The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

  • Boulevard Kukulcán Km 12.5 Lt 18 Zona Hotelera
  • Cancun,
  • Quintana Roo
  • 77500
  • Mexico
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years of age or older to reserve and check into a room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 232 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Underwhelmed Our first stay at the Lagunamar was far more satisfactory than our most recent stay. The staff this time, although very friendly, had issues remembering what was agreed to and fixing their mistakes. Resort is beautiful and bell hops and general staff is very nice. Front desk at check in needs to be re-trained to eliminate errors. Oceana buffet is not very good but their off menu food is great. Concierge needs to be more interested in helping than selling. It is ok to answer questions over the phone! July 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't come to this place I felt like they reserved the worst rooms for SPG members. When we checked in around 3PM, they had us wait about 2 hours until the room was ready. When I and my wife specifically asked for a nice room with a good view, they answered "sure". Later we found out it was a room right above a restaurant and a view of ROOF. We had to wait more than 1 hour to get our bags. We have been to other Westin Hotels and we expected "Westin services" but it was most terrible experiences we ever had with Westin. Avoid this place at any cost April 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful resort I would have given this resort 5 stars if it wasn't for the horrible check in I experienced. I arrived at the resort about 11:30 am and checked in. I was told my room wouldn't be ready until 4:00, which was acceptable because that is check in time. However, when I went to get my room keys at 4:30 I was told the room would not be ready until 5:30. After expressing that this was unacceptable and asking for a manager they gave me a different room within five minutes. That evening I fell on the resort grounds after having dinner. I cut my knee and they were very attentive to my wound. I expected someone from the resort to check in with me the next day to see if I was okay but no one did. I found that to be very disappointing. On a better note the resort itself is breath taking. The rooms are beautiful and the views from our balcony of the ocean and beach were wonderful. Our concierge Louis Morales was excellent and the waiters were very attentive. All in all we had a great week. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is the best location in cancun Hotel is located across the street from many shopping areas, bus line and restaurants. We have stayed in other resorts in cancun and the westin's service is superior to the other resorts. The staff is excellent and accommodating to their guests needs. The new spa and staff were wonderful. Looking forward to returning next year. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best pool in Cancun!!!! Second year at Westin Lagunamar, we love this hotel, the pool is unique, the villas are so confortables and the staff always smily and ready to help you. We asked for a better view than last year and we had it!!!. Ready to comme back next year :o) August 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great family resort We had three rooms, eight people (three generations) staying at the hotel over Christmas 2011. The rooms were immaculate. The kitchenette and washer/dryer came in handy. The multi-level, infinity pool was fabulous. We never had any trouble getting lounge chairs. The beach was well maintained and easily accessible. The pool side menu was good for a quick snack. Since the facility is located across the street from La Isla mall and several restaurants, it could not be more convenient. Special thanks to Victor and Sergio who went out of their way to recommend restaurants and made us feel at home. What I would change: Internet did not work for days at a time. Do not count on even receiving e-mail headers. Please do not count on the Internet as a means of communication. The elite concierges were less than helpful. Violetta claimed to have made reservations that upon arrival did not exist. She also provided discount cards that were invalid at their own hotel!! If you want the real scoop, ask Victor. I've been staying at Starwood properties as a platinum guest since 1997. December 28, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay~exceeded expectations This resort is beautiful, the pictures don't begin to show its true beauty. The resort has great features, friendly and helpful staff, and is centrally located. The food is okay, kind of pricey, but there is a mall right across the street that has a food court and great shopping. The pool is beautiful and my room had a great view of both the pool and the beach. Everything was neat and clean. We were able to trade cash for pesos at customer service. The concierge was helpful in setting up activities and guiding us around Cancun. My husband and I travelled alone this time, we will be back next year with the kids. We loved it June 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great property and location I am SPG platinum and a Starwood Vacation Owner. We stayed here last March and it was great. Pros: Rooms were beautiful and clean. The concierge was extremely helpful, and booked a great Chichen Itza tour for us. The restaurant food (brunch and dinner) was wonderful. The beach was not too crowded, we easily found chairs on the beach in the shade every day, at all different times of day. Great location across from mall with movie theater, TONS of restaurants, aquarium. Nice pools, lots of outdoor grills for use. Cons: It is true that status won't help you, but if you know that going in, you won't be disappointed. Rooms are so similar anyway. Balconies are a bit small. February 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by PERFECT!!!! This is NOT just a swanky hotel but a REAL RESORT....one where u never want to leave and u have no reason to go anywhere else as everything is right here on the property and it is BEAUTIFUL and PEACEFUL......we hated leaving......our stay was perfect from the 1st moment that we arrived!!! There's an onsite market to purchase grocery items if u prefer to not eat out all the time and u can even buy steaks and cook them yourself on the outside grills.....the food at the onsite restaurants is fabulous and so is the service....they have "theme" nights too.....best Sangria I ever had was at Mexican night....and I loved getting the massage in the Hut on the beach...yep like I said we didn't want to ever leave and we can't wait to go back!!! November 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We loved it! I took my three year and four year old sons for a week in December and all they have talked about is going back to Cancun ever since. My little one came down with a sinus infection while we were there and the hotel doctor saw us right away. He was great with my son and the pharmacy delivered medicine to the hotel within a half hour. The medicine worked and we were back on the beach the next day. The beach is lovely and the photographer was great. We plan on returning sometime before the year ends. We went to Cozumel a few months ago and realized how much we missed the Westin Lagunamar! Hope this helps other families -- I normally don't write reviews, but this place was great! August 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by a litle unhappy i just wanted to complain that the first night they send by mistake a couple to our room when we were sleeping with our litle dautgther at 12:30 midnight and they tried to open our door and make noise wokle my daugher i got very frustatred. i complained with the lobby and they just apologize. i never got a certificate or compensation for these incident July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Toni is an outstanding concierge We have been Westin timeshare owners for over 8 years. Of all our vacation visits using our resorts, Toni was the best personal concierge we have ever had. She went out of her way to help us with dinner reservations and excursion plans. She was outstanding in everything she did even if it was just a smile and a hello when we saw her. Her enthusiasm impressed us the most and deserves recognition for a job well done. Lagunamar seems to have the best staff, always willing to help, in the restaurants, around the pool, and at the beach. Above and beyond what we have experienced at other resorts. June 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Awesome views expensive food This resort has awesome staff and awesome views of the Gulf. The main issues we had were the price of food. Buffet for breakfast for 3 kids and wife cost us $100 US. Also our master shower would not get hot realized that handle was on backwards maintence would not fix just said to use in reverse way. Also no Oven in units... this is different than the Villas in US. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great pool... So the room we stayed in was basic and a little small, but the ocean-front view made up for it (every hotel room at this resort has an ocean-front view which is amazing. Someone really put thought into the design!). That being said, even though we had a basic room, there was a smallish kitchen space and dishwasher and the hotel staff would also take care of washing dishes if you used the kitchen at all. The rooms are set up that way because many of them are timeshares (and are also up for purchase) and people tend to stay a while. There's a little grocery store in the hotel where you can get several food items and a movie rental service, which was awesome as there's not a ton to do in Cancun once the sun goes down and you aren't a big clubber. Location-wise, the hotel is right across from a large mall/plaza of shops which is also very nice and convenient. All that being said, my favorite feature of the hotel was the infinity pool , which cannot be beat. I don't think I've seen a pool that large anywhere else. It offered a swim up bar, and when you're half swimming, half lying there in the pool staring out at the ocean with cocktail in hand, you know you're in paradise. Get to the pool early to reserve a beach chair though, as those go fast. Overall, a great experience and we'd definitely go back! October 22, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average hotel stayed at the hotel for 7 nights end of march the good: -very nice and big pool -platinum breakfast in Oceano is very good - just accross La Isla mall with decent dinner opportunities the bad: -pool concierge: I was at the pool every morning around 6.30 to get decent chairs at the pool. Got very frustrated that all the good located chairs were already taken at that time so tried another day 5.30 and noted that the pool concierge were covering all the good chairs with towels, body boards, shoes from people, sunscreen, magazines, etc so they were reserved for the people who arrive at the pool around 10am and sign the pool concierge for getting their "reserved" chairs in exchange for dollars. I didnt expected to see this in the hotel. -wifi is very bad, even landline is slow (ask the concierge for private access point to be connected in your room, deposit of 300$) -owners (time sharers) are more important than renters, main building front desk and concierge doesnt care if you are platinum, some of them didnt knew what platinum was. Only the front desk in second building does. - platinim concierge is ok, but all the activiteis/trips they offer are at least 25% more expensive than online. - house keeping came between 3 and 5 pm, as sunset was around 4.30pm we often had to wait outside our room until housekeeping was done. Cleaning was not well done, trashcans not emptied, etc -pool bar: if you tip 20-25% you will be much faster served than others, especially during happy hour. - No Platinum upgrade to 1 bedroom although available on the SPG website. Front desk said the availability online was not reflecting the true availability... April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pretty solid vaca spot We def enjoyed. Beach and pools are amazing... the only troubles we had were wait after arrival and the bar staff was not always very patient or possibly understanding( english/spanish) as we had some dietary restrictions. Local and staff were otherwise great! July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel The hotel was very well maintained. Beautiful room with everything we needed. The location was great close to the airport and the mall across the street. The beach was amazing. We were very relaxed it was very quiet and stress free. The staff was very friendly. July 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel for a family vacation Great hotel for kids and family. The rooms are spacious. I expected the staff service to be better. It seemed to me that the hotel was understaffed. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such a Great Place and Great Staff!!!! I planned a girls trip to the Westin last year the week before Thanksgiving. The staff was very attentive, the manager at the breakfast buffet was the best. During checking the staff was quick and very professional, and even though this hotel has limited SPG participation they recognized me as a platinum member, checkout was just as efficient as check in. You cannot beet the location of this hotel, since they are not an all-inclusive hotel I liked that I could walk out the front door of the hotel cross the main drag and in less than 5 minutes be at the main shopping area in Cancun. I enjoyed the trip so much last year I am taking my family this year for 10days around Thanksgiving!!!!!!! Great people, great rooms, and great location!!!!!!!! July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great vacation destination Gated hotel which makes you feel safe, friendly greeting as soon as you walk in, Fabian and Gabriel always made us feel like we were coming home each time we walked through the door, I would come back just to see them again, Viente provides a great lunch with super service, infinity pools looking out to the sea is a huge plus, grounds are gorgeous, every employee who spotted something out of place would stop and pick up a piece of litter or whatever to keep the place spotless, centrally located, feels like home. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel Just came back fro our first stay at the Luganamar. I hope it won't be our last! The van was waiting for us at the airport as promised. Our room wasn't ready but they helped us to get our bathing suits and anything else we needed out of our suitcases so we could start enjoying ourselves. Everyone was so nice and helpful; the bellboys, the waiters, cleaning crew, absolutely every person I came in contact with. The guy who runs the poolside activities is AWESOME! So funny and energetic. He really keeps things moving and everyone happy. Our Concierge, Rosy, was so helpful too. Even before we came she was emailing us to see what we needed to make things perfect right from the minute we arrived. There is a small grocery store downstairs. It has the basics. The Beach is amazing. Beautiful water, lots of chairs and umbrellas. And the pools are perfect. Huge, beautiful, great temperature, swim-up bar, slide for the kids (and me!). And the hotel is in the best location possible - directly across from the big La Isla shopping mall with lots of stores, movie theaters, an aquarium, and all types of restaurants. Trust me, that is a really big plus. The absolute only negative comment I can make is that there is a but of a push to sell time shares there. They are not super-pushy or obnoxious, but they definitely remind you about it at every opportunity. But that's ok. I'm ready to go back right now! July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel!!!! I've stayed at many SPG hotels and this has been my best experience anywhere. The location on the hotel strip is amazing...directly across from a nice outdoor mall. The beach and pools are top quality. The room was very comfortable and large. We did upgrade to a one room villa and I highly recommend doing so if you're there for multiple days. We didn't use the kitchen but it was fully stocked with supplies for cooking had we wanted to. The shower was awesome as was the bed and view. I can't think of one complaint. July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is not upto the standards of typical starwood Overall, I would rate my stay as below average at this hotel. I am a completely loyal starwood customer primarily because of the quality, customer service and comfort of the hotel. Unfortunately, this hotel fell short of those expectations. The service was below average and it started right when we checked in. The whole process (even as a platinum) was inefficient and not friendly. the internet connection was miserable and caused me a lot of work issues. March 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Laguna Mar Pros and Cons Pros: checkin was easy, concierge was lovely, staff are marvelous, grounds, pools and beach are wonderful, swim up bar is fun, waiters are awesome, massage was very good, overall staff is great! Cons: had to wait until 5:30 pm to get into our room. Kitchen cabinets and refrigerator door dirty and sticky with spilled drinks or food, floor not clean in spots, area rugs stained and dirty (they must be steam cleaned or replaced), bed duvet had broken zipper and trouble staying on, tiles and grout in w.c. had stains, shower had mildew on group, bath cabinets not clean, sofa cushions stained. At pool, never enough chairs, pool bar drinks were weak. April 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service and a great resort My wife and I went for our 20th anniversary and it was a great choice. We got a room in building #1 with a great view of the beach and the resort. Quite frankly, I don't think there is a bad view for any room above the second floor. Most impressively, everyone who works at the resort was fantastic. They were all so nice and were happy to engage you in conversation. Our concierge, Judith, was wonderful, as was Violeta who helped us when we arrived. They gave outstanding advice on where to go and what to avoid. Even the food was great (don't miss the Mexican theme night). I think my wife fell in love with Alberto at the Duna sports bar. Of course, the best part is the amazing beaches and water. The pictures just don't do justice. We will be back - hopefully soon. July 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Second Stay We just came back from an awesome week at the Westin Lagunamar resort with our family. This was our second time celebrating our anniversary there. This time we brought our family with us. We stayed at the new section and had excellent views of the ocean and pool. The front desk was very patient with our various requests, accommodating them above our expectations. The concierge staff were excellent and helped us booked activities and day trips for our party of 12. The highlight of our stay was daily happy hour by the pool with Felipe, who gave us excellent service, making as feel at home. We'd definitely go back in a heartbeat. Thanks for another great stay! June 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel provided a luxurious stay! We recently vacationed at the resort with our two young children (ages 7and 4) and had a blast! I would give the hotel overall rating of 8, staff was great and the room overlooking the pools, ocean was breathtaking! The food was pricey and average, but there are great restaurants (seafood, authentic Mexican) within walking distance, which is what we opted to do. Wifi gets a 4 rating, we were never able to connect within our room so we used 1 of the 7 hotel computers, when available. The kid's club had plenty of activities so that gets a 7 and the spa gets a 10 rating. The spa facility is impressive and I rec'd one of the best massages I have ever had. June 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stay for the service This is my second review for the same stay. I wanted to make sure some staff were recognized, Fabian and Gabriel greeted us each time we walked in through the main lobby like we were their only guests, we felt special, cared for, warm, and would come back just to see them alone. Hector at the front desk always took care of my needs whether it was exchaning money, helping out with a request regarding my room, or whatever the concern, he handled everything with professionalism and great care as if I was his family. THe waitors at Viento were wonderful, THey were friendly, provided great service, and left us with a smile on our faces. Some even recognized sine we ate there like 5 times. I will be back due to where the resort is located, how clean and safe it is, the pools, but the people we met (your employees, the ones mentioned) will bring us back.They made our trip special. Thanks Fabian, Gabriel and Hector!!!! July 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a good experience for SPG members We were staying in Cancun and had three Starwood properties to choose from. We chose the most expensive figuring we would have the best experience. Little did we realize when we made that choice we had selected a vacation property resort, which give none of the perks of being a platinum member. No preferred line at check in, no late check out, no water in the room, no upgrades, list goes on. Bell person didnt even come to the taxi to get the bags out (but it was raining). Couch in room is stained and room has a musty smell to it. Definately not 5 star. January 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Did not feel like a "Preferred Guest" I agree that the hotel itself, pool and ocean view are very nice. But from the moment I arrived , it was clear that I was not to have an SPG or Westin experience. This property appears to operate as a timeshare and not a Westin. Therefore, I was told that I could not have my room stay extended without an additional fee because the owners would not accept that,but I could move to a smaller room. I also missed a continental breakfast one morning, but was told I could not make it up another day because "the restaurant wouldn't allow it." These two incidents would never have occurred at a true Westin. February 17, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>