The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

  • 2259 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 551 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stay at the Royal Hawaiian The service was excellent and the room was very comfortable. Nice to have some of the basics complementary like bottles of water. When you travel for business, it's very helpful. It was also nice to receive over and above service like bellhop service and banana nut muffins in your room. May 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT HOTEL Can't say enough about this hotel. The staff, accommodation, everything was wonderful. We went to the Luau and the performance was fabulous. Loved the way the staff met us when we arrived. The lai's, from the doormen, the juice while we waited for check in to be finished. House keeping were very helpful also. I would recommend this hotel to both couples and families. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A stay at The Royal Hawaiian is a memorable experience The Royal Hawaiian is a rare find these days. It is one of the few lovely resorts that have maintained their original elegance, charm and grace but still offers all the up to date amenities today's traveler expects. The staff are warm and professional. The grounds and outlooks a tropical paradise. April 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by only average The hotel is beautiful - as expected (except for the tiny pool). However the service was average at best. the pool/beach staff that the hotel prides itself on were only minimally helpful and generally aloof and focused on talking to each other. The restaurant food was wonderful (breakfast) but the service was also average - forgetting items, not repairing a wobbly table, not having enough menus available and a general lackadaisical attitude about service. we stay at numerous high end hotels around the world and this was not impressive. April 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by beach we like the atmoshere and right on the beach and the breakfest April 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Delta Diamond No Crossover = lame As a Delta Diamond with Crossover benefits, I am always greeted with great charm at every starwood hotel in which I stay. This time, I was taking my family for a weekend in one of the supposedly most prestigious hotels in Hawaii only to be treated terribly by the check in staff and embarrassed in front of my family. Besides the host, the food service was terrible and the waitstaff was equally as rude. I will never return to this hotel, nor recommend to anyone else. It's old and needs some serious renovations as it's way past its prime :) April 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great time! We had a fabulous time. The staff was friendly and responsive to requests. Very comfortable accommodations. We liked the spa but wish we had picked something other than the lomi lomi massage. Highly recommend the Royal Hawaiian! April 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Check-In Staff needs improvement This was our fourth stay at the Royal Hawaiian. The previous 3 were excellent, but the lady who checked us in was uninformed and rude. We had booked the senior rate and she insisted we needed a physical copy of our AARP card, although our confirmation read the rate was Senior or AARP. You need to train your staff to be more cordial. April 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location location location Great hotel,location perfect. Breakfast very good. Had dinner at Azure .Wonderful dinner & service wish I remembered our servers name. My husband was on a restricted diet & they made him a wonderful meal. I had some amazing fish. The only negatives for us was there work-out room needs to be updated & you shouldn't have to pay to lay on the beach especially when you pay a daily resort charge. April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent on every level! From check in (Sandra was amazing) to check out, everything was perfect! We spent 6 days at the RH. Each day better then the previous...staff and service was excellent....highly recommended! April 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed We had previously stated at the Royal Hawaiian for our honeymoon and had a wonderful experience. This trip was good in many respects, but disappointing in others. Having had a wonderful view of the ocean and diamond head in our prior stay, we opted for the Tower Premium Oceanfront with King bed option. We were extremely disappointed to get a room with an ocean view on only floor 9 since we believed that we would get a high floor (floor 9 is not a high floor in a 16 / 17 floor building in my opinion) with the premium view (including diamond head). I spoke with the staff regarding our disappointment but there were no options available which met all the criteria that we had booked. While I would recommend the hotel based upon our first stay, I would not recommend the hotel based upon our recent stay since I felt we were sold one room and did not receive a room that met the criteria we were sold. April 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Royal Hawaiian Hotel I really enjoyed my stay at the Royal Hawaiian. The staff are very pleasant and attentive to guest needs. Every day I would pass staff in the hallway on the guest floors and they always smiled and made a point of saying hello. If you ever even had the slightest look of question on your face someone would be sure to ask if you needed something. The guys out front were great - very engaging and friendly and always asking if anything was needed. I was very impressed when standing out front one day waiting on my shuttle and a clearly intoxicated woman left the hotel and walked off on her own. The bellman tried to assist but she was heading somewhere. They kept an eye on her and called hotel security who promptly sent two guys to go look for her. I am sure there are other hotels where that would just have been ignored but these guys really took it upon themselves to be helpful. The guy who checked me in was great. He tried to get me the best room possible. Unfortunately my hotel neighbor's family was apparently sick and coughing a lot (smile - this review is sounding worse than it should but my point is how attentive and helpful all the staff were) and the desk guy really worked with me to help me relocate rooms without any hassle. The restaurants and bars on premises are nice. The beach is readily accessible. It's a shame they crammed the Sheraton in next door in terms of the overall locale but the combination of Sheraton and mall provides ready access to other shops and restaurants. The hotel's location makes it very easy to get to the main strip for eating or shopping. One downside - one of the nearby hotels or bars has outside music that is loud and usually goes until around 1 or so in the morning. April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quiet and relaxing Hotel proved a relaxing experience,ideal for older people..Staff excellent at accomadating our needs.We did find the beach facilities expensive(chairs and parasol)we never have to pay this in europw. March 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Royal Hawaiian My stay compared to all my stays at SPG hotels was extremely dissapointing March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay in Honolulu The hotel provided everything I could ask for. March 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasant stay I have high expectations every time I stay at the Royal Hawaiian and the hotel and staff always deliver. March 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Still a Grand Old Hotel Still love this hotel - a few things need "fixing" but in general it's a wonderful place to stay - The Pool area has to be changed one of these days as it is a tiny little ciircle maybe 20 feet round and filled to the brim with VERY noisy children who scream the whole time they are in it - perhaps it should become a "quiet zone" so that all the people in the lovely lounges around it could enjoy their stay too. And maybe there is someplace to build a "kids" area pool that would make everyone happy? Everything else including the SPA is Top Notch! March 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A perfect retreat This hotel, without a doubt, has the best location on Waikiki. It's the only hotel on Waikiki beach that's both situated directly on the beach, but also sheltered from the noises from the main street behind the beach. The large, open air atmosphere, and surrounding garden areas provides an immediate sense of tranquility upon setting foot in the hotel. The check-in process, while thorough, is exceptionally slow. We were second in line and waited roughly 25 minutes to check in. While there's an SPG Elite plaque behind a counter somewhere, there's a single shared line. The carefully scripted experience is nice - though we wish there was a way to click skip / fast forward and just get to our rooms. That said, the slow check in experience seems more of a trend with hotels in Hawaii in general. The rooms themselves were surprisingly sharp for a hotel approaching a century old. While the age of the architecture is betrayed by external cabling tubes and lack of certain amenities like bath tubs, it's very cleanly decorated and has clearly been remodeled throughout its life to stay current to prevailing expectations. The hotel restaurants were amazing. After dining at most of the restaurants around the Waikiki beach area, it's clear Azure is a tier above the rest. In addition to its views, it serves a fairly traditional / conservative menu - but executes exceptionally on it. The daily seafood auction specials are about as fresh as seafood gets - and the chef consistently delivered perfectly cooked, perfectly flavored food each time. In terms of staff helpfulness - the manager on duty, Evan, took it upon himself personally to help accommodate our requests beyond the call of duty - effectively saving us a good chunk of our vacation from our own mistakes in booking. This is the type of service that sets the Royal Hawaiian apart from the rest. March 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful place but needs buffing In a nutshell--of course this place is beautiful and a feast for the eyes but it could use some attention to the attitudes of the staff at times. March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 star service This hotel had exceptional service from check in to check out. Most of the staff that we met had worked there for over a decade, were knowledgeable, accommodating and friendly. We ate at the Azure each morning for breakfast and one dinner. The breakfasts were excellent and the dinner was among our top 5 of all time. We stayed in the newer ocean front tower where the views were breathtaking. The room was very nice but the art work was unusual and didn't match the room decor and the carpeting seemed a bit worn - lower quality than I would have expected from the Luxury Collection. I would agree that this is still, on average, a 5 star hotel overall but only because the service is probably a 6 and the accommodations a 4. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. March 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Housekeeping Had to call daily to have housekeeping done as was never done before 330 pm each day as well had to leave notes to have towels and toiletries refreshed March 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT TRIP I ALWAYS STAY AT THE ROYAL HAWAIIAN WHEN I TRAVEL TO HONOLULU THE STAFF IS ALSOME .. THE ROOM MANAGER MONICA LEIMANO SCHWARTZMAN HAS MADE EVERY STAY THE BEST I COULD EVER ASK FOR.. I TOOK MY KIDS ON VACATION LAST SUMMER MONICA .. FOUND A WAY TO PUT OF ROOMS TOGETHER ON A SOLD OUT WEEKEND.. THEN WELCOME US WITH HUGS .. ALL 3 OF MY DAUGHTERS AND I CAN'T STOP THINKING HOW GREAT THAT VACATION IT WAS BECUASE OF THE KINDNESS .. THANKS YOU FOR MANGERS LIKE MONICA STPEN BLAKLEY PLAT STARWWOD CLIENT March 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissatisfied Our daughter was our guest on this trip; however, the bill was issued in her name and placed under her door. This should not have happened. Had trouble with our air conditioning the first few days in that it would not shut off when it reached the desired setting -- we had to open the lanai door to make it stop. Tech who visited our room told us that was how it worked. First two nights were most uncomfortable. March 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Please, More Attention To Detail I wish SPG would have sent a review/survey for me to complete after our recent stay but apparently no one cares how our stay was. Beautiful public areas-love the history and beauty of this grand hotel. Staff were for the most part helpful and courteous. Room 7000 has a significant mold problem-please check behind the bathroom door. I smelled it the moment I entered-thought it would resolve itself-however it did not. Air conditioning sounds like a jet plane-could not use at night so had to leave lanai door open. Then we were treated to the greasy fried food smell from the restaurants. Desk chair broken, bathroom scale broken. Front desk check in employee asked if we were there celebrating anything-we shared with her that we were there for 20th anniversary. When she asked if we were like a bottle of champagne sent to the room we said yes-never received it. Elevators in tower are dirty and beat up. I love the Royal Hawaiian but I will never stay there again-this luxury collection hotel lacks luxury. March 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Insufficient nunber of available chairs around pool. Great views of ocean but the room size was disappointing considering the price of the room. Totally inadquate number of available chairs around the pool. The Beach Boys were very helpful but folks were putting towels on chairs by 6:30a.m. to hold them and then not using them for quite a while. Thus, a big disappointment unless you wanted to pay a high price to rent chairs on the beach. As indicated, fantastic view of the ocean but the rooms were definitely not 4 or 5 star quality in terms of size. March 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aloha Spirit! Greeted with a grand Aloha welcome! Mahalo! March 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by what makes a great hotel? a great hotel should be great this one only qualifies as good hotel in great location. March 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Royal Hawaiian Hotel public spaces and grounds are beautiful. Room was quite average. A little worn out in appearance, and not in a 'quaint and historic' sense. Missing hairdryer, robes, slippers - and a long delay for room and housekeeping service. March 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Customer Service, Comfort, and Aesthetic The RH was lovely. The employees were so pleasant and accommodating, from the bellman, to the front desk staff, to the housekeepers. The only service problems we experienced were that the waitstaff, both in the restaurant and by the pool, were often obviously overextended and sometimes hard to find. The grounds and decor are beautiful, the shops high-quality, and the location can't be beat if you want to be in the center of the Waikiki action and on the beach. The food overall was very good, and room service very fast. Our beds were at least as comfortable as our bed at home (which we love!). I will add that the flow of the outdoor areas isn't great. The only way to the pool from the lawn is through the restaurant or back into and through the hotel, and the only way to the beach is through the pool area. The gate between the large pool the RH shares with the Sheraton and the hotel grounds was closed occasionally, requiring us to walk back through the restaurant, to the pool, out that gate, and down the beach. Not terrible but a bit of a drag with kids/gear in tow. The only real complaint I can make is that the hotel charges guests to use the beach chaises/umbrellas ($40/day for 2), which seems pretty outrageous to me. I think that should be a free amenity for guests. But overall loved the place and would definitely recommend it! February 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by KKC-Hawaii-Perfect SPG staycation. After a long busy week--this is the SPG hotel of choice on Oahu. It's like home away from home! The staff, the room (loved The Aloha Oe Garden Suite), especially Wendy Nagaishi in the Concierge desk was very helpful with eating recommendations. We loved the ability to go to both pools too. cheers February 24, 2014
  • 2015-05-23T19:28:45.878-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_551, tr_551
  • loc_en_US, sid_376, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 20 next>>