The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

  • 2259 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 570 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Royal Hawaiian Experience We had a great vacation at RHH from the time we checked in till our departure. It is our favorite hotel on Oahu. . The staff has been exceptionally well trained, friendly, nothing is too much trouble and I casually mentioned our big anniversary a nd a bottle of champage was sent to us with a lovely card We also attended a meet and greet with the GM and others and we felt very honored and welcome. Our suite was very large, beautifully decorated and immaculately cared for by our team of maids. This was our second stay this year and plan on more next year.. October 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staffmember help during Hurricane Ana MY wife and I stayed at the beautiful Royal Hawaiian for two nights, October 14th and 15th, as part of a 40th wedding anniversary trip to Honolulu ion Oahu and to Kailua-Kona on the Big Island. It was supposed to have been three nights at the Royal Hawaiian, but pending hit of Hurricane Ana on the Big Island had us scrambling to change our hotel and flight reservations at the last minute on the 16th, to try to beat expected flight cancellations on the 17th. We could not have done it without the help of Rob in Guest Check-in Services. He took care of our unfortunately early departure from the Royal Hawaiian and paved the way for helping us get the extra night we needed at the Starwood property we were booked at in Kailua-Kona. He also gave us all the details on how to expedite getting our flight reservations changed. He did a great job! His service really enhanced our already wonderful stay at this historic gem of a property. October 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Vacation Royal Hawaiian is the only choice for Waikiki vacation, perfect location on the prime beach in Hawaii. This hotel is the perfect destination for family fun, we played in the ocean every day, the staff were incredibly helpful and we can't wait to return. Truly elegant 5 star hotel! October 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by grand hotel Beautiful facilities. Spacious room. Luxurious linens and bath supplies. Beautiful views. Great location on best beach, close to shopping and dining October 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Elegant Building The reason we chose this hotel was because in the Infinity brochure it said "emerging from a multi-dollar re-imagination. Sadly, this was not the case as our hotel room was badly in need of a refurbishment with a very small bathroom. Last year we stayed at Hotel Maria Christina in San Sebastian and were so happy with it, we joined SPG. It was definitely a 5 star hotel. We had to phone housekeeping every day after coming back to our room as we never had coffee or creamer and it was about 30 mins before this was delivered. It should automatically have been left in our room by housekeeping when the room was cleaned each day. The hotel building itself is very elegant but just needs a bit of loving care. Also we did not have a balcony and on booking were not advised of that. October 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Architecture and Location at a Price The Royal Hawaiian has the BEST location in Waikiki and the most interesting architecture, but rooms are small and have no view, unless you are prepared to pay a hefty price. Amenities are also lacking, unless you are willing to pay up-charges for perks like a beach chair and umbrella that were formerly free. October 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs Improvement Our stay at the Royal Hawaiian was OK. Overall, the grounds and location cannot be beat on this busy stretch of Waikiki Beach. The beach here is wide and the gardens around the property offer some serenity against the hustle outside the resort. The historic building is very unique and a must-see. However, it seems the staff is overworked and has great difficulty keeping pace with the size of the resort and number of guests. The bell staff and valet were good on arrival. At reception, there was a lengthy line. It would have been nice for a staff member to move through the line and touch base with waiting guests to help smooth things over. There was no mention about our SPG membership and it seemed to provide zero benefit. About 15 minutes after arriving in our room, our bags were delivered. Then 10 minutes later another bellman arrived, propped the door open, entered the room and stated he would help us check-out. We informed him that we had just checked in and he quickly left; very odd. The room did not have an iron, ironing board nor a hair dryer; which required a call for delivery. The iron was in terribly poor condition and had all of the non-stick coating removed rendering it useless. Just as poor was the ironing board cover which was stained and did not fit on the board. Our room also did not have robes and turndown service was not provided (although they did come and drop a bag of banana bread near the coffee maker). Otherwise, the room was nicely appointed, but the air conditioning in our tower room was disappointing. The room was never truly cool and consistently damp; our clothes even smelled musty after arriving home. The common areas were mostly in great condition. However, the restrooms near the pool/Surf Lanai/Azure were exceptionally poor for a resort of this caliber (and cost) and particularly as facilities that service the main restaurant. September 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has greate location The beache make the hotel the most attractive September 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond Amazing The Royal Hawaiian provided an experience that will last a lifetime. From the beautiful architecture to the delightful food, this resort creates flawless details. My son and I both enjoyed swimming in the pools, and our room was not only gorgeous, but spacious and very clean as well. The staff were all kind and prompt with assisting us in any way. Thank you for an amazing stay. Can't wait to go again! September 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Old Style Experience We selected the Royal Hawaiian for the Art Deco feel and it delivered on that. If you need a big modern room or a large bathroom this is not the place for you. The dining is limited but Waikiki provides plenty. Property seems isolated even though it is in the heart of Waikiki and the beach is right out the door. The staff is attentive and the management of needs was excellent. September 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful experience Enjoyed our stay...we'll be back. September 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Royal at the Royal There is nothing more old grand Hawaii than the Royal Hawaiian . Classic class, at its best! The best beach in all of Hawaii and the beach boys at the Royal Hawaiian give you all ALOHA . First class from STAFF, food and drinks , Glamour of a classic hotel... September 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better last time Love this hotel, love the location have been here two other times and had better experiences, but that said I will be coming back. Just a few issues with noise and some of the beach and pool staff not so friendly this time but that won't stop me coming but as it is a wonderful hotel/ resort with a touch of class.. September 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Air conditioning noise Whilst my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you, we were continually woken up all through the night when the air conditioner turned itself on and off. I am a light sleeper, but have never heard such a noisy air conditioner. Perhaps something could be done about this. Secondly, we ate breakfast in the dining room most days, and whilst it was very expensive, I am not complaining about that. I was annoyed that on 4 separate occasions we SPECIFICALLY ordered toast and bacon and poached eggs only - nothing else - no salad, roesti, etc, and yet we kept on getting the full breakfast. This may sound trivial, but it was annoying, and not the sort of service you expect for the price and the specific instructions. However, on a more positive note, I would like to say that overall we had a great stay. Your concierges were terrifically helpful, particularly Monica, who gave us a lovely little book on the history of the hotel to read on the plane home. Thank you for the opportunity to pass this on to you. Robin Jackson September 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Significant Improvement! We were very disappointed with our stay at the Royal Hawaiian in August 2014. The hotel is beautiful and beachfront, but those are the only good things I can say about our stay. The service was poor and needs a BIG improvement. We had breakfast and lunch at Surf Lanai. The hosts seemed very disoriented and disorganized. Guests were made to wait in the morning even though there were empty tables available. The waiters were very slow in taking the orders and there was no bus staff to pick up empty plates before subsequent courses arrived. On one morning, the waitress did not bring the full order and we had to ask to make sure that we weren't going to be charged for the extra items we ordered that were not brought out. The wrought iron barrier that separates the restaurant from the beach had rusted. Although the hotel was remodeled within the last 5 years, it did not appear that it was maintained well. The only restaurant worth eating at the hotel is Azure where we enjoyed a nice dinner, but I think they have their own staff separate from the hotel's. When you pay $500+ a night as well as a $35 resort fee per night, one would expect that the beach umbrellas and lounge chairs would be included for hotel guests. Well, at the Royal Hawaiian, guests who want to lay on the beach are asked to pay $40 to $50 a day for a set of lounge chairs and umbrella. Otherwise, if you are not willing to pay, you can use the free chairs around the overcrowded pool area. The day of our departure, our room key stopped working at 10 am even though we had not checked out. We had to wait 15 minutes for security to open the room, which set us back for our intended departure time to the airport. Overall, we were very disappointed with our stay at the Royal Hawaiian. Significant improvements to their service must be made before I consider returning. September 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best property in Honolulu I wasn't excited about going to Honolulu mostly because I had been there before and it's so busy. My husband and I were spending our time on another island and decided to stop in here for a few days so he could see Pearl Harbor. This property is beautiful! The staff was so pleasant and everything was perfect. I definitely recommend staying here. I was so sad to leave! Great location on Waikiki beach, too. September 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The luxurious and elegant Royal Hawaiian Resort at Waikiki The Royal Hawaiian Hotel and Resort on Waikiki beach emulates pure luxury in every sense of the description. The fine dining, Mai Tai Bar, pool, spa, beach lounges, luxurious lounges, shops, tours, Consigier service and especially our room made our vacation exemplary and memorable. The hospitality and service were superb. Mahalo! September 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The not so Royal Hawaiian The Royal Hawaiian offers a wonderful beachfront Waikiki location and Hawaiian nostalgia, but the facilities and rooms leave much to be desired. Although renovated to the tune of $80 million in 2008-09, the facilities and rooms are inadequate for a 'luxury collection' property. The property imposes a $37 resort fee which does include parking (a nice inclusion) but does not include use of beach chairs, those will come at a cost of $40-50 for the day which no service. The pool is among the smallest I've seen at any hotel, let alone a resort. Although guests have access to the Sheraton pool next door, it's over run with children and Sheraton guests. The rooms are in need of a refresh: dirty carpets, dated furnishings are not representative of a luxury experience in the range of $400+ per night. I wanted to love Royal Hawaiian as it is quintessential Hawaii,but I'd skip this property until they update the hotel once again and add another pool, additional bar (Mai Tai bar is inadequate for this size hotel) and inclusions that are on par with a luxury collection hotel. September 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay at RH We loved the facilities at RH. The services are excellence from the door bell guys, concergeries to restaurant staff and the pool sides. One comment: The Check-in/out Staff are not so called friendly (not all of them), my guess is perhaps it's busy here at RH. I love the Check-In/Out Staff at St Regis, Princeville. September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a pleasure returning to the pink palace My husband and I returned to Honolulu with our son after getting married there 7 years ago. It was a magical experience to share our wedding memories with our son and enjoy the resort. September 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fabulous location Beautiful historic hotel in the middle of Honolulu. Great beach directly in front of the hotel. Grounds spacious and relaxing. Welcome gift of banana bread in our room was a lovely surprise. August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel exceeded expectations Spent four nights at the Royal Hawaiian with my family as the grand finale of my two week vacation and was very happy with the experience. The property is spectacular and the location is perfect. It truly is an oasis in the hustle and bustle of Waikiki and its central location on the beach and within shopping district cannot be beat. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The public areas are beautiful and the grounds exceed expectations. The turn down service every night and fresh towels was welcome and we had no problem with our room. The frig originally was not working and was replaced within 15 minutes of my call with a brand new one. The valet parking staff was efficient and I had no problems with my car. If the food prices seem too high, there are plenty of off site options within walking distance. The Mai Tais are excellent and a great afternoon treat after the beach. The pool is small and I did not use it but you have access to the much larger family friendly pool at the Sheraton Waikiki. We did rent the beach chairs and umbrella and this is one cost I do recommend since lounge chair availability is limited at both the RH and the Sheraton Waikiki. August 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Royal Hawai'i (Pink Palace) I had great customer service. The concierge, Sidney, assisted me and my son make reservations for excellent tour packages; Chester, offered me great service in the restaurant. I was also very impressed with the bar tender who was able to help me make meal selections. I had a very positive experience with the Pink Palace and I will recommend it. August 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just a couple of facts No recognition of SPG Platinum status: no upgrade, asked for a room on a high floor, got 7 out of 17. Bottle of sparkling rosé and some sweets as welcome gift because of honeymoon. Room isolation: one can easily follow the conversation in the neighboring rooms. 2nd orange juice at breakfast costs extra 9.- USD excl. tax. Same for additional toast. Beach chairs cost 52.- per day for a first two rows by the water or 40.- for back rows. Pool cabanas are 178.- excl. tax. The "private beach" is a stretch of sand in front of the hotel in front of which there's the public beach. If you book a sunbed in the first two rows you're actually on the public beach. High speed internet is supposetly included in the resort fee, but when connecting you get basic internet for free and you have the option of paying 14.- per day for high speed. There's nothing particularly luxurious about this "luxury collection" hotel. Feels more like a tourist trap. August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Once Again Had A Fabulous Time in Waikiki Dear Royal Hawaiian Hotel management and staff: Once again I was captivated by your excellent service and the beauty of the Royal Hawaiian Hotel. I stayed at the RHH in May 2011 and was so impressed that I had to book with you again to show my dad how wonderful your hotel is. I hope to traveling back to Hawaii December 2015 and without a doubt I will be booking with you again. Love the spa, love how peaceful and quiet the RHH amidst busy Waikiki Beach, and love the pink/Moroccan décor. I also enjoyed walking through one of the first floor level hallways that displayed photos from the hotel's past. There is one photo in particular that caught my attention and it's the one where it is the opening night of the RHH in 1927. I'm fascinated by the expressions on the people's faces, especially those of the young married couples. Must have been a magical night that day in 1927. Thanks again for your kindness and your demonstration of the aloha spirit. Aloha Oe, until we meet again! Elizabeth Medina Orlando, FL August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing service this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in beautiful clean rooms every day amazing staff that went beyond their duty to ensure that everything was perfect fantastic restraurnt on site that would happily modify menus for us beautiful gardens and an amazing view from our tower room we woke up every morning and could see the beautiful beach from our bed amazing hotel with lots of history !!!! August 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Luxury Hotel needs some improvements We have stayed in Waikiki about 5 times over the past few years and have been at almost all of the beachfront hotels. This trip we decided to stay at the Royal Hawaiian, however we found this hotel to be lacking a bit in its "Luxury Hotel" claim. Housekeeping: This was below average. Almost everyday we had sand on our floor from the day before, which was never vacuumed. It was also hit of miss if we received bottled water. I would expect pristine routines in housekeeping with this hotel.. Beachside Service: As part of our package, we received daily lounge chair rentals for 2. Each day when I went to book the chairs, I was made to feel like I was "second class", as I was not purchasing the seats, but rather using the complimentary coupons we received with our package. I would never get a choice of the "nicer seats", the hotel agent would not show me the seating plan and always said the chairs in the front row were booked. I was quite irritated with this, as I was a guest and deserved equal treatment. I pressed the issue and asked to see the seating chart, as I told the agent, that I can't imagine all the front row seats are taken. When I pressured the agent, I did receive a seat in the front row. This is poor customer service and seems a bit underhanded. Food: The food quality was quite good, except for the prices. When you book at the Royal Hawaiian, you enjoy the services at the Sheraton Waikiki (same Starwood Chain). The 2 places should probably review their pricing for food, as the kids cheeseburger at the Sheraton (Rim Fire) is $8, while the same cheeseburger at the Royal Hawaiian (Mai Tai) is $15-almost double-really? Beach Cleanliness- This is probably the area that I was most disappointed with. There is a reserved section for lounge chairs (mentioned above) right on the beach. The sand in this area seemed like it was never cleaned. There was garbage everyday when we arrived at our chairs. I would absolutely expect that the sand is cleaned/raked every day this area be cleaned before the chairs are put up. This is really poor attention to detail, and would have expected more from the Royal Hawaiian. The facility even had a "quad motor vehicle" that could have been used to drag a rake across the sand-very disappointed. August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a pleasure As always, everything was perfect from the minute we arrived until the minute we left. A special thank you to the delightful "older man" who brought us juice at check in and the lovely lady who checked us in. LOVE the fact that we can now rent chairs on the beach. Looking forward to next time! August 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Luxury and Romantic We are 2 adults and 2 children (6 years and 3 years). Our room was Royal Tower Loft Sweet. We requested two beds and an extra bed, and they kindly set them to the room. The room had two shower rooms and two bathrooms. The room has a large veranda. The breakfast of Surf Lanai was so nice. You can select many from the menu. My recommendations are waffle or eggs benedict. Mai Tai bar was also nice. August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ANOTHER GREAT STAY !! Just got back from 11 wonderful days at the Royal. As always, we were welcomed with open arms by the staff and made to feel like we were in our second home. Special thanks to Cori (you are the best!), Brandon (on arrival with our bags), Jim and Jason (for helping arrange our cocktail reception at the Mai Tai Bar), Keaha (reception), Brent (Azure), George and Nam (Surf Lanai), Evelyn and Michael (housekeeping) and Michael (beach service), Susan (Mai Tai Bar), and so many others. Can't say enough good things about the Royal. August 5, 2014
  • 2015-11-24 T06:56:45.069-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_570, tr_570
  • loc_en_US, sid_376, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>