The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

  • 2259 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 506 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Slipping I remember my first first to the RHR 6 years ago. I was most impressed with every single thing (valet, bellman, front desk, etc.). This year I returned was most DISAPPOINTED. No greeting or assistance from Valet, Bellman (until my husband asked for assistance). No welcome from front desk, no pink lemonade was offered, wasn't able to extend a late check out. The first welcome we received was from House Keeping as we approached our room. In fact, all of the housekeeping staff was very friendly. Beach Boy Micah was AWESOME. Not sure I will stay at RHR next year, as when you promise to provide exceptional service and then you don't, then it is expected every single time. This time you just didn't measure up. November 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Once again, a great stay at the Royal Hawaiin As a local resident of Oahu, I like to spend a night or two every month in Waikiki with my girlfriend to go out for dinner and do some shopping. I have stayed at all four Starwood properties in Waikiki and none of them is better than the Royal Hawaiian. As Platinum SPG member, I always get special treatment and recognition but this time, the management went above and beyond and put me in the Royal Hawaiian Suite which was spectacular. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely be back soon. To the staff, guest services manager, and General Manager - Mahalo, a hui hou malama pono! October 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 Location is everything but hotel has a long way to go The room in the Tower was nice but the food odors wafting up from the restaurants are nasty. The check-in experience was miserable - kind of like a bus station (they never sent the champagne they said they would send for our anniversary), the elevators are slow and dirty, the tour we booked through the concierge to visit Pearl Harbor was miserable, the food in the restaurants (breakfast and dinner) is awful and over-priced, but the beach experience is great. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Familiy Vay Cay Great, iconic hotel. A couple of disappointments. Took 2 phone calls to fix the room safe, had to call to get a shower curtain installed and have the shower head moved to accomodate someone over 3 feet tall !! The Royal is a great hotel, superb location and an oasis amongst the hustle of Honolulu. My issues are nit-picking for sure but this is a 5 Star Hotel at a 5 Star price, we had 40 hotel room nights booked for our family (multiple rooms) and expect close to perfection (devil is in the details) !!! We did have a great time and the staff were terrific !!! We will be back. April 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall, very good!! Would surely recommend the hotel for Waikiki visitors, great location. A couple of issues may be the loud A/C which can be fixed if they really tried, and the small sink in the bathroom which is a structural issue so may not fly. In any case, good job! to the whole staff. August 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Oasis in Waikiki The Royal Hawaiian is an oasis in the middle of Waikiki. Set back off the road, with quiet gardens and the best beach access in Waikiki, the Royal Hawaiian is the only way to go for a real, luxurious resort experience. The staff is top notch and the food and facilities are wonderful. This is not a budget friendly hotel, but as long as you go in with this in mind, you will enjoy splurging. The pool is small (can use the Sheraton's Helumoa pool next door) but it is less crowded than those nearby and our kids preferred it. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quiet and relaxing Hotel proved a relaxing experience,ideal for older people..Staff excellent at accomadating our needs.We did find the beach facilities expensive(chairs and parasol)we never have to pay this in europw. March 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a pleasure As always, everything was perfect from the minute we arrived until the minute we left. A special thank you to the delightful "older man" who brought us juice at check in and the lovely lady who checked us in. LOVE the fact that we can now rent chairs on the beach. Looking forward to next time! August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by THE STAFF We come to the Royal hotel at least once a year and we love the Hotel for its elegance and beauty but the main reason is the staff….Avis is always the first person we see and what a delight…she is infectious….Gerrard and Allan at the car/cab area…Randall and Cam are the most wonderful staff in the breakfast areas and we all love Heidi she is so thoughtful and kind….Chuck and Tomoko are sensational, meeting all our needs and more poolside and Nelson is my kids favourite with the surfing lesson, he is a wonderful young man….and then there is Kui and Shane and Cheryl at the Mai Tai Bar, fantastic staff and our last favours are Romeo and Francis who looks after our room so well….we love them all….Jo and Paul Peers-Barlow November 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can I move in permanently? I had such a wonderful time at the Royal Hawaiian. The staff were always operating at 110%. Having valet parking is a must in Waikiki and they were always prompt with our car. The room was GORGEOUS! The products made me run downstairs and buy sets for all of my friends. I also went home with more hats from Newt's than my honey was expecting. I must have been a sight in the airport with all of my hat boxes! The Mai Tai bar was perfectly situated and was one of the best people watching locations on the island. After staying here,my new goal is how often I can come back. February 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Resort in busy Waikiki Beach My husband and I celebrated our two year anniversary at the Royal Hawaiian and absolutely loved it! The hotel rooms and lobby are beautiful. We stayed in the historic building which had an elegant charm to it with the lavish decor. The restaurant food and service was great. Fantastic mai tais at the mai tai bar! Most importantly, it was quaint and felt like a mini getaway from the really, really busy Waikiki Beach. The walls in the hotel and the grounds really made us feel secluded and special. Highly recommend for a couples only getaway! It is truly a royalty treat! October 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 4 Days in the Pink Palace We take a yearly sojourn to the Royal Hawaiian - we just finished our 12th or 13th trip. 3 nights/4 days of peace and bliss. And being taken care of by an outstanding staff. Over the years the property and menus have changed but the quiet, beauty and friendliness has remained superb. The Royal Hawaiian is a slice of peace and tranquility inside the hustle and craziness of Waikiki. Life doesn't get much better than a day spent lounging under an umbrella on the sand followed by a sunset dinner and live entertainment at the Mai Tai bar. We will return again and again. October 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Waikiki Wonderland We recently stayed at the Royal Hawaiian for three nights. We arrived to a very warm welcome by amazingly friendly staff. Right for the start we knew the staff cared. We got an early check in,which just made our day. The facilities of the resort are fantastic. Our two girls (12 and 13) loved the playground pool. although it was busy, it never seemed overcrowded. The cocktails by the pool were amazing, you must try the Lava Flow! We loved the proximity to the shops on Waikiki. Two almost teen girls loved how close it was to them and that they could walk across the beautiful green grass to Forever 21. We loved the proximity to great restaurants and to the Royal Hawaiian Centre. The hotel was decorated for Christmas and was truly gorgeous. I love pink and was inspired by all the pink decorations. Our only concern was the size of the room. With two teen girls and two adults the room was tight squeeze. The bathroom although beautiful, was small. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to couples wanting a smaller more intimate hotel experience. So glad we stayed there for the last three nights of out holiday. Mahalo to the Royal Hawaiian, we would definitely be back again. December 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Much lower level of service compared to last year While the hotel staff was very welcoming, and the room are great, there are a few things that took be aback. In particular, I was shocked to discover that the hotel started charging USD 40 for an umbrella and a chair on the beach, which is outrageously expensive, and a big downer compared to be previous stay at that hotel a year earlier. C'mon, this is absolutely ridiculous. And plus the beach staff was not very pleasant at all. The hotel should increase the USD 36 resort fee by a few USD to include the use of chairs and umbrellas at the beach. The rooms are also more loud than I remembered, especially in the morning. The location, however, cannot be beat, but this should NOT be a reason for taking advantage of their customers. January 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but not great I have stayed here before and had a better impression of this iconic hotel. The room is not cool enough and is "warm" in the daytime. The carpets need to go or need changing. Hope it gets better than it is now. August 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Delta Diamond No Crossover = lame As a Delta Diamond with Crossover benefits, I am always greeted with great charm at every starwood hotel in which I stay. This time, I was taking my family for a weekend in one of the supposedly most prestigious hotels in Hawaii only to be treated terribly by the check in staff and embarrassed in front of my family. Besides the host, the food service was terrible and the waitstaff was equally as rude. I will never return to this hotel, nor recommend to anyone else. It's old and needs some serious renovations as it's way past its prime :) April 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by only average The hotel is beautiful - as expected (except for the tiny pool). However the service was average at best. the pool/beach staff that the hotel prides itself on were only minimally helpful and generally aloof and focused on talking to each other. The restaurant food was wonderful (breakfast) but the service was also average - forgetting items, not repairing a wobbly table, not having enough menus available and a general lackadaisical attitude about service. we stay at numerous high end hotels around the world and this was not impressive. April 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An intimate tropical paradise in bustling Waikiki Beach The Royal Hawaiian has an exceptional nestled amistd busy Waikiki Beach. The moment you step off the busy street and onto the Royal Hawaiian's grounds, you feel calm and immediately relaxed. I was only for the one night due to a work trip, but wanted to stay longer becasue of the incredible feeling of relaxation at this resort. July 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel more then met our expectations We were so happy with our stay the upgrade in room was such a anks for a great stay.rprise and so appreciated thsu August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful experience in an iconic hotel! We spent a few days at the hotel bookending a trip to Kauai. We could not have picked a better spot. The hotel is beautiful and sits on a prime spot on Waikiki. Situated next to the Sheraton Waikiki, the hotel's facilites, accessible to all guests, covered all of our needs from great pools for our young children to beachside cabanas for weary parents. Check-in time was great on the front end and yet took longer our second stay. Staff flexibliity to minimize guest check-in wait time should be enhanced. That said, we had a wonderful stay. January 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Summer Vacation Summer Vacation This is the third time that I have stayed at this hotel and I will be having a hard time staying at this hotel again. My wife and I were celebrating our 25th Wedding anniversary and we decided to switch hotels to the Royal Hawaiian. We did get an upgrade to an ocean view suite which was quite nice. Since this was in the original hotel the air conditioning unit does not work well. The room stayed at a constant 75 degrees, which made sleeping in the room a pain. The pool and service in the pool area was good. The only problem is this is a luxury hotel and you expect no screaming kids around the pool. This pool should be only be used for adults or children over 16. There is a kids pool beside the hotel which is shared by the two hotels. July 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointing experience I have over 500 SPG nights and travel to Honolulu on business regularly. The wait to check in (20 minutes) was not pleasant as I was the only person in line at the time. The process takes way too long. I was given an "upgrade" which happened to be garden view, across the hall from the maid's closet and service elevator. The room had a tiny bathroom and the furniture was out of the 1960's. Very, very disappointing, although the guy who parked my car was really nice. June 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect Location Loved my stay at the Royal Hawaiian. Stayed in the historic wing with an ocean view of Waikiki Beach. Room was comfortable and housekeeping staff are fantastic. Great being able to use the pool at the Sheraton Waikiki. Only issue is the bather's elevator which has carpet and can get a little smelly when wet. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home away from home I always feels like I'm returning home when I visit the Royal - staff reckognise and welcome me back.like an old friend. Azure is still a magical dining experience and the Mai Tai Bar with Kui and his crew still make and serve the best Mai Tai's and always with a smile. Pool staff are friendly and helpful; Housekeeping staff are courteous and competent as are the Bell Staff. All take pride in their hotel and do their utmost to make guests feel special. A lovely and gracious experience.. Looking forward to my next visit next year. November 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Calm amongst the chaos We stayed a week at the RH and were thrilled with every aspect of our stay. The staff was very helpful and attentive to our needs. The location was a real bonus. Located in the middle of Waikiki, the RH is located within walking distance to just about anything you could need. And yet with all that is happening nearby, we were amazed at the calm and quiet atmosphere awaiting us when we walked around the corner to the hotel. It was serene and quiet. The room had adequate space and was well-kept. I would highly recommend this hotel. September 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Royal treatment at the Royal Hawaiian My recent visit exceeded my expectations. Beautiful, historic, hotel...exquisite location on Waikiki Beach...professional ,courteous,and friendly staff...delicious food with impeccable presentation...we felt more than satisfied...lovely experience...One could not ask for more!!! July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Staff in an Iconic Cultural Landmark in Paradise This is a majestic property with a rich cultural history, and the property has undergone a renovation to restore it to its original look c 1927. It occupies the most beautiful stretch of Waikiki beach, and has a gorgeous view of diamond head. There is a beach club on the sand in front of the hotel which is the place to relax and take in the sights of Waikiki while enjoying the sunshine. It is an extremely well-run property, and the staff are as good as you'll find anywhere. They are really what make this property awesome. November 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Living up to Expectations The Pink Palace totally lived up to our expectations. Fabulously 5-star - we stayed in the old vintage wing which is one of the best parts of this historic hotel. Lounged by the pool, rented a lounger/umbrella combo and a paddle-board. All staff extremely helpful, especially the night-shift Housekeeping ladies. Perfectly located right in the center of Honolulu with beach access. And we even managed to sneak in a Sunday Brunch which is worth going back for in itself. Totally sold on this great hotel and will be returning. December 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by If you can sleep through noise it's not a bad place. I was so excited to go to the Royal Hawaiian. I had read so many wonderful things about it. I love historic places and couldn't wait to try it. Having said that, I'm afraid that my experience there was not the best. The rooms were very beautiful and clean, the bathroom was a one person only with no room for most of my toiletries. I was impressed with the Frette sheets and the Malie products, but unfortunately we were "upgraded" to a partial ocean view room which if you looked out the window seeing the rooftop from the floors below you could kind of see the beach in the corner if you leaned enough. I would of rather had a garden view and was offered to switch back to the not upgraded room, but my husband was tired from the flight and I didn't want to bother for one night. I should have though, because at around 8 pm the noise started in the next room. The family in the next room was so noisy, one child was screaming, not a baby mind you, the baby was crying too though. Then the mother started screaming at the screaming child to stop. This went on for an entire hour and my husband and I decided we did want to change rooms. I called the front desk and they gave us the choice of two. The next door room, which smelled very bad, or the one they offered earlier. I took that one with the pretty garden views. We moved and of course as soon as we got in, there was some kind of bar with a party going on across from our room. Then since the room was in the middle of a hallway with an adjoining hallway, several people went by and were also noisy. We just looked at each other, laughed and said. Thank God it's only one night! Some sound proofing in the walls and better windows could of helped. They said sorry about the inconvenience but I told them it wasn't their fault the family from the trailer park was next door. The staff tried to help me when I thought I had left something in the previous room, the manager and security person took time out to try to help me at a late hour and they were very nice.To sum up, paper thin walls do not make for a good nights sleep. November 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed our visit to the Royal Hawaiian Hotel If you are in the mood for a splurge in Waikiki then the Royal Hawaiian Hotel is the place for you. The grand old "Pink Princess" is still beautifully maintained and all the staff make it a point to welcome you daily and do a fine job of sharing their aloha. The pool area is a bit small and there is a charge for the loungers on the beach, which seems like an excessive charge given the resort fees over and above the room rate but other than that we loved our stay and can't wait to return. May 19, 2014
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 18 next>>