The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

  • 2259 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 494 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Significant Improvement! We were very disappointed with our stay at the Royal Hawaiian in August 2014. The hotel is beautiful and beachfront, but those are the only good things I can say about our stay. The service was poor and needs a BIG improvement. We had breakfast and lunch at Surf Lanai. The hosts seemed very disoriented and disorganized. Guests were made to wait in the morning even though there were empty tables available. The waiters were very slow in taking the orders and there was no bus staff to pick up empty plates before subsequent courses arrived. On one morning, the waitress did not bring the full order and we had to ask to make sure that we weren't going to be charged for the extra items we ordered that were not brought out. The wrought iron barrier that separates the restaurant from the beach had rusted. Although the hotel was remodeled within the last 5 years, it did not appear that it was maintained well. The only restaurant worth eating at the hotel is Azure where we enjoyed a nice dinner, but I think they have their own staff separate from the hotel's. When you pay $500+ a night as well as a $35 resort fee per night, one would expect that the beach umbrellas and lounge chairs would be included for hotel guests. Well, at the Royal Hawaiian, guests who want to lay on the beach are asked to pay $40 to $50 a day for a set of lounge chairs and umbrella. Otherwise, if you are not willing to pay, you can use the free chairs around the overcrowded pool area. The day of our departure, our room key stopped working at 10 am even though we had not checked out. We had to wait 15 minutes for security to open the room, which set us back for our intended departure time to the airport. Overall, we were very disappointed with our stay at the Royal Hawaiian. Significant improvements to their service must be made before I consider returning. September 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by I hate to do this.... I really can't believe it, but this review will be largely negative. The STAFF, as usual, is awesome, the facility, in general, excellent. Negatives? The resort fee. Like all resort fee charging properties, they included WIFI, but plats are still charged the RF. The substitute benefit is ENHANCED WIFI. I took the breakfast benefit instead of the points. It is insulting that the "standard" continental breakfast as listed in the menu is not the downgraded continental breakfast offered to SPG members. In both of these cases, the property technically met their commitment to elites, but in my mind, these were just cheap work-arounds. Very disappointing I must also mention that the room upgrade was practically non-existent. I know this is an availability deal, but to give me a "suite" with a view of the air conditioning equipment is not what I consider an upgrade. April 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is over rated - very disappointed This hotel comes with a grand history and reputation & looks great from an exterior point of view with awesome view of beach but that is where it ends. It was more expensive than other luxury hotels & expected more but received a below par room. Room is dirty, linen dirty, glassware filthy, air con noisy & water pressure poor. Asked for assistance with aircon & brushed off by staff. Asked for clean linen & staff member simply dropped off for us to replace. Room supposed to be freshly renovated, must have been years ago. Have stayed at two other luxury properties in the last two weeks in Hawaii and they make this place look like a 1 star property. August 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The luxurious and elegant Royal Hawaiian Resort at Waikiki The Royal Hawaiian Hotel and Resort on Waikiki beach emulates pure luxury in every sense of the description. The fine dining, Mai Tai Bar, pool, spa, beach lounges, luxurious lounges, shops, tours, Consigier service and especially our room made our vacation exemplary and memorable. The hospitality and service were superb. Mahalo! September 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay at RH We loved the facilities at RH. The services are excellence from the door bell guys, concergeries to restaurant staff and the pool sides. One comment: The Check-in/out Staff are not so called friendly (not all of them), my guess is perhaps it's busy here at RH. I love the Check-In/Out Staff at St Regis, Princeville. September 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The not so Royal Hawaiian The Royal Hawaiian offers a wonderful beachfront Waikiki location and Hawaiian nostalgia, but the facilities and rooms leave much to be desired. Although renovated to the tune of $80 million in 2008-09, the facilities and rooms are inadequate for a 'luxury collection' property. The property imposes a $37 resort fee which does include parking (a nice inclusion) but does not include use of beach chairs, those will come at a cost of $40-50 for the day which no service. The pool is among the smallest I've seen at any hotel, let alone a resort. Although guests have access to the Sheraton pool next door, it's over run with children and Sheraton guests. The rooms are in need of a refresh: dirty carpets, dated furnishings are not representative of a luxury experience in the range of $400+ per night. I wanted to love Royal Hawaiian as it is quintessential Hawaii,but I'd skip this property until they update the hotel once again and add another pool, additional bar (Mai Tai bar is inadequate for this size hotel) and inclusions that are on par with a luxury collection hotel. September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a pleasure returning to the pink palace My husband and I returned to Honolulu with our son after getting married there 7 years ago. It was a magical experience to share our wedding memories with our son and enjoy the resort. September 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful Experience I stayed at the Royal Hawaiian 3 nights, having stayed at many of the other hotels in Waikiki as a frequent business traveler. The location is terrific and the setting beautiful. After being sold an upgrade at check-in, I was horrified at the dirtiness of the room. In particular, the shower had hair and the shampoo bottle was from the prior guest (half full). The pillow cases were dirty. The shower faucet was not working properly. I contacted the staff, who offered me another room, which was also dirty. The next morning, a manager offered to upgrade me again to a suite for additional charge. While she did find another room for the same price and offered me a discount, that room also had a broken shower faucet. Not what I'd expect from a "luxury collection" property. September 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Staff The quality, responsiveness and Aloha spirit of the staff provide an excellent guest experience.. The concierge desk and staff that work the breakfast on the Lanai were particularly exceptional. The only thing that kept the experience from being exceptional is the total unavailability of poolside or beach chairs. When we're paying $60./day in "resort fees," I don't expect to pay $40. for a place to sit. Guests are allowed to throw down a paperback book on a chair to "save" it and it often remains unoccupied for hours. Poolside staff..."That's just the way it is." Really? July 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice location. Good staff, nice facilities, but need to keep up with luxury collection standards! We stayed at Royal Hawaiian many times, and each time, it gets worst and worst. We checked in early evening hours, and then we went to out to eat. When we first arrive to the tower room, we notice it was quite hot, so we turn the ac way down to 65 and went out to eat. We came back about 2 hours later, and notice the room was still very hot... we didn't bother to change room, it was for only 1 night. It was really hot in the room. Should a 5 star property have AC to guests??? Okay. then we tried to turn on the tv.. there was no remote for the tv... okay...I stood there as a human remote for my husband for about 10 mins and someone finally bring one up after we called. Okay... fine.... then I went to the bathroom..... there was hair in the tub..... fine... rinse it with water... fine... no biggie...then.... went to get my laundry bag from the closet... there was none of those yellow cloth laundry bags, just regular plastic ones... gee...is that what a 5 star hotel can offer? Even it is one night... I think I deserve a good night stay there... I told the check out lady when i check out... and she simply told me to write a review... so here I am... I am very disappointed at the royal, we loved the hotel for years... but everytime.. service, room gets worse everyyear we come back....:( I really love if the management a team can really do something about it.. it is a real pity to let such a beautiful hotel falls through the cracks like that.. The location, the view, the history, the ground is what make this hotel so special. I love this hotel, but as a platinum member, I don't really think the hotel is up to standard of the other luxury collection hotels in spg chain. :( December 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel exceeded expectations Spent four nights at the Royal Hawaiian with my family as the grand finale of my two week vacation and was very happy with the experience. The property is spectacular and the location is perfect. It truly is an oasis in the hustle and bustle of Waikiki and its central location on the beach and within shopping district cannot be beat. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The public areas are beautiful and the grounds exceed expectations. The turn down service every night and fresh towels was welcome and we had no problem with our room. The frig originally was not working and was replaced within 15 minutes of my call with a brand new one. The valet parking staff was efficient and I had no problems with my car. If the food prices seem too high, there are plenty of off site options within walking distance. The Mai Tais are excellent and a great afternoon treat after the beach. The pool is small and I did not use it but you have access to the much larger family friendly pool at the Sheraton Waikiki. We did rent the beach chairs and umbrella and this is one cost I do recommend since lounge chair availability is limited at both the RH and the Sheraton Waikiki. August 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Annoying "Resort Fee" Although I know most luxury properties follow this practice, it is no less annoying. The only amemity I was able to take advantage of was the morning coffee which ran out of cream and I don't know if it wass ever replenished. I gave up after around 20-30 minutes and went into the restaurant and got some off an empty table. I thought the chairs and umbrellas would be part of this fee but found out not only they were not but had to be reserved up to a year in advance. Had I known that I could have reserved them before I came I was able to get the last set one day by being there at 6:30 before they opend to be first in line. Our remote control didn't work one night and we were told one would be sent right up. After waiting 45 minutes I called back and told them to forget it we were going to bed. It is a beautiful property and the staff was mostly very nice but the resort fee still annoys me. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Luxury Hotel needs some improvements We have stayed in Waikiki about 5 times over the past few years and have been at almost all of the beachfront hotels. This trip we decided to stay at the Royal Hawaiian, however we found this hotel to be lacking a bit in its "Luxury Hotel" claim. Housekeeping: This was below average. Almost everyday we had sand on our floor from the day before, which was never vacuumed. It was also hit of miss if we received bottled water. I would expect pristine routines in housekeeping with this hotel.. Beachside Service: As part of our package, we received daily lounge chair rentals for 2. Each day when I went to book the chairs, I was made to feel like I was "second class", as I was not purchasing the seats, but rather using the complimentary coupons we received with our package. I would never get a choice of the "nicer seats", the hotel agent would not show me the seating plan and always said the chairs in the front row were booked. I was quite irritated with this, as I was a guest and deserved equal treatment. I pressed the issue and asked to see the seating chart, as I told the agent, that I can't imagine all the front row seats are taken. When I pressured the agent, I did receive a seat in the front row. This is poor customer service and seems a bit underhanded. Food: The food quality was quite good, except for the prices. When you book at the Royal Hawaiian, you enjoy the services at the Sheraton Waikiki (same Starwood Chain). The 2 places should probably review their pricing for food, as the kids cheeseburger at the Sheraton (Rim Fire) is $8, while the same cheeseburger at the Royal Hawaiian (Mai Tai) is $15-almost double-really? Beach Cleanliness- This is probably the area that I was most disappointed with. There is a reserved section for lounge chairs (mentioned above) right on the beach. The sand in this area seemed like it was never cleaned. There was garbage everyday when we arrived at our chairs. I would absolutely expect that the sand is cleaned/raked every day this area be cleaned before the chairs are put up. This is really poor attention to detail, and would have expected more from the Royal Hawaiian. The facility even had a "quad motor vehicle" that could have been used to drag a rake across the sand-very disappointed. August 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Royal Hawai'i (Pink Palace) I had great customer service. The concierge, Sidney, assisted me and my son make reservations for excellent tour packages; Chester, offered me great service in the restaurant. I was also very impressed with the bar tender who was able to help me make meal selections. I had a very positive experience with the Pink Palace and I will recommend it. August 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by would have been perfect but... 1 small gripe, the pillows are very thin and dont provide much support. 1 massive gripe.. the royal hawaiian is gorgeous, old world glamour, modern comforts, fantastic staff. however, oracle hired out the hotel for a conventiuon. the whole vibe of the place changed to a convention centre. i dont begrudge you making money, but not at changing it for everyone else. every other guest was rightly upset. i looked forward to leaving the rat race for my vacation, only for it to join me the last 3 days when oracle checked in. not being able to use entry points into the hotel and beng interrtogated if i was a guest or not on using the front entrance ,, well, what can you say. its a bad joke. my resort fee was refunded, but really, its small change. October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 star service This hotel had exceptional service from check in to check out. Most of the staff that we met had worked there for over a decade, were knowledgeable, accommodating and friendly. We ate at the Azure each morning for breakfast and one dinner. The breakfasts were excellent and the dinner was among our top 5 of all time. We stayed in the newer ocean front tower where the views were breathtaking. The room was very nice but the art work was unusual and didn't match the room decor and the carpeting seemed a bit worn - lower quality than I would have expected from the Luxury Collection. I would agree that this is still, on average, a 5 star hotel overall but only because the service is probably a 6 and the accommodations a 4. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. March 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular Hotel and Experience The Royal Hawaiian is a beautiful hotel in the heart of Waikiki. The style is relaxed yet luxurious and very welcoming. From the first person I interacted with to the moment I checked out, the service was superior. The room I had was a garden suite. It was a very large corner room with huge king bed. The bed was extremely comfortable and the pink stripped robe and slippers were a great touch. The bathroom amenities are also very nice local product and there were plenty of them! The outdoor spaces and pool are well maintained and very lush. I loved everything about this hotel and would absolutely return for another visit! January 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by PINK POWER Everything about this place, Is like "Heaven on Earth". I didn't even know I was in the heart of Waikiki. I have NEVER had such a Heavenly experience like this. Go just GO, it's was sublime.... June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Customer Service, Comfort, and Aesthetic The RH was lovely. The employees were so pleasant and accommodating, from the bellman, to the front desk staff, to the housekeepers. The only service problems we experienced were that the waitstaff, both in the restaurant and by the pool, were often obviously overextended and sometimes hard to find. The grounds and decor are beautiful, the shops high-quality, and the location can't be beat if you want to be in the center of the Waikiki action and on the beach. The food overall was very good, and room service very fast. Our beds were at least as comfortable as our bed at home (which we love!). I will add that the flow of the outdoor areas isn't great. The only way to the pool from the lawn is through the restaurant or back into and through the hotel, and the only way to the beach is through the pool area. The gate between the large pool the RH shares with the Sheraton and the hotel grounds was closed occasionally, requiring us to walk back through the restaurant, to the pool, out that gate, and down the beach. Not terrible but a bit of a drag with kids/gear in tow. The only real complaint I can make is that the hotel charges guests to use the beach chaises/umbrellas ($40/day for 2), which seems pretty outrageous to me. I think that should be a free amenity for guests. But overall loved the place and would definitely recommend it! February 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Once Again Had A Fabulous Time in Waikiki Dear Royal Hawaiian Hotel management and staff: Once again I was captivated by your excellent service and the beauty of the Royal Hawaiian Hotel. I stayed at the RHH in May 2011 and was so impressed that I had to book with you again to show my dad how wonderful your hotel is. I hope to traveling back to Hawaii December 2015 and without a doubt I will be booking with you again. Love the spa, love how peaceful and quiet the RHH amidst busy Waikiki Beach, and love the pink/Moroccan décor. I also enjoyed walking through one of the first floor level hallways that displayed photos from the hotel's past. There is one photo in particular that caught my attention and it's the one where it is the opening night of the RHH in 1927. I'm fascinated by the expressions on the people's faces, especially those of the young married couples. Must have been a magical night that day in 1927. Thanks again for your kindness and your demonstration of the aloha spirit. Aloha Oe, until we meet again! Elizabeth Medina Orlando, FL August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pink Paradise This vacation was a long-awaited honeymoon for my husband and I. He'd just completed a military tour overseas and this was our first opportunity to schedule a substantial amount of time away from his career in the Air Force. The hotel surprised us, upon arrival, with an upgraded room and amazing bottle of champagne for our celebration. I loved everything about the hotel, especially the "openness" of the lobby. My husband's favorite part was his surfing lesson, offered by the hotel. Having a private section on the beach was nice, as well. I wish we were able to purchase those striped towels, though. I loved the beach towels they would loan out while at the pool or beach! The food was great, especially the banana bread. They were kind enough to give me the recipe. The location is perfect for everything. We would definitely stay here again. The only downside were the ladies at the help desk. They gave us the wrong bus schedule and didn't really help with other questions we had; I ended up using Google, instead. April 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by ELEGANT & GRACIOUS Original Review: The Royal Hawaiian, Waikiki I stayed at the Royal Hawaiian in Sept. 2011 - what a glorious experience. The check-in was seamless - and complete with refreshments. The room was spacious with a glorious ocean view and lanai with table and lounge chairs. Breakfast in the morning at the Surf Lanaii was super with great food,and excellent service. The staff at the Concierge desk was very helpful especially the chief concierge who - as always - was so gracious and helpful. The beach staff set up your chairs with towels and umbrellas AND YOU DO NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR THIS as some other hotels will charge for chairs & umbrellas. When we had to check out the staff assisted us in arranging for a shuttle pick up for the airport as Kalakaua Ave. was closed to traffic - so an overall wonderful stay Thank you for a super holiday. November 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 A Perfect Getaway What do you get when you mix a 40ish year old couple, a 6 year old daughter and a 4 year old son with the RH? You get a very personal experience with the RH crew, the ability to leave your worries behind, and a hotel with a personality that suits a family fun filled adventure. Yes, the rooms are not the largest I've seen, the amenities are not the most modern, and it is not cheap by any means. However, you get what you pay for and RH provides a lasting memory of a staff that is friendly, goes out of their way to be attentive without being a nuisance, and getting the little details right. Here's the cons of our stay. The RH and Sheraton share a larger pool with a waterslide. It was closed for the last 4 days we were there. Bummer for the kids. If we can get pre-notice on the waterslide closure, it would be better than to ask the staff daily if it would be open. Walking over to find it closed wasn't fun for the kiddos. The windows latch didn't lock. We didn't like that our 4 year old could open the window and climb out. However, we addressed it with our kids early. I send my warmest thanks to the beach staff. They didn't bat an eye on offering support for extra towels, ice, when to swim, surf, canoe, etc. It was refreshing to have staff tell me that certain items did not have to be tipped or that the tip was overly generous. Some of us who live practically but want to be fair and grateful on the excellent service really feel out of sorts when understanding tipping. I like to tip when people go out of their way. I also feel strongly against tipping if the value is not there or an expectation was not met. The thought never crossed my mind here. When we were taking pictures 3 times on separate days, the hotel staff were happy to take pictures, check them with us if the picture turned out great, and dropped their activity to talk with us. This is the first vacation in 6 years since having kids. We made the right choice both in coming to hawaii and RH. We also did the beach services of canoeing, surfing, and my 6 yr old is hooked for life. Surfers Aaron and Trevor were patient, pleasant, and enthusiastic with myself and my daughter. For parents that worry about young kids, we never felt our baby girl was not under the best supervision. Our 4 year old played on the beach. A clean and free from rocks area, clear view from where ever you are, and easy access to restrooms, amenities, showers, etc. We will most certainly be back next year. For us, it is the destination if one goes to Waikiki. December 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Royal Hawaiian Makes You Feel Like Royalty! This hotel is by far the fanciest hotel I've ever stayed in, but the price was affordable. From the moment my husband and I exited the shuttle I knew we were in for a treat. The courteous and friendly staff took our luggage off the shuttle, tagged it and had it sent up to our rooms in seconds. At check in we were offered delicious and refreshing welcome drinks. The room was amazing. I couldn't get over how clean and stylish the decor of the room was. We supposedly had the cheapest room in the hotel, but the view of the palm trees overlooking the garden was breathtaking. We attended the Royal Hawaiian Luau and it was well worth every penny. The little touches that the hotel add in are great. For example, each day our bed was turned down twice. In the evening Royal Hawaiian chocolate coins were placed on our pillow along with a card that gave historic facts about the hotel. The first evening we were there we received scrumptious pieces of banana bread. The hotel is in a great location well within walking distance of some awesome shopping and eating locations. The large pool which is shared with the Sheraton is a fun place to hang out for kids or adults alike. My husband and I loved going down the waterslide! The small Royal Hawaiian pool is a quaint oasis which is perfect for couples seeking some relaxing and romantic pool time. The beach is clean and pristine with an excellent view of diamond head. My only suggestion is that both the Royal Hawaiian and the Sheraton should post signs that better advertise their policiies. For example on the first day visiting the Sheraton pool, my husband and I were lounging around on the beach chairs when an employee approached us and asked us if we had a room key. Once we showed him our key he gave us wrist bands and told us to enjoy our stay. It wasn't a big deal and he was friendly about it, but it would have been nice to know that we needed wrist bands to swim at that pool. Also, the lounge chairs on the beach in front of the Royal Hawaiian are for rent. They charge $40 a day to rent these. I think this could have been made more clear. If you read through all of the literature found in your room, this information can be found, but when you are just so excited to start enjoying your beach vacation, you don't want to spend a lot of time reading in your room. Overall, I cannot sing praises to the Royal Hawaiian loud enough. From the friendly "Aloha's" to the luxury star treatment, The Royal Hawaiian has it all. But, the most important feature is that with various price points and room options it can be afforded by all! June 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, but our experience was mixed Overall, this was a beautiful property, and we greatly enjoyed our time there. However, we faced a few challenges checking in that left us feeling unwanted, like we were a nuisance to the check-in staff. The check in experience had its pluses - you sit down at a desk with a check-in agent, and are brought a delicious smoothie. Our check-in agent wasn't very friendly, however, and our situation presented some trying circumstances I don't feel they dealt with well. My wallet had disappeared at the San Francisco airport, so we were trying to check in without my identification. We had an AMEX Fine Hotels and Resorts reservation (requiring an Amex card for payment) which my girlfriend didn't have, and only my name was on the reservation (and I had no ID). The woman checking us in needed her manager's opinion on how to handle the situation (understandable), but after returning from a conversation with him (Rick), she simply came back and said "We can't check you in without ID and credit card" in a brusk and almost annoyed manner. So, we sat there somewhat in shock - there was no solution or action plan presented. We then asked her to speak to Rick, and he came out and the three of us eventually worked out a solution. It felt very stressful to us, like we were an inconvenience and our story wasn't being believed, and we were in danger of losing our FHR rate (one night free and free breakfast). We ended up holding the reservation with my girlfriend's Visa until I could arrange for Amex to overnight me a new card. Frustratingly, Rick said he needed to hold on to our FHR benefit packet (including morning breakfast coupons) until I could get Amex to confirm my identity and provide an authorization, and he would need to change our reservation to a normal rate, because the reservation was now on a Visa - and he wouldn't be able to honor the FHR rate. He didn't make it clear that it was only a temporary measure until I got Amex to give them an authorization - we had to clarify that with him. My point in all this is that there wasn't an element of trust in us, despite our 4-day reservation made through Amex FHR, and the fact that there was an Amex card ON the reservation that would have been charged regardless if we didn't show up. It felt like he was concerned about everything but us - their policies, getting payment and authorization from us, and that he was somehow worried we were scammers. There was no empathy for the experience we had losing my wallet. We left the check-in process feeling very frustrated. After a long afternoon of frustration from the missing wallet, we were hoping to find a refuge in the hotel, and had yet to find it. In addition - we had to ask if there were any room upgrades available (not only was it an FHR reservation but I am also a Gold member), and it appeared our check-in agent hadn't checked because she then called someone to ask about availability. While a suitable upgrade was not available, If we hadn't asked, I'm not confident it would have even been checked - she certainly didn't address the upgrade without us asking as she handed us the keys and said enjoy your stay. Later that night, we were called at 9:45pm and awakened because the credit card authorization wasn't working. The problem was that Amex had changed my credit card number due to the lost wallet. I called Amex at 10pm and sorted it out. However, we had been fast asleep for an hour, as we were still on Pacific time. I do not understand the need to call us so late, and why it could not have waited until the morning. Again - the element of trust did not seem to be there. Lastly, several times over the stay, the phone spontaneously rang in the middle of the night, with no one on the line, awakening us. We called guest services, and they changed our phones - which didn't solve the problem. So I would recommend the phone system be inspected, at least for room 525. Lastly, they were filming the Today show, and were setting up spotlights two nights before. We were dining at the Azure restaurant (really nice) but the experience was marred by spotlights being shined in our face as crews were working. We all knew the Today show would be there Monday morning, but were surprised set up was happening as early as Saturday evening. The rest of the stay was great. The grounds and hotel architecture are gorgeous, the spa experience was fantastic, and access to the beach and Waikiki were ideal. We had a few problems with housekeeping (two consecutive days when our room wasn't cleaned) but Monica from guest services did a fantastic job resolving our issue (thanks Monica!). Overall - I still recommend the hotel - but I recommend the issues we faced be reviewed by hotel management and considered by anyone looking to make a reservation. It's a beautiful property and I do hope our experiences were not the norm. From reading other reviews I don't expect that is the case. May 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never coming back! This was our second stay, 1st stay Bad, 2nd stay terrible!!! I feel I was lied to by your reservations people, I was very specific in what I wanted, not looking for a deal or a discount, money not a problem, wanted high in the tower and was told that is what I was getting. What I got was room 2000, a handicap room, with a view of the cooling and heating ductwork!!! I will never come back to your hotel or any Starwood property. September 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just not what we were looking for I guess it boils down to this: everyone was efficient and professionally friendly, but no one was, well, welcoming. It just didn't feel like the ohana we have come to expect in Hawaii. We had a problem getting our beach chairs reserved, and the concierge did take care of that, but she kept promising to call us and give us a status, but we always had to call her. She did get it taken care of, but it should not have happened in the first place. Also, on our last day there, the breakfast service was terrible. The waiter kept saying how "everyone came to breakfast at the same time". We had to ask more than once for a refill on our one cup of coffee; and it took almost 30 minutes for the smoothies, even after we reminded him. I don't know; I guess being as it was the Pink Princess, we expected more. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent location If you are looking for a luxury hotel in Oahu but you want to stay at the city limits, this is the place for you. It is good for family, couples, solo travelers, etc. The hotel is big, has spectacular facilities but at checking or reception area, they DON'T have a hotel map! Your are always lost . They told me that I was suppose to have a hotel map at our suite but we never found one. If you ask to any employees they are willing to show you the way to go to restaurants, beach, spa, etc but personally I found this awkward that you always have to ask where to find any place inside the hotel. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very beautiful hotel Stayed at this hotel during one of our many visits to Honolulu. We had an ocean view room. The room is a bit small. The hotel is very beautiful and elegant. Take a stroll around the property and marvel the beauty of it. It is one of the three SPG properties right on the Waikiki Beach, October 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charge for Beach Chairs This was our fourth visit to the Royal Hawaiian, but I'm not sure we will be back. The $50 charge for a beach chair is excessive considering the room charge and resort fees. It used to feel special to walk down to the beach and ask for a chair and umbrella. Now it feels like a rip-off. May 21, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>