Walt Disney World Dolphin

  • 1500 Epcot Resort Boulevard
  • Lake Buena Vista,
  • Florida
  • 32830
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 2149 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel is in need of an update You can't beat the location of this hotel (walking distance to two of the parks and Boardwalk entertainment), but this hotel is in need of an update and the service was not what I would expect from Starwood. Had to get a replacement refrigerator and hair dryer. Neither of the replacements worked. Found a very large bug in the room. We were awakened late one night with a room service order that wasn't ours . . .and the charge still showed up on our bill. Furnishings are in our room were definitely showing their age. Not planning to stay here again until they renovate. September 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Zero Value Beautiful lobby but the rooms are rundown and outdated. The room refrigerators don't cool properly. Maintenance "fixed" mine three times. Finally an employee admitted that the refrigerators are cheap and that they get lots of complaints. We kept finding strange hair in the old, stained bathroom. The towels were stained. Most of the food was good. Very disappointed. November 14, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible service, hotel has gone down hill Upon arrival there was no SPG line (12/29/12). After waiting on regular line I informed clerk ther was no SPG line and she laughed. Once we arrived at our room #6157 we realized the refrigerator wasn't working, we waited and tried to adjust cool settings to no avail. Called front desk made them aware of the situation, nothing was done 12/29-30-31. Repeated calls every day and nothing was done. replaced 12/31 4 PM affter another call. Said they were aware of our problem, if so why did it take another call to get help. They ignored us and our problem. Just didn't care, something is wrong with the Dolphin staff and Mgt it's not a class operation anymore. January 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Outside is beautiful This hotel looks fabulous from th outside,but the rooms are very old and the bathrooms were so so tiny.Had to pay to park at your own hotel which is very weird..also had to pay for wifi which is ridiculous this day and age. So it was 30 dollars extra for all of that!!!! Would never stay here again!,, December 1, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by WDW Dolphin - Awful Experience. Worst Room on Property My room was literally in the elevator lobby with a constant "ding-ding" throughout the day and night. It would drive anyone crazy. In addition, the view outside of my room was awful for "resort view". I looked out on the air condintioner condensers and a large concerte structure. I talked to the front desk immediately upon check-in and again after Night 1. "All rooms were full" and could not be moved. At least an offer for coffee could have been made. It was more important to get my money and not for my satisfaction. Never stat here and if forced to - do not allow room 1119. I travel to Orlando for personal and business but will never stay here again. October 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Horrible Check In? (Not just this Starwood Property but the Bahamas?) Unless your a Gold or Platinum member check in took over 25 minutes - at least 4 -5 people cut the line - because there was no line - because the ropes were down? People who were in the know just got in the Gold or Platinum line which had two people working that side. My side only had one person working and everyone on my side had to go over to the Gold or Platinum line to get any service (this was after two Hotel staff came to the rescue after 20 minutes of our side not moving, and all the people rushing the Gold and Platinum side ahead of us? September 6, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hidden Prices When we first checked in to our room we had a view of a rooftop. When I called guest services and explained that I had booked a room with a "resort view" we were immediately switched to a different room :-). The pool area was beautiful but it was very cold so we weren't able to swim. We were not aware that there was a $15 parking charge :-( or a $14 room charge for 2 bottles of water and wifi :-(. There is no food court like in the actual Disney owned resorts. We ate in the so called food court and besides tax we got charged an extra 6.80 service charge for SERVING OURSELVES!!!!!! The beds are comfortable. The bathroom is super small. I would not stay here again. February 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Step it up Let's see, more than $7.00 for two 12 oz. cups of coffee in the 24 hour cafe. Coffee was cheaper in Epcot than it was in the hotel. I don't care what brand it is, $3.50 a cup is stupid. I felt ripped off. No room upgrades what so ever. (really?) Assigned room was clean, but nothing special. Self-parking was a disaster, a long way from the hotel, and overfilled. The Dolphin had the chance to shine for a loyal customer and they chose to drop the ball. I wouldn’t stay there again. February 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad weekend Very poor maintenance worker Friday night, didn't know his job about HVAC. Told me rooms have no heat and would have to live with it using extra blankets. With 45years experience with HVAC, I knew he was not telling the truth or didn't care. We suffered with the cold all night. Saturday I call maintenance again this time they sent an experienced HVAC, Who knew like I did that the valve was stuck and not stopping the cold water from the chillers. He turned off the cold water valve and the temp was fine for Saturday. Please train your staff correctly. AC filter was disgusting filthy not changed in long time. February 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs work Clear that the property needs renovation. February 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Disney Location My family of 3 stayed at this property for our Thanksgiving Disney vacation. Desk staff were very helpful and accomodating with all of our needs. We didn't utilize housekeeping services as we chose to paricipate in the Green Choice program. Had minor issues with not receiving our alloted coffee/tea/water daily but guest services responded promptly when this was brought to their attention. The location of this hotel was the big draw for us and it did not disappoint. HS and Epcot are easily accessed by walking or by short Disney boat rides. Disney bus takes you to the other 2 parks. All in all, the service and location are what would bring us back. November 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The bed was comfortable I had 3 reservations and was told I would get new keys under the door at the end of each reservation, only happened one time. I requested early check in, did not happen. Room keys did not work on a daily basis, the hallway and our room smelled of bad soy sauce the 10 days we were there. The phone had a blinking light our entire stay. We had to go out of our several times and go to the desk to request new keys. I have to pay for 2 bottles of water every day?!? Your hotel is concerned about recylcling, what do you do with all of those empty bottles? No maid service every day is fine, but we ran out of toilet paper, coffe, trash was overflowing . I had to go to the desk and ask for my $5 coupon 2 times because it was not delivered. A huge lack of communication between staff and management. I feel sorry for the maid service, they all seemed very pleasant and courteous but there is a language barrier. July 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to Disney standard I was a guest for a national professional convention. I arrived early and found staff very attentive. Once the crowd came service declined. Wait staff during paid breakfast and lunch sessions were rude and not attentive to basic requests. For the price and a supposed upgrade the bathroom was extremely small making it impossible for more than one person to be in the area at the same time. Final problem morning of discharge someone had sprayed a substance in the hallway outside my room. It smelled of paint thinner or some type of petroleum based substance. I notified the management and safety staff since I experienced burning of eyes throat and nares. No one called to check on me afterward or advise me of the outcome. I had expressed concern not only for myself but for the health of other guest especially a small child. Room was dated moderately clean but not up to what I would expect of a Disney venue. Over rated over priced and potentially unsafe. May 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Maids slamming doors wakes you up early. Food from Picabu was very good as usual. Staff there is excellent and friendly. Unfortunately the cleaning staff was very loud. They not only let the doors slam every time they went in and out they also were talking loudly in the hall ways. This included someone who looked like a supervisor. I would think all staff would be trained to be quiet in the quest room areas and certainly not let the doors slam. It is some what understandable (though not considerate) if the quests are noisy but not the hotel staff. I have not experienced this on past visits so I was surprised this time. August 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by No customer service I was at the Dolphin for a convention and was very disappointed with the service. My room was never cleaned before 4:30PM even after a request for 2pm - except on day of check out (11am) when there was a knock at 9am. Desk chair in room was broken - arm was on the desk - it was moved for cleaning but never fixed. Restaurants were under staffed so we waited at least 30 minutes to have our order taken and wine was warm. At checkout I said I was disappointed and was asked if I wanted to talk to a manager - I said yes, but was then told manager was too busy to come out - really! August 14, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Filthy Hotel and Service I paid extra for Resort View and never got one. I was put on a floor that was scheduled for renovation. When we returned in the evening the entire floor was begin renovated and our room was sealed. I can provide pictures of room and floor we were put. December 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Todd English's Blue Zoo Restaurant This was by far the best meal and experience I have ever had the privilege of enjoying in my 50 years of life. We had a group of six and considering it was New Years Eve was prepared for average service and longer wait times on food courses. Wow, was I wrong!! We were seated at our reservation time and our server- Karen was more than I could have hoped for and added to our experience by suggesting and interacting with our entire group. She was assisted by Said who expertly prepared the whole fish right in front of the table. We were checked on several times throughout the meal by Gary the Assistant General Manager to make sure all was good. Good?? It was superb!!! You have to make plans to dine here. Worth every penny!!! January 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a Disney Hotel If you are expecting a Disney experience or even a 4 star Sheraton experience this is NOT the place to stay. First, only 4% of the 1500 rooms have a king bed, none have queens, so don't expect to get one, because you likely wont. Next, the room we did get after asking to have one NOT next to the elavator was right next to the elavator, we were told there was nothing they could do because of a conference. Next, the housekeeping service was terrible, the maid couldn't make the bed right, didn't vacume every day and didn't refil the coffee or sugar. Speaking of the elavators, they smell. Only good thing was the food in Shulas was top notch. October 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a dump Room was musty bathroom tiles disgusting inefficient air conditioning soft mushy mattress need I say more August 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by What happened to Creating Magic? I just read Lee Cockerell's book Creating Magic. I did not find it accurate with my stay. 1) The Hotel lobby had a "musky" smell, which many of my coworkers also attending the meeting held there smelled. 2) Our check in took extremely long. 3) On my 2nd night there I awoke at midnight due to multiple bangings and door slamming in the room next door. I got out of bed to go check only to find a housekeeper cleaning the room at that late hour, and doing it very noisily. She just glared at me when she saw me poke my head out of my door. January 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst SPG experience in a loooong time Where to start? Ah the beginning. Now I have stayed at the dolphin numerous times in the past and expected a similarly good experience. When my car pulled up to the front I had to approach a valet to get a luggage cart. Nice welcome? Front desk experience was horrible. It took at least 20 minutes to check in- even in the spg line. Most @wood hotels pre check platinum guests. Not here. No recognition until I asked about the platinum amenities. Was told my room was almost ready. Almost meant 2.5 hours later and 1.5 hours after check in time. Front desk manager was ineffective. In the meantime, we went to the pool bar for a late lunch. Extremely overpriced. $8 for a $2 NYC pushcart hot dog which would have been much better. What's up with the pita chips? Fries cost too much? Come on. Oh, and don't ask for Dijon mustard or onions because either the server isn't allowed to get a side of onions and I was told that Dijon mustard doesn't go with anything on the menu. Hello? Ever heard of a hamburger? When asked to speak with a manager, both the onions and Dijon emerged. The room. No robes. Took 3 calls over a 45 minute period to arrive. Unlabeled hair conditioner in bathroom. Please don't tell me they consolidate toiletries. Phone chord was faulty. Not good for calling room or guest services. Room service which we had for night time snacks one night and a breakfast was good. Shula's steakhouse was, well Shula's. Excellent. Dinner for 6- $800 including tip but worth it. Lobby entertainment duo were very good. Ceiling in the lobby looked like several grandmother's bras strung together. Lobby seating was both comfortable and convenient. Pool area was lovely as usual except for the annoying DJ wannabe conducting kids games who you could hear all afternoon. Overall a disappointing experience compared to previous stays here and my other 500+ Starwood stays. Either poor hiring choices or lack of appropriate training or both. Yes, this review is harsh, but considering my other reviews here and on other sites, it's very fair and representing my experience. Your mileage may vary. I'm officially at the end of the road with this resort. April 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel doesn't care about Lifetime Platinum customers On check-in, my SPG Lifetime Platinum status was ignored. I had to ask if an upgrade was available, and the desk clerk grudgingly found one for me after originally telling me that no rooms were available for me yet. The upgrade room had a horrible, rancid, musty smell that burned my nostrils. I complained and was finally moved to a room that did not smell bad. The final insult this hotel delivered was when it cheated me out of 6,000 Starwood points. My bill was $4,500, the hotel's own folio promised me 9,700 points, but the hotel actually delivered 3,700 points to me. I've complained, they admitted they made a mistake...but why should I have to work so hard to get a hotel to deliver what was promised to me? High prices, indifferent service, avoid this place if you can. November 4, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Total Disappointment We checked in around 2:00 and was told our room wasn’t ready yet. Upon giving my credit card, I was told that there is a mandatory resort fee of $14 dollars per a night that included two bottles of water and access to the spa. I didn’t understand why that was a mandatory charge. However, if I would sign up for the Starwood Preferred Guest program, they would waive the fee. I thought this was a form of arm twisting which made me feel uncomfortable but decided to just give in after questioning this policy several times and a line behind me had started forming. They explained to us that they would call when the room became available and suggested to go have lunch somewhere. After having lunch and never receiving a telephone call, we decided to go back to the hotel and try again. It was now 3:10 and they told us that even though check in is by 3:00, there is no guarantee. They told us that the room is still “pending.” Since this was becoming a bit of a hassle, I asked them if they could please pinpoint a time the room would become available by speaking to housekeeping directly. Finally after 30 minutes of standing there at the front desk, the person came back with a key for our room. Now we felt everything would be better since we were on our way to the room. As we walked into the room, a very strong odor smelled of urine that was unbearable. In addition, the toilet seat was covered in small hairs. We couldn’t stand it anymore and called down to the front desk to request another room. They did have another one so I went down to change the keys. They never even offered to bring up the keys for the new room. Actually, this was a good thing because the smell was so bad that we would have been waiting in the hall for the employee. The next room was better and more in line with what we were expecting. However, the next morning, breakfast was a disaster. We went down for a late breakfast in the restaurant downstairs in the Dolphin and was seated with a smile. After fifteen minutes of dining, we decided to go back to the buffet only to find it was gone. The bowls and plates of food were already loaded onto the cart. When my wife asked what was going on, she was answered by a very rude and obnoxious chef. My wife felt humiliated and decided to simply return back to our table. The manager came out and told us that the hostess and the waiter should have told us when the buffet was going to end, but they hadn’t. At $20 per person, you would think it would be rule number one, to inform each and every guest when they would not be able to make any additional trips to the breakfast buffet by a certain time. This was the first time we stayed on the Disney property and have regretted the decision every since. Not only would I not recommend this hotel to anyone that I know, but I, myself, will never go back. This was a very bad experience that I would never want to go through again. September 6, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sad I have stayed several times at the dolphin in fact I was there in September of 2012 and all was great, however a month later and it seems things are falling apart. An hour after check in we had to change rooms because of the clogged toliet and tub the main door you had trouble opening, missing towels and bath mat and new room was not much better then trying to leave the resort my room key would not let me out of lot so had to walk back to hotel to correct issue what was offered was a free breakfast. October 31, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing Overall, I was disappointed in my stay. The food is overpriced, there was a dustball and random hair in the bathroom upon arrival, the water pressure always dropped in the shower regardless of when I was showering, there was a hair in my food from the buffeteria (and the cashier had a horrible attitude), and the hotel bill was a debacle. I am not normally a Negative Nelly, but my experience with Walt Disney World Dolphin was subpar. I expected so much more because of the name and the cost for staying there. I had no options for alternative accommodations since my conference was being held there. Otherwise I would have stayed somewhere's November 21, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by more interested in filling rooms than comfort 5 of 6 nights, we were on same floor as a very loud group of teens who were yelling in the halls and banging on doors, including ours. Each night we were up from 11pm to 2 or 3 am waiting for security to address the situation. The group had chaperones who did nothing, hotel staff was often unresponsive to calls or said "there's nothing we can do". The last night, it was suggested we could change rooms, but then the manager said they were at capacity and were aware of the problems with the group. July 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Review Other then the fact that I never get upgraded at your hotel (I am a Platinum for LIfe memeber and I have stayed at Dolphin 5 times and never mbeen upgraded) I have nothign bad to say abotu the place. It is a great hotel , staff is very helpful, and all around we have a good time. November 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel great location, have stayed there twice and both times they have been amazing, the staff is wonderful, the resrutants are ok, the foutain is ok but some staff have no personality, the market resturant is amazing great brunch buffet. the staff is great you go once and they remember you the next breakfast and what you want to drink or eat. the picabu is not great food was sitting there from lunch to dinner ( 8 hour space). the pools are wonderful. the beach is lovley. the views are wonderful too. im really impressed with everything. the only thing is when theres a convention going on it really takes away from a hotel. it feels more like your an outsider. May 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not given a good rate I stayed here for 3 days with 2 rooms booked at a rate of $139 a night for each room, which was a great rate. However when we got bumped from our flight on the way home we decided to stay 3 more days but they could not give me the rate I had just got 1 day after I checked out. They wanted $249!!! So dissappointed we could not stay there for the 3 extra days. The prices also went up at piccabu, and they now charge a service fee for them to bring it to your table. November 9, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by going down hill gold membership means nothing at this hotel anymore. My family has been going to this hotel since the second week it was open god knows how many night we have been their and not to say how much money. Its pretty bad when you have a favorite room number and try to get it when we can but just seams the the front desk just doesn't care anymore. If it wasn't for Gayle Adams we would have quit coming there a long time ago. Shes always helpful if you can get someone at the front desk to get her. Probably wont be back in till there are some changes. June of 1980 is a long time for loyalty doesn't someone think or maybe not. I hope someone learns from this customer January 21, 2015
  • 2015-03-29T18:04:50.668-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_2149, tr_2149
  • loc_en_US, sid_468, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 73 next>>