The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

  • 2259 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 551 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mahalo Truly enjoyed my stay. Ms. McCarter attended to my every need. April 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Royal The Royal Hawaiian lives up to its name - the whole staff treat you like royalty. The rooms are great after the remodel, comfortable and clean and the house keeping staff are wonderful. Front desk personnel were very friendly and the concierge staff were extremely helpful. We used the valet parking service and these folks were also very helpful with suggestions for hiking and sightseeing. A great stay and we will return! April 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome experience! Beautiful hotel, fantastic location! Well definitely be back! April 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by overcast sky; sunny service The service was excellent from the moment we got out of the taxi. It was a treat to stay in such an iconic hotel, and we were delighted with every moment, except for the rain that was out of the control of the staff at the Royal Hawaiian. April 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Notch Service and Accomodations What an incredible experience, the staff at the hotel from the beginning to the end was fabulous. April 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Royal Hawaiian is a Great Hotel This was our first trip to Hawaii and my husband made the accommodation arrangements so I wasn't sure what to expect. I was extremely happy with his choice. In this hotel you can still feel and see the luxury and sophistication of its history. It is ideally located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from shopping, restaurants, and a beautiful beach. Our room had a balcony with a view of the beach and of Diamond Head. There are some minor ergonomic inconveniences that can likely be explained in the fact that the hotel was built in the 1920's I would definitely come back to Hawaii and to the Royal Hawaiian. April 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Royal Hawaiian was beautiful, perfect location, and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. April 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel Stayed with my wife and 10 year old son. What's not to like. Excellent service, great location, food was fine (just had bkfsts and lunch here). Staff was friendly. Recommended. April 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A TREASURE (BESIDES DISAPPOINTING MAID SERVCE) The "Pink Palace" is an icon and was recently remodeled. Rooms are spacious and modern. The Ocean Tower has amazing views. Overall, every employee went above and beyond expectations. Nevertheless, when we arrived, there was trash on the floor in the bathroom, leftover food in the fridge and a USED Kleenex on the floor. Our maid did not restock items. We did not receive daily waters, tea or new toiletries. We finally wrote her a note listing things we wanted and she obliged. However, she gave us many extras it almost felt like she was annoyed. April 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Familiy Vay Cay Great, iconic hotel. A couple of disappointments. Took 2 phone calls to fix the room safe, had to call to get a shower curtain installed and have the shower head moved to accomodate someone over 3 feet tall !! The Royal is a great hotel, superb location and an oasis amongst the hustle of Honolulu. My issues are nit-picking for sure but this is a 5 Star Hotel at a 5 Star price, we had 40 hotel room nights booked for our family (multiple rooms) and expect close to perfection (devil is in the details) !!! We did have a great time and the staff were terrific !!! We will be back. April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A+ Return Stay We loved our first stay so much we came back. As a family of four with twin 6 year old children, we loved the resort and the staff who were super warm and welcoming. It was also during spring break which was a nice surprise since I would have expected things to be a little more hectic. Will becoming back again - already looking to rebook! April 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Luxury and Priceless Views This is how Hawaii should be visited. The hotels first word (Royal) is how you are treated. April 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality Property Staff acknowledged SPG status on arrival, provided upgraded suite with view. Service was excellent all around. Concierge was very helpful in arranging events, and housekeeping and bell services were excellent. April 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Local for night away We live here on Oahu and needed a night away from kids. This location is great! Feels like in country but right in city. Excellent staff. Wonderful spacious rooms. Only challenge this time was interruptions; getting complimentary bread then night service turn down we did not expect. So if want no interruptions be sure to let them know at check in. Comfy beds too. This is our spot! April 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very noisy at night. Still a lovely hotel. I did enjoy our stay at the hotel. It was booked by me, to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary. A present to my husband and my immediate family. Therefore I feel your thank you note should been addressed to me and not to my husband. I even paid for the stay. .Very poor, am not impressed. Women do matter! May be not in your world but in mine. April 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay As always our stay at the Royal Hawaiian was wonderful. This was my third trip in 2 years and my husband and I are now booking our fourth for this summer!! Looking forward to the beautiful room, great pool and wonderful feel of the hotel!! Cant wait to go back in July. April 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is beautiful The Hotel is historic and therefore my husband, who is an architect really enjoys it. The view from the tower ocean front rooms is outstanding. It is the perfect hotel, not too big or too small, with lounge seating on Waikiki beach . The staff was very accommodating. My only complaint is the fitness center is very small and not well kept. There were no disinfectant cloths to clean the machines and hardly any view at all. I think it should be upgraded and larger. April 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by If you want the best, stay at the best The Royal Hawaiian Hotel wasnt just a stay, but an experience. Everything was first class! Traditional mixed with modern in perfect harmony. If you want the best of Honolulu, stay at this hotel. April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise in Paradise I've wanted to stay here since the '70's and finally made it - worth the wait and the money. On Waikiki where bedlam prevails, you step onto the grounds of the Royal Hawaiian into another world of calmness and serenity. Everything is perfect and could be 100 years ago (a good thing). Just loved staying there. April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect location for an ideal vacation. Location and service was amazing. We wouldn't stay anywhere else on Waikiki April 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pink Palace of the Pacific: The Legend Lives On OVERALL IMPRESSION: I have such a thing for historic hotel properties that I would have loved this place no matter what but, in fact, the Royal Hawaiian does not disappoint. It really is all that! SPG RECOGNITION: Initially, I had my doubts. My Suite Certificate was returned due to no availability. My Your24 request was denied. In the end, we received precisely the Suite upgrade I had hoped for - to a Garden Suite over the main entrance - without having to cash in. Platinum Breakfast is a lovely buffet at the Surf Lanai with the highlight being seating right on Waikiki Beach. In-room amenity is the hotel’s famous banana bread. THE ROOM: The history of the room was palpable - although the place has undergone a recent renovation, you could very much feel the atmosphere of “old Hawaii” starting with the gorgeous carved entrance door and the koa wood dining table - for twelve! The only disappointment is in the baths - the must have forgotten about the tiny guest bath because it looked about 1936. The master bath was not much better with old fixtures, one sink, small shallow tub and no counter space. LOCATION: This IS the heart of Waikiki...no question. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: It’s all about the ATMOSPHERE. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: For the very high cost of accommodation AND an outrageous resort fee on top, I feel it is offensive and unconscionable that guests should have to rent space on the small stretch of “private” beach. Shame on you, Pink Palace! April 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleased Overall The property is lovely and in a great location. Most of the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I was disappointed that my room seemed to be missing some items (a remote control, a do not disturb sign) and mostly that we were next to some sort of machine room where very loud banging would occur multiple times a day. Being greeted with banana bread and the chocolates on the bedside table each night were nice touches. There was a tall gentleman Concierge who was particularly helpful and gave us great recommendations! March 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Waikiki's Treasure This iconic hotel truly lives up to it's reputation and history. The building and facilities are totally updated without destroying the character of the building. The housekeeping staff did a great job cleaning our room, the bar and beach chaises were lovely. The food was excellent. We felt like a king and queen! March 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stay at Royal Hawaiian This hotel is the epitome of Waikiki vacations. The staff is over the top. The dining staff of Nani at the Surf Lanai, and Raymond at the Azure Restaurant are the best. If you want the true Hawaii experience this is the only place. March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Honolulu vacation We had a wonderful experience while staying here March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was amazing The staff here were amazing ! very clean rooms, your bed was turned down every night, chocolates left on nightstand. Replenished bottle water everyday. very comfortable bed!! The bathroom was clean and nice just wished there was a little more room in there. I will definitely stay here again. March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is an America's historic hotel. You will find sophisticated atmosphere once you step into the hotel. March 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by A honeymoon spoiled! As the RH will quickly point out, it is a member of the Starwood Luxury collection. As such, we had high expectations going into our first stay at this iconic property. Unfortunately for us, that the Sultan of Brunei had decided to stay at the property simultaneously and consume a great many rooms, our stay was negatively affected. As a Luxury Collection property, the clientele at the RH are generally well resourced and accustomed to comfort and good service. Our experience shows that, clearly, a guest of greater wealth will receive preferential treatment and you - even as a platinum member - will quickly become a non person. That is how the management (not the staff) at the RH made my fiancee and I feel on our very special occasion. When one travels with their fiancee on a romantic vacation to Hawaii, one generally does not book a room with two twin beds and yet, this is the room we initially received. My fiancee noticed that the toilet had black hair stuck to it and also noticed black hair attached to the robe hanging in the bathroom. Our room was on the third floor overlooking a noisy hot tub I believe. All in all, NOT the room I had booked and a grand disappointment. Even though this was clearly not the room I had booked the management made it fantastically difficult for us to achieve resolution and, in fact, we were treated with indifference. It was generally quite offensive. I did not know in the beginning that the hotel was almost entirely devoted to hosting the Sultan of Brunei, only that we were picked up 40 mins late from the shuttle we reserved with the hotel and let down the moment we made our way beyond all the Cadillac Escalades and Lincoln Navigators crowding the front. The hotel claimed that it was fully booked for a good hour as I was on the phone with the Platinum concierge people. Ultimately a second option was offered which amounted to another room with a twin bed configuration on a higher level. It seemed a challenge to get across our required sleeping configuration. A second option (although they were 'sold out') was a handicap accessible suite on the main level adjacent to the elevators (noisy) and with a dark overview to the backsides of the chaise lounges at the back of the very small pool. We were quite worn down by this point and accepted the handicapped configured suite. As we lay our heads down for the night the air conditioning kicked in with a shot - like a starter pistol - and proceeded to do so every ten minutes or so throughout our stay. Needless to say this did not make for a restful sleep. We decided to spend as little time as possible at the hotel which treated us like non-guests. We noticed on one of our three days that the lower level bathroom was left dirty and on another that the patio doors were opened and left opened by the cleaning staff. Not the most secure feeling. What saddens us most about our experience is how the management failed to take any accountability over the disruption to our reservation and treated us with indifference. I stay at Starwood properties around the world preferentially and I felt unknown and unappreciated as a loyal customer. No I do not have the resources of the Sultan of Brunei but we are loyal, consistent customers of the Starwood group. The RH management lacked honesty in my opinion and did not even give us the courtesy of contacting us even while we were there. They made it difficult for us to achieve a late check-out even though this is routinely offered to Platinum members. I protested the resort fee - not on the basis of the inconvenience we experienced - but rather on the basis of the lack of value. Unless one has a vehicle to park and children to feed, the $32/day amounts to zero value and sits on top of what it costs guests to simply utilize a chaise lounge on the narrow, roped off section of beach ($40/day). Even if our stay had been perfect I would have protested this resort fee and have it waived as I did a week prior in an adjacent Starwood property. The RH management, however, saw this as an opportunity to excuse themselves from all the hardship they caused with the disruption of our reservation - a vivid sign of arrogance. As if to add insult to injury, we again had booked a shuttle through the hotel to return us to the airport. It was to arrive at 5:10 pm. We stood outside the front waiting. By 5:20 pm a Roberts shuttle did arrive but -- even as I stood there with the invoice I had received from the hotel concierge - they did not have us on the manifest. Fortunately, the driver called into his dispatch and they agreed to take us on. As we were enroute back to the airport, a semi-retired physician from the UK remarked that they had heard that some guests arrived in Honolulu only to discover that their reservation was not longer being honored. So this is what we all must keep in mind with this property under it' current management regime. You might make a reservation, be subject to cancellation fees, and ultimately not even have your reservation honored. March 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent location If you are looking for a luxury hotel in Oahu but you want to stay at the city limits, this is the place for you. It is good for family, couples, solo travelers, etc. The hotel is big, has spectacular facilities but at checking or reception area, they DON'T have a hotel map! Your are always lost . They told me that I was suppose to have a hotel map at our suite but we never found one. If you ask to any employees they are willing to show you the way to go to restaurants, beach, spa, etc but personally I found this awkward that you always have to ask where to find any place inside the hotel. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has excellent staff Great service and attention to detail. Very relaxing with a peaceful atmosphere. Very nice for older people or families that don't want a lot of loud, partying people. March 15, 2013
  • 2015-05-21T19:44:26.204-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_551, tr_551
  • loc_en_US, sid_376, prod, sort_default
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 20 next>>