect end to our fantastic road trip vacation on the mainland USA great location, fantastic restaurant and bar with great views August 31, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff with attitude and service issues Just stayed 5 nights. Every day there was some issue. Room service breakfast arrived cold with used empty jam and jelly jars.looked like we had someone's old breakfast. Called to correct it with room service but no response. Stayed in tower where they have complementary drinks and food in the private lobby. I came back to my room from a meeting stopped in the lobby and tried to,pour a glass of water, staff yield at we that the service does not open until 5pm. The current time was 455pm. I had to pour the water out to keep them happy. Much of the staff appeared to be annoyed at any request I made. I've stayed here several times in the past with no issues. August 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by THIS HOTEL HAS GREAT FEATURES MY ONLY COMMENT IS THE BATHROOM IS ON THE ''SMALL SIDE'' OTHERWISE EVERYTHING IS GREAT.WE HAD THE GARDEN VIEW & IT WAS SPECTACULAR-SO SOOTHING TO SEE GREEN PLANTS & COLORFUL FLOWERS EVERYDAY RAIN OR SHINE..WE ENJOYED OUR POOL TIME W/GOOD FOOD & DRINKS.YOUR STAFFS ARE AMAZING:MILY,EVA ,MARIA (HOUSEKEEPING ) C.W.-FRONT DESK,POOL AREA-SAGE . JUDSON WHO TOOK OUR LOVELY PHOTOS.HAD A GOOD BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION ALL IN ALL.THANKS August 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Royal Hawaiian--Amazing Oahu Historic Gem My partner and I travel to Hawaii at least twice a year and we decided to treat ourselves and stay at the "Pink Palace of the Pacific." This resort is amazing and is full of nostalgia and historical charm. We stayed for 9 nights and upon arrival we were warmly greeted by staff and given kukui necklaces which was a nice touch but things kinda took a downturn from there. Check-in was quick since we were the only ones in the lobby at the time. The signage for Starwood Gold/Platinum members is not clear plus there was only one lady working behind the desk. Although she was warm she didn't recognize our Gold status and I had to ask her what the free gift was and opted for the bonus start points. Also, she didn't offer an upgrade stating that there was no availability. No big deal since we were allowed to check in early and our room preferences were met. We stayed in a grove room overlooking the coconut gardens on the 4th floor. The room was clean and nicely decorated though the bathroom was a bit small. I get it since were in the historical wing. The room was nice and quiet which we loved! The bed was absolutely the most comfortable we'd ever slept in! The bath products were heavenly as well. Some things didn't work though in the room such as the weigh scale and vanity mirror. Also on some days, housekeeping didn't replenish all the towels but they were the friendliest always greeting us "Aloha!" The concierge should take a lesson from them on hospitality. I do have to say that the concierge here as very unfriendly and unhelpful. We went twice and there are 2-3 of them just sitting at their desks and instead of greeting us we just stood there until we had to approach them for help. In terms of the facilities, the fitness center needs a major update! A couple of treadmills and one cable machine. The pool area is nice but the free chairs filled up in the morning. You'd have better luck going later in the afternoon when the morning crowds clear out. The pool staff and beach boys were AMAZING! Super-friendly. We rented the beach chairs 3 times during our stay and the $40 was well worth it. The constant iced water service was a nice touch. The Royal Hawaiian does have a small pool but you can use the Helumoa playground next door at the Sheraton Waikiki. However, Royal Hawaiian guests cannot use the Edge Infinity Pool. We ate at all the restaurants at the resort as well. Azure was hands down the BEST we've ever ate at in Waikiki. The service was was warm and friendly and the seafood was delicious! Highly recommend. We had breakfast at Surf Lanai a couple times and the food and service there were good as always. I wish I could've said the same about the Mai Tai Bar. We were seated at one of the tables and it took forever for a waiter even to greet us. It wasn't that busy either. The Beach Bar over at the Moana is far busier and the servers there really approach every table. Overall, my first stay at the Royal Hawaiian was okay. Despite some of there service hiccups it's a truly Hawaiian escape and it never felt crowded. August 24, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Worth The Money High expectations based on reviews and SPG ownership. Hotel has seen better days. Our room was small and worn, small items broken. Everything is incredibly overpriced onsite. Staff communication is slow, apathetic, and unhelpful. Too many other nice hotels with excellent staff to choose from in Hawaii. Don't waste your money here! August 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best hotels/resorts ever! What a wonderful fairy-tale experience was our stay at the beautiful Spanish/Moorish palace that is the Royal Hawaiian Hotel. I had stayed here once before, years ago, before the Luxury Collection conversion/renovation. I was blown away by the upgrades since the Sheraton days. The integrity and history of the Pink Lady of the Pacific is completely respectfully maintained, but gone are the ratty oriental rugs and clunky furniture of before. The rooms (we were upgraded to the Kaimana Hila Suite as Platinum SPG members) was beautifully appointed in tones of pale pinks and greens. The hotel staff overwhelmed us with amenities from a lei greeting at the valet, to a bottle of sparking rose wine to celebrate our engagement a few days before, banana bread muffins from the Royal Hawaiian bakery, fresh lychee fruits, and a wonderful rose petal heart display on the bed. Moreover, the level of personal service and recognition was amazing. Monica, the Guest Services assistant manager was super proactive in advance of our stay to note all of our arrival/departure times and preferences. I had sparely coordinated drinks at the wonderful Mai Tai bar and dinner at Azure (the best restaurant in Hawaii in my opinion) before, and Monica made sure everything worked like clockwork. She was nice enough to join us at the Mai Tai in person with a second wonderful lei greeting to celebrate our engagement and ensure we had everything we needed and were experiencing the Aloha spirit. Cheryl, the hotel General Manager, also personally joined us at the Mai Tai bar to introduce herself and make us feel at home and welcomed. This level of personal attention is a lost, forgotten art in today's world...which is why it needs to be celebrated as it will not be soon forgotten by my fiancé and myself. The tasting menu at Azure is out of this world, and the chef was good enough to modify the menu slightly to accommodate our dietary needs, which was most appreciated. The beach at the Royal Hawaiian is prime real estate on Waikiki beach and the $40 for two is a modest sum to pay to reserve two lounge chairs, an umbrella, and beach service. Every person we encountered on property was nicer than the next. I specifically chose the Royal Hawaiian to end 11 days/10 nights in Hawaii to celebrate our engagement, and the next time I return (Which we definitely will) we'll be sure to stay longer. YOU MUST STAY HERE; you will not be disappointed. August 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Never Fails to Impress!!! This was our second stay at the Royal Hawaiian and we could not have been more pleased. We stayed in the new renovated Malanni Tower, which we actually stayed in before. They had a deal that you could get a really nice continental breakfast, which you could make a really good meal from. They have a machine that puts out all sorts of coffee's as well, thru the day available. Then they have a late afternoon appetizer deal which if you were really cheap, you could also make a dinner out of. They served wine too, free too! All this is part of the staying in the tower and it is kinda fenced off from the other hotel area, your key gets you in. It was worth it. Room was just as nice and all good upstairs. We stayed on the 6th floor and the view of the ocean was excellent, probably would be good down to 4th floor. One advantage of 6th floor over the others, is no one can look down on you or up at you while you sit on your deck. Too bad they now charge you to rent a spot to sit under an umbrella at the beach. We stopped at Walmart on the drive in and bought two chairs and a 10 buck umbrella and sat where we wanted too. Gave it away when we left. June 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice stayin Honolulu I enjoyed very much the stay at Hwaien Hotel for two eriods in may 2015 (21-23 and 30/5-1/6) 2015 before and after a nice cruise round the Haqaien islands. I have been in Honorluu two times before, and have always wanted to stay at your Hotel. This timeI had the grat plasure to be there. Yours sincerely Sigurd Moe Hetland (Oslo,Norway) June 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Honeymoon We had a wonderful stay at The Royal Hawaiian. Room service was awesome and all the staff members were polite. The food for breakfast, lunch and dinner was excellent! We enjoyed every minute of our honeymoon while at the The Royal Hawaiian. We specifically loved our waitress Dorothy that we had for breakfast...she was a sweet elderly lady that treated us with respect and allowed us to take our time while eating and enjoying the fantastic view of the ocean!! We definitely want to come back for our 50th anniversary! June 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent...except We truly enjoyed our visit, but, I was unhappy to get an email from our Hawaiian Mastercard informing me that there was a 30% discount at the hotel I just stayed at.... I asked the front desk if there were any discounts that I could take advantage of and I was told no. That was obviously not the case. That tarnishes the trip. June 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by After all it is the hotel with the solid atmosphere. I stayed only 4 nights at traditional room.The overall atmosphere of the hotel is very solid. We were three people of a couple and the child, but think this hotel whether it is unfitness to a familly. May 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A must stay hotel would recommend to anyone who would like the comfort and aloha sprit of the islands. April 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has everything, great features and excellent location. I really enjoyed my recent stay at The Royal Hawaiian in April 2015. The hotel has great rooms, modern and traditional that you can select from. My room was located on the new Mailani oceanfront tower, wonderful view, I really recommend this hotel. April 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hawaiian Elegance OVERALL IMPRESSION: Epitome of a world class hotel and Hawaiian hospitality. It does not get any better than staying at the legendary Pink Palace. SPG RECOGNITION: I got a fantastic Suite upgrade. Full VIP treatment! THE ROOM: Classic elegance with Hawaiian motif. Always well maintained and clean. Great room amenities. LOCATION: In the business heart of Waikiki yet secluded from the bustle of the city. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: Gracious service and SPG Recognition. Azure Restaurant - fantastic fine dining; great service and romantic setting. EXTREMELY BELOW EXPECTATIONS: Nothing. April 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great visit! I just completed and enjoyed by 6th stay at the Royal Hawaiian. The facilities are impressive -- the rooms in the historic building are well-maintained, spacious, and feature elements in the hotel's signature pink, which brings a smile to my face. The staff is welcoming in all areas of the hotel in my experience, from the Surf Lanai restaurant, the Mai-Tai Bar, to the reserved beach area. While Waikiki can be a bit crazy at times, the hotel grounds are relaxing and the view of Diamond Head is inspiring. I look forward to returning! April 18, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Frequent Guest here over years, says FORGET IT! It's OVER! My wife and I came here today specifically to enjoy the ambiance we have enjoyed so many times before. We are on a cruise, but decided to reserve a room for the day and evening. I am an SPG Gold member just recently down graded from Platinum. We arrived at 10 a.m. Had requested 8 a.m. Early check in....not available....ok....went to the pool, told to "check back for room availability". No one suggested they could call your cell....paid a $36 RESORT FEE....but could not use internet until our room has been assigned.....BAD......NO sunny available seating at pool, because people are allowed to put their towels down on chairs at 7 am, and those chairs are theirs for the entire day!!!! No one sitting in most of chairs....there are only about 40 available chairs for the entire hotel!!! a ALL Royal Hawaiian BEACH chairs are ONLY available for a fee of $40 per person for the day!!! Why does one pay to come here??? Are you adding this up? My husband is so upset that we cannot get a decent chair he goes to the manager. There is NO WATER at the pool, which in years past was always available to walk up and get your own. We sat in shade until we finally saw 2 chairs not being used so sat in them. One chair that had a towel on it the entire day sat empty the whole day As people would walk through looking for somewhere to sit. NO towels were collected during the entire day as people would leave. No water was offered...EVER! I had to go and request a pitcher of ice water,and the server didn't even bring the plastic cups, I had to ask! No one ever offered a menu...the only place that the waiters would go is to the people that paid the $40 each to have chairs!!! This has been the most horrible experience we can remember. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel We were greeted by the valets and given leis at our arrival as our luggage was whisked away. The person at the front desk was extremely helpful with local information. He also gave upgraded our room to an ocean view. After we got to our room, someone knocked with chilled pink champagne and banana muffins which we sipped on the balcony looking at the ocean in our pink striped robes. Wow. The entire stay was wonderful. Be sure and go downstairs to look at the historic photos along the walls. We loved this hotel and will definitely return. March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay, amazing experience The service was top notch from concierge to housekeeping. The location is GREAT, rooms are clean and nice. Staff went above and beyond to accommodate. We will definitely go back. The only complaint really is that Room service food was barely okay. March 20, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by An old hotel with a tiny swimming pool. The Royal Hawaiian, first opened in 1927, is now really outdated. I stayed in the historical wing, room type is junior suit, the junior suit is just like its name, quit small, only about 450 sqf, and its floor plan is weird, not that kind of usual suit, but like a bed room with a living room balcony. Facilities are a little bit outdated, especially the tiny swimming pool. Besides, their service is good, for this reason, I give it three stars, but I still dont recommend you choose this hotel because at this price, you will have many other choices which are better than this one. February 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Second Timer This is our second trip to Royal Hawaiian Hotel our first was great. But this time has been different. We were not happy with the additional $36.00 a day charge, or the charges for the beach umbrella and chairs $40.00 for the 2 row and $50.00 for the ugly brown umbrellas that block the beautiful view for the 2nd row renters. On Sunday morning at 6:00 am I was woken up to the staff setting up breakfast for a large group outside my window. By 7:00 am there were about a 100 loud people outside my window having breakfast. Also we would take the same route to have breakfast every morning but one morning the staff was setting up for a group breakfast and when I asked if we could still walk through we were told by a older lady YOU MUST NOT KNOW HOW TO READ!! Even though the group had not gotten there yet we turned around and found another way to breakfast. (Breakfast outrageously priced.) Some of the Royal Hawaiian shops have unfriendly people that don't speak to you. The staff that took care of our room were great and friendly and so was the staff outside that greeted us as we left and came back. The lady at the front desk not so friendly. Our room was in the Royal Grove, Loved It. . February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great as always I love the pink palace as a quiet retreat in the heart of Waikiki. This was my second visit and it was just and good as the first time. There is no where else in Waikiki that I would rather stay. The junior suite exceeded my expectations- it was quite large. January 28, 2015
  • 2016-02-11 T06:25:28.623-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_580, tr_580
  • loc_en_US, sid_376, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>