The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

  • KM. 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan,
  • Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo.
  • Cancun,
  • Quintana Roo
  • 77500
  • Mexico
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years of age or older to reserve and check into a room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 182 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE My husband and I are still at the Westin Lagunamar but it has been a horrible time. We were unfortunate and given a room next to the construction. Staff here is unhelpful and unable to offer us a better room. Everytime we complain, we're told false information; first it was that we shouldn't be able to hear the construction which is not true since we hear ALL OF IT. then we were told it would only be for one more day, which is not true, this is now day 3 of the construction. then we were told on day 2 of construction that it would not be happening over the weekend (sat & sun) but it's saturday and the construction is loud as ever. This experience is just terrible. I do not recommend this property because regardless of what they tell you, I would not believe them. There are so many other available places to stay in Cancun and this is not one of the better ones. I would look outside of SPG and stay somewhere nicer. Also, since this is a time-share property, unless you own here, they do not give you preference for a better room. So, of you're SPG gold or platinum, it will not benefit you here. And, even if you are time-share owner they still do not promise a better room. So, just don't stay here. January 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Hi I understand this property is a owners association, but during this stay I felt racial bias towards us. During breakfast at Oceana, we were denied outside tables though tables were available. First day I ignored, but on second day I asked the lady as why you did not give us a table outside thought there were plenty available. She replied- " you can sit now if you want". By that time we were already eating and these are some expensive breakfast buffets. Secondly, my husband ordered oatmeal from the menu. The server got us plain oatmeal with nothing on the side. While we saw him getting oatmeal to others with nuts, fruits and some other stuff on the side. We went for drinks to the sports bar and it was 15 minutes before their closing time. The server said " why don't you go to the other bar ..they have happy hour going on"... Not in a good way. Third incident, during breakfast first 2 days , the server was getting chocolate milk for my son around when we were ready to leave. The list goes on. I am a platinum SPG member and this has been the worst experience so far. I am very disappointed and would not suggest any one from similar ethnicity to go there. March 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I will surely be back!!! Excellent hotel This hotel is wonderful. The facility is outstanding. But the perfume of this hotel is its people. Since you arrive they give you a warm welcome. My deep gratitude to Erick for his understanding of my need when giving me my room at front desk. My deep gratitude to MARILU for her smile when we went several times to the front desk, she is the SHINY FACE of GOODNESS OF THIS HOTEL. Thank you to Hector at the front desk for his talent and kindness. Thank you to Eduardo and Delfina at the concierge. May God bless you all!!!!! June 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location The staff at the hotel were attentive and always available. The view from the room was breathtaking. We are looking forward to another visit very soon! The biggest challenge at the hotel was the inconsistency with money exchange and the acceptance of the US dollar. Upon check-in we were told it was accepted to only later find out that it was not. Once we recovered from all the confusion everything was fine. Also, Wi-Fi was never available. We used the business center instead, which is open 24 hours a day. July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of our best vvacations ever My wife and I stayed at Lagunamar last March. This is simply a great resort. Our concierge, Delfina, met us upon our arrival. She was extremely helpful in aiding our plans for our stay. Our one regret was that this was just a four night stay. We are rectifying that, by returning next March for a full week's stay. We are bringing another couple with us. The amazing thing to me, is that EVERY room faces the ocean. The staff is friendly and helpful. I don't think I would ever get tired of returning to Lagunamar. October 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond our expectations! My husband and I came to the resort to celebrate our 25th anniversary. This is our first visit to Cancun. When we were arrived at the resort, we were welcomed with many smiling faces. We were in awed with everything in the resort. We enjoyed relaxing in the sun in the infinity pool as well as the beach. We dined at the 3 restaurant in the resort. We met a very friendly staff named Marco. He went above and beyond in giving us the outmost service. We will definitely come back to this resort for its friendly staff, cleanliness and great location. Looking forward to bringing the rest of the family next year! December 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The loudest room ever! Don't go. Can't sleep. This was a one bedroom villa with missing things in the kitchen. My family stayed in 72* which is above the restaurant. There were compressors on until midnight and turned back on at 6 am. It is like a jack hammer beneath your floor. You can feel the pounding all night long beneath your feet. DVD player broke and they had to change it out two times! The beach towels are worn out and mismatched. Ants throughout the poolside. Bad WiFi and slow Internet speeds. Staff was nice and tried but we could not switch rooms nor did they try. It takes two or three tries to get staff to do something such as wifi router for room or switching DVD player. My wife found baby waste at the bottom of the pool. This was reported but no reaction/action by staff except surprise. Dirty diapers sitting on lounge chairs by pool for the entire afternnoon! August 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Third stay in last 18 months Always enjoy staying at this property. Staff is friendly and make you feel welcome and at "home". They are also very attentive to address concerns. We discovered our microwave was not working. Notified front desk of this and a couple of burnt out lights, all were addressed by the time we returned from the mall. The property and grounds are well kept, it seems there is always someone cleaning, wiping down patio furniture, hand railings by the pool etc. Location is great - across the street is La Isla shopping center complete with an aquarium/dolphin show, Starbucks and Mexico's version of Nordstroms, El Palacio. If you rent a car at the airport you can return it at La Isla. Parking is free at the hotel. This is an ideal place when traveling with children as each unit has a complete kitchen and grills are available poolside. May 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Place This is my second time staying at the Lagunamar. I was celebrating my birthday and although May is considered low season we had a great time. I loved that the facility wasn't crowded. The staff there are so helpful and hospitable. I really just wanted to relax and everyone was so attentive and made it so easy to just lay back. I had a special candle light dinner on the beach organized by my partner and hotel staff. They made the evening very enjoyable, special, and romantic. We greatly enjoyed our stay. The only thing that could have been a bit better was the internet access was quite slow, other than that, everything was perfect. May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent resort hotel First time to Cancun and I am glad I chose Westin. Very new resort with everything you need available at your finger tips. A mall right across the road if you need shopping or dining. Staff were generally helpful. My only complaint was that the wifi reception was not available in the room and when I complained to the concierge, the staff was brushed off my complaint and never got back to me as promised. I ended up going out of my room to get wifi. July 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great facilities poor service Despite the excellent resort it is, has few employees or some ot their employees don't accomplish the standard is required. Very few waiters @ the pool, it takes so long to be attended, one of the days my room was ready around 8:00 pm, on our check in room was not ready on time and when we arrive it has some dust. And something that I cant believe is that I unfortunately I left my sandals at the room after my stay, and for the quality of the hotels I'd expected to recover them but housekeeping didn´t find them. I just try to recover them because I was going back to Cancun due to my job in other case I'll assume my omission. July 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Doesn't live up to Starwood The service at this hotel is really uneven. Some staff are very helpful, but a disturbingly high percentage are truly bad. The rooms themselves are just decent; they are several notches below what is typically expected out of a Westin and obviously cater to the spring break crowd. The hotel sells itself on its luxe grounds and its amazing Caribbean views, but otherwise is pretty subpar. January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cancun Spring Break We went there with the family for spring break and found that the hotel was not overrun with partiers. I actually think we saw more babies then we did college kids. Room was quite large and well stocked with a full kitchen stocked with cookware. Pools were very large and all the reviewers comments about not being able to fund a lounge chair are unfortunately correct. It was a bit of a pain. The other disappointment was that the pool drinks were quite bad. I'm not sure if it was bottom shelf booze or mixers but we quickly went and bought our own alcohol and made drinks in our room. As a platinum guest we did get a very nice breakfast spread but as far as platinum recognition that was about it. Check in time was 4 and that's probably being generous. I didn't get a room until after 5 and the hotel was not full. The best thing about the hotel was that the staff were very friendly. Everyone from the valets (Henry I think??) to the wait staff went above and beyond to be nice and it wasn't a fake nice that you get at some hotels. That would bring me back to this property over any SPG recognition. I'd also add to get a few shots from the take 5 photographers located by the family pool. They came out amazing and prices were very reasonable. March 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great villa resort We have stayed at the Westin Lagunamar a number of times. This time we chose Lagunamar for a family reunion/anniversary celebration. The entire staff from the Bell Captain to the front desk to the Elite concierge were extremely helpful in coordinating the rooms for our group. We had 20 people ages 7 mos to 67 yrs and everyone had a great time at the multiple pools and the beautiful white sand beach. The concierge was most helpful in guiding us to family friendly dining outside of the resort. The staff at Oceano, including Pedro and Alberto, organized a welcome cocktail party for our family. For the most part the waiters at Vientos pool restaurant were attentive, especially Arline, Robert, and Marco. One negative we have is that the Duna Sports Bar service is extremely slow....took an hour to get our meal on 2 different occasions. However, at least they are showing more sports than just soccer now! We were able to get college and pro football games over the Thanksgiving holiday week. The Heavenly Spa is now open and quite nice. Another negative was when the "Fun Team" or activity group refused to let us use the corn hole game or the volleyball when they had another planned activity in process even tho there would not have been any conflict with space. Our family with little ones had cribs and high chairs in their rooms and really enjoyed the balcony when they had to be in the room while the babies were sleeping. Lagunamar is one of our favorite resorts and we will be going back in March. December 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel but Beautiful hotel, great beach, great food but the front desk's attitude was an extreme disappointment. I spent average 50 night/year in Starwood hotel & resorts all over the world, and this location is by far the biggest disappointment. I am a Platinum member but for some reason he thought I was Gold, so no upgrade was offered. The SPG recognition is very low at this hotel. Jesus at the front desk made it very clear to me that they give “Vacation Ownership” first priority. This is the place to go if you don’t care about SPG recognition and little details that shows appreciation of your loyalty. November 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable hotel with good service in centric location Like: Clean, comfortable rooms with complete kitchen and washer/dryer; nice, spacious hotel facilities (pools, restaurants, etc.) and beach; attentive, personalized service; good quality food Dislike: Very poor internet; poor SPG recognition; hotel lifeguards trying to force guests to swim within the same crowded space on a long, public beach April 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Week Stay It was a first trip to Cancun. We had an awesome time. Only couple things went wrong but got fixed. Grills in 2 areas didn't work. Pool Bar not open when said it was to be. But those were very minor problems and they fixed them. Staff was awesome. I would like to say a huge congrats to Valentin who was very helpful to our group. June 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing location and great facilities We stayed at the Resort for 5 nights at it was an amazing experience to say the least. As soon as you enter the lobby you know you have a treat waiting for you. We got upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite and it was beautiful. Well, I arrived at 2:30 but i had to wait till 4 (check in time) before they handed me over the keys even though I am a platinum. I did not mind as I was hungry and was able to walk to the mall right across the street for some lunch. The beach is amazing and you have service on the beach. Man I loved it. Just stay on the beach and nice food and cold beer is served on the beach while you soak yourself in the beautiful view of the deep blue sea. There is no lounge for Platinum member so I chose the breakfast as my amenity. They provide limited 'Continental breakfast' and not the full buffet which kinda sucks. But overall the hotel is amazing and I would recommend it to everyone. And yeah the concierge is also great providing you with great information. May 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another excellent stay Just returned home from another fantastic stay at the Lagunamar, 4th stay in the last 3 years has become a bit of a tradition for my 88 year old father and my 6 year old son. Upon check in we were surprised to go to go to our room number to discover we were upgraded to a one bedroom villa. The room was perfect for us, the additional privacy and space was ideal. As always grandfather and grandson enjoyed time at the pool and location of the property. New expansion gave additional swimming options. Hotel was fully booked but with three large pools never felt crowded. Staff attentive and friendly as always, grilling facilities ideal for a family stay and club sandwich at the swim up bar massive. Beach is great, Westin has lifeguards in attendance on the beach. Walking to La Isla shopping mall is easy and convenient. I always recommend Westin Lagunmar when asked where to stay in Cancun. Regarding wifi, yes wireless can be spotty - I bring my own travel wireless router, plug into the LAN line and create my own wireless connection. August 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never Come to this Hotel! 0 Customer Service The food was very bad They dont care about SPG July 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing housekeeping service I wasn't able to check in until past 4PM because my room wasn't ready. My family had to sit around and waste our vacation time waiting for a room. Then, for the first several days, my room wasn't cleaned until past 6PM. We came back to room for a nice shower before dinner each day and this was disappointing. I had to ask for extra towels for several days because my room wasn't cleaned earlier. I complained each day, and one of the nights, at past 10PM, a housekeeping showed up to clean my room. I told him the room was cleaned a few hours earlier - apparent miscommunication between the hotel staffs. Good thing my kids were still awake. The hotel started to clean up my room before noon starting the 4th day. On the last day, I asked for 2 more hours for checkout (noon instead of 10AM# since they were late putting me into the room when I checked in. No deal. As a Platinum member and a world traveler #I travel 50% of the time# , I have been to a number of Westin properties around the world, and as with other Westin properties, this is another nice looking property with good amenities but it apparently has logistical challenge with housekeeping during busy season. They know December is a busy season #everyone at the hotel told us everyday how busy they were in December), and the hotel should've been prepared for this uptick. Also, the floor was never cleaned. I mopped the floor with dirty towels for the first few days and the towels were were black. This kept us in our slippers. Then the dishes, which housekeeping cleaned, were never clean. I wiped them with papertowel and they still had stains. We redid the dishes everyday and rather preferred the housekeeping not do the dishes. I started questioning why anyone would buy a vacation timeshare at this property with such a poor housekeeping service and a ridgid check-in/out policy that won't honor their own check-in time. Disappointed. January 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Property and Location My family and I just got back from a week-long stay at the Westin Lagunamar property and we had a great time. The property was outstanding with 3 great pools and the beach all at our disposal. The property was full, but didn't feel crowded. We were able to get pool chairs with ease on most days. Our only negative issue with our stay was that our room was directly over the kitchen (#724), and we could smell fried foods whenever we returned to our room after a day at the pool. We could have requested a different room, but did not want to go through the headache of packing up and moving, plus we were only in the room for a few hours per day. The smell was not noticeable once in the room for a few minutes. Many of the concerns of other reviewers, like construction issues, were non-existent. The majority of the construction is complete and there was no noise what-so-ever. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at the Lagunamar, and plan to visit again in the very near future. We highly recommend this property to anyone considering it as a future vacation destination! April 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has great decor and staff was friendly. First time to Cancun. They really appreciate starwood members. Received an upgrade and late check out. Nice staff. Also ask about the professional pictures that they will take of you and your family on the beach. June 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by May 2012 - from UK We are coming to the end of our week at the Lagunamar and we can find absoulutely no fault whatsoever with the hotel, its facilities or the staff - who were ALL unfailingly courteous, professional, polite and helpful. Michelle our "personal" concierge gave us useful and succinct advice on local shopping and restaurants and we made full use of the discount voucher. We found the food far superior to what we have experienced in other similarly located hotels and the drinks/food were very good value for money. Our room was fabulous and the hotel grounds are superbly maintained. We booked a trip to Chichen Itza through the hotel and all the arrangements were perfect. If you really want to be very awkward the pool loungers could be a bit more comfortable - but this really is digging too deep for issues. We can't comment on the spa as this is currently "work in progress" but our 2 x 50 minutes with Dalila was a pretty good substitute! All the staff really deserve a big official "thank you and congratulations"!!! A truly wonderful week. Adrian and Helen - from UK - visiting during an exchange week through Interval International May 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent choice We loved the Westin Lagunamar, it was a great choice. The hotel was more than we expected, it is very family-oriented. Excellent amenities and great staff. July 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Numerous disappoints from a loyal guest We recently returned to Lagunamar for our second year in the row during our three kids spring vacation from school. We had a fantastic vacation there in 2012 and were very excited to return this year. While we had a nice vacation overall, we will likely not return to the Lagunamar property, nor can we highly recomment it. In brief, our issues were as follows: - The thermostat in our room was broken and hthe room was freezing. It was fixed and then the temperature was fine. -We had hot water problems in the room that the staff attempted to fix, but never got fully resolved. Thus, we spent seven days often taking cold showers and had to endure workers coming and going. -The wait staff at the restaurants were all very nice and curteous, but they were obviously not staffed or managed properly because they weren't able to be attentive to tables. On average, I probably waited 15 minutes between the time we were finished with our entire meal and were approached to get the bill. One evening, I had to wait at the table for 35 minutes to get the bill. My kids all went up and went to sleep while I sat at the table making multiple requests to sign the check. -One evening, they brought our our whole family's food except for my four year old son's. He was kept waiting for twenty minutes to get mac and cheese after everyone else was served. Further, they lied when we questioned it by saying that they didn't have any available and had to make it all anew, even though kids at the table next to us, who sat down after us, were served mac and cheese at the same time as their parents received their meals. -One day, they didn't even bother to clean our room. The maids showed up at 6PM as we were all getting dressed for the evening. They then returned at nearly 9PM and buzzed repeatedly at the door when our little kids were asleep. We had been out of the room from 8AM until 5PM that day when maid service should have happened. -Also, we had agreed to take the "90 minute" Ownership tour because we had such a strong affinity for the property going in, but that too went awry. 1) They insisted that both my wife and I attend, saying that it is "mandatory" that we both go. Even though we have three kids, they insisted and said we could leave them in a kid's club area to play Wii. We would have been more amenable to ownership if they were flexible on this, but they were not. We preferred to have one of us go ont he tour, and the other stay with the kids. Further, the tour was supposed to start at 9:30AM but they didn't have a tour guide available. At 10AM, when there was still no tour guide, we informed them that we would still need to end the tour at 11AM as originally scheduled. Not start the "90 minute" clock from whenever the guide showed up. They argued with us over this instead of understanding that we had made a concession and blocked out 9:30-11AM. At that point, we canceled the tour and decided to not only NOT consider ownership, but to not return to the resort again as well. Finally, the one truly positive thing I can say goes to an individual who works there - not to the hotel itself. While loading in a cab one evening, the cab driver strangely decided to hit the gas and take off before the back door was closed and my kids had fully loaded in. My four year old son was right in the doorway and his leg would have been crushed by the back wheel of the cab if the valet hadn't of acted fast and yanked him out of the way just in the nick of time. It was a terrifying incident and the valet truly saved our son. We are obviously thankful to him and made sure that his act was known and commended. However, I must also point out that no one from the hotel management staff bothered to check on us following that. There was no phone call, no note, nnor a simple fruit basket when something truly scary had happened and a devastating accident on the property had just been narrowly averted (by the valet). Put it all together and it just adds up to not worth returning. March 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great property, more timeshare than Westin Beautiful property, the villas are quite large and very nicely appointed (at least in the newer half of the property), pools beautiful, nice mini golf, restaurants very pricy but quality of the food very good. The mall across the street has lots of other dining options, some good shopping, an aquarium that’s a bit small and tired but that my 6 year-old really enjoyed on a rainy day. Wireless internet is atrocious, as reported in other reviews, but the wired option works fine. Keep in mind that this is one of these Westin Timeshare places, with the emphasis much more on the timeshare aspect than the Westin aspect: don’t expect much, if anything, in the way of SPG recognition, the only real benefits seem to accrue to owners vs. non-owners. Also be aware that it’s impossible to get adjoining studios, you need to upgrade to a villa if you want adjoining rooms, something that we were only informed about upon arrival, despite several rounds of correspondence where we’d made our needs clear. So unexpected $800+ upgrade was necessary, probably worth it (the villas are huge and beautiful), but would have been good to know ahead of time. Overall, great for kids, surf conditions on beach are rough but the water temperature is beautiful, my daughter had a great time. January 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great resort and staff Took the family for an 8 night stay at this resort and was not disappointed. The pool areas are amazing, staff does a great job though in my opinion seems a little short staffed. Rooms and views (room 276) were great and without problem. We could make our own meals and had a great time sampling the cuisine available at Oceano and area restaurants. The mall across the way offers a bunch of entertainment options. And the beach is amazing, too. February 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 Horrible experience right from the start. I was worried about transportation since I have traveled to Mexico several times & arranged with hotel to be picked up. We are not met with anyone & had to search for car which was below standard from smell of gas and seat belt problems, due to the seat belt cover not covered properly my wife hit back of her head and was injured before getting to hotel. Four days later after several calls to management responded, EXTREMELY POOR SERVICE OR CARE. Mr. Madina asst manager came finally and tried to be of service which did not help after our trip already ruined for four days. No internet service for FOUR DAYS, front desk thinks they can help & would not listen. It took two of the techs 3.5 hours to get the internet fixed after four days. Room had many problems with Refrigerator, washing machine, air conditioning. TV is setup for Spanish speaking if you want movie or film best of luck. Five English news stations, couple of sports stations & serial TV shows running old shows. All HBO & movie channels in Spanish & if lucky to get one movie in English if they have the translations of other languages ins Spanish not English. Some of the staff has serious attitude. Money exchange always problem & limited to $200.00, unless you have other adults with you. One of the restaurants for burgers & Pizza is terrible, could not follow requests. Hotel is beautiful, ocean and views are great but you can never really go into the ocean, always red flagged. Two nights in a row the hotel next to it had concerts & weddings that were extremely loud, one night past 2 am music was so loud. Hotel hall ways are not air conditioned, neither are the elevators to rooms, be aware if you get stuck you are in serious trouble in that heat & humidity. SPA is not worth it, massage was good but not treatments & extremely over priced. Honestly the hotel rooms are great but I will never travel or stay here again after the disaster and lack of care shown to us. I have traveled to Hawaii at Westin and rather have a great experience in Hawaii and far less hassle than going to Mexico and substandard service we got. June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 13 Nights...enjoyed each one! The staff really became a second family for us - from our fabulous concierge Delfina, to Rene who conducted various activities (including water aerobics, karaoke, etc..) they really showed how much they cared about us as guests at their hotel. The rooms were very large and we were upgraded to a very nice view (not sure if it was because of SPG Status or as a Starwood Vacation Owner). TIP: Definitely set up transportation with the hotel (Delfine was nice enough to call us several times before we arrived to let us know how important it is to do this) because the Cancun airport can get a bit overwhelming with literally hundreds of people trying to sell you tours or offering transportation. It might cost a little more through the resort, but absolutely worth it. We ate at Oceano once and didn't particularly enjoy the food (also the waiter "accidentally" left himself a $90 tip for a $75 meal...but we got it squared away with the front desk promptly when checking out). Overall very happy with our stay at this Westin resort. June 9, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>