The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

  • 2259 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 570 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Royal Hawaiian My stay compared to all my stays at SPG hotels was extremely dissapointing March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay in Honolulu The hotel provided everything I could ask for. March 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasant stay I have high expectations every time I stay at the Royal Hawaiian and the hotel and staff always deliver. March 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Still a Grand Old Hotel Still love this hotel - a few things need "fixing" but in general it's a wonderful place to stay - The Pool area has to be changed one of these days as it is a tiny little ciircle maybe 20 feet round and filled to the brim with VERY noisy children who scream the whole time they are in it - perhaps it should become a "quiet zone" so that all the people in the lovely lounges around it could enjoy their stay too. And maybe there is someplace to build a "kids" area pool that would make everyone happy? Everything else including the SPA is Top Notch! March 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A perfect retreat This hotel, without a doubt, has the best location on Waikiki. It's the only hotel on Waikiki beach that's both situated directly on the beach, but also sheltered from the noises from the main street behind the beach. The large, open air atmosphere, and surrounding garden areas provides an immediate sense of tranquility upon setting foot in the hotel. The check-in process, while thorough, is exceptionally slow. We were second in line and waited roughly 25 minutes to check in. While there's an SPG Elite plaque behind a counter somewhere, there's a single shared line. The carefully scripted experience is nice - though we wish there was a way to click skip / fast forward and just get to our rooms. That said, the slow check in experience seems more of a trend with hotels in Hawaii in general. The rooms themselves were surprisingly sharp for a hotel approaching a century old. While the age of the architecture is betrayed by external cabling tubes and lack of certain amenities like bath tubs, it's very cleanly decorated and has clearly been remodeled throughout its life to stay current to prevailing expectations. The hotel restaurants were amazing. After dining at most of the restaurants around the Waikiki beach area, it's clear Azure is a tier above the rest. In addition to its views, it serves a fairly traditional / conservative menu - but executes exceptionally on it. The daily seafood auction specials are about as fresh as seafood gets - and the chef consistently delivered perfectly cooked, perfectly flavored food each time. In terms of staff helpfulness - the manager on duty, Evan, took it upon himself personally to help accommodate our requests beyond the call of duty - effectively saving us a good chunk of our vacation from our own mistakes in booking. This is the type of service that sets the Royal Hawaiian apart from the rest. March 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful place but needs buffing In a nutshell--of course this place is beautiful and a feast for the eyes but it could use some attention to the attitudes of the staff at times. March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 star service This hotel had exceptional service from check in to check out. Most of the staff that we met had worked there for over a decade, were knowledgeable, accommodating and friendly. We ate at the Azure each morning for breakfast and one dinner. The breakfasts were excellent and the dinner was among our top 5 of all time. We stayed in the newer ocean front tower where the views were breathtaking. The room was very nice but the art work was unusual and didn't match the room decor and the carpeting seemed a bit worn - lower quality than I would have expected from the Luxury Collection. I would agree that this is still, on average, a 5 star hotel overall but only because the service is probably a 6 and the accommodations a 4. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. March 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Housekeeping Had to call daily to have housekeeping done as was never done before 330 pm each day as well had to leave notes to have towels and toiletries refreshed March 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissatisfied Our daughter was our guest on this trip; however, the bill was issued in her name and placed under her door. This should not have happened. Had trouble with our air conditioning the first few days in that it would not shut off when it reached the desired setting -- we had to open the lanai door to make it stop. Tech who visited our room told us that was how it worked. First two nights were most uncomfortable. March 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Please, More Attention To Detail I wish SPG would have sent a review/survey for me to complete after our recent stay but apparently no one cares how our stay was. Beautiful public areas-love the history and beauty of this grand hotel. Staff were for the most part helpful and courteous. Room 7000 has a significant mold problem-please check behind the bathroom door. I smelled it the moment I entered-thought it would resolve itself-however it did not. Air conditioning sounds like a jet plane-could not use at night so had to leave lanai door open. Then we were treated to the greasy fried food smell from the restaurants. Desk chair broken, bathroom scale broken. Front desk check in employee asked if we were there celebrating anything-we shared with her that we were there for 20th anniversary. When she asked if we were like a bottle of champagne sent to the room we said yes-never received it. Elevators in tower are dirty and beat up. I love the Royal Hawaiian but I will never stay there again-this luxury collection hotel lacks luxury. March 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Insufficient nunber of available chairs around pool. Great views of ocean but the room size was disappointing considering the price of the room. Totally inadquate number of available chairs around the pool. The Beach Boys were very helpful but folks were putting towels on chairs by 6:30a.m. to hold them and then not using them for quite a while. Thus, a big disappointment unless you wanted to pay a high price to rent chairs on the beach. As indicated, fantastic view of the ocean but the rooms were definitely not 4 or 5 star quality in terms of size. March 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aloha Spirit! Greeted with a grand Aloha welcome! Mahalo! March 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by what makes a great hotel? a great hotel should be great this one only qualifies as good hotel in great location. March 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Royal Hawaiian Hotel public spaces and grounds are beautiful. Room was quite average. A little worn out in appearance, and not in a 'quaint and historic' sense. Missing hairdryer, robes, slippers - and a long delay for room and housekeeping service. March 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Customer Service, Comfort, and Aesthetic The RH was lovely. The employees were so pleasant and accommodating, from the bellman, to the front desk staff, to the housekeepers. The only service problems we experienced were that the waitstaff, both in the restaurant and by the pool, were often obviously overextended and sometimes hard to find. The grounds and decor are beautiful, the shops high-quality, and the location can't be beat if you want to be in the center of the Waikiki action and on the beach. The food overall was very good, and room service very fast. Our beds were at least as comfortable as our bed at home (which we love!). I will add that the flow of the outdoor areas isn't great. The only way to the pool from the lawn is through the restaurant or back into and through the hotel, and the only way to the beach is through the pool area. The gate between the large pool the RH shares with the Sheraton and the hotel grounds was closed occasionally, requiring us to walk back through the restaurant, to the pool, out that gate, and down the beach. Not terrible but a bit of a drag with kids/gear in tow. The only real complaint I can make is that the hotel charges guests to use the beach chaises/umbrellas ($40/day for 2), which seems pretty outrageous to me. I think that should be a free amenity for guests. But overall loved the place and would definitely recommend it! February 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by KKC-Hawaii-Perfect SPG staycation. After a long busy week--this is the SPG hotel of choice on Oahu. It's like home away from home! The staff, the room (loved The Aloha Oe Garden Suite), especially Wendy Nagaishi in the Concierge desk was very helpful with eating recommendations. We loved the ability to go to both pools too. cheers February 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best staycation yet for picky traveller We had a ball. Gorgeous room. Great staff. Fantastic opportunity to explore Waikiki as guest in world famous, historic hotel. Mai Thais at Mai tai bar were fun with really good local entertainment, kapena I think. Amazing. Loved being able to access Sheraton & shopping center so easily. Valets were great as were staff at Mai tai bar. Stay in main bldg if possible...if these walls could talk. I can only imagine movie stars & such enjoying same experience over the years. Reminded me of Beverly Hills hotel. High ceilings, dreamy beds, gazillion $ views. February 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxtion This Hotel meets all your needs. From the time you step on the property until you depart they make sure you are taken care of. February 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel does not deserve "Luxury" catagory The two-room garden suite had only one TV,and only one room had air-conditioning. Unbelievably, paper cups were provided for coffee in the room, not a coffee mug. The room service was haphazard - one day forgetting to provide coffee cups, the next day forgetting napkins, the next day providing only Decaf coffee and no regular coffee. Being situated in the middle of everything, the room is quite noisy February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Destination Resort Our stay at the Royal Hawaiian far exceeded our expectations. This resort was is so fine tuned that every need is met before we even know we needed it!!! The staff was so attentive, the food amazing, and the cleanliness of the entire hotel, not to mention the room was incredible. Brandon, who brought up our bags shared much Hawaiian tradition with us...Nam, and Sean were great wait staff that catered to all our desires, as well as our 16 month old son. Can't wait until we meet again!! February 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ABove average staff My wife and I travelled to Hawaii for our 34th anniversary. The room we originally had had a couple of minor issues, the staff rectified them immediately. Another minor issue came up, lets not forget this building is almost 100 yrs old!! This time we were moved and our room was upgraded without even asking. The service manager,I think his name was Shaun, was most impressive, checking every day to make sure we were content. The hotel is also in the best location on Waikiki beach!! When out and about shopping or dining, when you tell people you are at the RH, you get treated differently, in a good way. February 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service could be improved PBX- Instead of transferring calls, operator could take the request and call the appropriate department on behalf of guest. A hotel like this should operate in this manner. Valet/Bellman/Doorman- The front services team is usually the strongest in hotels. They are the weak at this property. They're not very friendly and they are slow to react when a request is mande of them. Spa-EXCELLENT!!!! February 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Experience with One Exception Difficult to be negative about anything in my experience staying at the "Pink Palace" except for one thing. in a 4 night, 3 day stay, 2 of those days found the housekeeping's effort in tidying up my room to be a problem. The first of these 2 days, at 4:30pm, I returned to find the room untouched from what it was when I left that morning. Damp towels, bed unmade, no coffee replacement, nothing done. Day 2 of these 2 days, the room was halfway done up but no towels, no bath mat, no fresh water bottles, bed halfway made & no coffee replacement. I had to call housekeeping to get things done February 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not near expectations Car service, that was booked through the hotel, never showed. Upon arrival, I was told the suite I had booked had a plumbing problem. The accessible suite (which I was put in until the plumbing problem was resolved) had a chipped mirror in the bathroom, the sliding blinds were off the track, the bed side light did not work, there was one remote for two tvs, etc. The next day, when I was checking to move to the originally booked suite, I was told it was still dirty from the previous guest. Amazingly, it got cleaned quickly and the new room had a window that rattled, ac that went on and off and never regulated, phone that had static on it (never fixed when reported), etc... Never was there any followup by mgt even though I was left with the impression I would be contacted. January 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overrated Nice hotel but nothing special. Nothing free. You even have to rent a beach chair. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel Beautiful hotel, lovely grand proportions, wonderfully located on the beach at Waikiki. Also nice and quiet as it is set back from the street. Two minor bugbears - resort fee was poor value given that internet is free at most hotels trying to compete these days, and the concierge/front desk was understaffed (there was ALWAYS a wait regardless of the time of day I tried to get service - I got around this by getting served over the phone, much quicker!). The valet parking was useful to us, but our traveling companion didn't have a car and still paid. Otherwise, everything else on the list was not particularly desired. The other minor annoyance was the fact that there was only 1 small pool/hot tub onsite and it closed at 6pm - a little sad, fortunately I was busy enough shopping, eating and sight seeing to not want to spend a lot of time poolside! January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Weekend I absolutely LOVE this property! Don't let it's classic exterior fool you! The rooms have been updated with a modern feel! Highly recommended. Love the welcome "banana bread". Thank you for an amazing stay!!! January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST HOTEL EVER!!!!! I have been to some of the best hotels in the world but this one was the best!!!! Hotel is beautiful (love the pink). Staff is amazing especially Wendy at the concierge. She made me feel like the most important person in the hotel (and we had some famous people staying at the same time). I recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a incredible vacation!!!! January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 10 in a row We have just returned for our 10th year in a row at the Royal hawaiian,we meet our 3 daughters there for a family catch up every January.Ten years in a row best describes how we feel about the Hotel,everything about the place is excellent.Having said that what makes the experience extra special is the staff.Breakfast has become such a special occasion for us and this would be no where near as special if was not for servers like Richard who has become more of a friend than server.Cannot praise the establishment high enough. January 23, 2014
  • 2015-11-26 T19:16:14.370-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_570, tr_570
  • loc_en_US, sid_376, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 20 next>>